Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 239 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Stay at Aloft I booked this hotel as it was close to everything I had to do but one HUGE problem was there was ZERO service in the hotel and the wifi didn't work well. Get to the room and screws are coming out of the door lock on the inside. the lobby had snow and water everywhere and myself and guests were slipping all over the place. The lights in the room were malfunctioning. the room was kind of cold (I chucked that up to the snow storm). the direct tv was not working...not the best idea to use satellite. The staff were unorganized ALTHOUGH there was a young man who was very helpful...he seemed to be working that whole weekend. December 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem While the room was clean and certainly adequate, there were a number of problems. The lighting situation is quite strange. There is one multiple switch plate. Nothing is labelled so if you get up in the night, you have to go to these switches and fumble around for the bathroom light. In out case, I repeatedly woke up my husband. All the lights went on. there is no switch in the bathroom. The shade on the window was broken and would not go up or down.The shower is a bit difficult as you must get all the way in to turn the water on and then it is difficult to avoid getting showered with cold water. no room service. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home Away From Home Aloft Harlem has become my home away from home, as its superior team of front-desk and floor personnel welcomes me by name and with spirit at the start of each visit and each time I re-enter the hotel or descend from my room to the lobby area. They are friendly yet professional. In addition to recommending local sites, they listen to my recommendations, which I appreciate. The rooms are small, but very well organized and appointed, and clean. Meanwhile, the lobby area is a small but great meeting area, also well organized. I so enjoy staying at the Aloft Harlem that I dislike leaving to return home! It is a wonderful place, mainly because it is staffed by wonderful people, -0- April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great space, Great location, Great value! Highly Recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York. Located in the heart of Harlem- Apollo theatre is just around the corner and it is two blocks to the 125th street subway station! Very safe area with the police station just across the street. Big rooms, especially in New York, with very helpful and friendly staff. The only complaints we had was that the WXYZ bar is open to the public so 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed there we were unable to stay in the lounge as they were having some private parties and it was full. We had to take our drinks and appetizers to our room. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay and will be staying with them again when we visit New York! August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room accommodations The staff at ALoft in Harlem were extremely wonderful. Your desk staff expecially Shondel (I am sure I am not spelling that correctly; she works days), Jennie, Jason and the lovely lady that provided the morning breakfast. All simply fabulous: And Purple too, the host at the WXYZ lounge. My only problem with the loft ( I was in room 409) was the location of the ventilation system which was located directly in front of the bed. The vents could not be redirected; hence cold air blew directly on the bed, which made sleeping difficult on the humind nights. As side from that, my stay was extremely enjoyable August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprising! GIven NYC's exhorbitant hotel rates, we were pleaantly surprised to get such a good value for the overall level of the facility, amenities, and staff attentiveness that this hotel provided. June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Big, modern rooms....but many broken items in the hotel rooms The room was quite big for NYC and it was great for a baby (we were able to put the baby in a separate area when she went to bed from where we were). Additionally, the hotel is pretty modern compared to other NYC hotels. On the negative, too many things were either broken or didn't work properly in the hotel. In our first room, the A/C didn't work so we had to switch rooms. Then in the second room, the shower handle fell off and we had to rig it back on. Finally, the door to the shower and toilet was stuck and would not close. Maintenance tried to fix it but was unable to. April 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A fun place to stay in Harlem This hotel is a great location from which to explore Harlem, Morningside Heights and northern Central Park. Beautiful parks and lots of history a short walk away, so we'll definitely be back! June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, Urban, Trendy, Youthful Vibe Based on the website and reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay at Aloft Harlem and it did not disappoint. Although the hotel lobby and bar area was a lot smaller than I expected, I really appreciated the decor, vibe and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located in close proximity to many of the things I enjoy about Harlem, like the shopping and restaurants and I loved coming down to the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to a cool party vibe with a DJ and lots of people. Even if I were the type of person that wasn't into that, Aloft is still a great place to stay, the noise from the lobby and bar does not reach the guestrooms, so one could sleep undisturbed if they choose. Drinks were kinda high at the bar, so we chose to BYOB in our room, but other than that, it was a great experience. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis An Oasis in the area, with few hotel choice. Large room & king bed (I'd prefer queen bed and sitting area). Yes as others noted, staff sometimes need to be engaged and a few seconds to figure out what you need, but then they are your BFF the rest of the stay. Walkable to three Express level subway stops, so get anywhere quickly. Walk-to restaurants are actually good (Lido, Tavern, others) and for NYC, OK pricing. May 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service The staff was very unwilling to respond to our needs for assistance during check in, even though there were about 5 hotel employees standing around chatting in the lobby. Even with pouring rain outside, I could not get help with my luggage or with valet parking (it is offered by the hotel). A call to the SPG line wasn't helpful in the least. I can't recommend this hotel and am disappointed with the response from the SPG customer service line. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice clean hotel Hotel ins't in the greatest neighborhood, but its clean, staff is very helpful and location is close to subway. I was working at lincoln center so commute wasn't too bad for me. Room was nice. Had a little trouble with cable, but once maitnence got it to work it was all good. Plus theres like million channels, which I've never seen at any other hotel. I took a too hot shower and the smoke alarm went off. That was a bit annoying. Cell service (I have verizon) was horrible inside the building. My room looked onto a brick building. I am platium member, so I would of hoped for a higher room and better view. Over all for the price ($189) this hotel is a nice spot. I will def be staying again. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience The hotel was more than what i expected. The ambience was energetic and had a sophisticated new york vibe. The location was awesome since the parking garage was literally a 30 second walk away, the 24 hour deli right next door was so convenient after a long club night. Shopping was one block away and the view of the magic johnson theater was from our window was nice. It was cool to be so close to so much history, with the apollo theater close by, harriet tubman memorial and all the restaurants. The room was clean and the staff was great. The bar was energetic and the music and drinks were good. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its a fine hotel but nothing special I read reviews of this hotel thinking it was this star among the rough and it wasn't. It was what I could classify as a basic Aloft. The rooms are OK, the bar wasn't hopping as touted and there was nothing that stood out. It was a great deal for being IN Manhattan but nothing special. What was more disappointing was that at 1030p I asked where to go grab a bite and was informed that most places close around 11pm - in NYC! So I was sent to a place that had so-so food and really, wasn't all that great. I would say the location is OK at best but expect a good cab ride to get midtown for what is considered a more accustomed NYC experience or business trips. It is however SUPER easy to get to LGA. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff Ever! Due to an apartment emergency, I had little time to find a reasonable last-minute rate and a hotel that accepted dogs. Aside from the great fact that Aloft doesn't charge a pet fee, the staff couldn't have made us feel more at home from the minute we walked through the door. The 5-star hotels I've stayed at have never given me such personalized attention. They greeted me (and my dog) by name every time we came back to our temporary "home". The rooms were very cool (no views but oh well you can't have everything!) and the common areas are a great place to chill out with your laptop. During these times when travel is so painful, it's great to see a hotel company that gets it! Keep up the great work! September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem's Staff Forms a Great Team The staff members at the heart of The Aloft Harlem form a superb team of professionals able to juggle their many tasks while emanating kindness, concern, and helpfulness to guests. After only three years, this busy hotel needs a little cosmetic work, but the rooms and public areas are pristine. Most important is the people factor. This is a rare place where guests from all over the world feel safe speaking--connecting---with each other, a sort of UN or International House of peaceful and fascinating adults. And that element of Aloft Harlem is fomented by its excellent staff members. November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed stay Odd placement of the lobby, one floor below. The outdoor area would be a great area, but needs a roof or awning, esp on heavy rainy days like the one when I had a stay here. My Aloft Smart Check-in cardkey did not work. I received a text in the afternoon with assigned room. When I got there the key would not work, front desk says that there is someone in there! I get a new text with another rm, key still will not work. Head down again for hotel keys! Ventilation seemed to be stuck on AC, not heat so had to be turned off. Breakfast, like other Alofts is great! Fresh and healthy food including made to order sandwiches. Front desk agent went out of her way to make it up, though never heard a peep from the GM or SPG re: the key issues. Central to mass transit (incl M60 bus from LGA) and well placed in Harlem. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Makes Aloft Harlem Increasingly Exceptional The Aloft Harlem's staff--in all positions----continues to make this hotel increasingly exceptional. The manager has created and fostered a miracle of teamwork at this property that genuinely welcomes guests. The property is extremely efficient, using space well. And it offers snacks of a wide variety (including healthy) that compensate for lack of a restaurant. Also, the staff fosters a great, friendly atmosphere that makes the public areas a caring, fascinating mini-United Nations! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missed the Mark I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times and have been happy. This time I was in room 310 . A room without a view. I could see the top of the lounge. This proved to be a problem for me. The vibrations from the lounge on Saturday night were so bad I could hear and feel them through the pillow so I got very little sleep on Saturday. I have to visit this area again next month but I will ask for a room away from the lounge. They now provide free bottles of water. One of the bottles had been opened by a prior guest. It took 4 hours and a visit to front desk for replacement water. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice time The hotel is modern and clean. Subway was 2 blocks away and got us into SOHO and Midtown very conveniently. At the front desk, Rachel was extremly helpful and helped us find the subway. everyone there was very helpful. November 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden gem My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend for two nights. I really like the décor and interior design of everything in the hotel. I was surprised that Aloft meant that the rooms are modeled after aloft apartment. I was pleasantly surprised. I guess I use to more drawer space for my clothes. The showers were nice. I had to get use to the fact that the sliding door did not mask the sounds I made on the toilet.  Over all I was impressed with the experience. It is interesting that they decided to put a hotel on that street in Harlem. That is why I call it a hidden gem. It was close to the Subway and it is one block away from the M60 Bus line to the airport. I would recommend people to use this hotel. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good hotel The hotel met our needs however the air conditioning did not work properly and the staff was somewhat unfriendly. Other than that, it's a good place to stay overnight. May 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool and hip hotel! I stayed at the Aloft Harlem for four nights and just loved it! The minute I walked in the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel. I loved being away from the Times Square tourist crowd, and enjoyed what the neighborhood had to offer, including some excellent restaurants. It was very conveniently located for me, because I was visiting my daughter at Columbia U., which is walking distance from the hotel. The Aloft Harlem has a very approachable and friendly staff, a hip and funky atmosphere and decor, comfortable beds, gigantic showers, and the Bliss products (including shower gel and shampoo dispensers right in the shower stall) added to my feeling of contentment. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely go back. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Harlem welcome! My wife and I were visiting our son in NYC and the Aloft Harlem was the closest hotel to where he lives. We found the Aloft to be the perfect place to stay and are already making plans to stay there again. The hotel was very nice and the staff was cordial and helpful. The close proximity to the metro system was a great benefit. We loved being able to walk and run in Central Park (easy walk from hotel) with our son. Would highly recommend the Aloft to anyone staying in NYC. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is in a great location. This hotel is in a great location with access to parking if you are driving, subway station and much more. May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet/Human Friendly I love the set-up and the ease of checking-in with my kitty. Only issue was confusion about valet service. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Across From Magic Johnson Theaters Great location. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Apollo Theater. Staff was very helpful. Didn't realize the WXYZ Lounge off the lobby was a local hangout. Lots of people and loud music, but we were on the 3rd floor, so I did not hear a thing. Well, I did hear the street traffic later that night, but nothing's perfect. Wished the bed was more comfortable and wish the heater/AC had an adjustable cover so you could direct the air/heat to the floor instead of it blowing right on you all through the night. January 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thanksgiving Stay Staff was very friendly and did everything they could do to make us feel comfortable. aloft is a bare bones property with no restaurant (I knew this before I went.) so it is what it is. It's nicely decorated in a minimalist hip style. they have a food bar where you can buy simple things for breakfast, ie. cereal, muffins, breads, coffee, wraps, drinks, etc. there's also a bar area and another area to sit. as i said, it's minimalist at it's best and worse. it is what it is. the beds are rather hard, sheets were a little rough and the down blankets were very heavy for both of us. the shower area was large enough for two with a very nice rainfall shower head, the water was sufficiently hot but I noticed there was less of it in the late evening hours. we liked the body gel dispenser in the shower stall but neither of us cared for the shampoo mixed with conditioner. towels were mid level quality. lighting controls for the room was sort of strange. if you got up in the night to use the bathroom and turn on the bathroom light, it would turn on the light to the entrance area also, which would shower light into the bedroom area. not a great design from that one perspective. also, with all the shelf area, you'd think there'd be outlets everywhere for your computer, phone, etc.. but there was one outlet underneath and one outlet on the shelf in a unit for plugging in other electronics. the tv was very nicely sized. i had one incident of a couple in another room near by the first night re-inacting an adult movie with all the verbiage. i was sound asleep and they were so loud yelling obscenities with each other that it woke me up at 2am from a sound sleep. i only hoped that it wouldn't awaken my 14 year old daughter. and i couldn't call to complain for fear of waking my daughter. after listening to this krapt for an hour, they finally finished their business and apparently left the hotel because i heard the door open and shut and there was no more sounds. thank god. i wondered if the hotel was being used for hourly patrons. I told the manager the next day and she was very apologetic about it. I'm sure the staff would have done something had I been able to call them when it was happening. but as i said, i was not in a position to call them. November 27, 2011
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only