Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Choice Aloft London was an excellent choice for us. It was quirky enough to be interesting without ever being over the top. With the DLR (leading to the Jubilee Line connection in Canning Town) practically at our doorstep, central London is 40-45 minutes away. We had no problems commuting because we were armed with an unlimited-ride 7-day visitor pass, and factored in the extra time needed to commute to attractions, and at check-in, we were given (without having to ask) a city map complete with a map of the underground lines. Our suite, upgraded with Suite Night vouchers, was spacious and cleverly laid out, with functional and useful features. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and professional, except for a surly chambermaid we met along the corridor. The English breakfast was also good, as was the staff and ambience in Fede restaurant. Aloft was also close to Canary Wharf and the Emirates Air Line and Westfield Stratford, one of the biggest malls in the country, or so we were told. Overall, we were very impressed with this hip and youthful hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our five nights here. We look forward to coming back. December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! The Aloft London is simply the best Sheraton property in the town. (I have stayed in all of the others in the past.) Even when I am not flying in/out of London City (which is a short bus trip away), I try to stay here because it is the best value for your money. December 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by An oweful experience Booked through SPG web site a room the day before arrival. Got to the reception to check in but no trace whatsoever of the booking. Showed the SPG confirmation number and SPG platinum number on the SPG iphone app but still no booking. I was told that sometimes the booking reference is not sent to the hotel ! this is the most ridiculous statement that I have ever heard at an SPG check in desk since I am a platinum member. The guy left the reception to go and find my booking. He came back 10 mins later and registered me manually in the system. Being a platinum for Aloft is not important by the way. I got a voucher for a soft drink at what is being called a Re:Fuel bar ! So far I still got no invoice for my stay. This hotel clearly does not deserve a 4 star in the SPG category. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excel event? - stay here!!! Very reasonably priced compared to the other onsite hotels at Excel which aren't as nice. DLR goes straight to the hotel and you don't have to cross any roads to get to Excel. Hotel fantastic, very flash. Staff brill. Cleanliness excellent. Only downfall is breakfast is VERY expensive but we managed to find a more reasonably priced alternative at Excel. Holding facility for baggage, so if you need to leave your room but still have an event to attend, you can leave your suitcase behind and pick it up later. May 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicest hotel we've stayed in in Europe. Although the hotel is located far to the east in London, we had no problem getting to Heathrow by leaving early in the AM and using the DLR and the subway (tube) system. The hotel itself is very "mod"; the facilities were nicer than we could have hoped for. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was most accomodating. September 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice new hotel Enjoyed the design and good facilities. Good location close to the DLR station and nice views from 7th floor over the water. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room. Enjoyed having most facilities to ourselves although this is probably because the hotel is very new and not well known yet and there were no activities at Excel. Great that you have free internet - this should be standard in all hotels. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost no reason not to give a perfect score I am amazed at the value of this hotel, from the free wireless to the reasonable costs for snacks, to the room and what you get. it is fresh, clean and even smells trendy! I didn't seem to get anything special as Gold but it seems like a great place. The only negative, for car drivers, is getting to the hotel. It can be very tough to find even though you can see it there in the distance. May 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience with Staff at London Aloft Excel As a longstanding Platinum SPG member, I was aghast, and sorely disappointed by my recent stay at the London Aloft Excel. A number of guests I spoke to shared my opinion. The front desk staff were rude, argumentative (after a long flight who needs this?) and insisted on refuting my upgrade status, gave me a room not of my choosing right opposite noisy elevators, argued with me about my Platinum status, failed to provide coupons for free coffee.) In point of fact a staff person at the front desk on check in told me to be quiet, and not address the issues I wanted addressed on check-in. I recommend avoiding this hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Business Hotel I can recommend the ALOFT if you are participating or visiting any Event at the Excel. It's a perfect upper class business Hotel with a fresh and innovative Concept. Fantastic Value for Money. The Restaurant has good prices comparable to some others in Central London. and.... the free Internet worked 100%. Nice and trendy Hotel. Congratulations! April 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce and Modern. Basic but good Value Like other Aloft's, this is a great bargain and very nice and modern. Perfect for business travelers or stays near the airport. Probably a 3 min drive from LCY? The staff was very friendly and helpful. And it only takes about 40 mins to take the Tube into town. The rooms are great with all the modern hdmi hookups for ipads etc... March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel near the DLR I had a excellent stay. Took care of al my needs. Roksana was an excellent employee who helped me greatly--her kindness was appreciated. I prefer a hotel AWAY from the city center but near a metro line---fit the bill...and the soothing location..very nice March 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by First stay at aloft Hotel is trendy and rooms very clean, bright and good facilities.Lacks the personal touch when it comes to the Restaurant, Breakfast is a very basic affair, you have to make your own tea/coffee in mugs from an urn so you don't get a good hot cup of tea/coffee and a teaspoon would be nice rather than a stick! Breakfast is laid out under hot lamps scrambled eggs must have been there an hour or more as all dried up and it was only 8.30am! not at all attractive, a choice of eggs would be nice! and staff who actually speak to you! A couple of small improvements could really ,make a big difference here! I joined SPG on arrival so didn't really expect any recognition maybe next time! May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing less than 5 starts all around! Where do I start?! Absolutely EVERTHING about my 5 day/4night visit to this amazing hotel was superb (and I'm very hard to please!) From check-in to check-in, I was met with superior customer service by all the staff (front desk, bartendars, cleaning staff, restaurant, etc.). I even had a great exchange with the Engineer who came to quickly fix a small glitch with my TV. The rooms are comfortable, functional and gorgeous. I had a great view of the water too. Quite honestly, 77GBP a night for 3 nights was a steal in my opinion. I come to London quite often and will definitely stay here again and again. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Striking Building, Location Can Be Hit or Miss Have stayed here for a couple of nights prior to the Olympics. Location can be its strongest and weakest point at the same time: it is only 5 minutes by bus to City Airport, and has a DLR station next to it for easy access to the city. Yet, it is located in a post-industrial wasteland, and there’s absolutely nothing nearby in terms of shops or restaurants. Yet, rooms are very modern, light and comfortable. Bathrooms are nice and I especially like the Bliss shower gel and shampoo dispensers. Nice well stocked magazine rack in each room, and good complimentary internet access. The best thing about this hotel, are the communal areas: a nice gym, a great indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, and even a laundry room. The bar is quite cool as well. Onsite food options are very limited. Expect no upgrades for platinums, although the breakfast amenity is worthwhile as it includes 3 items you can pick from the self-service bar area. This is a good, well-priced option for London with easy access to the public transport network, although if you’re considering any type of nightlife activities, this place is a no-go as it will involve a long and expensive cab ride back. Best for business. September 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value for money Aloft is a great option for everyone using London City Airport or doing business in the Canary Wharf Area. If you are in town to explore the British capital you should go for a more central location, it is a rather long trip on the train between Aloft and central London. And it isn´t very much to explore around the hotel, unless you are a great fan of big exhibitions (London Excel is on the door step). Having said that, I find the rooms very comfortable, great beds and well kept. The public areas are modern and inviting. No SPG-recognition, stayed there a couple of times as Platinum, but no upgrades. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stays Stayed at the Aloft a couple of times in the past 2 weeks, with both stays being excellent. Hotel very comfortable and with friendly and helpful staff. On both stays the hotel was busy and although Platinum upgrades are not normally offered, on both occasions I was fortunate enough to have been upgraded to a suite. (The standard rooms are more than fine though) The Platinum breakfast, if you choose that option, is for 3 items from the re:fuel shop plus a hot drink. This is better than it sounds and the chocolate hazelnut pastry is highly recommended! Will definitely be back again in the future. September 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by can't believe this is a SPG hotel The hotel is a brand new addition to the SPG hotels, opened in OCT.2011. But don't expect the type of SPG standards if you are familiar with SPG program as the staff obviously didn't not. Case in point: the reception flat out say that they "don't do upgrades" for platinum members,even though the days I stayed there, the hotel has 5-10 percent of occupancy. I couldn't tell whether the front desk staff was unable or unwilling to serve the guests, upon checking in, I asked for a chair for the writing desk, they said they didn't have any. I asked for a electricity adaptor, they replied that I had to purchase one from their shop. Eventually, I had to seek the hotel manager for getting the chair and the adaptor. December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel I've ever stayed in There are no words that can describe my stay here. I had an amazing time (Despite the fact I had to work), the staff were friendly attentive and a pleasure to speak to. The room was beautiful and clean and met all of my needs, I even had friends come to the room that were jealous of how amazing it was. My only critique would be that there is no room service, however, that's a minor issue as everything else was perfect. I have recommended this particular hotel to 2 companies I work with twice a year at the MCM Expo and they have also decided to book rooms for these events. August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe Stayed here this past weekend. First time staying at an aloft. Here are my thoughts: > Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe > Self check-in - all worked and issued single key (despite 2 persons on rez) - key issued did not work in elevator. Had to go back to desk and wait in the queue to get new key(s) {defeats the purpose of self check-in} > Room is not very functional - large desk space and a couple of cubbies - no drawers to put things in. Skinny wardrobe with 5 hangers. No iron/ironing board > Make shift place to do ironing in guest laundry area but no hooks to hang clothes on after they're been ironed. Room is dimly lit and not well ventilated. No source of water. I understand this is temporary as they have not yet received supply of irons from supplier. I suggested to Manager they should offer complimentary pressing service in the interim. > Arranged car service one night and despite us being out front, he was miles away at the wrong address. Return trip, driver didn't know how to access hotel, despite having address. Clearly they need to advise cabbies/car service of their opening and location. > requested room to be cleaned late to both housekeeper and supervisor. On going out for the evening (5:00pm) asked front desk to advise housekeeping room was now free to be cleaned. Returned at 9pm and room had not been touched. In speaking with the Manager, he advised clerk had failed to advise housekeeping and arranged to move us to a clean room. > DLR was not running due scheduled maintenance. No problem, hotel offers courtesy shuttle to Canary Wharf - oops, shuttle doesn't run on weekends! Mentioned to Manager that perhaps they should have kept the shuttle on for this weekend > Attempted self check-out - machine could not read room card so I had to go to the front desk. Mentioned this issue to Manager (same one) and all he could say is they were having problems and had advised the vendor of the issues (then maybe you should not have people using them until they're fully functioning?) > Despite being on a pre-paid stay, I had a balance of £1.00. Apparently they auto-charge a charity donation and it's up to the guest to ask for it to be removed. The stop and go food bar is a bit confusing. People don't know the prices. However, the drip coffee in the morning is complimentary. The chocolate stuffed croissant (@ £1.50) was very good. Location is ideal to the City Airport (£11.00 by private car). Location to DLR is great for getting around. Easy connections to the tube. Allow 30-40 minutes to the West End, 20 minutes to Canary Wharf, 85 minutes to LHR. Other than the hotel and the ExCeL Centre, there is nothing else around except for a couple of other hotels. If it wasn't for the £68.00 per night for Sat-Mon stay, I would suggest staying somewhere else until all of the bugs can be worked out. Staff are young and new and don't seem empowered or experienced in dealing with irregularities (or trained in how to make/keep someone happy). I am not a high maintenance person and after the room not cleaned incident, I discussed all of the other issues with the Manage on duty. As he was offering to move us to a new room, it would have cost him nothing to put us in a suite (the place was empty), offer breakfast the next morning or even a drink in the bar. But there was nothing 'above and beyond' extended. Perhaps when it comes time for you to stay here, all of the opening faults will have been resolved. November 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice modern hotel, staff could do with being better trained This is a lovely, new and contemporary hotel. Although it is beside Excel Center, there is absolutely nothing to do near the hotel. Rooms are well appointed with most things you'd need. Despite being beside London City Airport it is relatively quiet. Free shuttle bus to Canary Wharf is a nice touch, although as the driver couldn't speak English I had no idea what time it returned back to the hotel. Downside is the TV. This is one of those "internet" TV's and is infuriatingly slow. Everything has to be done through a menu which is slow and clunky. Please change this! October 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time Arrived in the afternoon during the week and their systems were down. They find my reservation and I ask if I've been upgraded. I'm told they don't have suites. I'm not asked what type of platinum amenity I want. No worries. I go to my room and turn on the heat because the room is freezing. 15 min later the temp hasn't increased so I call the front desk and they send maintenance. He tells me to leave it on auto. 20 min later still no heat. Maintenance returns, opens the ceiling cover and water dumps on the floor. My next room is magically a suite. Upon checkout the front desk clerk asks me for my card. I tell him it's a pre-paid reservation. He tells me "they don't do those." Two days later I see 2 charges from the Aloft on my account... I'm platinum so obviously have stayed at a fair share of hotels. This is still a fairly new property so you could attribute the above to growing pains however I would be more likely to attribute it to poor training or employee selection. The employees were all relatively young and obviously lacked significant hospitality experience. In short, I have no desire to stay here again. February 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll be back. My husband and I spent two night at this hotel as we were attending an event at the O2. The location is great for the O2 and because of this we'll be back. The room was spotless, very cool and modern. I liked the green policy but was surprised to discover that opting to not change your towel also meant the room was not made up at all. Staff in the bar were great, the bar food menu was very basic and after a concert we could've done with a better choice of food. Staff at reception seemed a little inexperienced and we did not receive the 10% discount off bar food that we should have being SPG members and reception were unaware of this offer. So overall a couple of minor negatives but we had a great stay and will definitely use this hotel again. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The perfect place to stay for events at the O2, or in the West End. Flying home on the cable car after an afternoon at the multiplex in the O2 was a magical end to the day/start to the evening. Aloft is on top of the DLR which makes getting in the City, the West End and the South Bank quick and easy. With parking right outside the hotel it's a quick way out of town. Just watch it with the sat nav - the hotel is so new it's not on Google Maps or the car navigation. Just head for the City Airport side of Excel - Excel East and you'll find it. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful staff This was our second visit to this hotel. We booked a theatre package- train, tickets,theatre and hotel for 2 nights. We chose this hotel as we were impressed on our last visit- even though we were very early there was no problem checking in. However, we were nowhere on the system! The theatre breaks people hadn't forwarded our booking which we made in July. Fillipe ( hope I've spelt it correctly)was very efficient and friendly, he took my paperwork into the office and returned without fuss- thankfully the hotel is quite large so there was no problem booking us in- he was very apologetic even though it wasn't the hotels fault, he gave us a lovely room with a view of the river because of our wait again even though it was not his fault- once again brilliant service, room and lovely breakfast. November 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean, Close to Conference Center and DLR While this property is no 5-star facility, it is new and quite clean. It works out nicely if you are visiting near the eastern end of London (Greenwich, the Tower, the City, etc.). If you plan to spend your time in the West End, look elsewhere. As others have commented, the room cleaning carts and dirty towel bins left in the hallways 24/7 is a bit off-putting. They really should do something about this. Despite some print about complimentary continental breakfast, Platinum guests actually receive a full breakfast buffet -- which was a pleasant surprise. Our major disappointment was that our rooms were not ready at 3:15 when we checked in. We had to wait an hour, an annoying inconvenience for which no apologies were offered. We booked two rooms weeks in advance, requesting that they be adjacent. Somehow, with all that advance notice, all the hotel could manage were rooms in completely opposite wings of the property. Pretty lame and not great when you have children. A complaint to our SPG ambassador did eventually elicit an offer to switch rooms from the manager, but it was really too late to move at that point (two nights into our stay). And it shouldn't have required that sort of escalation in the first place. The bottom line is it's a decent property that has some management kinks to work out. October 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great security For a single woman traveller the security is great at this hotel and I cannot find fault with anything else but for a tired traveller finding my room on the second floor was a trial but I got there so BIGGER SINAGE PLEASE is all I would say. December 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only