Aloft Asheville Downtown

  • 51 Biltmore Avenue
  • Asheville,
  • North Carolina
  • 28801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 406 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very dirty hotel The hotel is pet friendly but they do not take the responsibility of the additional maintenance that comes with offering this option. The hallways and luggage carts were covered in dog hair. It was disgusting. I will never stay at Asheville Aloft again. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location This was one of many stays at this hotel. Each stay has been very good. The location and staff are excellent. We especially loved the addition of Pepe the rescue dog in need of a home. He added an additional warmth to the reception area. Thanks again!! October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Review If barking dogs bother you this isn't your place. October 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by gold and platinum status meaningless at this hotel My wife and I arrived about 2 hours before check in and were told we had to wait to check in time to get a room. Feel free to treat a regular customer off the street this way, but not platinum members. If the room isn't available that is one thing, but to say no one can check in before 3 is another. I am sure the front desk staff would vehemently deny this accusation. However, when we finally were allowed to check in 15 minutes early we spoke with the cleaning staff outside our room and they said the room has been ready for at least an hour. I believe this is the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel, and on each stay I have found these two things to be true each time: (1) The room rates are too high for the quality of hotel. One is paying to stay in downtown Asheville, not for a nice room or the excellent service. (2) The staff says all the things they are trained to say ("Mr. XYZ I see you are at the platinum starwood preferred guest level, thank you for your loyalty."), but this hotel staff has never actually done anything to make me feel like they care that I am a platinum member (room upgrade, early check in, etc.). It is hotels like this that make me question why I continue to be loyal to SPG when other hotel chains have so many more properties is so many more places. September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only for the young As active oldsters, I found the lack of services (someone to help with bags; inadequate signage and instructions for in-room things like coffeemaker and TV) very disappointing. There was one good chair for reading in the room, but no adequate light for reading. If this is what all Aloft hotels are like, then I just had my first and last stay in one. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional 30th Anniversary Stay ~ Aloft Asheville We stayed at the Aloft in Asheville, for 4 nights. It is a great Hotel right in the heart of the city of Asheville! The staff was very welcoming and helpful. We had a mountain view room. The staff had left some snacks and Perrier water with a hand written note (which I kept :) congratulating us on our Anniversary. All those many little touches made our stay so wonderful! The bed was very comfortable and we LOVED our time in Asheville! The staff at the Aloft is the BOMB! We will be back! October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet friendly Aloft loved our stay there. Loved the fact that a rescue dog resides in the hotel and so many have been adopted. I live locally and had a friend visiting and she loves art deco. So I knew the Aloft would be a winner. Had a great experience! October 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delightful! This was the first time we stayed at Aloft ..... and we got to use our Starwood points. It was a very nice experience! October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Perfect location in the heart of downtown. Easy to walk to everything, and no need to take the car out all weekend. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by TREASURE IN DOWNTOWN ASHEVILLE We booked this property last minute for labor day weekend, and were so pleasantly surprised. It is a hidden treasure in the heart of downtown Asheville. Since the hotel was fully booked; we weren't able to upgrade to a suite or pool side cabana room, but they looked amazing. The staff is fantastic and rooms were well appointed with breathtaking views of the mountains. Exceptional recognition of our platinum status and super pet friendly. By far one of our favorite SPG properties and the BEST ALOFT IN THE NETWORK!!!! September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We spent three nights here and really enjoyed our stay. We were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go. The room was very comfortable and having The Blackbird Restaurant downstairs was a definite plus! We look forward to returning. October 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Location Stayed here for 2 nights. Couldn't ask for a better location. The hotlel was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The carpet in my room needed to be cleaned by the sliding doors that open onto the cabana. Also the sliding window was very dirty and hard to look out of.. I considered writing a note for housekeeper to wash it but opened curtains and thought she would just see and wash it when she serviced room but she did not. I know this is a dog friendly hotel with no particular floor that houses the guests with dogs. I saw a dog dragging his bottom near the ppol where his owner was swimming. The pool should be off limits to pets for goodness sakes. There was a child swimming and a dog running around the pool and dragging his bottom. It would be great if there was a least a pet free floor. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly comfortable At first I wasn't sure, the room was a little smaller than most and the decor took some getting use to. However, the room grows on you and the efficiency of space usage was great. By the end of the stay I actually liked the room. And, the bed slept great! One of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time @ Aloft, duly impressed Longtime SPG member but had never stayed at an Aloft, big mistake on my part. Loved the hotel, the food, breakfast downstairs was great, welcome coconut cake from the next door restaurant was delish, room was great, wife loved the size of the bathroom, couldn't beat the lcoation in Asheville. Would definitely stay again. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique, Not Your Average Chain Type Hotel From location to features, this hotel hit the max meter for uniqueness. It's a good thing. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff and Great Atmosphere! I was greeted by two exceptionally nice young men at check in - made me feel welcome and appreciated as an SPG member. Was upgraded, as a Platinum member to a great corner suite. Everything was wonderful. LOVED IT! As I was leaving, another extremely kind young man at the reception desk helped me with directions for my trip to Atlanta - and even printed out the material for me. I feel the staff goes above and beyond at the wonderful hotel. Can't wait to come back!! August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect We have stayed here several times and are rarely disappointed. We love the close proximity to all that Asheville has to offer as well as the friendly staff and clean facility. We were excited to bring our dog on our most recent visit since the hotel is pet friendly. Having heard wonderful things about how accommodating the property is we were a bit disappointed that there was no dog bed and that the front desk wasn't even sure they had dog bowls. The rooftop area with the pool and fire pit is wonderful and a great place to spend some extra downtime. We love grabbing a drink at the wxyz bar and enjoying it outside. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This was our first Aloft stay and we really enjoyed the two nights. Desk staff were friendly and knew the local area. Great use of outdoor space. There's a long outdoor porch off the 2nd floor with the bar/lobby opening onto this area. We enjoyed beautiful weather and ate breakfast outside one morning and had drinks out one evening. Very nice restaurants in the building and immediate vicinity. We had a very friendly chat with the GM and other staff at a manager's reception. Genuinely nice people! Very solid choice for those wanting to visit downtown and enjoy the shops and food. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by be sure you are willing to put up with other people's dogs! Although our room was very comfortable, if tiny, and the wonderful facility is in a great location, our experience was defined by the 4 yapping dogs in the room next door. These dogs barked every time our door opened or closed and every time someone walked down the hall. There was dog fur in the hall and a pee-pee pad sticking out from under the door. The staff was apologetic when we reported our experience, and offered a discount on our room rate after I asked. It seems that if dogs are welcomed the staff should have some way of monitoring the noise level rather than waiting for other guests to report a problem. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time ALoft! I found this hotel in Asheville on Travelocity.... I saw it was brand spanking new... For last time I was there... The site was a parking lot. I was pleasantly surprised at how MODERN it was... A real treat. Not the usual tired old hotel experience... DJs almost every night... Dancing... Excellent atmosphere.. The staff... Superb! I LOVED the security... The amenities, bar, restaurant, was available to the public.. But the Guest Area was Key Card Access Only... So there were no stragglers roaming up and down the halls.... I cannot give a high enough review and will stay there every time I visit Asheville.... And will look for ALoft hotels in other cities I visit. -BK December 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is very noisy This hotel had a great view of the mountains and the WXYZ bar was wonderful. The room was located across from the mechanical room and was undergoing renovations. The noise from 5am-7am was unbearable from either someone unloaded things from the mechanical room or from construction. At check out, we notified the front desk, and although they expressed apologies, they did not offer any explanation except that it could not have been either of the suspected causes. They also did not offer any solution or discount for our inconvenience. They also confirmed I would be charged for parking and collected my room key. As we tried to exit the parking deck, we could not do so without our room key. The front desk did not communicate this and there was no signage to indicate so. Finally, the shower enclosure leaked horribly and soaked the bathroom floor no matter how careful we tried to be. I've been a SPG member for over 10 yrs and this was my first and last stay at an aloft property. October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt like Royalty thanks to the staff at the Hotel Susan at the front desk made me feel like Royalty the moment I stepped foot into the Hotel, she made all the difference. I can't wait to come back. Everyone that worked there was so pleasant & friendly. The Hotel is in the perfect location, has a roof top pool & fire pit. Cool bar WXYZ too! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, comfortable stay Another fantastic Starwood experience. Staff was phenomenal right from the start. We were greated immediately by a manager who chatted with us for the moment until the woman at the desk could begin check-in. Another member of staff kindly assisted my husband and son with a juice box mishap during check-in. I specifically mention this because of the perception I have of aloft. As its geared toward the young, hip traveler and less toward family travel, I was very pleasantly surprised! Room was compact but comfortable. We booked a King with a "mountain view" and there was plenty of room for the Pack N Play on either side of the bed. Families may want to note that our room only had a stand up shower, no bathtub (perhaps other room configurations are different). Our room had a refridgerator (no mini bar), which was convenient as there is a Co-op grocery store about a 2 minute walk away. Also pleasantly surprised by the amazing pool and outdoor lounge area. Some 3rd floor rooms have patio access to the pool. Beautiful space that seemed more like Florida than the North Carolina mountains! Ideal location just steps from Mast General Store and other restaurants/shopping. Center of downtown with best shops/restaurants about a 5 or so minute walk. Highly recommend, we will certainly stay here again! June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few things to imporve on. Nice contemporary design. The water smelled highly chlorinated, like bathing in a swimming pool. The reverse osmosis water was good to drink. The glass container was too small, had to go down the hall to refill frequently. The roof dog walk area hose did not work. Area smelled. The room lighting was uncomfortably dim. Needed more light. The advertised mountain view was nothing more than the side of a couple of churches. The closer on the room door was way too strong. A struggle to open door and hold open with baggage. Overall, it was a good experience. Wanted to point out what we felt were a few problems.. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A really nice place to stay Aloft did the basics very, very well. Our room was exactly as stated -- bright, airy, with a great view of the mountains -- although 385 square feet is a bit tight. Our room was clean and everything worked very well. Staff was cheerful, attentive, and give the impression that they wanted you to enjoy your stay with them -- which we did. Hotel was very well situated that made most everything very convenient and within easy walking distance. Parking at $5 a day was great, and we took advantage of their Birthday pricing special -- which was on our bill exactly as promised. When in Asheville, I will book into Aloft. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Get Away We had some business in Asheville. Nice nice modern hotel situated in now trendy Asheville. Brought the dogs and my daughter watched them. Very flexible staff. Liked the fact that they were watching over a rescue dog. Nice positive vibe to the place. October 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pet Friendly means dog stains on the carpet! Hated this hotel. That is unusual for me as I am a frequent Starwood's traveler. I could not see the good in the hotel because the first thing that greeted me was the fecal stained carpet. Not just a small stain but about 4 stains brown and large. It appears as though they never even tried to clean them. I complained, called SPG and they were willing to move me but there were no other rooms available. Told the hotel twice, they said they cleaned twice but the stains were still there. Pet friendly hotels need to remember that everyone does not love pets. There should be certain rooms or floors designated to those who do not travel with pets. It was the NASTIEST ALOFT I have ever been to. So disappointed!! June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location, location Beautiful hotel, great staff, great location, loved our stay here and we will return. Being dog friendly was the bonus. February 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adjoining door? Just say no. This hotel is in the perfect area, great amenities, cute and modern decor, etc. My husband and I just stayed two nights; I've previously lived in Asheville so we had a little weekend as tourists. Saturday evening was a great experience, but Sunday evening was a different story. We were placed in a room with a door connecting us to the room next door. We didn't think anything of it until Sunday night around 8pm. Someone must have just checked in, because the noise next door started and it didn't let up until at least 2am. I called the front desk at about midnight, and they sent someone up, but it didn't help. Upon checkout the next morning, I was asked how my stay was. I sleepily said "okay" and they didn't even ask for further explanation (he had a line holding so he was rushing me). I then asked if you could request a standalone room to avoid the noise and he simply said yes. No concern, nothing. Since then, I've posted politely on their Facebook page and on Twitter and have had no one reach out to me. Hence, this review. I was pleased with our stay other than this awful experience with the lack of sound dampening between adjoining rooms. Although, that in itself isn't so terrible, but the "customer service" offered is not acceptable. I'll refer friends/family but only if they can get a written guarantee that they'll get a standalone room. March 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unruly guests in adjacent room It's a shame, really. This hotel is very clean and charming, nicely incorporating local elements in the decor. Fantastic location right in the middle of downtown Asheville. However. Our stay was RUINED by ridiculously loud and obnoxious "neighbors" in the adjoining room. We checked in to room 431 on Sunday, March 16. We were surprised to find that we had been assigned a room that had an adjoining door to room 429. We had not requested this type of room but assumed the hotel must be full and that was our only option. We should have recognized the warning signs when we could hear EVERY word of the, very loud, conversations going on in 429. But we were in town for a concert and looking to have a good time so we left the room and went to dinner and our show and returned back to 431 shortly before midnight ready to wind down and get a good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed. Only the jerks in 429 were still at it. Around 1am I called the front desk and asked them if they could send someone to 429 and ask them to quiet down. No luck. At 2am I called the front desk again and was told we could relocate to another room if we desired. Really? That's management's response to rowdy guests? Relocate the inconvenienced? At 2am? I demanded a refund on the room and was told that wasn't an option. Here's what should have happened. Upon receiving our first call management should have made a stronger effort to get the "guests" in 429 to be quiet. Upon the second call at 2am the occupants of 429 should have been evicted and room 431 should have been fully comped. Like I said, it's a shame because the hotel has so much to offer. Taking care of their guests needs to move up on their list of priorities. March 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only