Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 252 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st class staff & service, good location For my first time in New York, the hotel was really a great location to stay at and met all my expectations! The neighborhood is a very bubbling area with a lot of restaurants and things to see. The subway is located close to the hotel; which makes it very easy to reach Midtown. Modern and spacious room, a great plus. The staff were AWESOME, really accommadating, responsive and helpful at recommanding where to eat or what to visit etc .... Definitely my 1st choice for my next trip to NYC. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff goes above & beyond!!!!! I travel to NYC alot with my daughter who is wheelchair bound. We stay at many different hotels, but now we ONLY will stay at your hotel for many reasons. Not only is it beautiful, clean, and most welcoming; your ENTIRE staff was so incredible, I've never experienced such professional hospitality in any hotel we have ever stayed at, and we have been coming to NYC for over 20 years, stayed at every well-known hotel you can name...trust me!! We look forward to returning to your Hotel. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel! This is the second time I've stayed at Aloft Harlem and we will always stay here when we come to NYC. You can't get a better deal than this. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is sparkling clean, the rooms are comfortable with plenty of space, great bar, nicely decorated. It is near some fantastic restaurants and the subway. Also within walking distance of Barnard College and Columbia University. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed Staff was extremely nice and very accommodating. Attractive young staff, that was refreshing. We stayed in Harlem, very exciting and accessible, Parking arrangment was part of package. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by How it should be done. I wish every hotel was this helpful, this clean, and this well-managed. It started with check-in. I had actually reserved the wrong nights. Maybe a little on my mind as we move to New York... The young man checking us in calmly assured us he had rooms and even helped us restore the rate I had originally booked. He was excellent. The rest of our time there mirrored that. Great service, kind people, and great room. Best NYC hotel (of many) I've ever had. June 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could not sleep, no privacy The staff was very friendly and the location was good for what we needed, but there were several problems with the room. The windows need to be soundproofed because the street traffic, pedestrians under our window, the police station down the street, and the outdoor church across the street were all extremely loud. The room could not be completely darkened because the blinds would not lower to completely block window light. The sheets on the bed were very thin and kept separating, exposing my face directly to the duvet that had not been washed since others slept in the bed. The bathroom sliding door would not close completely so there was absolutely no privacy with others in the room. King room crowded for 2 people with suitcases. The lobby was noisy as well as visually busy with many colors and flashing images. Mostly cement/concrete surfaces and modern. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful helpful staff, clean, metro ambiance Pleasantly surprised by this gem. Staff were very hospitable and helpful. Room was spotless with comfy beds and big flat screen t.v.. Complimentary coffee was of good quality - robust. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and snacks at the "refuel" station that were reasonably priced ( different from most hotels that I have experienced). The rooms also had a mini-refrigerator (not mini bar) which was handy. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel but too expensive I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel but after all of the taxes, it's pretty steep,.. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST KEPT SECRET IN NYC I TRAVEL ALOT INTO NYC FOR BUSINESS, AND FOUND THIS HOTEL MONTHS AGO BY MISTAKE, HOWEVER BEST MISTAKE EVER. PRICES ARE GREAT, ALOFT HAS GONE BEYOUND WHAT I HAVE EXPECTED, LOVE IT SO MUCH THAT IN MY CITY VIRGINIA BEACH VA THERE IS AN ALOFT 5 MINS FROM ME AND WHEN EVER WE NEED TO BOOK A ROOM FOR FAM OR FRIENDS THEY STAY AT THE ALOFT IN CHESPEAKE VA. COMMING BACK IN JAN 2013 December 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by loud, uncomfortable Stayed here at last min because of family emergency. Staff was nice, easy to deal with. Room cooling was inadequate. AC did not work at first with the guy saying I don't know what to do and walking out. He eventually got someone on the phone to walk him through fixing the ac. outrageous price for wine at the bar, $12 for half a glass of a $10 bottle of wine. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My New Favorite Manhattan Starwood I have stayed at many Aloft properties the past couple of years and what makes this hotel stand above the rest is the quality of the staff. I am not the most personable person, but these individuals went out of their way to make an effort to be very helpful, extremely courteous, and most of all, competent. The bar tenders have amazing personalities which makes up for the all too common generally unhealthy offerings. My room was facing the street and surprisingly it was very quiet. I was working most all the time so did not explore the surrounding area, but the room was comfortable and functional. The internet speed was mostly of the fast side which I have to have. The subway is the next block over and the express to Chinatown took less than half an hour. The walk back at night seemed safe enough. It obviously doesn't have the cachet of the St. Regis, but for my purposes, it is much better than the other Manhattan Starwoods. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Stay I have been to NYC a number of times and this was my first visit to Aloft Harlem. I was a bit hesitant with booking at a different hotel than my usual, different location etc. and I did have a few queries with respect to safety and convenience/proximity to various areas of Manhattan. I couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the hotel, room, service and location. The room was spotless, comfortable and acted as an oasis after a very full day of enjoying the city with my husband and two children. The staff was extremely helpful, very courteous and the Aloft environment was relaxed and modern. The hotel is convenient to the subway and the neighbourhood is full of great culture and great energy. Wifi was a bit slow but overall....a great experience. Would not hesitate to go back. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had exceptional service I have never stayed at a hotel (and I have traveled throughout the United States and Italy) where I received such exceptional service. The staff members were so friendly and helpful. They made me feel like a member of the family and were ALWAYS ready to help. I never go without slippers at a hotel but the rooms were so clean I never even unpacked them! February 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The hotel has a brand name and cute look to pull you in,but that's all. When we arrived no one was standing outside to greet us. We had to drag our bags down the stairs,because the elevator is discreetly hidden off to the side. Upon check in we knew we'd have to wait because we had arrived early. After waiting about a hour we went to check the status ,since no one bothered to check on us, and got a room. We're certain the only reason we received a room was because the manager was present. Later we called to get suggestions of restaurants,nightlife,and travel recommendations. Everything was just ok, no one seemed enthused to assist. I will say Victor checked us in and he was extremely nice and helpful. We're disappointed because we read so many great reviews,and anticipated a wonderful experience.We also had never stayed in Harlem and wanted to experience a different vibe of Manhattan. Mission achieved,expect the vibes were bad. DO BETTER. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place! We stayed at Aloft Harlem as it is close to Columbia University. My daughter was entering Graduate School and this hotel was convenient to where we needed to go. Our experience was great! From the moment we arrived, 2 hours delayed due to weather issues, the staff was gracious and helpful in every way. They were able to answer our questions and give us directions throughout our entire visit on the best way to accomplish the things we were trying to get done. When we come to visit my daughter, we will plan on staying at this excellent hotel! Thank you. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This hotel was near to my son's apartment, also near to other thing to so, just a short cab ride to museum, and plays. Nice walk to the park and good places to eat and shopping. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic location Great hotel experience. Martha at the front desk was especially kind and helpful. We will be back. One minor complaint: $9 for a draft beer in the bar seemed pretty high to me. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful We had a wonderful time in NYC, and we loved our room at the aloft. The room was very spacious and modern . The staff were helpful and attentive, and the hotel was very clean and bright. The only suggestion I have would be to get better pillows--the ones in our room were too large and stiff to be used comfortably. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rough Start, Great Stay After a 9 hour trip to Harlem, I could not have been more anxious to check-in and get some much needed rest. My check-in could not have been any more inconvenient and lacking in service. After a young lady began my check-in, she called over who she said was the manager to finish. I was a bit surprised to see who she called being that the lady who replied was leaned in the corner of the food area with a gentleman and was dressed in attire that was quite casual and certainly not to the professional standard that I would presume the Aloft to uphold. After much disagreement in the way in which I had booked my room (through central reservations) she finally gave me a key. This experience certainly does not represent the remainder of my stay. Even though the room was a bit small, it was still very comfortable and clean. The rest of the staff (front desk, security, and lounge) were extremely nice and helpful. The location of the hotel was exceptional and the amenities were up to par. Being a first time guest of the Starwood Chain I am a bit hesitant to book a stay again if other options are available, customer service is certainly a priority for me. Coming back to Harlem, I would absolutely stay again with the hope I won't receive a challenge upon arrival. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well done, Aloft! What a wonderful boutique hotel in a culturally rich neighborhood. Not sure what SPG Recognition means. Everything went very smoothly, but figure that is true of all guests' experiences. The food was excellent, and the staff was very happy and fun...always a sign of a well run establishment! August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff at a typical Aloft, This is a typical Aloft design-contemporary, simple, but very functional. the staff were all very accomodating and helpful. The area offers a different NYC experience than midtown at a better price. The subway is very fast and can get you almost anywhere in NY quickly and easily. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Every member of your staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The young ladies at the reception desk were exceptional. My only criticism of the hotel is a night light is needed in the room as it is very dark and there is no way to turn on just one small light. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic service and excellent rooms Sure it is a subway ride away from midtown but this is by far my favorite hotel. The front desk is always gracious and helpful, the rooms are clean and modern, and the beds are very comfortable. I've stayed here for both work and fun, and I've never been disappointed. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel had very good energy This hotel had a very positive energy. The staff were very pleasant and made me feel very happy and youthful. The hotel was also immaculate August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay in Harlem Overall excellent stay--very friendly & helpful staff, and the room didn't disappoint! Only issue would be the A/C which runs pretty loud and blasts cold air right at you while you're in bed....Brrrrrr! I've stayed at this ALOFT before and would do so again!.... September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem Excellent rooms, the guest experience was even better than expected. First time I've gotten a business card from the front desk in case I get lost in town. I recommend it to anyone. too bad it books fast that i cant enjoy another stay, June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Lobby Love the vibe. I'm in my 50's and I thought the DJ played a nice mix of up-tempo music (sat night). The bar and lounge area was a nice meet & greet area. The openness was also another attribute. Would definetly recommond this hotel. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect for a short stay in NYC. This hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The front desk was extremely helpful as far as restaurant recommendations and transportation was concerned. I would definitely recommend the Aloft. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience From the front desk staff, to the rooms, everything was fantastic. My closest friend lives around the corner so this the perfect location for me to experience Harlem. It's also only a few train stops into Times Square. The rooms were larger than normal for a NYC hotel and I thought that the amenities were great (gym, etc.). I will be back! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value Excellent location with easy access to metro. Very spacious rooms. Modern and chic with class. Excellent, attentive and responsive staff that will make your stay memorable. Thanks!! Best value in NYC April 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only