Aloft Chapel Hill

  • 1001 South Hamilton Road
  • Chapel Hill,
  • North Carolina
  • 27517
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 21 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by D Dewey Overall terrific experience at a reasonable rate. It far exceeded my expectations. The staff was extremely helpful. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel!! The best hotel. We love it!! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The hotel is sleek and modern. The room was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. When I need another hotel, I will definitely look for one in this chain. It is only 5 minutes away for Chapel Hill hospital. Outstanding August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel make the difference Great staff - front desk A+ and XYZ Bar tender (I don't recall her name) handled the professional crowd expertly -- first timer or repeat customers, all made to feel welcome. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pay for parking?? The parking fee seemed unnecessary and insulting. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the money, I'm not impressed Okay so it is young and hip. But unresponsive, unmotivated and lacking an attitude of service is not cool. The desk guy when I checked in, as a first time guest asked do you want to self park or valet ? I replied I thought parking was included. His reply - Yes, I need your answer. Well - maybe you should say yes both are included, your choice, free of cost. He was not welcoming or helpful. Unfortunately, I did not get his name. Sandy blonde hair, with glasses late afternoon eve shift. Next morning he is there again. No decaf coffee. Asked him to check, and it is seemed like a hassle for a person that was standing there doing nothing. No decaf - so you can use the special beverage machine for free. Great, thank you but maybe you ask "have you used it before, do you need help" Took a minute to figure out and then it was not really what I needed and he said oh you should have done an Americano. The room had peeling ceilings. Beds comfortable. Shower, clean but smelled like mildew. Bedding comfortable, fresh. Internet, login frustrating. Sometimes the box for login in did comes up and sometimes not. Sometimes the next button appears and other times not. Maybe the reload will work, maybe not. Ok I'm logged in and 15 mins later after working on a document, now I'm not. Bravo TV channel - no... I also liked that when the asked for my participation in the Green program they offered something in return. $5 off. I like companies that stand behind their beliefs with $. Would I stay again. Maybe depends on other choices in the city. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A pleasant surprise I've stayed at several other SPG properties - always a pleasant stay. When I walked into the lobby of the Aloft, I was a little concerned. It's not your typical hotel - It's modern, trendy, and sleek. My fears were totally unfounded. We had a very comfortable stay. The Aloft was situated in a perfect place for our visit. We were visiting a friend in the hospital at UNC and it is literally minutes away. It's also close to restaurants and shopping centers. While they don't have a restaurant on site, they do serve a hot breakfast. Our omelets were perfect. They also have snacks and light food available 24/7 at the Grab and Go area in their lobby. And there are restaurants within walking distance, right next to the hotel. There's a bar and lounge that's open in the lobby - great for socializing without being confined in a dark room. I didn't realize the property was pet friendly, but it was a nice extra. There were several guests that had their pets with them, which gave the property a real homely feel. It was nice to interact with the pets during our stay. Our room was comfortable and laid out nicely. My husband loved the shower area. The staff is very professional, friendly, and accommodating. We got a great night's sleep - room was very quiet. If I come back to Chapel Hill, I will definitely stay at the Aloft. And I will look for them in other locations during my travels. I will gladly recommend the Aloft in Chapel Hill to my friends. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eclectic , modern appearance Excellent staff, very clean comfortable great temperatures on rooms and very good water pressure July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yet another great stay; thanks to the staff! My family and I stay at this property frequently and we have never been disappointed. I travel a lot and visit a lot of different hotels. There are two things that separate a great stay from an average or poor stay for me: a well-kept and well-designed hotel, and the associates at the hotel. In both cases, the Chapel Hill Aloft excels. The staff at all turns is responsive, professional and caring. On the rare occasion when there has been a problem, it has been rectified and addressed immediately. That includes the wonderful people at the front desk (Corey is great!), the valet staff, the housekeeping staff, and the kitchen staff at breakfast. The great stays that I've had at this hotel led me to do something I'd never done before: post a review on TripAdvisor. I did it b/c I so wanted to thank the hotel for making our stays enjoyable. Another thing that I did, which I rarely do, is write a letter to the hotel's GM thanking that person for leading such a good team of people. The Platinum recognition at this hotel has always been 'by the book', and has been automatic...no groveling needed. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to those of you who will be in the Chapel Hill area. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Aloft Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Pet friendly. We always enjoy staying at Aloft. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place THe Aloft Chapel HIll is a nice hotel with a convenient location just fve minutes from the highway and UNC-Chapel Hill. A nice feature is that there is a beautiful running trail through a forest preserve just a 1/2 block away. I will definetly stay here again. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Misleading When we made our reservation we were looking forward to staying at this modern & unique hotel. During the online reservation process we were offered a choice of rooms which included breakfast for an additional $10-$12; we selected the breakfast package as we weren’t familiar with the area. During check in we were given our breakfast cards and we asked where the dining room was located; the employee pointed out the area behind the front desk that had food items and explained that in the morning (from 7:00 – 10:00 AM) the window to the kitchen would be open where we would be able to order Belgium Waffles, made to order Omelets and other breakfast items from the menu above the window. There were tables and other comfortable seating areas throughout the lobby to sit so the lack of an actual dining room was not a problem. The rooms were nice; there’s no lock on the sliding bathroom door (not a problem) but those with kids might want to know this as the shower is clear glass & the toilet is behind the door with the shower. The lighting in the room is great when the huge window area is open but if/when you close it to change clothes, etc. the lighting isn’t great. The only place to change clothes privately is the small bathroom/shower area behind the sliding door; everything else is open. The pool area is nice with unique furniture and a sun deck outside with more unique furniture; the pool was a little cold but the indoor pool area is very warm. We were disappointed in the staff and very disappointed at breakfast when the kitchen window was closed. To explain the disappointment in the staff; we walked past the two morning employees behind the check in desk without an explanation to the closed kitchen window until we finally had to ask. The employees weren’t busy with guests; just talking to each other. We were a little confused and trying to figure out how the ordering process worked; what we were able to select from with the included breakfast; etc. At no point did either employee turn and explain anything to us. I finally walked over to the desk and asked how to order from the closed window at which point one of the employees finally told us that the chef had to leave. I wasn’t upset that the chef had to leave as much as I was disappointed in the employees who missed the opportunity to let us know on our way in to the food area or shortly after we got there when we were walking around trying to figure out what to do. After we asked what we should do with our food cards they said we could select from the donuts, muffins, & breakfast sandwiches that were on the counter near the coffee, tea, & juice. Disappointing but still not a problem; after we each grabbed a breakfast sandwich, coffee & a muffin and sat down one of the employees came over and said that we had to check out at the desk. My husband apologized and said that we didn’t know how it worked; (unspoken – because there was a serious lack of communication from the staff) this is when I was seriously disappointed. The employee explained that each card was “worth $7.00” I think I noticed 7.00 (no dollar sign) on the card but never really thought about what it meant because if the value of the breakfast was only $7.00 I was certain it would have mentioned the limit during my reservation. I checked again today and it doesn’t. The $7.00 limit isn’t a problem; here’s the problem; that along with many other things was never explained. I would definitely have dined elsewhere! As a side note; the items were $4.00 and up so how is “breakfast included” with the room for $10-$12 a more desirable perk? If the chef were in we would have used our breakfast cards and spent double that for the extras such as coffee, juice and any side items. It’s a shame that an experience like this; which I believe is totally avoidable; will probably make us choose another hotel in the future. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice for a wedding! We stayed here to attend a wedding nearby. The common areas were very nice for large family groups to gather. We enjoyed our stay in Chapel Hill! June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern Facilities Clean, Modern Facilities. Only complaints is lack of parking for guest, around 20 spaces on site. And the street outside the room is very busy so you could hear traffic all night. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool Room First time stay at an Aloft Hotel. Unique decor makes for a very clean, modern look. Was pleasantly surprised. The room layout was not your standard hotel room by separating the bath/sink area from the bedroom. Plenty of room, efficient, very neat. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only problem was mold in shower and scuttle cover above show hanging open Also, glass shower door leaked severely no matter what one did to prevent it. May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not great I liked the modern look, but you can't judge a book by it's cover they say... The bed was WAY too firm, pillows too big, and my neck and shoulders ached in the morning. Also, pretty lame that the continental breakfast isn't free. So many other hotels offer this as a basic complimentary things. Don't think I'd return. May 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only thing going for it was its location Staff was nice, but they have so little to work with. Horrible accommodations with a very unfriendly AC. No room for anything for a 3-night stay. May 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was unique and had great features I enjoyed my stay at Aloft. The design of the hotel and the rooms was unique, fun, and comfortable. I appreciated the "stay green" opportunity and appreciated the $5.00 certificate for food or drinks that I received for each night that I "stayed green." I would stay at an Aloft hotel again. May 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern and Cozy all at the same time! Very modern decor and cozy decor! The room layout was perfect and I very much appreciated the black out shades in the early morning hours. The only thing that I was unsatisfied with was the valet service. When I arrived the valet told me that the service was provided at no charge. I checked in and gave him my keys. He then asked me if I would be going back out for the evening. When I said that I would he suggested that I may want to park my own car in case they got "busy"! On my trips in and out of the hotel I never noticed them so "busy" that they couldn't retrieve guests vehicles. (hmmm.. maybe I didn't look like a good tipper!?!) Anyway, I gladly parked my car each time I came and went from the property. Other than that I really enjoyed my stay. It was very quiet and relaxing! I also appreciate that you can bring your pets! (although my dog didn't tag along this time .. but good to know for the future!) May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will be back next year For those who have conferences at the Friday Center in Chapel Hill, NC you should be staying at the ALOFT Hotel and nowhere else. May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features The commendations are great, the beds are comfortable. The hotel has excellent work out room and the pool is indoors. There is a bar and lounge area that is welcoming. A great stay for the family. The front desk is very professional and friendly. The hotel also; has valet parking which is very convenient. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff but mediocre features for the business traveler As a business traveler, this is not an ideal hotel chain. It seems to me that the majority of other guests are not business travelers. This resulted in a lot of late night conversations and noise in the hallway during my mid-week stay. Also, when I stay more than one night, I like to unpack my suitcase. There are no drawers to put away clothing. The staff at this particular location, oddly all male, are very helpful and courteous. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay & will return Loved the modern architecture and ease of check-in (who needs a hotel desk? Seriously the kiosk was accessible and the staff very, very friendly and helpful). Our family also liked the availability of food and snacks, the Bliss products in the room, and the POOL. Very refreshing after a long car trip! Bring earplugs for possible flight noise. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gone to the Dogs This property tries to be all things to all guests and succeeds at none. The smelsl and sounds of dogs overshadows the voices and scents of two legged guests at play,rest or recreation. The beds are less than nothing special and some bedding had the odor of wet dog. While to some that may be home, to us it was not. Walking the grounds around the hotel was risky at best. Hotel parking spaces were coned off from paying guests? House keeper with a trolley full of towels suggested that I call downstairs for extra towels. No hotel or local directory in the rooms. Nothing special anywhere here and no reason to consider returning. This was our second stay here after spending one night in the past. The only positive aspect was the friendly greeting by the desk person at check in. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very pleased Staff very friendly and professional. Clean and comfortable. All you would want and hope to receive. Would stay again on next trip to the area. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is modern and economical Very clean. Has all the modern conveniences plus more. Very efficient staff. April 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best in Chapel Hill! After staying at this hotel for the last 5 years during my visits to the wonderful Hill, I learned something new this time. You are permitted to bring in your own alcoholic beverages to drink in the bar area or outside. I enjoyed a wonderful bottle of white wine with my colleague while sitting outside in the spring sunshine. The bar staff even provided us with glasses and an ice bucket to keep our wine chilled. HOW GREAT!!!!! April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel great location, great bar area and wonderful rooms April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-inclusive Hotel My first time staying at this hotel, and I really loved it. The staff was very professional and accommodating. My room was very clean, modern and the bed was so comfortable. Hot/cold breakfast you can purchase in the lobby, plenty of seating, and toiletries also available for purchase. Bonus free shuttle service is a big plus. Plan to stay here again. March 22, 2014
  • 2015-04-01T17:29:28.581-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_167, tr_167
  • loc_en_US, sid_3411, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only