Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 272 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location reasonnably prices good value. This was my 4th stay at the Aloft in Harlem. I like the modern amenities as well as the bar in the lobby. The area is great and so many restaurants nearby are excellent. My room was very quiet with good light although facing a wall on one side. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jazzman The staff were excellent they were all so very helpful!! Anything that we needed was made available. I travel a lot and whenever possible I will definitely stay at an Aloft the staff at the Harlem site has made me a believer in a small boutique hotel. We felt so at home next time we will stay a month right at this site. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Harlem Location The Aloft Harlem is conveniently located for access to the New York metro bus and subway system. Lively up and coming neighborhood with intimate restaurants. Quiet, tasteful European-style rooms. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends. November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even my picky sister said she'd be back! Great location off the beaten track, and very convenient to subway. Loved the diversity, the neighborhood feel and all the up and coming specialty foods/shops in the area. Staff was gracious enough to find us a church for Sunday Mass and which was a like a museum trip in it self. We loved our stay, please keep up the good work. October 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Across From Magic Johnson Theaters Great location. Very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the Apollo Theater. Staff was very helpful. Didn't realize the WXYZ Lounge off the lobby was a local hangout. Lots of people and loud music, but we were on the 3rd floor, so I did not hear a thing. Well, I did hear the street traffic later that night, but nothing's perfect. Wished the bed was more comfortable and wish the heater/AC had an adjustable cover so you could direct the air/heat to the floor instead of it blowing right on you all through the night. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Wonderful Stay I have been to NYC a number of times and this was my first visit to Aloft Harlem. I was a bit hesitant with booking at a different hotel than my usual, different location etc. and I did have a few queries with respect to safety and convenience/proximity to various areas of Manhattan. I couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the hotel, room, service and location. The room was spotless, comfortable and acted as an oasis after a very full day of enjoying the city with my husband and two children. The staff was extremely helpful, very courteous and the Aloft environment was relaxed and modern. The hotel is convenient to the subway and the neighbourhood is full of great culture and great energy. Wifi was a bit slow but overall....a great experience. Would not hesitate to go back. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thanksgiving Stay Staff was very friendly and did everything they could do to make us feel comfortable. aloft is a bare bones property with no restaurant (I knew this before I went.) so it is what it is. It's nicely decorated in a minimalist hip style. they have a food bar where you can buy simple things for breakfast, ie. cereal, muffins, breads, coffee, wraps, drinks, etc. there's also a bar area and another area to sit. as i said, it's minimalist at it's best and worse. it is what it is. the beds are rather hard, sheets were a little rough and the down blankets were very heavy for both of us. the shower area was large enough for two with a very nice rainfall shower head, the water was sufficiently hot but I noticed there was less of it in the late evening hours. we liked the body gel dispenser in the shower stall but neither of us cared for the shampoo mixed with conditioner. towels were mid level quality. lighting controls for the room was sort of strange. if you got up in the night to use the bathroom and turn on the bathroom light, it would turn on the light to the entrance area also, which would shower light into the bedroom area. not a great design from that one perspective. also, with all the shelf area, you'd think there'd be outlets everywhere for your computer, phone, etc.. but there was one outlet underneath and one outlet on the shelf in a unit for plugging in other electronics. the tv was very nicely sized. i had one incident of a couple in another room near by the first night re-inacting an adult movie with all the verbiage. i was sound asleep and they were so loud yelling obscenities with each other that it woke me up at 2am from a sound sleep. i only hoped that it wouldn't awaken my 14 year old daughter. and i couldn't call to complain for fear of waking my daughter. after listening to this krapt for an hour, they finally finished their business and apparently left the hotel because i heard the door open and shut and there was no more sounds. thank god. i wondered if the hotel was being used for hourly patrons. I told the manager the next day and she was very apologetic about it. I'm sure the staff would have done something had I been able to call them when it was happening. but as i said, i was not in a position to call them. November 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Carpets Need Cleaning or Removal I remember staying at the Aloft Harlem NYC hotel when it first open. The rooms were immaculate. Now the carpets in the rooms are worn and filthy. They would probably be better off removing all that carpet or shampoo the rooms' rugs more frequently. Also, some of the rugs need to be repaired or replaced due to wear and tear. I hate giving this feed back on such a great place to stay on business or for my leisure trips. September 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem Always wanted to go to New York, the Aloft is located in the middle of Harlem two blocks away from the Apollo Theater, on historic Frederick Douglass Boulevard and 124th St. Harlem is also great on foot, which is a great way to get the true feel of the neighborhood. We’re just steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park and many other area attractions. Outstanding visit plan on going back, only bad thing no ice machines, must pick up ice from front desk. September 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff and beautiful rooms I travel several times per year and stay in a lot of different hotels. The staff here was by far the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. They were helpful without being intrusive; they responded to requests quickly; they truly cared about making you comfortable and happy. The rooms were spacious (especially for NYC), modern, and very clean. This hotel is very close to the subway (two blocks), so it's easy to reach the downtown attractions (particularly via the D line), despite its distance. The only issue was the elevator from the street to the hotel lobby was out of service for a couple of days, which is difficult for me with a mobility issue and a tendency to over pack. However, the staff again made sure I could get around and get my luggage to the street level. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Automotive access is a problem. You have a problem that is no fault of your own. It needs correction by the addition of a parking facility or adjacent auto drop off / pickup area for access and egress to the hotel. Relying on the Frederick Douglas does not work. Good luck on finding the area for the access. Left confused by the refusal to grant the second day discount based on birth year. That left my spouse unhappy even if it was 1942. Providing a printout sheet giving the map and directions to the A,B,C,D lines station at the desk would be a big help. Verbal directions do not work! The trains allowed us access to two sights: St. John the Divine Cathedral and the Hamilton Grange National Shrine. The hotel is mid way between the two -- 110th and 141st. Let your staff know what they are. What is SPG? Thank you. July 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as clean and comfortable as I was hoping for The rooms were far too hot to relax in, let alone sleep in (we were told, "That's normal, you're just trying to push the thermostats lower than they go," by the front desk staff), and there was hair inside our ice container, sinks, and refrigerator the moment we checked in. The staff was nice and efficient enough, but it always felt more like a party at the front desk than anything else. No one offered any real solutions, changes, or fixes, nor did they call any other staff/repair when we kindly informed them of our numerous dissatisfactions. All of this struck me as unprofessional. It's a cute place, though, with nice decor and facilities/amenities. If you get one of the lower rates, try it out, but I won't be coming back at any rate, especially not the ones that float around 200/night. March 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by a nice aloft in manhattan Good: Sometimes it is nice to stay at a less staid location in Manhattan, and I think Aloft fits the bill well. Rooms are sufficient and the bar has a club-type feel. The continuity of music from the lobby to the elevators is amusing as well. Another pleasure is the location-specific cocktails, which, that we tasted, were enjoyable. If you enjoy Aloft, this one is a good one. Easy to transfer to LGA on the M60 from this location, as well. Bad: Staff completely ignored SPG membership benefits. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing visit We are usually very satisfied with the staff, service and accommodations at this Aloft. When we checked in on 10/18/13 and we were told that the first night of our stay had been billed to my credit card. When we went to our room (312) we found a brown stain on the carpet and the room was warm. We called the front desk and they sent and engineer to look at the AC. We were told that it would be repaired by the time that we returned for the evening. When we returned the room was very warm. The fan was blowing but the air was not cold. Finally on Saturday morning we called and the manager arranged for another room for us (206). She also offered to comp us for breakfast but we already had made plans. When we checked out the gentleman at the front desk had a difficult time explaining our bill to us. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Wish We Lived at The Aloft Harlem! Four times a year my service dog and I spend four nights at The Aloft Harlem, and with each visit leaving to return home becomes more difficult. We wish we could afford to live there--not in the adjacent condos, but at the hotel itself! The staff team--including the manager, the front desk, the security guards, those who clean, those who maintain the snack and bar areas--is welcoming, kind, well-informed about the hotel and the area and the City. Transportation is excellent in the area. Great walking ares surround the hotel, as do fine and varied restaurants. The hotel is clean, safe, populated by guests from all over the world and all over the U.S. Guests quickly become valued guests, not anonymous faces. This may be Harlem's only hotel, but measured next to any fine hotel in the world, it is a superb hotel. July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small, boutique type hotel. Seems to be in an old building that was converted to a hotel. Lobby is in the basement and the elevator to get down to the lobby was very small and dirty. Staff was very nice and friendly. Room on the 6th floor was extremely hot even with the heat turned off. Staff explained that the building's system, which they don't control, overrides the room thermostats when it reaches a certain temperature outside. Bar is very small with limited seating. Bar tenders were great!! Prices a bit high. No room to mingle and meet with your travel companions. Furnishings just seemed very cheap and unkept. Bed was very good. Got a good night's sleep each night, except for waking up due to the heat. If I had to go back to this exact area, I might consider staying there, but would not go out of my way to stay there. February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Makes Aloft Harlem Increasingly Exceptional The Aloft Harlem's staff--in all positions----continues to make this hotel increasingly exceptional. The manager has created and fostered a miracle of teamwork at this property that genuinely welcomes guests. The property is extremely efficient, using space well. And it offers snacks of a wide variety (including healthy) that compensate for lack of a restaurant. Also, the staff fosters a great, friendly atmosphere that makes the public areas a caring, fascinating mini-United Nations! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, Urban, Trendy, Youthful Vibe Based on the website and reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay at Aloft Harlem and it did not disappoint. Although the hotel lobby and bar area was a lot smaller than I expected, I really appreciated the decor, vibe and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is located in close proximity to many of the things I enjoy about Harlem, like the shopping and restaurants and I loved coming down to the lobby on Friday and Saturday nights to a cool party vibe with a DJ and lots of people. Even if I were the type of person that wasn't into that, Aloft is still a great place to stay, the noise from the lobby and bar does not reach the guestrooms, so one could sleep undisturbed if they choose. Drinks were kinda high at the bar, so we chose to BYOB in our room, but other than that, it was a great experience. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hidden treasure We were in town to visit our grandson who is a student at Columbia University, so we looked online for a hotel in the area and we found Aloft Harlem. It had good reviews on Tripadvisor and location was right so we booked and are glad that we did. The hotel entrance with the outdoor area located 2 flights down from the street was inviting and unique. The staff at the desk were very pleasant, helpful, and a good first impression. We arrived early and our rooms were ready which was a surprise and very helpful. The room was very well set up and very clean. The use of space was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The shower and bathroom area was sleek and modern as well as the closet/storage area. The included breakfast and coffee a good touch. When we return for another visit, we will book Aloft again. We also inquired about area restaurants and went to Chocolat which is a short, pleasant walk away. Our daughter bought tea at a charming tea shop several doors down as well. All in all, a very great experience----well done, Aloft & Aloft staff! October 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy room and parking fee very very higher Most rooms are close to air conditioner fan and it's very noisy. It's impossible to find parking in this hotel and only way is having valet to parking and parking fee is very very high($55 for overnight). It's incredible!! On the other hand, this hotel will charge almost 20% tax on this parking fee. It's really ridiculous. I'll never live there anymore. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New kids in town. Cool place to stay! We had our stayed only just a night after flew for 20 over hours across the pacific and yes the hotel just over expected, The staffs are all kind and really helpful when we just need any information about the local attraction. The public transportation is just a block away and it safe to travel into downtown. There's many restaurant around there and also starbucks! Surely if we come back to NYC then we'll stay in same one. Becareful of traveling alone at night since it's uptown. November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed stay Odd placement of the lobby, one floor below. The outdoor area would be a great area, but needs a roof or awning, esp on heavy rainy days like the one when I had a stay here. My Aloft Smart Check-in cardkey did not work. I received a text in the afternoon with assigned room. When I got there the key would not work, front desk says that there is someone in there! I get a new text with another rm, key still will not work. Head down again for hotel keys! Ventilation seemed to be stuck on AC, not heat so had to be turned off. Breakfast, like other Alofts is great! Fresh and healthy food including made to order sandwiches. Front desk agent went out of her way to make it up, though never heard a peep from the GM or SPG re: the key issues. Central to mass transit (incl M60 bus from LGA) and well placed in Harlem. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Harlem welcome! My wife and I were visiting our son in NYC and the Aloft Harlem was the closest hotel to where he lives. We found the Aloft to be the perfect place to stay and are already making plans to stay there again. The hotel was very nice and the staff was cordial and helpful. The close proximity to the metro system was a great benefit. We loved being able to walk and run in Central Park (easy walk from hotel) with our son. Would highly recommend the Aloft to anyone staying in NYC. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible staff Best staff of any hotel. Cudos to Beverly, Babeen, Delrick, Martha, Duane. Hopefully, I did not exclude any of the courteous staff members that I encountered during our stay. They made certain that we were always able to get around the city, great food recommendations, making certain that we had enough of the amenities in our room as requested. While there may be more luxurious digs in NYC, nothing compares to these named individuals as true representitives of hospitality. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a gem! Great location and a pleasant stay We had a very nice stay at Aloft Harlem! This hotel fell right in line with what we expected of Aloft. Perfect location and within walking distance and or a quick train ride to popular NYC and Harlem destinations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. A pleasant surprise was the size of the room: I expected a shoebox because it's in the heart of the city but the room was a nice size and very comfortable. I'd recommend this hotel to both friends and family. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still the best in the area I stayed at this ALoft shortly after it opened. It is beginning to show it age at this point. The wall vinyl was damaged in places, the backlight on the clock did not function, touch ups of tile base were poorly done, but most noticably the grout on the floor was dirty and grey. The master electric wall switch shuts off the plug for the phone charger along with evertthing else except the TV. The location is unique and convenient to my relatives. I wouls stay there again. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply...THE BEST! I was in NYC on business and just spent one night at Aloft Harlem....and I WILL BE BACK! This hotel is Harlem's "Best Kept Secret." From the moment I walked thru the front door, everything was First Class. I asked for an early check-in ( 9:30 AM in fact )and my room was ready. The lovely young woman who checked me in, took time to explain everything the hotel has to offer, from the computers which were available, to the FREE wifi...and the complimentary coffee service in the lobby. My room was large,comfortable, and spotless...(especially considering I was in the "land of the closet sized room..NYC") In addition, there were dozens on channels on the television and not the usual CNN, CNBC, and some obscure movie channel you usually get in most hotels. I AM HOOKED on Aloft Hotels and they are my new hotel of choice! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by charoltte nc1 hotel has all it needs to make your stay the most comfortable one. This Aloft was so quiet outside noise does not filter in. The only con was the dog! Hotel is too nice for it. unless it was a service dog. otherwise all was good very clean. Downstairs bar is what's happening. 3rd strip to New York. Next trip to New York, this hotel will be my choice to stay. Thanks Ms Williams and all the other hotel staff excellent job, The Johnson's Charlotte NC July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Do It! Great location. Great price. Great hotel. Who knew Harlem had progressed to this point and ALoft Harlem was the prime evidence. I walked for blocks and when I got ready, I hibernated and rested in the room for hours. Sleek, modern and clean. Apollo Theater, Magic Johnson Theaters, Sylvia's Soul Food and Red Roosters are within blocks. And do take the #60 bus to and from the airport that will put you off a block from the hotel-- if you can spare the $2.25 fare. January 15, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only