Aloft Minneapolis

  • 900 Washington Avenue South
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55415
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 210 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 I Wish It Had Been Different There is a lot about my stay that I didn't like. Because I want to be a balanced reviewer I will tell you that if you like a more "modern" looking hotel maybe this could be the hotel for you. The one cool thing I liked about the hotel was the floor in the elevator. It was liquid. That's where my good comments stop. When I tried the pool, the door wouldn't open. The staff said that the key card opener was broken. I was under the impression when we booked that the pool was open 24 hours, and it wasn't. We were told it was because they were understaffed. When I got in the pool it was VERY salty. I wasn't aware if this was supposed to be a salt water pool, but I wish I was. I was also kind of disapointed that there was no breakfast. What there was, was basically an overpriced convienece store. I'm sorry, but I am not paying 3 dollars for a pop. The room was smaller than I expected. The one part about our room that I liked was the shower. It was very modern. The way the layout of the room is, if my partner got up to take a shower, or go use the sink or toliet, I could hear. There was a sliding door, but it was pretty flimsey. The walls of the room are also very thin. I got about 4 hours sleep TOTAL for my stay, and I stayed two nights. This was because other guests were pounding and screaming outside of the hallway. I heard them through my CLOSED room door. It also didn't help that the beds themselves were really uncomfortable. The blanket was very heavy and lumpy. It made for terrible sleeping. Another cool feature of the hotel was the fact that they had a shuttle service. That would have been awesome, had we not had to wait for it for an HOUR after we called. With all of these problems I went down to the front desk, and I said, I think we shouldn't have to pay for a night, or we deserve a comp room for another night stay. She said she would talk to her manager and that her manager would call us back by monday. Monday came and went, and it wasn't as if we waited to call. We called them, and all we got was a voice mail. We still have as yet to hear from them. if you want a good night sleep, or you want a hotel where the staff address your concerns, this is surely not the hotel for you. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service!! Our stay at Aloft was amazing! Frank, the gentleman at the front desk, was incredible and made sure everything we could need or want was taken care of. He checked the hours and accommodations of nearby restaurants to find one that would suit us best. After he assisted us with dinner, he made sure our transportation was taken care of as well. The shuttle driver was very friendly and efficient and he provided front door service at our destination. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. This is now our hotel when we are in Minneapolis and we highly recommend it. Thanks Frank!! June 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overnight Parking situation needs remedy! Overnight parking at this hotel needs remedy. The hotel does not have its own lot for guests. The reception desk was not clear on the nearby city parking garage rate because the city has a floating rate dependent on what event is happening either at the nearby stadium or the Guthrie theater. Cash is collected upfront to enter and credit card to exit depending on hours parked and rate in effect that particular night. Daytime metered street parking limited to two hours. Maybe five available unassigned parking spots behind hotel with cars double parked and no specific signage as to what is permitted resulting in unsupervised chaos. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place Very nice place in a nice area. Restaurants close by as was the park and theatre. And great ice cream at Izzy's! hotel pool and hot tub also nice. our room was on the busy street side and a little too many sirens for me, but then I am used to a really quiet night where I live. Room very nice and comfortable,& well done. Will return if we are back in Minneapolis! August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Celebration of son's birthday We enjoyed the visit to Aloft Minneapolis. The central location allowed us to get to a variety of places without moving our car. We all slept great- comfortable beds and quiet! Fun touch with the "moving plasma floormat" in the elevator. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not appreiciable I stayed in this hotel for a nite during a conference. To my surprise, I found that my room door lock was broken, anybody could enter without a key. This was fixed later only after I reported it. But the room stayed unlocked during the day. The fridge in the room was not working & it was empty. The Air conditioning unit was defective, it would switch on & off at its own wish and not with the set temperatures. We were not told upfront that there was a shuttle service available from the hotel. However they were quick enough to charge my credit card for the movies that I selected to watch. I did not have enough time to report all the problems due to busy schedule. June 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by If you're getting married, don't stay here. A modern concept with very sterile features, this hotel has a facade of luxury. The beds and the pillows were hard. This hotel has no amenities. This hotel does not accommodate wedding groups well, even when you pay extra for it. This hotel only gives the bride and groom a free room if 20 rooms are booked; most hotels do it anyway. The rooms were small. They lacked any reason to stay in them. The only bright spot was the bartender and her knowledge of beverages and her personality. No free breakfast. No wine hour. No treat upon check-in. Worn down walls and furniture. Pool says open all night but closes early. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed Rooms are too small. Toilet/shower inconvenient. Too little space for hanging/unpacking clothing. No place for guests to sit. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Friendly Staff We were greeted by the kindest people upon our arrival - one of the employees actually let me borrow their own IPhone charger out of their car! I will say the lobby and elevators are very clean and modern - the room could use some TLC though. Beds were very uncomfortable and carpets outdated. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting! July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Cool place to stay * Great service and friendliness * Free wi fi was a plus * Great breakfast (even if it's no free, good value) and delicious coffee (that's free) * Loved the walking distance to the river walk and the St Anthony district. * Lots of parking places available, for additional price. That is normal in Minneapolis. * The bike rental station was only one block away. * Several nice restaurants within walking distance. * The free shuttle service within 5 miles was very convenient * The room was a little bit small but very modern and clean. * The bathroom could have better lighting and the closet space is kind of small for 2 people. July 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean rooms Room was clean and quiet. Shower was good with strong hot water spray. Hair dryer was wimpy. Good housekeeping first three nights; last night they forgot to clean room. Shuttle to various locations was excellent; friendly and prompt. Convenient light rail connection three blocks away for airport connection and city travel. No good food options close by but used shuttle to get downtown quickly. Take out food delivery was quick. Would definitely stay here again. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wedty great atmosphere, excellent rooms, and fabulous cocktails.. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guthrie Hotel Aloft is a nice, sort of funky little hotel in a nice, sort of funky part of town. I generally choose it if I am going to a night performance at the Guthrie Theater, which is just across the street. It is also very close to the huge hole in the ground that was once the Metrodome and will one day be the new stadium for the Vikings. The best thing may be the alarm clock. It does not require a post-graduate degree in engineering to operate. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Fresh and Funky From the moment you walk in the door there is something different about Aloft. From it innovative styling and fun bar to the unique citrus smell. Whenever I travel I look fist to see if there is an Aloft where I am going. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by trendy with good location & decent price One of the few hotels I have stayed in that I wished i had more time to explore. The bar was cool, the workout facility was sparkly and clientele upscale. Room was modern and chic but a bit noisy from road noise outside...guess I should have had a couple drinks in the bar before going up to the room! July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Pros - Close to action, great staff, excellent food choices, comfortable beds, fast internet, clean! Cons - None! July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short, but great stay! Just a quick overnight downtown for a girls weekend "starting" place. Friendly staff, shuttle was convenient, and the hotel itself was clean, great atmosphere and trendy compared to the run of the mill hotel...would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a change of pace at a fair price and accessible to lots of fun places to check out! July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bang for Your Buck We stayed at the Aloft in Brooklyn in July and loved it, so we wanted to try the Minneapolis one when we came down for a Vikings game. It's super close to the Dome and the parking structure is very convenient and affordable ($15 a day compared to $30 in other parts of downtown). The staff was exquisite and the rooms are very clean (they are a bit small, but that's kind of their thing). We didn't realize they had a pool and hot tub (something unusual for downtown Minneapolis hotels) and wish we would have brought our suits, because there was only a few people using it. Lots of good restaurants are nearby and the Farmers Market is fun to check out. We will absolutely stay here again. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Downtown Minneapolis Great location. Very convenient and great walking access to nice restaurants, etc. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Minimalist Haven This hotel offers everything we love. Clean, attractive, great location, and plenty of healthy breakfast choices. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice Cons: The long hallway and elevator located on one side of the building. Only one ice machine on the first floor. Also, no onsite parking but there is a ramp across the street that is relatively cheap. Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet rooms. Easy to find location. Close to transportation. Overall: Great stay. I would stay there again. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Beds needed The beds are very uncomfortable and the pillows are non-exsistant. You need about four of them together to equal one pillow. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally good, but overpriced for offerings Aloft is VERY OVERPRICED for its facilities. The standard per night price I paid is too much for a hotel with 1) no restaurant and no complimentary continental breakfast, 2) a front desk that doubles as a cash register for a very modest buffet with some overpriced products, 3) only two meeting rooms. All the rest of the experience was great, however. Courteous and competent staff, clean and well-outfitted rooms, good service. One minor note on design. It would be nice if there was a way to fill the sinks with water for certain grooming procedures. I improvised with a bottle cap, but the designer or the hotel could supply sink stoppers. All in all, a pleasant experience but too much to pay for it. August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super Location, Good Vibe If you are attending a convention, don't hesitate to stay at aloft. The shuttle service provided safe, reliable and pleasant transportation. If you are going to the Guthrie Theater, there could not be a better location with restaurants nearby and a short walk to the front door. The check-in, business center, bar and lounge are all compactly designed. The exercise room has space and great equipment. The small food pantry was disappointing, but the coffee machine perfect. The guest rooms are the surprise: comfortable bed, spacious, the sink and shower area are modern and clean. A very relaxing color scheme. I loved the shuttle staff. They were on time, helpful with suggestions and answers to my questions. November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere / Friendly Staff The hotel itself was awesome! I was very impressed with how clean and comfortable our room was. The staff was extremely nice and offered some great recommendations for the city. The location was also very nice. Easy access to the rental bikes was helpful as well. I'd definitely recommend and will probably stay with them again should I visit Minneapolis in the future! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The place to stay The Aloft is the place to stay when I come to Minneapolis. My travels bring me to town for around 4 weeks throughout each year. I have not found a better value for the service and hotel features that the Aloft Minneapolis provides. Whether it is their "aloha" welcome, the free local shuttle, special requests or recommendations on local attractions, the staff is the best in the industry at providing above and beyond service. The atmosphere is relaxed and upbeat, something that needs to be experienced. Highly recommned the Aloft Minneapolis as a place to stay when in town. January 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loud Music/Poor service This hotel may be suited to the business person during the week, but on the weekends the music in the bar is so loud you have to shout in the lobby to talk to the front desk clerk, and some of the items in the bathroom of my first floor room actually were making noises from the vibration from below. The music played until 2:00 am. Obviously they are more concerned for the bar clients than the hotel guests! The hotel staff left much to be desired as 2 different clerks told me help me with an issue, and then never followed through. The third clerk told me they were full when they weren't - so when the music was blaring, I assumed I had no options, then the next clerk said they had plenty of rooms, and could have moved me easily. This hotel needs to place ALL guests on the 3rd floor and above on weekends. I am not a partier, but after midnight, I think a hotel should provide guests an atmosphere conducive to sleep. Definitely the worst SPG hotel I have ever stayed at! The reviews on Google state similar things - wish I would have read them before my stay! November 22, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by No draw space I recently stayed here with my husband and 2 children. The rooms are VERY small but the worst thing about the room is there isn't any...not ONE draw to put your socks/underwear/bra's in..we had to put it on top of the desk. There were hangers provided but no draw space! Suggestion...get new night tables with draws. The beds were comfortable. The maid staff was great. If you want your room cooler than the norm 74 be prepared for a LOUD HUM from the A/C unit. I would not return to the ALOFT. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff (aka 'hosts"), simple, straight-forward and it all works My first stay at the Aloft Minneapolis was great. Parked, checked in, grabbed a few "goodies" from the self-service food area to charge to my room, then was in my room in minutes connected to the internet, watching TV and muching on my purchased goodies. I didn't have time to work out or swim in the salt water swimming pool (not a chlorinated pool), but will do so during my business stay next week. As a 9-year elite tier SPG customer, I even requested some room specifics which were provided by Aloft. Now, that's the way to treat guests and keep my business. June 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor check in experience I booked three rooms at the aloft hotel Minneapolis for a group of eight people this past weekend. When we arrived I went to the front desk to check in and was greeted by a recepsionist who began to check me in. I began by trying to explain that I had booked three rooms for a group of six peopel and I pulled out my confirmaiton email from SPG. Without care for the email I had as evidence of my reservation she began to inform me that I was only able to communicate with her about the reservation for the room with my name on it. As i began to explanin that I made all three room reservations and that I was encouraged by the booking agent at SPG to enter the names of other guests staying in the others rooms to make it easier at check in, she continued to commit to a defensive attitude with me, with respect to the other three rooms. The recepsionist would not work with me, which required me to ask for a manager. When i asked to speak with the manager, she said, "sure you can speak to a manager but he is going to agree with me, its the policy." This response was quite offensive. I work in the customer service industry. If a customer has a problem, staff should do everything that is within their power to help that custoer overcome their issue. Not make it a battle over who is right and wrong. Not to mention, if the problem is biger then what they are capable of resolving, they should kindly suggest that we speak with a manager, not wait for the guest to demand it. After speaking with the manager, it turns out i was right. The SPG member, making the reservation does have the power to make changes to any of the reservations he or she makes regardless of who is listed on the reservation as the person occupying the room. My complaint is not with the policy rather with the way in which your staff memaber handled her customer. Please work with this location to impove customer service thorughout the guest experience. I will add that as a token of good will, the manager that i spoke with at the hotel sent up six free drink tickets to our group to appologize for the poor level of service. July 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only