Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missed the Mark I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times and have been happy. This time I was in room 310 . A room without a view. I could see the top of the lounge. This proved to be a problem for me. The vibrations from the lounge on Saturday night were so bad I could hear and feel them through the pillow so I got very little sleep on Saturday. I have to visit this area again next month but I will ask for a room away from the lounge. They now provide free bottles of water. One of the bottles had been opened by a prior guest. It took 4 hours and a visit to front desk for replacement water. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Big, modern rooms....but many broken items in the hotel rooms The room was quite big for NYC and it was great for a baby (we were able to put the baby in a separate area when she went to bed from where we were). Additionally, the hotel is pretty modern compared to other NYC hotels. On the negative, too many things were either broken or didn't work properly in the hotel. In our first room, the A/C didn't work so we had to switch rooms. Then in the second room, the shower handle fell off and we had to rig it back on. Finally, the door to the shower and toilet was stuck and would not close. Maintenance tried to fix it but was unable to. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience We visited New York for seven days to attend the U S Open. We had a great experience at the ALOFT Harlem. Staff was great! Room was clean and comfortable. Area was quiet. Transportation, restaurants and entertainment were all nearby and easily accessible. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Stay I have been to NYC a number of times and this was my first visit to Aloft Harlem. I was a bit hesitant with booking at a different hotel than my usual, different location etc. and I did have a few queries with respect to safety and convenience/proximity to various areas of Manhattan. I couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the hotel, room, service and location. The room was spotless, comfortable and acted as an oasis after a very full day of enjoying the city with my husband and two children. The staff was extremely helpful, very courteous and the Aloft environment was relaxed and modern. The hotel is convenient to the subway and the neighbourhood is full of great culture and great energy. Wifi was a bit slow but overall....a great experience. Would not hesitate to go back. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice time The hotel is modern and clean. Subway was 2 blocks away and got us into SOHO and Midtown very conveniently. At the front desk, Rachel was extremly helpful and helped us find the subway. everyone there was very helpful. November 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden gem My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend for two nights. I really like the décor and interior design of everything in the hotel. I was surprised that Aloft meant that the rooms are modeled after aloft apartment. I was pleasantly surprised. I guess I use to more drawer space for my clothes. The showers were nice. I had to get use to the fact that the sliding door did not mask the sounds I made on the toilet.  Over all I was impressed with the experience. It is interesting that they decided to put a hotel on that street in Harlem. That is why I call it a hidden gem. It was close to the Subway and it is one block away from the M60 Bus line to the airport. I would recommend people to use this hotel. August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool and hip hotel! I stayed at the Aloft Harlem for four nights and just loved it! The minute I walked in the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel. I loved being away from the Times Square tourist crowd, and enjoyed what the neighborhood had to offer, including some excellent restaurants. It was very conveniently located for me, because I was visiting my daughter at Columbia U., which is walking distance from the hotel. The Aloft Harlem has a very approachable and friendly staff, a hip and funky atmosphere and decor, comfortable beds, gigantic showers, and the Bliss products (including shower gel and shampoo dispensers right in the shower stall) added to my feeling of contentment. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely go back. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average My experience was average and disappointing for a Starwood property. My bathroom, specifically toilet, was not clean. There was also a big red, burgundy stain on the carpet next to the bed. Only positive was that there was free tea available and it was a fairly new hotel. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Wish We Lived at The Aloft Harlem! Four times a year my service dog and I spend four nights at The Aloft Harlem, and with each visit leaving to return home becomes more difficult. We wish we could afford to live there--not in the adjacent condos, but at the hotel itself! The staff team--including the manager, the front desk, the security guards, those who clean, those who maintain the snack and bar areas--is welcoming, kind, well-informed about the hotel and the area and the City. Transportation is excellent in the area. Great walking ares surround the hotel, as do fine and varied restaurants. The hotel is clean, safe, populated by guests from all over the world and all over the U.S. Guests quickly become valued guests, not anonymous faces. This may be Harlem's only hotel, but measured next to any fine hotel in the world, it is a superb hotel. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovemydogs Nice hotel. Courteous staff. Fitness room is great! I have stayed here a few times and will continue to come back! August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great visit to the Aloft! The staff always make us feel at home, and we love the convenient location! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by charoltte nc1 hotel has all it needs to make your stay the most comfortable one. This Aloft was so quiet outside noise does not filter in. The only con was the dog! Hotel is too nice for it. unless it was a service dog. otherwise all was good very clean. Downstairs bar is what's happening. 3rd strip to New York. Next trip to New York, this hotel will be my choice to stay. Thanks Ms Williams and all the other hotel staff excellent job, The Johnson's Charlotte NC July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Across From Magic Johnson Theaters Great location. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Apollo Theater. Staff was very helpful. Didn't realize the WXYZ Lounge off the lobby was a local hangout. Lots of people and loud music, but we were on the 3rd floor, so I did not hear a thing. Well, I did hear the street traffic later that night, but nothing's perfect. Wished the bed was more comfortable and wish the heater/AC had an adjustable cover so you could direct the air/heat to the floor instead of it blowing right on you all through the night. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience From the front desk staff, to the rooms, everything was fantastic. My closest friend lives around the corner so this the perfect location for me to experience Harlem. It's also only a few train stops into Times Square. The rooms were larger than normal for a NYC hotel and I thought that the amenities were great (gym, etc.). I will be back! August 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thanksgiving Stay Staff was very friendly and did everything they could do to make us feel comfortable. aloft is a bare bones property with no restaurant (I knew this before I went.) so it is what it is. It's nicely decorated in a minimalist hip style. they have a food bar where you can buy simple things for breakfast, ie. cereal, muffins, breads, coffee, wraps, drinks, etc. there's also a bar area and another area to sit. as i said, it's minimalist at it's best and worse. it is what it is. the beds are rather hard, sheets were a little rough and the down blankets were very heavy for both of us. the shower area was large enough for two with a very nice rainfall shower head, the water was sufficiently hot but I noticed there was less of it in the late evening hours. we liked the body gel dispenser in the shower stall but neither of us cared for the shampoo mixed with conditioner. towels were mid level quality. lighting controls for the room was sort of strange. if you got up in the night to use the bathroom and turn on the bathroom light, it would turn on the light to the entrance area also, which would shower light into the bedroom area. not a great design from that one perspective. also, with all the shelf area, you'd think there'd be outlets everywhere for your computer, phone, etc.. but there was one outlet underneath and one outlet on the shelf in a unit for plugging in other electronics. the tv was very nicely sized. i had one incident of a couple in another room near by the first night re-inacting an adult movie with all the verbiage. i was sound asleep and they were so loud yelling obscenities with each other that it woke me up at 2am from a sound sleep. i only hoped that it wouldn't awaken my 14 year old daughter. and i couldn't call to complain for fear of waking my daughter. after listening to this krapt for an hour, they finally finished their business and apparently left the hotel because i heard the door open and shut and there was no more sounds. thank god. i wondered if the hotel was being used for hourly patrons. I told the manager the next day and she was very apologetic about it. I'm sure the staff would have done something had I been able to call them when it was happening. but as i said, i was not in a position to call them. November 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a gem! Great location and a pleasant stay We had a very nice stay at Aloft Harlem! This hotel fell right in line with what we expected of Aloft. Perfect location and within walking distance and or a quick train ride to popular NYC and Harlem destinations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. A pleasant surprise was the size of the room: I expected a shoebox because it's in the heart of the city but the room was a nice size and very comfortable. I'd recommend this hotel to both friends and family. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff and beautiful rooms I travel several times per year and stay in a lot of different hotels. The staff here was by far the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. They were helpful without being intrusive; they responded to requests quickly; they truly cared about making you comfortable and happy. The rooms were spacious (especially for NYC), modern, and very clean. This hotel is very close to the subway (two blocks), so it's easy to reach the downtown attractions (particularly via the D line), despite its distance. The only issue was the elevator from the street to the hotel lobby was out of service for a couple of days, which is difficult for me with a mobility issue and a tendency to over pack. However, the staff again made sure I could get around and get my luggage to the street level. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Automotive access is a problem. You have a problem that is no fault of your own. It needs correction by the addition of a parking facility or adjacent auto drop off / pickup area for access and egress to the hotel. Relying on the Frederick Douglas does not work. Good luck on finding the area for the access. Left confused by the refusal to grant the second day discount based on birth year. That left my spouse unhappy even if it was 1942. Providing a printout sheet giving the map and directions to the A,B,C,D lines station at the desk would be a big help. Verbal directions do not work! The trains allowed us access to two sights: St. John the Divine Cathedral and the Hamilton Grange National Shrine. The hotel is mid way between the two -- 110th and 141st. Let your staff know what they are. What is SPG? Thank you. July 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as clean and comfortable as I was hoping for The rooms were far too hot to relax in, let alone sleep in (we were told, "That's normal, you're just trying to push the thermostats lower than they go," by the front desk staff), and there was hair inside our ice container, sinks, and refrigerator the moment we checked in. The staff was nice and efficient enough, but it always felt more like a party at the front desk than anything else. No one offered any real solutions, changes, or fixes, nor did they call any other staff/repair when we kindly informed them of our numerous dissatisfactions. All of this struck me as unprofessional. It's a cute place, though, with nice decor and facilities/amenities. If you get one of the lower rates, try it out, but I won't be coming back at any rate, especially not the ones that float around 200/night. March 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, Urban, Trendy, Youthful Vibe Based on the website and reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay at Aloft Harlem and it did not disappoint. Although the hotel lobby and bar area was a lot smaller than I expected, I really appreciated the decor, vibe and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located in close proximity to many of the things I enjoy about Harlem, like the shopping and restaurants and I loved coming down to the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to a cool party vibe with a DJ and lots of people. Even if I were the type of person that wasn't into that, Aloft is still a great place to stay, the noise from the lobby and bar does not reach the guestrooms, so one could sleep undisturbed if they choose. Drinks were kinda high at the bar, so we chose to BYOB in our room, but other than that, it was a great experience. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Makes Aloft Harlem Increasingly Exceptional The Aloft Harlem's staff--in all positions----continues to make this hotel increasingly exceptional. The manager has created and fostered a miracle of teamwork at this property that genuinely welcomes guests. The property is extremely efficient, using space well. And it offers snacks of a wide variety (including healthy) that compensate for lack of a restaurant. Also, the staff fosters a great, friendly atmosphere that makes the public areas a caring, fascinating mini-United Nations! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by a nice aloft in manhattan Good: Sometimes it is nice to stay at a less staid location in Manhattan, and I think Aloft fits the bill well. Rooms are sufficient and the bar has a club-type feel. The continuity of music from the lobby to the elevators is amusing as well. Another pleasure is the location-specific cocktails, which, that we tasted, were enjoyable. If you enjoy Aloft, this one is a good one. Easy to transfer to LGA on the M60 from this location, as well. Bad: Staff completely ignored SPG membership benefits. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This hotel was near to my son's apartment, also near to other thing to so, just a short cab ride to museum, and plays. Nice walk to the park and good places to eat and shopping. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic location Great hotel experience. Martha at the front desk was especially kind and helpful. We will be back. One minor complaint: $9 for a draft beer in the bar seemed pretty high to me. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing visit We are usually very satisfied with the staff, service and accommodations at this Aloft. When we checked in on 10/18/13 and we were told that the first night of our stay had been billed to my credit card. When we went to our room (312) we found a brown stain on the carpet and the room was warm. We called the front desk and they sent and engineer to look at the AC. We were told that it would be repaired by the time that we returned for the evening. When we returned the room was very warm. The fan was blowing but the air was not cold. Finally on Saturday morning we called and the manager arranged for another room for us (206). She also offered to comp us for breakfast but we already had made plans. When we checked out the gentleman at the front desk had a difficult time explaining our bill to us. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel but too expensive I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel but after all of the taxes, it's pretty steep,.. August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed stay Odd placement of the lobby, one floor below. The outdoor area would be a great area, but needs a roof or awning, esp on heavy rainy days like the one when I had a stay here. My Aloft Smart Check-in cardkey did not work. I received a text in the afternoon with assigned room. When I got there the key would not work, front desk says that there is someone in there! I get a new text with another rm, key still will not work. Head down again for hotel keys! Ventilation seemed to be stuck on AC, not heat so had to be turned off. Breakfast, like other Alofts is great! Fresh and healthy food including made to order sandwiches. Front desk agent went out of her way to make it up, though never heard a peep from the GM or SPG re: the key issues. Central to mass transit (incl M60 bus from LGA) and well placed in Harlem. May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small, boutique type hotel. Seems to be in an old building that was converted to a hotel. Lobby is in the basement and the elevator to get down to the lobby was very small and dirty. Staff was very nice and friendly. Room on the 6th floor was extremely hot even with the heat turned off. Staff explained that the building's system, which they don't control, overrides the room thermostats when it reaches a certain temperature outside. Bar is very small with limited seating. Bar tenders were great!! Prices a bit high. No room to mingle and meet with your travel companions. Furnishings just seemed very cheap and unkept. Bed was very good. Got a good night's sleep each night, except for waking up due to the heat. If I had to go back to this exact area, I might consider staying there, but would not go out of my way to stay there. February 9, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only