Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 285 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem's Staff Forms a Great Team The staff members at the heart of The Aloft Harlem form a superb team of professionals able to juggle their many tasks while emanating kindness, concern, and helpfulness to guests. After only three years, this busy hotel needs a little cosmetic work, but the rooms and public areas are pristine. Most important is the people factor. This is a rare place where guests from all over the world feel safe speaking--connecting---with each other, a sort of UN or International House of peaceful and fascinating adults. And that element of Aloft Harlem is fomented by its excellent staff members. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond We traveled to NY from California to attend my brother's wedding. I choose Aloft Harlem since it was the closest SPG property to The Bronx, where the wedding and reception were being held. We arrived late the evening of check-in and were greeted by friendly staff who promptly checked us in and gave us a great recommendation on where to grab dinner (kid friendly, of course). The room was clean and the beds were comfy. Overall, we were happy with the accommodations. What impressed me the most was what happened AFTER we checked out. That's when I noticed that my son's favorite "cuddle bears" never made it into our suitcase. He has had these since, like birth...they're very tattered, torn and loved little bears. In a panic, I called the hotel with slim hope that someone, ANYONE, had noticed them while stripping the beds. I tell my story to the nice young lady who answered my call..."I stayed at your hotel a few days ago I think we left my son's cuddle bears..." Her response "You mean the blue ones?" When I tell you that tears literally came to my eyes! Yes! They had the cuddle bears to my great relief! I was amazed! She said "We knew they were important to someone." Wow! Was she ever right! My little boy was thrilled when he found out his bears weren't lost forever! A thousand thank yous to Jermel, who called me shortly thereafter to get my address so he could mail the bears to California. An extra bonus was anxiously awaiting the arrival of his bears in the mail, who I told him stayed at Aloft Harlem a bit longer because it's such an awesome hotel!!! You guys Rock!! November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice surprise Staff very friendly and helpful not a New Yorker and offered in detail how to navigate subway and other means of transportation. Room was well designed and very comfortable. Also liked that they were very ego friendly using the dispenser for shampoo and bath-wash. Staying there again next week. October 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing visit We are usually very satisfied with the staff, service and accommodations at this Aloft. When we checked in on 10/18/13 and we were told that the first night of our stay had been billed to my credit card. When we went to our room (312) we found a brown stain on the carpet and the room was warm. We called the front desk and they sent and engineer to look at the AC. We were told that it would be repaired by the time that we returned for the evening. When we returned the room was very warm. The fan was blowing but the air was not cold. Finally on Saturday morning we called and the manager arranged for another room for us (206). She also offered to comp us for breakfast but we already had made plans. When we checked out the gentleman at the front desk had a difficult time explaining our bill to us. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Staff The room was smaller than many hotels but one doesn't need a big space to basically sleep in. Large shower. The sink is separate from the rest of the bathroom which was a nice feature. Comfortable bed too. The staff were friendly and helpful, polite and treated us well. Excellent spot for connecting by subway or bus so the location was ideal. Nice boutique hotel and I would definitely stay there again. October 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs upkeep I have been staying at Aloft Harlem for a number of weeks and have found the breakfast server is consistently unavailable for hot sandwiches. Martha is one of the hotel attendants in the evenings and she is extremely customer friendly. Unfortunately she is the one of the few hotel attendants that are very friendly. Others in the hotel are not customer service oriented at all. If they just learned to smile or greet guest as part of their conduct, the rest of the customer experience can improve. I commend Martha for getting my room resolved by switching my rooms to a functioning room.....lights were out, shades do not go down, phone not working, etc. October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff Aloft Harlem is a gem in the heart of Harlem. From the moment we arrived we felt that the staff, at all levels, genuinely cared about our stay. The rooms were modern, spacious and comfortable. Re:Fuel offers a variety of foods for any time of day. It was nice to have something quick to eat as we were coming and going. We have stayed in many NYC hotels and have to say that Aloft Harlem was by far the best. It is the staff that makes it so. A special thanks to Victor, he was wonderful and went beyond what was necessary. We felt like family. For those thinking about traveling to NYC, consider Aloft Harlem, you will not be disappointed. October 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Highly recommended great staff and hotel features convenient for subway September 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay in Harlem Overall excellent stay--very friendly & helpful staff, and the room didn't disappoint! Only issue would be the A/C which runs pretty loud and blasts cold air right at you while you're in bed....Brrrrrr! I've stayed at this ALOFT before and would do so again!.... September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional staff and beautiful rooms I travel several times per year and stay in a lot of different hotels. The staff here was by far the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered. They were helpful without being intrusive; they responded to requests quickly; they truly cared about making you comfortable and happy. The rooms were spacious (especially for NYC), modern, and very clean. This hotel is very close to the subway (two blocks), so it's easy to reach the downtown attractions (particularly via the D line), despite its distance. The only issue was the elevator from the street to the hotel lobby was out of service for a couple of days, which is difficult for me with a mobility issue and a tendency to over pack. However, the staff again made sure I could get around and get my luggage to the street level. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay. Staff was very Accomodating The property was clean and staff was extremely helpful. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome time I stayed at the Aloft Harlem from September 5th to September 8th 2013 with my husband. We went to NYC to attend the Triton music festival which took place at the Irving Plaza which is all the way down where Union Square is. I was worried that the hotel might be too far but the subway ride is super fast, especially if you take the express train. The subway station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel which is perfect. They get an A+ for that! The hotel is very clean and modern. I loved the large windows in the room. The size of the room was perfect for 2 people and larger than the usual NYC hotel room. I’m just going the list the details that stood out to me: The shower has shampoo and body wash dispensers so you don’t need to pack your own little bottles. The wifi signal was great The mini fridge in the room came in handy You get 2 free bottles of water in the room I really liked the service they offered where if you declined housekeeping service the hotel gives you a $5.00 voucher that you can use downstairs at the bar or in the little snack shop. Modern décor Comfortable beds, I slept well every night I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Aloft Harlem to anyone looking for a different part of town to stay in. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic service and excellent rooms Sure it is a subway ride away from midtown but this is by far my favorite hotel. The front desk is always gracious and helpful, the rooms are clean and modern, and the beds are very comfortable. I've stayed here for both work and fun, and I've never been disappointed. September 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is a great value for NYC This is a great value.Clean comfortable rooms, and while small, efficient use of space so we did not feel "close." Twenty minutes from Times Square. Close to M 60 bus to airport. You can pay a lot more and get a lot less in NYC. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome The hotel staff allowed me to check-in a little early which I appreciated.Staff was personable and helpful; unlike New York. Hotel was clean. Housekeeping did great job, even folding my shirts (wow). Security was present and alert even when I returned one night 4:00am. Room service responded to every request expediently. I hope Aloft management appreciates the exceptional job their team in Harlem does. The hotel is in a great location. Mass transportation is just a block away. The neighboorhod has transformed into one of the most exciting in NYC. Frederick Douglas Blvd is lined with restaurants,outdoor cafes,shops and upscale lounges including Alofts own lounge which generates enough excitment of its own. Aloft Harlem. I will be back! September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by a nice aloft in manhattan Good: Sometimes it is nice to stay at a less staid location in Manhattan, and I think Aloft fits the bill well. Rooms are sufficient and the bar has a club-type feel. The continuity of music from the lobby to the elevators is amusing as well. Another pleasure is the location-specific cocktails, which, that we tasted, were enjoyable. If you enjoy Aloft, this one is a good one. Easy to transfer to LGA on the M60 from this location, as well. Bad: Staff completely ignored SPG membership benefits. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The hotel has a brand name and cute look to pull you in,but that's all. When we arrived no one was standing outside to greet us. We had to drag our bags down the stairs,because the elevator is discreetly hidden off to the side. Upon check in we knew we'd have to wait because we had arrived early. After waiting about a hour we went to check the status ,since no one bothered to check on us, and got a room. We're certain the only reason we received a room was because the manager was present. Later we called to get suggestions of restaurants,nightlife,and travel recommendations. Everything was just ok, no one seemed enthused to assist. I will say Victor checked us in and he was extremely nice and helpful. We're disappointed because we read so many great reviews,and anticipated a wonderful experience.We also had never stayed in Harlem and wanted to experience a different vibe of Manhattan. Mission achieved,expect the vibes were bad. DO BETTER. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Every member of your staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The young ladies at the reception desk were exceptional. My only criticism of the hotel is a night light is needed in the room as it is very dark and there is no way to turn on just one small light. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Hotel, poor location Although the Aloft Harlem is a good hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, the location of the Hotel is less than desirable for the typical tourist visiting Manhattan and although Harlem has transformed into a “relatively” safer area, the Hotel itself is located at the entrance to Harlem near 123 Street. The Aloft Harlem is a short walk away from Columbia University and an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at Columbia University but I personally would not recommend this hotel for the first time typical tourist visiting Manhattan. August 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just Okay This is currently the only hotel in Harlem. When more hotels come they will need major improvements to service. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel in great loctiom My stay was great , it was more than great. The staff was very accommendating,pleasant and kind. They made you feel very relaxted. They were also very helpful in helping you get around the city. I would recommend this hotel to any one that would like to experience a real treat. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could not sleep, no privacy The staff was very friendly and the location was good for what we needed, but there were several problems with the room. The windows need to be soundproofed because the street traffic, pedestrians under our window, the police station down the street, and the outdoor church across the street were all extremely loud. The room could not be completely darkened because the blinds would not lower to completely block window light. The sheets on the bed were very thin and kept separating, exposing my face directly to the duvet that had not been washed since others slept in the bed. The bathroom sliding door would not close completely so there was absolutely no privacy with others in the room. King room crowded for 2 people with suitcases. The lobby was noisy as well as visually busy with many colors and flashing images. Mostly cement/concrete surfaces and modern. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by spacious room for location We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room for a NYC hotel. Loved the bathroom. Great stay!!! August 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor location Area is dirty, taxis are virtually impossible to hail, car valet is very slow, lobby and services are virtually non existent. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well done, Aloft! What a wonderful boutique hotel in a culturally rich neighborhood. Not sure what SPG Recognition means. Everything went very smoothly, but figure that is true of all guests' experiences. The food was excellent, and the staff was very happy and fun...always a sign of a well run establishment! August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft Harlem Just returned from a 2nd stay at Aloft Harlem. Like the hotel facility, staff, and location very much. Would stay here again. All rooms are non-smoking. Compact space, but well-organized. If I could make one suggestion, it would be to increase the lighting in the rooms...they are a bit dark. We will definitely stay here on future visits to NYC. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful We had a wonderful time in NYC, and we loved our room at the aloft. The room was very spacious and modern . The staff were helpful and attentive, and the hotel was very clean and bright. The only suggestion I have would be to get better pillows--the ones in our room were too large and stiff to be used comfortably. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Automotive access is a problem. You have a problem that is no fault of your own. It needs correction by the addition of a parking facility or adjacent auto drop off / pickup area for access and egress to the hotel. Relying on the Frederick Douglas does not work. Good luck on finding the area for the access. Left confused by the refusal to grant the second day discount based on birth year. That left my spouse unhappy even if it was 1942. Providing a printout sheet giving the map and directions to the A,B,C,D lines station at the desk would be a big help. Verbal directions do not work! The trains allowed us access to two sights: St. John the Divine Cathedral and the Hamilton Grange National Shrine. The hotel is mid way between the two -- 110th and 141st. Let your staff know what they are. What is SPG? Thank you. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walking distance to Columbia University The staff at Aloft was very helpful. I was taking a course at Columbia so the location was great. An easy 10 minute walk. The hotel was spotless and had a modern feel to it. July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would stay again Hotel was good. Room was clean. The air conditioning was not the best, but we were in a corner room and the sun was beating on the large front window all day. Couldn't get it below 74 degrees in the daytime. Besides that, great staff, and cool lounge area. Location is great if you need to stay way uptown in NYC. July 1, 2013
  • 2016-02-13 T06:26:33.012-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_285, tr_285
  • loc_en_US, sid_3353, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only