Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We stayed here again for a weekend in London. Although the location is a bit outside of London it is very convenient if one arrives at London City Airport and if one wants to see a bit of the countryside around London. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and we slept really well. We will come back! October 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is great fro Excel exhibitors With such great proximity to the Excel this is ideal for exhibitors, however it cannot cope with the volume of people it would seem. We could not get a restaurant seating any evening and the food reports weren't great anyway. The room are well equipped and comfortable< room service is NOT available. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean, Close to Conference Center and DLR While this property is no 5-star facility, it is new and quite clean. It works out nicely if you are visiting near the eastern end of London (Greenwich, the Tower, the City, etc.). If you plan to spend your time in the West End, look elsewhere. As others have commented, the room cleaning carts and dirty towel bins left in the hallways 24/7 is a bit off-putting. They really should do something about this. Despite some print about complimentary continental breakfast, Platinum guests actually receive a full breakfast buffet -- which was a pleasant surprise. Our major disappointment was that our rooms were not ready at 3:15 when we checked in. We had to wait an hour, an annoying inconvenience for which no apologies were offered. We booked two rooms weeks in advance, requesting that they be adjacent. Somehow, with all that advance notice, all the hotel could manage were rooms in completely opposite wings of the property. Pretty lame and not great when you have children. A complaint to our SPG ambassador did eventually elicit an offer to switch rooms from the manager, but it was really too late to move at that point (two nights into our stay). And it shouldn't have required that sort of escalation in the first place. The bottom line is it's a decent property that has some management kinks to work out. October 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel shame about the facilities not working Have been to this hotel many times and always liked it very much. This time though I wanted to use the swimming pool facilities as well as the sauna and steam room, all very clean and modern but not working. The steam room was out of order and the sauna wasn't even hot, very disappointing as after travelling was looking forward to unwind here. Apart from that, the room as always fantastic, very comfy, very clean and everything you need, been a bit picky but I noticed the maids trolleys seem to be permanently left int he hallways, hallways looking a bit tired and another picky thing is the coffee, it was to fiddly to use the sachet of filter coffee, yet it was nice coffee but maybe needs looking into. Also on checking out the reception staff were to abrubt, to the point. Again for been a 5 star hotel plus I am a member of a SPG felt as though I was just a number. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent featurs Very modern hotel, the rooms are of a great standard, the shower/wet room has pleanty of space, the beds are oversized and very comfortable. Excellent hotel for visiting/exhibiting at the Excel. The bar staff could be a little more engaging..looked & acted thoroughly "fed up" September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service! We chose this hotel to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday. There were 3 generations of family celebrating together and we all enjoyed it equally! A special mention for Lionel at reception, what a star. We were upgraded to a suite and it made my daughter's birthday extra special and memorable. The main purpose for our stay was shopping! Getting to the Westfield Centre at Stratford was so easy, the perfect location. Every request was met with courtesy and a smile by every single member of staff we encountered. Rooms were spotless, facilities were faultless. One of our party has mobility issues and the VERY short walk to the station and the lift facilities on DLR made her life so much easier. I just wish we could've stayed for longer. September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not so out of the way A great alternative for a London location, however there are some things you need to factor in to offset the price of this Hotel, which offers tremendous value (when no large exhibitions are taking place at the Excel centre). The public transport is served mostly by the DLR and therefore Tube. Zone 3 to Zone 1 is under five pounds and gets you to your location in London effortlessly. However, at night, it's a nightmare to get back to, and the London Taxi will cost you GBP40.00. The front entrance does not have an awning, and so you risk getting drenched when the British rain is unleashed and running from a car to the front entrance. This hotel locations offers nothing in the vicinity that you would want to stick around for, but you cannot ignore the price to quality ratio. September 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The Aloft Excel Hotel was everything I expected and more. It was very accommodating for our needs. I would recommend it without any hesitation; clean, comfortable and modern. What more could one ask? September 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Some serious problems with this hotel As a Platinum SPG member I've stayed in many hotels within the SPG group, always enjoying my stays. This experience was very different. 1) the directions on the website are wrong, telling you to look for platform 3 at Shadwell train station (there are only 2 platforms. I wasted time up and down stairs looking for a non existent platform with my 7yr old, great fun! 2) . Next I go to get into bed and find quite a big blood stain on the white bedding. It looked like a menstrual blood stain and was really quite obvious. I only noticed it when I pulled the duvet back to get into bed. This is appalling. 3) the hotel offers inflatable beds for children. Seems great except mine had a slow leak. It deflated fully and my 7yr old woke us all up during the night when he was uncomfortable lying on the floor. Basic standards for accurate travel info, cleanliness and sleeping arrangements that are fit for purpose are basic expectations in any hotel, never mind a higher end hotel chain like SPG. I have to say the hotel is stylish in design, the bar area is very nice, as is the pool. Effort has gone into the public areas, it's a shame that when you look closely, this hotel appears to be all fur coat with not a lot beneath that. This was my first experience with an Aloft hotel and it will be my last. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The facilities and amenities are great They have more to offer than I can experience with the busy days I have during my stay. September 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Question I checked my bank account and I am wonder that Aloft Hotel withdraw my deposit from my bank. (Japanese yen ¥25,854, = nearly £ 150) I confirmed at the reception when I cheked out, and he explained that all of the fee for the stay was covered by Europian Congress of Pathology (ECP). Please confirm it about the request and inform to me and to the society. September 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel near city airport Fantastic room with great bed, kingsize. Good shower, very nice! I liked the keen on green possibility, no roomservice for a day gets you 5 pounds. Had to wait a bit for checking in, but service was good! Perfect for the Excel, central London is of course further away. But with the Jubilee line certainly not too far! Walking (!) to the city airport is only 12 minutes! Would absolutely recommend this hotel! September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicest hotel we've stayed in in Europe. Although the hotel is located far to the east in London, we had no problem getting to Heathrow by leaving early in the AM and using the DLR and the subway (tube) system. The hotel itself is very "mod"; the facilities were nicer than we could have hoped for. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was most accomodating. September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel is excellent absolutely wonderful. had a great time here. only wish room had drawers to put clothes into August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time @ Aloft On a 2 day business trip to London and determined not to suffer horrendous London West End/City hotel prices, so chose Aloft in Docklands. Heathrow to hotel to 1 hour 30 minutes (40 minutes from Green Park tube) using public transport thought this was very good. Hotel is situated next to Prince Regent on the DLR, with a covered walkway link from the station to the second floor of the hotel. Check in, very slow as was buying drinks and snacks at the bar, as was check out in fact anything using the hotel’s IT system was horrendously slow due to “antiquated systems”, which is a very strange comment for an employee to use, considering the hotel is very new. Other negatives: 1. Zero Platinum “amour”. In fact very little was known about SPG plat benefits, apart from points or breakfast which I found quite strange 2. Thought it was very unnecessary for the housekeeping carts to be left in the hallway for the entire 2 days I was there (they did not move) 3. If a waitress is going to clean a spoon with her fingers, before handing to me, would prefer this to have been done out of sight. 4. The room was very dark with 2 small windows and dark furnishings Positive points: a. Hotel distance from West End/City, zero problem, especially considering value for money b. Room, even with no plat upgrade, the standard room on floor 8, was excellent. I liked the room layout, very modern, great room design (apart from the poor lighting and dark furnishing), wonderful shower – didn’t even notice there was no bath! c. Bed was EXCELLENT d. One night ate in the west end, second night in Canary Wharf – again, location of hotel is not an issue e. Leaving from London City Airport, the hotel is about 400 metres from the end of the runway. Unless you saw an aircraft level with the hotel, you wouldn’t notice.. f. As an SPG regular, I loved the design of the soap in the room by the hand basin – very very clever and SPG should take note… I could at least open and use the soap without having to fight the packaging.. Summary – I accept this is a relatively new hotel and will still have teething problems. Using the oldest IT excuse, the system is antiquated is daft at such a new hotel and for regular SPG members, the hotel should have better knowledge of the product/benefits. All in all a very nice stay and I would stay again, very cost effective.. and very friendly reception staff.. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top class hotel near excel First rate hotel with large rooms swimmimg pool and gym right next to Excel and the DLR . Ideal base for london at a reasonable price August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High hopes realised... Stayed at the Aloft for six nights with companion in wheelchair, The room was comfortable, large and perfect for the wheelchair, ground coffee delicious, soaps smelled lovely. No shower caps in bathroom but got them from one of the hotel staff no problem. The check-in staff were very friendly and the amenities offered were almost first class. I expected it to be a good hotel from what I'd seen on-line, but in fact it was very good bordering on excellent. Swimming pool great, especially at night, and the hours it was open were good too - 6am till 11pm. A lot of security in this hotel with card keys needed to get into pool and also to your floor in the lift, but this is reassuring. If you want to meet someone in a room on another floor, however, you'd have to use the stairs.Could do with a clock in the swimming pool, I had to keep my watch on the side.But all things considered, the hotel was first rate, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely long weekend Great hotel with wonderful staff. Isabella on reception was so polite and helpful, an absolutely lovely person. Would love to go back again next time we are in London if only for the fantastic breakfasts!!. August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by unusually not the same i am a great supporter of this hotel and the staff in particular Francesco and the others on reception match any 5 start hotel for responsiveness. However this stay was marred by an unhelpful barman with respect to food. HENCE MY STARS ARE NOT REFLECTIVE OF THE HOTEL BUT MY EXPERIENCE ON MONDAY August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Stayed here on the 11th of august for one night, But on arrival at the hotel and seeing the room me and my girlfriend went down and booked to stay another night. The hotel is very modern and to the highest quality. No bad words to say against this hotel. Will be staying here again August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Stay With my spouse's flight delayed and my kids exhausted from international travel, I decided to book a room at the Aloft upon the recommendation of my spouse, who stays there regularly when in London. The staff was wonderful. They entertained the kids while I checked in and they were so excited to browse the snack bar while I reserved their Camp Aloft sleeping bags. It was wonderful! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh vibrant hotel with good access to city Excellent facilities and ambience at this hotel. Staff very helpful throughout our stay. Buffet breakfast offered good choice, though space was at a premium due to numbers using the restaurant. One downside was that in arriving back late on second day of stay and having paid for car parking there were no places available and was advised parking was first come first served. Apart from that inconvenience our stay was really great and would recommend this hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Aloft Excel - Just Far Enough Out" Aloft Excel is excellently located because it is an easy trip to City Center but is away from the noise and hustle bustle of London. Highly recommend Aloft Excel - would stay there again and again. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable stay. Really enjoyed our short break at Aloft Excel. Rooms were very comfortable, excellent sleep every night. Great shower. Easy access to Excel and DLR tube stop. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really good quality and modern Really modern, great service, luxurious and i would advise anyone. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by large room great facilities Large well laid out rooms. good pool and sauna. handy 24 hr snack arrangement. i stay regularly as it is conveniemt for the DLR and better value than central london hotels August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and facilities, nice staff Stayed there now for the second year in a row for the London Triathlon. Reception staff are always very accommodating given we come with 2 bikes and 2 kids. We will be back! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern hotel with young and friendly staff The standards and services were for 5*. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our stay A very smart hotel, let down by the average restaurant. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I really like the ambience; room decor and space specially the bathroom. Excellent layout. July 31, 2014
  • 2015-08-29T09:40:02.471-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_323, tr_323
  • loc_en_US, sid_3591, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only