Aloft New York Brooklyn

  • 216 Duffield Street
  • Brooklyn,
  • New York
  • 11201
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 295 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Friendliness abounds. My 16 yr old son and I arrived at 8:30pm on a Thursday night and walked into a lobby filled with live music and smiling people. We were immediately greeted by casually dressed employees and check in was friendly and quick. We chose valet parking (only $9 more) and even that was as smooth and friendly as can be. Our room was adorable - very European, in that the use of space is brilliant and the extras were fun and kitschy. We were on the 18th floor and it was as quiet as could be. The view was not spectacular, ie of downtown Manhattan, but it definitely spanned Fort Greene and over to the river. We headed out to walk over to the Lower East Side for a late dinner, which was fun because we were about ten or so minutes to the B'klyn Bridge. It was a good long walk, but we are totally happy to walk for great food after being in the car for hours. However, there is a metro stop right near the hotel that'll bring you anywhere you want to go. We walked back to the hotel after, arriving at 1:00 am, and the lobby was still hopping, although it was quieter. Again we were greeted by smiling employees. The night was silent, and if it hasn't been for construction work outside the hotel that started at about 6am, I'd have slept for hours longer. We were late to checkout - there's a yon of shopping in the area - but everyone was just as chill about that as can be. We checked our bags to spend the rest of the day unencumbered and enjoyed the area. We always stay in Manhattan, so this was a new spot for us. I love the area, and the employees at this hotel could not have been more committed to ensuring we were happy with our trip. That makes all the difference. The fact that the price was so reasonable only makes us want to return sooner. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Day at Aloft I was very delighted with my expectations of Aloft . July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Terrific hotel if no one is in the room next door! Everything about this hotel feels nice -- the lobby, the staff, the room, spacious bathroom, loved the bed, BUT two of the nights when there were people staying the room next door, it was pretty awful because it was like the were in the room with us. Both guests spoke loudly and we could hear every word. I've never stayed in a hotel where the walls were that thin evidently. Lucky for us, no one was next door our last 3 nights! :) May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Inferior hotel Paper thin walls allowed us to hear every conversation and every TV line of dialog from next door. Awakened at 7:00 AM Sunday morning. Worst I have ever seen. We read that the King Bed rooms had been "fixed" but we had a King Bed and it was ridiculous. The hair dryer didn't work. The TV was old, low def and only got the very basic channels. the other features and amenities were sub par. Overall, terrible. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by fun, young at heart hotel Even though we're old folks, we liked this very young at heart hotel. The room and bath were large for NY and very comfortable, especially the bed. The views were terrific, compared to most NY hotels. Our only complaint was the room was not designed for guests with more than a few clothes; no drawers, just a couple large open square box shapes in the sink area and a strange sloped rod that is perpendicular to the wall, so your clothes hang on top of each other. Once we figured out to hang our cothes on the rod that holds the drape to cover the cothes, it was fine. December 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brooklyn Heights rejuvenation Having visited NYC many times over the past 2 years, we have settled on Brooklyn Heights and Aloft (after trying both vacation rentals and a number of other hotels. Hotel and staff are excellent; only downside at present is the "building boom" and the 7 am work start; so don't count on sleeping late unless you wear your ear plugs to bed. With the ambience of the East Village, but much quieter, this section of the city is continuing its renaissance. Anchored by Barclay's, many fine eating and drinking establishments, along with subway connections and taxi service to Manhattan via the Brooklyn Bridge this is a "happening place" - a great location. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Funky "Little" Hotel at a Great Price I was impressed by the hotel from arrival. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I love the concept of staying "where there party is" - there is a cute little bar with chillout club music playing - the music follows you up to your room from the elevator, but once you enter your room you do not hear it. I was given a room on the 18th floor, high enough that I did not hear any traffic noises. All of the standard rooms are connecting rooms, but my neighbors were quiet so I was not bothered. I had trouble connecting my PC to the TV as a monitor because the standard remote does not support that. I called the front desk and the IT support person came right up to assist. I was given a different remote and he insisted on configuring my computer (I could have done that, but thanks). If you leave the "Green" card on the door, they will skip your room for cleaning and put a $5 voucher under your door (I tipped the maid anyway). I cannot tell you what breakfast was like, but I can tell you that I went next door to the Sheraton for breakfast my last morning and walked out because I could tell after 10 minutes that the service was deplorable. Overall this is a great hotel in a nice location (construction going on does not really effect you except for taxi access and they know how to get around it). Oh, and take the yellow or green taxis; the black ones outside the hotel are a rip-off - good thing I knew that. The shopping at the Fulton Mall is OK if you are looking for generic brands and good prices, but venture into Clinton Hills and Williamsburg for the trendy stuff. As for eating places nearby, go to La Defense for breakfast - great breakfast, great price and Caffe E Vino for Dinner - the waiter was awesome and the food was authentically delicious. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Steve C - Frequent Patron I love this place. Neighborhood is great and convenient, even for someone who works in Manhattan. Would like to see more vegan food options at the hotel; fewer carb and sugar foods. July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience I have ever had! The staff wasn't rude, but not very friendly either, the room itself was small but acceptable. The rattling of the room door, as someone was trying to get in at 3AM woke my girlfriend and I. When it happened again at approximately 4AM, I couldn't go back to sleep. I'm guessing it was the guests from the room next door, who were heard partying all night after I woke up. At the checkout process the front desk would not order the car from valet, as they said they can't until guests are in the lobby....so we have to wait on you huh? Great service!? The whole valet setup is sketchy. The hotel is sure to distance themselves from valet by constantly informing that they are a separate company.not affiliated with the hotel? Stay there and you will not wonder why they distance themselves. Just go outside and find the guy loitering in the area, he's probably the valet? Awesome. However the worst part is that I carried down some slacks and dress shirts on the way out. There is no where to put them, your hands are full, nobody offers assitance. ..so I saw that someone else who was having the same inconvenience placed his clothes on the back of a chair in the lobby. After finding the valet, since the hotel staff had already denied this courtesy...and checking out...I forgot the clothes on the chair. I have called multiple times and left multiple messages. You guessed it, not even a return call. So I paid a couple hundred bucks to have bad service, no sleep, and lost my belongings. Thanks a lot. Other than the people who were trying to get in, actually break in the room, not sure how it could have been worse. Time to cancel the Starwoods AMEX as I have no intention on staying with such a poorly run, customer unfriendly business again. I would have been better off sleeping in my car. September 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I'm very surprised that this hotel is even part of the Starwood portfolio aloft was completely misrepresented on its website. The photos were nothing like the real thing, and the experience was painful. Why? 1. The lobby was under full construction and looked like a disaster area (we were not told/warned in advance of our stay) 2. It took 35 minutes to check in the middle of the afternoon because there was only one receptionist on duty, and he was juggling check-ins, phone reservations and bellman duties simultaneously 3. The room was not properly cleaned (dirty Cleanex's in the bathroom 4. The room phone did not function. The reception promised to send an engineer to fix the problem. He arrived over an hour later. I am a regular Starwood hotel customer, and I have never stay at a Starwood hotel with such low standards. NEVER AGAIN! August 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Stay Excellent Hotel for business travellers July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very unsatisfactory. Neighborhood was awful. For the price of a hotel in SoHo I was expecting much more. Very disappointing. So much so, that I checked out early. However, the hotel refused to let me cancel for the next night. My experience was bad enough that I was willing to book at a different, nicer hotel in a better neighborhood despite losing my money for the next night. Better to lose money than waste a night in NY at this hotel. Ugh. If this is what they consider good customer service then I will never stay at an SPG hotel again. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Something different in downtown Brooklyn We've stayed at a number of hotels in Brooklyn and this is our new favorite. It is definitely targeted toward a younger clientele, but we are a couple in our 50s and 60s and felt very comfortable there. While there is valet parking, the lot that serves the hotel is only a block away. The hotel is within walking distance of Junior's, the famous Brooklyn Deli with nationally renowned cheesecake. Our only complaint was the TV. It worked only intermittently and the reception was spotty. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice Don't be surprised! Thinking that a modern/retro style hotel could not also be comfy. I was wrong. Stayed at the sister hotel next door last year. Checked out the lobby of Aloft and ended up booking it this year. Went to NYC for pleasure and had plenty. Met by Lauren at check-in...very professional and nice. The bartender at w xyz on Sat. night (forget her name) was also full of dining hints and info. The room is not set up like your Daddy's hotel but has all the amenities. Comfy, bright, hi-tech and the shower was superb! The neighborhood, like so many Brooklyn areas, does not look like much. The Dekalb Market just across the way is excellent and so much is within walking distance. We walked to the Brooklyn bridge with Grimaldi's Pizza as a reward.. I don't know that you can do better in NYC all things considered. May 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hot In Brooklyn I'm a SPG platinum member and I have received the worse service and accomadations at this location. I have been staying at this location for the past month and I had the experience of my room not being cleaned on a daily basis in addition to having to deal with staff giving me a hard time when make request like having someone come to my room to fix my air in the middle of a hot summer day. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thin Walls I have stayed at this room before and have had the same problem. The walls are extremely thin and neighbors can hear you. This hotel is next door to The Sheraton Brooklyn which is a sister property and I normally would stay there. I never had these issues there so I thought my experience would be the same. Needless to say they are not. Everything else was great but when I have to tip toe around the room so the guest next door want hear me or complain that is a problem. April 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heat/cooling system needs help I like Aloft a lot. I stayed here before during the summer, when the cooling was on a wall under the windows. It worked fine as far as I remember and I'm pretty sure it was quiet, as I am sensitive to noise and would have remembered if it had not. The rooms are very modern and the beds are great! They're pretty too. My issue with this stay is that they are using a different heating system that they are trying to convert to and it is impossible to control. We were SO hot that we woke up each (of the first 3) night and no matter what the staff did they couldn't fix it. They said they were making a change to the new system and it had bugs. BEWARE! They did try to accommodate us and moved us to another room. In that room the toilet had NOT been cleaned but once they cleaned it and turned off the new and let us use the old heating unit, we were much better. . December 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great and friendly staff! I enjoy staying at Aloft hotels, and this one met all expectations of being neat, clean, functional and a cut above the ordinary cheaper brand hotels. One thing stood out though, and that was how friendly and helpful the staff in the hotel were. Cleaning staff, check in staff, bar staff...everyone went out of their way to help. I was very happy during my short stay. February 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible staff Rude unfriendly staff. Not remmended June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good deal, great location. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are quiet so you can get a great night's sleep. The room had a nice walk-in shower, nice Bliss toiletries, and a refrigerator. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful too. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Staff Had multiple interactions with diff staff and they were as good as i've ever had staying with starwood in 13 years. Friendly but not fake, attentive but not overly so. Smart and articulate. Absolutely a pleasure to deal with. Thank you Aloft Brooklyn, see you again soon :) March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Love Brooklyn.....just not this hotel As a long-time SPG Platinum member, I was excited to try this hotel. Unfortunately, ended up being disappointed on so many fronts that I would not choose to stay at this property on my next trip to NYC. Hotel needs to work through issues / better training related to front-desk local knowledge; housekeeping; valet parking; laundry services; etc,, etc. A wholly unsatisfying experience. July 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, perfect stay Decided to give the Aloft Brooklyn a try during our recent trip to NYC and was very glad we did. First off, the location was unbeatable - true, the immediate vicinity of the hotel isn't the most appealing in NYC (nothing dirty or dangerous, just sort of blah), but it's literally within a five to ten minute walk of practically every subway line in the city, and Downtown Brooklyn is a great base to explore other parts of the borough and beyond. First impression of the hotel was clean and pleasant. Eileen at the front desk was most welcoming and helpful when we checked in, though other encounters with front desk staff over the rest of our stay were on the distracted side. The lobby is a bit cramped and definitely had a youthful hostel/dorm vibe - not our scene, but a lot of other guests seemed to be enjoying the amenities whenever we came in or went out. Best part of the hotel by far was the room; Standard king, not huge, but comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet, and well designed to make maximum room of limited space. Really liked the huge walk-in glass shower, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in anywhere ... which is saying a lot as I travel frequently and have stayed in dozens of hotels all over the world. Appreciated the option to trade regular linen service for a five buck snack bar voucher, though the option only seemed to be offered for our first night - after that we never received another notice to hang on our door requesting the voucher and kept forgetting to ask for it at the front desk. Having housekeeping staff replenish the voucher offers during the course of a guest stay might help more guests take advantage of the offer, But that's a minor concern. Main thing is that we loved the location, the comfortable and clean room, and of course the price - which was a good deal cheaper than comparable (and less conveniently located) options we were also considering. Will definitely make Aloft Brooklyn my hotel of choice the next time we come to NYC! April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in Brooklyn I've been an SPG Gold Member for a number of years but this was the first time I stayed at an Aloft hotel. The one in Brooklyn was right next door to the Sheraton, but man am I glad I chose this hotel. What a fantastic little boutique hotel with a chic lobby and the staff were both friendly and helpful from the getgo. The girl checking me in was very pleasant with great banter and humour. I also preferred the room setup to those typical traditional hotels (I stayed at the Mariott close by before and paid 2x for a worst room). I also left my passport in the safe on checkout and the cleaner found it, returned it to the hotel staff and I was contacted via phone and email right away so that I was able to return and pick it up before my flight with no hassle and nothing was removed. All in all, a pleasant surprise and the cost was reasonable as well, cheaper than all the other big hotel options but better in my opinion. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent value The smell in the bathroom and the air conditioning that switched itself on every 15 minutes like a jet engine are the only thing that let down the rooms. Also disappointing that the roof terrace was shut. Otherwise, an amazingly comfortable bed, funky decor and an unbeatable price. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice stay! We were able to make our reservation the day before using starpoints. This hotel was in a great location, Just a few stops from Manhattan. The staff was very friendly. Dillon and his staff did their best to give us a great room with a nice view on Thanksgiving evening. Very friendly staff and clean upbeat place!!!! November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Compact efficiency. The rooms are compact but efficient and use space and storage to their best advantage. I liked having the individual coffee maker in the room, and the coffee was a good coffee. Room was easy to keep heated in winter and there was minimal noise from the construction even though my window faced onto it. Easy to get to Fulton St. (steps away) and a subway stop (Jay St.), and an easy walk to get to the Brooklyn Bridge, Dumbo, Jane's Carousel, etc. with a varied mix of old and new architecture along the way (Court St./Cadman Square). Hotel staff were efficient and engaging, check-in and check-out were both processed quickly, and staff were familiar with the area and had good tips for local travel, eating, and things to see. There is no restaurant in the hotel (lobby has a galley with snacks, coffee and plenty of drinks to choose from as well as a few desserts, bagels), but there were places to eat along the street and Fulton St. was just steps away, so it was not really a problem. Short walk to BAM Harvey Theatre, short transit ride to Brooklyn Museum. A, C, F and R trains at Jay St. February 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY GETAWAY We spent the evening there to celebrate a bithday and it was really nice. the room was clean and the facilities overall were well kept. The staff was friendly and the area was in the middle of a shopping area and close to restaurants, the movie theater and brooklyn academy of music. We would definitely go again. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel I have no complaints. Construction is being done outside the hotel but it's not their fault if they are too noisy. The hotel was quiet and enjoyable. Everythng was clean and everyone was friendly. We only used the hotel to sleep at (out and about all day and evening) and it was quiet both nights. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Hotel was in a great loaction Very close to the train station and very convienent to the city. It was a great walk right over the Brooklyn Bridge and you’re right in the city. So over all the location was great! Never stayed at an Aloft and I was impressed by its style. I love the way it looks and it was great for the young crowd. November 16, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only