Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

  • 1230 Old World Third Street
  • Milwaukee,
  • Wisconsin
  • 53212
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 183 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Front desk was rude The front desk was rude starting with the moment we arrived. We had to get their attention to stop talking to each other. When we wanted to use the pool with our kids, we were told we needed to go back to our rooms to put our shoes on due to "the broken glass from our bar". It seemed odd since 1) the bar was dead with no patrons as of 9:30pm the previous night, and 2) if there was broken glass, why wouldn't the hotel take every effort to effectively clean that up. In addition, the water was out during our stay. Having the water turned off for an our with 3 kids is not what we planned or what to experience again. January 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Night I was booked on the second floor above the main entrance. I could hear the valet's conversations as if they were in the next room. I thought that might be the major annoyance of the night, until around 9 pm when the band started to play. The lobby was turned into a concert hall and the music was literally blaring. Nothing was said at check-in about this. I went to the lobby where the ladies behind the desk could hardly hear what I was saying. They first offered ear plugs and then said that someone should have told me about the band upon check-in. I never would have booked had I known that there was a band. April 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy Love the vibeof the hotel. Staff was great! Very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was good. The issue was noise. I faced a very busy corner and the traffic noise was not acceptable for the cost. There definitely needs to be some updates to the windows. Although some noise is to be expected, I don't expect racing engine noise at 3 am or loud street construction that wakes you at 6. I think $150 a night is a lot for the noise. And, not to nitpick but the towels should be updated. The edges were very worn and frayed. I provide better towels for my guests. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 Queens is not a King - the tv and Internet should work in all rooms I booked a King room weeks in advance for a 4 night stay...only to arrive and be told "Housekeeping put you in a room with 2 queen beds, instead of a King to be sure everything worked". REALLY ? Last month when I stayed here the TV didn't work for two days. And their internet "had too many users so no access". (Although the manager followed up after the trip to apologize which was nice.) So I assumed my King reservation would be fine this trip. Nope. Two queens instead...."so everything will work". So I guess the "king rooms" don't have "things that work". No recognition of Starwood guest status either. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations We stayed at The Aloft Downtown Milwaukee for my daughter's wedding. I cannot adequately express how pleased we were with ALL the staff. The level of professionalism that each and every person showed was top notch. Responses to questions or requests were met immediately and with smiles!. Their valets were the best I've ever encountered. We wanted for nothing the entire stay. I'd like to give a shout out to Madeline, the sales & event coodinator that we worked with us. She was very organized, returned our calls and emails in a very timely manner and truly took care of so many small but important details. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again in the future. October 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We chose this hotel as it was close and was supposed to be pet friendly. However after the first trip up/down the elevator our dog was very frightened to go back on the elevator. I asked where the steps were and was told there were none. I explained my dog was afraid and I got a should shrug, like Oh well... " First, I am sure there were stairs as that that would be a fire code problem. Second if you are saying you are pet friendly, I would suggest you actually act that way. My dog is now terrified of elevators as we had to force him each time. Also toward the end he held his bathroom as he knew he'd have to go down the elevator to go outside (which is a very very small area for pets to do their thing I might add). On the room comfort. The room was at sweltering 74 degrees no matter how low I turned the thermostat. We were sweating so you can imagine how uncomfortable our dog was. With respect to having to pay to park our own car more than 1 block away.. that is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen! You will not get repeat customers by charging them $23 for valet or $15 and make them park a block away in what appeared to be a very unsecure lot. Just overall very disappointed. Sorry November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Service Aloft Milwaukee staff went above and beyond to make our weekend getaway memorable! From the personalized/warm welcome upon arrival, to our in-room anniversary sweets - we were thrilled with everything! The staff even took the time to acknowledge our dog every time we passed the front desk - what a great experience! August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by M'eh...I Guess You Can Call It "Modern" It looks all shiny & new, and I recall how they were being picketed by union workers when they were constructing it as I drove by it on my way to work. Yea, I guess it IS "modern" looking and perfect for pretending to be "cool." But, seriously, a front desk is a front desk. Don't cool-fool me by calling it the "aloha desk." Same with the pool. It's a pool, for crying out loud --small and shallow at that-- NOT a "splash." An elevator is an elevator, not a "lift." It's just trendy hipster verbiage that is confusing and actually made me feel like I was being scammed, a little. The front desk worker confessed that they were still trying to get used to the terminology. To get to the pool, you'd have to walk through the main lobby/bar/re:zone or whatever it's called. So once 8pm rolls around, you'd have to wiggle your way through the "hook-up" lounge to get to the pool. I guess you'd be rewarded with rinsing off the grossness of being eyed up and down by the array of Cool Dudes drankin' it up. Turn the music down please, and just turn it off in the pool. I'm sorry, in splash. It's not necessary. The rooms have like zero drawers or anything like that. Where do you put stuff? Where's the information sheets about the hotel? When do I check out? What's in the local area? Or even a list of channels on the TV? And I can't stand these 1-cup brew coffee makers, either. They're horribly more wasteful than even a 4-cup maker. We felt like we were in a white-collar criminal prison cell. And with Milwaukee's excellent tap water, why add even more garbage and waste with shipped in Nestle water? Not very green at all, and disgraceful to Milwaukee's internationally recognized water resources. That said, the nice things are: nice shower. Nice color schemes. No Bible in the room (thank you)! Wow. I thought there'd be more. Valet parking is stupidly priced. People: you can call in your car overnight on Milwaukee City streets for FREE for 3 days a month, and you don't need to on Saturday nights. Make sure you are parked on a street that allows night parking. The continued mess of construction is a shame. Views are obstructed, noise is awful, construction dust greets your walk, and you can't currently connect to the wonderful Milwaukee Riverwalk like the hotel says you can. To offer free earplugs as an apology is insulting. Hotel staff & website should be more up front about all this. Final gripe: the only reason we stayed here was because we were given a gift certificate. Guess what?! You can't use gift certificates to book online. So that means, you can't get the good cheaper rates online. Since they don't want me to mention specific prices, here's a fictionalized account: We had a $5.00 gift certificate and saw rooms for $6.00 online; BUT we were forced to book over the phone/in-person and had to pay $12 rate. Add in those taxes and all and we basically paid the hotel twice the value. It's a scam in my opinion that basically negates your gift certificate and scoops in more cash. I imagine the hotel robot will reply to this message and say thanks for helping us get better blah blah burrbity blurg. Maybe they'll even give me some free earplugs so I don't have to hear it! Please think beyond the "cool factor" for this place. Other hotels in the area are competitively priced, offer more value, and know that an elevator is called an elevator. July 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a fun hotel --- but bring your own towel and park your own car! Overall, its a very fun hotel with comfy beds and cool rooms in a great location with lots of taverns, sports venues and a mile-walk to the 3rd Ward. Some tips to make your stay better: 1) Don't pay $23 to have a valet park your car across the street----go across the street behind the hotel and park it yourself for $15/day (with free come-and-go privileges) 2) Bring your own towels (as others have noted, Aloft towels are super thin, super cheap and super small) 3)Try to get a room on the 5th floor (otherwise you will hear everything (and I do mean EVERYTHING) the people above you are doing, March 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude, bad experience I booked a block of rooms for my wedding and was very disappointed with them. First off, after guarantee check in time my room (the brides room) was not ready and I was told it was going to be a while. You can imagine how this would stress me out and mess with my timeline the night before my wedding. After i told them that this will not work for me and they needed to figure it out they finally found me another room. Then the staff was rude to several of my guests. My mother, bridesmaid and longtime family friend. Was not worth the price for the stress it added to me and my out of town guests. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok The hotel met our expectations. The valet staff were very responsive and positive. The front desk staff often seemed more begrudging and maybe not 100% happy about the Aloft terminology / approach to interacting with customers. You need a certain peppiness to pull it off. The parking round-about is way too small and congested. Windows are NOT soundproof and the bathroom door left 1.5 inch open which was NOT desirable. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not very clean, staff just okay I was disappointed in my stay at the Aloft in Milwaukee. My room was not very clean. Carpet is dirty. Gross "stuff" on the wall by TV. Paint starting to peel in places. Was probably an awesome hotel 5 years ago, but needs some daily attention. Also, the maid walked in on my teenage daughter at 8:30am and woke her up. I thought that was too early to be barging into rooms when the checkout is at noon. Despite it's great location, and comfy beds, I would not recommend this hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A downtown hotel with a modern touch Aloft hotels stand out as a modern choice for those looking for something upscale but trendy. The Aloft Milwaukee Downtown continues this philosophy. While this may not be the best choice for a family, it is perfect for those with a modern eye. The only issue was the shower, where water tended to splash out, making the floor a little wet. The shower head was also placed way too high for an optimal shower experience. The parking valet service was convenient and worth the price. The helpful staff even pointed out a tire issue. The pool was also open 24 hours a day. June 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh.... As a Platinum member and one who frequents the SPG brands weekly, I was a bit surprised at this location. The room was comfy enough, but as far as amenities, forget it. Pay to park and hike a block, or pay out the nose for valet. Breakfast was a scant flavorless sandwich and overpriced drinks out of a cooler. I got the impression that the managers were away so no one was working to hard. When I asked about Platinum benefits I was looked at like I had a third eye. The front desk gal acted like she had no idea what I was talking about. Nothing like most SPG I have been to. December 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst customer service I have ever experienced with a hotel (or any business) in my life. This was the the absolute worst customer service one could ever experience. Total documented time on the phone from reservations to trying to get my issues fixed was 2 hours 55 minutes. (I was able to look back on my phone.) Nobody there cares at all about fixing issues. I will make sure to tell everyone I know to not stay at this hotel, unless they have A LOT of time to spend on the phone. As it seems as all they know how to do is to "pass the buck" to someone else. I am happy to share my experience with poor customer service, but I"m sure no one there cares anyways. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The Hotel was great. It's decor was modern and fun. The room was set up very nicely with plugs at both nightstands that helped charging our phones convenient and easy. The a/c was easy to control and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The shower had great flow and was nice and clean. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No surprises . . . Rooms at every Aloft Hotel are pretty much identical so any superlatives must be based on the public areas and the staff. This Milwaukee location comes up aces on both counts. Just enough unique quirks in the lobby to make things interesting and a staff that was universally welcoming and responsive. And the best German restaurant in Milwaukee (Mader's) is just a couple of blocks away. Who could ask for more! I will be back! July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Standards This was my third stay at an Aloft Hotel. I wished there was a second chair in the room by the shower window next to the bed, Having only one chair in these rooms makes it uncomfortable. I used the Re:Fuel for breakfast and was extremely disappointed with the quality of "hot" food. The western omlette was uneatable and the breakfast sandwich was passable. Overall the staff was very friendly. The location was great. The hotel was very clean. Parking was fine. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by if you want to sleep go elsewhere. Poor service As a Starwood Platinum member I stay at many Starwood properties and besides the Miami Four Points this is the second worst hotel in the stable. I arrived at 3/pm on a Saturday. There was a line out the door to check-in and only one person at the desk. No recognition for Platinum status. The rooms are small. The biggest problem is there is poor sound proofing as it is next to highway and neat many bars and night clubs I stayed on the fifth floor and could not sleep from the banging of drums and the sounds of cars. Even worse is I like Harley's, and Milwaukee has many. I just do not need the HOG sound in my room. And car hors. I came for a business meeting and could not sleep well with all the noise. When I called the grin t desk, no one answered, When I down to the desk, no was there. The pool is a joke as it is for toddlers and that is who were in it. I went o too the bar and did not see the bartender. Very bad reflection for the SPG brand and worse for the guest. K will certainty have this low on my list. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! This past weekend I came up to Milwaukee for a wedding and it turned out that I booked my hotel for the weekend prior. While aLoft did not have any additional availability for the night, Victoria V. called all the other local SPG member hotels to see if there was any availability. When that didn't work, Victoria offered to give me a call if anyone ended up not checking into their hotel. Then when no one ended up canceling at aLoft that night, Victoria offered to put in the request to refund my points that I used to book the incorrect weekend. I had a backup plan but I really appreciate all the work that was put in despite me not even staying at the hotel. While I didn't stay this weekend, I have stayed at the aLoft before and it has always been great! Thanks, Graham & Cristina June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a great nights sleep I really don't need much from a hotel room. The ability to check in, sleep, and get out in the morning are my requirements. The hotel is going for a "hip" vibe, but due to the cheap quality of furnishings, it ends up looking tired. The mattress is on a platform foundation, however the mattress used clearly needed a box spring. Also, the sheets weren't long enough for the mattress and kept coming off the bed. Pretty disgusting. The hotel is situated on a noisy street, and you can hear the street noise, if that's not bad enough, the a/c runs every few minutes. The shades do not make the room dark, light comes in from all around. All that is needed is a few curtains around the borders. The check in took half an hour - there was one person at the desk to care for all the people purchasing food/drink items, answer phones, and check people in. So disorganized. I wouldn't stay here again. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yes & No I was excited to stay at my first ALoft property. I was a little disappointed. The hotel was very overpriced for the area. I could have hotwired a room for much less, but I wanted to stay in this hotel. I did like many things about the hotel and staff, including the room...but we were given 1 face cloth, 1 hand towel and 2 bath towels. I thought that was odd for 2 people. The bathroom floor had some goomba on the floor next to the toilet. And the paper holder fell off in my hand (i rigged it back up myself) I could overlook everything until I found out that my friend has stayed at this hotel for far less than what I paid. Plus there was a Crane outside my window. Other Hotels discount rooms when they are in the middle of a construction zone. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude staff The hotel was pretty nice and the location was perfect. The staff on the other hand was not so nice. When we first checked in the reception lady was very nice and acommodating. After grabbing food and a couple drinks at a couple of the restaurants and bars, we walked back to our hotel. As soon as we walked through the sliding doors, the guy at the reception desk looked at us and said if you get a noise complaint we are kicking you out. Seriously? I think there is a better way of phrasing that for one and two we weren't even loud. Then in the morning at 730am a lady was knocking from door to door asking if anyone wanted refreshing. We could hear her all the way down the hall! I think 730 is a little early to be knocking on doors and waking people up! May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff As a frequent guest at this hotel, I anticipated the staff would help when some unexpected travel plans landed me without a room. What I did not anticipate was the speed and friendliness in which they did it. I had confirmation of my reservation before I boarded the plane from Denver-MKE, assuring me I would have a place to stay. They also took a look at the rest of my reservations when I checked in, to make sure I was appropriately reserved through their busy summer months. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by EXTREMELY LOUD Per se, the hotel is fine BUT, around 2 AM, there was a VERY LOUD party down at the end of the hall. I'm thinking it was a wedding group in their 20s ...30s. They were in the hallway hooting and hollering. They were also smoking which seeped into our room. As we are not smokers, this was very unpleasant. We called down to the desk and they said they were doing something about it but, not for a long time. I think the partiers just got tired and went to bed on their own and we didn't hear anyone telling them to tone it down. December 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, modern, fun. The staff was incredibly upbeat and helpful, inlcuding the valet service young men who did a great job. My wife commented several times on how clean the room was and I found myself looking out the window at the river several times, smiling every one of them. The TV picture was vivid, the bed comfortable, and at 6'3 I didn't have to bend down in the shower, which was warm! The lobby had a trendy young feel and we just sat for a while, watched people play pool and looked around. We thoroughly enjoyed being here- great job. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by AC Noise Overall this Hotel is in a great location for all river walk activities. Our only concern was the AC was very noisy when it would kick on. A hotel of this caliber went cheap on these units. Everything else was very good. July 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good to stay there once In all honesty, I was not overly impressed by the hotel. I read some positive reviews but I just didn't see it. I felt it was worth what I paid per night and all the other food/beverages were outrageously priced. Not just that but the "breakfast/lunch" station's food was mostly fozen, heated up food. It wasn't even made by the cook. I mean, my french toast sticks were the frozen kind from the grocery store and 3 bucks for only 4 sticks. The omlet was 7 bucks, SUPER TINY and barely had anything on it. The lady behind the counter offered to add veggies just to make it look appetizing. My boyfriend and I both thought that this was a hotel Gordon Ramsey would come into and totally tear apart. Parking was ridiculous too. The view was nice though, and the bed was alright. November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incorrect Bed Sheets This is my first time staying at an Aloft hotel. We went to go to sleep and realized there was an attempt to fit a Queen size fitted sheet to a King size bed (obviously it didn't fit). We called the hotel staff and they immediately came up and replaced all the sheets. Then, while sleeping, I couldn't help but take in the smell of McDonald's french fries on the pillow. Kind of a goofy experience... July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mrs. The aloft downtown in Milwaukee COMPLETELY went above and beyond what we could have ever expected! We were able to bring our large dog to stay with us. The place was clean and that staff was unbelievable (they know who they are!)! They were so accommodating to us and our dog. Our stay was extended due to some car issues. Because of the aloft and the people there our stay was comfortable and pleasant. I can't wait to go back. I hope that we see the same faces. Great location as well. Thank you aloft! See you soon!! June 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only