Aloft Richmond West

  • 3939 Duckling Drive
  • Glen Allen,
  • Virginia
  • 23060
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Minors are welcomed with an accompanied adult at the minimum age of 21.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 236 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissappointed First Time Visitor This was my first stay in an Aloft Hotel. It was difficult to find the front desk from the parking lot and to get to my room. The front desk staff didn't let me know where to park or where the elevators were (even after asking it was difficult to understand the foreign accent). The lounge area furniture was stained everywhere. The sink wouldn't drain in my first room so I was given another room next to the laundry room. Prices for mini-store food were exorbitant. Difficult to find ice. Exercise room was nice. Location was good. September 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Patience THe first room I was given looked like someone had slept on the bed, so I was offered another. The second room, while the bed was in good shape, the walls looked like someone had been swinging their luggage and scraping it against them and it had no 2nd phone (granted, the staff offered to bring one up)....so the third room was ok, but had no refrigerator, so they brought one up. While the bed was comfortable, and I had certain expectations of the austere interior design, I did not expect to see that the ceiling was just the painted over concrete of the support structure for the building itself. June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why the negative reviews? Not sure why so many negative reviews. Yes there is almost always only one person at the front desk of an Aloft and only one person at the bar. So what? It is not a full service hotel and all hotels in this segment are run the same way. Is the breakfast at Aloft hotels fantastic? Of course not. It is what it is. The price is right for this hotel and it is much more modern and nicer than all of the other run of the mill hotels in this lower priced segment. This particular Aloft is a laid out a bit differently (at least the lobby is) compared to all other Alofts (except for the downtown Dallas property). I think it is beautiful. Covered parking is included; location is outstanding for easy access to shopping/highways; staff is always very friendly. May 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value hotel, wish it had more features Very nice hotel for a short visit. Wish it had more dining options, as room service was not available. October 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by maintence I love the vibe and the design. As a designer i really appreciated the space allocation of the room as well as the clever use of finishes. The sad discovery is that the construction was so poor that it will cost this hotel money if not properly maintained and repaired. Example the grout is crumbling in the bath area literally falling out the sleeve around the shower pipe is rusted and is discoloring the tile with rust . the faucet on the sink is spraying so it is de silvering the mirror behind it. the ceiling has many rust spots which means there is moisture somewhere. I hope there will be an inspection so these things can be repaired before it becomes major July 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heard "EVERYTHING" going on in the adjoining room: I was referred to this hotel beacuse the Westin was booked. The Westin referred me to the ALoft saying it was highly recommended for Westin patrons. Never again. The walls of the hotel are extremely sound transmitting, In twenty five years of business travel I have never heard every word so clearly as this situation. The front desk manager immediately acknowledged that the walls are sound transmitting and gave me earplugs. While my room was immediately comped my wife and i lost a total night of sleep due to the problem. I do not believe I am the first patron to raise this issue. I would like to speak to a corporate executive about this experieince. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Painfully thin walls! I don't like that it's a yes or no answer on the recommendation, because it wasn't a bad hotel overall, just a couple of issues, one of which is a major decider for the future. One, the TV didn't work very well. A lot of the channels wouldn't tune in all the time. Not a big deal. The major issue was that the walls were so thin we could hear every sound coming from the next door neighbors' room at 2:30am, and those sounds are best kept private if you know what I mean. Also didn't like that the openness of the bathroom meant light bled pretty significantly into the bedroom area. Fitness center was nice, and the staff was courteous, plus the rooms were clean. April 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Improvements Needed As with any Aloft property, there are design issues, mainly w/ sound & noise. It is easy to hear the conversations in the adjoining rooms. At this property, it is also very easy to be disturbed by the noise at the outdoor restaurant on the first floor (even if your room is on the 5th floor). I have stayed at this property twice, & the cleanliness of the rooms is unacceptable. Both times, the floors in the bath/shower area were filthy & clearly had not been cleaned in some time. The maid service is also unacceptable - both times, the sink/counter area was not cleaned. Made me wonder what else had not been cleaned. June 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never again Our AC wouldn't turn on, the front desk was very unhelpful and condescending when I asked for help. We were given a handicapped room and the barthroom door would not shut. Overall, a very "cold" and uninviting place...I couldn't wait to leave. October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very modern, different, nice Overall, the hotel was very comfortable, clean, fun, and very modern layout (different...so that was neat). All staff members were very nice, attentative and helpful. My only complaint is their concept of how to get ice. You must go to the front desk, and the person, who is also checking in people and answering phones, must take your bucket in the back to get you some ice. Sorry, really stupid concept-OMG if this hotel is ever booked...If this is a way to save money, I am sure there are much better and more cost effective ways to save. Not like it is located close to a beach/sports park filling up big coolers January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Hotel in a Great Location This hotel is comfortable, friendly and very sociable. The clientele for the most part are professional business people, but they also seem to be more sociable than at most other hotels....and the Aloft definitely caters to them. There is a large open area for people to just hang out and play pool or you can relax and have a cocktail at the well stock bar. The rooms have a modern decor and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Marc who always seems to be there to help out. I travel almost every week and always look forward to coming back to the Richmond Aloft! March 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed The power for the lights and plugs by the bed did not work so I could not plug in my phone to charge next to the bed. I also could not turn of the overhead light and use the lights over the bed. The hair dryer only ran on low so it took forever to dry my hair. And the toilet had a hard time flushing and I feared it would over flow or stop working. October 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed with the WHOLE Family Friendly Atmosphere! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Beds were comfortable. Adjoining rooms was so convienent, enriching our reunion with 2 year old grandson. We walked across the street to the Richmond Children's Museum, and the sandwich shop for lunch and a high end Tex-Mex restaurant that was also kid friendly. I appreciated being able to sit with my dog JEB in the lobby, also impressed with the dog bed, toy and treat. The pool was so relaxing we decided to stay an extra day. Breakfast was delicious. I researched a lot of Hotels before choosing this one and I made the right choice. October 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay- but some issues with noise between rooms I typically like Aloft properties, but this one seemed a bit odd with its flow, lobby, and public spaces. The bar was rather hidden, and the space seemed a bit cramped. While the room was the standard that I came to expect, I could literally hear every word of the conversation from the guests next to me, and was woken up several times during the night. It seemed to be coming from the connection of the walls near the window- I don't know if there is some odd construction there or not. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful, and had all my SPG information ready to go. February 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mediocre Hotel - Great Staff! I stay at this hotel weekly since it opened several years ago. The hotel is what you'd expect for an Aloft however rooms are often not serviced very well and there are things left behind in rooms from past stays. There's a loud bar next to the hotel that will keep you up at night. Now that said, the staff is FANTASTIC. Between Bianca at the WXYZ bar and Marquita at the front desk, you are always well taken care of. I'm continually impressed with how much they care about their guests and its for this reason that I keep coming back to this otherwise mediocre hotel. August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Deco hotel I really enjoyed this hotel and area. We stayed the night on our way to VA Beach. The hotel is very hip and trendy. The walls are very thin, we could easily hear the room next door cell phone alarm and the bed isn't super comfortable, however, still an excellent hotel. October 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accommodating We stayed at the hotel for over a week because my daughter had ACL reconstruction surgery. We could not have been at a better place. They have a hall dedicated to handicap guests. The room was perfect as the beds are not too high and the shower is a walk-in. The staff was extremely accommodating, from the ladies at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Whatever we needed they got it for us without complaint. There was a fridge in the room, and a microwave in the lobby area for heating food, and a grocery store within walking distance. May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel for the right audience I'm not sure I would recommend this hotel to everyone, but for myself and the person traveling with me, it was fantastic. I loved the clean, modern design, the bar and pool table in the lobby and the overall layout of the rooms. The free wifi and free parking really added even more value to the booking, and I was treated well as an SPG gold. The *only* downsides for me were that the walls were marred in some places and there was a gap between the shower/toilet room door and the floor (intentionally). This makes it far from private. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has a great staff! Whenever I visit the Richmond market, I choose this hotel because of the friendly people. Even though there is a hotel closer to my office, staying here is worth the extra 15 minute drive. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for meetings I have had several meetings with groups of around 25 people here. The Staff, the facility and the location have all been great. A special mention for the chef that prepares things for us and makes the custom orders because she is great! On one occasion I missed their normal hours and needed some food, she was very accomodating and made me something i still talk about today. Also Bonnie has been great to work with when booking rooms for large groups and making all the details come together. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very modern and upscale. I loved the modern look and feel to this Aloft ! It is not your typical average looking room, the style and comfort of the linens and bedding were excellent! July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Encounterd Insects Multiple Times It appears that the Aloft in Richmond has developed a pest problem. I've stayed at this location for business multiple times and I have never had any issues. However, this particular visit, I encountered insects on more than one occassion in my room- definitely NOT welcome guests! July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great European hotel Wish I could have stayed longer July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff uttering curse words at customers - NOT ACCEPTABLE Front desk staff first said she would deliver "in-room coffee" that wasn't stocked. After many hours, guest re-requested the service in person. Staff walked away while uttering (but audible) a curse at the request - not acceptable behavior! Room continued to be poorly cleaned, poorly stocked with standard service items. Had great experience at W, but aloft is much more like a stylized Motel 6 - not a more affordable W. June 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfied Guest! Front Desk afternoon-evening agent (gentleman) surpassed my expectations from the moment I set foot on the premises. Bar manager and female bartender (sorry forgot her name) were fantastic! Facilities are always clean & welcoming. Love how accommodating the hotel & staff are with my dogs.That's why I always come back. Great location and neighborhood. Keep up the good work! Thank you! December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by will not be back This hotel was recommended by an associate because of its location. The location was fine, the hotel was not. The room was 86 F hot when I checked in. The thermostat was set to 70 F but did not seem to have any control. The front desk said they would fix the problem. It was 79 F in the morning so it wasn't fixed very well. (It turns out the elevator control room was next to my room and the temperature in that room was 90 F which had a significant effect on my room temperature). The shampoo and soap dispenser in the shower were both labeled as body soap even though soap one was blue, one was white, but there was no way to tell which was which. The people talking in the next room sounded like they were in my room, very poor sound insulation. There is no way to watch TV unless you sit on the bed; the couch is located under the TV. Maybe the audience for this hotel is a younger person than I, but once was enough for me. November 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Great Location Tracey, in housekeeping, was super! She was on the ball, went over and above to make sure everything was okay, she even gave my mom some extra lotion and saved me a trip to Target. More than anything, Tracey, like the from desk workers, was kind, polite, and always asking if I wanted or needed anything. Thanks! We will stay there again. June 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Glen Allen Aloft experience Disappointed at the layout of the room, the cleanliness of the hallway carpets, the cleanliness of the tile area in the bathroom/sink area. There were no places to unpack besides cubby holes and no place to hang clothes without them dragging on the floor. We had to request towels several times and when checking in the man behind the counter didn't have a clue about the SPG welcome awards. I still don't know if I am getting the spg points I am supposed to get. The sliding door without a lock and a big gap to look in to the toilet was a turnoff for my kids who wanted to move. Only 1 chair in the room. Overall disappointed! July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Halls loud I've stayed a number of times at Aloft, but this time was disappointing. With a Bar downstairs that opened to the street, it was loud til after midnight, then the hallways were very loud with people opening and closing doors and talking loudly til after 3:30am. didn't realize how loud the rooms were for anyone in the halls. June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, not business friendly While I love the location of the this hotel, it is really not business traveler friendly. There are no plugs easily accessible when you are sitting at the desk to work. If you are sitting at the desk to work, you can look out the window - that is all. I like to catch up on the news while cleaning out my e-mail, but you cannot see the TV and your laptop (unless you want to sit on the bed) at the same time. If you do not need to get any work done while sitting in your room in the evening, then this is a great hotel. I will probably look for something else in the area for my next visit to Richmond. September 28, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only