Aloft New York Brooklyn

  • 216 Duffield Street
  • Brooklyn,
  • New York
  • 11201
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 343 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern, well designed, comfy, friendly I needed a hotel at short notice for work, and this hotel was just great. Easy to book, good value, so much so that I was pleasantly surprised when i got there. Friendly knowledgable staff, and really well designed and thought through, rather funky rooms. Would definitely return, and recommend to both work colleagues and friends. Emma G December 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No SPG recognition Front desk was not welcoming. They did not explain features of hotel. No effort made to accommodate bed request. Was given a noisy adjoining room. It was possible to hear a normal conversatation thru the door in next room. Front desk did not honor request for a different quieter room. There was confusion about SPG welcome gift and credit for no maid service. December 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Meh I was really disappointed by the staff. The facilities are fine. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great hotel! We had never been to Brooklyn before and got lost at night trying to get to the hotel. Rojan, at the desk, couldn't have been nicer trying to guide us there, We loved the room and how it was decorated and had everything we needed. Thank you Aloft Brooklyn! We will be back soon. Susan December 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hipster Hotel This visit was a last minute reservation. I should say I was lucky to get it. Or not. My overall impression was that I was not "cool" enough to be a guest here. HOSPITALITY- I wonder how the staff there would define this word? Asking questions or directions made me feel like I was being a nuisance. A guest should never feel that way. At no point did I feel that this staff would go above and beyond for me. The overall vibe I got from your staff was "when are you leaving?" It is never a good sign when a guest is actively trying to find other accommodations while staying at your hotel. If the objective of this hotel is to be too cool or hip then kudos to you on the decor. However it is just a building, please remind your staff that it is the treatment of your guests that defines you. December 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by fun, young at heart hotel Even though we're old folks, we liked this very young at heart hotel. The room and bath were large for NY and very comfortable, especially the bed. The views were terrific, compared to most NY hotels. Our only complaint was the room was not designed for guests with more than a few clothes; no drawers, just a couple large open square box shapes in the sink area and a strange sloped rod that is perpendicular to the wall, so your clothes hang on top of each other. Once we figured out to hang our cothes on the rod that holds the drape to cover the cothes, it was fine. December 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adorable I was impressed with the lay out of the rooms and amenities. Everything we needed for our NYC weekend visit was there. As advertised, the ambiance and decor is nifty and nontraditional, making for a fun stay. The immediate neighbourhood is affected by a lot of construction and some sketchiness, but the location is otherwise great. Close to lots of subway lines and shopping. The staff were very friendly, answered our questions and, specifically, let us store our luggage after we checked out so that we could squeeze a few more hours out of the city before leaving. One concern, as mentioned by others, is the thinness of the walls. Our room was next to a stairwell on the 14th floor, so we only had the one neighbour...but whether it was the thin walls or poorly sound-proofed inter-room door, we could easily hear the other guests next door. And they weren't even being that loud. So my suggestion would be that the hotel invest in better insulating the walls or those inter-room doors ... OR, in keeping with the nontraditional approach of the hotel, just be up front and completely own the issue -- give free ear plugs along with the free bottled water and other room goodies. Maybe even let people know at check-in whether there are other guests in the adjacent rooms -- that would help manage expectations and give people an idea of how sensitive they should be with their own noise levels. November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice stay! We were able to make our reservation the day before using starpoints. This hotel was in a great location, Just a few stops from Manhattan. The staff was very friendly. Dillon and his staff did their best to give us a great room with a nice view on Thanksgiving evening. Very friendly staff and clean upbeat place!!!! November 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a noisy place ! It is way too noisy because of the rooftop night club - you can hear loud and annoying music in a 20th floor-located room till ~2am. Forget about a good night sleep here! Personnel is a bit less responsive than you might expect in a 4 star hotel. You need to call them twice each time you need anything from them. Besides, the room remained unserviced with towels not changed until the next day shift. Would not recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to wake up well-rested in the morning. November 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, staff? The hotel has everything physically needed for a comfortable stay-clean room, free wi-fi, coffee in the morning, Comfy bed, nice design, even chamomile tea bags for nightime and near the subways to Manhattan. The area is still a little deserted at night (only noticed if you are walking to surrounding areas) but better than a year ago and looks to be moving in the right direction. On check-in we were told there are "no SPG Preferred Floors", that "we don't have the benefits of Starwood perks" which we thought odd. We were put into an adjoining room which was noisy (heard things you don't want to hear from the next door bathroom and complete phone conversations the next morning) and were moved the next day to a non-adjoining room-but at the same level and directly next to major construction--it would have been the staffs job to let us know this and provide earplugs for the next morning--or for them to give us a different room. We made our reservations months in advance and this is our second time here, you would think we might get a break in the room location but the staff seemed clueless. However, all in all a good hotel with potential, but could use more aware and better trained staff to make it a real experience. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistently Good We've stayed at this property three times and have always found the staff to be great; very friendly and willing to help. The rooms have always been clean and whenever there was an issue, it was dealt with promptly. I can't say enough good things about this property, everything works the way I expect it to. November 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel 1 stop from NYC I was surprised to find this little gem of a hotel so close to NYC. Obviously because it's in Brooklyn, it's priced less then the NYC Starwood properties. So I gave it a chance. And I'm glad I did. I'm a platinum member and because I staying for 5 nights, I opted for the continental breakfast each day rather than the 250 pts for my stay. They have nice fresh muffins, bagels, fruit and juice. No upgrades for Platinum (all rooms are the same), but the rooms were decently spacious for the area. Because of the loft nature of the rooms, I would not suggest them for couples (someone using the sink is really in the living room). And there is almost no closet space to speak of. But for a solo traveler, the rooms are great. Front desk staff are super friendly and helpful. They also have a little bar where you can watch a game. One downside - they have placed their lobby furniture in such a way that it's impossible to get through from the front door to the elevators. Who designed this, I'll never know. The location is right next to a bunch of trains - all of which are 1-2 stops away from NYC. Not much different than staying near Wall Street if you stayed in Manhattan. There is also a major car rental company location nearby in case you need to rent a car for a day trip. Parking is very expensive - $25 for self park around the block, $39 per day if you want the valet to park for you. The area around the hotel isn't the nicest - but it isn't unsafe. I'd def stay here again when the hotel is priced less than the NYC hotels. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Staff Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very comfortable and the lobby is a pleasant place to sit and read. November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally fine; poor soundproofing Stayed for a couple nights in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. This hotel is a great deal on Starpoints, and the staff was working hard to take care of everyone under trying circumstances. The rooms are fairly minimal but fine. The one big problem: the doors block out basically no sound whatsoever. Every word spoken in the hallway or in the adjoining room passed into our room, which was particularly problematic when the people next door decided to have a small (but, under most situations not unreasonably loud) party. November 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unscrupulous I had a guarunteed reservation at the Brooklyn Aloft for three nights beginning October 23rd. When I arrived at the hotel at 10:00PM, I was told that the hotel was oversold and that my room had been given away. I was shuttled to another, inferior hotel and was told that my first night there would be paid for. It was not. When I arrived home after my trip, I found that the Aloft Brooklyn had charged me the full price for the priveledge of being kicked to the curb. Good luck. October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is consistent with all Aloft Hotels It's in a great area in a redeveloping part of Brooklyn, just a few blocks off the main street. It's close to the subway so getting to Manhattan is easy. The front desk staff is friendly and professional. We will stay here again instead of Manhattan. October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Points Great place to stay with using your SPG points....NYC is ridiculously priced. This place was a steal using points. Nice friendly people........good location:) October 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolute Nightmare We booked two rooms and requested that they be next to each other or at least on the same floor, and that they be on a quieter floor away from the nightclub noise. I confirmed this request a second time with reservations. When we arrived we were put on two separate floors which were higher up in the building. The night club noise was unbelievable. We went through two room changes, but that almost didn't happen. The morning staff would promise to move us to a different room later in the day, but when we came back in the afternoon ready to change rooms the afternoon staff didn't know anything about it. The staff was friendly, but kept messing up. To top it all off, we were double charged for one of the rooms and I'm still trying to get that resolved. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone based on our experience. Too bad because the hotel has potential, but so many things went wrong it's almost laughable. October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It met all our needs We were very pleased with the location as it was easy to get around and to subways. The facility was very upscale and clean. Staff was always available, helpful, and efficient. Our only concern was price and everyone we talked to in the area was surprised it was as high as it is. I do recommend Aloft as a great place to stay. October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice change but cramped We stayed in the Aloft Sheraton in Brooklyn and it was quite different than what we were expecting. Its obviously geared for the 25 -40 age group, which we are long past, but we liked the decor and attitude anyway. The SPG recognition was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint about the hotel is the size of the room, which was VERY tight. However, that may be the way it is in Brooklyn and it was our first time there. Bottom Line; If you don't mind tight quarters and a young/young at heart atmosphere, it is a different direction from the ordinary! October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1 issue that causes me to NOT come back again As an individual who loves Starwood Hotels, we were a bit dissapointed with 1 aspect of our recent stay, the Air Conditioner. The hotel sets a maximum of 65 degrees on the A/C and there is no ability to keep a fan running on the unit either. I have alergies and I need consistant airflow. This made for a terrible nights sleep. I'll never stay here again because of this reason. As long as you don't have AC issues, this is a great hotel with friendly helpful staff. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value with reward points Good values for 7000 points reward per night considering the price you might need to pay. The location is mixed. Close to Jay-street subway, but in the non-clean spot (it is safe OK). Reasonable working distance to Brooklyn height for a pleasant early morning walk. The hotel is reaonably good. New, quiet facing front (might be noisy facing back with construction on going). The breakfast is simple for take out, but might be too simple. October 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brooklyn Hip Loved the hotel location, very easy access to several subway lines. Centrally located and good walking distance to the Brooklyn Bridge. The hotel amenities are Bliss Spa that are excellent! Close to Starbucks and easy to get to restaurants in the area. The room was large, clean and had everything we needed. The young front desk staff could be more professional and attentive. Several times I was ignored and also told I walked away before the employee could register my husband on the hotel room when in reality the front desk employee merely forgot to do it. It is either understaffed or poorly managed as phones were constantly ringing when I was able to speak with an employee. Overall, great stay and I'd return to this location. September 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay with flaws Reception was clearly understaffed and overwhelmed. Checking in on a Friday afternoon and paying for a coffee on Saturday mornning took an ETERNITY. Also elevator capacity is insufficient. Another ETERNITY passed to get down from the 12th floor on a Saturday morning. Rooms very nice and decently sized (which is to be expected for $375 a night). By the way... my SPG Gold Card was totally ignored. Aloft staff acted as if Alkoft was not part of Starwood. September 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thin Walls... I have stayed a few times at ALOFT and generally have a good experience. This past trip the family next door to me all had colds and coughed all night. With my TV and fan on I still saw every hour due to thier coughing fits. In the AM (I had to be up at 430) I voiced my concern to the concierge and he didn't say a sorry, nothing. Very disappointed. September 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is Nice, but service is not My requested room was not available..Had friends that slept on floor as a result. Staff very unaccommodating. Had to Call customer support for help. Very disorganized. Painted lobby while I was there which left only 1 elevator working and no access to stairs. Waited on 2 separate occassions for at least 30 minutes to get downstairs. Just a mess. Customer Support got me in my requested room the next day and refunded one night, but by that stay was ruined. September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the hotel quiet, clean, perfect ! would return anytime. September 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cool restaurant. The hotel was being renovated and was not managed as i would expect The hotel was at a good location and rooms and customer service was good. However, as it was being renovated the left took forever to come to the floor (i was in 5th) and it was extremely inconvenient. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Experience in Brooklyn I highly recommend Hotel Aloft New York Brooklyn. We stayed for a couple of nights and the experience was excellent. The room was nicely decorated -- modern design, but warm and comfortable too. The bathroom was spacious (especially for an NYC hotel) and well designed too. Comfortable bed, and nice bed linens. Very clean. We had a high floor and a nice view of skyline. The decor was fun and interesting. We did not use many of the amenities, and the lobby area was being painted, so some were unavailable. The staff was for the most part friendly and helpful, certainly better than average for NYC. Convenient location for getting into Manhattan. Subway within a few blocks. August 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I am a devoted Starwood customer and was disappointed with the Hotel. Room was fine. Elevators extremely slow. Construction in lobby was a bother. Had to go out of the hotel for coffee. Getting my car took a half hour. Some staff okay, some indifferent. August 29, 2012
  • 2015-12-01 T09:40:36.533-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_343, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_3192, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only