Aloft Silicon Valley

  • 8200 Gateway Boulevard
  • Newark,
  • California
  • 94560
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great room...but self service Nice facility, but the staff is not helpful. Its like a museum.....beautiful to look at but dont ask for anything because you have to wait on hold for 5mn then never get it. Housekeeping left my room door open. The pool is lovely, but ice cold. If they could improve their service. ..I would give them 4 stars. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel has some good things, but... The best part of this hotel was the staff. My room had a LOUD AC unit that shook the wall when it turned off and on. The music in the lobby was TOO LOUD and I could not have a simple conversation. July 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel. Poor management flexibility Hotel was great but staff were limited on things. SPG made an Error in my booking and no one could fix it. Was not okay and I was the one that lost out August 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by $15 for a $1 yogurt and spoon of granola $200 per night was not enough for them. I picked my own $1 yogurt our put a spoon of granola in. Got charged $15 and then checked out 2 days early:( Not what I expect as a Platinum member. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and friendly Had a great time while staying for a wedding. Great place to congregate with family and friends before and after. Enjoyed the pool experience. July 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly Managed! Our tennis team stayed overnight at the Newark Aloft because of an early morning match. Our stay was memorable but not in a good way. When we checked in at 5 pm (check in time is 3 pm), our rooms were not ready and would not be ready for another hour! Next disaster was dinner. We had reservations at 6:30. Our food (mostly salads) took over 2.5 hours to reach the table. Next disaster breakfast. There was no breakfast in the morning! We were told there was only bread and coffee. Terrible. When we checked out, a drunk in the lobby harassed us and made lewd comments. Terrible . August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unacceptable General Manager Wow, such mixed feelings, but the bottom line is we won't be returning. My daughter and I stayed here a year ago and decided to return for our annual mother-daughter getaway. There's so much I love about this hotel (swimming pool, cool look, comfy bed, cleanilness, free wifi and parking), but the problems we had mean we won't risk another stay: 1. The shower had no cold water = only hot water to shower (two staff members confirmed this issue) = ouch! 2. The tv wouldn't power up, so we had to contact the front desk for repair service (the hotel service man arrived relatively promptly; it took about 30 min to repair/reboot.). The man was nice, but we showed him the hot water problem and he did not pass the issue on to the front desk as we asked him to. Two hours later, when we checked with the front desk, they said they had not been informed of the problem and that the tv guy was the one who would have had to repair it. He was now off duty ... 3. When we asked to speak with the general manager about the shower situation we were told he would not come out to speak with us (the staff person who spoke with him about our issue found him in the kitchen, where he was apparently folding laundry). Really? Bizarre and unprofessional, not to mention very unhelpful ... 4. We slept pretty poorly due to loud partiers in the hallway until well after 3 am (this is not necessarily the hotel's fault, but we will have to figure out how to avoid this type of situation in the future ...). On the bright side: apart from the general manager, the staff was helpful and nice. The receptionist was hardworking and friendly, and -- upon our check-out -- the front desk manager very professionally handled the issues the general manager had refused to even discuss with us. Kudos also to the bartender and floor staff. Overall, it felt like the staff was running the hotel despite the general manager, which is a pity for everyone involved. August 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what we expected Hotel looks nice from outside but inside it looked a little rundown. Room was spacious and at first glance looked great. The bathroom looked like it had been poorly constructed and the shower tile was very slippery. The 2 towels provided were old and worn thin. There was a continual wet spot on the carpet by the bed that seemed to be from a leak. When you step out of bed your feet got wet. I informed the front desk about this. The kitchenette was strange with no towels to dry your hands and no plastic cups even for waster. I used the mini fridge to keep some things cool but by morning everything I had put in there was frozen. Overall, I was very disappointed with this hotel. We are Starwood Gold members and had come to expect a better quality of hotels. July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas 2013 Overall, 4 stars. Spacious room, clean, comfortable bed, good staff. Cons: shower water pressure, toilets do not have enough water flow to completely flush, position of toilet paper dispenser very poor, shower mat not replaced on second day, level of materials used in construction were only average, very limited staff working over holiday, fan in bedroom was noisy. Hotel was a good value and convenient to Palo Alto and Silicon Valley although other than in the hotel, there were no restaurants or shops. December 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another nice Starwood property Loved the room layout - it had a microwave, mini kitchen and refrigerator which is rare to find in a hotel room. Bed was comfortable and it had plenty of lighting using switches (typically you have to turn on each individual lamp). This Aloft in particular serves food, as opposed to the other Aloft hotels, so that's an added bonus. The gym was very disappointing compared to the Aloft by SFO. It's really small with only 2 treadmills and a stair stepper. Would have loved to see a couple elliptical machines in there. Overall, a good experience and nice alternative Starwood property in the San Jose area. September 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Do not disturb means...do not disturb I have been to this property 3 times this year, this was my last trip fo 2013. It was my last day, I had calls I was on and then preparing to leave for a meeting and the airport, I have the DND sign on the door, I also do the no clean while I am there.... At 11, AM someone knocks and proceeds to open the door, I got up and slammed it, and asked who it was as I could not see through the hole, I opened the door and it was maintenance who had to do a repair..I was not happy, my call interrupted, I looked at him and said, you will need to wait... So, if a room needs to have a repair done, don't give me or anyone else that room and teach your people to understand that DO NOT DISTURB means, unless there is a fire in the room, I do not want to be bothered. November 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bathrooms need to be cleaned better The drain in the shower was very slow. When called, Engineering and Housekeeping came quickly to take care of the slow drain. But the was some sort of dried item behind the sink on the wall that was there our entire stay. It was never cleaned and it just looked so unsanitary every time we used the bathroom sink. It was just plain gross. We had 4 people in the room and only 3 sets of towels were left each day. We called for additional towels the first night. On the 2nd and 3rd nights, we came back so late that we didn't even bother calling for more towels. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Manager Very comfortable room and nice set up of room. January 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft goes green During check in, the receptionist mentioned about star award system. That you could get additional miles if you decided not to clean the room daily. The only thing is to put a card on the outside door (just like "Do not disturb") and cleaning ladies But there was no card in my room to participate. When I made the remark at the reception, they told me that I could also use the Do not Disturb card. But that did not work out. The room was still cleaned after 4PM. And after this, I had finally that specific Green card. Not a very good service. October 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Comfortable Room if you can get past the surly staff Loved the room, hated the experience. Front desk staff was downright arrogant and haughty, totally unhelpful (too busy looking chic to show any intelligence). Business Center is nothing more than two computers in a hallway. In-room amenities were sparse (though the ice tray was a nice touch, there's no excuse for having just one trash can for an entire suite. I ended up using my ice buc ket for organic trash, kept in the freezer to discourage odors -- esp since there's no daily housekeeping. This is definitely NOT my go-to hotel in the future. August 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprise Great Location Found the hotel last minutes. Great to be SPG member. Got the room with great view. December 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, simple, everything you need. The staff were attentive, the place was perfectly clean and the furniture is attractive. Downside: it's not an expensive hotel-- ie, the furniture is for looks, it's not particularly high quality.So don't come here if you are expecting boutique. But as a hotel to stay at, this place is perfect. And you have to love the vibe in the lobby when it's evening, much more alive than most hotels where everyone hibernates. Oh, big plus: nature preserve nearby is gorgeous. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is great Staff is always helpful and courteous. Makes the experience always enjoyable December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a nice hotel This is my first time staying @ an SPG Aloft Hotel and I was very pleased. The room was very nice and comfortable and not only will I certainly stay again if in the area, I will look for this brand for stays in other areas.. November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best experience in a long time First time that I stayed in A Loft Hotel, but for sure not the last time. I never bother writing reviews but because of the great experience I make an exception. Size, apearence and atmosphere of the room were right on and the general atmosphere of the hotel felt right not in the least thanks to the hospitality of the staff. I'll be checking out more A Loft Hotels because of this stay. September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay First stay at an Aloft and I'd have to say I was quite pleased with the accommodation. While I didn't use the facilities that much given a short stay I could clearly see others were and they were definitely enjoying the experience. I will definitely stay here again in the future and wouldn't hesitate recommending it to a friend. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Bay Area Home Away from Home For us, it's a matter of affordable luxury and seclusion. We love the Aloft/Silicon Valley for its spacious rooms, comfortable beds, big-screen TV, in-room microwave and refrigerator, bath products, pool/spa, complete gym, great staff and isolation from the craziness called the "Bay Area". From our location, we can be in Santa Cruz in less than an hour; San Jose in minutes; in three minutes be at a BART station (Union City) and zip into SF in less than an hour. And when we return .... the hotel greets us with free parking, an awesome and accommodating staff and serenity. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel welcome and satisfied. We travel with our eight year-old. She is a talkative and sweet little girl. The staff at the Aloft/Silicon Valley treat her warmly. And we appreciate that. We don't get to the Bay Area often. But when we do, and our schedule allows us mobility, we always stay at the Aloft/Silicon Valley. Thank you, Aloft/Silicon Valley Staff! You are terrific! October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel, Outstanding Service The Hotel and Facilities are nice - but what makes this hotel special is the outstanding and genuine caring attitude of the staff. November 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff, Clean Rooms Great Staff and Clean Rooms. Towels were a little rough. Enjoyed my stay and would return. November 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible front desk My room was overcharged $300. And they didn't feel like it was a big deal I'm used to excellent customer service so it was surprising to find a front desk with no hospitality. Still looking for the plush bathrobes in the room. The one plus is the Bliss body wash and modern room. August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Geographically area was perfect. Price was fabulous, close to everything, so clean. Hot tub was really nice at night, staff friendly. Great experience. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geart Hotel Very Nice and cleanness room, Very convenient go around Bay area, I would recommend to friends to stay here. I will be there again September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by As modern as it gets Overall the hotel is awesome, up until the key system was down and I had to be escorted by security to my room whenever I left to let me back in. However, they were pretty quick in greeting me back in. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is our choice for both business and pleasure Whenever I have business in the Bay Area, I choose to stay here. The rooms are beautiful, it's quiet, and very peaceful. My husband and also stay here when we need a weekend getaway for the same reasons. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best SPG hotel ever had Roomy, clean, good location (next to CA84), and real swimming pool (unlike the 3m x 2m one in DC... but may be this is CA...). And the unique style of Aloft. Very impressive. July 5, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only