Aloft Birmingham Soho Square

  • 1903 29th Avenue South
  • Homewood,
  • Alabama
  • 35209
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 19 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 179 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by air The room thermostat did not seem to work, so you could either turn the AC on or off but setting the temperature did not matter and you could not put the unit fan on low. We turned it off at night due to the noise, so the room air it got humid during the night, June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Steel City Concert Attendee Great hotel for the price. In room refrigerator did not work, however. We did loose the items that we stored in the refrigerator. Otherwise, an alright place to lay your head. June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean Very clean, simple non cluttered room. Free lotioms and wwter were a nice touch. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gina Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for families Due to the layout of the guest rooms, I would not recommend this for families. Specifically, the bathroom has a sliding door that doesn't completely close and a frosted window between the guest room and the shower. The first time I stayed in this hotel the toilet was clogged, and not in a way that housekeeping should have missed. This stay, there was a condom wrapper and other trash on the floor in the room. (I also find it odd that they sell "personal lubricant" in the lobby) The pool table in the lobby and the good restaurants in walking distance are positive aspects of this hotel. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well thought-out, novel European-like features each of the three staff front-desk shifts were outstanding. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed my stay I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times and still have not figured out were the iron or the light switch for over the bed is located. Love the loft concept. The refresh bar pricing is a little confusing because no every thing as a price. The man at the front desk the morning of my check out was very helpful. Sorry I did not get his name. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel discovery ever! This place is a gem! Near great restaurants and cool shops and with a hip vibe, I have to say this was my favorite hotel stay of all time. Added bonus — I was able to connect my laptop to the room's flat screen with ease and watch a Cards game thanks to the multi media hub in each room. May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is very friendly It is located in a very hip trendy neighborhood. Lots of shopping and eateries. Aloft enjoys being "Green"but that includes no room cleaning or towel exchanged. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very hospitable We have stayed in this hotel twice. It is a great location in Homewood/Birmingham Alabama. The staff is very helpful and even when we arrived after 11pm, there were plenty of people around to help us and we had some snacks at the bar. We will return. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super kindness We were shocked at how the hotel staff gave our pet Yorkie so much attention and made us feel very welcome. Kindness is special in Alabama and we were shown an abundance of it always greeted by name as we entered hotel lobby and met with smiles We had a room for our daughter and granddaughters also. We walked the lovely town of Homewood to restaurants and shopping . A truly wonderful experimence. Super clean and professional. This is our fav hotel where we will stay each time we are in Birmingham area. April 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy environment - needs radical re-engineering! This hotel has nice upscale features but far too much ambient noise to be sleep friendly. Our room was on the top floor and was inundated by the constant white noise drone of machinery like an electrical power generator. In addition the outdoor seating for the downstairs bar echoed the conversations through our 5th floor window until the bar closed at 1:00 AM. The white noise in the bar area on the first floor was deafening during happy hour and made it almost impossible for me to hear the check in clerk at the central desk. The stark concrete design might be trendy and edgy but lacks when it comes to noise abatement and control. I was on a business trip and needed to be on call at 8:30 AM each day to make setups and sell merchandise; the lack of sleep was not helpful in the least. Your interior design staff needs to rethink the interior of the main lobby entirely to get rid of the echo chamber white noise effect and the machinery space noise on the top floor. I doubt we will darken the doors of any Aloft hotel in any corner of this planet if this is the design standard used for each hotel in this franchise. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by B-ham close to Summit in Soho! Great hotel, modern and clean!!! Loved the location and the accessibility. Very cool, but not too cool for us regular folk! April 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location This hotel is in a great location but is very poorly run. April 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by kBirmingham Your beds have become some of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and Excellent Staff My arrival, check in and stay were wonderful. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Cant wait to return! April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but housekeeping needs to turn on a vacumn I really like the hotel and the staff were very nice. I love the clean line modern look. My experience would of been so much nicer if when you walk onto the elevator the floor was clean. The floor was so dirty with lint and dirt and stains on carpet! Then we got off onto the 3rd floor same thing filthy floor lint and dirt all the way down the hallway. Our room was nice and looked clean but then the bathroom floor was dirty which grossed me out. I prefer to get out of the shower and NOT step in dirt and lint. I took tissue and picked up lint and took a hand towel and mopped up the floor myself. I purposely left stuff on the floor in our room buy the beds the next day to see if someone would vacumn, but no they made the beds but did not vacumn the floor. The entire weekend the same dirt and lint was on the hallway floor and elevator. Can't someone see the floor needed vacumning. We were in room # 321 March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel experence! This hotel makes is business travel fun and convenient! Great location. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb staff The service was exceptional. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Relaxing Stay! This was my second stay at the aloft in Birmingham. The entire staff (front desk, bartenders, housekeeping) were all extremely friendly and welcoming. My trip was business-related, so after a long day, it was wonderful to discover the addition of Michael's Restaurant to the hotel. I had originally planned to revisit a couple other restaurants from previous Birmingham trips, but once I experienced Michael's, I returned the following two nights! The free self parking was very convenient--I never had an issue trying to find a parking spot when returning each night. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable hotel! I was really impressed with the staff. Very nice and helpful. The beds and pillows were super comfortable. March 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grateful for a clean and convenient place to stay We really enjoyed our stay here! The staff was super accommodating and friendly. I was grateful for the clean rooms and the convenience of being able to walk to restaurants and shopping. We appreciated the way Gareck at the front desk listened to our needs and found us a room that was perfect. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Birmingham! March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally Hassle Free The people at Aloft in Homewood are so easy to work with. March 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Completely Underwhelmed My wife and I traveled to Birmingham for a short weekend get away and we stayed at the A-Loft one night. I'll go over some of the positives and then hit the negatives so I make sure i'm being fair. Pros: Location, great restaurants within walking distance and very centralized in the B-ham area Lobby: Great atmosphere when you walk in, good bar, and just overall environment Staff: Great staff who did a great job with check in, check out and anything else we needed. Cons: Rooms, when you see the lobby you think you're room is going to be very cool...but it's just not. It's boring and a complete let down. It's not a loft at all, it's just a hotel room with some pretty bad decorations. Thinnest walls ever. We had some sorority girls that got in around 2 a.m. that woke us up. I know this isn't the hotels fault per say, we even made a noise complaint and within 2 or 3 minutes we could hear management knocking on their door (and we could also hear every word that was said). The neighbors quieted down immediately, but we could still hear every word they said, and they weren't yelling. They were talking at a very reasonable volume. That's on the hotel, not them. I've stayed in hotels in Mumbai, India that had better sound protection between rooms. Beds: I'm pretty sure I felt every spring in that bed drilling a hole through my back. March 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by All style, no substance. We've stayed at other Aloft properties and had high expectations for the Birmingham location. The lobby, bar, and rooms are as beautiful as expected. Service at the bar was excellent. Unfortunately the walls were paper-thin, the shower's water lukewarm at best, the beds hard, and the room unprepared for our arrival (e.g. three towels, four guests). Great location, but I can't recommend it for any other reason. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and location Great hotel. Walking distance to shops, restaurants in home wood. Very clean and up to date. March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Only Place to Stay Aloft is an attractive, clean and comfortable hotel at an affordable price. Every detail of the hotel and room was visually pleasing. The staff was super helpful too. It's the only place I will stay the next time I'm in Birmingham. February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was different Not your typical hotel setup scene. Very modern. My only issue was that the water never got hot in the sink or in the shower. Staff was extremely friendly and pleasant. Restaurant food was good, but expensive (3 soups, 1 salad, 2 crab cakes, 1 soda - $89) February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eating and shopping within easy walking distance Plenty of great places to eat and neat shops within easy walking distance. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A delightful surprise We needed a one night get away and wanted to be somewhere we could walk to restaurants, shopping and a great coffee shop for Sunday morning. We found all that in this area of Homewood. Aloft is the perfect hotel in location, price, service and accommodations. The manager was extremely courteous and helpful with a reservation issue. We will definitely come back and will spread the word! February 17, 2014
  • 2015-03-31T17:14:16.516-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_179, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_3272, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only