Aloft Silicon Valley

  • 8200 Gateway Boulevard
  • Newark,
  • California
  • 94560
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel has some good things, but... The best part of this hotel was the staff. My room had a LOUD AC unit that shook the wall when it turned off and on. The music in the lobby was TOO LOUD and I could not have a simple conversation. July 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly Bartender Enjoyed talking with the bartender at the WXYZ bar while waiting for my colleagues. Friendly, professional and he remembered my name when I showed up there a day later. Made me feel like I had a friend at the Aloft. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice extended stay I stayed here for business for 2 weeks straight - wonderful service, housekeeping and friendly lobby. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Do not disturb means...do not disturb I have been to this property 3 times this year, this was my last trip fo 2013. It was my last day, I had calls I was on and then preparing to leave for a meeting and the airport, I have the DND sign on the door, I also do the no clean while I am there.... At 11, AM someone knocks and proceeds to open the door, I got up and slammed it, and asked who it was as I could not see through the hole, I opened the door and it was maintenance who had to do a repair..I was not happy, my call interrupted, I looked at him and said, you will need to wait... So, if a room needs to have a repair done, don't give me or anyone else that room and teach your people to understand that DO NOT DISTURB means, unless there is a fire in the room, I do not want to be bothered. November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Yet Again Not much more to say. This is the third time I've stayed here and it has always been nothing short of an excellent experience. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good staff Thanks to Josh on working with me to get a room that met my needs. Appreciate his consideration and attention to detail. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfotable rooms Very comfortable and nice work area for the business traveler October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional customer service Our organization hosted an alumni banquet at Aloft Silicon Valley recently. The sales and catering staff as well as hotel management provided exceptional customer service! The chef accommodated last minute additions to the headcount without hesitation and dazzled all with excellent food. Round of applause to the General Manager and Director of Sales and Marketing and their staff. July 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great room...but self service Nice facility, but the staff is not helpful. Its like a museum.....beautiful to look at but dont ask for anything because you have to wait on hold for 5mn then never get it. Housekeeping left my room door open. The pool is lovely, but ice cold. If they could improve their service. ..I would give them 4 stars. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by $15 for a $1 yogurt and spoon of granola $200 per night was not enough for them. I picked my own $1 yogurt our put a spoon of granola in. Got charged $15 and then checked out 2 days early:( Not what I expect as a Platinum member. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel. Poor management flexibility Hotel was great but staff were limited on things. SPG made an Error in my booking and no one could fix it. Was not okay and I was the one that lost out August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and friendly Had a great time while staying for a wedding. Great place to congregate with family and friends before and after. Enjoyed the pool experience. July 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly Managed! Our tennis team stayed overnight at the Newark Aloft because of an early morning match. Our stay was memorable but not in a good way. When we checked in at 5 pm (check in time is 3 pm), our rooms were not ready and would not be ready for another hour! Next disaster was dinner. We had reservations at 6:30. Our food (mostly salads) took over 2.5 hours to reach the table. Next disaster breakfast. There was no breakfast in the morning! We were told there was only bread and coffee. Terrible. When we checked out, a drunk in the lobby harassed us and made lewd comments. Terrible . August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unacceptable General Manager Wow, such mixed feelings, but the bottom line is we won't be returning. My daughter and I stayed here a year ago and decided to return for our annual mother-daughter getaway. There's so much I love about this hotel (swimming pool, cool look, comfy bed, cleanilness, free wifi and parking), but the problems we had mean we won't risk another stay: 1. The shower had no cold water = only hot water to shower (two staff members confirmed this issue) = ouch! 2. The tv wouldn't power up, so we had to contact the front desk for repair service (the hotel service man arrived relatively promptly; it took about 30 min to repair/reboot.). The man was nice, but we showed him the hot water problem and he did not pass the issue on to the front desk as we asked him to. Two hours later, when we checked with the front desk, they said they had not been informed of the problem and that the tv guy was the one who would have had to repair it. He was now off duty ... 3. When we asked to speak with the general manager about the shower situation we were told he would not come out to speak with us (the staff person who spoke with him about our issue found him in the kitchen, where he was apparently folding laundry). Really? Bizarre and unprofessional, not to mention very unhelpful ... 4. We slept pretty poorly due to loud partiers in the hallway until well after 3 am (this is not necessarily the hotel's fault, but we will have to figure out how to avoid this type of situation in the future ...). On the bright side: apart from the general manager, the staff was helpful and nice. The receptionist was hardworking and friendly, and -- upon our check-out -- the front desk manager very professionally handled the issues the general manager had refused to even discuss with us. Kudos also to the bartender and floor staff. Overall, it felt like the staff was running the hotel despite the general manager, which is a pity for everyone involved. August 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what we expected Hotel looks nice from outside but inside it looked a little rundown. Room was spacious and at first glance looked great. The bathroom looked like it had been poorly constructed and the shower tile was very slippery. The 2 towels provided were old and worn thin. There was a continual wet spot on the carpet by the bed that seemed to be from a leak. When you step out of bed your feet got wet. I informed the front desk about this. The kitchenette was strange with no towels to dry your hands and no plastic cups even for waster. I used the mini fridge to keep some things cool but by morning everything I had put in there was frozen. Overall, I was very disappointed with this hotel. We are Starwood Gold members and had come to expect a better quality of hotels. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geat stay Eventhough I was there on a business trip, my family went with me and everything with our stay was great. My daughter even received some surprises from the hotel. July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another nice Starwood property Loved the room layout - it had a microwave, mini kitchen and refrigerator which is rare to find in a hotel room. Bed was comfortable and it had plenty of lighting using switches (typically you have to turn on each individual lamp). This Aloft in particular serves food, as opposed to the other Aloft hotels, so that's an added bonus. The gym was very disappointing compared to the Aloft by SFO. It's really small with only 2 treadmills and a stair stepper. Would have loved to see a couple elliptical machines in there. Overall, a good experience and nice alternative Starwood property in the San Jose area. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is our local favorite STAYCATION hotel We stayed here for a few days on July 4th weekend in 2013 and took advantage of the LOCAL deal this hotel had. So when my step daughter wanted to have a low key birthday at a hotel with a pool I immediately thought of Aloft Silicon Valley. We always have great service here. The customer service from start to finish beginning with the ladies at the front desk, the waiter/waitresses at the restaurant/bar and most especially with Oscar Sanchez. The food here is excellent as well as the drinks! Some may think it's pricey but if you really look at the quality and the portions it's really a reasonable price. I will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel as it is very clean with ample free parking. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Suite and loved it. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome modernistic hotel lobby and pool area. Large, comfortable room with sofa, refrigerator, microwave oven, separate shower and bathtub. Flat screen television would not turn on, reported this to the supervisor who went to check the tv himself, he sent a repairman within 30 minutes. Very comfortable bed, slept well. Free wi-fi is greatly appreciated! The hotel exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend this hotel. My wife and I spend about 20 weekends a year on average staying in 3 or 4-star hotels, therefore we have plenty of experience staying in various hotels. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bathrooms need to be cleaned better The drain in the shower was very slow. When called, Engineering and Housekeeping came quickly to take care of the slow drain. But the was some sort of dried item behind the sink on the wall that was there our entire stay. It was never cleaned and it just looked so unsanitary every time we used the bathroom sink. It was just plain gross. We had 4 people in the room and only 3 sets of towels were left each day. We called for additional towels the first night. On the 2nd and 3rd nights, we came back so late that we didn't even bother calling for more towels. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ok for preferred guests, but poor SPG Platinum recognition Was not upgraded to the larger 650 sq feet room. Got assigned near the elevator. The walls are paper thin. I can hear my neighbor talking very clearly. Two towels in each guest room, in adequest staffing and training. I guess the management and owners are too cheap. Water pressure is very low to a very discomfortable shower and bath. Wait staff needs to learn proferssionalism. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Comfortable Room if you can get past the surly staff Loved the room, hated the experience. Front desk staff was downright arrogant and haughty, totally unhelpful (too busy looking chic to show any intelligence). Business Center is nothing more than two computers in a hallway. In-room amenities were sparse (though the ice tray was a nice touch, there's no excuse for having just one trash can for an entire suite. I ended up using my ice buc ket for organic trash, kept in the freezer to discourage odors -- esp since there's no daily housekeeping. This is definitely NOT my go-to hotel in the future. August 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft goes green During check in, the receptionist mentioned about star award system. That you could get additional miles if you decided not to clean the room daily. The only thing is to put a card on the outside door (just like "Do not disturb") and cleaning ladies But there was no card in my room to participate. When I made the remark at the reception, they told me that I could also use the Do not Disturb card. But that did not work out. The room was still cleaned after 4PM. And after this, I had finally that specific Green card. Not a very good service. October 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Loud but good Given a room in a different location, this would have been a good stay. The only room left when I checked in was a ground floor, by the bar and pool. It was loud until well past 10pm. I'd stay again but would be much more particular about my room location for business travel. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little slip on the checkout process I made reservation for 2 rooms for my friend and me. At the time we checked in, my friend provided her credit card and ID to pay for her room. However, after we left, I found Aloft charged both rooms to my credit card account. My friend had to write me a check to cover her expenses. No big deal, but just a little inconvenience. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overal rating nice and quiet accommodations, friendly staff, will go back and recommend to fiends. August 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by noisy with no solution I booked 3 rooms next to each other for my guests. We did not sleep from 2am. Because a room next to us had a super crazy drinking party. I called front desk 4 times, but they did not solve our issues. because they dont want to kick out the drinking people next to our room. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice crew From the moment i checked in all the way thru check out,the employees is very nice and polite. Especially Brian who works the night I arrive August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected The room was spacious and quiet. Staff was very responsive and friendly. I have stayed at multiple Alofts and this one is the best. August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible Staff I had a terrible experience at this hotel. First I left for the day and when I return later that evening my room was exactlly as I left it. Room service dishes were stil in place, room had not been cleaned, towels were still dirty, no fresh towels. To top it off we were awaken at 2 am to a false alarm and was not given any instructions as to what to do.....no one every apologized for the dirty room or addressed the alarm with a simple apology. This is by far my worst experience at a SPG Property. May 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only