Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 284 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Urban Chic The hotel was exactly as I expected after visiting the website. There were no surprises. It was clean, comfortable, and inviting. The concept fits its Harlem location perfectly. The decor was fun and refreshing. This hotel is undoubtably for people who need a relaxing place to come back to after a busy day in the city. I would definitely visit Aloft hotels again. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great base for exploring northern Manhattan Being in downtown Harlem, there are lots of incredible restaurants nearby. Four relaxing parks are a short walk from the hotel, and the subway is only a block away if you want to venture further. The staff were very friendly - we'll definitely be back! July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this hotel Everything was perfect. The room fantastic, the staff could not have been more charming and helpful. The place was stylish, but wirh a relaxed and hip vibe. The neighborhood, clean, intersting with great restaurants, cafes, and music venues. We will definately be satying there again. Thank you for a fabulous 3 days July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a gem! Great location and a pleasant stay We had a very nice stay at Aloft Harlem! This hotel fell right in line with what we expected of Aloft. Perfect location and within walking distance and or a quick train ride to popular NYC and Harlem destinations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. A pleasant surprise was the size of the room: I expected a shoebox because it's in the heart of the city but the room was a nice size and very comfortable. I'd recommend this hotel to both friends and family. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll be back! Great hotel, very cool vibe. I haven't been to New York since 2006 and this made me wanna stay. ALL of the staff were great and Estella who was room service staff was lovely. Love love love Harlem ! Like I said I'll be back! July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room phone issue The phone in my room had it's phone wire disconnected and the battery pack was no where to be found. The phone started beeping at 4:00am, letting me know the battery was going dead. I called the front desk from my cell phone asking them to get this phone out of my room. They responded quickly, but unfortunately I could not fall back to sleep. This is a basic thing that should never have happened. I had an all day business event to attend and I was tired. When I told the front desk what happened after they asked me how was my stay, all I got was the usual "I'm sorry about that". One of these days I would like to actually get something for my trouble. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such wonderful, friendly people working here! I am pleased to recommend Aloft in Harlem, NY. The people who work there were wonderfully helpful to me, a non-city-savvy person! Whatever we needed, be it a cab, directions or some simple reassurance, the staff was right there to help out. The hotel itself is nicely equipped, comfortable and convenient. Nothing but rave reviews. Thanks for making my city stay so stress-free! July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gem in the city I enjoyed my stay at the Aloft in Harlem. I found this hotel thanks to a conference in the area. The room was great and I loved all the outlets to charge my mobile devices. My one gripe is that I called at least twice in the months before my arrival to request double beds for myself and my conference "roommate." I understood that the hotel only has about 12 of these kinds of rooms but I called to remind them of my request. On my last call, the person I spoke to told me that we could ask for a rollaway bed so that bunking together would not be an issue. When we checked in, we were informed that there are no rollaway beds in this hotel at all. So, I wound up sleeping in a king bed with someone I'd only met briefly twice before. We worked it out with no problem, but it would be best for your representatives to know the facilities. Nonetheless, we had a great stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by be careful what room you get We chose this hotel because of its location and the good deal we were able to get. The room we had (504) is inferior. The view was of some brick walls, which didn't bother me too much since we weren't there for the view. There was essentially no cell reception in the room, making the sending of even a simple text a 50/50 proposition. Forget about an actual conversation or checking your e-mail. The room has not been adequately maintained over the years. The shower glass leaked where it should be sealed to the tile, wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom, and the TP holder had been broken and then bent back, leaving two sharp raw metal edges. All simple quick fixes. The room shape was a long skinny rectangle. If someone was seated at the desk, the chair would be bumped up against the foot of the bed making passage impossible. A crappy room. I peeked into one of the rooms at the front of the building. It had multiple windows, and a better shape allowing free movement behind the desk chair. Did not inspect for maintenance issues. The front desk folks were OK, but not inclined to go the extra mile. The lobby was attractive. I was not nearly as impressed as they hoped one would be. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My favorite place to stay on this side of town! I love coming to Aloft - the staff is usually wonderful and responsive to my needs! The bartenders are usually very friendly and welcoming as well. This last experience was much different. I arrived just in time to watch the World Cup USA game and the bartender was sweet (as usual) but was unable to pour a Guinness correctly (yes, it makes a difference) ... I then ordered a second drink and it took nearly 15 mins for it to arrive. I longed for one more beer to finish out the game - but was unable to snag her attention away from the gentleman she was speaking with. The front desk staff was warm and welcoming - but when I asked to book a room for my next trip, I was instructed to go online and book right away. Rather than them just booking me at the desk. Lastly, at 9.30 AM my slumbers ended to banging from the room next door - not people banging, hammers banging. They were doing maintenance on the room - so much for sleeping in after a long day of travel the day before. The above being said, I love staying here and understand that we all have our "off days". I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone in the future and look forward to staying with them again. It was highly recommended from a friend and I can say that they've been so great in the past that this experience has not left a bad taste in my mouth. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THE WXYZ LOUNGE this hotel was a great location to midtown and the world famous 125th st. Did a little shopping, eating, and drinking in the village of Harlem. I would come back again. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wouldn't stay again Room was adequate. Peeling wall paper, dirty shower and incredibly noisy. Staff did not follow through. My reservation was not correct. Sent a disgusting car service for transportation. I requested to use my credit car with the car company and they were not equipped. June 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprising! GIven NYC's exhorbitant hotel rates, we were pleaantly surprised to get such a good value for the overall level of the facility, amenities, and staff attentiveness that this hotel provided. June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A fun place to stay in Harlem This hotel is a great location from which to explore Harlem, Morningside Heights and northern Central Park. Beautiful parks and lots of history a short walk away, so we'll definitely be back! June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis An Oasis in the area, with few hotel choice. Large room & king bed (I'd prefer queen bed and sitting area). Yes as others noted, staff sometimes need to be engaged and a few seconds to figure out what you need, but then they are your BFF the rest of the stay. Walkable to three Express level subway stops, so get anywhere quickly. Walk-to restaurants are actually good (Lido, Tavern, others) and for NYC, OK pricing. May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good hotel The hotel met our needs however the air conditioning did not work properly and the staff was somewhat unfriendly. Other than that, it's a good place to stay overnight. May 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service The staff was very unwilling to respond to our needs for assistance during check in, even though there were about 5 hotel employees standing around chatting in the lobby. Even with pouring rain outside, I could not get help with my luggage or with valet parking (it is offered by the hotel). A call to the SPG line wasn't helpful in the least. I can't recommend this hotel and am disappointed with the response from the SPG customer service line. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coming Back! My Husband and I enjoyed our time at Aloft Harlem.The room was cozy clean and we good a really good nights rest. The bar wxzy was cool too! I can't say enough about the lovely staff at the desk not only were the lovely & beautiful but always very helpful. There was a lot of lovely funky resturants in the area to go to as well. Over all the experience was amazing and we are alreay planning our trip back! May 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stylish Hotel missing on a just a few key features The style and design of ALoft- Harlem is great, created for the hipper hotel guest. The hotel staff was very helpful and answered all my questions with knowledge and ease. My challenges with my stay revolve around two areas: 1) the weak internet signals (it took over an hour for me to initially log my computer into the system) 2) room design/temperature control/ and a warmer comforter. With the heat/air conditioner flowing directly onto me in the bedroom I was in a constant battle between being too cool/too hot. The thinner comforter than did not help in my quest to keep the room air flowing and staying warm while sleeping (Maybe having another blanket in the room to add for warmth would have fit the need) With all this being said, I would still recommend aloft to friends. Aloft Harlem was in a great location to walk to most attractions within the neighborhood. May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, Urban, Trendy, Youthful Vibe Based on the website and reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay at Aloft Harlem and it did not disappoint. Although the hotel lobby and bar area was a lot smaller than I expected, I really appreciated the decor, vibe and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located in close proximity to many of the things I enjoy about Harlem, like the shopping and restaurants and I loved coming down to the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to a cool party vibe with a DJ and lots of people. Even if I were the type of person that wasn't into that, Aloft is still a great place to stay, the noise from the lobby and bar does not reach the guestrooms, so one could sleep undisturbed if they choose. Drinks were kinda high at the bar, so we chose to BYOB in our room, but other than that, it was a great experience. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is in a great location. This hotel is in a great location with access to parking if you are driving, subway station and much more. May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet/Human Friendly I love the set-up and the ease of checking-in with my kitty. Only issue was confusion about valet service. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conveniences The hotel is very convenient for me to travel to work. May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay, great staff Enjoyed this stay more than the last one. Decided not to bother with using my Aloft Smart Check-in key and get the regular key. Agent at Check-In remembered me and gave me all the details re: being issued a new key (and that someone from Aloft would be reaching out to me at some point). The room was expected (they are all the same size). I got a corner room, comfortable, with the only thing that I can comment on was that below the desk was a painted over window which glowed during the night from the street lights and then lit up the room when the sun was up. I would recommend painting the window a more opaque color or covering with blinds. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay. May 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed stay Odd placement of the lobby, one floor below. The outdoor area would be a great area, but needs a roof or awning, esp on heavy rainy days like the one when I had a stay here. My Aloft Smart Check-in cardkey did not work. I received a text in the afternoon with assigned room. When I got there the key would not work, front desk says that there is someone in there! I get a new text with another rm, key still will not work. Head down again for hotel keys! Ventilation seemed to be stuck on AC, not heat so had to be turned off. Breakfast, like other Alofts is great! Fresh and healthy food including made to order sandwiches. Front desk agent went out of her way to make it up, though never heard a peep from the GM or SPG re: the key issues. Central to mass transit (incl M60 bus from LGA) and well placed in Harlem. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Makes Aloft Harlem Increasingly Exceptional The Aloft Harlem's staff--in all positions----continues to make this hotel increasingly exceptional. The manager has created and fostered a miracle of teamwork at this property that genuinely welcomes guests. The property is extremely efficient, using space well. And it offers snacks of a wide variety (including healthy) that compensate for lack of a restaurant. Also, the staff fosters a great, friendly atmosphere that makes the public areas a caring, fascinating mini-United Nations! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great alternative to ... If you don't mind a little off the beaten path, hotel is well maintained, staff is great & helpful. Just a short MTA ride (take the "A" or "D" express. But for that minor inconvenience, you get a great rate. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel! This is the second time I've stayed at Aloft Harlem and we will always stay here when we come to NYC. You can't get a better deal than this. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is sparkling clean, the rooms are comfortable with plenty of space, great bar, nicely decorated. It is near some fantastic restaurants and the subway. Also within walking distance of Barnard College and Columbia University. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location is perfect We wanted to experience Harlem and Time Square. This location gave us both. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! We arrived early, and the staff was not only expecting us, but made a point of helping us be comfortable, getting us into a room quickly. April 15, 2014
  • 2015-11-30 T08:27:23.783-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_284, tr_284
  • loc_en_US, sid_3353, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only