Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High hopes realised... Stayed at the Aloft for six nights with companion in wheelchair, The room was comfortable, large and perfect for the wheelchair, ground coffee delicious, soaps smelled lovely. No shower caps in bathroom but got them from one of the hotel staff no problem. The check-in staff were very friendly and the amenities offered were almost first class. I expected it to be a good hotel from what I'd seen on-line, but in fact it was very good bordering on excellent. Swimming pool great, especially at night, and the hours it was open were good too - 6am till 11pm. A lot of security in this hotel with card keys needed to get into pool and also to your floor in the lift, but this is reassuring. If you want to meet someone in a room on another floor, however, you'd have to use the stairs.Could do with a clock in the swimming pool, I had to keep my watch on the side.But all things considered, the hotel was first rate, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top class hotel near excel First rate hotel with large rooms swimmimg pool and gym right next to Excel and the DLR . Ideal base for london at a reasonable price August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay @ ALoft London Excel I stayed at ALoft London Excel and it was fantastic! Rooms were very clean, all the comfort I need. Breakfast was very good as well. The staff at the Front Desk is great, especially Nick! He is very friendly and helpfull. It felt like coming home! I centainly recommend ALoft London Excel to all my friends en family!! Keep up the good work. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We stayed here again for a weekend in London. Although the location is a bit outside of London it is very convenient if one arrives at London City Airport and if one wants to see a bit of the countryside around London. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and we slept really well. We will come back! October 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very attractive style Modern, quite near to public transportation with a great view of thames area October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous location Great hotel with reasonable parking prices, no airport noise inside, friendly & helpful staff and very comfortable rooms. Average bar & breakfast October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great staff From the minute I walked in the door stressed from driving in London and unpacking at the Exel the greeting was lovely and they bent over backwards to help. After a hard day working the pool area was amazing to relax. I am just about to book it again and all the people from other hotels that came to see me have decided to change hotels too. Thank you and see you soon May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value for London This hotel is okay value for money in London and better value by far the the tiered SPG London Hotels. Staff were great at check in and check out. Not a good restaurant I had a terrible steak there, but the rooms are clean and comfortable Bar was ok, they had a promotion on with foursquare, giving 10% off your bar bill. No recognition at all for being platinum December 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is great fro Excel exhibitors With such great proximity to the Excel this is ideal for exhibitors, however it cannot cope with the volume of people it would seem. We could not get a restaurant seating any evening and the food reports weren't great anyway. The room are well equipped and comfortable< room service is NOT available. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel Aloft Excel is a super hotel with great architecture both on the outside and inside. Nice and peaceful layout in the inner walkways as well. Gym, saunas and a pool is also great to have! Even though it is a bit far out from central London i think we only used about 35 minutes with DLR and the tube. Also, a great management at this hotel :-) December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by O2 Weekend Stayed at this hotel as we were visitng the O2 Arena. Although the hotel is out of the way of the city, the transport links are excellent. A bonus when the 02 experience is over and you are going away from the Central London crowd. The hotel room was light and airy and the shower was great. Need to sort the paper cups tho. Breakfast was a nice surprise given some of the reviews I'd read. I fact we thought we would have to dip out and find somewhere to have breakfast, but in the event stayed and enjoyed. All in all, if I was visitinbg the O2 I would stay again. But if my stay was more about Central London, would probably look elsewhere. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW… OVERALL IMPRESSION: Amazingly affordable by London standards, well-run, all the boxes ticked. I’m a believer…this is the face of future travel. SPG RECOGNITION: Not much leeway in an Aloft as all rooms are virtually the same but I did get a lovely Thames view and the breakfast allowance, when taken as the Platinum Amenity, is quite generous. THE ROOM: The same as every other Aloft room but that’s definitely OK - well-designed and pleasantly furnished. LOCATION: Depends on what you need to do in London. It’s literally right at the Excel Centre and there is a Docklands Station right there but it can be a long commute to central London with a couple of train changes. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: I felt that the staff while young and hip in the Aloft model were also very professional and striving to offer the top-end customer experience. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: The usually very good rates need to be considered against the mostly inconvenient location. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adrift This is only half a hotel. No restaurant, no breakfast to speak of, unprofessional staff, minimal spg recognition, ludicrous car parking charges. Only positive is the decor in the public areas. Come on Starwood, we expect more of you. Give it a miss until it cleans up its act. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service! We chose this hotel to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday. There were 3 generations of family celebrating together and we all enjoyed it equally! A special mention for Lionel at reception, what a star. We were upgraded to a suite and it made my daughter's birthday extra special and memorable. The main purpose for our stay was shopping! Getting to the Westfield Centre at Stratford was so easy, the perfect location. Every request was met with courtesy and a smile by every single member of staff we encountered. Rooms were spotless, facilities were faultless. One of our party has mobility issues and the VERY short walk to the station and the lift facilities on DLR made her life so much easier. I just wish we could've stayed for longer. September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever I really loved this place. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do extra things. They were flexible with their breakfast voucher scheme and nothing was a problem. This honestly was the best place I have ever stayed March 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's OK It is a little like having a bed in an office. The rooms are spartan to say the least. Breakfast has got better and the staff are very friendly. No SPG recognition at all. Well you get your 250 points. I was told that Aloft does not upgrade, ever. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for money Busy hotel - but everything works well & staff take pride in their jobs Breakfast buffet excellent April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Good location for meetings at Excel. Excellent service. All facilities available. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was great We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel shame about the facilities not working Have been to this hotel many times and always liked it very much. This time though I wanted to use the swimming pool facilities as well as the sauna and steam room, all very clean and modern but not working. The steam room was out of order and the sauna wasn't even hot, very disappointing as after travelling was looking forward to unwind here. Apart from that, the room as always fantastic, very comfy, very clean and everything you need, been a bit picky but I noticed the maids trolleys seem to be permanently left int he hallways, hallways looking a bit tired and another picky thing is the coffee, it was to fiddly to use the sachet of filter coffee, yet it was nice coffee but maybe needs looking into. Also on checking out the reception staff were to abrubt, to the point. Again for been a 5 star hotel plus I am a member of a SPG felt as though I was just a number. October 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ok...but I have stayed here two or three times before. Luckily I had early meeting or dinner appointments. SO did not have to eat at the hotel Not this time and I had to eat at the ridiculous self service area in the lobby. Awful, lots of microwaves and bad coffee. It was like living in a quite nice petrol/gas station or a 7/11 with a nice room attached. Really very poor. How the hotel gets to a category 4, I have no idea. It does not speed things up, it is not bright and breezy or exciting as they keep describing it, it is cheap and nasty. Even on the breakfast pastries, no sneeze screen and few well fed flies buzzing around. My breakfast was a pot of oatmeal (just add water) a cheese and ham melt thing (was it microwaved?) and a danish which I never ate once I saw the odd house flies buzzing about the pastry table. Ting tray which matched the tiny table in the lobby. Now matter how they market the lobby...it is the lobby and not a nice place to eat breakfast. Rooms are ok, very dark and comfortable so sleeping for me was no problem. Links into London are good. This could be a very, very nice hotel, when there is not a show on it is good value for money, when there is a show on....EXPENSIVE. Also the address, no of the black cabs can find it. The post code is not in their system. I had to call the hotel and was given the address of the Ramada as it is next door. The cabby found the Ramada without any problem. August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not so out of the way A great alternative for a London location, however there are some things you need to factor in to offset the price of this Hotel, which offers tremendous value (when no large exhibitions are taking place at the Excel centre). The public transport is served mostly by the DLR and therefore Tube. Zone 3 to Zone 1 is under five pounds and gets you to your location in London effortlessly. However, at night, it's a nightmare to get back to, and the London Taxi will cost you GBP40.00. The front entrance does not have an awning, and so you risk getting drenched when the British rain is unleashed and running from a car to the front entrance. This hotel locations offers nothing in the vicinity that you would want to stick around for, but you cannot ignore the price to quality ratio. September 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only