Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 222 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice clean hotel Hotel ins't in the greatest neighborhood, but its clean, staff is very helpful and location is close to subway. I was working at lincoln center so commute wasn't too bad for me. Room was nice. Had a little trouble with cable, but once maitnence got it to work it was all good. Plus theres like million channels, which I've never seen at any other hotel. I took a too hot shower and the smoke alarm went off. That was a bit annoying. Cell service (I have verizon) was horrible inside the building. My room looked onto a brick building. I am platium member, so I would of hoped for a higher room and better view. Over all for the price ($189) this hotel is a nice spot. I will def be staying again. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience The hotel was more than what i expected. The ambience was energetic and had a sophisticated new york vibe. The location was awesome since the parking garage was literally a 30 second walk away, the 24 hour deli right next door was so convenient after a long club night. Shopping was one block away and the view of the magic johnson theater was from our window was nice. It was cool to be so close to so much history, with the apollo theater close by, harriet tubman memorial and all the restaurants. The room was clean and the staff was great. The bar was energetic and the music and drinks were good. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its a fine hotel but nothing special I read reviews of this hotel thinking it was this star among the rough and it wasn't. It was what I could classify as a basic Aloft. The rooms are OK, the bar wasn't hopping as touted and there was nothing that stood out. It was a great deal for being IN Manhattan but nothing special. What was more disappointing was that at 1030p I asked where to go grab a bite and was informed that most places close around 11pm - in NYC! So I was sent to a place that had so-so food and really, wasn't all that great. I would say the location is OK at best but expect a good cab ride to get midtown for what is considered a more accustomed NYC experience or business trips. It is however SUPER easy to get to LGA. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great alternative to ... If you don't mind a little off the beaten path, hotel is well maintained, staff is great & helpful. Just a short MTA ride (take the "A" or "D" express. But for that minor inconvenience, you get a great rate. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem's Staff Forms a Great Team The staff members at the heart of The Aloft Harlem form a superb team of professionals able to juggle their many tasks while emanating kindness, concern, and helpfulness to guests. After only three years, this busy hotel needs a little cosmetic work, but the rooms and public areas are pristine. Most important is the people factor. This is a rare place where guests from all over the world feel safe speaking--connecting---with each other, a sort of UN or International House of peaceful and fascinating adults. And that element of Aloft Harlem is fomented by its excellent staff members. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff Ever! Due to an apartment emergency, I had little time to find a reasonable last-minute rate and a hotel that accepted dogs. Aside from the great fact that Aloft doesn't charge a pet fee, the staff couldn't have made us feel more at home from the minute we walked through the door. The 5-star hotels I've stayed at have never given me such personalized attention. They greeted me (and my dog) by name every time we came back to our temporary "home". The rooms were very cool (no views but oh well you can't have everything!) and the common areas are a great place to chill out with your laptop. During these times when travel is so painful, it's great to see a hotel company that gets it! Keep up the great work! September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Harlem welcome! My wife and I were visiting our son in NYC and the Aloft Harlem was the closest hotel to where he lives. We found the Aloft to be the perfect place to stay and are already making plans to stay there again. The hotel was very nice and the staff was cordial and helpful. The close proximity to the metro system was a great benefit. We loved being able to walk and run in Central Park (easy walk from hotel) with our son. Would highly recommend the Aloft to anyone staying in NYC. March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missed the Mark I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times and have been happy. This time I was in room 310 . A room without a view. I could see the top of the lounge. This proved to be a problem for me. The vibrations from the lounge on Saturday night were so bad I could hear and feel them through the pillow so I got very little sleep on Saturday. I have to visit this area again next month but I will ask for a room away from the lounge. They now provide free bottles of water. One of the bottles had been opened by a prior guest. It took 4 hours and a visit to front desk for replacement water. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, helpful staff, MINOR problem Nice comfortable room. Good firm mattress. Very pleasant and helpful staff! Recommended a very nice restaurant. Two minor problems: 1. In the room, the creamer for the morning coffee had gone bad. I should have looked before I poured it in the coffee. The 2nd container of creamer was so far gone it would not even pour out of the container. I think the use by date was early February. 2. The elevator's "DOWN" button was missing, so I pushed the innards March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice time The hotel is modern and clean. Subway was 2 blocks away and got us into SOHO and Midtown very conveniently. At the front desk, Rachel was extremly helpful and helped us find the subway. everyone there was very helpful. November 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! We arrived early, and the staff was not only expecting us, but made a point of helping us be comfortable, getting us into a room quickly. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden gem My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend for two nights. I really like the décor and interior design of everything in the hotel. I was surprised that Aloft meant that the rooms are modeled after aloft apartment. I was pleasantly surprised. I guess I use to more drawer space for my clothes. The showers were nice. I had to get use to the fact that the sliding door did not mask the sounds I made on the toilet.  Over all I was impressed with the experience. It is interesting that they decided to put a hotel on that street in Harlem. That is why I call it a hidden gem. It was close to the Subway and it is one block away from the M60 Bus line to the airport. I would recommend people to use this hotel. August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I Love Your Staff Polite, courteous, knowledgeable and extremely helpful,, you've selected your Aloft Harlem staff with care -and it shows. I look forward to my return visit. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location is perfect We wanted to experience Harlem and Time Square. This location gave us both. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool and hip hotel! I stayed at the Aloft Harlem for four nights and just loved it! The minute I walked in the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel. I loved being away from the Times Square tourist crowd, and enjoyed what the neighborhood had to offer, including some excellent restaurants. It was very conveniently located for me, because I was visiting my daughter at Columbia U., which is walking distance from the hotel. The Aloft Harlem has a very approachable and friendly staff, a hip and funky atmosphere and decor, comfortable beds, gigantic showers, and the Bliss products (including shower gel and shampoo dispensers right in the shower stall) added to my feeling of contentment. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely go back. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warm & efficient staff!! My daughter & I had a really lovely stay at Aloft Harlem. The staff was just wonderful: friendly, competent, engaging & welcoming. I look forward to making Aloft my hotel of choice in the future. Interestingly, my daughter reminded me that we had a wonderful experience at Aloft in Prague in ''11. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Across From Magic Johnson Theaters Great location. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Apollo Theater. Staff was very helpful. Didn't realize the WXYZ Lounge off the lobby was a local hangout. Lots of people and loud music, but we were on the 3rd floor, so I did not hear a thing. Well, I did hear the street traffic later that night, but nothing's perfect. Wished the bed was more comfortable and wish the heater/AC had an adjustable cover so you could direct the air/heat to the floor instead of it blowing right on you all through the night. January 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thanksgiving Stay Staff was very friendly and did everything they could do to make us feel comfortable. aloft is a bare bones property with no restaurant (I knew this before I went.) so it is what it is. It's nicely decorated in a minimalist hip style. they have a food bar where you can buy simple things for breakfast, ie. cereal, muffins, breads, coffee, wraps, drinks, etc. there's also a bar area and another area to sit. as i said, it's minimalist at it's best and worse. it is what it is. the beds are rather hard, sheets were a little rough and the down blankets were very heavy for both of us. the shower area was large enough for two with a very nice rainfall shower head, the water was sufficiently hot but I noticed there was less of it in the late evening hours. we liked the body gel dispenser in the shower stall but neither of us cared for the shampoo mixed with conditioner. towels were mid level quality. lighting controls for the room was sort of strange. if you got up in the night to use the bathroom and turn on the bathroom light, it would turn on the light to the entrance area also, which would shower light into the bedroom area. not a great design from that one perspective. also, with all the shelf area, you'd think there'd be outlets everywhere for your computer, phone, etc.. but there was one outlet underneath and one outlet on the shelf in a unit for plugging in other electronics. the tv was very nicely sized. i had one incident of a couple in another room near by the first night re-inacting an adult movie with all the verbiage. i was sound asleep and they were so loud yelling obscenities with each other that it woke me up at 2am from a sound sleep. i only hoped that it wouldn't awaken my 14 year old daughter. and i couldn't call to complain for fear of waking my daughter. after listening to this krapt for an hour, they finally finished their business and apparently left the hotel because i heard the door open and shut and there was no more sounds. thank god. i wondered if the hotel was being used for hourly patrons. I told the manager the next day and she was very apologetic about it. I'm sure the staff would have done something had I been able to call them when it was happening. but as i said, i was not in a position to call them. November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff and beautiful rooms I travel several times per year and stay in a lot of different hotels. The staff here was by far the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. They were helpful without being intrusive; they responded to requests quickly; they truly cared about making you comfortable and happy. The rooms were spacious (especially for NYC), modern, and very clean. This hotel is very close to the subway (two blocks), so it's easy to reach the downtown attractions (particularly via the D line), despite its distance. The only issue was the elevator from the street to the hotel lobby was out of service for a couple of days, which is difficult for me with a mobility issue and a tendency to over pack. However, the staff again made sure I could get around and get my luggage to the street level. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Welcomed Delight Stumbled upon this hotel and so glad I did. It's a gem nestled in Harlem, walking distance to the subway, fabulous food, and the historic Apollo Theater. Staff is gracious, welcoming, and helpful. The smallness of my room was offset by its wonderful use of minimal space resulting in comfort. ALoft Harlem now tops my list of places to stay while in NYC. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still the best in the area I stayed at this ALoft shortly after it opened. It is beginning to show it age at this point. The wall vinyl was damaged in places, the backlight on the clock did not function, touch ups of tile base were poorly done, but most noticably the grout on the floor was dirty and grey. The master electric wall switch shuts off the plug for the phone charger along with evertthing else except the TV. The location is unique and convenient to my relatives. I wouls stay there again. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Things have gotten better My first experience with this hotel was in July of 2012. I was slightly disappointed by the attitudes of the staff, and the elevator wasn't work. Fast Forward to March 2014 and everything is the exact opposite. The staff was friendly and attentive, and everything was in working order. If you're in Harlem it's a great place to stay and close to restaurants and the subway. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Automotive access is a problem. You have a problem that is no fault of your own. It needs correction by the addition of a parking facility or adjacent auto drop off / pickup area for access and egress to the hotel. Relying on the Frederick Douglas does not work. Good luck on finding the area for the access. Left confused by the refusal to grant the second day discount based on birth year. That left my spouse unhappy even if it was 1942. Providing a printout sheet giving the map and directions to the A,B,C,D lines station at the desk would be a big help. Verbal directions do not work! The trains allowed us access to two sights: St. John the Divine Cathedral and the Hamilton Grange National Shrine. The hotel is mid way between the two -- 110th and 141st. Let your staff know what they are. What is SPG? Thank you. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really an unexpected pleasure. I don't go to NY often and was visiting a friend just one night who lives in Harlem. She recommended this hotel. It was perfect. Very clean and close to the train. Breakfast was a treat. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay I am a SPG member- first time staying in Aloft. I had a wonderful stay! The staff was very attentive and addressed all of my needs. The hotel was easily accessible to subway stops, laguardia and local attractions. As a tea drinker, I loved the complimentary coffee and tea especially with the cold weather! I will definitely stay at the Aloft Harlem when in New York and will look for other Aloft properties when traveling! Thanks for a great stay!!! February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Visiting Clolumbia You wont regret staying here. We truly had no idea what to expect except for reading others reviews. Our experiences exceeded all anticipations! Rooms were clean and well maintains, the bar was funky and fun, and the staff was amazing!!!! Truly the staff was among the most attentive and nice ever!! Great local food....try The Kitchenette Uptown for an wonderful breakfast and don't miss Chocolat for lunch or dinner....simply amazing! February 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as clean and comfortable as I was hoping for The rooms were far too hot to relax in, let alone sleep in (we were told, "That's normal, you're just trying to push the thermostats lower than they go," by the front desk staff), and there was hair inside our ice container, sinks, and refrigerator the moment we checked in. The staff was nice and efficient enough, but it always felt more like a party at the front desk than anything else. No one offered any real solutions, changes, or fixes, nor did they call any other staff/repair when we kindly informed them of our numerous dissatisfactions. All of this struck me as unprofessional. It's a cute place, though, with nice decor and facilities/amenities. If you get one of the lower rates, try it out, but I won't be coming back at any rate, especially not the ones that float around 200/night. March 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing visit We are usually very satisfied with the staff, service and accommodations at this Aloft. When we checked in on 10/18/13 and we were told that the first night of our stay had been billed to my credit card. When we went to our room (312) we found a brown stain on the carpet and the room was warm. We called the front desk and they sent and engineer to look at the AC. We were told that it would be repaired by the time that we returned for the evening. When we returned the room was very warm. The fan was blowing but the air was not cold. Finally on Saturday morning we called and the manager arranged for another room for us (206). She also offered to comp us for breakfast but we already had made plans. When we checked out the gentleman at the front desk had a difficult time explaining our bill to us. October 21, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only