Aloft Harlem

  • 2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10027
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 285 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 Unsatisfactory service During my stay I had the worst service ever !! I will never stay at the aloft Harlem again ...I was extremely disappointed when the staff threw away my merchandise I left behind a hour prior after my check out... My merchandise was extremely expensive and they showed no remorse June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by How it should be done. I wish every hotel was this helpful, this clean, and this well-managed. It started with check-in. I had actually reserved the wrong nights. Maybe a little on my mind as we move to New York... The young man checking us in calmly assured us he had rooms and even helped us restore the rate I had originally booked. He was excellent. The rest of our time there mirrored that. Great service, kind people, and great room. Best NYC hotel (of many) I've ever had. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible staff Best staff of any hotel. Cudos to Beverly, Babeen, Delrick, Martha, Duane. Hopefully, I did not exclude any of the courteous staff members that I encountered during our stay. They made certain that we were always able to get around the city, great food recommendations, making certain that we had enough of the amenities in our room as requested. While there may be more luxurious digs in NYC, nothing compares to these named individuals as true representitives of hospitality. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Room is clean, and the staff is efficient, but the room is a little bit small, and their lobby is located on the -1floor, but their is no elavator when you try to enter their lobby from outside of the hotel. June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and Functional The Aloft Harlem met all of our needs. We wanted to stay near Columbia University. The hotel was convenient in location to Columbia and to a metro station so we could quickly board the subway for quick trips to other areas of Manhattan. The staff was friendly and upbeat. The room was clean and comfortable. Will stay there again! June 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Harlem's Elite Hotel I had the pleasure of experiencing one of Harlem's premium hotels: The Aloft Harlem Hotel. My experience is based off of two separate visits within a month's time. Both experiences were positive and I recommend this hotel for anyone who would like a comfortable stay in New York City. The hotel is located near 125th Street in Harlem. The Aloft gives the hotels in lower Manhattan a run for their money with its smart elegance and budget friendly rooms. The Aloft Harlem is conveniently located near several train lines and bus lines. Restaurant, entertainment, and shopping options are located less than fifteen minutes away. FRONT DESK AND LOUNGE Upon arriving at the Aloft you walk downstairs to the lower level that leads to the courtyard. When I arrived the courtyard was filled with guests and lounge patrons enjoying a summer night. WXZY lounge, which is off of the front desk, was modern with an indoor seating area and doors leading to the outdoor courtyard. When I arrived a bachelorette party was in full swing. The layout was hip and makes it an ideal spot for a small gathering. The front desk management team was efficient and professional to new arrivals, existing guests, and visitors. Since there was a party on the first floor I was worried that I wouldn't be able to sleep since my room on the second floor. My floor and room were remarkably quiet. It was like I was in another world. THE ROOM The king room was a minimalist's dream: well contained yet spacious. The room's décor covered the basic necessities in a stylish manner. There was no wasted space. Upon entering you have the bathroom to the side as well as a minimalistic closet/mini bar. The bathroom has mirrored barn door that separated sink area from the toilet area and glass encased shower. The shower itself is a spa like experience. The water and steam was very hot and soothing. I had a hilarious experience: The Aloft Harlem is a smoke free hotel. So while getting ready for the shower I accidently left the shower on hot and the doors open. The room's alarm system went off around midnight. Panicking, I raced to the telephone to call the front desk to tell them my alarm was going off. Apparently the alarm is quite sensitive and was triggered by the five minutes of constant steam coming off the shower. The desk manager reassured me it happened all the time and not to worry. I was a minute into the call and security was knocking on the door to check the situation and reset the alarm. The security guard was polite and understanding. He calmed my nerves and had the alarm off in less than a minute. This hotel takes its smoke free policy seriously. I had visions of my sleeping neighbors being wakened from their slumber like zombies and tackling me when I opened the door. But no one stirred. Did they even hear the alarm? So my friends, when you visit this hotel make sure to close the glass shower door and the barn door. THE WORLD'S BEST BED The king bed and desk area is sectioned off giving you a sense of privacy. The desk has a television and an electronics power and charging station. The bed was large and comfortable. On both hotel stays I had the BEST sleep of my life. I felt reborn. I am tearing up thinking about going home tonight. This one factor makes it the best hotel I have experienced in my travels to date. My sleep was so good in fact that I am seriously considering staying there one a month as a means of rejuvenation for my mind and body. CULINARY DELIGHTS The Aloft hotel has a small area in the lobby that sells limited breakfast and snack options. I do not know if the bar has food items for sale. Some may find this a drawback but in my opinion it forces you to explore the culinary delights of west and east Harlem. Be adventurous. With great restaurants such as Red Rooster, Amy Ruth's, and Lindo, you will find something to suit your tastes. For late night munchies I suggest travelers go to the corner store to buy beverages, snacks and sandwiches to save a few bucks. COST AND BILLING The price of the room is fair based the comfort I experienced, the location, and style of the hotel. My bills were error free and the security deposits were returned to my account in a timely manner. Wi-Fi is free through out the hotel but I did have an issue with low signal reception with my cell phone. The business center offers computers with Mac and Windows environments. Printing and faxing are available. FINAL THOUGHTS I recommend this hotel for a person who needs a good night rest and enjoys a minimalist environment. Stay at this hotel and support a gem in Harlem. You will not be disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 My Stay! . Hotel was beyond my expectation. Great staff, great facility, amenities were as stated, the room was cozy, bed very comfortable. I slept like a baby and got my wake up call as requested. I'll definitely recommend it and I'll stay here again at any time. June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice place to stay We stayed 4 nights at the Aloft and had a great experience. It stands in a fun neighborhood, with lots to do around it. Staff was excellent and helpful and the hotel was clean and a rooms were nice and roomy for NYC! Would stay again! June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st class staff & service, good location For my first time in New York, the hotel was really a great location to stay at and met all my expectations! The neighborhood is a very bubbling area with a lot of restaurants and things to see. The subway is located close to the hotel; which makes it very easy to reach Midtown. Modern and spacious room, a great plus. The staff were AWESOME, really accommadating, responsive and helpful at recommanding where to eat or what to visit etc .... Definitely my 1st choice for my next trip to NYC. June 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Service The staff were not very welcoming. The receptionist was very defensive when I asked her questions pertaining to baggage and valet assistance. This SPG location was very disappointing. I know SPG hotels prides themselves in customer service; however, this Aloft left me feeling very underwhelmed, unwelcomed and not appreciated as a valued guest. The staff were chatting more amongst themselves than assisting guest at the hotel. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel The Aloft is in a great area surrounded by exciting new restaurants. The hotel itself has a relaxed feel about it, relaxed but not sloppy. The excellent staff manages to be casual but very professional at all times thus creating a very welcoming atmosphere. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! The hotel exceeded my expectation. The staff were polite and friendly. The hotel and my room was clean. The location was excellent. I felt safe, a police station was a block away. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by aLoft Harlem I dont mind so much the location on Frederick Douglass, in Harlem. The hotel is close to the D and A line that is one hop to midtown. The concept inspired on the W is also great, however, execution is lousy. The bed is not comfortable and the pillow is too big and not soft enough... after 7 nights I had a stiff neck. Also, I was told the coffee in the reception area was complimentary, which i think is a nice touch... however the expresso machine was broken from Friday to Tuesday, 4 out of 7 days, and on the last day, Wednesday, May 15 I went down at 5am to get a cup of coffee before heading to the airport for an early flight and the receptionist told me I could not have coffee because they were cleaning. The machine was there, plugged to the socket, with plenty of coffee and paper cups... I was not in anyone's way, and yet I could not press a button and pour a cup because it was not yet 6am... got you! Here I am, paying >$1,700 for my stay and you are begrudging me a <$1 cup of coffee that was supposed to be complimentary in the first place... Great brands are not build that way... and I will make sure not to go back to aLoft. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in good location Nice and clean. Staff was nice. May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, easy access to transportation The rooms are huge especially by NYC standards. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised! Wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised with the hotel, location and staff. The hotel is situated around the corner from the Apollo theatre, close to subway and shopping. The staff at the hotel were the friendliest I have ever encountered. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful helpful staff, clean, metro ambiance Pleasantly surprised by this gem. Staff were very hospitable and helpful. Room was spotless with comfy beds and big flat screen t.v.. Complimentary coffee was of good quality - robust. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and snacks at the "refuel" station that were reasonably priced ( different from most hotels that I have experienced). The rooms also had a mini-refrigerator (not mini bar) which was handy. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by optional ALoft Harlem Great location, staff, accommodations and price . I would not hesitate to stay there again. May 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home Away From Home Aloft Harlem has become my home away from home, as its superior team of front-desk and floor personnel welcomes me by name and with spirit at the start of each visit and each time I re-enter the hotel or descend from my room to the lobby area. They are friendly yet professional. In addition to recommending local sites, they listen to my recommendations, which I appreciate. The rooms are small, but very well organized and appointed, and clean. Meanwhile, the lobby area is a small but great meeting area, also well organized. I so enjoy staying at the Aloft Harlem that I dislike leaving to return home! It is a wonderful place, mainly because it is staffed by wonderful people, -0- April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Daughter and I Loved It! We were on a trip to look at colleges. We had a great time. Loved the food selection in the lobby, nice cool rooms and friendly staff. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by just great Great nice hotel, excellent staff, clean and good size rooms, stayed here for five nights recommend it to friends and family April 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls Getaway Loved the hotel. Convenient to Apollo and many eatries. Staff very pleasant. April 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised me - again. My first stay was a test and it went well. My second was out of necessity because everything in midtown etc was booked or $500 - but it turned out to be my good fortune. Front desk staff is very nice, hotel is one stop (!) on the D from midtown, and most shockingly: I slept. I never sleep well in hotels. Quiet, clean, comfortable - the gym was even decent. Stay here! April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grate experience The service accomplished all our expectations. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff was very helpful and gentle. The location is great if you want a safe quiet place but only two blocks away from the subway, so you can get to midtown in 20 minutes or you can walk to central park (15 blocks away). Beds are comfortable and decoration was pretty cool. An excellent place and a great price. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by New York fromage à different perspective After few stays in NYC it was my first time in Harlem. There we saw NYC from a different angle and we loved it. This is the real one. And the buses and metro take you downtown in no time. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is wonderful Aloft Harlem is very nice. The location is perfect and 2 minutes to the 125 subway line. I will definitely stay here again. The room is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super stay! The staff at this hotel, as well as the toiletries and amenities made for a perfect stay! April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Spot... But Tight Space A welcome addition for this end of town. On check-in you immediately realize that they aim to please... very accommodating staff. A bit bare bones but the W-lite coolness factor in effect, complete with Bliss toiletries. Hotel is very modern. Some areas are wearing already, but not enough to really care. Other than the bar area and pool table area all the spaces are a bit tight... the rooms, corridors, breakfast buffet area. Bathroom actually was roomy.. we just had walk-in shower, no tub... ok by me. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value Excellent location with easy access to metro. Very spacious rooms. Modern and chic with class. Excellent, attentive and responsive staff that will make your stay memorable. Thanks!! Best value in NYC April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expectations...Exceeded!! I stayed at Aloft Harlem on March 23 for two nights. I stayed with my family (wife and 2 children) and must say, our experience was amazing! Not only was the staff very friendly, professional and courteous, the location of the hotel was right in the heart of Harlem! With easy access to everything (subways, shopping, movies, etc) we were never left feeling like foreigners or visitors, we felt like residents. After a long day of shopping with the fam, it was nice to be able to grab a drink in the W...XYZ Lounge. Perfect. We would definitely stay there again! April 1, 2013
  • 2016-02-13 T06:26:33.043-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_285, tr_285
  • loc_en_US, sid_3353, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only