Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 280 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice modern hotel, staff could do with being better trained This is a lovely, new and contemporary hotel. Although it is beside Excel Center, there is absolutely nothing to do near the hotel. Rooms are well appointed with most things you'd need. Despite being beside London City Airport it is relatively quiet. Free shuttle bus to Canary Wharf is a nice touch, although as the driver couldn't speak English I had no idea what time it returned back to the hotel. Downside is the TV. This is one of those "internet" TV's and is infuriatingly slow. Everything has to be done through a menu which is slow and clunky. Please change this! October 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time Arrived in the afternoon during the week and their systems were down. They find my reservation and I ask if I've been upgraded. I'm told they don't have suites. I'm not asked what type of platinum amenity I want. No worries. I go to my room and turn on the heat because the room is freezing. 15 min later the temp hasn't increased so I call the front desk and they send maintenance. He tells me to leave it on auto. 20 min later still no heat. Maintenance returns, opens the ceiling cover and water dumps on the floor. My next room is magically a suite. Upon checkout the front desk clerk asks me for my card. I tell him it's a pre-paid reservation. He tells me "they don't do those." Two days later I see 2 charges from the Aloft on my account... I'm platinum so obviously have stayed at a fair share of hotels. This is still a fairly new property so you could attribute the above to growing pains however I would be more likely to attribute it to poor training or employee selection. The employees were all relatively young and obviously lacked significant hospitality experience. In short, I have no desire to stay here again. February 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll be back. My husband and I spent two night at this hotel as we were attending an event at the O2. The location is great for the O2 and because of this we'll be back. The room was spotless, very cool and modern. I liked the green policy but was surprised to discover that opting to not change your towel also meant the room was not made up at all. Staff in the bar were great, the bar food menu was very basic and after a concert we could've done with a better choice of food. Staff at reception seemed a little inexperienced and we did not receive the 10% discount off bar food that we should have being SPG members and reception were unaware of this offer. So overall a couple of minor negatives but we had a great stay and will definitely use this hotel again. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The perfect place to stay for events at the O2, or in the West End. Flying home on the cable car after an afternoon at the multiplex in the O2 was a magical end to the day/start to the evening. Aloft is on top of the DLR which makes getting in the City, the West End and the South Bank quick and easy. With parking right outside the hotel it's a quick way out of town. Just watch it with the sat nav - the hotel is so new it's not on Google Maps or the car navigation. Just head for the City Airport side of Excel - Excel East and you'll find it. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by O2 Weekend Stayed at this hotel as we were visitng the O2 Arena. Although the hotel is out of the way of the city, the transport links are excellent. A bonus when the 02 experience is over and you are going away from the Central London crowd. The hotel room was light and airy and the shower was great. Need to sort the paper cups tho. Breakfast was a nice surprise given some of the reviews I'd read. I fact we thought we would have to dip out and find somewhere to have breakfast, but in the event stayed and enjoyed. All in all, if I was visitinbg the O2 I would stay again. But if my stay was more about Central London, would probably look elsewhere. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel is excellent absolutely wonderful. had a great time here. only wish room had drawers to put clothes into August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great staff From the minute I walked in the door stressed from driving in London and unpacking at the Exel the greeting was lovely and they bent over backwards to help. After a hard day working the pool area was amazing to relax. I am just about to book it again and all the people from other hotels that came to see me have decided to change hotels too. Thank you and see you soon May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value for London This hotel is okay value for money in London and better value by far the the tiered SPG London Hotels. Staff were great at check in and check out. Not a good restaurant I had a terrible steak there, but the rooms are clean and comfortable Bar was ok, they had a promotion on with foursquare, giving 10% off your bar bill. No recognition at all for being platinum December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great amenities and nice new rooms We traveled to Europe for our summer vacation, and were disappointed in the small rooms and small beds UNTIL we arrived to the Aloft. There was a slight hiccup upon arrival with the system, but once that was fixed, the service was excellent. It was a little far from the popular attractions and sights, so we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but did like the modern rooms and the gym/pool was great! we had nightmare guests on our floor one of the nights, so that affected our sleep all night long, but the staff took care of the problem, and those guests were gone the next day. We would stay there again! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel Aloft Excel is a super hotel with great architecture both on the outside and inside. Nice and peaceful layout in the inner walkways as well. Gym, saunas and a pool is also great to have! Even though it is a bit far out from central London i think we only used about 35 minutes with DLR and the tube. Also, a great management at this hotel :-) December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW… OVERALL IMPRESSION: Amazingly affordable by London standards, well-run, all the boxes ticked. I’m a believer…this is the face of future travel. SPG RECOGNITION: Not much leeway in an Aloft as all rooms are virtually the same but I did get a lovely Thames view and the breakfast allowance, when taken as the Platinum Amenity, is quite generous. THE ROOM: The same as every other Aloft room but that’s definitely OK - well-designed and pleasantly furnished. LOCATION: Depends on what you need to do in London. It’s literally right at the Excel Centre and there is a Docklands Station right there but it can be a long commute to central London with a couple of train changes. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: I felt that the staff while young and hip in the Aloft model were also very professional and striving to offer the top-end customer experience. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: The usually very good rates need to be considered against the mostly inconvenient location. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Theatre weekend at Aloft Edexel The Hotel is about 35 minutes by DLR and Underground from covent garden- You do need to change from DLR to Underground, the instructions on the DLR and Underground are pretty clear, the ticket machines however are not so you may need to research buying your tickets. Hotel is very comfortable, the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Sunday buffet breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked, hot where it should be and chilled in the right places,very well stocked. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna were all good, plenty of towels to use. Around the hotel there were plenty of sofa to snooze post swim before we headed home. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff nice hotel Very nice hotel, no complaints, nice food and lovely staff in the Resturant. The only issue I can think of is the go green campaign. It's a great thing to do offering points or voucher in lieu of room cleaning but it only lasts for three nights (no clear till the fourth night) and no matter how many time you remove the door hanger to encourage towel or tea/coffee replacement nothing happens. I stayed five nights with no room clean, towel or bedding change but most importantly (for me) no tea or coffee. Please consider restocking the basics. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff for a pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever I really loved this place. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do extra things. They were flexible with their breakfast voucher scheme and nothing was a problem. This honestly was the best place I have ever stayed March 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adrift This is only half a hotel. No restaurant, no breakfast to speak of, unprofessional staff, minimal spg recognition, ludicrous car parking charges. Only positive is the decor in the public areas. Come on Starwood, we expect more of you. Give it a miss until it cleans up its act. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for money Busy hotel - but everything works well & staff take pride in their jobs Breakfast buffet excellent April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by unusually not the same i am a great supporter of this hotel and the staff in particular Francesco and the others on reception match any 5 start hotel for responsiveness. However this stay was marred by an unhelpful barman with respect to food. HENCE MY STARS ARE NOT REFLECTIVE OF THE HOTEL BUT MY EXPERIENCE ON MONDAY August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh vibrant hotel with good access to city Excellent facilities and ambience at this hotel. Staff very helpful throughout our stay. Buffet breakfast offered good choice, though space was at a premium due to numbers using the restaurant. One downside was that in arriving back late on second day of stay and having paid for car parking there were no places available and was advised parking was first come first served. Apart from that inconvenience our stay was really great and would recommend this hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Striking Building, Location Can Be Hit or Miss Have stayed here for a couple of nights prior to the Olympics. Location can be its strongest and weakest point at the same time: it is only 5 minutes by bus to City Airport, and has a DLR station next to it for easy access to the city. Yet, it is located in a post-industrial wasteland, and there’s absolutely nothing nearby in terms of shops or restaurants. Yet, rooms are very modern, light and comfortable. Bathrooms are nice and I especially like the Bliss shower gel and shampoo dispensers. Nice well stocked magazine rack in each room, and good complimentary internet access. The best thing about this hotel, are the communal areas: a nice gym, a great indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, and even a laundry room. The bar is quite cool as well. Onsite food options are very limited. Expect no upgrades for platinums, although the breakfast amenity is worthwhile as it includes 3 items you can pick from the self-service bar area. This is a good, well-priced option for London with easy access to the public transport network, although if you’re considering any type of nightlife activities, this place is a no-go as it will involve a long and expensive cab ride back. Best for business. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Good location for meetings at Excel. Excellent service. All facilities available. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely long weekend Great hotel with wonderful staff. Isabella on reception was so polite and helpful, an absolutely lovely person. Would love to go back again next time we are in London if only for the fantastic breakfasts!!. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was great We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only