Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 188 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor location Area is dirty, taxis are virtually impossible to hail, car valet is very slow, lobby and services are virtually non existent. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome time I stayed at the Aloft Harlem from September 5th to September 8th 2013 with my husband. We went to NYC to attend the Triton music festival which took place at the Irving Plaza which is all the way down where Union Square is. I was worried that the hotel might be too far but the subway ride is super fast, especially if you take the express train. The subway station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel which is perfect. They get an A+ for that! The hotel is very clean and modern. I loved the large windows in the room. The size of the room was perfect for 2 people and larger than the usual NYC hotel room. I’m just going the list the details that stood out to me: The shower has shampoo and body wash dispensers so you don’t need to pack your own little bottles. The wifi signal was great The mini fridge in the room came in handy You get 2 free bottles of water in the room I really liked the service they offered where if you declined housekeeping service the hotel gives you a $5.00 voucher that you can use downstairs at the bar or in the little snack shop. Modern décor Comfortable beds, I slept well every night I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Aloft Harlem to anyone looking for a different part of town to stay in. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by optional ALoft Harlem Great location, staff, accommodations and price . I would not hesitate to stay there again. May 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A hidden gem Tucked away in Harlem, a clean comfortable place to stay. A warm helpful staff. Would go back in a heartbeat! August 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super stay! The staff at this hotel, as well as the toiletries and amenities made for a perfect stay! April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem Staff could not be friendlier. A great location when visiting people from Columbia. October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel exceeds my expectations. I highly recommend this hotel. It is close to everything and very accessible to numerous public transportation and subway. Manhattan is so close you can actually get there in less than 10 minutes. I honestly didn't have any issues during our stay everything was clean and organized. The only feature I didn't like was the bathroom's main sliding door which can't be locked but other than that the hotel truly has amazing features. Gotta love the lively atmosphere at mini bar located downstairs. They offer live music and yes the staffs were friendly and accommodating at least to us. I will definitely stay at this hotel when I visit NYC again. October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A home away from home Harlem Aloft is a very special hotel. The atmosphere and staff are warm and friendly. The hotel is cozy and clean and convenient to wonderful restaurants, shopping and transportation. This hotel was by far the best experience I have ever had a New York hotel. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Many Positives, A Few Negatives The arrival could not have been more inauspicious: a minor argument between my cab driver and a pedestrian (standing in the middle of the road - complaining the cab didn't honk) just outside the hotel, with the instant involvement of some bystanders quickly escalated into name-calling so I quickly took refuge into the lobby before things got any uglier. Welcome to Harlem, I thought. Whilst this was my first ever time in Harlem, I am fully aware of its "up and coming" status, and I have been countless times in many other cities' "Harlems" so was realistic about what to expect. The neighbourhood is safe in the daytime, and requires reasonable care at night, but the location itself was fine. The Aloft has a multiplex cinema across the road, a metro station with an express line just one block away, and is extremely convenient for LaGuardia and JFK airports. It's also just a few blocks from Columbia University so there's lots of students staying here. You will probably not find a Starwood property this decent in Manhattan for at least a few hundred $$ more. The lobby is small but lively, with a pool table and inviting bar, a snack corner and free imacs and printing. Check-in was cheerful and staff is generally keen to help. I liked the fact the hotel offers green choice (skip housekeeping for a few $ food credits or a few points). The room was large, with ample desk space, and a big bathroom area. Internet access was problematic at first and required a call to the IT help desk until the wifi was sorted. Appreciated teh fridge, although I found that for the size of the room, it lacked adequate storage space. Whilst it was nice to have the 24h snack bar option, I found on a late night, that all food options were on the expensive side ($10 for a sandwich?). Would I stay here again? Probably, if rates elsewhere in Manhattan are high, although it wouldn't be my first choice. Would I recommend this place to a first-time visitor in NYC? Probably not, as you would miss out on the city life and spend too much time travelling to places of interest. June 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon marred by spurious extra charges I stayed at Aloft Harlem with my husband during our honeymoon. After our departure, Aloft Harlem spuriously charged my credit card with an extra amount of $250 in addition to the regular billing amount. They chose not to give me any notice so that I learned of this only from my credit card billing. Complaining later with their billing department they proved unable and/or unwilling to provide any significant explanation on what this extra charge is for. Quotation: "It might be for smoking in the room". My husband and I, we are both non-smokers and we have always been non-smokers! To date, Aloft Harlem refuses to refund my $250 ... March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still the best in the area I stayed at this ALoft shortly after it opened. It is beginning to show it age at this point. The wall vinyl was damaged in places, the backlight on the clock did not function, touch ups of tile base were poorly done, but most noticably the grout on the floor was dirty and grey. The master electric wall switch shuts off the plug for the phone charger along with evertthing else except the TV. The location is unique and convenient to my relatives. I wouls stay there again. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Harlem's Elite Hotel I had the pleasure of experiencing one of Harlem's premium hotels: The Aloft Harlem Hotel. My experience is based off of two separate visits within a month's time. Both experiences were positive and I recommend this hotel for anyone who would like a comfortable stay in New York City. The hotel is located near 125th Street in Harlem. The Aloft gives the hotels in lower Manhattan a run for their money with its smart elegance and budget friendly rooms. The Aloft Harlem is conveniently located near several train lines and bus lines. Restaurant, entertainment, and shopping options are located less than fifteen minutes away. FRONT DESK AND LOUNGE Upon arriving at the Aloft you walk downstairs to the lower level that leads to the courtyard. When I arrived the courtyard was filled with guests and lounge patrons enjoying a summer night. WXZY lounge, which is off of the front desk, was modern with an indoor seating area and doors leading to the outdoor courtyard. When I arrived a bachelorette party was in full swing. The layout was hip and makes it an ideal spot for a small gathering. The front desk management team was efficient and professional to new arrivals, existing guests, and visitors. Since there was a party on the first floor I was worried that I wouldn't be able to sleep since my room on the second floor. My floor and room were remarkably quiet. It was like I was in another world. THE ROOM The king room was a minimalist's dream: well contained yet spacious. The room's décor covered the basic necessities in a stylish manner. There was no wasted space. Upon entering you have the bathroom to the side as well as a minimalistic closet/mini bar. The bathroom has mirrored barn door that separated sink area from the toilet area and glass encased shower. The shower itself is a spa like experience. The water and steam was very hot and soothing. I had a hilarious experience: The Aloft Harlem is a smoke free hotel. So while getting ready for the shower I accidently left the shower on hot and the doors open. The room's alarm system went off around midnight. Panicking, I raced to the telephone to call the front desk to tell them my alarm was going off. Apparently the alarm is quite sensitive and was triggered by the five minutes of constant steam coming off the shower. The desk manager reassured me it happened all the time and not to worry. I was a minute into the call and security was knocking on the door to check the situation and reset the alarm. The security guard was polite and understanding. He calmed my nerves and had the alarm off in less than a minute. This hotel takes its smoke free policy seriously. I had visions of my sleeping neighbors being wakened from their slumber like zombies and tackling me when I opened the door. But no one stirred. Did they even hear the alarm? So my friends, when you visit this hotel make sure to close the glass shower door and the barn door. THE WORLD'S BEST BED The king bed and desk area is sectioned off giving you a sense of privacy. The desk has a television and an electronics power and charging station. The bed was large and comfortable. On both hotel stays I had the BEST sleep of my life. I felt reborn. I am tearing up thinking about going home tonight. This one factor makes it the best hotel I have experienced in my travels to date. My sleep was so good in fact that I am seriously considering staying there one a month as a means of rejuvenation for my mind and body. CULINARY DELIGHTS The Aloft hotel has a small area in the lobby that sells limited breakfast and snack options. I do not know if the bar has food items for sale. Some may find this a drawback but in my opinion it forces you to explore the culinary delights of west and east Harlem. Be adventurous. With great restaurants such as Red Rooster, Amy Ruth's, and Lindo, you will find something to suit your tastes. For late night munchies I suggest travelers go to the corner store to buy beverages, snacks and sandwiches to save a few bucks. COST AND BILLING The price of the room is fair based the comfort I experienced, the location, and style of the hotel. My bills were error free and the security deposits were returned to my account in a timely manner. Wi-Fi is free through out the hotel but I did have an issue with low signal reception with my cell phone. The business center offers computers with Mac and Windows environments. Printing and faxing are available. FINAL THOUGHTS I recommend this hotel for a person who needs a good night rest and enjoys a minimalist environment. Stay at this hotel and support a gem in Harlem. You will not be disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guest The hotel is in a great location and very clean. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the Visit Great staff and comfortable hotel in central location. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel very welcomed. January 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem While the room was clean and certainly adequate, there were a number of problems. The lighting situation is quite strange. There is one multiple switch plate. Nothing is labelled so if you get up in the night, you have to go to these switches and fumble around for the bathroom light. In out case, I repeatedly woke up my husband. All the lights went on. there is no switch in the bathroom. The shade on the window was broken and would not go up or down.The shower is a bit difficult as you must get all the way in to turn the water on and then it is difficult to avoid getting showered with cold water. no room service. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home Away From Home Aloft Harlem has become my home away from home, as its superior team of front-desk and floor personnel welcomes me by name and with spirit at the start of each visit and each time I re-enter the hotel or descend from my room to the lobby area. They are friendly yet professional. In addition to recommending local sites, they listen to my recommendations, which I appreciate. The rooms are small, but very well organized and appointed, and clean. Meanwhile, the lobby area is a small but great meeting area, also well organized. I so enjoy staying at the Aloft Harlem that I dislike leaving to return home! It is a wonderful place, mainly because it is staffed by wonderful people, -0- April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great space, Great location, Great value! Highly Recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York. Located in the heart of Harlem- Apollo theatre is just around the corner and it is two blocks to the 125th street subway station! Very safe area with the police station just across the street. Big rooms, especially in New York, with very helpful and friendly staff. The only complaints we had was that the WXYZ bar is open to the public so 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed there we were unable to stay in the lounge as they were having some private parties and it was full. We had to take our drinks and appetizers to our room. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay and will be staying with them again when we visit New York! August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room accommodations The staff at ALoft in Harlem were extremely wonderful. Your desk staff expecially Shondel (I am sure I am not spelling that correctly; she works days), Jennie, Jason and the lovely lady that provided the morning breakfast. All simply fabulous: And Purple too, the host at the WXYZ lounge. My only problem with the loft ( I was in room 409) was the location of the ventilation system which was located directly in front of the bed. The vents could not be redirected; hence cold air blew directly on the bed, which made sleeping difficult on the humind nights. As side from that, my stay was extremely enjoyable August 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem's Staff Forms a Great Team The staff members at the heart of The Aloft Harlem form a superb team of professionals able to juggle their many tasks while emanating kindness, concern, and helpfulness to guests. After only three years, this busy hotel needs a little cosmetic work, but the rooms and public areas are pristine. Most important is the people factor. This is a rare place where guests from all over the world feel safe speaking--connecting---with each other, a sort of UN or International House of peaceful and fascinating adults. And that element of Aloft Harlem is fomented by its excellent staff members. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Staycation in Harlem I needed a break from the four walls I call my home and decided to stay at the Aloft. The staff were very friendly and when I had an issue with the thermostat a technician was dispatched immediately. As I'm often cold he even went to find me a heater just so I could be warm! The only reason I won't give them five stars... they need a full service restaurant on-site. January 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice clean hotel Hotel ins't in the greatest neighborhood, but its clean, staff is very helpful and location is close to subway. I was working at lincoln center so commute wasn't too bad for me. Room was nice. Had a little trouble with cable, but once maitnence got it to work it was all good. Plus theres like million channels, which I've never seen at any other hotel. I took a too hot shower and the smoke alarm went off. That was a bit annoying. Cell service (I have verizon) was horrible inside the building. My room looked onto a brick building. I am platium member, so I would of hoped for a higher room and better view. Over all for the price ($189) this hotel is a nice spot. I will def be staying again. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience The hotel was more than what i expected. The ambience was energetic and had a sophisticated new york vibe. The location was awesome since the parking garage was literally a 30 second walk away, the 24 hour deli right next door was so convenient after a long club night. Shopping was one block away and the view of the magic johnson theater was from our window was nice. It was cool to be so close to so much history, with the apollo theater close by, harriet tubman memorial and all the restaurants. The room was clean and the staff was great. The bar was energetic and the music and drinks were good. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its a fine hotel but nothing special I read reviews of this hotel thinking it was this star among the rough and it wasn't. It was what I could classify as a basic Aloft. The rooms are OK, the bar wasn't hopping as touted and there was nothing that stood out. It was a great deal for being IN Manhattan but nothing special. What was more disappointing was that at 1030p I asked where to go grab a bite and was informed that most places close around 11pm - in NYC! So I was sent to a place that had so-so food and really, wasn't all that great. I would say the location is OK at best but expect a good cab ride to get midtown for what is considered a more accustomed NYC experience or business trips. It is however SUPER easy to get to LGA. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff Ever! Due to an apartment emergency, I had little time to find a reasonable last-minute rate and a hotel that accepted dogs. Aside from the great fact that Aloft doesn't charge a pet fee, the staff couldn't have made us feel more at home from the minute we walked through the door. The 5-star hotels I've stayed at have never given me such personalized attention. They greeted me (and my dog) by name every time we came back to our temporary "home". The rooms were very cool (no views but oh well you can't have everything!) and the common areas are a great place to chill out with your laptop. During these times when travel is so painful, it's great to see a hotel company that gets it! Keep up the great work! September 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missed the Mark I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times and have been happy. This time I was in room 310 . A room without a view. I could see the top of the lounge. This proved to be a problem for me. The vibrations from the lounge on Saturday night were so bad I could hear and feel them through the pillow so I got very little sleep on Saturday. I have to visit this area again next month but I will ask for a room away from the lounge. They now provide free bottles of water. One of the bottles had been opened by a prior guest. It took 4 hours and a visit to front desk for replacement water. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A different Experience...Fun!!! I would sum up my stay here as...A pleasant surprise!!! First, you are greeted by a staff that really seems to be glad to have you. (Aloft, don't ever change that!) The staff was also helpful throughout our stay (Friday 12/20 to Monday 12/23) Second, the lobby has a hip feel to it but not too over the top. P.S.- Ioved the Christmas décor. Third, there was a DJ there on Friday and Saturday night and the ambiance was social and somewhat party like but not like the club scene. The atmosphere was festive. To add, it was nice to have the complimentary bottled water and the coffee was better than average. Location, location, location....don't be afraid because it's in Harlem. 1. close to multiple bus routes (including a bus to LaGuardia airport) 2. close to discount shopping ( food and other wise) 3. close to subway station I will definitely stay here again. Kudos to Aloft and keep up the good work!!!! December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice time The hotel is modern and clean. Subway was 2 blocks away and got us into SOHO and Midtown very conveniently. At the front desk, Rachel was extremly helpful and helped us find the subway. everyone there was very helpful. November 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden gem My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend for two nights. I really like the décor and interior design of everything in the hotel. I was surprised that Aloft meant that the rooms are modeled after aloft apartment. I was pleasantly surprised. I guess I use to more drawer space for my clothes. The showers were nice. I had to get use to the fact that the sliding door did not mask the sounds I made on the toilet.  Over all I was impressed with the experience. It is interesting that they decided to put a hotel on that street in Harlem. That is why I call it a hidden gem. It was close to the Subway and it is one block away from the M60 Bus line to the airport. I would recommend people to use this hotel. August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable stay Enjoyed our stay very much as the room was laid out well for four people to share the same space. Very comfortable beds. Very attentive staff. Great location. January 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only