Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Hotel not a bad start The hotel had only just opened 4 days prior to my stay. The things that niggled me was room keys had to be cut daily as they kept failing. The pool had no where to leave your clothes when changing? Also no robes so you had to go back to your room dripping wet. The Sauna and Steam and pool lights were also both broken. The rooms were good the only this that lets the down is storage, no drawers for your smalls and a wardrobe that could hang 4 items in. When you walk in your room your clothes are on full display to the world. Bed great as was shower but strange was you had to enter via the toilet! Overall a good job staff OK under pressure but coped well. November 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Front Desk Staff Arrived at the hotel early on December 20th after a very late flight from New York and very jet lagged. Francesco at the front desk was so helpful and managed to find me a room that was ready, allowing me to get a few hours sleep before meeting work colleagues later that afternoon. I really appreciated the extra effort and for helping me out. Please extend my thanks to him. I've stayed at the hotel multiple times and am always treated so well. January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff did not look to resolve my issues with my room. I stay regularly at the Aloft and whilst it is comfortable over all , i am so disspaointed that I will not stay again and will be recommending to my colleagues at Barclays not to stay. The room is fine. However my TV volume didnt work, the shower was jammed and I could not change the height. I was handed over twice without one apology to the duty manager. All three staff informed me that the engineer didnt start til 8am. I wasted 15 minutes raising my concerns and as a result missed my shuttle and was late for my meeting. Not offer to make it better o. A hotel can look great but I felt incrediblty stressed after my stay! October 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Hotel only opened 31 Oct so staff very helpful and friendly but sometimes slow to get things done. No room service. bathroom design very unusual: its all flat at one level which is very good for elderly or disabled. Quality and price of restaurant FEDE is very good but cannot be charged to room since its independent. for visitors to Excel exhibition location is excellent as hotel is just a few steps away. only bad thing is that I'm spg member and requested check out at 2 pm and everyone was leaving the hotel but staff refused and was hostile replying to my request. all other starwood hotels allowed me before to check out at 2. November 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great 2 night stay I stayed for two nights , got there and the staff in reception were helpful , the room was lovely and clean when u arrived , the food was good but don't tell u when u book up it was cold food not fry up breakfast , and u don't get alto of choice , the swimming pool was nice and clean and u get towels beside beds u can lay on . there all so the sauna room i went in witch is nice to , and the steam room to was nice , the gym is good but did not use it , due to being a relaxing break. u can use the internet for free on there computers if u need to look for a day out wile u in London or just to check your emails . November 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by First stay at aloft Hotel is trendy and rooms very clean, bright and good facilities.Lacks the personal touch when it comes to the Restaurant, Breakfast is a very basic affair, you have to make your own tea/coffee in mugs from an urn so you don't get a good hot cup of tea/coffee and a teaspoon would be nice rather than a stick! Breakfast is laid out under hot lamps scrambled eggs must have been there an hour or more as all dried up and it was only 8.30am! not at all attractive, a choice of eggs would be nice! and staff who actually speak to you! A couple of small improvements could really ,make a big difference here! I joined SPG on arrival so didn't really expect any recognition maybe next time! May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean and Contemporary I loved this hotel. It was quiet but also very close to the hussle and bussle of London. However I am an SPG member and was not asked for my membership details on arrival. I therefore did not get any points for staying there. Also I was in the foyer one evening and found that new arrivals (who came to the door at about 11pm) were unable ot get access to the hotel. When the receptionist eventually buzzed them in only a few from the bus managed to get in at that time. When the rest of the party got off the bus the door was locked again and I had to use my own room key to buzz them in. Subsequently I was asked for information on food and facilitties because they thought I worked there. August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs alot of improvement first if anyone tried calling me directly no diffrence the time of day or night had a verry diffocolt time geting thru first no answere then they would get mail box is full & i lost some meeting of a result of this which this hotel is geard only twords business needs second why isnt there any ice machiness on each floor i am told if you need ice go down to the first floor get it from the bar. third the tv set did not work even thow i was charged for unlimited for one day most of the channels did not work either sound my over all rateing was that this was a failure on my end to choose this hotel i would of gone to any other hotel a couple of min away which i have doneo in the past you get way more for your buck November 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst value for money I ever had! Very bad!!! In room: no drinking glasses; no waste basket in bathroom; only sugar, but no coffee or tea bags with water-heater! No working air conditioner! And no room service to correct this! No answer when trying to reach reception! Inexpericended personel too busy with other guests to help! November 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by can't believe this is a SPG hotel The hotel is a brand new addition to the SPG hotels, opened in OCT.2011. But don't expect the type of SPG standards if you are familiar with SPG program as the staff obviously didn't not. Case in point: the reception flat out say that they "don't do upgrades" for platinum members,even though the days I stayed there, the hotel has 5-10 percent of occupancy. I couldn't tell whether the front desk staff was unable or unwilling to serve the guests, upon checking in, I asked for a chair for the writing desk, they said they didn't have any. I asked for a electricity adaptor, they replied that I had to purchase one from their shop. Eventually, I had to seek the hotel manager for getting the chair and the adaptor. December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for the city airport I had no idea what this would be like and it was a little difficult to reach only in that the taxi driver (for once) had not been there before. However, the reception area was great, staff fantastic and the room just perfect and excellent value. It was undergoing some refurbishment in the dining area but there is a reasonable pub nearby. The gym is well appointed, the rooms clean, good beds, modern and tidy. Check out easy and staff super helpful with taxi and even a coffee while I waited. Would definitely stay again if the need arises. November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic hotel with helpful staff This new property has a good location for City Airport and getting to the City by DLR. Rooms are basic, there are no restaurants to speak of, but overall Aloft represents good value. Special thanks go to the printer facility and the staff who helped me configure the IT equipment so that I got my critical documents printed on time. Complete lack of SPG (Plat) recognition as a downside for all Aloft hotels. December 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take Away & Hairdryers Overall I think this is a great hotel at a competitive rate. I understand the concept of the take away service from the restaurant but some food just cannot be eaten pleasantly without a plate so it would be great if this could be reconsidered! Second stay where I had problems with my hairdryer. The first time there was no hairdryer, this time I couldn't open the bag the hairdryer was in - sounds trivial but this disruption to a morning routine can make you late for a meeting! Fortunately the staff were helpful but it would be good to have everything in working order. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good & Bad I stayed at this property a couple of times in December and while the room I was happy with there were problems with the facilities / communication while I was there. The rooms seem well laid out, comfortable bed, good showers and quiet and easy to black out for a good nights sleep. The main issue I had was with things on the website not matching what was offered. The site said the shuttle went both ways from Canary Wharf to the hotel, but actually its one way depending on morning or evening. When I arrived and pointed out the website said this I was informed this was not the case and I had to find my own way to where I needed to be! Not a huge issue as it has a good DLR connection but not what I expected and thus I was late. Another time the bar was closed for a private function but no announcement, it was purely by chance I found this out. I have also had issues with keys not working for a late checkout despite being assured it will, not a big problem unless there is an event on at the eXcel and thus takes 30 mins to queue at reception. What I will say is that on each occasion after a conversation with the duty manager they were very apologetic and did offer things as a form of apology so while there is work to be done they do admit when they get it wrong and do what they can, which is more than can be said for some hotels! Overall a nice hotel with good rooms but currently with service levels that leave you unsure. the staff seem nice and genuine but just not very proactive. Happily stay again although not so sure I could suggest it to some friends and collegues as service levels would be a worry. Another plus is the Fede restuarant is very good, breakfast is great (full english for Plats) also evening meals are well cooked. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad treatment for SPG platinum members I had a very bad customer experience in this hotel. If you are a platinum SPG member, this hotel refuse generall a suite-upgrade. It is the policy of this hotel not to handle according the SPG Terms and Conditions. The reaction of the management after my complaints: there are other Starwood Hotels in London to get the platinum treatment. We can help you to book a room over there, if you like. If the platinum recognition is important for you, stay away from Aloft London Excel. If this is not important, this hotel will give you a good night sleep. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent rooms super comfy beds and pillows to die for, however the cups in room are cardboard and only 2 milks and tea bags left with 2 coffees for 2 adults after paying 144 night room only that's a bit poor. if you had a breakfast to go it only includes 3 items and a hot drink and not much filling stuff to keep you going. the evening meals are delicious but quite expensive. sadly having paid for this hotel so we could access the excell centre direct we were made to walk right around each time as excell wouldnt allow us too October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Only a few faults with the room..The safe door was a pain and kept walking into it..The coffee in room tasted great but too much of a faff to make. and could stretch to proper cups. Comfy and great staff and breakfast Would have liked to have seen a sign that said you could reach the hotel when leaving the station. but only excel signs December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time at Aloft Excellent reception, greeted by Julia the manager, who's very friendly and helpful. Car park is a fair bit cheaper than the main Excel car parks if you're a guest, and easy to find. Good comfortable contemporary rooms and facilities. Re:Fuel is a little different, but worth exploring for a quick but wholesome breakfast, or even a midnight snack. Only very minor gripe was not enough suitable seats in the lounge reception area if you are eating from Re:Fuel. Had dinner in the second floor restaurant - basically Italian cuisine. And you can now charge this to your room. One point to note - for security your room card will only take you to your own floor in the lifts. If you are with friends on another floor, you'll have to find the stairs to get to their room! October 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse hotel in starwood experience I have stayed this hotel for 3 nights and I am super depressed in this experience. I was so down this hotel is part of hotel in starwood. First room they gave smells so bad and the carpet still has dust and fur. Apparently, the room is not ready so they change another for me. Then they don't collect the garbage in room until the 2nd night as I called the service to clean the room. I understand the hotel has the environment saving issue; however, the hotel didn't change the sheet and duvet for 3 nights which I am not happy. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel This hotel was so lovely - I loved the bar seating area - so cosy and modern. The room was amazing, quiet, comfortable, spacious and with everything you would wish for. Our only problem was in the lift. We were not told to use the room card to activate the lift and although at the time quite hilarious going from ground floor to the second floor 20 times - we did waste a lot of time and ran out of time to take the cable car to the O2. Never mind - another customer showed us what to do and we will know for next time!!!!! July 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel gets it all wrong Stayed here twice, a week apart. Disaster zone, from checkin to the actual room its a disappointment. Trying to be too cool, doesnt work. No glass at washbasin to rinse your mouth, no drawers, and awful airconditioning. NO RECIGNITION for SPG status. Was told "no upgrades cos all rooms identical" which is a lie. They are not! Staff are very poorly trained. Seriously, its about a 5/10 at best. All due to BAD training. The hotel itself isnt bad, its the people within it who execute the message that. should be retrained. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent stay for BETT Booked this hotel as it was the last one available near Excel, and was extremely pleased that I did. Room was large and quiet, bed very comfortable. Couldn't be more convenient for the conference and DLR, made getting around a breeze. Staff were helpful, and had somewhere to store luggage when I arrived before checkin time. The facilities are excellent; unfortunately I didn't get to sample restaurant this time, but unwinding in the pool before my journey back home was well worth the modest increase in price. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room I loved the room, but as I was on a budget I was disappointed that even the continental breakfast was not included. I thought the parking charge was horrendous, and unnecessary. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern Hotel in London Really nice hotel, one bonus at this Aloft hotel is that they have a restaurant. Location is unfortunately "off-side" if you have business in central London... Still quite ok by local transportation. December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect except one hiccup that got fixed in the end! Me and my partner came here for a small get away and absolutely loved the hotel. There doesnt seem to be much around until you learn the area enough. We walked over the o2 and enjoyed using the emirates air line. We ate out at o2 every night as didnt like the menu offered by the hotel. We loved the hotel style, the staff were great and was overall great value for money We did however have a small problem with our fridge. After having our stuff in their all night friday night we noticed monday morning the fridge had gone warm. We called reception who sent maintenance up. They informed us that it was set on low to be 'green' and that because our fridge was full it couldnt cope and he needed to turn it up to high setting to keep it cold. He did this but by this time i wasnt happy enough to risk consuming alot of the food so had to chuck it out. Apart from this it was an amazing stay and we have just booked to stay here again for another long weekend :D November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has an excellent green room service and friendly staff My daughter and I stayed a week at this hotel last week. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. The hotel has an option of a green room i.e. if the guest chooses this option he she gets a GP 5 per day towards breakfast or any other food choice. This alternative is an excellent idea to reward guests who opti for a green room service. The rooms are very convenient ; however there is not enough light in it. I would suggest to have addiotnal lamps to keep the room brighter at night. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in the area It's the little things which also make the Aloft better than anything else in the region. Free botted water included, hangers you can actually take off the rail (seems little, but when you travel a lot it's a pain with those which don't), plugs next to the bed, safe, gym, fridge, blacked out quiet rooms and a decent shower. The only draw back for me is the lack of freeview channels. However, the BEST thing about the Aloft....free high speed internet! October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Ambiance Stayed 2 nights to tennis at the O2. Location graet with easy access from Docklands Light Railway. New hotel in general nicely designed and public areas have great ambiance. Rooms short of drawers. Staff clearly new and whilst really friendly and helpful still need training in how things should work. I am sure this will be managed. 24/7 food area a good concept. Self check in worked, but was slow. I would use Reception staff in future if no queue. Reception checkout very efficient. November 27, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only