Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

  • 1230 Old World Third Street
  • Milwaukee,
  • Wisconsin
  • 53212
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to downtown. While location is great if you want to be downtown, you must also take in the noise that comes with being downtown. Since hotel is only 5 stories tall, even on top floor you hear the noise from the outside, especially on the weekend nights when bars have live music. The biggest drawback in my opinion for all Aloft hotels is that in their shower there is no place for a woman to put her leg to shave them. You either have to bend over or open shower door and stick leg out of shower and onto toilet. How hard would it be to put some type of bench in shower???? July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by if you want to sleep go elsewhere. Poor service As a Starwood Platinum member I stay at many Starwood properties and besides the Miami Four Points this is the second worst hotel in the stable. I arrived at 3/pm on a Saturday. There was a line out the door to check-in and only one person at the desk. No recognition for Platinum status. The rooms are small. The biggest problem is there is poor sound proofing as it is next to highway and neat many bars and night clubs I stayed on the fifth floor and could not sleep from the banging of drums and the sounds of cars. Even worse is I like Harley's, and Milwaukee has many. I just do not need the HOG sound in my room. And car hors. I came for a business meeting and could not sleep well with all the noise. When I called the grin t desk, no one answered, When I down to the desk, no was there. The pool is a joke as it is for toddlers and that is who were in it. I went o too the bar and did not see the bartender. Very bad reflection for the SPG brand and worse for the guest. K will certainty have this low on my list. August 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not very clean, staff just okay I was disappointed in my stay at the Aloft in Milwaukee. My room was not very clean. Carpet is dirty. Gross "stuff" on the wall by TV. Paint starting to peel in places. Was probably an awesome hotel 5 years ago, but needs some daily attention. Also, the maid walked in on my teenage daughter at 8:30am and woke her up. I thought that was too early to be barging into rooms when the checkout is at noon. Despite it's great location, and comfy beds, I would not recommend this hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hands down - favorite hotel As a platinum 100 night a year starwood member, this is without a doubt is my favorite hotel. The hotel location is great as it sits in downtown Milwaukee which has wonderful restaurants, shops, museums and a beautiful lake park. The hotel itself has a very warm feel to it with a lobby that is always full of guests socializing and playing pool and I love looking out over the canal However, the best part is the staff. Vicky, Johnny and Eva all have such a great attitude and take the time to get to know their guests. I always feel so welcomed when I arrive. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by We wouldnt stay again The hotel itself is very nice. The employees are wonderful!!! The food in the cafe is overpriced, and the room is very small. The bathroom is poorly designed, so if you want privacy in there, forget it!!! The pocket door for the bathroom has a huge gap on the top and the side. The bathroom is so small, 2 people cant stand in there comfortably. The bed was not very comfortable. There is no parking, so you either valet your car or find a parking lot on your own. The walls were paper thin and you can hear everything in the hallway. We were very disappointed. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy Love the vibeof the hotel. Staff was great! Very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was good. The issue was noise. I faced a very busy corner and the traffic noise was not acceptable for the cost. There definitely needs to be some updates to the windows. Although some noise is to be expected, I don't expect racing engine noise at 3 am or loud street construction that wakes you at 6. I think $150 a night is a lot for the noise. And, not to nitpick but the towels should be updated. The edges were very worn and frayed. I provide better towels for my guests. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel-Great Staff From my first stay, I have had nothing but wonderful visits at Aloft. It's clean, neat, the energy is kicking from the moment you walk in the door as you're greeted with smiles from staff...a refreshing feeling after a long day. It's conveniently located in the city and from a service pespective, the follow through I received inorder to meet my needs was phenomenal. I was delighted to walk into my room one evening upon check in and see that I was randomly chosen as the guest of the night, I had complementary snacks on my desk with a very kind welcoming note from the Hotel Manager...that was just a neat little surprise. I can't say enough great things about this hotel, you need to check it out for yourself. I remain an extremely happy customer and will continue to visit regularly. May 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathroom door not wide enough to cover the doorway The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and quiet enough (although a lot of road noise). But there was a sliding door for the bathroom & it was not wide enough to completely cover the opening. It left about 1-1/2" open when "closed" as far as it would go. Also, on the other edge of the door, there was a gap between the door and the wall. Would be fine if you are traveling alone, but maybe a little more togetherness than some people would like. There is also a smoked glass panel in the shower that lets light filter into the bedroom area. Sink area connected to bedroom-can't shower without disturbing others. November 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by No surprises . . . Rooms at every Aloft Hotel are pretty much identical so any superlatives must be based on the public areas and the staff. This Milwaukee location comes up aces on both counts. Just enough unique quirks in the lobby to make things interesting and a staff that was universally welcoming and responsive. And the best German restaurant in Milwaukee (Mader's) is just a couple of blocks away. Who could ask for more! I will be back! July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a great nights sleep I really don't need much from a hotel room. The ability to check in, sleep, and get out in the morning are my requirements. The hotel is going for a "hip" vibe, but due to the cheap quality of furnishings, it ends up looking tired. The mattress is on a platform foundation, however the mattress used clearly needed a box spring. Also, the sheets weren't long enough for the mattress and kept coming off the bed. Pretty disgusting. The hotel is situated on a noisy street, and you can hear the street noise, if that's not bad enough, the a/c runs every few minutes. The shades do not make the room dark, light comes in from all around. All that is needed is a few curtains around the borders. The check in took half an hour - there was one person at the desk to care for all the people purchasing food/drink items, answer phones, and check people in. So disorganized. I wouldn't stay here again. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by AC Noise Overall this Hotel is in a great location for all river walk activities. Our only concern was the AC was very noisy when it would kick on. A hotel of this caliber went cheap on these units. Everything else was very good. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't Park on the Street I usually stay at the Aloft Milwaukee when I'm in town, but will consider other options after receiving a $20 ticket for parking my car at one of the plentiful spaces along the nearby streets. There are no "No Parking between the Hours of x to y" or "No Overnight Parking" signs. Instead, you are supposed to know the law that Milwaukee's mayor recently passed forbidding overnight parking on city streets without a permit. I've been parking in the same spaces for years when I've stayed at the Aloft (which I enjoy and recommend), but was never warned by the hotel staff after I said "No thanks, I'll park on the street" to their "Would you like to park in our lot?" There are suburban hotels not far away that I'll consider next time. If you stay here for several days, you might consider getting a parking permit from the city-hotel parking is $22/night. July 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reservation Error There was a mistake made in my reservation the week of 10-5, my mistake. I was surprised that I was charged the full amount with no consideration given that I have stayed at the Aloft in Milwakee many times and that I stay at Starwood hotels on a regular basis. My reservation was made for the 5th and I needed it for the 6th, did not realize until I recieved a invoice the morning of the 6th. November 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT HOTEL LOVED IT. Everything you need is there. nice fitness room w/ new equipment, nice pool. liked the fact that the hotel has an " intimate " feel to it. it is not big but yet has what you would need. location is good, walking distance from downtown. rooms are spacious. nice touch with the fridge ! staff is attentive. great rate! liked everything about it. will come back. November 18, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvements in every aspect. Upon arrival we liked the initial look of the hotel. We arrived 1hour after check-in time and neither of our rooms were ready. After at least 30 min. one room became available, The second room wasn't ready until we got back from dinner. Not in a timely manner if you ask me. I would have to say that the Valet personnel was great! At the end of our night, we returned to our room and not a minute later we had security banging, claiming that we were getting multiple complaints. I understand people want it quiet, but we weren't being that loud. If we talked at all we were getting yelled at. Walls are paper thin!! We heard every conversation our neighbors were having the next morning even though they were talking at a normal noise level. The beds were not comfortable at all! Several people in our group didn't get much sleep because of the beds. Also, The bathroom doors are sliding and DON"T close all the way or lock!! NO PRIVACY! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was outstanding! Wow! One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at! Everyone was so accomodating and very friendly and attentive to any question we had. They offered to look up information for us before we even had an opportunity to ask. We were also impressed that even the maid knew the history of the hotel. Will definitely try to stay at this chain of hotels again. M&K September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Standards This was my third stay at an Aloft Hotel. I wished there was a second chair in the room by the shower window next to the bed, Having only one chair in these rooms makes it uncomfortable. I used the Re:Fuel for breakfast and was extremely disappointed with the quality of "hot" food. The western omlette was uneatable and the breakfast sandwich was passable. Overall the staff was very friendly. The location was great. The hotel was very clean. Parking was fine. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an experience! My husband and I have become loyal aloft fans! From the aloha desk to the valet, we are always made to feel special and cared for! I feel like a family member rather than a guest- and never like I'm being rushed along. Thank you for making special times even more special through your amazing staff and facility! January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pretty facade, leaves a bit to be desired The hotel is very stylish, which is nice, but it doesn't make up for the fact that the food was lackluster at best - really sub-par for the meetings we held there. The meeting facilities in general are ok, but nothing special. The rooms again are very stylish, but the bed was as hard as a rock. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, other than valet Hotel and personnel were friendly and professional. Facilities were excellent, as well. Only problem is my car was returned to me from valet with a large gash in the leather part of my steering wheel. It is several inches long and ragged, basically ruining the steering wheel of my Cadillac. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Milwaukee Hotel Exceptional attention to detail and amazing customer service. Combined with a great weekend in one of our favorite cities. This hotel is managed with great care. STAY with Confidence that you will have an exceptional home away from home. October 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very modern This hotel is very modern and makes great use of space. However, I overlooked the courtcard and it was noisy. Once I tured the fan, it drowned out the noise. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by cool hotel fun place. funky decor, very nice staff, cool bar and fun amenities like a pool table and chinese checkers. Bliss brand toiletries. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The staff could not have been more accommodating! March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch hotel - on a shoe string budget I used to live in Milwaukee, so coming back and staying in a hotel downtown was a new experience. I wanted to be close to action, but just a tad away so I don't get bothered by the weekend boisterous crowds. Right from the check in to the room, the whole experience was flawless. I think they offer the same level if not more than hotels which are priced at twice their level. Things that I loved about this property - Gym with absolutely new equipment and open 24 hours, a nice vibrant lobby with a pool table and free internet with PC, boarding pass printing, snacks that are available to purchase (not too pricey) and onsite laundry for a small fee ($1.5/load). The rooms were spotless, clean and ready with all trappings needed for a good night's rest and recharge. The 'hub' can help you recharge your cell phone, connect your laptop to the TV. They provide bliss products in the bathrooms that are high quality, and my room also came with a mini fridge. They have a weekday shuttle that can drop you off to business close by. Only point to consider, is the construction of the bridge happening that may be a disruptive at time, but the work is between 7 to 7 on weekdays, weekends there is no construction so I was ok. Water street and all the downtown location and sights are a short $5 -10 cab ride away. April 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally Nice Hotel The hotel was clean and most things seemed pretty up to date. The rooms were somewhat average. The air conditioning in the conference room was from one extreme to the other so it seemed hard for them to control. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentative. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good option for downtown stay Good location and the typical Aloft experience. Friendly staff. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff I've been meaning to write this review for a while now...I stayed at this hotel three nights a week just about every week for an entire year for business, and it quickly became my "home away from home." In my (probably around 75+) nights at this hotel, I can honestly say they have some of the best staff that I've seen at any hotel. Jared, Sam, Megan (?), Vicki et. al at the front desk were always quick to say hello every time I walked in, and treated me like a good friend. Even during busy times, the staff kept their cool and maintained composure. The valet guys work their butts off...if you watch them they are literally running across the street to the valet lot to get your car. I never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for my car to arrive. The location (to me) is perfect. Easy access to the highway, and just a short walk to all the bars along Water Street and Third Street. The Bradley Center is literally right around the corner. (If you are here for a Brewer's game, a lot of the bars right down the street will have shuttles to Miller Park). Given how many nights I've stayed there, I was amazed at the little amount of problems I had. If there ever was a problem, it was always a maintenance/upkeep issue and never a staff issue! (see below) That being said, my only two recommendations: -Those heavy sliding bathroom doors are poorly designed. I got stuck in the bathroom for a good 10 minutes trying to get the door un-jammed after shutting it. Other times the door came off-track and wouldn't even shut. They should probably be given a quick check regularly before some old lady gets trapped in the lou without a phone (or LifeAlert thing). -It would be nice to get actual duvets instead of just putting the comforter between two sheets. Many nights I woke up with the bare comforter on my face after it came untucked. Yuck. January 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service When our trip brought us to Milwaukee one day early, we called and booked an extra day at the Aloft. Our room for that night was not up to the usual standards and the staff made sure we were better accommodated for the rest of our stay. Because of such kind and attentive service, we will stay again at Aloft Milwaukee. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Milwaukee experience Great please, clean comfortable, friendly staff. I would recommend it for another conference. July 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only