Aloft Asheville Downtown

  • 51 Biltmore Avenue
  • Asheville,
  • North Carolina
  • 28801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 395 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few things to imporve on. Nice contemporary design. The water smelled highly chlorinated, like bathing in a swimming pool. The reverse osmosis water was good to drink. The glass container was too small, had to go down the hall to refill frequently. The roof dog walk area hose did not work. Area smelled. The room lighting was uncomfortably dim. Needed more light. The advertised mountain view was nothing more than the side of a couple of churches. The closer on the room door was way too strong. A struggle to open door and hold open with baggage. Overall, it was a good experience. Wanted to point out what we felt were a few problems.. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, facilities need work Best location in downtown Asheville. Customer-facing staff is friendly and service level was quite good. The hotel is extremely pet-friendly, and the staff went out of their way to make our dog comfortable. The rooms are quite small, but you shouldn't be spending much time in your room while in Asheville. It could have been cleaner, and the carpets in the hallways were in poor condition and dirty. Housekeeping was friendly, but not particularly effective. As a result, it is hard to give this hotel a strong recommendation. Were it not for the extraordinarily convenient location and pet-friendliness, we wouldn't recommend it at all. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location, location Beautiful hotel, great staff, great location, loved our stay here and we will return. Being dog friendly was the bonus. February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our Favorites My son and I stayed at Aloft this week, and we loved the experience. In a really tired industry, Aloft was fresh. I felt like they had conducted a lot of consumer research to figure out what was missing from hotels, and then integrated it into this concept. Our room was so well thought out and had nice touches like a small refrigerator, and a carafe with "fresh reverse osmosis" water available down the hall. It's just - sorry to overuse but fresh is the word - loved the pool, the check in area, the coffee bar, everything. We've stayed in nice hotels all over the country and I kept sending my husband pics of cool things about this hotel. It was completely hip without being intimidating. In looking at the pictures and reading the reviews online, I was hesitant it might be "too hip" for families. Our kids are in middle school, and for what it's worth, my son thought it was the greatest place he's ever stayed. Huge fans of this concept. Really well done. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adjoining door? Just say no. This hotel is in the perfect area, great amenities, cute and modern decor, etc. My husband and I just stayed two nights; I've previously lived in Asheville so we had a little weekend as tourists. Saturday evening was a great experience, but Sunday evening was a different story. We were placed in a room with a door connecting us to the room next door. We didn't think anything of it until Sunday night around 8pm. Someone must have just checked in, because the noise next door started and it didn't let up until at least 2am. I called the front desk at about midnight, and they sent someone up, but it didn't help. Upon checkout the next morning, I was asked how my stay was. I sleepily said "okay" and they didn't even ask for further explanation (he had a line holding so he was rushing me). I then asked if you could request a standalone room to avoid the noise and he simply said yes. No concern, nothing. Since then, I've posted politely on their Facebook page and on Twitter and have had no one reach out to me. Hence, this review. I was pleased with our stay other than this awful experience with the lack of sound dampening between adjoining rooms. Although, that in itself isn't so terrible, but the "customer service" offered is not acceptable. I'll refer friends/family but only if they can get a written guarantee that they'll get a standalone room. March 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unruly guests in adjacent room It's a shame, really. This hotel is very clean and charming, nicely incorporating local elements in the decor. Fantastic location right in the middle of downtown Asheville. However. Our stay was RUINED by ridiculously loud and obnoxious "neighbors" in the adjoining room. We checked in to room 431 on Sunday, March 16. We were surprised to find that we had been assigned a room that had an adjoining door to room 429. We had not requested this type of room but assumed the hotel must be full and that was our only option. We should have recognized the warning signs when we could hear EVERY word of the, very loud, conversations going on in 429. But we were in town for a concert and looking to have a good time so we left the room and went to dinner and our show and returned back to 431 shortly before midnight ready to wind down and get a good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed. Only the jerks in 429 were still at it. Around 1am I called the front desk and asked them if they could send someone to 429 and ask them to quiet down. No luck. At 2am I called the front desk again and was told we could relocate to another room if we desired. Really? That's management's response to rowdy guests? Relocate the inconvenienced? At 2am? I demanded a refund on the room and was told that wasn't an option. Here's what should have happened. Upon receiving our first call management should have made a stronger effort to get the "guests" in 429 to be quiet. Upon the second call at 2am the occupants of 429 should have been evicted and room 431 should have been fully comped. Like I said, it's a shame because the hotel has so much to offer. Taking care of their guests needs to move up on their list of priorities. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Aloft Property This is a GREAT Aloft property!. Open air patios, great service, cool pool cabana rooms, is in the center of Asheville, hip crowd, dog run, huge living room, and really fab! It's easy in, easy out, $4 parking (get your ticket validated). Mountain views, etc. Listen, if you're a stick in the mud, don't stay here. Get a mountain view room or a pool cabana room If you're looking for serious quiet. There are balcony rooms too. Join in with the nightlife here! Great property, great staff, great ambiance and a great price (negotiable by the way if they aren't full). Best stay yet in an Aloft! June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Artsy Dog Friendly Hotel Everyone at the Aloft was amazingly friendly, helpful and attentive. I loved the location and the dog friendliness. My only suggestion would be to clean up the back. It was a turn off to see all hte cigarette butts in the back where I took my dog. It would look a lot nicer if the grass was resodded and that cigarette receptacles were placed outside. I am sure the staff would use them if they were there. Other than that….loved it!! August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, look no further for pet-friendly We wanted to come to Asheville and enjoy the city, dining, and Biltmore and bring along our young miniature poodle. The staff immediately made us feel at home at reception and got us a dog-friendly bed and treats for our puppy. The room was very clean and comfortable. There are dog walking areas in and adjacent to the hotel. The hotel is close to many restaurants and shops near Pack Square and was an easy walk. The design, staff, and attitude of the hotel are perfect for pet-friendly vacations, and there is NO additional pet charge for all of this wonderful accomodation. June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick Break Great location for pet owners. Ask for the 3rd floor. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Funky Hotel This hotel was just a fun place to stay with access to everything that we wanted to do. The staff was excellent. So very friendly. The room was small, but the space was well utilized, making it quite comfortable. The bar/lounge area, including the ability to sit outside on the deck and enjoy people watching was excellent. We will be back. August 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Overall, our stay was very good. The only service that was not as expected was the daily room clean-up. The first day, they did not leave us any towels and did not replace coffee supplies. A stop by the front desk took care of that but then the next day, they made our bed but did not replace coffee supplies or wipe down the bathroom vanity top. Once again, a call to the desk got us what we needed but I don't think that was the way it should have been. Everything else was great...exercise room, beds, location, coffee shop, front desk staff. We will be back!! November 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy hotel Our room was located on the 3rd floor directly above the bar area that had live music each night. We were not made aware of this fact at check-in. It would have been nice to have been given the option of a room further away from the bar area. The room was not insulated for sound and as a result we were able to hear the music and conversation in the bar area below. I called the front desk at 10pm to ask when the music would end and was told apathetically "the music ends around midnight". There was no offer to resolve the situation nor was there an apology offered. We come to Asheville frequently to get away and relax and were highly disappointed with our stay at Aloft. Not everyone who stays at your hotel is there for a party atmosphere. March 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Parking issue We have stayed at this Aloft before. The room was nice, clean comfortable. Check-in and check-out were very easy. We didn't visit the bar this time, but in the past we have and did enjoy our time there. Issue this time - we couldn't get into the garage to park until 1 a.m., meaning we had to leave the hotel and retrieve our car from a parking garage that was a distance from the hotel. Hotel staff should work with the city to ensure that customers can get into the parking garage when there is a downtown event. It was an unpleasant end to our evening. July 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Probably the best Aloft If you stay at an Aloft be prepared for an "Aloft style" room (small). The layout of the lobby and bar and outside areas (including open air pool) were excellent and exceeded my expectations. The 2nd floor veranda that extends the length of the building is great to relax at the end of a day. All the staff were very professional and experts at their jobs. Overall a great experience at this hotel. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location! Can't beat the location in downtown Asheville - super close to great restaurants and shopping, plus a view of the mountains from our room on the 5th floor. Didn't use the saltwater pool (!) or fire pit, but they looked like fun. When you turn on the bathroom light on your room at night, it ends up really illuminating the whole guest room because of a translucent panel on the wall - kind of a bummer when sharing a room. Also, the breakfast food was pretty bad and they mixed up our order even though there was no line. Overall, a pleasant stay but next time I'll be checking out a local restaurant instead of eating in the lobby. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property. My husband and I just stayed at Aloft for a long weekend. The location if fabulous and the property is great. It's clean and fresh and the staff is just wonderful. I would high recommend this property. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!! This hotel is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in recently, pet friendly to the extreme even with a little dog park on the third floor by the pool. I can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff was so awesome the bartenders the front desk and the cleaning crew were great. It's right in the heart of town you never have to get in your car. Forgot to mention they have free reverse osmosis water, where most hotels are charging $10 a bottle they give you free purified water. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great feel Really enjoyed the rooftop pool and patio bar, it was amazing August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Asheville Aloft The hotel is centrally located and exactly like all Aloft hotels, urban edgy. The housekeeping staff, however, was not up to par. The second day the staff left no new coffee supplies, toiletries or wash cloths. The third day the room was not made up by our return at 4pm . We called for new towels and let it go at that. The desk comped our parking fees for the inconvenience which made me wonder what else they would have done. Someone needs to supervise the housekeeping staff more closely. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rock n roll Was skeptical at first because I took a chance on a new place. I arrived late and saw immediately while checking in that it was a happening place...great music, people playing pool, friends talking by the fire place. My room was just awesome...cool stuff inside...lighting, sleeping arrangements, layout, bathroom equipment. The pool on the roof top with the mountain view....breathtaking. Wish other hotels were more focus on what you have to offer. Continue the the great work May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a fun hotel! From the first step into the elevator where the floor "reacted" to our footsteps, this hotel was full of fun things. Modern room was so clean but getting our luggage. Cart inside was a tight fit. Also, setting the thermostat on 70 made cold air come out of the heater. But, everything else was terrific. Even getting our free drink at WZYZ was no hassle. I got a high end bourbon without question. We'll be back when it's warmer to take advantage of the pool and wonder "ledge". February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely place to stay Such a treat to stay in this lovely hotel in the heart of downtown Asheville. Top-notch accommodations and friendly staff...will definitely return! August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FL with thanks...again 'Stumbled' on the Aloft{Asheville) a couple of years ago browsing pet friendly accommodations. The reception area was surrounded by a cool bar, pool table, tons of nice seating and access to a large balcony. the best part was the way-non-stuffy staff. Went to the room with my old lab and found a dog bed, sack of treats, bowl and her reason for living-a tennis ball. I'm sold; Went back for short stay months later and they asked where the lab was! Just returned from another stay, with dog, Just great. And easy parking below. Wouldn't surprise me to see a mutt on a bar stool. See you soon. David July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Friendly We were so glad we were able to bring our cat with us. He has special needs, and I would have worried about him the entire time if I had had to leave him at home. The room was comfortable and very modern. Our only complaint is that while Asheville is extremely vegan friendly, the Starbucks in the hotel was not. We had very few breakfast choices, and the staff didn't seem to understand what vegan is. April 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noise The hotel was excellent but the only complaint that I have was the noise. My room was right over the bar area and it was so loud that you could not sleep. I expressed my concerns when I checked out and the lady was very rude and said that I should have called and complained about the noise. It was a bar and I was unaware that they would turn the music down and ask the people to quiten down. She was not apologetic at all and her spiel seem quite rehearsed. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel to stay in! We only stayed one night but the room was wonderful! Bed was great! Love love love the glass shower. If your their grab a taco from the white duck taco shop. And breakfast at the early girl eatery wow! Pool views were amazing. May 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by perfect for downtown Asheville We wanted a hotel downtown so we could see the galleries and local attractions. Offbeat hotel with many cool features. Even the elevator floor is fun. They have specially filtered water to drink which was delicious. Only complaint is lack of lighting in the room for reading. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Couldn't beat the location, restaurants close by are fantastic! It's an edgy feel, but we liked it. There was a loud party going on in the bar on Friday night with a DJ, I was worried because we were on the 3rd floor and the party was on the 2nd and I thought we'd hear it, but we didn't hear a thing! Comfy room for a weekend stay, would recommend it for anyone visiting Asheville and wanting to be in the middle of everything downtown! January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelmed The hotel was beautiful. The receptionist was smarmy when we checked in, seeming to seethe at another employee for something so minor as telling us to get our parking ticket stamped (it turns out she was right, he was wrong). The room's view was stellar, but there were water stains above the bed, holes in the sheetrock in two places, and the water never got above warm when showering in the morning. I expect a hot shower for $200 a night. Also, you allow dogs on the top floors, even on the elevators. I despise dogs and don't wish to share living space with them, especially when they're barking on elevators. I won't stay at an Aloft again so long as they allow pets on all floors. March 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only