Aloft Tempe

  • 951 East Playa Del Norte Drive
  • Tempe,
  • Arizona
  • 85281
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age Requirement Policy

Minimum age to check-in at the property is 21. Persons under the age of 21 must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 38 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Closed in. I stayed at this hotel one night to run Pat's Run, a 4.2 mile race Saturday morning. My first impression of my room was that it was clean and beautiful, but a little stuffy. The bed was super comfortable, The flat screen mounted on the dark wall was beautiful. And the internet access was a definite plus. Running the air conditioner didn't seem to help the air quality, and I could not open a window. The windows don't even inch open. When I tried to fall asleep, I realized that the air conditioning unit for the room was really noisy. Eventually I realized that I could turn it off, and the central air would still run. After turning if off, however, I realized that my toilet wouldn't stop singing. So I had to jerry-rig it to stop. Finally, my 5 and 5:30 am wake-up calls were delivered to me at 3 and 3:30. When I called the front desk at 3:30 to make sure my later calls would arrive, the guy I was speaking to explained that it could not have been him that called me. He told me he was calling another room. He didn't apologize. Luckily, I made it to my race. But I have to say that I was pretty tired out and frustrated about this closed in experience. I wished I had not stayed there, and I will not be staying at this hotel again. It's rather disappointing. The location of this hotel was GREAT, and the room was really cute. This could have been a great experience for me. April 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service, location, and Amenities For convenience, location, amenities, and a helpful staff this place is terrific. Room layout is efficient and provides all that a traveler could ask for. Downfalls: I stayed in room 421: the carpet was frayed and had a few stains of indeterminate biologic origin, the walls by the desk and front door were scratched and stained, the shower head extension was partially unscrewed from the wall and leaking water (I screwed and tightened it back in), one of the covers on the shower assistance bars had come loose, the air conditioner was pretty noisy, the floors in the bathroom area looked like they could use a really good scrubbing, the carpeting in the hallways throughout the hotel floors was worn and rippled/loose creating a fall hazard. These are all maintenance issues. Periodic walk thru inspections of all your rooms is recommended. I mention these shortcomings to be constructive and improve the overall quality of your hotel. I love the place and would stay there again. Would hope that corporate will act to correct these faults. It's a great brand. This hotel is simply in need of a refresh. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value as Always Price, location and value for cost are hard to beat. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate amentities and good location Good hotel, nothing fancy. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I just completed a 7 week period where I was having to work in Phoenix and would fly home to Texas for the weekend. The last 5 weeks of this period, I stayed at this hotel and if I am ever in the area again, I will not stay anywhere else. Kelsey and Leighta went out of their way everytime they saw me to make sure I was comfortable and it made me feel like I was home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to school People at the front desk were always helpful. May 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Place to Sleep; Little Else This is an ok place if you just need somewhere to sleep, but don't expect much else. Staff didn't bother greeting me as a returning Platinum guest. Rooms are clean but construction is poor, just look at the paint splatters all over. Internet is unacceptable, I ended up tethering my cell phone just to check email. February 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel is near ASU campus and reatuarants. The next exit has nice shopping and more reastuarants. Everything that is needed is within a short distance. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff, great property! I have been staying at the aLoft Tempe off and on for close to two years on business travel. It is easy to see that this property is primely located, situated a short distance from downtown Tempe / Mill Ave, ASU and the swanky downtown Scottsdale area. The hotel is lively - a hip hangout, and the rooms are clean and the price reasonable. But the biggest asset to this property is their staff. The staff is fantastic! They really make an effort to ensure you're stay is as enjoyable as possible and come to greet you by name. Great property run by a rockstar team! January 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by didn't sleep Bed- horribly uncomfortable, Pillows - flat, AC - turned on only for a minute at a time before shutting off, Shower head - I had to fix it as it kept falling, creamer in the complimentary morning coffee had a date that showed it as expired over a month ago and finally customer service upon check out when passing all this along was rude. The only good thing I can say about this stay is that the shampoo & soap they have was delightful. October 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great staff This hotel has a very friendly staff. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No frills I only stayed 1 night - the staff was friendly, the room was clean. My issue was that I did not find it to be a service oriented hotel. First inconvenience - the hair dryer in my room did not work. For a woman - this is an issue that impedes my being able to be dressed and ready to leave on time. second and bigger issue - I called to have a working one brought to my room and was told that I could have another one but I had to come downstairs and pick it up myself, as there was no staff to deliver it to me. So I had to get dressed enough to trek down into the lobby, with other guests there checking out, with my soaking wet hair to get the hair dryer. Then, of course, I was late because of it all. While I understand that things like hair dryers break, the fact that there is no one to service this kind of situation during a stay will prevent me from staying there again or recommending your hotel. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very convenient This hotel is very convenient for my business travel. I am a SPG American Express cardholder and also a SPG Gold Member and this Aloft is perfect for me. The only complaint that I have is that the floors and walls in the hotel seem to worn down! July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great Aloft Hotel Aloft hotels are quickly becoming my favorite budget hotel chain and this Aloft lives up to that. Staff were extremely friendly from the front desk to the cleaning staff, and the bartender. Close proximity to the 202 and a 4 minute drive to Mill Ave. makes it great for traveling to work and entertainment. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Very cool. I'm glad our travel agent booked me here. The hotel is super clean, the staff is ultra helpful and friendly. The gym is great. The air conditioner is quiet- this is huge for AZ!! I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and it will be my first choice for my next trip to Tempe. (Starbucks across the street, fridge in room) Cool Lobby area for gathering with friends. Great spot for work trips, vacation, everything... August 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff Ever I travel to the Phoenix area a lot (every week). I work downtown and there is another Starwood hotel directly across the street from my office. It's a brand new, luxury Sheraton with state of the art everything. Rather than stay there, I stay 10 miles down the road at the Aloft. It's not as high end, but it's incredibly comfortable and a great deal-price wise. The reason I stay there every week is the staff. These guys go WAY beyond to make sure I feel at home. The bartenders even started ordering my scotch (Laphroig) so that I could have the nightcap of my choice on hand. At the bar, Ashley, Brett and Catherine play the perfect host for me every single day. At the front desk, Kelsey, Leighta and Evan make sure every detail of my stay is taken care of. It's not just me...there are several other weekly travelers who are there every week despite other more convenient hotels. In short...these guys make the place home for me. September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvment I recently stayed at the Aloft hotel in Tempe, AZ on 06/04/2014. I was greeted by the front desk staff; however, one staff attendant wore a designated Starwood shirt but there was another person [no designation on his shirt] just standing in kiosk/behind desk with head-phones, baggy jeans, and just looked very unprofessional while standing behind the desk.. I was then presented with my key for my room.. As I entered my room, it was a complete nightmare.. it looked as if someone stayed in the room [filthy] and was not prepared at all for new guests. Once again, I went back to the front desk to ask for a new room.. I got a new key for my next room "525" which was over 98 degrees because the AC was turned-off.. Rather than bringing my luggage back down for a third time.. I just decided to deal with the circumstances and allow the room to cool down [took nearly 2 hours]. My final impression of my stay at the Aloft hotel was when I was preparing to leave the room I wanted to make myself a cup of coffee on the way out.. The cream I poured into my coffee was EXPIRED and had large chunks of fowl bacteria.. Starwood management really needs to re-focus their management efforts on their staff, services, and overall presentation of this particular brand hotel. Furthermore, I feel this has left a very bad impression with me regarding the Starwood brand and highly considering taking my loyalty to another brand who prioritizes customer service/presentation as their main objective. Matthew Long SPG Preferred Guest 52054558392 June 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff & Management, but rooms need work I stay here every month for business and love the staff and easy access. The rooms, however, have taken a beating (no doubt due to ASU crowd). Beds are starting to sag, the pillows are so bad that I now pack my own, the carpets by elevators are stretched out, the clock in the room needed batteries, one of the window shades was broken, and the bathroom grout looks dirty. I know this is a boutique hotel with lower rates, but I still expect Starwood quality. April 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by the hotel is located in a good location. The hotel room was average, but need more chairs otherwise, guest must sit on the bed. Asked for a wake up call for the next morning.Call never came.On check out, call was put on the wrong page for the next day. May 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very professional and helpful staff. Nice hotel for the cost. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good bar area. The only downside is that the room was rather dirty with hair on the floor and even bed. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and freindly staff This hotel very conveniently located for East Valley travels and the staff is always very helpful. May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just the Basics I stayed here about 3 nights a week for 4 months due to work. I wish I could have stayed elsewhere. I wouldn't recommend using any points on a stay here, but might be good for a cheap, one-night stay. The good: -Price was hard to beat -Lots of good restaurants nearby -Very close to ASU -Front desk personnel were great The bad: -Literally the worst pillows I ever experienced -Super low budget on everything, including bathroom amenities (soap/shampoo comes out of a dispenser in the shower as opposed to a small bottle you can take) -AC/Heating unit constantly turns on and off, and is very loud. The only way to permanently turn it off is to unplug it. -Lots of hallway noise (i.e. doors slamming shut) -Very slow internet, even when plugged in -Very poor lighting -Even though its several miles away from the airport, you hear planes constantly -Gym equipment wasn't always functional -No restaurant, but there was a small snack station that had some snack items September 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience EVER!!!!!! AC unit was LOUD and would not stop going on and off all night long, also was right in front of one bed so that person was either hot or cold all night,making it impossible to sleep at all, carpet was so filthy, we didn't want to step on it, front desk person lied to us about airplane traffic, all we got was " sorry" when we checked out. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms Lack Cleanliness Carpets were dirty with stains One of the shades was broken and did not roll up The pillows were terrible and gave both of us a neck ache. The tile grout in bathroom and shower looked gross and neglected. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is bare basics. If all you want is a roof over your head, this is the place to go. Close to the airport is a plus. But, they need to get on the ball with maintaining their outdoor seating area. Garbage can by the pool was never emptied in the four days I spent there. None of the outdoor tables were washed, nor did the pool ever look as if it might have been cleaned. No excuse for this. The bar does not open until 5 PM. Well, that's when the bartender shows up. You then have to wait for him/her to ice the bar and set up. Their idea of olives is tiny pitted olives. Please...this just isn't right. There was no closet or dressers. No drawers. Like I said, if all you need is a roof over your head, then you'll be fine. But, if you're on vacation, don't bother. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grounds! I stayed one night with a friend. We're local but wanted to get away for a spell. We enjoyed the "coolness" of the place; the young, friendly front desk (at check in & check out); the modern amenities and room design; very comfy bed and bedding. However, coming out of the elevator on the 3rd floor, the carpet was all puffy in several places and looked like it hadn't been vacuumed. BUT we did notice when we came and went a couple of times, particularly the next morning for coffee at the Starbucks across the street, that the parking lot had an inordinate amount of trash. Some of it looked like it had been there a while, especially the run-over pair of dirty socks in the parking place next to ours. Someone needs to pay more attention to grounds care, especially daily trash pick-up. February 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement The air conditioner is just way too loud. I just could not get quality sleep. May 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by be more profasional room need more clean. hotel members need to learn that what is unkind and kind for customer. April 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gen Mgr Made Our Stay A number of my colleagues and I stayed at the Tempe property last week. We were in town for a business briefing and Jamie Metzger went out of his way to make sure we had the resources we needed to be productive. He made their conference room available for us and that allowed us to prepare for our meeting. According to the customer - we killed it! October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel Was A Disappointment We stayed here between 3/2-3/6 using rewards point for three nights and paying for one night. Our reservation was made weeks in advance and the A-Loft was selected because it accepted pets under 40 pounds. We spoke personally with hotel management as our dog weighs 67 pounds and they assured me that would be acceptable. Upon arrival that approval wasn't conveyed to the manager on duty, however he eventually accepted our dog. My issue is with the housekeeping staff and their inability to be truthful, forthright, thorough and timely. Our room was only cleaned once during our stay. No clean towels, soap, shampoo. Room door was open when we returned at 4:30 P.M. and housekeeping denied opening the door yet the rooms on either side of us were being cleaned and the doors open. Fortunately no high value property went missing. Debris in the hallway was not picked up, causing an odor throughout the hallway. Two employees deserve recognition for their positive attitude and assistance. They are Nick and Jamie. The overall facility management of A-Loft property reflects poorly on the Starwood high standards and Starwood's treatment of its rewards members. Very disappointing and a waste of earned Starwood points. March 9, 2014
<<prev2
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only