Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed Staff was extremely nice and very accommodating. Attractive young staff, that was refreshing. We stayed in Harlem, very exciting and accessible, Parking arrangment was part of package. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by How it should be done. I wish every hotel was this helpful, this clean, and this well-managed. It started with check-in. I had actually reserved the wrong nights. Maybe a little on my mind as we move to New York... The young man checking us in calmly assured us he had rooms and even helped us restore the rate I had originally booked. He was excellent. The rest of our time there mirrored that. Great service, kind people, and great room. Best NYC hotel (of many) I've ever had. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by well designed room, great staff This was our first time at this hotel, and it certainly met our expectations. The room was small but cleverly designed and very comfortable (it could use some refreshing, though). The staff was very helpful and efficient. We will stay again and recommend to others. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could not sleep, no privacy The staff was very friendly and the location was good for what we needed, but there were several problems with the room. The windows need to be soundproofed because the street traffic, pedestrians under our window, the police station down the street, and the outdoor church across the street were all extremely loud. The room could not be completely darkened because the blinds would not lower to completely block window light. The sheets on the bed were very thin and kept separating, exposing my face directly to the duvet that had not been washed since others slept in the bed. The bathroom sliding door would not close completely so there was absolutely no privacy with others in the room. King room crowded for 2 people with suitcases. The lobby was noisy as well as visually busy with many colors and flashing images. Mostly cement/concrete surfaces and modern. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful helpful staff, clean, metro ambiance Pleasantly surprised by this gem. Staff were very hospitable and helpful. Room was spotless with comfy beds and big flat screen t.v.. Complimentary coffee was of good quality - robust. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and snacks at the "refuel" station that were reasonably priced ( different from most hotels that I have experienced). The rooms also had a mini-refrigerator (not mini bar) which was handy. May 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great experience Even though the transportation from Newark airport was a mess, the hotel was quite nice! We stayed during the Super Bowl weekend and had great service from the hotel staff. They were very helpful with daily transportation to all over manhattan including uptown, east side, time square, etc. Also, the hotel was very quite at night (even though we didn't get back to the hotel until the morning...) and was kept to top level. On the day of my departure, I wan't myself to the continuous partying, Seattle winning the Super Bowl, and having to get up early for the airport and left my wallet, keys to my car, and passport in the safety deposit box in the room. Luckily I had my license and credit cards for the return flight. Front desk staff, Laurel Harris, was very understanding and helpful in retrieving everything from the safety box and sending it to my home over night. THANK YOU! February 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Visiting Clolumbia You wont regret staying here. We truly had no idea what to expect except for reading others reviews. Our experiences exceeded all anticipations! Rooms were clean and well maintains, the bar was funky and fun, and the staff was amazing!!!! Truly the staff was among the most attentive and nice ever!! Great local food....try The Kitchenette Uptown for an wonderful breakfast and don't miss Chocolat for lunch or dinner....simply amazing! February 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value and greast staff We had a King size room on 3rd floor. we were impressed with the cleanliness, friendly staff and aminities. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The hotel has a brand name and cute look to pull you in,but that's all. When we arrived no one was standing outside to greet us. We had to drag our bags down the stairs,because the elevator is discreetly hidden off to the side. Upon check in we knew we'd have to wait because we had arrived early. After waiting about a hour we went to check the status ,since no one bothered to check on us, and got a room. We're certain the only reason we received a room was because the manager was present. Later we called to get suggestions of restaurants,nightlife,and travel recommendations. Everything was just ok, no one seemed enthused to assist. I will say Victor checked us in and he was extremely nice and helpful. We're disappointed because we read so many great reviews,and anticipated a wonderful experience.We also had never stayed in Harlem and wanted to experience a different vibe of Manhattan. Mission achieved,expect the vibes were bad. DO BETTER. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST KEPT SECRET IN NYC I TRAVEL ALOT INTO NYC FOR BUSINESS, AND FOUND THIS HOTEL MONTHS AGO BY MISTAKE, HOWEVER BEST MISTAKE EVER. PRICES ARE GREAT, ALOFT HAS GONE BEYOUND WHAT I HAVE EXPECTED, LOVE IT SO MUCH THAT IN MY CITY VIRGINIA BEACH VA THERE IS AN ALOFT 5 MINS FROM ME AND WHEN EVER WE NEED TO BOOK A ROOM FOR FAM OR FRIENDS THEY STAY AT THE ALOFT IN CHESPEAKE VA. COMMING BACK IN JAN 2013 December 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by loud, uncomfortable Stayed here at last min because of family emergency. Staff was nice, easy to deal with. Room cooling was inadequate. AC did not work at first with the guy saying I don't know what to do and walking out. He eventually got someone on the phone to walk him through fixing the ac. outrageous price for wine at the bar, $12 for half a glass of a $10 bottle of wine. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My New Favorite Manhattan Starwood I have stayed at many Aloft properties the past couple of years and what makes this hotel stand above the rest is the quality of the staff. I am not the most personable person, but these individuals went out of their way to make an effort to be very helpful, extremely courteous, and most of all, competent. The bar tenders have amazing personalities which makes up for the all too common generally unhealthy offerings. My room was facing the street and surprisingly it was very quiet. I was working most all the time so did not explore the surrounding area, but the room was comfortable and functional. The internet speed was mostly of the fast side which I have to have. The subway is the next block over and the express to Chinatown took less than half an hour. The walk back at night seemed safe enough. It obviously doesn't have the cachet of the St. Regis, but for my purposes, it is much better than the other Manhattan Starwoods. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had exceptional service I have never stayed at a hotel (and I have traveled throughout the United States and Italy) where I received such exceptional service. The staff members were so friendly and helpful. They made me feel like a member of the family and were ALWAYS ready to help. I never go without slippers at a hotel but the rooms were so clean I never even unpacked them! February 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay in Harlem Overall excellent stay--very friendly & helpful staff, and the room didn't disappoint! Only issue would be the A/C which runs pretty loud and blasts cold air right at you while you're in bed....Brrrrrr! I've stayed at this ALOFT before and would do so again!.... September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful We had a wonderful time in NYC, and we loved our room at the aloft. The room was very spacious and modern . The staff were helpful and attentive, and the hotel was very clean and bright. The only suggestion I have would be to get better pillows--the ones in our room were too large and stiff to be used comfortably. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Every member of your staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The young ladies at the reception desk were exceptional. My only criticism of the hotel is a night light is needed in the room as it is very dark and there is no way to turn on just one small light. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic service and excellent rooms Sure it is a subway ride away from midtown but this is by far my favorite hotel. The front desk is always gracious and helpful, the rooms are clean and modern, and the beds are very comfortable. I've stayed here for both work and fun, and I've never been disappointed. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well done, Aloft! What a wonderful boutique hotel in a culturally rich neighborhood. Not sure what SPG Recognition means. Everything went very smoothly, but figure that is true of all guests' experiences. The food was excellent, and the staff was very happy and fun...always a sign of a well run establishment! August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff at a typical Aloft, This is a typical Aloft design-contemporary, simple, but very functional. the staff were all very accomodating and helpful. The area offers a different NYC experience than midtown at a better price. The subway is very fast and can get you almost anywhere in NY quickly and easily. December 5, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Stay at Aloft I booked this hotel as it was close to everything I had to do but one HUGE problem was there was ZERO service in the hotel and the wifi didn't work well. Get to the room and screws are coming out of the door lock on the inside. the lobby had snow and water everywhere and myself and guests were slipping all over the place. The lights in the room were malfunctioning. the room was kind of cold (I chucked that up to the snow storm). the direct tv was not working...not the best idea to use satellite. The staff were unorganized ALTHOUGH there was a young man who was very helpful...he seemed to be working that whole weekend. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem Excellent rooms, the guest experience was even better than expected. First time I've gotten a business card from the front desk in case I get lost in town. I recommend it to anyone. too bad it books fast that i cant enjoy another stay, June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Lobby Love the vibe. I'm in my 50's and I thought the DJ played a nice mix of up-tempo music (sat night). The bar and lounge area was a nice meet & greet area. The openness was also another attribute. Would definetly recommond this hotel. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect for a short stay in NYC. This hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The front desk was extremely helpful as far as restaurant recommendations and transportation was concerned. I would definitely recommend the Aloft. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value Excellent location with easy access to metro. Very spacious rooms. Modern and chic with class. Excellent, attentive and responsive staff that will make your stay memorable. Thanks!! Best value in NYC April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay I am a SPG member- first time staying in Aloft. I had a wonderful stay! The staff was very attentive and addressed all of my needs. The hotel was easily accessible to subway stops, laguardia and local attractions. As a tea drinker, I loved the complimentary coffee and tea especially with the cold weather! I will definitely stay at the Aloft Harlem when in New York and will look for other Aloft properties when traveling! Thanks for a great stay!!! February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond We traveled to NY from California to attend my brother's wedding. I choose Aloft Harlem since it was the closest SPG property to The Bronx, where the wedding and reception were being held. We arrived late the evening of check-in and were greeted by friendly staff who promptly checked us in and gave us a great recommendation on where to grab dinner (kid friendly, of course). The room was clean and the beds were comfy. Overall, we were happy with the accommodations. What impressed me the most was what happened AFTER we checked out. That's when I noticed that my son's favorite "cuddle bears" never made it into our suitcase. He has had these since, like birth...they're very tattered, torn and loved little bears. In a panic, I called the hotel with slim hope that someone, ANYONE, had noticed them while stripping the beds. I tell my story to the nice young lady who answered my call..."I stayed at your hotel a few days ago I think we left my son's cuddle bears..." Her response "You mean the blue ones?" When I tell you that tears literally came to my eyes! Yes! They had the cuddle bears to my great relief! I was amazed! She said "We knew they were important to someone." Wow! Was she ever right! My little boy was thrilled when he found out his bears weren't lost forever! A thousand thank yous to Jermel, who called me shortly thereafter to get my address so he could mail the bears to California. An extra bonus was anxiously awaiting the arrival of his bears in the mail, who I told him stayed at Aloft Harlem a bit longer because it's such an awesome hotel!!! You guys Rock!! November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walking distance to Columbia University The staff at Aloft was very helpful. I was taking a course at Columbia so the location was great. An easy 10 minute walk. The hotel was spotless and had a modern feel to it. July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is wonderful Aloft Harlem is very nice. The location is perfect and 2 minutes to the 125 subway line. I will definitely stay here again. The room is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! The hotel exceeded my expectation. The staff were polite and friendly. The hotel and my room was clean. The location was excellent. I felt safe, a police station was a block away. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs upkeep I have been staying at Aloft Harlem for a number of weeks and have found the breakfast server is consistently unavailable for hot sandwiches. Martha is one of the hotel attendants in the evenings and she is extremely customer friendly. Unfortunately she is the one of the few hotel attendants that are very friendly. Others in the hotel are not customer service oriented at all. If they just learned to smile or greet guest as part of their conduct, the rest of the customer experience can improve. I commend Martha for getting my room resolved by switching my rooms to a functioning room.....lights were out, shades do not go down, phone not working, etc. October 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only