Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a gem! Great location and a pleasant stay We had a very nice stay at Aloft Harlem! This hotel fell right in line with what we expected of Aloft. Perfect location and within walking distance and or a quick train ride to popular NYC and Harlem destinations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. A pleasant surprise was the size of the room: I expected a shoebox because it's in the heart of the city but the room was a nice size and very comfortable. I'd recommend this hotel to both friends and family. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice clean hotel Hotel ins't in the greatest neighborhood, but its clean, staff is very helpful and location is close to subway. I was working at lincoln center so commute wasn't too bad for me. Room was nice. Had a little trouble with cable, but once maitnence got it to work it was all good. Plus theres like million channels, which I've never seen at any other hotel. I took a too hot shower and the smoke alarm went off. That was a bit annoying. Cell service (I have verizon) was horrible inside the building. My room looked onto a brick building. I am platium member, so I would of hoped for a higher room and better view. Over all for the price ($189) this hotel is a nice spot. I will def be staying again. September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location with very friendly staff We booked this hotel with hurry. The location is perfect for spending several days in NYC and the staff are very nice. Will go back again. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience The hotel was more than what i expected. The ambience was energetic and had a sophisticated new york vibe. The location was awesome since the parking garage was literally a 30 second walk away, the 24 hour deli right next door was so convenient after a long club night. Shopping was one block away and the view of the magic johnson theater was from our window was nice. It was cool to be so close to so much history, with the apollo theater close by, harriet tubman memorial and all the restaurants. The room was clean and the staff was great. The bar was energetic and the music and drinks were good. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff I was warmly welcomed; given great information about maximizing my stay; when I had a question, the staff was very informed and helpful; the morning I checked out I was greeted by an energetic team of young ladies who clearly enjoy their jobs. They were friendly and courteous to each and every guest as well as to each other!! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel is real cozy The Hotel was nice, I liked the wxyz lounge, the rooms were compact but cozy. I would stay again. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its a fine hotel but nothing special I read reviews of this hotel thinking it was this star among the rough and it wasn't. It was what I could classify as a basic Aloft. The rooms are OK, the bar wasn't hopping as touted and there was nothing that stood out. It was a great deal for being IN Manhattan but nothing special. What was more disappointing was that at 1030p I asked where to go grab a bite and was informed that most places close around 11pm - in NYC! So I was sent to a place that had so-so food and really, wasn't all that great. I would say the location is OK at best but expect a good cab ride to get midtown for what is considered a more accustomed NYC experience or business trips. It is however SUPER easy to get to LGA. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Urban Chic The hotel was exactly as I expected after visiting the website. There were no surprises. It was clean, comfortable, and inviting. The concept fits its Harlem location perfectly. The decor was fun and refreshing. This hotel is undoubtably for people who need a relaxing place to come back to after a busy day in the city. I would definitely visit Aloft hotels again. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Big, modern rooms....but many broken items in the hotel rooms The room was quite big for NYC and it was great for a baby (we were able to put the baby in a separate area when she went to bed from where we were). Additionally, the hotel is pretty modern compared to other NYC hotels. On the negative, too many things were either broken or didn't work properly in the hotel. In our first room, the A/C didn't work so we had to switch rooms. Then in the second room, the shower handle fell off and we had to rig it back on. Finally, the door to the shower and toilet was stuck and would not close. Maintenance tried to fix it but was unable to. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Staff Ever! Due to an apartment emergency, I had little time to find a reasonable last-minute rate and a hotel that accepted dogs. Aside from the great fact that Aloft doesn't charge a pet fee, the staff couldn't have made us feel more at home from the minute we walked through the door. The 5-star hotels I've stayed at have never given me such personalized attention. They greeted me (and my dog) by name every time we came back to our temporary "home". The rooms were very cool (no views but oh well you can't have everything!) and the common areas are a great place to chill out with your laptop. During these times when travel is so painful, it's great to see a hotel company that gets it! Keep up the great work! September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem's Staff Forms a Great Team The staff members at the heart of The Aloft Harlem form a superb team of professionals able to juggle their many tasks while emanating kindness, concern, and helpfulness to guests. After only three years, this busy hotel needs a little cosmetic work, but the rooms and public areas are pristine. Most important is the people factor. This is a rare place where guests from all over the world feel safe speaking--connecting---with each other, a sort of UN or International House of peaceful and fascinating adults. And that element of Aloft Harlem is fomented by its excellent staff members. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gem in the city I enjoyed my stay at the Aloft in Harlem. I found this hotel thanks to a conference in the area. The room was great and I loved all the outlets to charge my mobile devices. My one gripe is that I called at least twice in the months before my arrival to request double beds for myself and my conference "roommate." I understood that the hotel only has about 12 of these kinds of rooms but I called to remind them of my request. On my last call, the person I spoke to told me that we could ask for a rollaway bed so that bunking together would not be an issue. When we checked in, we were informed that there are no rollaway beds in this hotel at all. So, I wound up sleeping in a king bed with someone I'd only met briefly twice before. We worked it out with no problem, but it would be best for your representatives to know the facilities. Nonetheless, we had a great stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Missed the Mark I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times and have been happy. This time I was in room 310 . A room without a view. I could see the top of the lounge. This proved to be a problem for me. The vibrations from the lounge on Saturday night were so bad I could hear and feel them through the pillow so I got very little sleep on Saturday. I have to visit this area again next month but I will ask for a room away from the lounge. They now provide free bottles of water. One of the bottles had been opened by a prior guest. It took 4 hours and a visit to front desk for replacement water. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good price, rooms need to be cleaned up Great price for a room in Manhattan. In a great area of Harlem with restaurants and easy subway access. Quality of rooms needs some work -- the furniture in my room was a bit banged up, the A/C unit needed maintenance, and the carpeting and wallpaper had noticeable stains. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We loved this hotel Everything was perfect. The room fantastic, the staff could not have been more charming and helpful. The place was stylish, but wirh a relaxed and hip vibe. The neighborhood, clean, intersting with great restaurants, cafes, and music venues. We will definately be satying there again. Thank you for a fabulous 3 days July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great base for exploring northern Manhattan Being in downtown Harlem, there are lots of incredible restaurants nearby. Four relaxing parks are a short walk from the hotel, and the subway is only a block away if you want to venture further. The staff were very friendly - we'll definitely be back! July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such wonderful, friendly people working here! I am pleased to recommend Aloft in Harlem, NY. The people who work there were wonderfully helpful to me, a non-city-savvy person! Whatever we needed, be it a cab, directions or some simple reassurance, the staff was right there to help out. The hotel itself is nicely equipped, comfortable and convenient. Nothing but rave reviews. Thanks for making my city stay so stress-free! July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to staty in Harlem The hotel was clean and modern and quiet. I would definitely recommend it. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel - check plugs before you charge your devices problem with TV hdmi input and power outlets July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice time The hotel is modern and clean. Subway was 2 blocks away and got us into SOHO and Midtown very conveniently. At the front desk, Rachel was extremly helpful and helped us find the subway. everyone there was very helpful. November 16, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden gem My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend for two nights. I really like the décor and interior design of everything in the hotel. I was surprised that Aloft meant that the rooms are modeled after aloft apartment. I was pleasantly surprised. I guess I use to more drawer space for my clothes. The showers were nice. I had to get use to the fact that the sliding door did not mask the sounds I made on the toilet.  Over all I was impressed with the experience. It is interesting that they decided to put a hotel on that street in Harlem. That is why I call it a hidden gem. It was close to the Subway and it is one block away from the M60 Bus line to the airport. I would recommend people to use this hotel. August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool and hip hotel! I stayed at the Aloft Harlem for four nights and just loved it! The minute I walked in the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel. I loved being away from the Times Square tourist crowd, and enjoyed what the neighborhood had to offer, including some excellent restaurants. It was very conveniently located for me, because I was visiting my daughter at Columbia U., which is walking distance from the hotel. The Aloft Harlem has a very approachable and friendly staff, a hip and funky atmosphere and decor, comfortable beds, gigantic showers, and the Bliss products (including shower gel and shampoo dispensers right in the shower stall) added to my feeling of contentment. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely go back. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'll be back! Great hotel, very cool vibe. I haven't been to New York since 2006 and this made me wanna stay. ALL of the staff were great and Estella who was room service staff was lovely. Love love love Harlem ! Like I said I'll be back! July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, Urban, Trendy, Youthful Vibe Based on the website and reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay at Aloft Harlem and it did not disappoint. Although the hotel lobby and bar area was a lot smaller than I expected, I really appreciated the decor, vibe and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located in close proximity to many of the things I enjoy about Harlem, like the shopping and restaurants and I loved coming down to the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to a cool party vibe with a DJ and lots of people. Even if I were the type of person that wasn't into that, Aloft is still a great place to stay, the noise from the lobby and bar does not reach the guestrooms, so one could sleep undisturbed if they choose. Drinks were kinda high at the bar, so we chose to BYOB in our room, but other than that, it was a great experience. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Makes Aloft Harlem Increasingly Exceptional The Aloft Harlem's staff--in all positions----continues to make this hotel increasingly exceptional. The manager has created and fostered a miracle of teamwork at this property that genuinely welcomes guests. The property is extremely efficient, using space well. And it offers snacks of a wide variety (including healthy) that compensate for lack of a restaurant. Also, the staff fosters a great, friendly atmosphere that makes the public areas a caring, fascinating mini-United Nations! May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed stay Odd placement of the lobby, one floor below. The outdoor area would be a great area, but needs a roof or awning, esp on heavy rainy days like the one when I had a stay here. My Aloft Smart Check-in cardkey did not work. I received a text in the afternoon with assigned room. When I got there the key would not work, front desk says that there is someone in there! I get a new text with another rm, key still will not work. Head down again for hotel keys! Ventilation seemed to be stuck on AC, not heat so had to be turned off. Breakfast, like other Alofts is great! Fresh and healthy food including made to order sandwiches. Front desk agent went out of her way to make it up, though never heard a peep from the GM or SPG re: the key issues. Central to mass transit (incl M60 bus from LGA) and well placed in Harlem. May 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service The staff was very unwilling to respond to our needs for assistance during check in, even though there were about 5 hotel employees standing around chatting in the lobby. Even with pouring rain outside, I could not get help with my luggage or with valet parking (it is offered by the hotel). A call to the SPG line wasn't helpful in the least. I can't recommend this hotel and am disappointed with the response from the SPG customer service line. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Across From Magic Johnson Theaters Great location. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Apollo Theater. Staff was very helpful. Didn't realize the WXYZ Lounge off the lobby was a local hangout. Lots of people and loud music, but we were on the 3rd floor, so I did not hear a thing. Well, I did hear the street traffic later that night, but nothing's perfect. Wished the bed was more comfortable and wish the heater/AC had an adjustable cover so you could direct the air/heat to the floor instead of it blowing right on you all through the night. January 20, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only