Aloft Birmingham Soho Square

  • 1903 29th Avenue South
  • Homewood,
  • Alabama
  • 35209
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 191 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great first Aloft experience I don't have anything negative to say about my experience. From the check in staff, to the breakfast bar, to the evening bar, to the work out room, this hotel was a delight. I especially liked that things like ear buds in the work out room, and cables for media devices were available at the front desk. This hotel is located in a great walkable neighborhood too. September 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Room and Modern Features If you are looking for a comfortable room with a modern look, Aloft is the place to stay. The only drawback was that I could here the music downstairs at times, but over all it was a great location and a wonderful stay! September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, I'm a new fan of Aloft! There is absolutely nothing that was not great about this hotel. Staff, common spaces, the room was spacious, bed comfortable, very clean, all amenities you might need, workout room was great. September 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by everything was good except bed. My bed had hair in it..and a stain underneath the comforter..pretty gross that housekeeping didnt change or clean bedding. There is no way they could not have seen stain..and they obviously decided to ignore it amd make bed anyways...gross! September 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No rest for us! We booked a room for my wifes birthday at Aloft thinking that it would be a nice touch for our trip to Birmingham to see our son. We both found the decor much too cold and uninviting but maybe geared more for the young modern business class. The staff is absolutely fantastic! Every staff member went out of their way to speak and thank us for our visit and stay at Aloft. After waking at 4 AM for the 9 hour trip to this hotel we were awakened our first morning at 5:30 AM by loud trucks just outside our window. This after having to unplug the in room refrigerator which was so loud we could'nt hear the television. It is now 6:30AM and I am writing this review before we leave to find another hotel. If you are over 45 years old, this is absolutely NOT the hotel stay you may be looking for. Off now to find another hotel to finish our stay. September 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall Stay My stay was average and not quite what I expected. I could hear everything going on in the hallway, the sheet didn't fit and kept popping off during the night. Maybe ok for 1 night but not made for multiple nights. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Modern Feel Spent 2 nights in this open spacious hotel with a great exercise room. Plus was the staff helpfulness and the shower. Do not stay in a room near the elevators as the guest chatter noise seems to travel under the room door easily. Good location with short stroll to many restaurants. August 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room not available I checked into hotel at 3:00. The room wasn't ready. I indicated that I had a 4:00 meeting and needed to get into a room to change and get ready. I didn't get into my room until 3:40. Turns out the delay was associated with a gift basket being transferred into my room. Was not happy at all. Was very late to meeting due to a transfer of my gift basket . I understand when a room isn't ready, but this reason was unacceptable. Have stayed at this hotel in the past and never had a similar issue August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis After driving hundreds of miles, I settled in at the Aloft Birmingham. It is easy to access from the Interstate and has onsite parking. Friendly staff, great design. Bar and restaurant inside the building. Will stay here anytime I am near Birmingham. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok, but not great I stayed in an Aloft in Richmond, Va back when it was new and it was clean and comfortable. This trip was to Birmingham, Al and I thought I would have the same experience, but the hotel there was not very clean. My room had stains all over the carpet, the bathroom was clean-ish, but not clean. I had dirt on the sink and the tile had some soap scum in the shower and there were water spots (pee???) near the toilet. I had to wipe off the television as the cleaning staff had smeared it. I did use the work out facility and it was absent of towels and the lobby tables were filthy. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location My husband and I always stay here when in Birmingham. The location is convenient to everything! Short drive to downtown or walk to fabulous sushi. The amenities are perfect as well. Recommend!! July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has everything you need and close. Great upbeat hotel with good bar and food at Micheals next door excellent with all other food locations with in walking distance. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has outstanding people Everyone we encountered in the Aloft was over the top in deleivering serivce. It is a very weldoming and friendly environment. July 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel Great hotel. The only one we use when staying in Birminggam. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice for the price. We had a really good experience here in Birmingham. We would definately stay there again. July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I'd try something else in Birmingham first Darn! this hotel has such a great location. But my stay just wasn't what I would hope for... We had to change rooms twice for various reasons (barking dogs, roof-top air conditioning), MANY broken things in the final room, inadequate housekeeping in the hotel in general. The good news is that the staff was very responsive and polite. It just seems a shame that this hotel is so new, but so run down and poorly maintained. I really wanted to love it! June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel We really enjoyed our one night stay in Birmingham, Alabama. Will definitely look for Aloft hotels in other cities when traveling June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Form should follow Function In an attempt to be trendy, this hotel proves that some of the older designs work better. The lighting in the room is problematic if one person wants to use the bathroom during the night as the whole room will become illuminated. The sink is pretty to look at but difficult to use. There are no hand towels by the sink. The towel hook in the shower room is over the light switch so the light switch is covered when a towel is placed there. I could name more similar issues but will mention just one more thing: the trendy little tables downstairs are shaped in a way that makes them unstable. The slightest touch to one side almost sent my coffee all over my lap. The bases do not adequately support the table. It makes me wonder who designed this hotel? There is an attempt to be energy efficient but it comes off as laughable when there are reserved spots near the door for hybrid cars and yet the breakfast is all paper and plastic stuff. It is as if the hotel is trying to make a statement but it is just for show and no real substance. June 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Absolutely no amenities. 1. Very limited closet space and no drawers whatsoever in any of the rooms. I don't know how 2 adults could share the meager storage space in these rooms. You must learn how to live out of your suitcase. 2. Lighting is not very good. A. Vanity lighting over sink is directly overhead.Whatever happened to lights in front of you, to both sides, for even lighting? B. Ambient soft lighting switch is on the far side of the room so you must walk all the way around the bed every time you want to flip the switch. C. Lighting in the toilet/shower area is dim. While standing at the toilet, you create your own shadow interfering with visibility. 3. No room service. 4. Plastic cups and pencils in room instead of real glassware and pens. 5. A. Bad remote control for TV. I had to request a new one. B. TV is very slow to respond to channel changes. C. Adult entertainment channels are geared ONLY for the straight audience. You are totally out of luck if you are a gay man. 6. Shower was difficult to adjust. Either you like your shower very hot or very cold. Somewhere in the middle range it seemed that only the hot water was on. With a small adjustment, the cold came RUSHING OUT. 7. Noisy. I had the first room on the second floor. Noise from the conference room parties and the lounge below were so noticeable that I had to close the hallway door for a bit of silence. 8. No one at front desk to greet me when I arrived. Granted, it was late in the evening, but how can the front desk be left unattended?. 9. Housekeeping. I asked for some extra towels to get through the week since I opted for the green service. Before I even got to use them, they were removed the next day. This is a bare bones hotel pretending to be a slick New York style loft hotel. I am from NY and believe me it is none of that. Whoever designed the hotel and it's facilities, clearly has NEVER STAYED HERE! I stay here because my company arranges the booking. It is not my choice. I am working on getting them to change my accommodations. This hotel may be fine for single day stays, but I was there for a full week. I have stayed here before and it has always disappointed. If you are a seasoned traveler and are use to good hotel amenities, this is NOT the place for you. I do not recommend this hotel while staying in Birmingham. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Experience Just moved back to the US and stayed at aloft on the recommendation of a colleague. Experience was excellent and the valve for the money spent was off the charts. June 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Small but irritating issues, noise, mainten. and dirty floor 1). The bathroom floor was nasty. Didn't look like it had been cleaned in a while. 2). I had to call two nights in a row, on Sunday and Monday night after 10:30 and ask that the front desk do something about the noise coming from the bar. Ridiculous. 3). Didn't receive any green bucks. Stayed 2 nights and had the sign on my door. 4). Blow dryer was broken. Called front desk and they had one sent up to 231 immediately. 5). Last time I stayed in March, the chain in the toilet was off and it wouldn't flush. and the remote didn't work. Just needed a new battery but why aren't these issues checked regularly. The front desk people were super nice and the bartender was super helpful on directions even though I didn't buy anything from her. This hotel is super convenient for me. My daughter is going to be starting Samford in August. I will make frequent trips and would like to stay at Aloft. I am hesistant now because it's the little things that mean alot. June 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great features & great location I liked this hotel because of the available features and the proximity to restaurants and the expressway. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by CHIC hotel with great features and a perfect location We love this trendy hotel and often travel to Bham just to stay there. Aloft has wonderful rooms, a great bar, breakfast/snack features, and free parking. There are even small refrigerators in each room. The ONLY addition I would make to this fantastic hotel would be to provide small MICROWAVES in each room. A microwave is a MUST for me and the only perk missing from this cool hotel. May 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room smelled When we first got into the room it smelled of vomit near the bathroom. We asked for some type of air freshener from the front desk and they sent house keeping right away. That took care of the smell. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I. Sanchez Convenience, Personnel touch May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay in Birmingham The staff is very friendly and recognizes you by name. The hotel has an edgy hip feel and decent workout facilities. May 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by overpriced Nice staff but uncomfortable bed. Small room. Luckly great resturant next door. April 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trendy hotel, lacking in comfort My teenaged daughter and I spent one night in this hotel. The Pros: excellent location, trendy decor, excellent customer service and staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The cons: room was noisy and bright. Light filters through glass from shower stall and the mirrored sliding door was very noisy, both issues disturbing the sleep of those still in bed. We could hear everything outside (we had a corner room). Also, we looked forward to swimming in the described "heated" pool. We were disappointed to learn the water was not heated, only the swimming pool room was heated, so we did not choose to swim. Though we did not use the gym, it was well appointed with various machines and free weights. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had the features I like The room was just the right size , the location was great, the staff helpful and the design of the room was different than most hotel rooms and very attractive. April 29, 2013
  • 2015-10-06T07:53:58.121-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_191, tr_191
  • loc_en_US, sid_3272, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only