Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 276 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service! We chose this hotel to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday. There were 3 generations of family celebrating together and we all enjoyed it equally! A special mention for Lionel at reception, what a star. We were upgraded to a suite and it made my daughter's birthday extra special and memorable. The main purpose for our stay was shopping! Getting to the Westfield Centre at Stratford was so easy, the perfect location. Every request was met with courtesy and a smile by every single member of staff we encountered. Rooms were spotless, facilities were faultless. One of our party has mobility issues and the VERY short walk to the station and the lift facilities on DLR made her life so much easier. I just wish we could've stayed for longer. September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Working the Kinks Out I just checked out of the Aloft after a 4 night stay. Upon reading SPG reviews I was afraid it would be a miserable experience. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. Many of the problems other reviews seem to have been resolved. The staff was pretty well trained, the room fridge worked, coffee and tea in the room, a trash can in the bathroom. I received a 125 point Gold member bonus at check in. All in all it was a very good experience. The location next to ExCeL was very convenient. In comparing notes with friends who were in nearby hotels, the Aloft appeared to be superior. I would not recommending staying there, however, if you aren't attending an event at ExCeL due to its remote location. March 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not so out of the way A great alternative for a London location, however there are some things you need to factor in to offset the price of this Hotel, which offers tremendous value (when no large exhibitions are taking place at the Excel centre). The public transport is served mostly by the DLR and therefore Tube. Zone 3 to Zone 1 is under five pounds and gets you to your location in London effortlessly. However, at night, it's a nightmare to get back to, and the London Taxi will cost you GBP40.00. The front entrance does not have an awning, and so you risk getting drenched when the British rain is unleashed and running from a car to the front entrance. This hotel locations offers nothing in the vicinity that you would want to stick around for, but you cannot ignore the price to quality ratio. September 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best place to stay in London This is truly my hotel of choice in London. After many stays in several hotels in London, I finally had the chance to stay at the Aloft Excel. I stayed before at other Aloft, so I knew that they are hip and trendy places, even if usually they are located away from the centre of the city. In this case however the location is just perfect. It's minutes away from London City airport - in fact you can even walk from the airport to the hotel in less than 15 minutes. And still it doesn't feel at all like an "airport hotel" - because it isn't! Next door is the Excel centre, so if you have to attend an event there, the Aloft is your best choice. If you want to go into central London, the DLR station is literally behind the hotel (leave the hotel from the second floor to reach the station), and it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Westminster, and just about 40 minutes to get to South Kensington for instance. From many hotels in the centre of London it would take longer in fact - the Aloft is so well connected. And it's just minutes away from the Docklands, the O2, the new cable car (the Emirates air line) which provides fantastic views over the east of London, and the Olympic park. If you've been to an Aloft before, you will be familiar with the rooms: very functional design, wonderful bed, fast and free wifi connection, great shower and Bliss amenities, coffee and tea, free bottled water and great magazines (including Wallpaper* - and you can find many more magazines, including Time Out, at the entrance of the hotel). The Aloft London has a very good gym, with top class equipment and plenty of natural light; and a pool, sauna and steam bath which are true luxury. I found it really wonderful to start the day at the gym and pool and go back there at the end of the day. The wxyz bar is also very nice - great staff, affordable prices, and plenty of space which is perfect either if you are alone or in company. The staff at the front desk is one of the kindest and helpful I've met - no attitude, always ready to help, professional and yet incredibly friendly. All this makes the Aloft a perfect place to stay in London. Unless you want to stay in a place right in the center the Aloft has the best transport connections, superb facilities, a young and trendy atmosphere, and the nicest staff. July 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent featurs Very modern hotel, the rooms are of a great standard, the shower/wet room has pleanty of space, the beds are oversized and very comfortable. Excellent hotel for visiting/exhibiting at the Excel. The bar staff could be a little more engaging..looked & acted thoroughly "fed up" September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top class hotel near excel First rate hotel with large rooms swimmimg pool and gym right next to Excel and the DLR . Ideal base for london at a reasonable price August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High hopes realised... Stayed at the Aloft for six nights with companion in wheelchair, The room was comfortable, large and perfect for the wheelchair, ground coffee delicious, soaps smelled lovely. No shower caps in bathroom but got them from one of the hotel staff no problem. The check-in staff were very friendly and the amenities offered were almost first class. I expected it to be a good hotel from what I'd seen on-line, but in fact it was very good bordering on excellent. Swimming pool great, especially at night, and the hours it was open were good too - 6am till 11pm. A lot of security in this hotel with card keys needed to get into pool and also to your floor in the lift, but this is reassuring. If you want to meet someone in a room on another floor, however, you'd have to use the stairs.Could do with a clock in the swimming pool, I had to keep my watch on the side.But all things considered, the hotel was first rate, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff in London Came for double birthday weekend with my wife, and other family members. The hotel was great, with excellent security features (e.g. lift). The staff, and I met many during the weekend, were ALL unfailingly courteuos and SO helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely brilliant! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The Aloft Excel Hotel was everything I expected and more. It was very accommodating for our needs. I would recommend it without any hesitation; clean, comfortable and modern. What more could one ask? September 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Some serious problems with this hotel As a Platinum SPG member I've stayed in many hotels within the SPG group, always enjoying my stays. This experience was very different. 1) the directions on the website are wrong, telling you to look for platform 3 at Shadwell train station (there are only 2 platforms. I wasted time up and down stairs looking for a non existent platform with my 7yr old, great fun! 2) . Next I go to get into bed and find quite a big blood stain on the white bedding. It looked like a menstrual blood stain and was really quite obvious. I only noticed it when I pulled the duvet back to get into bed. This is appalling. 3) the hotel offers inflatable beds for children. Seems great except mine had a slow leak. It deflated fully and my 7yr old woke us all up during the night when he was uncomfortable lying on the floor. Basic standards for accurate travel info, cleanliness and sleeping arrangements that are fit for purpose are basic expectations in any hotel, never mind a higher end hotel chain like SPG. I have to say the hotel is stylish in design, the bar area is very nice, as is the pool. Effort has gone into the public areas, it's a shame that when you look closely, this hotel appears to be all fur coat with not a lot beneath that. This was my first experience with an Aloft hotel and it will be my last. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excel event? - stay here!!! Very reasonably priced compared to the other onsite hotels at Excel which aren't as nice. DLR goes straight to the hotel and you don't have to cross any roads to get to Excel. Hotel fantastic, very flash. Staff brill. Cleanliness excellent. Only downfall is breakfast is VERY expensive but we managed to find a more reasonably priced alternative at Excel. Holding facility for baggage, so if you need to leave your room but still have an event to attend, you can leave your suitcase behind and pick it up later. May 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel near city airport Fantastic room with great bed, kingsize. Good shower, very nice! I liked the keen on green possibility, no roomservice for a day gets you 5 pounds. Had to wait a bit for checking in, but service was good! Perfect for the Excel, central London is of course further away. But with the Jubilee line certainly not too far! Walking (!) to the city airport is only 12 minutes! Would absolutely recommend this hotel! September 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice new hotel Enjoyed the design and good facilities. Good location close to the DLR station and nice views from 7th floor over the water. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room. Enjoyed having most facilities to ourselves although this is probably because the hotel is very new and not well known yet and there were no activities at Excel. Great that you have free internet - this should be standard in all hotels. December 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Question I checked my bank account and I am wonder that Aloft Hotel withdraw my deposit from my bank. (Japanese yen ¥25,854, = nearly £ 150) I confirmed at the reception when I cheked out, and he explained that all of the fee for the stay was covered by Europian Congress of Pathology (ECP). Please confirm it about the request and inform to me and to the society. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost no reason not to give a perfect score I am amazed at the value of this hotel, from the free wireless to the reasonable costs for snacks, to the room and what you get. it is fresh, clean and even smells trendy! I didn't seem to get anything special as Gold but it seems like a great place. The only negative, for car drivers, is getting to the hotel. It can be very tough to find even though you can see it there in the distance. May 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience with Staff at London Aloft Excel As a longstanding Platinum SPG member, I was aghast, and sorely disappointed by my recent stay at the London Aloft Excel. A number of guests I spoke to shared my opinion. The front desk staff were rude, argumentative (after a long flight who needs this?) and insisted on refuting my upgrade status, gave me a room not of my choosing right opposite noisy elevators, argued with me about my Platinum status, failed to provide coupons for free coffee.) In point of fact a staff person at the front desk on check in told me to be quiet, and not address the issues I wanted addressed on check-in. I recommend avoiding this hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Business Hotel I can recommend the ALOFT if you are participating or visiting any Event at the Excel. It's a perfect upper class business Hotel with a fresh and innovative Concept. Fantastic Value for Money. The Restaurant has good prices comparable to some others in Central London. and.... the free Internet worked 100%. Nice and trendy Hotel. Congratulations! April 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce and Modern. Basic but good Value Like other Aloft's, this is a great bargain and very nice and modern. Perfect for business travelers or stays near the airport. Probably a 3 min drive from LCY? The staff was very friendly and helpful. And it only takes about 40 mins to take the Tube into town. The rooms are great with all the modern hdmi hookups for ipads etc... March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel near the DLR I had a excellent stay. Took care of al my needs. Roksana was an excellent employee who helped me greatly--her kindness was appreciated. I prefer a hotel AWAY from the city center but near a metro line---fit the bill...and the soothing location..very nice March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing less than 5 starts all around! Where do I start?! Absolutely EVERTHING about my 5 day/4night visit to this amazing hotel was superb (and I'm very hard to please!) From check-in to check-in, I was met with superior customer service by all the staff (front desk, bartendars, cleaning staff, restaurant, etc.). I even had a great exchange with the Engineer who came to quickly fix a small glitch with my TV. The rooms are comfortable, functional and gorgeous. I had a great view of the water too. Quite honestly, 77GBP a night for 3 nights was a steal in my opinion. I come to London quite often and will definitely stay here again and again. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value for money Aloft is a great option for everyone using London City Airport or doing business in the Canary Wharf Area. If you are in town to explore the British capital you should go for a more central location, it is a rather long trip on the train between Aloft and central London. And it isn´t very much to explore around the hotel, unless you are a great fan of big exhibitions (London Excel is on the door step). Having said that, I find the rooms very comfortable, great beds and well kept. The public areas are modern and inviting. No SPG-recognition, stayed there a couple of times as Platinum, but no upgrades. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stays Stayed at the Aloft a couple of times in the past 2 weeks, with both stays being excellent. Hotel very comfortable and with friendly and helpful staff. On both stays the hotel was busy and although Platinum upgrades are not normally offered, on both occasions I was fortunate enough to have been upgraded to a suite. (The standard rooms are more than fine though) The Platinum breakfast, if you choose that option, is for 3 items from the re:fuel shop plus a hot drink. This is better than it sounds and the chocolate hazelnut pastry is highly recommended! Will definitely be back again in the future. September 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by can't believe this is a SPG hotel The hotel is a brand new addition to the SPG hotels, opened in OCT.2011. But don't expect the type of SPG standards if you are familiar with SPG program as the staff obviously didn't not. Case in point: the reception flat out say that they "don't do upgrades" for platinum members,even though the days I stayed there, the hotel has 5-10 percent of occupancy. I couldn't tell whether the front desk staff was unable or unwilling to serve the guests, upon checking in, I asked for a chair for the writing desk, they said they didn't have any. I asked for a electricity adaptor, they replied that I had to purchase one from their shop. Eventually, I had to seek the hotel manager for getting the chair and the adaptor. December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel I've ever stayed in There are no words that can describe my stay here. I had an amazing time (Despite the fact I had to work), the staff were friendly attentive and a pleasure to speak to. The room was beautiful and clean and met all of my needs, I even had friends come to the room that were jealous of how amazing it was. My only critique would be that there is no room service, however, that's a minor issue as everything else was perfect. I have recommended this particular hotel to 2 companies I work with twice a year at the MCM Expo and they have also decided to book rooms for these events. August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe Stayed here this past weekend. First time staying at an aloft. Here are my thoughts: > Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe > Self check-in - all worked and issued single key (despite 2 persons on rez) - key issued did not work in elevator. Had to go back to desk and wait in the queue to get new key(s) {defeats the purpose of self check-in} > Room is not very functional - large desk space and a couple of cubbies - no drawers to put things in. Skinny wardrobe with 5 hangers. No iron/ironing board > Make shift place to do ironing in guest laundry area but no hooks to hang clothes on after they're been ironed. Room is dimly lit and not well ventilated. No source of water. I understand this is temporary as they have not yet received supply of irons from supplier. I suggested to Manager they should offer complimentary pressing service in the interim. > Arranged car service one night and despite us being out front, he was miles away at the wrong address. Return trip, driver didn't know how to access hotel, despite having address. Clearly they need to advise cabbies/car service of their opening and location. > requested room to be cleaned late to both housekeeper and supervisor. On going out for the evening (5:00pm) asked front desk to advise housekeeping room was now free to be cleaned. Returned at 9pm and room had not been touched. In speaking with the Manager, he advised clerk had failed to advise housekeeping and arranged to move us to a clean room. > DLR was not running due scheduled maintenance. No problem, hotel offers courtesy shuttle to Canary Wharf - oops, shuttle doesn't run on weekends! Mentioned to Manager that perhaps they should have kept the shuttle on for this weekend > Attempted self check-out - machine could not read room card so I had to go to the front desk. Mentioned this issue to Manager (same one) and all he could say is they were having problems and had advised the vendor of the issues (then maybe you should not have people using them until they're fully functioning?) > Despite being on a pre-paid stay, I had a balance of £1.00. Apparently they auto-charge a charity donation and it's up to the guest to ask for it to be removed. The stop and go food bar is a bit confusing. People don't know the prices. However, the drip coffee in the morning is complimentary. The chocolate stuffed croissant (@ £1.50) was very good. Location is ideal to the City Airport (£11.00 by private car). Location to DLR is great for getting around. Easy connections to the tube. Allow 30-40 minutes to the West End, 20 minutes to Canary Wharf, 85 minutes to LHR. Other than the hotel and the ExCeL Centre, there is nothing else around except for a couple of other hotels. If it wasn't for the £68.00 per night for Sat-Mon stay, I would suggest staying somewhere else until all of the bugs can be worked out. Staff are young and new and don't seem empowered or experienced in dealing with irregularities (or trained in how to make/keep someone happy). I am not a high maintenance person and after the room not cleaned incident, I discussed all of the other issues with the Manage on duty. As he was offering to move us to a new room, it would have cost him nothing to put us in a suite (the place was empty), offer breakfast the next morning or even a drink in the bar. But there was nothing 'above and beyond' extended. Perhaps when it comes time for you to stay here, all of the opening faults will have been resolved. November 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice modern hotel, staff could do with being better trained This is a lovely, new and contemporary hotel. Although it is beside Excel Center, there is absolutely nothing to do near the hotel. Rooms are well appointed with most things you'd need. Despite being beside London City Airport it is relatively quiet. Free shuttle bus to Canary Wharf is a nice touch, although as the driver couldn't speak English I had no idea what time it returned back to the hotel. Downside is the TV. This is one of those "internet" TV's and is infuriatingly slow. Everything has to be done through a menu which is slow and clunky. Please change this! October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by O2 Weekend Stayed at this hotel as we were visitng the O2 Arena. Although the hotel is out of the way of the city, the transport links are excellent. A bonus when the 02 experience is over and you are going away from the Central London crowd. The hotel room was light and airy and the shower was great. Need to sort the paper cups tho. Breakfast was a nice surprise given some of the reviews I'd read. I fact we thought we would have to dip out and find somewhere to have breakfast, but in the event stayed and enjoyed. All in all, if I was visitinbg the O2 I would stay again. But if my stay was more about Central London, would probably look elsewhere. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel is excellent absolutely wonderful. had a great time here. only wish room had drawers to put clothes into August 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time Arrived in the afternoon during the week and their systems were down. They find my reservation and I ask if I've been upgraded. I'm told they don't have suites. I'm not asked what type of platinum amenity I want. No worries. I go to my room and turn on the heat because the room is freezing. 15 min later the temp hasn't increased so I call the front desk and they send maintenance. He tells me to leave it on auto. 20 min later still no heat. Maintenance returns, opens the ceiling cover and water dumps on the floor. My next room is magically a suite. Upon checkout the front desk clerk asks me for my card. I tell him it's a pre-paid reservation. He tells me "they don't do those." Two days later I see 2 charges from the Aloft on my account... I'm platinum so obviously have stayed at a fair share of hotels. This is still a fairly new property so you could attribute the above to growing pains however I would be more likely to attribute it to poor training or employee selection. The employees were all relatively young and obviously lacked significant hospitality experience. In short, I have no desire to stay here again. February 7, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only