Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good SPG Property I've stayed here a couple of times and like the hotel. The rooms are good and the ends comfortable. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The perfect place to stay for events at the O2, or in the West End. Flying home on the cable car after an afternoon at the multiplex in the O2 was a magical end to the day/start to the evening. Aloft is on top of the DLR which makes getting in the City, the West End and the South Bank quick and easy. With parking right outside the hotel it's a quick way out of town. Just watch it with the sat nav - the hotel is so new it's not on Google Maps or the car navigation. Just head for the City Airport side of Excel - Excel East and you'll find it. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience The main selling point of the hotel is its proximity to the Excel centre. The (standard) room model is functional rather than luxurious, but this is fine because if you are at Excel Land you are presumably here for business not pleasure. The bed is comfortable, very important! I only stayed for one night so I can't say what it is like normally. The breakfast is not, sadly, that wonderful. The scrambled eggs looked like they were swimming in a special milk sauce, so I asked for fried eggs. Those were okay, a bit runny, but okay. Less scary than the scrambled eggs. Sorry it is not an unambiguous endorsement of the hotel. The two best things about it are the location and the bed. Then again, maybe that is enough. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good if you are at an eXcel specific event I have stayed here 5 times now, and while there's nothing overly wrong about it, there's not much right either. I have been in a handful of Aloft around the world, and they're a good choice if you're on an overnight layover or if you're in a place where you're not going to spend much time in the hotel. Aloft London has got all the good stuff that you expect from the brand...bliss bath products, good tea/coffee, and a perfect mattress. The little shop downstairs has got what you need for late night munchies. The rooms are a good size and the shower is nice and big (no bathtub), and the sink has good counter space (something important for girls!). Breakfast is a full english and is good. Unless you are at a specific event being held in eXcel or flying out of City airport early morning, the location is awful. If you've not been to London before or are needing to be closer to the centre, this is not the place for you. There is nothing at all nearby except the eXcel centre. It does have a DLR station nearby that will get you into waterloo station in about 20 minutes, but no taxi driver ever can find it (and it'll cost you well over 50 quid if you're coming/going to the centre), and any time I've rang up reception and handed a phone over to the driver, the staff can't quite explain where it is either. Room prices wildly fluctuate depending on how full the hotel is. London prices are crazy expensive anyway, but 300£ for an Aloft that is so far outside of the city is over the top. If it's low occupancy, you can get a room for a more reasonable 115£ or so, but as soon as they've got a conference in, the price trebles. The other problem with that is that it can be difficult to get the days you want because they go from zero to full in one night. Case in point was last week when I needed to stay an extra night in london and they were unable to extend my stay by a night because of a conference. I've tried 3 times to use my Your24 option, but denied every time. The attitude of the staff also changes when there is a group, and all their attention shifts to them. There isn't any real recognition of Platinum members or a designated SPG check in desk, so if you're unlucky enough to get there when a group is checking in our out, you're going to be waiting a long time, as they only have 2 or 3 staff working the desk. I also came back from a meeting on the last stay and found cleaning people in my room even though I had put the do not disturb sign on the door. The only time I've used the bar is for a nightcap, and again, there was a group in there, so with only one bartender working, it took more than 20 minutes to get a drink. All in all, it's an ok hotel, but not one I'll stay at again unless I've got an early flight out of City airport. I think Aloft is a great brand, the one in Tempe, AZ is one of my favourites, this one just misses the mark a bit for my preferences. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for money Busy hotel - but everything works well & staff take pride in their jobs Breakfast buffet excellent April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Air Conditioning The room air conditioning was difficuult to be adjusted. I even did not find a method of switching it off. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations Having stayed at many Starwood hotels I am used to a certain level of customer service. The staff at the Aloft London Excel exceeded my expectations. Thank you. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favourtie in London! Fantastic facility, staff and service. Modern, clean facility with great pool and gym. Great value for money. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a friendly hotel the hotel staff could not be more responsive to your needs the hotel has really changed for the positive in the last few months June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great facilities particularly for disabled guests The hotel staff were warm and friendly and had a good knowledge of all local amenities including ease of access for wheelchairs. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by okayish Great location if you visit ExCel or fly from/to London City Airport. No upgrades for SPG Platinums; Breakfast is a choice of just 3 items; but also full breakfast in the restaurant is far away from great. Spa is small but nice with pool, sauna and steam bath. Gym has good equippement. Staff could be definately friendlier. Promised folio via email never arrived. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel This hotel I found as a super compromise of the price and the quality ! I would recomend it to everybody. Very nice, clean, big rooms, big shower, just great ! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ranches Great and comfortable Hotel June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Very nice hotel with kind and professional staff. Free wifi is the best and lovely swimmingpool area, and the hotelrooms perfect. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever I really loved this place. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do extra things. They were flexible with their breakfast voucher scheme and nothing was a problem. This honestly was the best place I have ever stayed March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great staff From the minute I walked in the door stressed from driving in London and unpacking at the Exel the greeting was lovely and they bent over backwards to help. After a hard day working the pool area was amazing to relax. I am just about to book it again and all the people from other hotels that came to see me have decided to change hotels too. Thank you and see you soon May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value for London This hotel is okay value for money in London and better value by far the the tiered SPG London Hotels. Staff were great at check in and check out. Not a good restaurant I had a terrible steak there, but the rooms are clean and comfortable Bar was ok, they had a promotion on with foursquare, giving 10% off your bar bill. No recognition at all for being platinum December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW… OVERALL IMPRESSION: Amazingly affordable by London standards, well-run, all the boxes ticked. I’m a believer…this is the face of future travel. SPG RECOGNITION: Not much leeway in an Aloft as all rooms are virtually the same but I did get a lovely Thames view and the breakfast allowance, when taken as the Platinum Amenity, is quite generous. THE ROOM: The same as every other Aloft room but that’s definitely OK - well-designed and pleasantly furnished. LOCATION: Depends on what you need to do in London. It’s literally right at the Excel Centre and there is a Docklands Station right there but it can be a long commute to central London with a couple of train changes. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: I felt that the staff while young and hip in the Aloft model were also very professional and striving to offer the top-end customer experience. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: The usually very good rates need to be considered against the mostly inconvenient location. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily accessable for London City Clean,modern and confortable June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel Aloft Excel is a super hotel with great architecture both on the outside and inside. Nice and peaceful layout in the inner walkways as well. Gym, saunas and a pool is also great to have! Even though it is a bit far out from central London i think we only used about 35 minutes with DLR and the tube. Also, a great management at this hotel :-) December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adrift This is only half a hotel. No restaurant, no breakfast to speak of, unprofessional staff, minimal spg recognition, ludicrous car parking charges. Only positive is the decor in the public areas. Come on Starwood, we expect more of you. Give it a miss until it cleans up its act. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Striking Building, Location Can Be Hit or Miss Have stayed here for a couple of nights prior to the Olympics. Location can be its strongest and weakest point at the same time: it is only 5 minutes by bus to City Airport, and has a DLR station next to it for easy access to the city. Yet, it is located in a post-industrial wasteland, and there’s absolutely nothing nearby in terms of shops or restaurants. Yet, rooms are very modern, light and comfortable. Bathrooms are nice and I especially like the Bliss shower gel and shampoo dispensers. Nice well stocked magazine rack in each room, and good complimentary internet access. The best thing about this hotel, are the communal areas: a nice gym, a great indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, and even a laundry room. The bar is quite cool as well. Onsite food options are very limited. Expect no upgrades for platinums, although the breakfast amenity is worthwhile as it includes 3 items you can pick from the self-service bar area. This is a good, well-priced option for London with easy access to the public transport network, although if you’re considering any type of nightlife activities, this place is a no-go as it will involve a long and expensive cab ride back. Best for business. September 28, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only