Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by High hopes realised... Stayed at the Aloft for six nights with companion in wheelchair, The room was comfortable, large and perfect for the wheelchair, ground coffee delicious, soaps smelled lovely. No shower caps in bathroom but got them from one of the hotel staff no problem. The check-in staff were very friendly and the amenities offered were almost first class. I expected it to be a good hotel from what I'd seen on-line, but in fact it was very good bordering on excellent. Swimming pool great, especially at night, and the hours it was open were good too - 6am till 11pm. A lot of security in this hotel with card keys needed to get into pool and also to your floor in the lift, but this is reassuring. If you want to meet someone in a room on another floor, however, you'd have to use the stairs.Could do with a clock in the swimming pool, I had to keep my watch on the side.But all things considered, the hotel was first rate, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by unusually not the same i am a great supporter of this hotel and the staff in particular Francesco and the others on reception match any 5 start hotel for responsiveness. However this stay was marred by an unhelpful barman with respect to food. HENCE MY STARS ARE NOT REFLECTIVE OF THE HOTEL BUT MY EXPERIENCE ON MONDAY August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely long weekend Great hotel with wonderful staff. Isabella on reception was so polite and helpful, an absolutely lovely person. Would love to go back again next time we are in London if only for the fantastic breakfasts!!. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Working the Kinks Out I just checked out of the Aloft after a 4 night stay. Upon reading SPG reviews I was afraid it would be a miserable experience. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. Many of the problems other reviews seem to have been resolved. The staff was pretty well trained, the room fridge worked, coffee and tea in the room, a trash can in the bathroom. I received a 125 point Gold member bonus at check in. All in all it was a very good experience. The location next to ExCeL was very convenient. In comparing notes with friends who were in nearby hotels, the Aloft appeared to be superior. I would not recommending staying there, however, if you aren't attending an event at ExCeL due to its remote location. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best place to stay in London This is truly my hotel of choice in London. After many stays in several hotels in London, I finally had the chance to stay at the Aloft Excel. I stayed before at other Aloft, so I knew that they are hip and trendy places, even if usually they are located away from the centre of the city. In this case however the location is just perfect. It's minutes away from London City airport - in fact you can even walk from the airport to the hotel in less than 15 minutes. And still it doesn't feel at all like an "airport hotel" - because it isn't! Next door is the Excel centre, so if you have to attend an event there, the Aloft is your best choice. If you want to go into central London, the DLR station is literally behind the hotel (leave the hotel from the second floor to reach the station), and it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Westminster, and just about 40 minutes to get to South Kensington for instance. From many hotels in the centre of London it would take longer in fact - the Aloft is so well connected. And it's just minutes away from the Docklands, the O2, the new cable car (the Emirates air line) which provides fantastic views over the east of London, and the Olympic park. If you've been to an Aloft before, you will be familiar with the rooms: very functional design, wonderful bed, fast and free wifi connection, great shower and Bliss amenities, coffee and tea, free bottled water and great magazines (including Wallpaper* - and you can find many more magazines, including Time Out, at the entrance of the hotel). The Aloft London has a very good gym, with top class equipment and plenty of natural light; and a pool, sauna and steam bath which are true luxury. I found it really wonderful to start the day at the gym and pool and go back there at the end of the day. The wxyz bar is also very nice - great staff, affordable prices, and plenty of space which is perfect either if you are alone or in company. The staff at the front desk is one of the kindest and helpful I've met - no attitude, always ready to help, professional and yet incredibly friendly. All this makes the Aloft a perfect place to stay in London. Unless you want to stay in a place right in the center the Aloft has the best transport connections, superb facilities, a young and trendy atmosphere, and the nicest staff. July 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh vibrant hotel with good access to city Excellent facilities and ambience at this hotel. Staff very helpful throughout our stay. Buffet breakfast offered good choice, though space was at a premium due to numbers using the restaurant. One downside was that in arriving back late on second day of stay and having paid for car parking there were no places available and was advised parking was first come first served. Apart from that inconvenience our stay was really great and would recommend this hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Stay With my spouse's flight delayed and my kids exhausted from international travel, I decided to book a room at the Aloft upon the recommendation of my spouse, who stays there regularly when in London. The staff was wonderful. They entertained the kids while I checked in and they were so excited to browse the snack bar while I reserved their Camp Aloft sleeping bags. It was wonderful! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Stayed here on the 11th of august for one night, But on arrival at the hotel and seeing the room me and my girlfriend went down and booked to stay another night. The hotel is very modern and to the highest quality. No bad words to say against this hotel. Will be staying here again August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff in London Came for double birthday weekend with my wife, and other family members. The hotel was great, with excellent security features (e.g. lift). The staff, and I met many during the weekend, were ALL unfailingly courteuos and SO helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely brilliant! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by O2 Weekend Stayed at this hotel as we were visitng the O2 Arena. Although the hotel is out of the way of the city, the transport links are excellent. A bonus when the 02 experience is over and you are going away from the Central London crowd. The hotel room was light and airy and the shower was great. Need to sort the paper cups tho. Breakfast was a nice surprise given some of the reviews I'd read. I fact we thought we would have to dip out and find somewhere to have breakfast, but in the event stayed and enjoyed. All in all, if I was visitinbg the O2 I would stay again. But if my stay was more about Central London, would probably look elsewhere. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Aloft Excel - Just Far Enough Out" Aloft Excel is excellently located because it is an easy trip to City Center but is away from the noise and hustle bustle of London. Highly recommend Aloft Excel - would stay there again and again. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable stay. Really enjoyed our short break at Aloft Excel. Rooms were very comfortable, excellent sleep every night. Great shower. Easy access to Excel and DLR tube stop. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really good quality and modern Really modern, great service, luxurious and i would advise anyone. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excel event? - stay here!!! Very reasonably priced compared to the other onsite hotels at Excel which aren't as nice. DLR goes straight to the hotel and you don't have to cross any roads to get to Excel. Hotel fantastic, very flash. Staff brill. Cleanliness excellent. Only downfall is breakfast is VERY expensive but we managed to find a more reasonably priced alternative at Excel. Holding facility for baggage, so if you need to leave your room but still have an event to attend, you can leave your suitcase behind and pick it up later. May 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and facilities, nice staff Stayed there now for the second year in a row for the London Triathlon. Reception staff are always very accommodating given we come with 2 bikes and 2 kids. We will be back! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by large room great facilities Large well laid out rooms. good pool and sauna. handy 24 hr snack arrangement. i stay regularly as it is conveniemt for the DLR and better value than central london hotels August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great amenities and nice new rooms We traveled to Europe for our summer vacation, and were disappointed in the small rooms and small beds UNTIL we arrived to the Aloft. There was a slight hiccup upon arrival with the system, but once that was fixed, the service was excellent. It was a little far from the popular attractions and sights, so we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but did like the modern rooms and the gym/pool was great! we had nightmare guests on our floor one of the nights, so that affected our sleep all night long, but the staff took care of the problem, and those guests were gone the next day. We would stay there again! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern hotel with young and friendly staff The standards and services were for 5*. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice new hotel Enjoyed the design and good facilities. Good location close to the DLR station and nice views from 7th floor over the water. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room. Enjoyed having most facilities to ourselves although this is probably because the hotel is very new and not well known yet and there were no activities at Excel. Great that you have free internet - this should be standard in all hotels. December 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by TRANSPORTATION I took taxi's twice to get to the hotel. Twice the acb driver had no clue how to get to the Eastern Gate ( no problem of the Western Gate and all other hotels there ). When we ask for a cab at the receptiond nesk, they should propose the black cab alternative not only the expensive mini cab " monopoly ". July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff nice hotel Very nice hotel, no complaints, nice food and lovely staff in the Resturant. The only issue I can think of is the go green campaign. It's a great thing to do offering points or voucher in lieu of room cleaning but it only lasts for three nights (no clear till the fourth night) and no matter how many time you remove the door hanger to encourage towel or tea/coffee replacement nothing happens. I stayed five nights with no room clean, towel or bedding change but most importantly (for me) no tea or coffee. Please consider restocking the basics. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff for a pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost no reason not to give a perfect score I am amazed at the value of this hotel, from the free wireless to the reasonable costs for snacks, to the room and what you get. it is fresh, clean and even smells trendy! I didn't seem to get anything special as Gold but it seems like a great place. The only negative, for car drivers, is getting to the hotel. It can be very tough to find even though you can see it there in the distance. May 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our stay A very smart hotel, let down by the average restaurant. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Modern Hotel I was really impressed by the lovely modern feel of the hotel. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food and drink were great and very reasonably priced. If I had one small moan it would be that the room layout could have been a bit better, i.e a mirror in the main bedroom area with plug sockets near it for use with a hairdryer. July 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience with Staff at London Aloft Excel As a longstanding Platinum SPG member, I was aghast, and sorely disappointed by my recent stay at the London Aloft Excel. A number of guests I spoke to shared my opinion. The front desk staff were rude, argumentative (after a long flight who needs this?) and insisted on refuting my upgrade status, gave me a room not of my choosing right opposite noisy elevators, argued with me about my Platinum status, failed to provide coupons for free coffee.) In point of fact a staff person at the front desk on check in told me to be quiet, and not address the issues I wanted addressed on check-in. I recommend avoiding this hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Business Hotel I can recommend the ALOFT if you are participating or visiting any Event at the Excel. It's a perfect upper class business Hotel with a fresh and innovative Concept. Fantastic Value for Money. The Restaurant has good prices comparable to some others in Central London. and.... the free Internet worked 100%. Nice and trendy Hotel. Congratulations! April 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce and Modern. Basic but good Value Like other Aloft's, this is a great bargain and very nice and modern. Perfect for business travelers or stays near the airport. Probably a 3 min drive from LCY? The staff was very friendly and helpful. And it only takes about 40 mins to take the Tube into town. The rooms are great with all the modern hdmi hookups for ipads etc... March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I really like the ambience; room decor and space specially the bathroom. Excellent layout. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel near the DLR I had a excellent stay. Took care of al my needs. Roksana was an excellent employee who helped me greatly--her kindness was appreciated. I prefer a hotel AWAY from the city center but near a metro line---fit the bill...and the soothing location..very nice March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spotlessly clean and well managed Very good modern hotel which is well managed without fuss. Reception staff are welcoming and efficient as are all the other members you come across. Excellent little mini breakfast and snack bar and a nice bar area too, room cleaning is excellent, rooms comfortable too July 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only