Aloft New York Brooklyn

  • 216 Duffield Street
  • Brooklyn,
  • New York
  • 11201
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 277 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel I lived in New York for many years and found this hotel to be accessible to just about everything we needed on our visit to the city. Clean rooms with excellent use of the space. February 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine hotel - valet parking a laugh Great location and friendly staff. The faux hip vibe a little over the top, but no less enjoyable. Valet parking is a joke -- slow, unresponsive. October 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Points Great place to stay with using your SPG points....NYC is ridiculously priced. This place was a steal using points. Nice friendly people........good location:) October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect The Aloft was perfect for my trip, subway was close, valets were very nice as were the bartenders. The rooms were spotless daily and the bed was total comfort. July 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy hotel The rooftop club is open until 2:30 am and you can hear the music and yelling in the hallways and hotel room. We had no hot water the first day and a half. May 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by More bad than good The rooms are small and cheap looking. You can clearly hear others in the next room talking and snoring. The water never gets hot. It is luke warm at best. March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Place This was a special place away from the rush of the City but with all the comforts of home but yet close to all the places you want to see in New York. August 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel in a very good location We chose the hotel for our 4 days trip to NYC because it offered a good "value for money ratio" in a very good location. Expectations were fully met! January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location Aloft brings a fresh new age style and is very relaxing. i like the very professional ,but low key atmosphere. location was very convenient. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT property! Really accommodating staff and fantastic new property. Location is downtown Brooklyn so not so quaint but very convenient to transporation. May 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad The staffs are inefficient and the facilities in room are poor, but for the price of 129usd, I will recommend this hotel! June 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fine Great property if you can get a sub $250 rate. I paid 599, 559 and 409, price points not commensurate with the property. May 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent stay Overall, good place to stay but had trouble with the room''s heating system, and soap dispenser did not work properly. January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice clean, modern Good Hotel. Clean, modern, quiet> good layout and relatively accesible to Manhatten. Herald Sq was only 20 mins away. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very comfortable and the lobby is a pleasant place to sit and read. November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the area Courteous and informative staff. Prompt services and convenient for in and out local running around. August 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great features I was impressed with room, style, updated new, and clean. November 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel was pleasing relaxing great atmosphere from entering to leaving. I wish there was free parking though August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, staff? The hotel has everything physically needed for a comfortable stay-clean room, free wi-fi, coffee in the morning, Comfy bed, nice design, even chamomile tea bags for nightime and near the subways to Manhattan. The area is still a little deserted at night (only noticed if you are walking to surrounding areas) but better than a year ago and looks to be moving in the right direction. On check-in we were told there are "no SPG Preferred Floors", that "we don't have the benefits of Starwood perks" which we thought odd. We were put into an adjoining room which was noisy (heard things you don't want to hear from the next door bathroom and complete phone conversations the next morning) and were moved the next day to a non-adjoining room-but at the same level and directly next to major construction--it would have been the staffs job to let us know this and provide earplugs for the next morning--or for them to give us a different room. We made our reservations months in advance and this is our second time here, you would think we might get a break in the room location but the staff seemed clueless. However, all in all a good hotel with potential, but could use more aware and better trained staff to make it a real experience. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, clean hotel This hotel is beautiful and at a great price - especially in NY. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Different is good Fun, well run hotel. 5 min walk to subway Huge room for NYC. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the hotel quiet, clean, perfect ! would return anytime. September 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adorable I was impressed with the lay out of the rooms and amenities. Everything we needed for our NYC weekend visit was there. As advertised, the ambiance and decor is nifty and nontraditional, making for a fun stay. The immediate neighbourhood is affected by a lot of construction and some sketchiness, but the location is otherwise great. Close to lots of subway lines and shopping. The staff were very friendly, answered our questions and, specifically, let us store our luggage after we checked out so that we could squeeze a few more hours out of the city before leaving. One concern, as mentioned by others, is the thinness of the walls. Our room was next to a stairwell on the 14th floor, so we only had the one neighbour...but whether it was the thin walls or poorly sound-proofed inter-room door, we could easily hear the other guests next door. And they weren't even being that loud. So my suggestion would be that the hotel invest in better insulating the walls or those inter-room doors ... OR, in keeping with the nontraditional approach of the hotel, just be up front and completely own the issue -- give free ear plugs along with the free bottled water and other room goodies. Maybe even let people know at check-in whether there are other guests in the adjacent rooms -- that would help manage expectations and give people an idea of how sensitive they should be with their own noise levels. November 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel 1 stop from NYC I was surprised to find this little gem of a hotel so close to NYC. Obviously because it's in Brooklyn, it's priced less then the NYC Starwood properties. So I gave it a chance. And I'm glad I did. I'm a platinum member and because I staying for 5 nights, I opted for the continental breakfast each day rather than the 250 pts for my stay. They have nice fresh muffins, bagels, fruit and juice. No upgrades for Platinum (all rooms are the same), but the rooms were decently spacious for the area. Because of the loft nature of the rooms, I would not suggest them for couples (someone using the sink is really in the living room). And there is almost no closet space to speak of. But for a solo traveler, the rooms are great. Front desk staff are super friendly and helpful. They also have a little bar where you can watch a game. One downside - they have placed their lobby furniture in such a way that it's impossible to get through from the front door to the elevators. Who designed this, I'll never know. The location is right next to a bunch of trains - all of which are 1-2 stops away from NYC. Not much different than staying near Wall Street if you stayed in Manhattan. There is also a major car rental company location nearby in case you need to rent a car for a day trip. Parking is very expensive - $25 for self park around the block, $39 per day if you want the valet to park for you. The area around the hotel isn't the nicest - but it isn't unsafe. I'd def stay here again when the hotel is priced less than the NYC hotels. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and atmosphere! We chose this hotel based on proximity to our tourism interests (St. Ann's Warehouse theater, Statue of Liberty, etc.) and affordability for the area. We loved the interior design, the lobby and our room were both great! The elevator was like a little night club, and we got a kick out of that. We also loved the view from our window. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They were very knowledgeable; they were able to give us specific information about how to get around on the subway, down to the exact stops, and about all the restaurants in the area. The only negative experience with the hotel I wouldn't even consider a complaint, because it seemed like more of a freak incident than something likely to occur often. The morning after our first night there, the cleaning lady knocked and asked if we wanted service, we said no thank you, but she was really insistent on wanting to clean anyway. We told her we would be leaving soon, if she wanted to come back later. When we got back to the hotel late that afternoon, she came in again and asked if we wanted service. We wanted to be left alone, so we said no thank you again. We couldn't really understand what she was saying, but again she was really insistent on coming in anyway, she wouldn't simply leave, and she claimed the hotel wouldn't pay her if she didn't clean our room. Despite us saying no to room cleaning several times, she still came in and collected our towels, then left after putting our phone on a speakerphone dial-tone. But really overall it was a great hotel, and we would stay there again if in the area. December 12, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is "ok" - expected more Although I travel every week and almost always stay at Starwood properties, this was the first time I stayed at an ALOFT property. Unfortunately, I have to say it was merely ok. The font desk staff were certainly pleasant enough but always seemed a bit overwhelmed and under-trained. The rooms are much smaller (and minimalist) than I expected. For example, there is no closet, there is a 2' X 4' cubbyhole in a room divider that acts as the bed's headboard and separates it from the bath. I usually stay at one of the other Starwood properties in Manhattan; and almost always get upgraded to a very comfortable room - not the case here. Evidently, there are only 2 room types - regular (very small) and suites (average) and I was told that there were no suites available during my stay. The bigger problem was the poor AC. First, the units are extremely noisy. And in my case, the one in my room was not working properly. Upon leaving the hotel the next morning, I notified the front desk of the problem and was assured it would be taken care of by the time I returned. I had a very long day and returned at approximately 9:30PM to an 80 degree room. I called the front desk, explained the situation and expressed my dissatisfaction. They dispatched someone to my room who worked on the unit for about an hour. Meanwhile I asked the front desk just to move me so I could get to sleep. Approximately 90 minutes later, around 11:00PM, the AC was still not working and I was finally given a new room. This should have been taken care of well before I ever returned to the hotel. There were a couple of other minor issues as well that just all adds up to a very mediocre experience. July 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Forget Heat, 52 degrees is all you get. So, I recently started to convert over to Starwood after being a loyal Platinum member with another brand. A property in Florida really warmed me up to the Starwood brand by being so pleasant and proactive. As I was on a leg of a business trip, one of the front desk agents in Florida actually called this property before I arrived and asked if she could put in a request for a nicer room since I was a frequent guest at her hotel after I'd made a comment that I hope that I get treated half as good as I do with her hotel. Def above and beyond. Now, onto the stay: I've lived in NYC for 6 years, with this last year being transferred to oversee 3 groups in FL. Since I've sublet my apartment, I usually stay the 1-2 nights in a hotel when I have to fly back into NYC. This was the first time I'd been back since becoming a Starwood convert. The location for me was actually perfect. Right in between multiple trains, and I was going to be attending meetings in Lower Manhattan which was maybe a 5 min trek, and I was flying into JFK so with either cab or subway service, it would be painless. Perfect! I arrived in NYC around 2:30 pm right after NYC got walloped by a snow storm. There went my seamless way of getting to the hotel. No cabs at JFK and the AirTrain connecting the airport to the A was out of commission. Shuttle bused it to the 3. But, worked in my favor as I didn't arrive at the hotel until 4pm, so I didn't feel like I was being pushy about check in. One of the sliding glass doors was not operational so you had to use a push through glass door. No biggie, if that's the worst they had after a snow storm, they were doing ok. When I got to the desk however, I realized that the broken door was just a sign of things to come. I was greeted, asked for my ID and payment, all very pleasantly. Then, when the agent checking me in pulled up my reservation, she told me of the request by my last hotel and that they would be able to upgrade me into a suite with a balcony. When I gave her a look of happy surprise, she responded "Well, do you want it?" Now, since I'm Corp Preferred, I am entitled to an upgrade "if available." (With my other brand, I was guaranteed an upgrade because of my Platinum status. Now, I'm not sure if ALL of the rooms I was put in were actual upgrades, but the desk agents always picked out a feature of the room to highlight as an upgrade because of my status.) The way this agent was informing me had me half believe she meant to charge me for the upgrade. But, I was on my corporate rate which meant I couldn't possibly break the bank over an upgrade fee. I was given keys to suite 205. Low floor suite? Well, hey, it's a suite right! Well, the suite was an accessible suite. Meh, no biggie had plenty of 'em before. Light switches and floor plans are a lil lower. But I always have a hard time figuring out the shower. Not to mention I usually have to build a wall with extra towels to prevent water from rushing out. And the balcony...covered in snow. TOTALLY understandable considering the miserable conditions on my way there. I was hardly going to call down and complain about an upgrade. So, I dropped my bags and headed out grab a sandwich from Brooklyn Deli up the street. Returned, shot off a few emails then changed to head into the office and out for a dinner meeting, not returning until around 11:30. And holy cow did I walk into a cold room. At that point, I assumed that it just hadn't been set to activate since I'd not touched it upon arrival. So, I turned it up to 75 (current temp read 52), freshened up for bed and placed a 7am wake up call. Well, I woke up around 3:30-3:45am to needing to use the restroom. I did, but noticed that it was still frigid in the room. I messed around with BOTH HVAC units, the one in the living room I couldn't figure out. The one in the bedroom was an LCD wall control which I maxed out to 80 or something. Then hopped back into bed. Did I consider calling the desk? Yes, but it was also nearly 4am, what were they going to do that wouldn't inconvenience me seeing as I was to be up in 3 hours. So, back to sleep. When I woke up, the room was STILL at 52 degrees. Even though warm air was rushing out of the unit. I didn't wash my hair as to try and decrease the minutes I spent shivering while drying off. Well, I'd let them know when I went down in a few. Which I did. The response I got: "Well, why didn't you tell us?" After I informed her of the time, she they would have sent up a blanket...well ok, but I was at my worst just out of a shower. I then asked if I could just drop my carryon off since I wasn't sure how late my meeting would run past 12 or 1. "That would be fine" was the response. No offer for a later check out or to follow up with me. When I returned to the hotel around 1:30 to pick up my bags, one of the front desk agents there this morning was working. I handed her my luggage ticket, asked if I could get my carry-on back, and motioned to the lounges in front of the elevators informing her that I would wait there. After 20 minutes, I didn't have my luggage brought to me. During this time I got online and booked a room with another Starwood property in Midtown. After booking, I walked over to the desk where the original agent was joined by the other from that morning. She motioned that my carry-on was next to her. I tipped her to give to the bellman (which was herself) and asked the 2 agents what had been learned about the HVAC unit in room 205. The newest one's response: Is it still not working? After explaining to her that I had checked out that morning and had not been back to the room, she looked confused before explaining that unfortunately there was nothing they could do about it. It was the "way the windows are against the wall, they let in a draft." So comforting to know that this hotel's staff placed me in a room that they knew was not weatherproof on one of the coldest nights. And not one apology or recovery option was offered. Thankfully this was not my first experience with Starwood or I would have never come back to any of their brands. January 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hot and Cold This hotel is hip, quirky (in good ways), conveniently-located, exceptionally clean and the trademark bedding is as comfortable as ever. It all added up to a typically-satisfying 1 night stay. Problem is I was booked for 2 nights - during near-record heat wave and assigned a room (703) without working a/c. I first reported the issue around 1 a.m. as I was reluctant to be a complainer and I had figured out how to reset thermostat every 20 minutes to blow cool to try to permit wife and child to sleep. However the unit repeatedly shut down, blew hot and displayed an error message and ultimately the conditions became truly miserable both in terms of heat and my inability to achieve adequate sleep in the 20 minute increments (after 700 mile drive). So I visited the front desk 4 times throughout the night during which the clerk, despite conceding alternate rooms available, remained (tactfully) steadfast in his theory that I was either incapable to operate the thermostat correctly or that needed repairs would be available after 8 am. I finally achieved the obvious solution of a new room assignment at 6 am by which time an action-packed day of sight-seeing was no longer feasible given my weariness. This was only dark blot in otherwise great 10-day road trip. Giving the benefit of the doubt I would like to conclude there was mostly a failure to communicate between me and the overnight clerk. But I insist that the correct solution was never that I needed to tolerate the discomfort until morning when an obvious solution was available at the cost of only additional housekeeping services for the defective room. The clerk was bright and competent and thus presumably needed only to be better instructed to solve solvable problems particularly (but not only) for a diehard starwood loyalist which I am and expect to remain. By the way the new room was identical, but cool, and perfect. June 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff needs major improvement Overall, a few things to consider. We recently to a wedding and this was the preferred hotel for the wedding guests. Another thing to note is that we have a 16-month old child, so we're looking at this from a family perspective. We have a lot of experience with Starwood (and other hotel properties) as we travel a fair amount. For this hotel rooms are on the smaller side and the hotel has few rooms per floor, so hope you're not on a noisy floor. Location in Brooklyn is great and pretty much every subway is just a few blocks away. The low rating comes from the staff that is unprofessional, untrained, and overall just not prepared for guests. From the first few minutes we arrived at the hotel we were underwhelmed by the staff. They gossiped with each other while addressing guests. They also simply didn't listen. Two examples: I specified I didn't want to be by the side of the elevator doors where the doors ding when an elevator arrives on the floor. The person said "it's on the other side" and when we got to our floor, we were right in front of the elevator. With a child, this was going to be a problem.They did move us after I went back downstairs to deal with the issue. Second time, I asked about two specific locations nearby to see how long it would take to walk and if they were OK for kids to play. The staff person said "never heard of them" but you can go here, which was one of the locations I mentioned and then she pretty much hung up. I might add, I am from Texas, but I don't have an accent so I can't blame it on speaking with an accent. And, finally, I saw the staff be rude to other guests. They were short with their responses and often condescending. Service is definitely not a top priority here. Sad to see since I have stayed at Starwood hotels for years at this point and I was looking forward to trying a new family of their hotels. I might have a different impression if there was a concierge to address guest needs and actually acknowlege guests and their needs. June 14, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only