Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missed the Mark I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times and have been happy. This time I was in room 310 . A room without a view. I could see the top of the lounge. This proved to be a problem for me. The vibrations from the lounge on Saturday night were so bad I could hear and feel them through the pillow so I got very little sleep on Saturday. I have to visit this area again next month but I will ask for a room away from the lounge. They now provide free bottles of water. One of the bottles had been opened by a prior guest. It took 4 hours and a visit to front desk for replacement water. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Big, modern rooms....but many broken items in the hotel rooms The room was quite big for NYC and it was great for a baby (we were able to put the baby in a separate area when she went to bed from where we were). Additionally, the hotel is pretty modern compared to other NYC hotels. On the negative, too many things were either broken or didn't work properly in the hotel. In our first room, the A/C didn't work so we had to switch rooms. Then in the second room, the shower handle fell off and we had to rig it back on. Finally, the door to the shower and toilet was stuck and would not close. Maintenance tried to fix it but was unable to. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience From the front desk staff, to the rooms, everything was fantastic. My closest friend lives around the corner so this the perfect location for me to experience Harlem. It's also only a few train stops into Times Square. The rooms were larger than normal for a NYC hotel and I thought that the amenities were great (gym, etc.). I will be back! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Wish We Lived at The Aloft Harlem! Four times a year my service dog and I spend four nights at The Aloft Harlem, and with each visit leaving to return home becomes more difficult. We wish we could afford to live there--not in the adjacent condos, but at the hotel itself! The staff team--including the manager, the front desk, the security guards, those who clean, those who maintain the snack and bar areas--is welcoming, kind, well-informed about the hotel and the area and the City. Transportation is excellent in the area. Great walking ares surround the hotel, as do fine and varied restaurants. The hotel is clean, safe, populated by guests from all over the world and all over the U.S. Guests quickly become valued guests, not anonymous faces. This may be Harlem's only hotel, but measured next to any fine hotel in the world, it is a superb hotel. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel but too expensive I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel but after all of the taxes, it's pretty steep,.. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice time The hotel is modern and clean. Subway was 2 blocks away and got us into SOHO and Midtown very conveniently. At the front desk, Rachel was extremly helpful and helped us find the subway. everyone there was very helpful. November 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This hotel was near to my son's apartment, also near to other thing to so, just a short cab ride to museum, and plays. Nice walk to the park and good places to eat and shopping. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic location Great hotel experience. Martha at the front desk was especially kind and helpful. We will be back. One minor complaint: $9 for a draft beer in the bar seemed pretty high to me. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden gem My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend for two nights. I really like the décor and interior design of everything in the hotel. I was surprised that Aloft meant that the rooms are modeled after aloft apartment. I was pleasantly surprised. I guess I use to more drawer space for my clothes. The showers were nice. I had to get use to the fact that the sliding door did not mask the sounds I made on the toilet.  Over all I was impressed with the experience. It is interesting that they decided to put a hotel on that street in Harlem. That is why I call it a hidden gem. It was close to the Subway and it is one block away from the M60 Bus line to the airport. I would recommend people to use this hotel. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel had very good energy This hotel had a very positive energy. The staff were very pleasant and made me feel very happy and youthful. The hotel was also immaculate August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rough Start, Great Stay After a 9 hour trip to Harlem, I could not have been more anxious to check-in and get some much needed rest. My check-in could not have been any more inconvenient and lacking in service. After a young lady began my check-in, she called over who she said was the manager to finish. I was a bit surprised to see who she called being that the lady who replied was leaned in the corner of the food area with a gentleman and was dressed in attire that was quite casual and certainly not to the professional standard that I would presume the Aloft to uphold. After much disagreement in the way in which I had booked my room (through central reservations) she finally gave me a key. This experience certainly does not represent the remainder of my stay. Even though the room was a bit small, it was still very comfortable and clean. The rest of the staff (front desk, security, and lounge) were extremely nice and helpful. The location of the hotel was exceptional and the amenities were up to par. Being a first time guest of the Starwood Chain I am a bit hesitant to book a stay again if other options are available, customer service is certainly a priority for me. Coming back to Harlem, I would absolutely stay again with the hope I won't receive a challenge upon arrival. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by charoltte nc1 hotel has all it needs to make your stay the most comfortable one. This Aloft was so quiet outside noise does not filter in. The only con was the dog! Hotel is too nice for it. unless it was a service dog. otherwise all was good very clean. Downstairs bar is what's happening. 3rd strip to New York. Next trip to New York, this hotel will be my choice to stay. Thanks Ms Williams and all the other hotel staff excellent job, The Johnson's Charlotte NC July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool and hip hotel! I stayed at the Aloft Harlem for four nights and just loved it! The minute I walked in the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel. I loved being away from the Times Square tourist crowd, and enjoyed what the neighborhood had to offer, including some excellent restaurants. It was very conveniently located for me, because I was visiting my daughter at Columbia U., which is walking distance from the hotel. The Aloft Harlem has a very approachable and friendly staff, a hip and funky atmosphere and decor, comfortable beds, gigantic showers, and the Bliss products (including shower gel and shampoo dispensers right in the shower stall) added to my feeling of contentment. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely go back. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a gem! Great location and a pleasant stay We had a very nice stay at Aloft Harlem! This hotel fell right in line with what we expected of Aloft. Perfect location and within walking distance and or a quick train ride to popular NYC and Harlem destinations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. A pleasant surprise was the size of the room: I expected a shoebox because it's in the heart of the city but the room was a nice size and very comfortable. I'd recommend this hotel to both friends and family. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and comfortable hotel in Harlem The Aloft Harlem Hotel is comfortable and centrally located. It was surprising how quiet our room was considering the hustle and bustle in the surrounding area. The great restaurants along Frederick Douglass Boulevard added to the convenience of the location. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by clean All of the staff at the front desk were excellent! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff treat us like family! The staff at the front desk are always welcoming and make us feel at home. We were only able to stay a few hours for this visit but we'll definitely be back! August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Across From Magic Johnson Theaters Great location. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Apollo Theater. Staff was very helpful. Didn't realize the WXYZ Lounge off the lobby was a local hangout. Lots of people and loud music, but we were on the 3rd floor, so I did not hear a thing. Well, I did hear the street traffic later that night, but nothing's perfect. Wished the bed was more comfortable and wish the heater/AC had an adjustable cover so you could direct the air/heat to the floor instead of it blowing right on you all through the night. January 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thanksgiving Stay Staff was very friendly and did everything they could do to make us feel comfortable. aloft is a bare bones property with no restaurant (I knew this before I went.) so it is what it is. It's nicely decorated in a minimalist hip style. they have a food bar where you can buy simple things for breakfast, ie. cereal, muffins, breads, coffee, wraps, drinks, etc. there's also a bar area and another area to sit. as i said, it's minimalist at it's best and worse. it is what it is. the beds are rather hard, sheets were a little rough and the down blankets were very heavy for both of us. the shower area was large enough for two with a very nice rainfall shower head, the water was sufficiently hot but I noticed there was less of it in the late evening hours. we liked the body gel dispenser in the shower stall but neither of us cared for the shampoo mixed with conditioner. towels were mid level quality. lighting controls for the room was sort of strange. if you got up in the night to use the bathroom and turn on the bathroom light, it would turn on the light to the entrance area also, which would shower light into the bedroom area. not a great design from that one perspective. also, with all the shelf area, you'd think there'd be outlets everywhere for your computer, phone, etc.. but there was one outlet underneath and one outlet on the shelf in a unit for plugging in other electronics. the tv was very nicely sized. i had one incident of a couple in another room near by the first night re-inacting an adult movie with all the verbiage. i was sound asleep and they were so loud yelling obscenities with each other that it woke me up at 2am from a sound sleep. i only hoped that it wouldn't awaken my 14 year old daughter. and i couldn't call to complain for fear of waking my daughter. after listening to this krapt for an hour, they finally finished their business and apparently left the hotel because i heard the door open and shut and there was no more sounds. thank god. i wondered if the hotel was being used for hourly patrons. I told the manager the next day and she was very apologetic about it. I'm sure the staff would have done something had I been able to call them when it was happening. but as i said, i was not in a position to call them. November 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gem in the city I enjoyed my stay at the Aloft in Harlem. I found this hotel thanks to a conference in the area. The room was great and I loved all the outlets to charge my mobile devices. My one gripe is that I called at least twice in the months before my arrival to request double beds for myself and my conference "roommate." I understood that the hotel only has about 12 of these kinds of rooms but I called to remind them of my request. On my last call, the person I spoke to told me that we could ask for a rollaway bed so that bunking together would not be an issue. When we checked in, we were informed that there are no rollaway beds in this hotel at all. So, I wound up sleeping in a king bed with someone I'd only met briefly twice before. We worked it out with no problem, but it would be best for your representatives to know the facilities. Nonetheless, we had a great stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay In NYC Quiet, comfortable room with clever use of space. I didn't discover the mini-fridge until the 2nd day, but was happy to see it. The beds are cozy, the shower is wonderful and the Bliss products smell great. I highly recommend this hotel. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was in a great location I enjoyed my stay. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff and beautiful rooms I travel several times per year and stay in a lot of different hotels. The staff here was by far the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. They were helpful without being intrusive; they responded to requests quickly; they truly cared about making you comfortable and happy. The rooms were spacious (especially for NYC), modern, and very clean. This hotel is very close to the subway (two blocks), so it's easy to reach the downtown attractions (particularly via the D line), despite its distance. The only issue was the elevator from the street to the hotel lobby was out of service for a couple of days, which is difficult for me with a mobility issue and a tendency to over pack. However, the staff again made sure I could get around and get my luggage to the street level. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, Urban, Trendy, Youthful Vibe Based on the website and reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay at Aloft Harlem and it did not disappoint. Although the hotel lobby and bar area was a lot smaller than I expected, I really appreciated the decor, vibe and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located in close proximity to many of the things I enjoy about Harlem, like the shopping and restaurants and I loved coming down to the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to a cool party vibe with a DJ and lots of people. Even if I were the type of person that wasn't into that, Aloft is still a great place to stay, the noise from the lobby and bar does not reach the guestrooms, so one could sleep undisturbed if they choose. Drinks were kinda high at the bar, so we chose to BYOB in our room, but other than that, it was a great experience. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Urban Chic The hotel was exactly as I expected after visiting the website. There were no surprises. It was clean, comfortable, and inviting. The concept fits its Harlem location perfectly. The decor was fun and refreshing. This hotel is undoubtably for people who need a relaxing place to come back to after a busy day in the city. I would definitely visit Aloft hotels again. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Makes Aloft Harlem Increasingly Exceptional The Aloft Harlem's staff--in all positions----continues to make this hotel increasingly exceptional. The manager has created and fostered a miracle of teamwork at this property that genuinely welcomes guests. The property is extremely efficient, using space well. And it offers snacks of a wide variety (including healthy) that compensate for lack of a restaurant. Also, the staff fosters a great, friendly atmosphere that makes the public areas a caring, fascinating mini-United Nations! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Automotive access is a problem. You have a problem that is no fault of your own. It needs correction by the addition of a parking facility or adjacent auto drop off / pickup area for access and egress to the hotel. Relying on the Frederick Douglas does not work. Good luck on finding the area for the access. Left confused by the refusal to grant the second day discount based on birth year. That left my spouse unhappy even if it was 1942. Providing a printout sheet giving the map and directions to the A,B,C,D lines station at the desk would be a big help. Verbal directions do not work! The trains allowed us access to two sights: St. John the Divine Cathedral and the Hamilton Grange National Shrine. The hotel is mid way between the two -- 110th and 141st. Let your staff know what they are. What is SPG? Thank you. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff I was warmly welcomed; given great information about maximizing my stay; when I had a question, the staff was very informed and helpful; the morning I checked out I was greeted by an energetic team of young ladies who clearly enjoy their jobs. They were friendly and courteous to each and every guest as well as to each other!! July 14, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only