Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

  • 1230 Old World Third Street
  • Milwaukee,
  • Wisconsin
  • 53212
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 183 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A downtown hotel with a modern touch Aloft hotels stand out as a modern choice for those looking for something upscale but trendy. The Aloft Milwaukee Downtown continues this philosophy. While this may not be the best choice for a family, it is perfect for those with a modern eye. The only issue was the shower, where water tended to splash out, making the floor a little wet. The shower head was also placed way too high for an optimal shower experience. The parking valet service was convenient and worth the price. The helpful staff even pointed out a tire issue. The pool was also open 24 hours a day. June 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy Love the vibeof the hotel. Staff was great! Very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was good. The issue was noise. I faced a very busy corner and the traffic noise was not acceptable for the cost. There definitely needs to be some updates to the windows. Although some noise is to be expected, I don't expect racing engine noise at 3 am or loud street construction that wakes you at 6. I think $150 a night is a lot for the noise. And, not to nitpick but the towels should be updated. The edges were very worn and frayed. I provide better towels for my guests. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to downtown. While location is great if you want to be downtown, you must also take in the noise that comes with being downtown. Since hotel is only 5 stories tall, even on top floor you hear the noise from the outside, especially on the weekend nights when bars have live music. The biggest drawback in my opinion for all Aloft hotels is that in their shower there is no place for a woman to put her leg to shave them. You either have to bend over or open shower door and stick leg out of shower and onto toilet. How hard would it be to put some type of bench in shower???? July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yes & No I was excited to stay at my first ALoft property. I was a little disappointed. The hotel was very overpriced for the area. I could have hotwired a room for much less, but I wanted to stay in this hotel. I did like many things about the hotel and staff, including the room...but we were given 1 face cloth, 1 hand towel and 2 bath towels. I thought that was odd for 2 people. The bathroom floor had some goomba on the floor next to the toilet. And the paper holder fell off in my hand (i rigged it back up myself) I could overlook everything until I found out that my friend has stayed at this hotel for far less than what I paid. Plus there was a Crane outside my window. Other Hotels discount rooms when they are in the middle of a construction zone. September 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Service staff the service staff needs to be trained how to handle a private conference where there are speakers and visitors from abroad. They are very noisey, and timing was not well coordinated with speakers. It is as if their job is more important to empty the trash, then the customers who are presenting very importnat business information to an audience of 40 people. Also, the music in the halls was very loud. i asked several staff to turn it down, it never happend. THere is more, but this is enough for now. September 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude staff The hotel was pretty nice and the location was perfect. The staff on the other hand was not so nice. When we first checked in the reception lady was very nice and acommodating. After grabbing food and a couple drinks at a couple of the restaurants and bars, we walked back to our hotel. As soon as we walked through the sliding doors, the guy at the reception desk looked at us and said if you get a noise complaint we are kicking you out. Seriously? I think there is a better way of phrasing that for one and two we weren't even loud. Then in the morning at 730am a lady was knocking from door to door asking if anyone wanted refreshing. We could hear her all the way down the hall! I think 730 is a little early to be knocking on doors and waking people up! May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by EXTREMELY LOUD Per se, the hotel is fine BUT, around 2 AM, there was a VERY LOUD party down at the end of the hall. I'm thinking it was a wedding group in their 20s ...30s. They were in the hallway hooting and hollering. They were also smoking which seeped into our room. As we are not smokers, this was very unpleasant. We called down to the desk and they said they were doing something about it but, not for a long time. I think the partiers just got tired and went to bed on their own and we didn't hear anyone telling them to tone it down. December 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, modern, fun. The staff was incredibly upbeat and helpful, inlcuding the valet service young men who did a great job. My wife commented several times on how clean the room was and I found myself looking out the window at the river several times, smiling every one of them. The TV picture was vivid, the bed comfortable, and at 6'3 I didn't have to bend down in the shower, which was warm! The lobby had a trendy young feel and we just sat for a while, watched people play pool and looked around. We thoroughly enjoyed being here- great job. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good to stay there once In all honesty, I was not overly impressed by the hotel. I read some positive reviews but I just didn't see it. I felt it was worth what I paid per night and all the other food/beverages were outrageously priced. Not just that but the "breakfast/lunch" station's food was mostly fozen, heated up food. It wasn't even made by the cook. I mean, my french toast sticks were the frozen kind from the grocery store and 3 bucks for only 4 sticks. The omlet was 7 bucks, SUPER TINY and barely had anything on it. The lady behind the counter offered to add veggies just to make it look appetizing. My boyfriend and I both thought that this was a hotel Gordon Ramsey would come into and totally tear apart. Parking was ridiculous too. The view was nice though, and the bed was alright. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Milwaukee for Conference The hotel receives high ratings from me in every area. Yes, there was construction noise, however, I was there attending a conference being held at the hotel and was up in the morning long before the noise began. The location is great for sight seeing, the staff were very helpful all the way from the Registration Desk to the Catering. The facilities were just the right size for our event (120+ people) and the accomodations were great. The group rate was on target. Congratulations, Aloft, you have a great facility! May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs. The aloft downtown in Milwaukee COMPLETELY went above and beyond what we could have ever expected! We were able to bring our large dog to stay with us. The place was clean and that staff was unbelievable (they know who they are!)! They were so accommodating to us and our dog. Our stay was extended due to some car issues. Because of the aloft and the people there our stay was comfortable and pleasant. I can't wait to go back. I hope that we see the same faces. Great location as well. Thank you aloft! See you soon!! June 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My only choice when in MKE Most recently I spent 5 nights here on a business trip. Just like every stay before things were great! It has a great location to downtown Milwaukee, the only downside to that is it can get a bit noisy. Everyone from the valet, to the front desk and housekeeping did everything they could to help me have an enjoyable stay. The only downside to me, is that room layout does not work the best. It is very difficult to work at the desk and watch TV at the same time. This is the only place I stay when I'm in Milwaukee. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! This past weekend I came up to Milwaukee for a wedding and it turned out that I booked my hotel for the weekend prior. While aLoft did not have any additional availability for the night, Victoria V. called all the other local SPG member hotels to see if there was any availability. When that didn't work, Victoria offered to give me a call if anyone ended up not checking into their hotel. Then when no one ended up canceling at aLoft that night, Victoria offered to put in the request to refund my points that I used to book the incorrect weekend. I had a backup plan but I really appreciate all the work that was put in despite me not even staying at the hotel. While I didn't stay this weekend, I have stayed at the aLoft before and it has always been great! Thanks, Graham & Cristina June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding stay ... great location In the beautiful City of Milwaukee for a Labor Day weekend wedding with several events in different venues spanning three days. All staff were extremely helpful. Many thanks to Vicky who was in our eyes, "Milwaukee's Ambassador" for us that weekend, easing our orientation to your wonderful city, answering our myriad of questions and offering us help in obtaining various goods and services within a close proximity to Aloft. All this and over 700 Starwoods Points gained too! September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not very clean, staff just okay I was disappointed in my stay at the Aloft in Milwaukee. My room was not very clean. Carpet is dirty. Gross "stuff" on the wall by TV. Paint starting to peel in places. Was probably an awesome hotel 5 years ago, but needs some daily attention. Also, the maid walked in on my teenage daughter at 8:30am and woke her up. I thought that was too early to be barging into rooms when the checkout is at noon. Despite it's great location, and comfy beds, I would not recommend this hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Place to Stay in Milwaukee My husband and I just returned from our weekend stay at the Aloft in Milwaukee and we couldn't be happier with our choice to stay there. The hotel is modern with great amenities. Staff is exceptional and very friendly. Our room was so comfortable and clean. Great location! We drove to Milwaukee, but never used our car while we were there because we could walk to everywhere we needed to go downtown. We would absolutely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when we're in Milwaukee. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff As a frequent guest at this hotel, I anticipated the staff would help when some unexpected travel plans landed me without a room. What I did not anticipate was the speed and friendliness in which they did it. I had confirmation of my reservation before I boarded the plane from Denver-MKE, assuring me I would have a place to stay. They also took a look at the rest of my reservations when I checked in, to make sure I was appropriately reserved through their busy summer months. June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Standards This was my third stay at an Aloft Hotel. I wished there was a second chair in the room by the shower window next to the bed, Having only one chair in these rooms makes it uncomfortable. I used the Re:Fuel for breakfast and was extremely disappointed with the quality of "hot" food. The western omlette was uneatable and the breakfast sandwich was passable. Overall the staff was very friendly. The location was great. The hotel was very clean. Parking was fine. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very guest friendly In the room the bed is not against the wall. It stands alone avoiding any noise from adjoining rooms. Loved the room down to the ironing board and iron. Also, the lobby has a great lounge area. You can sit at the bar, enjoy the fireplace and even play some pool. One of the great things for us was that the hotel is dog friendly without putting us in a less than comefortable room and there was no noise . Staff is friendly and efficient. We would do this again in a heart beat! January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Aloft Milwaukee is the place to stay! We always stay at the Aloft when in Milwaukee. The location couldn't be better. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the staff is extremely competent and accommodating. We absolutely love staying here! October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great management attention to customer service Upon check - in, I was placed in a room I didn't reserve. Upon learning about it the next morning, the Hotel Manager and Front Desk Manager quickly resolved it and moved me into a King for my 4 night stay. This ALOFT tries really hard to deliver a good customer experience. It was a great turn -around on an earlier fumble. It's great to see that they really cared. The hotel also has a shuttle service for business travelers to nearby offices that is a really nice plus. September 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by no value! Not sure where to start! Lets start with check in. Long lines and $23 for valet. Nothing complimentary besides very bitter coffee. Room AC didnt cool room and no black out shades. We woke up to blinding sun at 6am. Wifi was nice until our 8hr limit expired. Nice flat screens but poor ability to actually change channels. Cars were parked outside across street in a gravel lot. This hotel operates on chicago, LA, NY prices and provided no perceived value. Wont be back! July 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is in a perfect location Nice and very clean hotel located in the center of the city. The hotel has a beautiful river view. The hotel side door is connected to the River Walk with a nice outside area. The hotels's isolation is very poor, you can hear the street traffic, as well as, the noise from the hallways. The staff was just ok as they tried to be more cool then helpful. I would not recommend the pool or the workout are. If you are a runner, the River Walk is a better alternative. July 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was great for our stay Our stay at the Aloft in Milwaukee served our needs just fine for a weekend getaway. It was so conveniently located to the areas of the city that we love best, and in walking distance to other great areas too. The rooms were comfortable, minus the construction noise, which we understand is temporary. But, overall the room served our needs just fine. It was clean and the staff was friendly. Also loved the little cafe area! We would definitely stay again. August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok The hotel met our expectations. The valet staff were very responsive and positive. The front desk staff often seemed more begrudging and maybe not 100% happy about the Aloft terminology / approach to interacting with customers. You need a certain peppiness to pull it off. The parking round-about is way too small and congested. Windows are NOT soundproof and the bathroom door left 1.5 inch open which was NOT desirable. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No surprises . . . Rooms at every Aloft Hotel are pretty much identical so any superlatives must be based on the public areas and the staff. This Milwaukee location comes up aces on both counts. Just enough unique quirks in the lobby to make things interesting and a staff that was universally welcoming and responsive. And the best German restaurant in Milwaukee (Mader's) is just a couple of blocks away. Who could ask for more! I will be back! July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by February visit One issue I had with your hotel was that the walls/doors are thin and/or not well insulated. As a result, it was very hard to sleep because of other guests on our floor that were VERY loud between the hours of 2:30 - 4:00 a.m. Every door slams shut. Surely there has to be a way to adjust the doors so they close more slowly and don't slam. In addition, I was not a fan of the sliding bathroom door that did not provide privacy to use the toilet. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Milwaukee The gal that checked us in at 3 PM on July 4, sorry don't remember her name, was mpre than great - she was the best. Went above and beyond expectations! Only place to complain was the "doggie walking area" - there were no Bags to remove the dog waste like other pet friendly hotels and we had to ask for them. Other guest did not do the same and we had to watch carefully that we did not step in other's dog mess! Otherwise, the stay was great. July 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a great nights sleep I really don't need much from a hotel room. The ability to check in, sleep, and get out in the morning are my requirements. The hotel is going for a "hip" vibe, but due to the cheap quality of furnishings, it ends up looking tired. The mattress is on a platform foundation, however the mattress used clearly needed a box spring. Also, the sheets weren't long enough for the mattress and kept coming off the bed. Pretty disgusting. The hotel is situated on a noisy street, and you can hear the street noise, if that's not bad enough, the a/c runs every few minutes. The shades do not make the room dark, light comes in from all around. All that is needed is a few curtains around the borders. The check in took half an hour - there was one person at the desk to care for all the people purchasing food/drink items, answer phones, and check people in. So disorganized. I wouldn't stay here again. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst SPG experience to date I am a platinum SPG member and travel quite often for business. No self parking available on site, staff didn't recognize my status on checkin and didn't upgrade despite the hotel being nearly empty during my stay. The bed felt like cardboard as did the pillows. The heater in the room was loud and distracting. The walls are paper thin and could hear everything in neighboring rooms. My wake up call was non-existant/forgotten. December 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only