Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed Staff was extremely nice and very accommodating. Attractive young staff, that was refreshing. We stayed in Harlem, very exciting and accessible, Parking arrangment was part of package. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by How it should be done. I wish every hotel was this helpful, this clean, and this well-managed. It started with check-in. I had actually reserved the wrong nights. Maybe a little on my mind as we move to New York... The young man checking us in calmly assured us he had rooms and even helped us restore the rate I had originally booked. He was excellent. The rest of our time there mirrored that. Great service, kind people, and great room. Best NYC hotel (of many) I've ever had. June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stylish Hotel missing on a just a few key features The style and design of ALoft- Harlem is great, created for the hipper hotel guest. The hotel staff was very helpful and answered all my questions with knowledge and ease. My challenges with my stay revolve around two areas: 1) the weak internet signals (it took over an hour for me to initially log my computer into the system) 2) room design/temperature control/ and a warmer comforter. With the heat/air conditioner flowing directly onto me in the bedroom I was in a constant battle between being too cool/too hot. The thinner comforter than did not help in my quest to keep the room air flowing and staying warm while sleeping (Maybe having another blanket in the room to add for warmth would have fit the need) With all this being said, I would still recommend aloft to friends. Aloft Harlem was in a great location to walk to most attractions within the neighborhood. May 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hidden treasure We were in town to visit our grandson who is a student at Columbia University, so we looked online for a hotel in the area and we found Aloft Harlem. It had good reviews on Tripadvisor and location was right so we booked and are glad that we did. The hotel entrance with the outdoor area located 2 flights down from the street was inviting and unique. The staff at the desk were very pleasant, helpful, and a good first impression. We arrived early and our rooms were ready which was a surprise and very helpful. The room was very well set up and very clean. The use of space was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The shower and bathroom area was sleek and modern as well as the closet/storage area. The included breakfast and coffee a good touch. When we return for another visit, we will book Aloft again. We also inquired about area restaurants and went to Chocolat which is a short, pleasant walk away. Our daughter bought tea at a charming tea shop several doors down as well. All in all, a very great experience----well done, Aloft & Aloft staff! October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coming Back! My Husband and I enjoyed our time at Aloft Harlem.The room was cozy clean and we good a really good nights rest. The bar wxzy was cool too! I can't say enough about the lovely staff at the desk not only were the lovely & beautiful but always very helpful. There was a lot of lovely funky resturants in the area to go to as well. Over all the experience was amazing and we are alreay planning our trip back! May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel! This is the second time I've stayed at Aloft Harlem and we will always stay here when we come to NYC. You can't get a better deal than this. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is sparkling clean, the rooms are comfortable with plenty of space, great bar, nicely decorated. It is near some fantastic restaurants and the subway. Also within walking distance of Barnard College and Columbia University. April 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could not sleep, no privacy The staff was very friendly and the location was good for what we needed, but there were several problems with the room. The windows need to be soundproofed because the street traffic, pedestrians under our window, the police station down the street, and the outdoor church across the street were all extremely loud. The room could not be completely darkened because the blinds would not lower to completely block window light. The sheets on the bed were very thin and kept separating, exposing my face directly to the duvet that had not been washed since others slept in the bed. The bathroom sliding door would not close completely so there was absolutely no privacy with others in the room. King room crowded for 2 people with suitcases. The lobby was noisy as well as visually busy with many colors and flashing images. Mostly cement/concrete surfaces and modern. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff at the Hotel is Exceptional I am an attorney who travelled in from out of town to attend an important court appearance the morning after my arrival. After a 2 hour delay, I was informed by the airline that my luggage was sent elsewhere and I would not be able to receive it until after my scheduled time to appear in court. As I am relatively unfamiliar with the city, the front desk staff assisted by searching area stores for close location that would be open early enough for me to pull off buying a substitute for my suit and so that I could make it to court in time. With their help I was able to avoid a serious work-related issue (I would have gone to court in track pants!) and the day was saved. A big thank you to the front desk staff that helped me out, I would recommend this hotel to any business traveler. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful helpful staff, clean, metro ambiance Pleasantly surprised by this gem. Staff were very hospitable and helpful. Room was spotless with comfy beds and big flat screen t.v.. Complimentary coffee was of good quality - robust. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and snacks at the "refuel" station that were reasonably priced ( different from most hotels that I have experienced). The rooms also had a mini-refrigerator (not mini bar) which was handy. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST KEPT SECRET IN NYC I TRAVEL ALOT INTO NYC FOR BUSINESS, AND FOUND THIS HOTEL MONTHS AGO BY MISTAKE, HOWEVER BEST MISTAKE EVER. PRICES ARE GREAT, ALOFT HAS GONE BEYOUND WHAT I HAVE EXPECTED, LOVE IT SO MUCH THAT IN MY CITY VIRGINIA BEACH VA THERE IS AN ALOFT 5 MINS FROM ME AND WHEN EVER WE NEED TO BOOK A ROOM FOR FAM OR FRIENDS THEY STAY AT THE ALOFT IN CHESPEAKE VA. COMMING BACK IN JAN 2013 December 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by loud, uncomfortable Stayed here at last min because of family emergency. Staff was nice, easy to deal with. Room cooling was inadequate. AC did not work at first with the guy saying I don't know what to do and walking out. He eventually got someone on the phone to walk him through fixing the ac. outrageous price for wine at the bar, $12 for half a glass of a $10 bottle of wine. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My New Favorite Manhattan Starwood I have stayed at many Aloft properties the past couple of years and what makes this hotel stand above the rest is the quality of the staff. I am not the most personable person, but these individuals went out of their way to make an effort to be very helpful, extremely courteous, and most of all, competent. The bar tenders have amazing personalities which makes up for the all too common generally unhealthy offerings. My room was facing the street and surprisingly it was very quiet. I was working most all the time so did not explore the surrounding area, but the room was comfortable and functional. The internet speed was mostly of the fast side which I have to have. The subway is the next block over and the express to Chinatown took less than half an hour. The walk back at night seemed safe enough. It obviously doesn't have the cachet of the St. Regis, but for my purposes, it is much better than the other Manhattan Starwoods. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had exceptional service I have never stayed at a hotel (and I have traveled throughout the United States and Italy) where I received such exceptional service. The staff members were so friendly and helpful. They made me feel like a member of the family and were ALWAYS ready to help. I never go without slippers at a hotel but the rooms were so clean I never even unpacked them! February 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The hotel has a brand name and cute look to pull you in,but that's all. When we arrived no one was standing outside to greet us. We had to drag our bags down the stairs,because the elevator is discreetly hidden off to the side. Upon check in we knew we'd have to wait because we had arrived early. After waiting about a hour we went to check the status ,since no one bothered to check on us, and got a room. We're certain the only reason we received a room was because the manager was present. Later we called to get suggestions of restaurants,nightlife,and travel recommendations. Everything was just ok, no one seemed enthused to assist. I will say Victor checked us in and he was extremely nice and helpful. We're disappointed because we read so many great reviews,and anticipated a wonderful experience.We also had never stayed in Harlem and wanted to experience a different vibe of Manhattan. Mission achieved,expect the vibes were bad. DO BETTER. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful We had a wonderful time in NYC, and we loved our room at the aloft. The room was very spacious and modern . The staff were helpful and attentive, and the hotel was very clean and bright. The only suggestion I have would be to get better pillows--the ones in our room were too large and stiff to be used comfortably. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well done, Aloft! What a wonderful boutique hotel in a culturally rich neighborhood. Not sure what SPG Recognition means. Everything went very smoothly, but figure that is true of all guests' experiences. The food was excellent, and the staff was very happy and fun...always a sign of a well run establishment! August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff at a typical Aloft, This is a typical Aloft design-contemporary, simple, but very functional. the staff were all very accomodating and helpful. The area offers a different NYC experience than midtown at a better price. The subway is very fast and can get you almost anywhere in NY quickly and easily. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Every member of your staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The young ladies at the reception desk were exceptional. My only criticism of the hotel is a night light is needed in the room as it is very dark and there is no way to turn on just one small light. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic service and excellent rooms Sure it is a subway ride away from midtown but this is by far my favorite hotel. The front desk is always gracious and helpful, the rooms are clean and modern, and the beds are very comfortable. I've stayed here for both work and fun, and I've never been disappointed. September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay in Harlem Overall excellent stay--very friendly & helpful staff, and the room didn't disappoint! Only issue would be the A/C which runs pretty loud and blasts cold air right at you while you're in bed....Brrrrrr! I've stayed at this ALOFT before and would do so again!.... September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem Excellent rooms, the guest experience was even better than expected. First time I've gotten a business card from the front desk in case I get lost in town. I recommend it to anyone. too bad it books fast that i cant enjoy another stay, June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Lobby Love the vibe. I'm in my 50's and I thought the DJ played a nice mix of up-tempo music (sat night). The bar and lounge area was a nice meet & greet area. The openness was also another attribute. Would definetly recommond this hotel. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect for a short stay in NYC. This hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The front desk was extremely helpful as far as restaurant recommendations and transportation was concerned. I would definitely recommend the Aloft. July 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room phone issue The phone in my room had it's phone wire disconnected and the battery pack was no where to be found. The phone started beeping at 4:00am, letting me know the battery was going dead. I called the front desk from my cell phone asking them to get this phone out of my room. They responded quickly, but unfortunately I could not fall back to sleep. This is a basic thing that should never have happened. I had an all day business event to attend and I was tired. When I told the front desk what happened after they asked me how was my stay, all I got was the usual "I'm sorry about that". One of these days I would like to actually get something for my trouble. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value Excellent location with easy access to metro. Very spacious rooms. Modern and chic with class. Excellent, attentive and responsive staff that will make your stay memorable. Thanks!! Best value in NYC April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is wonderful Aloft Harlem is very nice. The location is perfect and 2 minutes to the 125 subway line. I will definitely stay here again. The room is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! The hotel exceeded my expectation. The staff were polite and friendly. The hotel and my room was clean. The location was excellent. I felt safe, a police station was a block away. May 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walking distance to Columbia University The staff at Aloft was very helpful. I was taking a course at Columbia so the location was great. An easy 10 minute walk. The hotel was spotless and had a modern feel to it. July 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor location Area is dirty, taxis are virtually impossible to hail, car valet is very slow, lobby and services are virtually non existent. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hidden gem Tucked away in Harlem, a clean comfortable place to stay. A warm helpful staff. Would go back in a heartbeat! August 30, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only