Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excel event? - stay here!!! Very reasonably priced compared to the other onsite hotels at Excel which aren't as nice. DLR goes straight to the hotel and you don't have to cross any roads to get to Excel. Hotel fantastic, very flash. Staff brill. Cleanliness excellent. Only downfall is breakfast is VERY expensive but we managed to find a more reasonably priced alternative at Excel. Holding facility for baggage, so if you need to leave your room but still have an event to attend, you can leave your suitcase behind and pick it up later. May 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i was very enjoyed in this hotel 1. When i checked in the staff very very kind maybe her name is Victoria? And bar staff as well. 2. The breakfast was very delicious particularly bakery and staff was very kind and helpfulness. 3.There wasn't toothbrush and toothpaste. Usually when i stayed other hotel there was even 3 star hotel they have. So i didn't bring it. But when i looking for that one the staff was very helpfulness and kind. 4. Some tower which hand tower and middle size tower weren't changed. Otherwise it was great time to stay this hotel. I won't forget about staff's kindness. February 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time Arrived in the afternoon during the week and their systems were down. They find my reservation and I ask if I've been upgraded. I'm told they don't have suites. I'm not asked what type of platinum amenity I want. No worries. I go to my room and turn on the heat because the room is freezing. 15 min later the temp hasn't increased so I call the front desk and they send maintenance. He tells me to leave it on auto. 20 min later still no heat. Maintenance returns, opens the ceiling cover and water dumps on the floor. My next room is magically a suite. Upon checkout the front desk clerk asks me for my card. I tell him it's a pre-paid reservation. He tells me "they don't do those." Two days later I see 2 charges from the Aloft on my account... I'm platinum so obviously have stayed at a fair share of hotels. This is still a fairly new property so you could attribute the above to growing pains however I would be more likely to attribute it to poor training or employee selection. The employees were all relatively young and obviously lacked significant hospitality experience. In short, I have no desire to stay here again. February 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value for money Aloft is a great option for everyone using London City Airport or doing business in the Canary Wharf Area. If you are in town to explore the British capital you should go for a more central location, it is a rather long trip on the train between Aloft and central London. And it isn´t very much to explore around the hotel, unless you are a great fan of big exhibitions (London Excel is on the door step). Having said that, I find the rooms very comfortable, great beds and well kept. The public areas are modern and inviting. No SPG-recognition, stayed there a couple of times as Platinum, but no upgrades. November 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice new hotel Enjoyed the design and good facilities. Good location close to the DLR station and nice views from 7th floor over the water. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room. Enjoyed having most facilities to ourselves although this is probably because the hotel is very new and not well known yet and there were no activities at Excel. Great that you have free internet - this should be standard in all hotels. December 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost no reason not to give a perfect score I am amazed at the value of this hotel, from the free wireless to the reasonable costs for snacks, to the room and what you get. it is fresh, clean and even smells trendy! I didn't seem to get anything special as Gold but it seems like a great place. The only negative, for car drivers, is getting to the hotel. It can be very tough to find even though you can see it there in the distance. May 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience with Staff at London Aloft Excel As a longstanding Platinum SPG member, I was aghast, and sorely disappointed by my recent stay at the London Aloft Excel. A number of guests I spoke to shared my opinion. The front desk staff were rude, argumentative (after a long flight who needs this?) and insisted on refuting my upgrade status, gave me a room not of my choosing right opposite noisy elevators, argued with me about my Platinum status, failed to provide coupons for free coffee.) In point of fact a staff person at the front desk on check in told me to be quiet, and not address the issues I wanted addressed on check-in. I recommend avoiding this hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever I really loved this place. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do extra things. They were flexible with their breakfast voucher scheme and nothing was a problem. This honestly was the best place I have ever stayed March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Business Hotel I can recommend the ALOFT if you are participating or visiting any Event at the Excel. It's a perfect upper class business Hotel with a fresh and innovative Concept. Fantastic Value for Money. The Restaurant has good prices comparable to some others in Central London. and.... the free Internet worked 100%. Nice and trendy Hotel. Congratulations! April 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce and Modern. Basic but good Value Like other Aloft's, this is a great bargain and very nice and modern. Perfect for business travelers or stays near the airport. Probably a 3 min drive from LCY? The staff was very friendly and helpful. And it only takes about 40 mins to take the Tube into town. The rooms are great with all the modern hdmi hookups for ipads etc... March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel near the DLR I had a excellent stay. Took care of al my needs. Roksana was an excellent employee who helped me greatly--her kindness was appreciated. I prefer a hotel AWAY from the city center but near a metro line---fit the bill...and the soothing location..very nice March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW… OVERALL IMPRESSION: Amazingly affordable by London standards, well-run, all the boxes ticked. I’m a believer…this is the face of future travel. SPG RECOGNITION: Not much leeway in an Aloft as all rooms are virtually the same but I did get a lovely Thames view and the breakfast allowance, when taken as the Platinum Amenity, is quite generous. THE ROOM: The same as every other Aloft room but that’s definitely OK - well-designed and pleasantly furnished. LOCATION: Depends on what you need to do in London. It’s literally right at the Excel Centre and there is a Docklands Station right there but it can be a long commute to central London with a couple of train changes. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: I felt that the staff while young and hip in the Aloft model were also very professional and striving to offer the top-end customer experience. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: The usually very good rates need to be considered against the mostly inconvenient location. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stays Stayed at the Aloft a couple of times in the past 2 weeks, with both stays being excellent. Hotel very comfortable and with friendly and helpful staff. On both stays the hotel was busy and although Platinum upgrades are not normally offered, on both occasions I was fortunate enough to have been upgraded to a suite. (The standard rooms are more than fine though) The Platinum breakfast, if you choose that option, is for 3 items from the re:fuel shop plus a hot drink. This is better than it sounds and the chocolate hazelnut pastry is highly recommended! Will definitely be back again in the future. September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing less than 5 starts all around! Where do I start?! Absolutely EVERTHING about my 5 day/4night visit to this amazing hotel was superb (and I'm very hard to please!) From check-in to check-in, I was met with superior customer service by all the staff (front desk, bartendars, cleaning staff, restaurant, etc.). I even had a great exchange with the Engineer who came to quickly fix a small glitch with my TV. The rooms are comfortable, functional and gorgeous. I had a great view of the water too. Quite honestly, 77GBP a night for 3 nights was a steal in my opinion. I come to London quite often and will definitely stay here again and again. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel I've ever stayed in There are no words that can describe my stay here. I had an amazing time (Despite the fact I had to work), the staff were friendly attentive and a pleasure to speak to. The room was beautiful and clean and met all of my needs, I even had friends come to the room that were jealous of how amazing it was. My only critique would be that there is no room service, however, that's a minor issue as everything else was perfect. I have recommended this particular hotel to 2 companies I work with twice a year at the MCM Expo and they have also decided to book rooms for these events. August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe Stayed here this past weekend. First time staying at an aloft. Here are my thoughts: > Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe > Self check-in - all worked and issued single key (despite 2 persons on rez) - key issued did not work in elevator. Had to go back to desk and wait in the queue to get new key(s) {defeats the purpose of self check-in} > Room is not very functional - large desk space and a couple of cubbies - no drawers to put things in. Skinny wardrobe with 5 hangers. No iron/ironing board > Make shift place to do ironing in guest laundry area but no hooks to hang clothes on after they're been ironed. Room is dimly lit and not well ventilated. No source of water. I understand this is temporary as they have not yet received supply of irons from supplier. I suggested to Manager they should offer complimentary pressing service in the interim. > Arranged car service one night and despite us being out front, he was miles away at the wrong address. Return trip, driver didn't know how to access hotel, despite having address. Clearly they need to advise cabbies/car service of their opening and location. > requested room to be cleaned late to both housekeeper and supervisor. On going out for the evening (5:00pm) asked front desk to advise housekeeping room was now free to be cleaned. Returned at 9pm and room had not been touched. In speaking with the Manager, he advised clerk had failed to advise housekeeping and arranged to move us to a clean room. > DLR was not running due scheduled maintenance. No problem, hotel offers courtesy shuttle to Canary Wharf - oops, shuttle doesn't run on weekends! Mentioned to Manager that perhaps they should have kept the shuttle on for this weekend > Attempted self check-out - machine could not read room card so I had to go to the front desk. Mentioned this issue to Manager (same one) and all he could say is they were having problems and had advised the vendor of the issues (then maybe you should not have people using them until they're fully functioning?) > Despite being on a pre-paid stay, I had a balance of £1.00. Apparently they auto-charge a charity donation and it's up to the guest to ask for it to be removed. The stop and go food bar is a bit confusing. People don't know the prices. However, the drip coffee in the morning is complimentary. The chocolate stuffed croissant (@ £1.50) was very good. Location is ideal to the City Airport (£11.00 by private car). Location to DLR is great for getting around. Easy connections to the tube. Allow 30-40 minutes to the West End, 20 minutes to Canary Wharf, 85 minutes to LHR. Other than the hotel and the ExCeL Centre, there is nothing else around except for a couple of other hotels. If it wasn't for the £68.00 per night for Sat-Mon stay, I would suggest staying somewhere else until all of the bugs can be worked out. Staff are young and new and don't seem empowered or experienced in dealing with irregularities (or trained in how to make/keep someone happy). I am not a high maintenance person and after the room not cleaned incident, I discussed all of the other issues with the Manage on duty. As he was offering to move us to a new room, it would have cost him nothing to put us in a suite (the place was empty), offer breakfast the next morning or even a drink in the bar. But there was nothing 'above and beyond' extended. Perhaps when it comes time for you to stay here, all of the opening faults will have been resolved. November 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice modern hotel, staff could do with being better trained This is a lovely, new and contemporary hotel. Although it is beside Excel Center, there is absolutely nothing to do near the hotel. Rooms are well appointed with most things you'd need. Despite being beside London City Airport it is relatively quiet. Free shuttle bus to Canary Wharf is a nice touch, although as the driver couldn't speak English I had no idea what time it returned back to the hotel. Downside is the TV. This is one of those "internet" TV's and is infuriatingly slow. Everything has to be done through a menu which is slow and clunky. Please change this! October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great staff From the minute I walked in the door stressed from driving in London and unpacking at the Exel the greeting was lovely and they bent over backwards to help. After a hard day working the pool area was amazing to relax. I am just about to book it again and all the people from other hotels that came to see me have decided to change hotels too. Thank you and see you soon May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value for London This hotel is okay value for money in London and better value by far the the tiered SPG London Hotels. Staff were great at check in and check out. Not a good restaurant I had a terrible steak there, but the rooms are clean and comfortable Bar was ok, they had a promotion on with foursquare, giving 10% off your bar bill. No recognition at all for being platinum December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel Aloft Excel is a super hotel with great architecture both on the outside and inside. Nice and peaceful layout in the inner walkways as well. Gym, saunas and a pool is also great to have! Even though it is a bit far out from central London i think we only used about 35 minutes with DLR and the tube. Also, a great management at this hotel :-) December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Striking Building, Location Can Be Hit or Miss Have stayed here for a couple of nights prior to the Olympics. Location can be its strongest and weakest point at the same time: it is only 5 minutes by bus to City Airport, and has a DLR station next to it for easy access to the city. Yet, it is located in a post-industrial wasteland, and there’s absolutely nothing nearby in terms of shops or restaurants. Yet, rooms are very modern, light and comfortable. Bathrooms are nice and I especially like the Bliss shower gel and shampoo dispensers. Nice well stocked magazine rack in each room, and good complimentary internet access. The best thing about this hotel, are the communal areas: a nice gym, a great indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, and even a laundry room. The bar is quite cool as well. Onsite food options are very limited. Expect no upgrades for platinums, although the breakfast amenity is worthwhile as it includes 3 items you can pick from the self-service bar area. This is a good, well-priced option for London with easy access to the public transport network, although if you’re considering any type of nightlife activities, this place is a no-go as it will involve a long and expensive cab ride back. Best for business. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Good location for meetings at Excel. Excellent service. All facilities available. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was great We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. July 15, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only