Aloft New York Brooklyn

  • 216 Duffield Street
  • Brooklyn,
  • New York
  • 11201
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by fun, young at heart hotel Even though we're old folks, we liked this very young at heart hotel. The room and bath were large for NY and very comfortable, especially the bed. The views were terrific, compared to most NY hotels. Our only complaint was the room was not designed for guests with more than a few clothes; no drawers, just a couple large open square box shapes in the sink area and a strange sloped rod that is perpendicular to the wall, so your clothes hang on top of each other. Once we figured out to hang our cothes on the rod that holds the drape to cover the cothes, it was fine. December 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice updates but loud Rooms are nice but the walls are paper thin. Can hear conversations from hallways and neighbors as if they are in the room with you. May 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but there are better options I like Aloft hotels in general. This one felt a bit run down and 'just makes it' in terms of an Aloft experience. Price/value was disappointing versus other options available. Location was a disappointment - not a very interesting section of Brooklyn. Good for downtown Manhattan but otherwise you're in for a long trip. My main complaint during this stay was that my room really smelled from fresh smoke. I immediately called the desk and they just said they could provide air freshener. I expected a bit more responsiveness than this. This is reason for my two two-star ratings. Otherwise staff was helpful and friendly. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good deal, great location. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are quiet so you can get a great night's sleep. The room had a nice walk-in shower, nice Bliss toiletries, and a refrigerator. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful too. March 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience I have ever had! The staff wasn't rude, but not very friendly either, the room itself was small but acceptable. The rattling of the room door, as someone was trying to get in at 3AM woke my girlfriend and I. When it happened again at approximately 4AM, I couldn't go back to sleep. I'm guessing it was the guests from the room next door, who were heard partying all night after I woke up. At the checkout process the front desk would not order the car from valet, as they said they can't until guests are in the lobby....so we have to wait on you huh? Great service!? The whole valet setup is sketchy. The hotel is sure to distance themselves from valet by constantly informing that they are a separate company.not affiliated with the hotel? Stay there and you will not wonder why they distance themselves. Just go outside and find the guy loitering in the area, he's probably the valet? Awesome. However the worst part is that I carried down some slacks and dress shirts on the way out. There is no where to put them, your hands are full, nobody offers assitance. ..so I saw that someone else who was having the same inconvenience placed his clothes on the back of a chair in the lobby. After finding the valet, since the hotel staff had already denied this courtesy...and checking out...I forgot the clothes on the chair. I have called multiple times and left multiple messages. You guessed it, not even a return call. So I paid a couple hundred bucks to have bad service, no sleep, and lost my belongings. Thanks a lot. Other than the people who were trying to get in, actually break in the room, not sure how it could have been worse. Time to cancel the Starwoods AMEX as I have no intention on staying with such a poorly run, customer unfriendly business again. I would have been better off sleeping in my car. September 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I'm very surprised that this hotel is even part of the Starwood portfolio aloft was completely misrepresented on its website. The photos were nothing like the real thing, and the experience was painful. Why? 1. The lobby was under full construction and looked like a disaster area (we were not told/warned in advance of our stay) 2. It took 35 minutes to check in the middle of the afternoon because there was only one receptionist on duty, and he was juggling check-ins, phone reservations and bellman duties simultaneously 3. The room was not properly cleaned (dirty Cleanex's in the bathroom 4. The room phone did not function. The reception promised to send an engineer to fix the problem. He arrived over an hour later. I am a regular Starwood hotel customer, and I have never stay at a Starwood hotel with such low standards. NEVER AGAIN! August 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft high cost for low value As a frequent business traveler I am used to staying in rooms with noisy neighbors. Unfortunately they did not put any sound insulation between the walls nor did they seal the bottom of doors that are between adjacent rooms. In most cases you can hear the people next door as if they were standing in your room. The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable. The free internet and refrigerator in the room is a bonus. Room rates vary wildly from week to week. Showers are tiny and you have to stand inside to turn on the water. For the regular business traveler, it is not the best value. April 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very unsatisfactory. Neighborhood was awful. For the price of a hotel in SoHo I was expecting much more. Very disappointing. So much so, that I checked out early. However, the hotel refused to let me cancel for the next night. My experience was bad enough that I was willing to book at a different, nicer hotel in a better neighborhood despite losing my money for the next night. Better to lose money than waste a night in NY at this hotel. Ugh. If this is what they consider good customer service then I will never stay at an SPG hotel again. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Staff Had multiple interactions with diff staff and they were as good as i've ever had staying with starwood in 13 years. Friendly but not fake, attentive but not overly so. Smart and articulate. Absolutely a pleasure to deal with. Thank you Aloft Brooklyn, see you again soon :) March 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value, good experience Everything about the experience went as expected. Friendly staff, clean room, all the amenities were available and the public areas were nice. The staff was nice as well. What could make this experience better and increase the value/brand of Aloft hotels, is to pay a bit more attention to the detail in terms of how guests are treated and how staff carry themselves. Venture into any 5-star hotel, and physical beauty aside, you immediately notice how guests are treated with superb courtesy and respect. It's the difference between American Express customer service and calling your cable company provider. Doing the job is one thing; leaving an impression is another. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Something different in downtown Brooklyn We've stayed at a number of hotels in Brooklyn and this is our new favorite. It is definitely targeted toward a younger clientele, but we are a couple in our 50s and 60s and felt very comfortable there. While there is valet parking, the lot that serves the hotel is only a block away. The hotel is within walking distance of Junior's, the famous Brooklyn Deli with nationally renowned cheesecake. Our only complaint was the TV. It worked only intermittently and the reception was spotty. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great and friendly staff! I enjoy staying at Aloft hotels, and this one met all expectations of being neat, clean, functional and a cut above the ordinary cheaper brand hotels. One thing stood out though, and that was how friendly and helpful the staff in the hotel were. Cleaning staff, check in staff, bar staff...everyone went out of their way to help. I was very happy during my short stay. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice Don't be surprised! Thinking that a modern/retro style hotel could not also be comfy. I was wrong. Stayed at the sister hotel next door last year. Checked out the lobby of Aloft and ended up booking it this year. Went to NYC for pleasure and had plenty. Met by Lauren at check-in...very professional and nice. The bartender at w xyz on Sat. night (forget her name) was also full of dining hints and info. The room is not set up like your Daddy's hotel but has all the amenities. Comfy, bright, hi-tech and the shower was superb! The neighborhood, like so many Brooklyn areas, does not look like much. The Dekalb Market just across the way is excellent and so much is within walking distance. We walked to the Brooklyn bridge with Grimaldi's Pizza as a reward.. I don't know that you can do better in NYC all things considered. May 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thin Walls I have stayed at this room before and have had the same problem. The walls are extremely thin and neighbors can hear you. This hotel is next door to The Sheraton Brooklyn which is a sister property and I normally would stay there. I never had these issues there so I thought my experience would be the same. Needless to say they are not. Everything else was great but when I have to tip toe around the room so the guest next door want hear me or complain that is a problem. April 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Compact efficiency. The rooms are compact but efficient and use space and storage to their best advantage. I liked having the individual coffee maker in the room, and the coffee was a good coffee. Room was easy to keep heated in winter and there was minimal noise from the construction even though my window faced onto it. Easy to get to Fulton St. (steps away) and a subway stop (Jay St.), and an easy walk to get to the Brooklyn Bridge, Dumbo, Jane's Carousel, etc. with a varied mix of old and new architecture along the way (Court St./Cadman Square). Hotel staff were efficient and engaging, check-in and check-out were both processed quickly, and staff were familiar with the area and had good tips for local travel, eating, and things to see. There is no restaurant in the hotel (lobby has a galley with snacks, coffee and plenty of drinks to choose from as well as a few desserts, bagels), but there were places to eat along the street and Fulton St. was just steps away, so it was not really a problem. Short walk to BAM Harvey Theatre, short transit ride to Brooklyn Museum. A, C, F and R trains at Jay St. February 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heat/cooling system needs help I like Aloft a lot. I stayed here before during the summer, when the cooling was on a wall under the windows. It worked fine as far as I remember and I'm pretty sure it was quiet, as I am sensitive to noise and would have remembered if it had not. The rooms are very modern and the beds are great! They're pretty too. My issue with this stay is that they are using a different heating system that they are trying to convert to and it is impossible to control. We were SO hot that we woke up each (of the first 3) night and no matter what the staff did they couldn't fix it. They said they were making a change to the new system and it had bugs. BEWARE! They did try to accommodate us and moved us to another room. In that room the toilet had NOT been cleaned but once they cleaned it and turned off the new and let us use the old heating unit, we were much better. . December 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Love Brooklyn.....just not this hotel As a long-time SPG Platinum member, I was excited to try this hotel. Unfortunately, ended up being disappointed on so many fronts that I would not choose to stay at this property on my next trip to NYC. Hotel needs to work through issues / better training related to front-desk local knowledge; housekeeping; valet parking; laundry services; etc,, etc. A wholly unsatisfying experience. July 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gem in Brooklyn I've been an SPG Gold Member for a number of years but this was the first time I stayed at an Aloft hotel. The one in Brooklyn was right next door to the Sheraton, but man am I glad I chose this hotel. What a fantastic little boutique hotel with a chic lobby and the staff were both friendly and helpful from the getgo. The girl checking me in was very pleasant with great banter and humour. I also preferred the room setup to those typical traditional hotels (I stayed at the Mariott close by before and paid 2x for a worst room). I also left my passport in the safe on checkout and the cleaner found it, returned it to the hotel staff and I was contacted via phone and email right away so that I was able to return and pick it up before my flight with no hassle and nothing was removed. All in all, a pleasant surprise and the cost was reasonable as well, cheaper than all the other big hotel options but better in my opinion. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice stay! We were able to make our reservation the day before using starpoints. This hotel was in a great location, Just a few stops from Manhattan. The staff was very friendly. Dillon and his staff did their best to give us a great room with a nice view on Thanksgiving evening. Very friendly staff and clean upbeat place!!!! November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel I have no complaints. Construction is being done outside the hotel but it's not their fault if they are too noisy. The hotel was quiet and enjoyable. Everythng was clean and everyone was friendly. We only used the hotel to sleep at (out and about all day and evening) and it was quiet both nights. October 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY GETAWAY We spent the evening there to celebrate a bithday and it was really nice. the room was clean and the facilities overall were well kept. The staff was friendly and the area was in the middle of a shopping area and close to restaurants, the movie theater and brooklyn academy of music. We would definitely go again. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel!! This was only my second week in NYC and the staff at the aloft Hotel made me feel right at home!! I will be staying there on a regular basis as I continue to travel to and from Brooklyn and I would highly recommend this hotel to friends, family, colleagues and complete strangers!!! Thank you! October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Brooklyn location and good value The staff was super friendly and made us feel important. Some noise due to construction. Elevators are loud and sometimes take a while to arrive. Otherwise a pleasant stay. May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Hotel was in a great loaction Very close to the train station and very convienent to the city. It was a great walk right over the Brooklyn Bridge and you’re right in the city. So over all the location was great! Never stayed at an Aloft and I was impressed by its style. I love the way it looks and it was great for the young crowd. November 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look no further... This was the best hotel experience I have had in all my hotel stays. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer, Barbara who checked us in was truly an amazing woman, so pleasant, warm, friendly and accomodating. She certainly made our stay wonderful. Thank you all at Aloft, We will be back!! March 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great hotel! We had never been to Brooklyn before and got lost at night trying to get to the hotel. Rojan, at the desk, couldn't have been nicer trying to guide us there, We loved the room and how it was decorated and had everything we needed. Thank you Aloft Brooklyn! We will be back soon. Susan December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft This is the first time we stayed at this hotel. What a great place, very comfortable, modern and clean. I was really amazed at the rooms overall design. While relatively small for an SPG hotel the architects did an awesome job in their design and how they used the available space. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by aloft brooklyn The staff at the front desk were great -- helpful and friendly! Rooms were small but efficient. Good workout room. Would stay there again and neighborhood will be even better-- lots of building going on. Not your usual stuffy New York experience. May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything we needed This was just the hotel we needed after the big snow storm. The hotel had everything we needed -- big comfy bed, quiet room, compact contemporary bathroom and helpful staff. We will stay here next time we go to visit a friend at Pratt Institute. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff While staying at Aloft in Brooklyn, I was treated very well by the attentive staff from front desk to bartenders, to housekeeping. Will return next week and am looking forward to my next and future stays with ALOFT! August 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only