Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

  • 1230 Old World Third Street
  • Milwaukee,
  • Wisconsin
  • 53212
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hands down - favorite hotel As a platinum 100 night a year starwood member, this is without a doubt is my favorite hotel. The hotel location is great as it sits in downtown Milwaukee which has wonderful restaurants, shops, museums and a beautiful lake park. The hotel itself has a very warm feel to it with a lobby that is always full of guests socializing and playing pool and I love looking out over the canal However, the best part is the staff. Vicky, Johnny and Eva all have such a great attitude and take the time to get to know their guests. I always feel so welcomed when I arrive. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by We wouldnt stay again The hotel itself is very nice. The employees are wonderful!!! The food in the cafe is overpriced, and the room is very small. The bathroom is poorly designed, so if you want privacy in there, forget it!!! The pocket door for the bathroom has a huge gap on the top and the side. The bathroom is so small, 2 people cant stand in there comfortably. The bed was not very comfortable. There is no parking, so you either valet your car or find a parking lot on your own. The walls were paper thin and you can hear everything in the hallway. We were very disappointed. November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel-Great Staff From my first stay, I have had nothing but wonderful visits at Aloft. It's clean, neat, the energy is kicking from the moment you walk in the door as you're greeted with smiles from staff...a refreshing feeling after a long day. It's conveniently located in the city and from a service pespective, the follow through I received inorder to meet my needs was phenomenal. I was delighted to walk into my room one evening upon check in and see that I was randomly chosen as the guest of the night, I had complementary snacks on my desk with a very kind welcoming note from the Hotel Manager...that was just a neat little surprise. I can't say enough great things about this hotel, you need to check it out for yourself. I remain an extremely happy customer and will continue to visit regularly. May 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathroom door not wide enough to cover the doorway The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and quiet enough (although a lot of road noise). But there was a sliding door for the bathroom & it was not wide enough to completely cover the opening. It left about 1-1/2" open when "closed" as far as it would go. Also, on the other edge of the door, there was a gap between the door and the wall. Would be fine if you are traveling alone, but maybe a little more togetherness than some people would like. There is also a smoked glass panel in the shower that lets light filter into the bedroom area. Sink area connected to bedroom-can't shower without disturbing others. November 22, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Front desk was rude The front desk was rude starting with the moment we arrived. We had to get their attention to stop talking to each other. When we wanted to use the pool with our kids, we were told we needed to go back to our rooms to put our shoes on due to "the broken glass from our bar". It seemed odd since 1) the bar was dead with no patrons as of 9:30pm the previous night, and 2) if there was broken glass, why wouldn't the hotel take every effort to effectively clean that up. In addition, the water was out during our stay. Having the water turned off for an our with 3 kids is not what we planned or what to experience again. January 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Standard Aloft Experience; Good Location Checked in on a Sunday night. All in all, very typical Aloft experience. Staff was helpful and friendly, the room was as expected, and there really were no surprises positively or negatively. Platinum status was recognized, but the hotel doesn't have many suites to offer. The hotel is very convenient to all of the amenities of downtown. February 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't Park on the Street I usually stay at the Aloft Milwaukee when I'm in town, but will consider other options after receiving a $20 ticket for parking my car at one of the plentiful spaces along the nearby streets. There are no "No Parking between the Hours of x to y" or "No Overnight Parking" signs. Instead, you are supposed to know the law that Milwaukee's mayor recently passed forbidding overnight parking on city streets without a permit. I've been parking in the same spaces for years when I've stayed at the Aloft (which I enjoy and recommend), but was never warned by the hotel staff after I said "No thanks, I'll park on the street" to their "Would you like to park in our lot?" There are suburban hotels not far away that I'll consider next time. If you stay here for several days, you might consider getting a parking permit from the city-hotel parking is $22/night. July 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was outstanding! Wow! One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at! Everyone was so accomodating and very friendly and attentive to any question we had. They offered to look up information for us before we even had an opportunity to ask. We were also impressed that even the maid knew the history of the hotel. Will definitely try to stay at this chain of hotels again. M&K September 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reservation Error There was a mistake made in my reservation the week of 10-5, my mistake. I was surprised that I was charged the full amount with no consideration given that I have stayed at the Aloft in Milwakee many times and that I stay at Starwood hotels on a regular basis. My reservation was made for the 5th and I needed it for the 6th, did not realize until I recieved a invoice the morning of the 6th. November 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT HOTEL LOVED IT. Everything you need is there. nice fitness room w/ new equipment, nice pool. liked the fact that the hotel has an " intimate " feel to it. it is not big but yet has what you would need. location is good, walking distance from downtown. rooms are spacious. nice touch with the fridge ! staff is attentive. great rate! liked everything about it. will come back. November 18, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvements in every aspect. Upon arrival we liked the initial look of the hotel. We arrived 1hour after check-in time and neither of our rooms were ready. After at least 30 min. one room became available, The second room wasn't ready until we got back from dinner. Not in a timely manner if you ask me. I would have to say that the Valet personnel was great! At the end of our night, we returned to our room and not a minute later we had security banging, claiming that we were getting multiple complaints. I understand people want it quiet, but we weren't being that loud. If we talked at all we were getting yelled at. Walls are paper thin!! We heard every conversation our neighbors were having the next morning even though they were talking at a normal noise level. The beds were not comfortable at all! Several people in our group didn't get much sleep because of the beds. Also, The bathroom doors are sliding and DON"T close all the way or lock!! NO PRIVACY! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an experience! My husband and I have become loyal aloft fans! From the aloha desk to the valet, we are always made to feel special and cared for! I feel like a family member rather than a guest- and never like I'm being rushed along. Thank you for making special times even more special through your amazing staff and facility! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Milwaukee Hotel Exceptional attention to detail and amazing customer service. Combined with a great weekend in one of our favorite cities. This hotel is managed with great care. STAY with Confidence that you will have an exceptional home away from home. October 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cool hotel fun place. funky decor, very nice staff, cool bar and fun amenities like a pool table and chinese checkers. Bliss brand toiletries. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The staff could not have been more accommodating! March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch hotel - on a shoe string budget I used to live in Milwaukee, so coming back and staying in a hotel downtown was a new experience. I wanted to be close to action, but just a tad away so I don't get bothered by the weekend boisterous crowds. Right from the check in to the room, the whole experience was flawless. I think they offer the same level if not more than hotels which are priced at twice their level. Things that I loved about this property - Gym with absolutely new equipment and open 24 hours, a nice vibrant lobby with a pool table and free internet with PC, boarding pass printing, snacks that are available to purchase (not too pricey) and onsite laundry for a small fee ($1.5/load). The rooms were spotless, clean and ready with all trappings needed for a good night's rest and recharge. The 'hub' can help you recharge your cell phone, connect your laptop to the TV. They provide bliss products in the bathrooms that are high quality, and my room also came with a mini fridge. They have a weekday shuttle that can drop you off to business close by. Only point to consider, is the construction of the bridge happening that may be a disruptive at time, but the work is between 7 to 7 on weekdays, weekends there is no construction so I was ok. Water street and all the downtown location and sights are a short $5 -10 cab ride away. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff I've been meaning to write this review for a while now...I stayed at this hotel three nights a week just about every week for an entire year for business, and it quickly became my "home away from home." In my (probably around 75+) nights at this hotel, I can honestly say they have some of the best staff that I've seen at any hotel. Jared, Sam, Megan (?), Vicki et. al at the front desk were always quick to say hello every time I walked in, and treated me like a good friend. Even during busy times, the staff kept their cool and maintained composure. The valet guys work their butts off...if you watch them they are literally running across the street to the valet lot to get your car. I never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for my car to arrive. The location (to me) is perfect. Easy access to the highway, and just a short walk to all the bars along Water Street and Third Street. The Bradley Center is literally right around the corner. (If you are here for a Brewer's game, a lot of the bars right down the street will have shuttles to Miller Park). Given how many nights I've stayed there, I was amazed at the little amount of problems I had. If there ever was a problem, it was always a maintenance/upkeep issue and never a staff issue! (see below) That being said, my only two recommendations: -Those heavy sliding bathroom doors are poorly designed. I got stuck in the bathroom for a good 10 minutes trying to get the door un-jammed after shutting it. Other times the door came off-track and wouldn't even shut. They should probably be given a quick check regularly before some old lady gets trapped in the lou without a phone (or LifeAlert thing). -It would be nice to get actual duvets instead of just putting the comforter between two sheets. Many nights I woke up with the bare comforter on my face after it came untucked. Yuck. January 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel...no sound proofing LOVE Aloft hotel, but unfortunately this hotel has absolutely no soundproofing. Heard sirens right under our window all night (it was Summerfest so more active than usual I suspect) but I have stayed downtown at other hotels and have never felt like I was in the middle of Time Square like I did at the Aloft. Also at 8:00am heard the shade go up in the room next to us and literally thought someone was in our room it was so loud. SUPER loud hallway at bar closing. I could have actively participated in hallway coversations from my bed becasue I could hear every single word. Too bad. Great hotel but I don't know if I will stay again! July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel My friend and I came for Summerfest. We were delighted frm the minute we drove into the hotel parking lot! All the staff was big smiles :) We loved the feel of the hotel, the bar area and our room. Complimentary bottled water was a nice touch..The only thing that both us agreed could be improved upon would be bigger bath towels and maybe the mattress having a differnt type mattress pad....We didn't care for the fact we could see the mattress ...That being said we will both keep your hotel in mind for future trips to Milwaukee! Service was great :) We didn't get a chance to ck out the Pool or Fitness Center maybe our next visit!!! July 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh.... As a Platinum member and one who frequents the SPG brands weekly, I was a bit surprised at this location. The room was comfy enough, but as far as amenities, forget it. Pay to park and hike a block, or pay out the nose for valet. Breakfast was a scant flavorless sandwich and overpriced drinks out of a cooler. I got the impression that the managers were away so no one was working to hard. When I asked about Platinum benefits I was looked at like I had a third eye. The front desk gal acted like she had no idea what I was talking about. Nothing like most SPG I have been to. December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, not so friendly staff. I stayed here over the weekend because I was attending a concert in Milwaukee. When we came back at 11 pm we asked the front desk where we could get a late dinner. Front desk told us they didn't know anywhere in the area that was open and couldn't make recommendations. Also, a officer who was in the building asked us if we had a room like we were some kind of intruders. He continued to give up dirty looks and stare us down. The staff seemed very unhelpful and not friendly at all. The hotel itself was pretty, except for the paper thin walls (you can hear everything). I felt very unwelcomed and probably won't stay here again. May 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The modern design got the best of it. The staff were very friendly and met all of our needs! The modern design was what attracted us to the hotel. That being said, the modern design was what changed our opinion. The bathroom door didn't fully close by design. The lights in the bathroom (once we coordinated all of the switched to make them work) lit up the main room as well so when you went to the bathroom at night, you had to risk waking up the other people in the room or go in the dark. The toilet was located behind a small glass wall and on the other side of the wall was a bed so you had little privacy while in the bathroom. The remote to the tv didn't work well (seemed like it had a mind of it's own.). September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, awesome service Upon arrival I thought this can't possibly be the place I'm staying. There was a ton of construction and my first thought was it would be loud (it was not). Valet parking was a breeze, and while there were comments on the speed of service, my car was consistently retrieved in record time. Got to room only to find a few dead bugs (not bed bugs but bugs none the less) in one of the beds. Requested a linens change which was extraordinarily slow but was completed. Location was awesome..close to water street and walking distance to everywhere we were headed. Hotel amenities were fine, but minimal. Was expecting a W like experience and clearly was not up to those standards. September 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Centrally located, well run hotel Nice modern hotel in downtown Milwaukee. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations We stayed at The Aloft Downtown Milwaukee for my daughter's wedding. I cannot adequately express how pleased we were with ALL the staff. The level of professionalism that each and every person showed was top notch. Responses to questions or requests were met immediately and with smiles!. Their valets were the best I've ever encountered. We wanted for nothing the entire stay. I'd like to give a shout out to Madeline, the sales & event coodinator that we worked with us. She was very organized, returned our calls and emails in a very timely manner and truly took care of so many small but important details. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again in the future. October 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 Queens is not a King - the tv and Internet should work in all rooms I booked a King room weeks in advance for a 4 night stay...only to arrive and be told "Housekeeping put you in a room with 2 queen beds, instead of a King to be sure everything worked". REALLY ? Last month when I stayed here the TV didn't work for two days. And their internet "had too many users so no access". (Although the manager followed up after the trip to apologize which was nice.) So I assumed my King reservation would be fine this trip. Nope. Two queens instead...."so everything will work". So I guess the "king rooms" don't have "things that work". No recognition of Starwood guest status either. September 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room is nice and thats it. Felt like no one knew what was going on. We received multiple answers constantly and I still don't know what I am really being charged for because they gave me 3 different amounts. Granted i have a receipt now and it was more than they stated. I had a few other issues with things but the room itself was nice and quiet. I will not be staying at the aloft in downtown Milwaukee ever again. January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Night I was booked on the second floor above the main entrance. I could hear the valet's conversations as if they were in the next room. I thought that might be the major annoyance of the night, until around 9 pm when the band started to play. The lobby was turned into a concert hall and the music was literally blaring. Nothing was said at check-in about this. I went to the lobby where the ladies behind the desk could hardly hear what I was saying. They first offered ear plugs and then said that someone should have told me about the band upon check-in. I never would have booked had I known that there was a band. April 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We chose this hotel as it was close and was supposed to be pet friendly. However after the first trip up/down the elevator our dog was very frightened to go back on the elevator. I asked where the steps were and was told there were none. I explained my dog was afraid and I got a should shrug, like Oh well... " First, I am sure there were stairs as that that would be a fire code problem. Second if you are saying you are pet friendly, I would suggest you actually act that way. My dog is now terrified of elevators as we had to force him each time. Also toward the end he held his bathroom as he knew he'd have to go down the elevator to go outside (which is a very very small area for pets to do their thing I might add). On the room comfort. The room was at sweltering 74 degrees no matter how low I turned the thermostat. We were sweating so you can imagine how uncomfortable our dog was. With respect to having to pay to park our own car more than 1 block away.. that is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen! You will not get repeat customers by charging them $23 for valet or $15 and make them park a block away in what appeared to be a very unsecure lot. Just overall very disappointed. Sorry November 28, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by M'eh...I Guess You Can Call It "Modern" It looks all shiny & new, and I recall how they were being picketed by union workers when they were constructing it as I drove by it on my way to work. Yea, I guess it IS "modern" looking and perfect for pretending to be "cool." But, seriously, a front desk is a front desk. Don't cool-fool me by calling it the "aloha desk." Same with the pool. It's a pool, for crying out loud --small and shallow at that-- NOT a "splash." An elevator is an elevator, not a "lift." It's just trendy hipster verbiage that is confusing and actually made me feel like I was being scammed, a little. The front desk worker confessed that they were still trying to get used to the terminology. To get to the pool, you'd have to walk through the main lobby/bar/re:zone or whatever it's called. So once 8pm rolls around, you'd have to wiggle your way through the "hook-up" lounge to get to the pool. I guess you'd be rewarded with rinsing off the grossness of being eyed up and down by the array of Cool Dudes drankin' it up. Turn the music down please, and just turn it off in the pool. I'm sorry, in splash. It's not necessary. The rooms have like zero drawers or anything like that. Where do you put stuff? Where's the information sheets about the hotel? When do I check out? What's in the local area? Or even a list of channels on the TV? And I can't stand these 1-cup brew coffee makers, either. They're horribly more wasteful than even a 4-cup maker. We felt like we were in a white-collar criminal prison cell. And with Milwaukee's excellent tap water, why add even more garbage and waste with shipped in Nestle water? Not very green at all, and disgraceful to Milwaukee's internationally recognized water resources. That said, the nice things are: nice shower. Nice color schemes. No Bible in the room (thank you)! Wow. I thought there'd be more. Valet parking is stupidly priced. People: you can call in your car overnight on Milwaukee City streets for FREE for 3 days a month, and you don't need to on Saturday nights. Make sure you are parked on a street that allows night parking. The continued mess of construction is a shame. Views are obstructed, noise is awful, construction dust greets your walk, and you can't currently connect to the wonderful Milwaukee Riverwalk like the hotel says you can. To offer free earplugs as an apology is insulting. Hotel staff & website should be more up front about all this. Final gripe: the only reason we stayed here was because we were given a gift certificate. Guess what?! You can't use gift certificates to book online. So that means, you can't get the good cheaper rates online. Since they don't want me to mention specific prices, here's a fictionalized account: We had a $5.00 gift certificate and saw rooms for $6.00 online; BUT we were forced to book over the phone/in-person and had to pay $12 rate. Add in those taxes and all and we basically paid the hotel twice the value. It's a scam in my opinion that basically negates your gift certificate and scoops in more cash. I imagine the hotel robot will reply to this message and say thanks for helping us get better blah blah burrbity blurg. Maybe they'll even give me some free earplugs so I don't have to hear it! Please think beyond the "cool factor" for this place. Other hotels in the area are competitively priced, offer more value, and know that an elevator is called an elevator. July 26, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only