Aloft New York Brooklyn

  • 216 Duffield Street
  • Brooklyn,
  • New York
  • 11201
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bar is too small I have not been happy with the ALoft in Brooklyn or Harlem....mostly because compared to most ALofts across the country they are small......the lobby bar especially.....in Brooklyn there was no where to sit at the bar to order a drink so I sat and waited for service which did not happen......so, I went and stood next to the bar, reaching over people, and ordered my drink. Not very customer service oriented or pleasant. April 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel The hotel itself was very clean and the staff accommodating and friendly. Noise level between rooms though, left much to be desired. April 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value, good experience Everything about the experience went as expected. Friendly staff, clean room, all the amenities were available and the public areas were nice. The staff was nice as well. What could make this experience better and increase the value/brand of Aloft hotels, is to pay a bit more attention to the detail in terms of how guests are treated and how staff carry themselves. Venture into any 5-star hotel, and physical beauty aside, you immediately notice how guests are treated with superb courtesy and respect. It's the difference between American Express customer service and calling your cable company provider. Doing the job is one thing; leaving an impression is another. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor communication Quoted lower rate and then charged to higher Mix up twice on getting supplies to room even after calls. We stayed 4 nights and spent a bundle with poorest service and communication I have received in 20+ years. Very little help with directions and finding close by restaurants, etc. Maybe do not have enough staff. There were pleasant but seemed distracted or not focused on our needs. Could not access indoor swimming pool. March 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Ever This hotel was just horrible. My husband and I stayed here after a long flight from LA. We first tried to enjoy a movie on-demand but the hotel barely has basic cable channels much less movies on demand. The front desk seemed astonished that there were no movies, they had absolutely no information on channels or anything. They were very unprofessional and laughed when I asked. Then the heating unit did not work properly. I did not notice this until in the middle of night. The heat would come on but once the room reached the programmed temp, it would turn off and blow cold air. Then the construction across the street started at 6AM!. Very loud and disruptive cranes and boulders... Then the window had a raft with a whistling sound. This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We checked in and then went to the Barclay Center, by the time we noticed all of this it was 3am- and a night of no sleep. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good deal, great location. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are quiet so you can get a great night's sleep. The room had a nice walk-in shower, nice Bliss toiletries, and a refrigerator. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful too. March 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Hospitality and Facilities Cramped The staff at check-in was very rude and poorly trained. I waited for the check-in staff to remember her password until she could check me in. Then she proceeded to check me in and give me a lot of attitude as I checked in. The rooms are poorly designed in terms of lighting and ventilation - there's no closet space. The area is good for public transportation but there are such better choices than this hotel. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an interesting concept The Aloft is different than any other hotel I have stayed at. It has a very modern, contemporary feel to it. It is definitely worth a try to see if it resonates with you. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great NEW hotel Clean, comfy and good location March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Staff Had multiple interactions with diff staff and they were as good as i've ever had staying with starwood in 13 years. Friendly but not fake, attentive but not overly so. Smart and articulate. Absolutely a pleasure to deal with. Thank you Aloft Brooklyn, see you again soon :) March 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible HVAC HVAC produced noise, but very little heat. Walls were paper thin, so I was cold and sleep deprived. Front desk staff was very polite at check-in but not so interested in my complaint at check-out. Bartender was also very polite and friendly at the wine and cheese party. Brooklyn is become a destination and there are plenty of options. Look elsewhere. February 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Compact efficiency. The rooms are compact but efficient and use space and storage to their best advantage. I liked having the individual coffee maker in the room, and the coffee was a good coffee. Room was easy to keep heated in winter and there was minimal noise from the construction even though my window faced onto it. Easy to get to Fulton St. (steps away) and a subway stop (Jay St.), and an easy walk to get to the Brooklyn Bridge, Dumbo, Jane's Carousel, etc. with a varied mix of old and new architecture along the way (Court St./Cadman Square). Hotel staff were efficient and engaging, check-in and check-out were both processed quickly, and staff were familiar with the area and had good tips for local travel, eating, and things to see. There is no restaurant in the hotel (lobby has a galley with snacks, coffee and plenty of drinks to choose from as well as a few desserts, bagels), but there were places to eat along the street and Fulton St. was just steps away, so it was not really a problem. Short walk to BAM Harvey Theatre, short transit ride to Brooklyn Museum. A, C, F and R trains at Jay St. February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second Stay Was Not As Good As First The $45 valet parking fee is just NYC area pricing, but to be out of fruit for breakfast is not OK. I had the staff call my room at 2 AM to inquire if I ordered food, then another wrong call later in the morning looking for a completely different room number. Staff was generally friendly so that was good, but a step down from what I experienced my first stay at this property a month ago. I will give them the benefit of doubt and assume it was an off week. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect hotel for people on the go My room was very clean and well-appointed. Though not large by any means, I didn't plan to do more than sleep and shower there so it was perfect someone on the go in the city. Close to subways. Very courteous and helpful staff. A little loud at night (thin walls/doors) but nothing I haven't experience before in other small hotels. Would highly recommend for single travelers. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great and friendly staff! I enjoy staying at Aloft hotels, and this one met all expectations of being neat, clean, functional and a cut above the ordinary cheaper brand hotels. One thing stood out though, and that was how friendly and helpful the staff in the hotel were. Cleaning staff, check in staff, bar staff...everyone went out of their way to help. I was very happy during my short stay. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff I've been at this hotel for a month and the staff has been the best part of my stay. They've all been very friendly and helpful. I especially want to compliment Driton (front desk) and Jennifer (bartender). They've made my stay here the best experience i've in any hotel to date. January 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Forget Heat, 52 degrees is all you get. So, I recently started to convert over to Starwood after being a loyal Platinum member with another brand. A property in Florida really warmed me up to the Starwood brand by being so pleasant and proactive. As I was on a leg of a business trip, one of the front desk agents in Florida actually called this property before I arrived and asked if she could put in a request for a nicer room since I was a frequent guest at her hotel after I'd made a comment that I hope that I get treated half as good as I do with her hotel. Def above and beyond. Now, onto the stay: I've lived in NYC for 6 years, with this last year being transferred to oversee 3 groups in FL. Since I've sublet my apartment, I usually stay the 1-2 nights in a hotel when I have to fly back into NYC. This was the first time I'd been back since becoming a Starwood convert. The location for me was actually perfect. Right in between multiple trains, and I was going to be attending meetings in Lower Manhattan which was maybe a 5 min trek, and I was flying into JFK so with either cab or subway service, it would be painless. Perfect! I arrived in NYC around 2:30 pm right after NYC got walloped by a snow storm. There went my seamless way of getting to the hotel. No cabs at JFK and the AirTrain connecting the airport to the A was out of commission. Shuttle bused it to the 3. But, worked in my favor as I didn't arrive at the hotel until 4pm, so I didn't feel like I was being pushy about check in. One of the sliding glass doors was not operational so you had to use a push through glass door. No biggie, if that's the worst they had after a snow storm, they were doing ok. When I got to the desk however, I realized that the broken door was just a sign of things to come. I was greeted, asked for my ID and payment, all very pleasantly. Then, when the agent checking me in pulled up my reservation, she told me of the request by my last hotel and that they would be able to upgrade me into a suite with a balcony. When I gave her a look of happy surprise, she responded "Well, do you want it?" Now, since I'm Corp Preferred, I am entitled to an upgrade "if available." (With my other brand, I was guaranteed an upgrade because of my Platinum status. Now, I'm not sure if ALL of the rooms I was put in were actual upgrades, but the desk agents always picked out a feature of the room to highlight as an upgrade because of my status.) The way this agent was informing me had me half believe she meant to charge me for the upgrade. But, I was on my corporate rate which meant I couldn't possibly break the bank over an upgrade fee. I was given keys to suite 205. Low floor suite? Well, hey, it's a suite right! Well, the suite was an accessible suite. Meh, no biggie had plenty of 'em before. Light switches and floor plans are a lil lower. But I always have a hard time figuring out the shower. Not to mention I usually have to build a wall with extra towels to prevent water from rushing out. And the balcony...covered in snow. TOTALLY understandable considering the miserable conditions on my way there. I was hardly going to call down and complain about an upgrade. So, I dropped my bags and headed out grab a sandwich from Brooklyn Deli up the street. Returned, shot off a few emails then changed to head into the office and out for a dinner meeting, not returning until around 11:30. And holy cow did I walk into a cold room. At that point, I assumed that it just hadn't been set to activate since I'd not touched it upon arrival. So, I turned it up to 75 (current temp read 52), freshened up for bed and placed a 7am wake up call. Well, I woke up around 3:30-3:45am to needing to use the restroom. I did, but noticed that it was still frigid in the room. I messed around with BOTH HVAC units, the one in the living room I couldn't figure out. The one in the bedroom was an LCD wall control which I maxed out to 80 or something. Then hopped back into bed. Did I consider calling the desk? Yes, but it was also nearly 4am, what were they going to do that wouldn't inconvenience me seeing as I was to be up in 3 hours. So, back to sleep. When I woke up, the room was STILL at 52 degrees. Even though warm air was rushing out of the unit. I didn't wash my hair as to try and decrease the minutes I spent shivering while drying off. Well, I'd let them know when I went down in a few. Which I did. The response I got: "Well, why didn't you tell us?" After I informed her of the time, she they would have sent up a blanket...well ok, but I was at my worst just out of a shower. I then asked if I could just drop my carryon off since I wasn't sure how late my meeting would run past 12 or 1. "That would be fine" was the response. No offer for a later check out or to follow up with me. When I returned to the hotel around 1:30 to pick up my bags, one of the front desk agents there this morning was working. I handed her my luggage ticket, asked if I could get my carry-on back, and motioned to the lounges in front of the elevators informing her that I would wait there. After 20 minutes, I didn't have my luggage brought to me. During this time I got online and booked a room with another Starwood property in Midtown. After booking, I walked over to the desk where the original agent was joined by the other from that morning. She motioned that my carry-on was next to her. I tipped her to give to the bellman (which was herself) and asked the 2 agents what had been learned about the HVAC unit in room 205. The newest one's response: Is it still not working? After explaining to her that I had checked out that morning and had not been back to the room, she looked confused before explaining that unfortunately there was nothing they could do about it. It was the "way the windows are against the wall, they let in a draft." So comforting to know that this hotel's staff placed me in a room that they knew was not weatherproof on one of the coldest nights. And not one apology or recovery option was offered. Thankfully this was not my first experience with Starwood or I would have never come back to any of their brands. January 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel For Outside Manhattan The staff the nice and the hotel was moderately priced. I will be back. January 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not live up to starwood quality Staff was unpleasant and rude and refused to give me the room I booked saying it was unavailable. When I said if he did not want to give me the room mentioned in my confirmation email then I was just going to go to another hotel all of a sudden the room became available. I let the manager know and I got an almost generic email. I would not go there or recommend this hotel to anyone. I called Starwood and basically they don't stand behind this hotel, they pass all complaints directly to the hotel manager who does not seem to care about the guests. January 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Parking Facility Unacceptable Vic's Parking is the parking used by Aloft. When we picked up our car, we found money and equipment had been stolen. We spoke to the parking facility manager, the hotel manager and the parking facility owner. As you can see by my review, this event impacted our entire experience with Aloft. We are still seeking a resolution. December 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not a happy camper I will get straight to the point and say that the hotel charged me for two rooms during the last shopping weekend prior to the holiday and was not very apologetic. I advised the desk clerk on the night of check in that the charge was currently pending on my bank account, she advised the payment was declined but she going to "make it go through now." She then called the room and asked how many rooms I had, I said 1 and she said they had me down for two, nut she would fix it. I called my bank the next morning and I had been charged for two rooms! I don't recall one I apologize, we can do this for you. December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome customer service Awesome customer service, the front desk people went above and beyond to make my daughter stay incredibly comfortable. I will as a Starwood preferred gold member, I usually get great service, but this time I got incredible service. Thank You!! December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfy but loud The room and service at the hotel was great, but I had a difficult time sleeping because the music was so loud from one of the bars in the hotel. December 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not a great location and a very noisy room location is a bit "out of the way" not in a great area with lots of construction. the room was nice, I understand they are they same at every aloft which is good. the biggest problem was the adjoining room with no soundproofing at the door. I was surprised that they had adjoining rooms and even more surprised when I could hear the conversation in the other room which was a real problem at 2 am, 1230 am and even 3 am on Sunday night. I knocked on the door the first 2 nights which helped but not on the last night. I mentioned it at the front desk after the first night and they said the room wasn't booked for the following night but they booked it. if you are going to have a adjoining rooms, you need double doors with sound deadening. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Expectations I have been staying at the Aloft for numerous weeks for business purposes and I always get a pleasant greeting from the staff, including they always accommodate me with my special requests. The rooms are clean and serves the purpose. December 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Business Trip Ever Five co-workers and I were guest at the Brooklyn ALOFT from 12/4-12/6. They mis-represent what time the construction noise starts in the morning (on their website). We were all woken up at 5:45 AM by loud drilling, even on the 17th floor. That was 2:45 for my team that came from the west coast. That morning, my breakfast arrived after 45 minutes because it was delivered to the wrong room. They also charged me for an orange juice that I never received and my fruit plate didn't arrive as well. We tried to check out of the hotel a day early and only 2 of my team members, who were staying on the lower floors, were granted a check out without penalty. Three of us were stuck there for another night. The GM refused to come out to talk to us, so we were left dealing with the clueless and powerless team working at the front desk. That night when I arrived back to my room, it hadn't been cleaned and my breakfast tray hadn't been picked up. Later that night, the fire alarm went off at 4:30 am. Everyone inside of the hotel was kept up for 30 minutes as we received updates over the PA system on whether or not we needed to evacuate. I can't stress enough how horrible my experience was at this hotel. The GM is completely unaccountable and could care less about customer satisfaction. I am a Starwood Preferred guest but I'm going to think twice about ever booking additional business travel with Starwood. I also relayed this feedback to my travel department that books travel for my entire advertising agency. December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heat/cooling system needs help I like Aloft a lot. I stayed here before during the summer, when the cooling was on a wall under the windows. It worked fine as far as I remember and I'm pretty sure it was quiet, as I am sensitive to noise and would have remembered if it had not. The rooms are very modern and the beds are great! They're pretty too. My issue with this stay is that they are using a different heating system that they are trying to convert to and it is impossible to control. We were SO hot that we woke up each (of the first 3) night and no matter what the staff did they couldn't fix it. They said they were making a change to the new system and it had bugs. BEWARE! They did try to accommodate us and moved us to another room. In that room the toilet had NOT been cleaned but once they cleaned it and turned off the new and let us use the old heating unit, we were much better. . December 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rooms for families Comfortable, helpful staff, good location December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel great, Hotel great, modern and clean all the amenities one needs November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so great experience. I have stayed at several Alofts, and love the hotels. One of the reasons that I am an SPG Member is due to the fact that the beds and linens are fantastic. Unfortunately, that was not the case here. The comforter was such poor quality, it was as if it was filled with hard styrofoam and popcorn. Most importantly, II was not exactly thrilled with the staffs attentiveness after three tries to get our room key to work. They certainly did not care about the time constrains that I was under to catch a train. The door ended up being defective, which resulted in Tech having to come and repair it. Needless to say, that train was never caught, and the staff was completely unsympathetic or understanding. Not exactly thrilled. November 25, 2013
  • 2015-07-29T16:16:52.814-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_340, tr_340
  • loc_en_US, sid_3192, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only