Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 317 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terriable stay!! Stayed at this hotel on Sunday til Monday, with my girlfriend making up her Valentines day, so checked in and the staff wasn't welcoming at all. I fink customer service needs improving. Had a room on the 6th floor, it was far too hot in the room, no one picking up the calls in reception, went to the spa bit that was dirty too,,, On top off that THE STUPID FIRE ALARM GOES OFF MONDAY 7;30AM AND HAD TO EVACUATE THE BUILDING AND WAIT OUTSIDE IN THE COLD FOR ABOUT 30MIN HAD GOT TOLD IT WAS A FAULTY ALARM IN SOMEONE ROOM. WOT THE ..... DIDN'T GET NO COMPENSATION NOT HAPPY AT ALL!!! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A little out of the way, but spacious rooms and close to DLR At first I had chosen Aloft due to it's rate, which was relatively low - probably due to a lack of conferences at London Excel. The hotel itself is a ways away from the airport - about a 1.5 hour taxi drive if you arrive during weekday rush hour. Our taxi driver heard us say "Excel" instead of Aloft Excel, and took us to the wrong side of the conference centre. The hotel itself is right at one end of London Excel, which would be great for attending a conference. It's also a two minute walk to the closest DLR station, making it very convenient for getting to downtown. We only used it for attending our meetings at Canary Warf, which was a quick ride on their frequent shuttles. One thing to note - there isn't much in the area. On the other side of Excel are a few stores and restaurants, but you'll need to take one stop of the DLR, or walk through Excel. The decor of the hotel is a little dark, being a vision of W, but very clean and fresh looking. The reception desk is a little off from the front entrance - but they do lock the doors at night to prevent unauthorized entry. The ground floor also has a large gym and pool, a great feature. My room faced onto the water, which gave us a great view. The room was a good size, although as others have mentioned for Aloft's it was a little limited for cofee/tea in-room. It was very soundproof as well, demonstrating that it's a relatively new hotel. Being SPG Plat we had breakfast included each morning, which was a free coffee and a selection of two items from the breakfast nook, sufficient to wake up with. The bar was occasionally populated by hotel guests at night, but not what I would call a happening place, being in an isolated area. Staff were always friendly and welcoming. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Strange to hear the Aloft Brand doesn't recognise Platinum privileges This was my first visit to the Aloft Brand; very cool and funky. However , the staff at check-in said that Suite upgrades aren't offered as Platinum status isn't recognised. Interesting. We were given room 839 - odd as it was completely set up for disabled access and the hotel seemed empty. The Hotel itself is nice, and quiet given the proximity to the DLR and City Airport. The DLR is right next to the hotel and a direct connection to Tower Gateway (for the Tower of London or that general vicinity. So it was very convenient. Breakfast was a very decent buffet. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great welcome ..... The start of a great stay Was given a fantastic welcome by Nick, the front desk agent who checked me in. Whilst Aloft hotels do not offer "upgrades" for SPG elites as other Starwood brands, Nick took the time to search for what might be a most preferable room at the time. Continuing the check in process, He seemed truly proud of his hotel as reviewed its features, as one who really liked his job. He kept up a smile, a positive attitude. At many hotels, one is just another room number--here I was welcomed as a guest. So, when, for work, I needed to add another night to my time in London, his warm welcome left me needing to look no further. It did involve an additional reservation, and in stopping by the front desk again, Nick happened to be there, and, still keeping up a professional, positive attitude, took the time to set things up so both "reservations" would go seamlessly in their system, and in messages to his colleagues, whom he spoke of quite positvely. I suspect he's got a good manager leading this kind of good work. Well done, Aloft Excel. January 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Choice Aloft London was an excellent choice for us. It was quirky enough to be interesting without ever being over the top. With the DLR (leading to the Jubilee Line connection in Canning Town) practically at our doorstep, central London is 40-45 minutes away. We had no problems commuting because we were armed with an unlimited-ride 7-day visitor pass, and factored in the extra time needed to commute to attractions, and at check-in, we were given (without having to ask) a city map complete with a map of the underground lines. Our suite, upgraded with Suite Night vouchers, was spacious and cleverly laid out, with functional and useful features. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and professional, except for a surly chambermaid we met along the corridor. The English breakfast was also good, as was the staff and ambience in Fede restaurant. Aloft was also close to Canary Wharf and the Emirates Air Line and Westfield Stratford, one of the biggest malls in the country, or so we were told. Overall, we were very impressed with this hip and youthful hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our five nights here. We look forward to coming back. December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! The Aloft London is simply the best Sheraton property in the town. (I have stayed in all of the others in the past.) Even when I am not flying in/out of London City (which is a short bus trip away), I try to stay here because it is the best value for your money. December 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Weekend Getaway The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the train station. The staff were extremely kind and the breakfast was quite good. The only downside is that the pool is extremely cold and the hotel does not offer a lounge. However, if Christmas markets are your interest, the one in Stuttgart is quite nice. There is even an ice skating rink for children. December 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Option! Having stayed here a few times I know what to expect and generally it does not let me down. The room is functional and comfy, on this occasion as a Platinum they upgraded me to a suite which was greatly appreciated and nice to know when they are full they look after SPG Plats / regular guests first, always to me a sign of a hotel that pays attention to the details. Breakfast is always good at this property, nice hot buffet selection. Only gripe is with the website and shuttle service, indicating it is a pickup and drop off service whereas it is on way in the mornings and the other way in the evenings. A simple thing to make this clear in the website, hopefully they do it soon. Good hotel for the area and staff while not the most proactive always come through in the end! December 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by An oweful experience Booked through SPG web site a room the day before arrival. Got to the reception to check in but no trace whatsoever of the booking. Showed the SPG confirmation number and SPG platinum number on the SPG iphone app but still no booking. I was told that sometimes the booking reference is not sent to the hotel ! this is the most ridiculous statement that I have ever heard at an SPG check in desk since I am a platinum member. The guy left the reception to go and find my booking. He came back 10 mins later and registered me manually in the system. Being a platinum for Aloft is not important by the way. I got a voucher for a soft drink at what is being called a Re:Fuel bar ! So far I still got no invoice for my stay. This hotel clearly does not deserve a 4 star in the SPG category. December 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Travel This hotel is fine for business travel, but tnot the easiest to access December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent closeness to music facilities Excellent all round . Very efficient friendly helpful staff . Excellent room comfort . Beside the 02 arena & has excellent live music . Has swimming pool to relax & so close to Royal Victoria square . December 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great security For a single woman traveller the security is great at this hotel and I cannot find fault with anything else but for a tired traveller finding my room on the second floor was a trial but I got there so BIGGER SINAGE PLEASE is all I would say. December 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WiFi did not work ....which wrecked an otherwise okay experience. Extremely convenient to DLR, nice (but small) pool open at 6 am. Close to City airport. November 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is quite charming It is difficult to get from airport without an arranged transfer. It would be good if the hotel had a shuttle. November 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful staff This was our second visit to this hotel. We booked a theatre package- train, tickets,theatre and hotel for 2 nights. We chose this hotel as we were impressed on our last visit- even though we were very early there was no problem checking in. However, we were nowhere on the system! The theatre breaks people hadn't forwarded our booking which we made in July. Fillipe ( hope I've spelt it correctly)was very efficient and friendly, he took my paperwork into the office and returned without fuss- thankfully the hotel is quite large so there was no problem booking us in- he was very apologetic even though it wasn't the hotels fault, he gave us a lovely room with a view of the river because of our wait again even though it was not his fault- once again brilliant service, room and lovely breakfast. November 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Great location, modern facilities with design furniture, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. It was such an awesome experience for us! Thank you all! November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets expectations but expensive Room identical to other Alofts elsewhere. 24-hour pantry a good idea but poor selection of sandwiches on Sunday night. Breakfast buffet good but the only eggs available were scrambled, and they were tasteless. Expensive for what it is. Platinum benefits were one cup of coffee, which was disappointing. November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very fiendly staff We had a very pleasant stay, the staff were very friendly, room had good facilities and very comfortable. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicest Aloft I've stayed in, location is a big negative for Central London Great overall hotel with super nice pool/gym/sauna areas. Laundry room, huge bar & great hip atmosphere but at least 30 - 40 minutes out of central London with at least 2 trains. Lightly staff & staff often doesn't answer the phone. This hotel was built as part of the Olympics 2 years ago, definitely very nice & love the pool, very hip & cool vibe. Hotel is remote & usually not crowded so if you like quiet & remote, this is the place. Savings may not be worth it compared to paying more & staying in Central London due to transportation cost & time to/from Central London. SUPER close to London City Airport, a fast growing & SUPER EASY airport to get in/out of London to other UK cities. Use FlyBe, normally have the cheapest fares. Also super close to Stradford Westfield Mall which has tons of restaurants & a nice movie theater. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great chill out hotel We stayed Saturday night at the Aloft. On first impressions, this place met all expectations. The staff were friendly and the place very clean. Good value for money. Unfortunately the steam room was not working which was disappointing but the sauna and swimming pool lovely. The breakfast was very bog standard, the usual stuff. Lots to do in the area. Definitely would recommend and will be going back for the whole weekend this time. And the Thai restaurant was lovely. Service let it down but the food yummy!!!! October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very attractive style Modern, quite near to public transportation with a great view of thames area October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay @ ALoft London Excel I stayed at ALoft London Excel and it was fantastic! Rooms were very clean, all the comfort I need. Breakfast was very good as well. The staff at the Front Desk is great, especially Nick! He is very friendly and helpfull. It felt like coming home! I centainly recommend ALoft London Excel to all my friends en family!! Keep up the good work. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous location Great hotel with reasonable parking prices, no airport noise inside, friendly & helpful staff and very comfortable rooms. Average bar & breakfast October 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We stayed here again for a weekend in London. Although the location is a bit outside of London it is very convenient if one arrives at London City Airport and if one wants to see a bit of the countryside around London. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and we slept really well. We will come back! October 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is great fro Excel exhibitors With such great proximity to the Excel this is ideal for exhibitors, however it cannot cope with the volume of people it would seem. We could not get a restaurant seating any evening and the food reports weren't great anyway. The room are well equipped and comfortable< room service is NOT available. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean, Close to Conference Center and DLR While this property is no 5-star facility, it is new and quite clean. It works out nicely if you are visiting near the eastern end of London (Greenwich, the Tower, the City, etc.). If you plan to spend your time in the West End, look elsewhere. As others have commented, the room cleaning carts and dirty towel bins left in the hallways 24/7 is a bit off-putting. They really should do something about this. Despite some print about complimentary continental breakfast, Platinum guests actually receive a full breakfast buffet -- which was a pleasant surprise. Our major disappointment was that our rooms were not ready at 3:15 when we checked in. We had to wait an hour, an annoying inconvenience for which no apologies were offered. We booked two rooms weeks in advance, requesting that they be adjacent. Somehow, with all that advance notice, all the hotel could manage were rooms in completely opposite wings of the property. Pretty lame and not great when you have children. A complaint to our SPG ambassador did eventually elicit an offer to switch rooms from the manager, but it was really too late to move at that point (two nights into our stay). And it shouldn't have required that sort of escalation in the first place. The bottom line is it's a decent property that has some management kinks to work out. October 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel shame about the facilities not working Have been to this hotel many times and always liked it very much. This time though I wanted to use the swimming pool facilities as well as the sauna and steam room, all very clean and modern but not working. The steam room was out of order and the sauna wasn't even hot, very disappointing as after travelling was looking forward to unwind here. Apart from that, the room as always fantastic, very comfy, very clean and everything you need, been a bit picky but I noticed the maids trolleys seem to be permanently left int he hallways, hallways looking a bit tired and another picky thing is the coffee, it was to fiddly to use the sachet of filter coffee, yet it was nice coffee but maybe needs looking into. Also on checking out the reception staff were to abrubt, to the point. Again for been a 5 star hotel plus I am a member of a SPG felt as though I was just a number. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent featurs Very modern hotel, the rooms are of a great standard, the shower/wet room has pleanty of space, the beds are oversized and very comfortable. Excellent hotel for visiting/exhibiting at the Excel. The bar staff could be a little more engaging..looked & acted thoroughly "fed up" September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service! We chose this hotel to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday. There were 3 generations of family celebrating together and we all enjoyed it equally! A special mention for Lionel at reception, what a star. We were upgraded to a suite and it made my daughter's birthday extra special and memorable. The main purpose for our stay was shopping! Getting to the Westfield Centre at Stratford was so easy, the perfect location. Every request was met with courtesy and a smile by every single member of staff we encountered. Rooms were spotless, facilities were faultless. One of our party has mobility issues and the VERY short walk to the station and the lift facilities on DLR made her life so much easier. I just wish we could've stayed for longer. September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not so out of the way A great alternative for a London location, however there are some things you need to factor in to offset the price of this Hotel, which offers tremendous value (when no large exhibitions are taking place at the Excel centre). The public transport is served mostly by the DLR and therefore Tube. Zone 3 to Zone 1 is under five pounds and gets you to your location in London effortlessly. However, at night, it's a nightmare to get back to, and the London Taxi will cost you GBP40.00. The front entrance does not have an awning, and so you risk getting drenched when the British rain is unleashed and running from a car to the front entrance. This hotel locations offers nothing in the vicinity that you would want to stick around for, but you cannot ignore the price to quality ratio. September 20, 2014
  • 2015-06-30T13:12:51.517-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_317, tr_317
  • loc_en_US, sid_3591, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only