Aloft Birmingham Soho Square

  • 1903 29th Avenue South
  • Homewood,
  • Alabama
  • 35209
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 19 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Accommodations!! I've stayed at the Aloft in SOHO (Birmingham) 2 nights this week. The staff is extremely friendly, quick, and efficient! I enjoyed a cocktail at the WXYZ Bar where Lauren took excellent care of me.. For dinner I walked through the hotel to Michaels, where I had an excellent steak dinner. Having the bar and restaurant right there in the hotel lobby made things very convenient, and I did not have to bother getting out and searching for a place to eat! The room was very nice and modern, and one of the cleanest I've seen in a while! I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Birmingham. Homewood is beautiful - there are tons of boutique style shops within waking distance of the hotel. It is also conveniently located to several major areas of the city, and just a hick trip to downtown, and 2 different malls!! Happy guest, JD January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Only Place to Stay Aloft is an attractive, clean and comfortable hotel at an affordable price. Every detail of the hotel and room was visually pleasing. The staff was super helpful too. It's the only place I will stay the next time I'm in Birmingham. February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was different Not your typical hotel setup scene. Very modern. My only issue was that the water never got hot in the sink or in the shower. Staff was extremely friendly and pleasant. Restaurant food was good, but expensive (3 soups, 1 salad, 2 crab cakes, 1 soda - $89) February 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Completely Underwhelmed My wife and I traveled to Birmingham for a short weekend get away and we stayed at the A-Loft one night. I'll go over some of the positives and then hit the negatives so I make sure i'm being fair. Pros: Location, great restaurants within walking distance and very centralized in the B-ham area Lobby: Great atmosphere when you walk in, good bar, and just overall environment Staff: Great staff who did a great job with check in, check out and anything else we needed. Cons: Rooms, when you see the lobby you think you're room is going to be very cool...but it's just not. It's boring and a complete let down. It's not a loft at all, it's just a hotel room with some pretty bad decorations. Thinnest walls ever. We had some sorority girls that got in around 2 a.m. that woke us up. I know this isn't the hotels fault per say, we even made a noise complaint and within 2 or 3 minutes we could hear management knocking on their door (and we could also hear every word that was said). The neighbors quieted down immediately, but we could still hear every word they said, and they weren't yelling. They were talking at a very reasonable volume. That's on the hotel, not them. I've stayed in hotels in Mumbai, India that had better sound protection between rooms. Beds: I'm pretty sure I felt every spring in that bed drilling a hole through my back. March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fun night out Great place to stay for something a little different and fun. Definitely would stay there again. Only negatives are that many of the furnishings and common area floors look worn and/or dirty. Room was not worn or dirty. Check in and night life was fun and friendly. Morning coffee/check-out crowd must have been hungover...not friendly or helpful. Am there were lots of cleaning people milling about but coffee station and breakfast area were unattended, as was front desk. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff in the industry Great hotel - clean rooms, nice area, good food! BUT never have I been to a hotel with the service of this hotel. I left my IPAD in my room and traveled home (Boston). Didnt realize until 2 days afterwards. Called the hotel and to my HUGE surprise, they had my IPAD. WOW, Then the staff worked with me promptly to ship it back to me in 1 day. 1 DAY! wow. Thank you ALOFT Homewood. Best experience with a hotel in a long time. December 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I'd try something else in Birmingham first Darn! this hotel has such a great location. But my stay just wasn't what I would hope for... We had to change rooms twice for various reasons (barking dogs, roof-top air conditioning), MANY broken things in the final room, inadequate housekeeping in the hotel in general. The good news is that the staff was very responsive and polite. It just seems a shame that this hotel is so new, but so run down and poorly maintained. I really wanted to love it! June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Snowstorm and Service above and beyond ! I always stay at Aloft and is my number one choice in Birimngham. However, Elaine ,GM, and her team went above and beyond in caring for the guests during the recent snowstorm. I can't say enough about how they selflessly took care of all guests in spite of being apart from their own families. They are the best! January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great stay with some bumps along the way i really enjoy staying at the Aloft in Birmingham - it's always been a pleasurable experience. i did find, however, that the housekeeping on this trip was less attentive than usual. towels were removed from room and not replaced, coffee not replenished, etc. these things were quickly remedied when i called the front desk but the attention to detail here seems to lagging. that having been said, i'd happily stay here again and recommend it. November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to stay in Birmingham area! I highly recommend the A Lof hotel in Homewood AL. The hotel is modern, clean and beautiful and the staff was friendly and welcoming. The front desk receptionist remembered our names and greeted us as we walked in the door and only stayed 1 night! Late check out was not a problem as well whcih was nice because I had a late flight out. The Homewood area it is located in is great as well! Walking distance to shops and resturants ! October 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not For Me This was my first time staying at Aloft and will be my last. The industrial look is not my style at all, so I never felt at ease in the hotel. The room was uncomfortably small with nowhere to sit other than the bed. And...the hardest bed I've ever slept on in my life. Felt like sleeping on a rock. January 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money From the pictures online it looked nice...But I had to change rooms multiple times for various reasons and they were all disgusting. Definitely recommend bringing your own sheets, towels, house shoes (because the carpets in all the rooms I was in were gross) and plenty of sleeping aids (the beds are like rocks, didn't sleep at all during my stay). However, the staff was great and tried to do what they could to make it better. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always love staying at Aloft! I'm never disappointed when I stay at Aloft. This time I was in Birmingham for one night and was thrilled that BSC recommended Aloft as the best place to stay with easy access to their campus and the airport. Took a great walk in the residential neighborhood nearby the evening I arrived. Plenty of places to eat just a half block away. I wish the room came with an ironing board however - my only disappointment! October 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but a few problems Room was nice but top sheet was on top of comforter which made me wonder if comforter is washed after each guest?? Our hot water was off each day and I had to call and tell them and in about 10 minutes, we would have hot water. Our coffee pot filled the cup about 1/3 full and then the rest ran out from somewhere onto the tray. I Love the location of the hotel and its convenience to so many things. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by as expected the aloft brand is in my opinion always clean and orderly. the front desk person upgraded me to a larger room with a balcony which was nice. he did everything he could to meet my needs. i generally will stay at an aloft where available, when traveling and only staying 1 night. mostly because the beds are not comfortable. parking here is somewhat limited. other than that, this hotel stands up to any aloft out there. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eating and shopping within easy walking distance Plenty of great places to eat and neat shops within easy walking distance. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by aloft Homewood, Al The hotel is fabulous and so neat; our 5 year old thought it was the coolest place. It was so nice and love that Michaels was connected... best food!! Only complaint I have is that our water in the shower (no tub FYI in case you have little ones) took forever to get warm, never hot. My husband had the same problem. The water never got hot enough for a comfy shower and occasionally would go freezing for a second. January 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unique Accommodations The hotel staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well planned for the space, but a little too small for my comfort. The main problem I had and the reason I will probably not stay again is the bed. It really rated up there with one of the most uncomfortable beds I had ever tried to sleep on. It was VERY hard and the pillows were most uncomfortable too. November 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for events in Birmingham Stayed here for the weekend of the Compass Bowl game and it turned out to be the perfect spot for easily getting around to the various events. Enjoyed exploring the SOHO Square area as well...had a great lunch at Urban Cookhouse and enjoyed shopping at the upscale consignment shop. Staff couldn't have been nicer. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super place to enjoy a little rest and relaxation (R&R) I would like to your early Saturday (October 27) desk clerk for being helpful, tactful, and speedy - all at the same time.This young man help me by giving me very good directions to a local site I wished to visit to include printing direction for me to refer to as I navigated the city of Birmingham, Alabama. He also recommended a great local resturant to have breakfast that was just super. October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendliest staff, convenient and comfortable I travel frequently on business, and the Aloft Soho Square is one of the best in Birmingham. The location is very convenient to many great restaurants and nearby shopping. The hotel staff is very courteous and go out of their way for the customers. The rooms are quite comfortable.. I have stayed here dozens of time over the last year, and it beats other area Birmingham hotels hands down. March 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by bare essentials for business traveler The hotel room did not meet my expectation in the following manner: NO CLOSET, No light switches by bed, large space under door to allow floow traffice noice, VERY NOSIY IN EVERY SENSE POSSIBLE. All hard surfaces, thus nothing to cushion sounds, no storage space (drawers). This is definitely a hotel space meant for the short stay of a weary traveler who does want comfort or quiet. December 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel, great staff. Nice ambiente. Very modern. Close to many restaurants and entertainment. I have only tow suggestions to for improvement: 1. There should be a shuttle to and from the airport - or you pay about $20.- each way. 2. And Breakfast, in my opinion at these room rates should be included. At least a coffee. It is $4.00 for a cappuccino. No Starbucks close by. December 9, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by 3 guests for wedding weekend We rented 4 rooms for 7 people for a total of 8 nights for a wedding weekend. When one our party arrived late (confirmed late arrival) their room had been given away. This couple had specific reasons for renting the room given away, which included a balony. They went to another hotel. We had planned for months for the family to be in the same hotel since we all live very far apart. My room had light bulb out over the bed. (The one light switch on only one side of bed to turn on lights over bed was irritating.) The bathroom toilet/shower area had no door or usable door. The toilet seat was loose so that you felt like it might come off when used! There was no comfortable chair or sofa, only a bench/desk chair to sit on. The lobby was so LOUD in the evening, conversation was impossible.Hang up clothes space in a room with a king bed was not big enough. The snack bar was outrageous in price for what was offered. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great first Aloft experience I don't have anything negative to say about my experience. From the check in staff, to the breakfast bar, to the evening bar, to the work out room, this hotel was a delight. I especially liked that things like ear buds in the work out room, and cables for media devices were available at the front desk. This hotel is located in a great walkable neighborhood too. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Went to this hotel for the weekend, I was there for a wedding. All of the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating from the front desk, housekeeping, and the bar staff. Housekeepers were very polite and always acknowledged us and asked how everything was, the bartender was great and Conley at the front desk was awesome as well. Thanks Aloft, hope to see you again! December 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by BRING EARPLUGS I could not wait to leave the hotel. From the moment I arrived, there was extremely loud music blaring in all the public areas of the hotel. It NEVER stopped. It was impossible to sleep at night, as young partygoing guests roamed the halls until 3 a.m. The front desk attendant that registered me on arrival and the attendant that handled the checkout were very kind. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay! The staff is friendly and always willing to help. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. When we are in Birmingham, we always try to stay here. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Great experience staying here. The staff was very courteous and very helpful. The room was neat and different. Parking was most convenient and included. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Great for Homewood A well organized, very modern hotel. The wine is a bit over priced for the selection. The rooms are very modern and the beds are comfortable. However, just go downstairs and get coffee LOL the coffee in the room is just like anywhere else, decent brew but no condiments available to make it tasty I'd stay here again, and probably will. April 3, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only