Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 268 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by TRANSPORTATION I took taxi's twice to get to the hotel. Twice the acb driver had no clue how to get to the Eastern Gate ( no problem of the Western Gate and all other hotels there ). When we ask for a cab at the receptiond nesk, they should propose the black cab alternative not only the expensive mini cab " monopoly ". July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern hotel with young and friendly staff The standards and services were for 5*. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel I've ever stayed in There are no words that can describe my stay here. I had an amazing time (Despite the fact I had to work), the staff were friendly attentive and a pleasure to speak to. The room was beautiful and clean and met all of my needs, I even had friends come to the room that were jealous of how amazing it was. My only critique would be that there is no room service, however, that's a minor issue as everything else was perfect. I have recommended this particular hotel to 2 companies I work with twice a year at the MCM Expo and they have also decided to book rooms for these events. August 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Modern Hotel I was really impressed by the lovely modern feel of the hotel. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food and drink were great and very reasonably priced. If I had one small moan it would be that the room layout could have been a bit better, i.e a mirror in the main bedroom area with plug sockets near it for use with a hairdryer. July 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe Stayed here this past weekend. First time staying at an aloft. Here are my thoughts: > Concept is nice, very modern and 'cool' vibe > Self check-in - all worked and issued single key (despite 2 persons on rez) - key issued did not work in elevator. Had to go back to desk and wait in the queue to get new key(s) {defeats the purpose of self check-in} > Room is not very functional - large desk space and a couple of cubbies - no drawers to put things in. Skinny wardrobe with 5 hangers. No iron/ironing board > Make shift place to do ironing in guest laundry area but no hooks to hang clothes on after they're been ironed. Room is dimly lit and not well ventilated. No source of water. I understand this is temporary as they have not yet received supply of irons from supplier. I suggested to Manager they should offer complimentary pressing service in the interim. > Arranged car service one night and despite us being out front, he was miles away at the wrong address. Return trip, driver didn't know how to access hotel, despite having address. Clearly they need to advise cabbies/car service of their opening and location. > requested room to be cleaned late to both housekeeper and supervisor. On going out for the evening (5:00pm) asked front desk to advise housekeeping room was now free to be cleaned. Returned at 9pm and room had not been touched. In speaking with the Manager, he advised clerk had failed to advise housekeeping and arranged to move us to a clean room. > DLR was not running due scheduled maintenance. No problem, hotel offers courtesy shuttle to Canary Wharf - oops, shuttle doesn't run on weekends! Mentioned to Manager that perhaps they should have kept the shuttle on for this weekend > Attempted self check-out - machine could not read room card so I had to go to the front desk. Mentioned this issue to Manager (same one) and all he could say is they were having problems and had advised the vendor of the issues (then maybe you should not have people using them until they're fully functioning?) > Despite being on a pre-paid stay, I had a balance of £1.00. Apparently they auto-charge a charity donation and it's up to the guest to ask for it to be removed. The stop and go food bar is a bit confusing. People don't know the prices. However, the drip coffee in the morning is complimentary. The chocolate stuffed croissant (@ £1.50) was very good. Location is ideal to the City Airport (£11.00 by private car). Location to DLR is great for getting around. Easy connections to the tube. Allow 30-40 minutes to the West End, 20 minutes to Canary Wharf, 85 minutes to LHR. Other than the hotel and the ExCeL Centre, there is nothing else around except for a couple of other hotels. If it wasn't for the £68.00 per night for Sat-Mon stay, I would suggest staying somewhere else until all of the bugs can be worked out. Staff are young and new and don't seem empowered or experienced in dealing with irregularities (or trained in how to make/keep someone happy). I am not a high maintenance person and after the room not cleaned incident, I discussed all of the other issues with the Manage on duty. As he was offering to move us to a new room, it would have cost him nothing to put us in a suite (the place was empty), offer breakfast the next morning or even a drink in the bar. But there was nothing 'above and beyond' extended. Perhaps when it comes time for you to stay here, all of the opening faults will have been resolved. November 17, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our stay A very smart hotel, let down by the average restaurant. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. August 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice modern hotel, staff could do with being better trained This is a lovely, new and contemporary hotel. Although it is beside Excel Center, there is absolutely nothing to do near the hotel. Rooms are well appointed with most things you'd need. Despite being beside London City Airport it is relatively quiet. Free shuttle bus to Canary Wharf is a nice touch, although as the driver couldn't speak English I had no idea what time it returned back to the hotel. Downside is the TV. This is one of those "internet" TV's and is infuriatingly slow. Everything has to be done through a menu which is slow and clunky. Please change this! October 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Theatre weekend at Aloft Edexel The Hotel is about 35 minutes by DLR and Underground from covent garden- You do need to change from DLR to Underground, the instructions on the DLR and Underground are pretty clear, the ticket machines however are not so you may need to research buying your tickets. Hotel is very comfortable, the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Sunday buffet breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked, hot where it should be and chilled in the right places,very well stocked. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna were all good, plenty of towels to use. Around the hotel there were plenty of sofa to snooze post swim before we headed home. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll be back. My husband and I spent two night at this hotel as we were attending an event at the O2. The location is great for the O2 and because of this we'll be back. The room was spotless, very cool and modern. I liked the green policy but was surprised to discover that opting to not change your towel also meant the room was not made up at all. Staff in the bar were great, the bar food menu was very basic and after a concert we could've done with a better choice of food. Staff at reception seemed a little inexperienced and we did not receive the 10% discount off bar food that we should have being SPG members and reception were unaware of this offer. So overall a couple of minor negatives but we had a great stay and will definitely use this hotel again. March 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not ready for prime time Arrived in the afternoon during the week and their systems were down. They find my reservation and I ask if I've been upgraded. I'm told they don't have suites. I'm not asked what type of platinum amenity I want. No worries. I go to my room and turn on the heat because the room is freezing. 15 min later the temp hasn't increased so I call the front desk and they send maintenance. He tells me to leave it on auto. 20 min later still no heat. Maintenance returns, opens the ceiling cover and water dumps on the floor. My next room is magically a suite. Upon checkout the front desk clerk asks me for my card. I tell him it's a pre-paid reservation. He tells me "they don't do those." Two days later I see 2 charges from the Aloft on my account... I'm platinum so obviously have stayed at a fair share of hotels. This is still a fairly new property so you could attribute the above to growing pains however I would be more likely to attribute it to poor training or employee selection. The employees were all relatively young and obviously lacked significant hospitality experience. In short, I have no desire to stay here again. February 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I really like the ambience; room decor and space specially the bathroom. Excellent layout. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The perfect place to stay for events at the O2, or in the West End. Flying home on the cable car after an afternoon at the multiplex in the O2 was a magical end to the day/start to the evening. Aloft is on top of the DLR which makes getting in the City, the West End and the South Bank quick and easy. With parking right outside the hotel it's a quick way out of town. Just watch it with the sat nav - the hotel is so new it's not on Google Maps or the car navigation. Just head for the City Airport side of Excel - Excel East and you'll find it. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spotlessly clean and well managed Very good modern hotel which is well managed without fuss. Reception staff are welcoming and efficient as are all the other members you come across. Excellent little mini breakfast and snack bar and a nice bar area too, room cleaning is excellent, rooms comfortable too July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Had a.very pleasant stay in this unique looking very modern hotel .nice sized room whith kingsize bed and view over river. Clean and comfortable and easy to travel into the centre using the DLR July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good facilities and is in a good location This hotel is in a good location with excellent transport links. Staff are both professional polite and respond to customers needs effectively. The rooms are excellent and the facilities are good. The Restaurant served very good food and wine. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my expectations Close to the DLR, spacious rooms, great breakfast, very nice experience. Highly reccomended in view of extremely good price/quality balance if compared with standard in London. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Excellent bed, shower, service, breakfast July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very slow service Book for a meal in the evening. Staff seemed a bit startled over our arrival despite having booked the reservation. Ordered our food around 9.35pm but by 10.05pm food, starters or anything were no where to be seen. Waiters and waitresses completely did not notice we were just sitting there with no food. Asked the waiter for the hurry up, food finally came after 15 mins even though waiter said two minutes. The food was great, do not be mistaken but the service was simply so poor. Everything else after else came relatively quickly after we expressed our disapproval. However when it came to signing the bill, we were charged nearly a 1/3 more than what we ordered. The waitress dealing with us was very patient though. But in the morning, a cold greeting from the staff at breakfast around half past ten, was told to just sit anywhere. Previously we stayed at Aloft and had the breakfast buffet, we were taken to our table and were assisted attentively. This time was not the case. The staff in the morning seemed worse than the staff in the evening, very glum looking and almost not at all friendly - no smiles, no manners and no politeness. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Excel Quality Aloft Hotel - much larger in open space with good restaurant attached - next to convention center if that was an event attending. It is however, far from Central London and even farther to Heathrow. Have to take the DLR to the London Tube before you can then make your way into city center. Good value considering the cost of central london hotels - just a trade-off in time. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features We stayed in the hotel for seven days.It is a lovely hotel, easy access and transportation. Especially I want to mention the excellent service that we get in the restaurant during the breakfast. In any new trip to London I shall most likely stay in your HOTEL. July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but had trouble getting our room cleaned. Nice and close to the Excel centre. Quite new and close to the DLR. Some of the staff seemed new / inexperienced. Our room keys weren't set properly and it took three attempts to get it right. We put the green sign on our door once and then had to ask to get the room cleaned even after we took the sign off the door. It got cleaned once more (reluctantly, it seems). Being green doesn't mean not emptying bins or making the bed. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by rest & relaxation lovely room, great service, but take your own bottle opener just in case ;) July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, modern, comfortable hotel. I enjoyed every minute of my stay here. With great design features, fantastic gym and pool facilities and a beautiful and comfortable room, I cannot wait to stay again! July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern hotel away from the tourist traps Easy commute to Canary Wharf if you don't like being near the tourist traps. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice when checked in but real struggle to check in Real struggle to get checked in, mistake by booking agent meant room held not paid for on company card, hotel refused to take company card details for payment then, settled on bacs but was told may take days to clear so may not be able to stay. when finally sorted bacs for room payment, a deposit required prior to check in, again refused to take company card details. Ended up using personal details, did not wish to, this was a business trip, would have thought could handle a business stay more effectively. 3hrs check in for one night stay. Also air con freezing, tried turning up but capped at 22, so turned off but still sounded like it was running. Was nice and warm outside but couldn't open window. June 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only