Aloft Chesapeake

  • 1454 Crossways Boulevard
  • Chesapeake,
  • Virginia
  • 23320
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Minors are welcomed with an accompanied adult at the minimum age of 21.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 208 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Customer Service experience ever! Incredibly excellent service, the best customer service I've EVER received at any hotel, anywhere in my world travels. Every single member of the hotel staff was in tune with providing the best service with an eye on the guests needs and convenience. The hotel staff accommodated a evening party for more than 60 business people with phenominal results including excellent food, signature drinks and a fun atmosphere. The hotel has a beautiful, modern/contemporary design. It was spotlessly clean, had great amenities. Every person I traveled with raved about the comfort of their rooms and the fantasitc shower! December 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tina B. is not a credit to this hotel Please have Tina B. retrained in how to speak to her customers.  She is abrasive, condescending,  and ineffective.   I called multiple times to inform the staff that we would be arriving much later than expected after leaving New York.  Our later than usual check in was poorly poorly handled.   We once had the same issue when we checked into the Baltimore Aloft but they handled it beautifully.  We checked in at 3am with no problems in Baltimore.  Tina is not a credit to this hotel.  When we come back to Virginia Beach we will check to see if Tina will be working during our stay.  If she will be there, we will stay at a different hotel.  Customer service is EVERYTHING. Thanks, Teddy July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cold room The hotel staff was friendly but the room was very cold. Turned up the heat in the room but it was still cold in the morning. Also had stains on the carpet and the programming on te TV was from the sixties. December 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Double I had a very displeasing check-in. I was told that all three of my credit cards were declined. I expressed great concern and asked the clerk to please try another computer because I knew that my cards were all in good standing. She then with an attitude asked the other clerk to try checking me in and everything worked just fine. It was very upsettin that the first clerk kept annoucing to everyone in line checking in that my cards were declined and didn't even apologize when she realized it was a computer error. The customer service at this location was very poor. April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Can't Seem To Get the Room Types Right I reserved two rooms for my family through the telephone reservation because the Starwood website could not handle two room types in a single reservation. I booked one king room and another room with two doubles and was on the phone with the Starwood agent when she confirmed the arrangements directly with the hotel. The I received the email with my reservation reminder and the room types were incorrect. I called the hotel and was told that the problem had been fixed. When we arrived the next day, the rooms were both Kings and they said they were sold out. Not the way a Starwood Gold member should be treated after correcting their errors twice! I asked the manager to contact me and have heard nothing. I'll never stay there again. August 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Hotel - Staff Needs Work I like the hotel, clean, friendly, comfortable. But after dealing with 4 staff members, there is a problem with management. The staff was slow to check me in and didn't seem to know the computer system very well. It would help to have more than one person on duty at the front desk. My room was paid in advance through my employer. I gave my credit card for incidentals. I was assured after over an hour of completing my check out that I would not be charged. I looked at my bank account and have not 1, 2, or 3, but 4 charges on my credit card for the one night stay! This is a mess and a problem for myself (I now have an overdraft) and for my employer. A place to stay is only as good as the service, and this hotel needs better management and staff. April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Assistance Required I must say my check in experience was very different than any other starwood property I have visited. After a long drive from nyc to your hotel , I arrived around 1:20pm and was told that I couldn't check in until 3pm which I'm sure is the policy but I'm not sure what harm it would of done because rooms where available and I am a gold member. I have arrived at other starwood properties a little early and was accommodated immediately and courteously. The person that greeted me was very nice and I'm sure she was following rules but as a starwood member I'm use to getting special treatment. I guess I've been spoiled. In the future when I make trips to VA I don't believe that I will consider your facility for my stay. Thanks for letting me vent. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time and staff changes = Different experience It pains me to write this review as this hotel use to be my first choice to stay in while in the Tidewater area. I have stayed at this Aloft many times over the years and enjoyed it so much, I opted to use my points to stay free during this visit. This review is about my most recent experience. I was greeted by Fletchor at reception, a great employee to this hotel (great personality...really). No issues checking-in and I quickly dropped off my luggage and went to go meet some friends. Upon my return, I noticed that my room was a bit unclean. I brought it up to the night receptionist who, I felt, had a serious chip on her shoulder (note she also kept talking to employees/people while I was trying to talk to her). I advised her that I just wanted to make her aware of what was unclean, I did not need to move rooms and just to make sure that the cleaning crew cleaned it in the morning. The next day I left the hotel around 10:45/11am, went out for a few hours, came back and noticed the room was not cleaned. Fletchor happened to be working at the desk so I mentioned the complaint and just wanted to make sure that my room would be cleaned. She check with management and she said it would be cleaned, as well as noting someone was still on my floor. She was correct in advising me that as I saw a cleaning cart when I got back to my room. I then packed up and went out again for several hours (note there was no DND sign on my door since I left the first time). Upon my return, there was a note advising that they couldn't clean my room because they didn't want to disturb me/referencing the sign on the door in the morning. I went to reception to complain and, of course, it was the girl who isn't customer service oriented. She stormed back to get a manager, I saw her when the door opened, kind of reading them, and then the manager came out. When I discussed with the manager, Christine, I also felt as if I was in the wrong. I mentioned to her that I had brought up the cleaning issue the night before, so why wasn't my room checked? She said she would note the attitude of the night shift employee and offered me 4,000 points back to my account (which has not been done). So, in brief, unclean room, lazy cleaning crew, one awesome/one not so awesome employee and a manager who might have listened, but may not have (and hasn't lived up to the promise of points). My review title says it all and I don't feel comfortable enough to go back to this hotel and will do my best not to. July 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bar closes way too early. If you like to watch football and have a drink, pick another hotel. We checked in a little after 9 and went to the bar for a drink and to watch Thursday night football. The bartender finally made her way back to the bar from wherever she disappeared to and asked us for our drink order around 9:30. She mentioned she would be calling last call soon. At 9:52, she asked if we needed anything. We went to order another drink, and she said she had called last call at 9:45. She hadn't. She was talking to a patron at the end of the bar and may have said something to him, but never exclaimed last call. They closed at 10 with more than 10 customers. September 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Going Down Hill I have been staying at this hotel for over 1.5 years. I really enjoyed it at first but now the place is filthy. The halls are dirty, the rooms are not clean and the staff doesn't seem to care. My wife almost made us move to another hotel because of the poor condition of the hotel. something should be done to improve this or your good business customers, like me will begin going to one of the other 15 hotels on the same street. August 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nobody Cares The wireless connection on the 4th floor was not working. The front desk explained that no one else complained therefore it must be my laptop! They did not even TRY to look into the problem. I had to work from Panera Bread - totally inconvenient. Finally the engineer overheard me complaining to the front desk again, and he checked it out and said it was the router. Well duh!! By then it was time to check out. October 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Excellent Stay Experience I travel often for business and the aloft hotel is my first choice when traveling to the Virginia Beach area. The staff always provides first class customer service, with their friendly attitudes and always ensuring that I have aything need to make my stays enjoyable and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and look forward to my next trip to the area and the hotel. June 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy Camper This location would not allow me to cash out my room when I checked in. I normally provide a credit card which they can hold for incidentals but I like to cash out and I was unable to do so for some unknown reason. The lights in my room were difficult to cut on and off. I could not cut on the bathroom light without the full room light and disturbing my boyfriend. The room was freezing. Our room phone would not work, meaning it did not connect to the front desk when we dialed zero. I had to use my cell phone to get someone from the front desk to instruct on how to work the thermostat. They did not have anyone to bring us an extra blanket. This was my first stay at Aloft and my last. May 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Uncomfortable and Dirty I was on work-related travel and chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the office. The room's carpet and walls were stained with various "fluids" and the bed and pillows were rock hard. I would have changed hotels but due to flight delays didn't make it in until late at night and just went ahead and stayed. I do NOT recommend this hotel and will NEVER return. January 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and pet friendly as usual! Whenever I am in the area, I try my best to stay at the Aloft. The rooms are always comfortable and clean. Not to mention that the hotel is extremely pet friendly. I've never been disappointed. From the time we checked in with our dog to the time we left, the staff was very attentive. Special thanks to B. Jean in housekeeping, and Tina at the front desk! October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay, Pets Allowed I have stayed at Aloft hotels before and knew that I wanted to try out this one in VA. The room was a bit smaller than the others I have stayed in, but was just as amazing. I was greeted with warm smiles and friendly faces with every person I met. Plus side, no charge for dogs&gifts for them:bed, bowls, tennis ball, treats. I will stay here again. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tide is changing at this hotel I have stayed at this property a few times in the past and you can definitely tell that they have made some staff changes. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by April Stay Aloft is a fairly nice hotel; however, the sheets on the bed did not look very fresh and clean, which was a major concern for me as a guest. The comforter and sheets were stained and looked yellow from what I'm assuming was excessive washing, with that being said, i did not sleep good at all. April 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great customer service Great stay...love the concept with two exceptions. I am not comfortable seeing a dog in the "breakfast snack area even though the owner was holding the dog. Secondly, for an eco friendly hotel, serving our to go breakfast in styrofoam just threw a curve into the concept. May 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is Awesome The Staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. The in house bar was a nice way to relax. The heated pool was refreshing in the morning to get the day started. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel We have stayed at this hotel a few times. Every time we have stayed here we have had a great experience. I love the fact they don't have a pet fee for dogs. I would recommend this place to all. November 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Place to Stay for a Night or Two! I enjoyed my stay here in Virginia; although I was here on business, I felt at home. Pleasant atmosphere, staff well poised. The rooms are famtastic! Dining in or out was great. November 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trendy but a little disappointing Layout of room was great but a little disappointing. AC did not appear to work properly, shower leaked and floors were dirty. Bed was comfortable and linens clean. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another business trip Another successful business trip to the tidewater area. Great food and drinks at the bar. November 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel sucks The staff working the check in counter were rude and should be fired. January 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ran by children I wish I had read the reviews before subjecting myself to a nights stay in your hotel. I stayed just yesterday 26may in Chesapeake va. I found the front desk attendant to be very unprofessional as she danced around and sang along to the song playing in the lobby all while checking me in. Then the room she assigned me was not ready at all there was maintenance in the bathroom fixing the toilet. When I came back down to complain she was not at the front desk but over by the bar and then she asked if I wanted another room. Of course I wanted another room. Did she expect me to sit and wait for the plumber to be done or leave my belongings unattended with this guy? Ice was not available in the lobby so once again I had to find attendant over by the bar to assist me. Later I was woken up around 4 am by neighbor blasting music. I called the front desk several times before there was an answer. I told them the problem but I don't think anything was done as 532 kept playing music. I had to pound on the wall and keep calling the front desk. I finally fell asleep. I would like my money back! And plan on submitting bad reviews so the next person doesn't get gypped like me. I would have said something this morning while checking out but it was the same staff dancing around as yesterday. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what we expected We were leery about trying a new chain of hotel but we thought we'd give it a try. The rooms are very small. Our room in the Aloft of Winchester, VA had a toilet that would not flush. We had to take the back of the tank off to flush it manually. As it was 9:00PM at night we knew there would be no maintenance staff on duty. The shower water pressure in the Aloft in Chesapeake, VA and Winchester, VA was terrible and very hard to rinse off. The food at both locations was a joke. The same food day after day and neither location had decafe coffee! The prices were very high also. We paid extra for the AAA breakfast package and got no special food for the extra price. We in fact, as we found out when we got there, there was a $10.00 limit per person for food. This was not stipulated anywhere on the Aloft website that we could see or find. Food staff was not wearing gloves or hairnets in either locations. We were eating our wonderful(sarcasm) breakfast at the Chesapeake location when I noticed the cleaning staff sweeping the floor with a broom. The same broom was then used to “wipe” off the tables where people eat and drink! Makes one wonder what else was improperly cleaned and NOT sanitized. We ordered a room with a king sized bed and if you are someone who is 6 feet / +, you will have to sleep from corner to corner as the bed, like the bed linens, are short changed. September 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but noisy room above the bar The amenities of the hotel were good. If I would have been participating in the wine tasting and staying in the bar that night, it would have been fine, but my room was directly above the bar. When I checked in, I asked if they had any rooms higher than the 2nd floor, but the person said they did not. When the wine tasting started at 5 and I could hear every word the lady was singing, I called the front desk and asked how long it would last and they said about 8 or 8:30. I told them about earlier asking for a higher room and they said that there were higher rooms. I figured it was only going to last until 8:30 and I had already unpacked, so decided to stay in the same room. Unfortunately, when she was done singing, the music of the bar started up and was quite loud. I did call down and ask if anything could be done and the music was lowered some, but not enough. It lasted until 11 and I had an early morning, so it was frustrating. The next morning when I talked with a different lady and told her about my experience, I asked why they didn't initially tell me that there were beds on higher floors. She said they didn't because most people wouldn't switch from a king to two doubles. I wouldn't have minded, so wish they would have given me that choice. She didn't offer me any money back or more points for the inconvenience, but instead told me to change my profile to request a higher floor. So, while the room itself was great, the service could be improved and definitely don't stay above the bar if you want some peace and quiet. February 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean, friendly ... some other guests ruined stay, though. My room was neat, comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and courteous. Two downers: 1. Guests in room 310, next to mine, thought it was appropriate to play very loud hip-hop music and speak over the music; all at 0145 in the morning. 2. Key cards were not programmed correctly ... twice requiring a trip down to the front desk from my door. I think that either key-coding machines need upgrade or fix. And better screening of guests or maybe a sign-in pledge (like your no-smoking pledge) informing guests of what should be a blinding flash of the obvious. As Chris Rock once said, "Turn that s ___ down, it is just plain ignorant!" March 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Family travel We are a traveling family. Both kids are active in sports and play on various travel teams. I also coordinate travel for our teams and am responsible for booking rooms for tournaments. I am an SPG member and we often stay at Aloft Hotels, some of them multiple times. We have enjoyed the National Harbor, BWI, and Short Pump Aloft locations. Our recent stay at the Chesapeake location is the worst Aloft that we have experienced. We had two rooms. The staff member who checked us in (and also checked us out the next day) was beyond approach. One room had been smoked in/stunk bad, our second room was dirty, but these items are trivial in comparison to the real issue with this property, This is a full-on party hotel. Get this, when we checked-in they made us sign an agreement that we would be charged $250 for hosting a party in our room...I have never seen such a thing and obviously partying is an issue at this property for such a document to exist. I should of turned around and left when she made me sign that. All night long there were people in the hall whooping, foul language, drunken arguing, someone knocked on our door at 2:30am (front deck did not answer the phone after the knock on our door), constant doors slamming, and loud moaning sounds from "adult activity" clearly audible through the walls (our kids kept asking if "those people are alright"). In the middle of the night I would dare say it was not safe beyond our door in the hallway. The place was a free for all and was a mix staying in a frat house and the projects. None of us got any sleep at all. And insult to injury, upon check-out they/she double charged us for one of our rooms meaning that they charged me for my room and my in-laws room (read grandparents in their mid 70's) as well as charging them for their room, This facility was out of control and really soured us on Aloft properties. Customer service has been contacted. May 7, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only