Aloft Birmingham Soho Square

  • 1903 29th Avenue South
  • Homewood,
  • Alabama
  • 35209
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 19 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 175 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money From the pictures online it looked nice...But I had to change rooms multiple times for various reasons and they were all disgusting. Definitely recommend bringing your own sheets, towels, house shoes (because the carpets in all the rooms I was in were gross) and plenty of sleeping aids (the beds are like rocks, didn't sleep at all during my stay). However, the staff was great and tried to do what they could to make it better. December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff in the industry Great hotel - clean rooms, nice area, good food! BUT never have I been to a hotel with the service of this hotel. I left my IPAD in my room and traveled home (Boston). Didnt realize until 2 days afterwards. Called the hotel and to my HUGE surprise, they had my IPAD. WOW, Then the staff worked with me promptly to ship it back to me in 1 day. 1 DAY! wow. Thank you ALOFT Homewood. Best experience with a hotel in a long time. December 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Failure to Meet Expectations While the staff is superior in many ways and wonderful, the hotel failed to live up to expectations. I booked this hotel ONLY because I was promised an unobscured view of the Vulcan on the Fourth of July. This was a very important event for my young son who was facing surgery the following week. The view was obscured. We missed a part of the show. I did try to resolve this in advance, but I never received a return call from nor got to speak to manager prior to the Fourth or at check out. The balcony door was latch was broken at check in. The breakfast plan that was PURCHASED prior to check in was disappointing. The toilets are ineffective and difficult to flush. Children were allowed to run wild in the hallways and pool area, unaccompanied by adults. The hotel maybe the latest trend, but it is not a place I would take my family to again. It is a real shame. It had potential and could have been a very special time. The only real redeeming factor was the polite and wonderful staff. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by All style, no substance. We've stayed at other Aloft properties and had high expectations for the Birmingham location. The lobby, bar, and rooms are as beautiful as expected. Service at the bar was excellent. Unfortunately the walls were paper-thin, the shower's water lukewarm at best, the beds hard, and the room unprepared for our arrival (e.g. three towels, four guests). Great location, but I can't recommend it for any other reason. March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by as expected the aloft brand is in my opinion always clean and orderly. the front desk person upgraded me to a larger room with a balcony which was nice. he did everything he could to meet my needs. i generally will stay at an aloft where available, when traveling and only staying 1 night. mostly because the beds are not comfortable. parking here is somewhat limited. other than that, this hotel stands up to any aloft out there. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by aloft Homewood, Al The hotel is fabulous and so neat; our 5 year old thought it was the coolest place. It was so nice and love that Michaels was connected... best food!! Only complaint I have is that our water in the shower (no tub FYI in case you have little ones) took forever to get warm, never hot. My husband had the same problem. The water never got hot enough for a comfy shower and occasionally would go freezing for a second. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always love staying at Aloft! I'm never disappointed when I stay at Aloft. This time I was in Birmingham for one night and was thrilled that BSC recommended Aloft as the best place to stay with easy access to their campus and the airport. Took a great walk in the residential neighborhood nearby the evening I arrived. Plenty of places to eat just a half block away. I wish the room came with an ironing board however - my only disappointment! October 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Area, Nice Hotel Nice Area, Nice Hotel for the price. Service and location are good--close to the airport and not far from downtown July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but a few problems Room was nice but top sheet was on top of comforter which made me wonder if comforter is washed after each guest?? Our hot water was off each day and I had to call and tell them and in about 10 minutes, we would have hot water. Our coffee pot filled the cup about 1/3 full and then the rest ran out from somewhere onto the tray. I Love the location of the hotel and its convenience to so many things. November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff is great but room had some issues The staff is great but the room had some issues. The safe did not work. The water didn't seem to get very hot at all. The parking garage was blocked off like they were doing work but nothing was going on. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but housekeeping needs to turn on a vacumn I really like the hotel and the staff were very nice. I love the clean line modern look. My experience would of been so much nicer if when you walk onto the elevator the floor was clean. The floor was so dirty with lint and dirt and stains on carpet! Then we got off onto the 3rd floor same thing filthy floor lint and dirt all the way down the hallway. Our room was nice and looked clean but then the bathroom floor was dirty which grossed me out. I prefer to get out of the shower and NOT step in dirt and lint. I took tissue and picked up lint and took a hand towel and mopped up the floor myself. I purposely left stuff on the floor in our room buy the beds the next day to see if someone would vacumn, but no they made the beds but did not vacumn the floor. The entire weekend the same dirt and lint was on the hallway floor and elevator. Can't someone see the floor needed vacumning. We were in room # 321 March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed my stay I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I have stayed here a couple of times and still have not figured out were the iron or the light switch for over the bed is located. Love the loft concept. The refresh bar pricing is a little confusing because no every thing as a price. The man at the front desk the morning of my check out was very helpful. Sorry I did not get his name. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME The accomidations were great! Very clean, quiet place to stay. I would definitely recommend it to others. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fulfills my expectations I have an enjoyable and consistent experience. August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Noisy Stayed here for two nights for a wedding in town. Our room was not very well insulated from outside noises. We could hear everyone up and down the halls talking, and in the morning the cleaning staff was very loud on the floor while we were trying to sleep. Also, the room had white stains on the bottom of the black roll up curtains, and we noticed it in another room that we visited too. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A delightful surprise We needed a one night get away and wanted to be somewhere we could walk to restaurants, shopping and a great coffee shop for Sunday morning. We found all that in this area of Homewood. Aloft is the perfect hotel in location, price, service and accommodations. The manager was extremely courteous and helpful with a reservation issue. We will definitely come back and will spread the word! February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super place to enjoy a little rest and relaxation (R&R) I would like to your early Saturday (October 27) desk clerk for being helpful, tactful, and speedy - all at the same time.This young man help me by giving me very good directions to a local site I wished to visit to include printing direction for me to refer to as I navigated the city of Birmingham, Alabama. He also recommended a great local resturant to have breakfast that was just super. October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendliest staff, convenient and comfortable I travel frequently on business, and the Aloft Soho Square is one of the best in Birmingham. The location is very convenient to many great restaurants and nearby shopping. The hotel staff is very courteous and go out of their way for the customers. The rooms are quite comfortable.. I have stayed here dozens of time over the last year, and it beats other area Birmingham hotels hands down. March 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by bare essentials for business traveler The hotel room did not meet my expectation in the following manner: NO CLOSET, No light switches by bed, large space under door to allow floow traffice noice, VERY NOSIY IN EVERY SENSE POSSIBLE. All hard surfaces, thus nothing to cushion sounds, no storage space (drawers). This is definitely a hotel space meant for the short stay of a weary traveler who does want comfort or quiet. December 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel, great staff. Nice ambiente. Very modern. Close to many restaurants and entertainment. I have only tow suggestions to for improvement: 1. There should be a shuttle to and from the airport - or you pay about $20.- each way. 2. And Breakfast, in my opinion at these room rates should be included. At least a coffee. It is $4.00 for a cappuccino. No Starbucks close by. December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Excellent in every way. Great sleep, cheerful and responsive staff, good food and drink. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our Stay At Aloft It is clean and serene. We enjoyed our stay. Also, it was conveniently located near Rosewood Hall our destination. I really like the decor and it seems so neat the way they have the organized shelves for your robe, clothes, shoes, etc. It was just perfect. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unique Accommodations The hotel staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well planned for the space, but a little too small for my comfort. The main problem I had and the reason I will probably not stay again is the bed. It really rated up there with one of the most uncomfortable beds I had ever tried to sleep on. It was VERY hard and the pillows were most uncomfortable too. November 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has great location The Aloft is in close proximity to my work and adds the additional benefit of some good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Went to this hotel for the weekend, I was there for a wedding. All of the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating from the front desk, housekeeping, and the bar staff. Housekeepers were very polite and always acknowledged us and asked how everything was, the bartender was great and Conley at the front desk was awesome as well. Thanks Aloft, hope to see you again! December 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by BRING EARPLUGS I could not wait to leave the hotel. From the moment I arrived, there was extremely loud music blaring in all the public areas of the hotel. It NEVER stopped. It was impossible to sleep at night, as young partygoing guests roamed the halls until 3 a.m. The front desk attendant that registered me on arrival and the attendant that handled the checkout were very kind. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great first Aloft experience I don't have anything negative to say about my experience. From the check in staff, to the breakfast bar, to the evening bar, to the work out room, this hotel was a delight. I especially liked that things like ear buds in the work out room, and cables for media devices were available at the front desk. This hotel is located in a great walkable neighborhood too. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grateful for a clean and convenient place to stay We really enjoyed our stay here! The staff was super accommodating and friendly. I was grateful for the clean rooms and the convenience of being able to walk to restaurants and shopping. We appreciated the way Gareck at the front desk listened to our needs and found us a room that was perfect. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Birmingham! March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and a very cool area The staff made us feel very welcome, all of them. In particular, Megan at the front desk was very helpful. Gave us a printout of local, walkable restaurants and a map of how to find them. The bartenders were very attentive but not overly pushy, and we didn't have but one drink but they did check on us while we enjoyed our coctails in the outdoor lounge so we were able to smoke and chill out there. The weather was perfect for it, and it has very comfortable and hip furniture and a fireplace. The room was smaller than I would have thought but not too small by any means. Loved the layout of the room and the functionality of the bathroom. Excellent, spa-quality shower. I asked for a room on the top floor and got it, and had a brilliant view of the local area and a fantastic view of the Vulcan statue. This was my first stay at an Aloft, and I spent HOURS and HOURS of time researching which hotel to stay in for this area. I tried all the various travel websites and this was the hotel I chose. I felt like I hit a homerun with chosing Aloft. Excellent staff, great rooms/ambiance/cleanliness, fantastic location. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by air The room thermostat did not seem to work, so you could either turn the AC on or off but setting the temperature did not matter and you could not put the unit fan on low. We turned it off at night due to the noise, so the room air it got humid during the night, June 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only