Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 259 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice new hotel Enjoyed the design and good facilities. Good location close to the DLR station and nice views from 7th floor over the water. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room. Enjoyed having most facilities to ourselves although this is probably because the hotel is very new and not well known yet and there were no activities at Excel. Great that you have free internet - this should be standard in all hotels. December 27, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great and Nice New Hotels Rooms with high techlogy. In addtion, the hotel provide efficient safety facilities. Nice staff and good service. Nice view around the hotel. It is easy to reach city down of london. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost no reason not to give a perfect score I am amazed at the value of this hotel, from the free wireless to the reasonable costs for snacks, to the room and what you get. it is fresh, clean and even smells trendy! I didn't seem to get anything special as Gold but it seems like a great place. The only negative, for car drivers, is getting to the hotel. It can be very tough to find even though you can see it there in the distance. May 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience with Staff at London Aloft Excel As a longstanding Platinum SPG member, I was aghast, and sorely disappointed by my recent stay at the London Aloft Excel. A number of guests I spoke to shared my opinion. The front desk staff were rude, argumentative (after a long flight who needs this?) and insisted on refuting my upgrade status, gave me a room not of my choosing right opposite noisy elevators, argued with me about my Platinum status, failed to provide coupons for free coffee.) In point of fact a staff person at the front desk on check in told me to be quiet, and not address the issues I wanted addressed on check-in. I recommend avoiding this hotel. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Business Hotel I can recommend the ALOFT if you are participating or visiting any Event at the Excel. It's a perfect upper class business Hotel with a fresh and innovative Concept. Fantastic Value for Money. The Restaurant has good prices comparable to some others in Central London. and.... the free Internet worked 100%. Nice and trendy Hotel. Congratulations! April 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce and Modern. Basic but good Value Like other Aloft's, this is a great bargain and very nice and modern. Perfect for business travelers or stays near the airport. Probably a 3 min drive from LCY? The staff was very friendly and helpful. And it only takes about 40 mins to take the Tube into town. The rooms are great with all the modern hdmi hookups for ipads etc... March 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel near the DLR I had a excellent stay. Took care of al my needs. Roksana was an excellent employee who helped me greatly--her kindness was appreciated. I prefer a hotel AWAY from the city center but near a metro line---fit the bill...and the soothing location..very nice March 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business center lacking For a hotel basically attached to a convention center, I expected a more robust business center. There were only two computers for use that access the internet only. There was no way to print documents from my PC, and no fax machine available or copy machine. The hotel did not have a shipping service on site and front desk did not have stamps. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value for money Aloft is a great option for everyone using London City Airport or doing business in the Canary Wharf Area. If you are in town to explore the British capital you should go for a more central location, it is a rather long trip on the train between Aloft and central London. And it isn´t very much to explore around the hotel, unless you are a great fan of big exhibitions (London Excel is on the door step). Having said that, I find the rooms very comfortable, great beds and well kept. The public areas are modern and inviting. No SPG-recognition, stayed there a couple of times as Platinum, but no upgrades. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing less than 5 starts all around! Where do I start?! Absolutely EVERTHING about my 5 day/4night visit to this amazing hotel was superb (and I'm very hard to please!) From check-in to check-in, I was met with superior customer service by all the staff (front desk, bartendars, cleaning staff, restaurant, etc.). I even had a great exchange with the Engineer who came to quickly fix a small glitch with my TV. The rooms are comfortable, functional and gorgeous. I had a great view of the water too. Quite honestly, 77GBP a night for 3 nights was a steal in my opinion. I come to London quite often and will definitely stay here again and again. June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great informal hotel for visiting London Newish and modern feeling hotel with energetic and helpful staff and an informal but comfortable feel. Interesting pool architecture and nice that the pool was warm. Sauna did not work that well but that did not seem important. Found staff to be very helpful in the informal cafe, the restaurant, and at the front desk. If you are comfortable with public transportation, you can easily take the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) and transfer to the "Tube" to get to the main sights in downtown London. In the end, we thought this hotel was a great find for visiting London. Easy walk from the hotel to/from London City Airport. You need to remember that the Aloft brand is not a full service hotel however we found it comfortable and all of our needs were met and expectations were exceeded by the front desk/cafe staff and the restaurant staff. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stays Stayed at the Aloft a couple of times in the past 2 weeks, with both stays being excellent. Hotel very comfortable and with friendly and helpful staff. On both stays the hotel was busy and although Platinum upgrades are not normally offered, on both occasions I was fortunate enough to have been upgraded to a suite. (The standard rooms are more than fine though) The Platinum breakfast, if you choose that option, is for 3 items from the re:fuel shop plus a hot drink. This is better than it sounds and the chocolate hazelnut pastry is highly recommended! Will definitely be back again in the future. September 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Nice and modern Hotel, great rooms, great view! Location is in the docklands, long subway drive to the centre. Breakfast is alright, but crowded. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cosy, quiet,comfortable hotel A good hotel, in a quiet suburb of London, easily accessible via Light railway or bus. Rooms were comfortable and cosy, breakfast was great and stuff was friendly and willing to assist. For the high standards of the hotel, additional amenities within the room, such as sleepers, ear buttonets, etc should be included. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost there Really good location and excellent accommodation. Pool and Gym great. Breakfast was ok but no more - the quality of breakfast informed our decision to eat out rather than at the hotel. Paper cups in rooms not good if you want more than one drink. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern facility and great staff Except for the room temperature being hard to control and the view being not my favorite, this was a good place to stay. The real downside was the distance from Heathrow. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice when checked in but real struggle to check in Real struggle to get checked in, mistake by booking agent meant room held not paid for on company card, hotel refused to take company card details for payment then, settled on bacs but was told may take days to clear so may not be able to stay. when finally sorted bacs for room payment, a deposit required prior to check in, again refused to take company card details. Ended up using personal details, did not wish to, this was a business trip, would have thought could handle a business stay more effectively. 3hrs check in for one night stay. Also air con freezing, tried turning up but capped at 22, so turned off but still sounded like it was running. Was nice and warm outside but couldn't open window. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable stay The rooms are very generous in size with a king size bed. Would have loved a microwave in the room, but there was tea service and a decent size mini fridge. Also, there could have been more food choices at the restaurant, but overall it was a very pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! We had choosen the Aloft hotel London because of the price. It wasn't too expensive! It's a bit further from the centrum of London but very easy to get there with the DLR. The complete hotel, including the rooms, was extremely modern and clean. We were amazed to get such a beautiful hotel for such a low cost! We enjoyed the pool and the sauna and had no problems with the free wifi. Aft last but not least there's the breakfast. Everything was good. They kept a good eye on everything so nothing was empty. We had a great time in London! July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by can't believe this is a SPG hotel The hotel is a brand new addition to the SPG hotels, opened in OCT.2011. But don't expect the type of SPG standards if you are familiar with SPG program as the staff obviously didn't not. Case in point: the reception flat out say that they "don't do upgrades" for platinum members,even though the days I stayed there, the hotel has 5-10 percent of occupancy. I couldn't tell whether the front desk staff was unable or unwilling to serve the guests, upon checking in, I asked for a chair for the writing desk, they said they didn't have any. I asked for a electricity adaptor, they replied that I had to purchase one from their shop. Eventually, I had to seek the hotel manager for getting the chair and the adaptor. December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best hotel I've stayed in in a long time - especially for London The facilities were great, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel was much nearer Central London than we thought. The restaurant as good too. We really liked everything about iy! July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent hotel Check-in was easy with very friendly front desk staff. We arrived early (around noon) and our room was ready. Vouchers for free drinks and breakfast were offered for Platinum member. Free wi-fi was a nice touch. The room was very trendy and comfortable. The pool and sauna facilities were clean and well kept. We only had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was above average. All in all it was a very pleasant stay for us. Thank you. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll be back. My husband and I spent two night at this hotel as we were attending an event at the O2. The location is great for the O2 and because of this we'll be back. The room was spotless, very cool and modern. I liked the green policy but was surprised to discover that opting to not change your towel also meant the room was not made up at all. Staff in the bar were great, the bar food menu was very basic and after a concert we could've done with a better choice of food. Staff at reception seemed a little inexperienced and we did not receive the 10% discount off bar food that we should have being SPG members and reception were unaware of this offer. So overall a couple of minor negatives but we had a great stay and will definitely use this hotel again. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel I've ever stayed in There are no words that can describe my stay here. I had an amazing time (Despite the fact I had to work), the staff were friendly attentive and a pleasure to speak to. The room was beautiful and clean and met all of my needs, I even had friends come to the room that were jealous of how amazing it was. My only critique would be that there is no room service, however, that's a minor issue as everything else was perfect. I have recommended this particular hotel to 2 companies I work with twice a year at the MCM Expo and they have also decided to book rooms for these events. August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe Stayed here this past weekend. First time staying at an aloft. Here are my thoughts: > Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe > Self check-in - all worked and issued single key (despite 2 persons on rez) - key issued did not work in elevator. Had to go back to desk and wait in the queue to get new key(s) {defeats the purpose of self check-in} > Room is not very functional - large desk space and a couple of cubbies - no drawers to put things in. Skinny wardrobe with 5 hangers. No iron/ironing board > Make shift place to do ironing in guest laundry area but no hooks to hang clothes on after they're been ironed. Room is dimly lit and not well ventilated. No source of water. I understand this is temporary as they have not yet received supply of irons from supplier. I suggested to Manager they should offer complimentary pressing service in the interim. > Arranged car service one night and despite us being out front, he was miles away at the wrong address. Return trip, driver didn't know how to access hotel, despite having address. Clearly they need to advise cabbies/car service of their opening and location. > requested room to be cleaned late to both housekeeper and supervisor. On going out for the evening (5:00pm) asked front desk to advise housekeeping room was now free to be cleaned. Returned at 9pm and room had not been touched. In speaking with the Manager, he advised clerk had failed to advise housekeeping and arranged to move us to a clean room. > DLR was not running due scheduled maintenance. No problem, hotel offers courtesy shuttle to Canary Wharf - oops, shuttle doesn't run on weekends! Mentioned to Manager that perhaps they should have kept the shuttle on for this weekend > Attempted self check-out - machine could not read room card so I had to go to the front desk. Mentioned this issue to Manager (same one) and all he could say is they were having problems and had advised the vendor of the issues (then maybe you should not have people using them until they're fully functioning?) > Despite being on a pre-paid stay, I had a balance of £1.00. Apparently they auto-charge a charity donation and it's up to the guest to ask for it to be removed. The stop and go food bar is a bit confusing. People don't know the prices. However, the drip coffee in the morning is complimentary. The chocolate stuffed croissant (@ £1.50) was very good. Location is ideal to the City Airport (£11.00 by private car). Location to DLR is great for getting around. Easy connections to the tube. Allow 30-40 minutes to the West End, 20 minutes to Canary Wharf, 85 minutes to LHR. Other than the hotel and the ExCeL Centre, there is nothing else around except for a couple of other hotels. If it wasn't for the £68.00 per night for Sat-Mon stay, I would suggest staying somewhere else until all of the bugs can be worked out. Staff are young and new and don't seem empowered or experienced in dealing with irregularities (or trained in how to make/keep someone happy). I am not a high maintenance person and after the room not cleaned incident, I discussed all of the other issues with the Manage on duty. As he was offering to move us to a new room, it would have cost him nothing to put us in a suite (the place was empty), offer breakfast the next morning or even a drink in the bar. But there was nothing 'above and beyond' extended. Perhaps when it comes time for you to stay here, all of the opening faults will have been resolved. November 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice modern hotel, staff could do with being better trained This is a lovely, new and contemporary hotel. Although it is beside Excel Center, there is absolutely nothing to do near the hotel. Rooms are well appointed with most things you'd need. Despite being beside London City Airport it is relatively quiet. Free shuttle bus to Canary Wharf is a nice touch, although as the driver couldn't speak English I had no idea what time it returned back to the hotel. Downside is the TV. This is one of those "internet" TV's and is infuriatingly slow. Everything has to be done through a menu which is slow and clunky. Please change this! October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and convenience Comfortable rooms and very convenient for meetings and conferences at the nearbyExcel conference centre July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel but a bit far out Stayed here on points with my family 7/4-7/9, nice new hotel with great rooms and beds, shower, bathroom. Nick at the reception was very helpful in all of our needs and navigating the city, as you will need to take the DLR to get anywhere, about 10 pounds to get to the city center. July 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only