Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 235 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great and Nice New Hotels Rooms with high techlogy. In addtion, the hotel provide efficient safety facilities. Nice staff and good service. Nice view around the hotel. It is easy to reach city down of london. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business center lacking For a hotel basically attached to a convention center, I expected a more robust business center. There were only two computers for use that access the internet only. There was no way to print documents from my PC, and no fax machine available or copy machine. The hotel did not have a shipping service on site and front desk did not have stamps. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Nice and modern Hotel, great rooms, great view! Location is in the docklands, long subway drive to the centre. Breakfast is alright, but crowded. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern facility and great staff Except for the room temperature being hard to control and the view being not my favorite, this was a good place to stay. The real downside was the distance from Heathrow. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost there Really good location and excellent accommodation. Pool and Gym great. Breakfast was ok but no more - the quality of breakfast informed our decision to eat out rather than at the hotel. Paper cups in rooms not good if you want more than one drink. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cosy, quiet,comfortable hotel A good hotel, in a quiet suburb of London, easily accessible via Light railway or bus. Rooms were comfortable and cosy, breakfast was great and stuff was friendly and willing to assist. For the high standards of the hotel, additional amenities within the room, such as sleepers, ear buttonets, etc should be included. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable stay The rooms are very generous in size with a king size bed. Would have loved a microwave in the room, but there was tea service and a decent size mini fridge. Also, there could have been more food choices at the restaurant, but overall it was a very pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great informal hotel for visiting London Newish and modern feeling hotel with energetic and helpful staff and an informal but comfortable feel. Interesting pool architecture and nice that the pool was warm. Sauna did not work that well but that did not seem important. Found staff to be very helpful in the informal cafe, the restaurant, and at the front desk. If you are comfortable with public transportation, you can easily take the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) and transfer to the "Tube" to get to the main sights in downtown London. In the end, we thought this hotel was a great find for visiting London. Easy walk from the hotel to/from London City Airport. You need to remember that the Aloft brand is not a full service hotel however we found it comfortable and all of our needs were met and expectations were exceeded by the front desk/cafe staff and the restaurant staff. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best hotel I've stayed in in a long time - especially for London The facilities were great, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel was much nearer Central London than we thought. The restaurant as good too. We really liked everything about iy! July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and convenience Comfortable rooms and very convenient for meetings and conferences at the nearbyExcel conference centre July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Theatre weekend at Aloft Edexel The Hotel is about 35 minutes by DLR and Underground from covent garden- You do need to change from DLR to Underground, the instructions on the DLR and Underground are pretty clear, the ticket machines however are not so you may need to research buying your tickets. Hotel is very comfortable, the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Sunday buffet breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked, hot where it should be and chilled in the right places,very well stocked. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna were all good, plenty of towels to use. Around the hotel there were plenty of sofa to snooze post swim before we headed home. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel but a bit far out Stayed here on points with my family 7/4-7/9, nice new hotel with great rooms and beds, shower, bathroom. Nick at the reception was very helpful in all of our needs and navigating the city, as you will need to take the DLR to get anywhere, about 10 pounds to get to the city center. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent hotel Check-in was easy with very friendly front desk staff. We arrived early (around noon) and our room was ready. Vouchers for free drinks and breakfast were offered for Platinum member. Free wi-fi was a nice touch. The room was very trendy and comfortable. The pool and sauna facilities were clean and well kept. We only had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was above average. All in all it was a very pleasant stay for us. Thank you. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! We had choosen the Aloft hotel London because of the price. It wasn't too expensive! It's a bit further from the centrum of London but very easy to get there with the DLR. The complete hotel, including the rooms, was extremely modern and clean. We were amazed to get such a beautiful hotel for such a low cost! We enjoyed the pool and the sauna and had no problems with the free wifi. Aft last but not least there's the breakfast. Everything was good. They kept a good eye on everything so nothing was empty. We had a great time in London! July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice when checked in but real struggle to check in Real struggle to get checked in, mistake by booking agent meant room held not paid for on company card, hotel refused to take company card details for payment then, settled on bacs but was told may take days to clear so may not be able to stay. when finally sorted bacs for room payment, a deposit required prior to check in, again refused to take company card details. Ended up using personal details, did not wish to, this was a business trip, would have thought could handle a business stay more effectively. 3hrs check in for one night stay. Also air con freezing, tried turning up but capped at 22, so turned off but still sounded like it was running. Was nice and warm outside but couldn't open window. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Out of the way but with easy access to DRL Certainly not located close to major tourist attractions but easy access to DRL as hotel is connected to the Prince Regent station. Overall a comfortable stay except for the check in experience. The first reception desk staff did not speak English well and kept insisting that I did not have a reservation. Had to wait for a while before another staff sorted the issue out but I still had to wait for another hour before getting a room. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Stayed on business, great hotel for the price with lovely staff and fab facilities. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by oilman1961 Good service, great location and excellent staff. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Working the Kinks Out I just checked out of the Aloft after a 4 night stay. Upon reading SPG reviews I was afraid it would be a miserable experience. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. Many of the problems other reviews seem to have been resolved. The staff was pretty well trained, the room fridge worked, coffee and tea in the room, a trash can in the bathroom. I received a 125 point Gold member bonus at check in. All in all it was a very good experience. The location next to ExCeL was very convenient. In comparing notes with friends who were in nearby hotels, the Aloft appeared to be superior. I would not recommending staying there, however, if you aren't attending an event at ExCeL due to its remote location. March 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good SPG Property I've stayed here a couple of times and like the hotel. The rooms are good and the ends comfortable. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best place to stay in London This is truly my hotel of choice in London. After many stays in several hotels in London, I finally had the chance to stay at the Aloft Excel. I stayed before at other Aloft, so I knew that they are hip and trendy places, even if usually they are located away from the centre of the city. In this case however the location is just perfect. It's minutes away from London City airport - in fact you can even walk from the airport to the hotel in less than 15 minutes. And still it doesn't feel at all like an "airport hotel" - because it isn't! Next door is the Excel centre, so if you have to attend an event there, the Aloft is your best choice. If you want to go into central London, the DLR station is literally behind the hotel (leave the hotel from the second floor to reach the station), and it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Westminster, and just about 40 minutes to get to South Kensington for instance. From many hotels in the centre of London it would take longer in fact - the Aloft is so well connected. And it's just minutes away from the Docklands, the O2, the new cable car (the Emirates air line) which provides fantastic views over the east of London, and the Olympic park. If you've been to an Aloft before, you will be familiar with the rooms: very functional design, wonderful bed, fast and free wifi connection, great shower and Bliss amenities, coffee and tea, free bottled water and great magazines (including Wallpaper* - and you can find many more magazines, including Time Out, at the entrance of the hotel). The Aloft London has a very good gym, with top class equipment and plenty of natural light; and a pool, sauna and steam bath which are true luxury. I found it really wonderful to start the day at the gym and pool and go back there at the end of the day. The wxyz bar is also very nice - great staff, affordable prices, and plenty of space which is perfect either if you are alone or in company. The staff at the front desk is one of the kindest and helpful I've met - no attitude, always ready to help, professional and yet incredibly friendly. All this makes the Aloft a perfect place to stay in London. Unless you want to stay in a place right in the center the Aloft has the best transport connections, superb facilities, a young and trendy atmosphere, and the nicest staff. July 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good if you are at an eXcel specific event I have stayed here 5 times now, and while there's nothing overly wrong about it, there's not much right either. I have been in a handful of Aloft around the world, and they're a good choice if you're on an overnight layover or if you're in a place where you're not going to spend much time in the hotel. Aloft London has got all the good stuff that you expect from the brand...bliss bath products, good tea/coffee, and a perfect mattress. The little shop downstairs has got what you need for late night munchies. The rooms are a good size and the shower is nice and big (no bathtub), and the sink has good counter space (something important for girls!). Breakfast is a full english and is good. Unless you are at a specific event being held in eXcel or flying out of City airport early morning, the location is awful. If you've not been to London before or are needing to be closer to the centre, this is not the place for you. There is nothing at all nearby except the eXcel centre. It does have a DLR station nearby that will get you into waterloo station in about 20 minutes, but no taxi driver ever can find it (and it'll cost you well over 50 quid if you're coming/going to the centre), and any time I've rang up reception and handed a phone over to the driver, the staff can't quite explain where it is either. Room prices wildly fluctuate depending on how full the hotel is. London prices are crazy expensive anyway, but 300£ for an Aloft that is so far outside of the city is over the top. If it's low occupancy, you can get a room for a more reasonable 115£ or so, but as soon as they've got a conference in, the price trebles. The other problem with that is that it can be difficult to get the days you want because they go from zero to full in one night. Case in point was last week when I needed to stay an extra night in london and they were unable to extend my stay by a night because of a conference. I've tried 3 times to use my Your24 option, but denied every time. The attitude of the staff also changes when there is a group, and all their attention shifts to them. There isn't any real recognition of Platinum members or a designated SPG check in desk, so if you're unlucky enough to get there when a group is checking in our out, you're going to be waiting a long time, as they only have 2 or 3 staff working the desk. I also came back from a meeting on the last stay and found cleaning people in my room even though I had put the do not disturb sign on the door. The only time I've used the bar is for a nightcap, and again, there was a group in there, so with only one bartender working, it took more than 20 minutes to get a drink. All in all, it's an ok hotel, but not one I'll stay at again unless I've got an early flight out of City airport. I think Aloft is a great brand, the one in Tempe, AZ is one of my favourites, this one just misses the mark a bit for my preferences. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Air Conditioning The room air conditioning was difficuult to be adjusted. I even did not find a method of switching it off. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff in London Came for double birthday weekend with my wife, and other family members. The hotel was great, with excellent security features (e.g. lift). The staff, and I met many during the weekend, were ALL unfailingly courteuos and SO helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely brilliant! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations Having stayed at many Starwood hotels I am used to a certain level of customer service. The staff at the Aloft London Excel exceeded my expectations. Thank you. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favourtie in London! Fantastic facility, staff and service. Modern, clean facility with great pool and gym. Great value for money. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a friendly hotel the hotel staff could not be more responsive to your needs the hotel has really changed for the positive in the last few months June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great facilities particularly for disabled guests The hotel staff were warm and friendly and had a good knowledge of all local amenities including ease of access for wheelchairs. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ranches Great and comfortable Hotel June 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only