Aloft Richmond West

  • 3939 Duckling Drive
  • Glen Allen,
  • Virginia
  • 23060
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room. Minors are welcomed with an accompanied adult at the minimum age of 21.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 238 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our first time visit to this hotel. Different but enjoyable. Room was comfortable and met our needs for the weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful, an excellent group of people. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Aloft stay I discovered Aloft when searching for pet friendly accommodations. My husband, dog, and I had a wonderful stay. No additional fee either. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Erin, Asst Mgr, was very helpful and outstanding Personality.. August 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Usually good I love Aloft properties and try to stay at them whenever I travel. I have had two recent experiences over the past year at this Richmond location. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating - everything you would expect from a Starwood hotel. First, no hot water. It was a rude jump start to my day. But I decided to give the hotel a second try. Most recently, I was assigned a room on the main floor near the pool and hotel mechanical systems. Throughout the night there was constant noise from the mechanical room. I will continue to stay at all Starwood Properties, maybe not this one again till some of the bugs are worked out. March 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maintenance DIfficulties While we had no problems checking into our room, once there we found the sink was backed up and the toilet did not flush. We called the front desk and they sent someone up. This person was not able to do it (she came back a second time). At about 10 p.m. she said that in fifteen minutes the maintenance person would be there to fix the toilet. It took him close to an hour to get to our room. And while he was able to get the toilet to flush once, it still did not work. We were only staying one night so we let it be. Also the telephones made annoying beeping noises during the night like they were out of batteries. I had to unplug them. September 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointing... When we pulled up for our stay we were excited. A cool look and great area had us thinking we made a great choice. We were informed at check-in (email before would have been better) that the pool was unavailable. My kids were disappointed, seeing that we made sure in our search that the hotel had a functioning pool. We had a drink at the bar after dinner and asked if we could take wine glasses back to our room to enjoy some wine we brought with us and the answer was no. We were handed a plastic cup. The mattresses were really bad with both my wife and I having issues. i was disappointed because we walked in excited and left unhappy. April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Totally fails at basic services. The hotel has cool décor and modern style, but totally fails in functioning as a good place for families. Coolness does not make up for the lack of basics! The loft-style room means that the bathroom door does not lock (no fan either - yuck), and someone in the sink area can actually peek into the toilet area. If one has to use the bathroom in the night, he has to go in the pitch dark or turn on the one bathroom light that also lights up the common sink area, waking everyone else up. The bench placement under the TV is inconvenient, because anyone over 5 feet tall hits the back of their head on the TV. There is only one other chair in the room. The hotel pool was possibly the smallest I have ever seen. 2 or 3 active kids would fill it up. The pool table was not in good shape, and the sticks were held together with tape. Lack of signage was a big problem. We are not stupid, but never saw any signs in the parking garage directing us to the registration desk. We walked around the entire outside of the building in the rain to find the entrance. There were two elevators in the lobby that (confusingly) each went to different places and had different buttons. The hotel has 'reserved parking' for each room, but the staff didn't tell some of our party about it, and then told other members of our party to ignore the signs. Needless to say, we wanted our reserved spot, which was in a good location, so we got mad when someone else took it for the night. The bar area had an event planned that night, so the parking lot filled up. Also, the bar area was probably about 100 feet from our hotel room, and there were over a hundred very loud guests at the party until midnight. Despite the fact that the staff said the area was supposed to be sound-proofed, it was very loud. In the morning, one of us went to the "Recharge" area to try to check out breakfast. He never could figure out how to order breakfast, and no one offered to assist him. He was there for at least 20 minutes. So, we ate somewhere else. Oh yeah, last but not least, the fridge doesn't have a little freezer area to recharge ice packs (fail!), and the hair dryer only worked on the low setting. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prefect I travel to the area once a week for business and my business stays have been exceptional. Donna and Brianna - have made the Aloft a home away from home! Ask for either one of them on your next visit and you will not be disappointed!Exceptional Service! November 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Serious retraining needed After driving for twelve hours, we checked in. When I made the reservations I specifically stated we would be bringing our pet. So after the front desk clerk checked us in, in the most unprofessional check in experience I've had, I asked about the area to walk our pet and he stated that he didnt know I had a pet so we had to redo our keys because he gave us a non pet room. We went to our room and it was filthy. We attempted to try and sleep as we were exhausted. However the stench in the room prohibited us from doing so, that combined with the filth you knew you were in made it impossible. We went to the front desk to request another room and he refused, we stated we would be sleeping in the truck and he said alright have a great night. The parking lot ground area is filled with chicken bones. I have no idea where they are from but it's not the first impression I would imagine the hotel brand would want. At 7 am, I spoke with the general manager and he was apologetic and offered us a different room and comped us the night before. We went together to look at the room which we could not sleep in and I was concerned that he said the stench was due to our not operating the air conditioner control correctly, the filth on the wall was dings, however as a guest who stays 300 plus nights a year in a hotel I can differentiate between filth and dings, the filth on the window ledge was chipped paint and the reason for the dirty carpet and the moldy grout in the bathroom and shower was a lack of updates to the room. The new room he offered was better, at least we could breath, a plus, and it wasn't as filthy as the first room. If we weren't in desperate need of a shower and needing to get to our daughters school for the parental weekend, we would have moved elsewhere. We were supposed to stay until Monday but honestly couldn't relax due to the fact that we just felt dirty. We couldn't sit on the furniture, lay in the bed or even shower and feel clean, we spent as little time as we could there- sleeping and showering, and even though its a non smoking hotel every time you get on the elevator it has a strong odor of cigarette smoke, as if someone had just been smoking on it. So on Saturday morning we called the front desk from our daughters school and told them that we would be checking out on Sunday. They informed us that there is a fifty dollar fee if you check out early. this hotel has no incentive to meet the guests expectations. October 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Glen Allen Aloft experience Disappointed at the layout of the room, the cleanliness of the hallway carpets, the cleanliness of the tile area in the bathroom/sink area. There were no places to unpack besides cubby holes and no place to hang clothes without them dragging on the floor. We had to request towels several times and when checking in the man behind the counter didn't have a clue about the SPG welcome awards. I still don't know if I am getting the spg points I am supposed to get. The sliding door without a lock and a big gap to look in to the toilet was a turnoff for my kids who wanted to move. Only 1 chair in the room. Overall disappointed! July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Pet Friendly I booked a room in this hotel when my power was out and specifically chose it because they advertised that they were pet friendly. I called to make a reservation and confirm that they would accept my 2 cats with no additional fee. When I arrived at the hotel, they saw my cats and said "Oh, we only accept dogs. We'll give you a room, but you will have to pay a fee of $100" (more than the price of the room!). I was desperate so said ok. When I got to the room, I called customer service and they asked the Manager to refund the fee. They did refund the fee, but implied that I lied about the reservation person telling me they accepted cats. Very poor management. July 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft/Starwood Would Be Ashamed The staff is not friendly or professional. They sit in the corner by the computers and check their email/social networks as to not use the computers they have to get up and check you in on. You are a pain when you walk in, not once are you thanked for staying with them or recognized for being an SPG member. Staff brought their children to work, dressed unprofessionally, spoke to each other very disrespectfully, and treated guests as though they were a pain and it was a huge hassle to check in or check out. The hotel itself is in terrible condition for being as new as it is. Awesome location, disappointing property and staff. July 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Dysfunctional hotel I have stayed here four times now and had an issue every time. But the last one was my breaking point. My bathroom had a lump of hair from the previous guest and the shampoo dispenser was missing. I complained to the supervisor who had no apology. I came back late that evening and found that not only was my bathroom still unclean, but now my hotel room had been left open. I got front desk to give me another room, but he did not offer help to move my luggage. The next day I ran into the supervisor and informed him that my complaint had gone ignored, he again had no apology. The staff is unsympathetic, rude and untrained. March 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room I requested a king size bed upon check in. I was checking in together with some of my co-workers. It was a business trip. I was told that all the king size beds were already taken, however, my co-worker who checked immediately after me was offered a King size bed without asking for it. I have worked in the hotel industry for some time myself and understand room assignments. I did not feel valued since my request was not met. I then got to my room and the underneath the sink was a dirty q-tip, got in my bed and there was a big ball of hair in under the covers...other than that I like the design of the hotel. I was a little disappointed since the hotel came highly reco May 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was disappointed For a new hotel I was disappointed. One elevator wasn't working, the pillows were uncomfortable, the toilet didn't flush well, the fire suppression hood was not approved by the fire marshal (or so we were told) so cooked meats were not available at the breakfast we had pre-paid for. There were lots of scuff marks on the walls and there is a gap in side sliding door separating the toilet from the sink area (poor design resulting in lack of privacy). In addition, when we checked in we had to tell them we had signed up for a pre-paid breakfast which was a little awkward because their system didn't show it apparently. August 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft Richmond The Aloft Front Desk Gentleman who checked me in at approximately 10pm was Excellent!! Lovely welcoming, helpful and polite. The reason for the 4 rating on the staff was that at 8:29 am there was a knock at the door by a woman with a clip board checking if I was still in my room - obviously Housekeeping!!!!!! If your check out policy is until 12N WHY are you knocking at the door!!!! Didn't think I needed to put DONOT DISTURB Sign out and incidentally I left at 10am there was no Housekeeping carts in sight. By the way my colleague 2 doors away not only hair in the shower but stained sheets Gross Gross Gross!!!!! January 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel near Richmond I like the hip and minimalistic architecture of the ALOFT hotels. The staff is friendly and casual. My only issue is that the windows were unable to open and the room was a bit stuffy. November 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Odd Hotel, New Staff, Sloppy Cleaning First visit to this hotel and here are my observations: 1. Clump of hair left in shower from previous guest and wasn't cleaned. Wash cloths that I left in shower till 3rd day. 2. Sink stopper was stuck on 3rd day by cleaning staff and they didn't fix it. There was no mechanism to lift it so sink was full of dirty water. 3. Parking situation is bizarre with 2 elevators needed to get to vehicle 4. Ironing board in room is for someone 3-foot tall. 5. No closet to hang clothes, just 2 wall mounts with hangers. No ability to hang long slacks. 6. Front desk staff were always just standing around and one guy kept saying "I'm new but has been there 4 months he said and he was clueless". January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Comfy bed/outside of the room no fun We came for a "date day and night" for our 20th anniverary and were looking for a fun place with other things to do as well as a great room. During the day we planned to spend some time on the outdoor patio and swim in the indoor pool. The key wouldn't work in the gym or the pool area so we asked and were told that the pool was closed for renovations and since the outdoor patio was connected to that area it was also closed. That is something I think we should have been made aware of even in the "special notes" section on the website. If we were just looking for a room we could have found one much cheaper. April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really disappointed! We have stayed in this hotel in the past and it was an incredible experience. It definitely has taken a downward turn. The internet never worked for us. We choose this hotel for the indoor pool, it wasn't working. The air in the room never seemed to turn on. It was actually the part of our vacation that seemed to create a negative weekend for us. We tried calling down to the front desk for help but there was nothing written to let us know how to reach the front desk. After trying all normal numbers to reach them we had to walk down to ask about the internet. Our family was very disappointed. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware the Thermostat Room comfort was significantly hindered by the room never cooling off. We couldn't figure out why the unit never turned on despite the thermostat being set and on. The sign on the unit said that it was "extra quiet" and would work even if we couldn't hear it. When checking out we mentioned the temperature problem in the room, and the desk clerk informed us that if someone sets it below 65, the unit becomes disabled and must be reset by an employee. This would have been good to know, as ours was set at 64 when we arrived so was never actually on during our stay! August 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2nd stay not impressed The staff at this location was awesome, very friendly and accommodating. I had a few issues that I think needs attention - The Air Conditioning was not working right in my room I like to keep the room really cool when sleeping and I was not able to get the temperature to drop. I adjusted the thermostat and tested every option. I called the front desk to see if there is anything they asked if I wanted to move but being in the middle of the night needing to wake up early I decided to suck it up. I ended up not sleeping well through out the night. Secondly, water temperature in the shower doesn't stay consistent it is always going up and down. I found my self constantly adjusting the water temperature. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel staff member was great I was very impressed wtih the service my husband and I recevied when we stayed on 2/23/13. I have a fear of elevators. When I came in and explained th situation to Antonio he was very accommodating to my needs and was able to provide us with a room on the same floor as the lobby. I wanted to thank him for that. I also forgot my razor in my packing and he was able to provided that as well. I always tell people it is the little things that make a BIG difference and Antonio made so that I could have a more relaxing and enjoyable experience. My husband thanks him as well. GREAT JOB Antonio!!! February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVED IT It is a wonderful hotel in a very convenient locality in the midst of lots to do and see. The customer service is amazing and the attentiveness is always spot on! Always clean. We have enjoyed each stay at this ALoft and will go back again and again! October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, but that's about it I have stayed at this location three times, primarily because of its excellent location. Unfortunately, I find the beds at this location quite uncomfortable. At first, I thought it might be the room I was in, but after three stays in different rooms, my opinion has not changed. On my most recent visit, I was placed in a room adjacent to a room under renovation. I needed to work from the room in the morning, but the noise prohibited even a business phone call. After contacting the front desk, who assured me the noise would stop until 11AM, the construction noise continued - uninterrupted. November 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jackhammer beneath my pillow! After traveling from CA to Richmond on 9/23/13, my husband and I checked into this aloft after midnight. The desk clerk assigned us to a room on the second floor (which is the main floor above the parking area). Being quite exhausted, we hoped to be able to sleep in. However, at 8:00 a.m. the sudden noise of a jackhammer beneath us literally made me jump out of bed! Then a hammer striking a pipe joined the cacophony. Our question is why were we placed in a room so close to construction noise? There are several levels above or beyond that site of construction. We did not complain to the morning desk clerk because we were so angry that we feared that we would lose our temper! Poor treatment of your guests! September 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice Hotel, Terrible Beds Overall, this hotel is exactly what you'd expect from an Aloft... except for the beds! The bed and linens were terrible - most definitely not what I've come to expect from Aloft hotels and Starwoods properties. I always enjoy the fluffy duvet, nice pillows, soft sheets, and comfortable mattresses. This Aloft, however, had a lumpy duvet, flat pillows, scratchy sheets, and a mattress that was harder than a rock. We didn't get a good night's rest and woke up with backaches. Otherwise, the hotel was lovely and well-situated near shopping and dining. Just be warned about the beds! April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by so-so The best thing about this hotel is that it accepts dogs and has a nice area to walk them. Other than that, I'm really not a fan of this hotel. I find it annoying that they try so hard to be "hip". I don't like the way the sink in the bathroom is open to the rest of the room. The rooms seem smaller than the average hotel room. We were really annoyed to find out that the bar closes at midnight (even on the weekends!). We had checked in after midnight and were looking forward to having a drink or 2 after our arrival, but that obviously that didn't happen. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by We enjoyed our stay but...... I would have given 5 stars all the way if it weren't for 2 issues. These issues were lack of comfortable seating in the room & uncomfortable pillows.There were 2 of us and only the desk chair. There was the bench under the TV but you couldn't see the TV if sitting there. 2nd issue, the pillows are to big and to firm. There should be at least 2 different firmness and size to choose from. We really enjoyed our stay and especially liked our dog being so welcomed. The staff was great and very friendly. We would have enjoyed it more if it hadn't been for the 2 mentioned issues. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great room design The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The layout and design of the rooms are well-thought-out. We had a problem with the toilet, which was attended to very quickly when we called the front desk about it. We loved the big flat-screen TV. December 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only