Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Travel This hotel is fine for business travel, but tnot the easiest to access December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent closeness to music facilities Excellent all round . Very efficient friendly helpful staff . Excellent room comfort . Beside the 02 arena & has excellent live music . Has swimming pool to relax & so close to Royal Victoria square . December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High hopes realised... Stayed at the Aloft for six nights with companion in wheelchair, The room was comfortable, large and perfect for the wheelchair, ground coffee delicious, soaps smelled lovely. No shower caps in bathroom but got them from one of the hotel staff no problem. The check-in staff were very friendly and the amenities offered were almost first class. I expected it to be a good hotel from what I'd seen on-line, but in fact it was very good bordering on excellent. Swimming pool great, especially at night, and the hours it was open were good too - 6am till 11pm. A lot of security in this hotel with card keys needed to get into pool and also to your floor in the lift, but this is reassuring. If you want to meet someone in a room on another floor, however, you'd have to use the stairs.Could do with a clock in the swimming pool, I had to keep my watch on the side.But all things considered, the hotel was first rate, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The facilities and amenities are great They have more to offer than I can experience with the busy days I have during my stay. September 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WiFi did not work ....which wrecked an otherwise okay experience. Extremely convenient to DLR, nice (but small) pool open at 6 am. Close to City airport. November 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top class hotel near excel First rate hotel with large rooms swimmimg pool and gym right next to Excel and the DLR . Ideal base for london at a reasonable price August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great staff From the minute I walked in the door stressed from driving in London and unpacking at the Exel the greeting was lovely and they bent over backwards to help. After a hard day working the pool area was amazing to relax. I am just about to book it again and all the people from other hotels that came to see me have decided to change hotels too. Thank you and see you soon May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value for London This hotel is okay value for money in London and better value by far the the tiered SPG London Hotels. Staff were great at check in and check out. Not a good restaurant I had a terrible steak there, but the rooms are clean and comfortable Bar was ok, they had a promotion on with foursquare, giving 10% off your bar bill. No recognition at all for being platinum December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel Aloft Excel is a super hotel with great architecture both on the outside and inside. Nice and peaceful layout in the inner walkways as well. Gym, saunas and a pool is also great to have! Even though it is a bit far out from central London i think we only used about 35 minutes with DLR and the tube. Also, a great management at this hotel :-) December 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is quite charming It is difficult to get from airport without an arranged transfer. It would be good if the hotel had a shuttle. November 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW… OVERALL IMPRESSION: Amazingly affordable by London standards, well-run, all the boxes ticked. I’m a believer…this is the face of future travel. SPG RECOGNITION: Not much leeway in an Aloft as all rooms are virtually the same but I did get a lovely Thames view and the breakfast allowance, when taken as the Platinum Amenity, is quite generous. THE ROOM: The same as every other Aloft room but that’s definitely OK - well-designed and pleasantly furnished. LOCATION: Depends on what you need to do in London. It’s literally right at the Excel Centre and there is a Docklands Station right there but it can be a long commute to central London with a couple of train changes. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: I felt that the staff while young and hip in the Aloft model were also very professional and striving to offer the top-end customer experience. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: The usually very good rates need to be considered against the mostly inconvenient location. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adrift This is only half a hotel. No restaurant, no breakfast to speak of, unprofessional staff, minimal spg recognition, ludicrous car parking charges. Only positive is the decor in the public areas. Come on Starwood, we expect more of you. Give it a miss until it cleans up its act. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's OK It is a little like having a bed in an office. The rooms are spartan to say the least. Breakfast has got better and the staff are very friendly. No SPG recognition at all. Well you get your 250 points. I was told that Aloft does not upgrade, ever. April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever I really loved this place. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do extra things. They were flexible with their breakfast voucher scheme and nothing was a problem. This honestly was the best place I have ever stayed March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by O2 Weekend Stayed at this hotel as we were visitng the O2 Arena. Although the hotel is out of the way of the city, the transport links are excellent. A bonus when the 02 experience is over and you are going away from the Central London crowd. The hotel room was light and airy and the shower was great. Need to sort the paper cups tho. Breakfast was a nice surprise given some of the reviews I'd read. I fact we thought we would have to dip out and find somewhere to have breakfast, but in the event stayed and enjoyed. All in all, if I was visitinbg the O2 I would stay again. But if my stay was more about Central London, would probably look elsewhere. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for money Busy hotel - but everything works well & staff take pride in their jobs Breakfast buffet excellent April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Good location for meetings at Excel. Excellent service. All facilities available. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was great We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ok...but I have stayed here two or three times before. Luckily I had early meeting or dinner appointments. SO did not have to eat at the hotel Not this time and I had to eat at the ridiculous self service area in the lobby. Awful, lots of microwaves and bad coffee. It was like living in a quite nice petrol/gas station or a 7/11 with a nice room attached. Really very poor. How the hotel gets to a category 4, I have no idea. It does not speed things up, it is not bright and breezy or exciting as they keep describing it, it is cheap and nasty. Even on the breakfast pastries, no sneeze screen and few well fed flies buzzing around. My breakfast was a pot of oatmeal (just add water) a cheese and ham melt thing (was it microwaved?) and a danish which I never ate once I saw the odd house flies buzzing about the pastry table. Ting tray which matched the tiny table in the lobby. Now matter how they market the lobby...it is the lobby and not a nice place to eat breakfast. Rooms are ok, very dark and comfortable so sleeping for me was no problem. Links into London are good. This could be a very, very nice hotel, when there is not a show on it is good value for money, when there is a show on....EXPENSIVE. Also the address, no of the black cabs can find it. The post code is not in their system. I had to call the hotel and was given the address of the Ramada as it is next door. The cabby found the Ramada without any problem. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by i was very enjoyed in this hotel 1. When i checked in the staff very very kind maybe her name is Victoria? And bar staff as well. 2. The breakfast was very delicious particularly bakery and staff was very kind and helpfulness. 3.There wasn't toothbrush and toothpaste. Usually when i stayed other hotel there was even 3 star hotel they have. So i didn't bring it. But when i looking for that one the staff was very helpfulness and kind. 4. Some tower which hand tower and middle size tower weren't changed. Otherwise it was great time to stay this hotel. I won't forget about staff's kindness. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Hotel not a bad start The hotel had only just opened 4 days prior to my stay. The things that niggled me was room keys had to be cut daily as they kept failing. The pool had no where to leave your clothes when changing? Also no robes so you had to go back to your room dripping wet. The Sauna and Steam and pool lights were also both broken. The rooms were good the only this that lets the down is storage, no drawers for your smalls and a wardrobe that could hang 4 items in. When you walk in your room your clothes are on full display to the world. Bed great as was shower but strange was you had to enter via the toilet! Overall a good job staff OK under pressure but coped well. November 14, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by First and possibly last ever Aloft stay Since I have never stayed at an Aloft before and this property opened close to where I live my wife and I decided to give it a try for a weekend night stay. This was our first ever Aloft stay so some of the negatives I found may be related to the entire brand experience rather than this particular property but I didn't have a clear frame of reference prior to my stay. Overall I am not a fan, most really certainly not at the price of the Aloft London. At £96 inclusive of taxes there were a lot better options in the area and I was surprised at the lack of upgrade as a Platimum (which whilst I now know is described in the SPG T&Cs) and feel this should have been more clearly signposted at reservation. . I do not see how the rates at this property are sustainable in the face of better cheaper full service relatively new competition in the immediate vicinity all offering a better experience IMHO.. The midweek rate of £200+ a night is a rather bad joke given that I can get a corporate rate at nearby 5 star deluxe properties in Canary Wharf for less than the corporate rate at the Aloft. I live in the area and don't often stay locally but was curious about this property. I can see some pricing adjustment or massive corporate discounts crystallising in the not too distant future. At weekends the chain properties in Canary Wharf are also much better options unless you absolutely must stay at the hotel. On the plus side we had dinner and breakfast at FEDE in the Aloft and would definitely visit the restaurant again. It just seems bizarre that a restaurant within the hotel is not integrated to the level that bills can be charged to the room and thus SPG points earned. The room design is also much better than the W Leicester Square. It also wasn't fully clear whether the car park was chargeable. I was told that it costs £14 a day, but then was not charged upon exit. November 18, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Hotel only opened 31 Oct so staff very helpful and friendly but sometimes slow to get things done. No room service. bathroom design very unusual: its all flat at one level which is very good for elderly or disabled. Quality and price of restaurant FEDE is very good but cannot be charged to room since its independent. for visitors to Excel exhibition location is excellent as hotel is just a few steps away. only bad thing is that I'm spg member and requested check out at 2 pm and everyone was leaving the hotel but staff refused and was hostile replying to my request. all other starwood hotels allowed me before to check out at 2. November 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Theatre weekend at Aloft Edexel The Hotel is about 35 minutes by DLR and Underground from covent garden- You do need to change from DLR to Underground, the instructions on the DLR and Underground are pretty clear, the ticket machines however are not so you may need to research buying your tickets. Hotel is very comfortable, the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Sunday buffet breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked, hot where it should be and chilled in the right places,very well stocked. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna were all good, plenty of towels to use. Around the hotel there were plenty of sofa to snooze post swim before we headed home. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff did not look to resolve my issues with my room. I stay regularly at the Aloft and whilst it is comfortable over all , i am so disspaointed that I will not stay again and will be recommending to my colleagues at Barclays not to stay. The room is fine. However my TV volume didnt work, the shower was jammed and I could not change the height. I was handed over twice without one apology to the duty manager. All three staff informed me that the engineer didnt start til 8am. I wasted 15 minutes raising my concerns and as a result missed my shuttle and was late for my meeting. Not offer to make it better o. A hotel can look great but I felt incrediblty stressed after my stay! October 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only