Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great chill out hotel We stayed Saturday night at the Aloft. On first impressions, this place met all expectations. The staff were friendly and the place very clean. Good value for money. Unfortunately the steam room was not working which was disappointing but the sauna and swimming pool lovely. The breakfast was very bog standard, the usual stuff. Lots to do in the area. Definitely would recommend and will be going back for the whole weekend this time. And the Thai restaurant was lovely. Service let it down but the food yummy!!!! October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Great location, modern facilities with design furniture, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. It was such an awesome experience for us! Thank you all! November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great amenities and nice new rooms We traveled to Europe for our summer vacation, and were disappointed in the small rooms and small beds UNTIL we arrived to the Aloft. There was a slight hiccup upon arrival with the system, but once that was fixed, the service was excellent. It was a little far from the popular attractions and sights, so we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but did like the modern rooms and the gym/pool was great! we had nightmare guests on our floor one of the nights, so that affected our sleep all night long, but the staff took care of the problem, and those guests were gone the next day. We would stay there again! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicest Aloft I've stayed in, location is a big negative for Central London Great overall hotel with super nice pool/gym/sauna areas. Laundry room, huge bar & great hip atmosphere but at least 30 - 40 minutes out of central London with at least 2 trains. Lightly staff & staff often doesn't answer the phone. This hotel was built as part of the Olympics 2 years ago, definitely very nice & love the pool, very hip & cool vibe. Hotel is remote & usually not crowded so if you like quiet & remote, this is the place. Savings may not be worth it compared to paying more & staying in Central London due to transportation cost & time to/from Central London. SUPER close to London City Airport, a fast growing & SUPER EASY airport to get in/out of London to other UK cities. Use FlyBe, normally have the cheapest fares. Also super close to Stradford Westfield Mall which has tons of restaurants & a nice movie theater. October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets expectations but expensive Room identical to other Alofts elsewhere. 24-hour pantry a good idea but poor selection of sandwiches on Sunday night. Breakfast buffet good but the only eggs available were scrambled, and they were tasteless. Expensive for what it is. Platinum benefits were one cup of coffee, which was disappointing. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff nice hotel Very nice hotel, no complaints, nice food and lovely staff in the Resturant. The only issue I can think of is the go green campaign. It's a great thing to do offering points or voucher in lieu of room cleaning but it only lasts for three nights (no clear till the fourth night) and no matter how many time you remove the door hanger to encourage towel or tea/coffee replacement nothing happens. I stayed five nights with no room clean, towel or bedding change but most importantly (for me) no tea or coffee. Please consider restocking the basics. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff for a pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great 2 night stay I stayed for two nights , got there and the staff in reception were helpful , the room was lovely and clean when u arrived , the food was good but don't tell u when u book up it was cold food not fry up breakfast , and u don't get alto of choice , the swimming pool was nice and clean and u get towels beside beds u can lay on . there all so the sauna room i went in witch is nice to , and the steam room to was nice , the gym is good but did not use it , due to being a relaxing break. u can use the internet for free on there computers if u need to look for a day out wile u in London or just to check your emails . November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service! We chose this hotel to celebrate my daughter's 15th birthday. There were 3 generations of family celebrating together and we all enjoyed it equally! A special mention for Lionel at reception, what a star. We were upgraded to a suite and it made my daughter's birthday extra special and memorable. The main purpose for our stay was shopping! Getting to the Westfield Centre at Stratford was so easy, the perfect location. Every request was met with courtesy and a smile by every single member of staff we encountered. Rooms were spotless, facilities were faultless. One of our party has mobility issues and the VERY short walk to the station and the lift facilities on DLR made her life so much easier. I just wish we could've stayed for longer. September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean and Contemporary I loved this hotel. It was quiet but also very close to the hussle and bussle of London. However I am an SPG member and was not asked for my membership details on arrival. I therefore did not get any points for staying there. Also I was in the foyer one evening and found that new arrivals (who came to the door at about 11pm) were unable ot get access to the hotel. When the receptionist eventually buzzed them in only a few from the bus managed to get in at that time. When the rest of the party got off the bus the door was locked again and I had to use my own room key to buzz them in. Subsequently I was asked for information on food and facilitties because they thought I worked there. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very fiendly staff We had a very pleasant stay, the staff were very friendly, room had good facilities and very comfortable. November 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice when checked in but real struggle to check in Real struggle to get checked in, mistake by booking agent meant room held not paid for on company card, hotel refused to take company card details for payment then, settled on bacs but was told may take days to clear so may not be able to stay. when finally sorted bacs for room payment, a deposit required prior to check in, again refused to take company card details. Ended up using personal details, did not wish to, this was a business trip, would have thought could handle a business stay more effectively. 3hrs check in for one night stay. Also air con freezing, tried turning up but capped at 22, so turned off but still sounded like it was running. Was nice and warm outside but couldn't open window. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay @ ALoft London Excel I stayed at ALoft London Excel and it was fantastic! Rooms were very clean, all the comfort I need. Breakfast was very good as well. The staff at the Front Desk is great, especially Nick! He is very friendly and helpfull. It felt like coming home! I centainly recommend ALoft London Excel to all my friends en family!! Keep up the good work. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not so out of the way A great alternative for a London location, however there are some things you need to factor in to offset the price of this Hotel, which offers tremendous value (when no large exhibitions are taking place at the Excel centre). The public transport is served mostly by the DLR and therefore Tube. Zone 3 to Zone 1 is under five pounds and gets you to your location in London effortlessly. However, at night, it's a nightmare to get back to, and the London Taxi will cost you GBP40.00. The front entrance does not have an awning, and so you risk getting drenched when the British rain is unleashed and running from a car to the front entrance. This hotel locations offers nothing in the vicinity that you would want to stick around for, but you cannot ignore the price to quality ratio. September 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience The main selling point of the hotel is its proximity to the Excel centre. The (standard) room model is functional rather than luxurious, but this is fine because if you are at Excel Land you are presumably here for business not pleasure. The bed is comfortable, very important! I only stayed for one night so I can't say what it is like normally. The breakfast is not, sadly, that wonderful. The scrambled eggs looked like they were swimming in a special milk sauce, so I asked for fried eggs. Those were okay, a bit runny, but okay. Less scary than the scrambled eggs. Sorry it is not an unambiguous endorsement of the hotel. The two best things about it are the location and the bed. Then again, maybe that is enough. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs alot of improvement first if anyone tried calling me directly no diffrence the time of day or night had a verry diffocolt time geting thru first no answere then they would get mail box is full & i lost some meeting of a result of this which this hotel is geard only twords business needs second why isnt there any ice machiness on each floor i am told if you need ice go down to the first floor get it from the bar. third the tv set did not work even thow i was charged for unlimited for one day most of the channels did not work either sound my over all rateing was that this was a failure on my end to choose this hotel i would of gone to any other hotel a couple of min away which i have doneo in the past you get way more for your buck November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We stayed here again for a weekend in London. Although the location is a bit outside of London it is very convenient if one arrives at London City Airport and if one wants to see a bit of the countryside around London. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and we slept really well. We will come back! October 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take Away & Hairdryers Overall I think this is a great hotel at a competitive rate. I understand the concept of the take away service from the restaurant but some food just cannot be eaten pleasantly without a plate so it would be great if this could be reconsidered! Second stay where I had problems with my hairdryer. The first time there was no hairdryer, this time I couldn't open the bag the hairdryer was in - sounds trivial but this disruption to a morning routine can make you late for a meeting! Fortunately the staff were helpful but it would be good to have everything in working order. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel shame about the facilities not working Have been to this hotel many times and always liked it very much. This time though I wanted to use the swimming pool facilities as well as the sauna and steam room, all very clean and modern but not working. The steam room was out of order and the sauna wasn't even hot, very disappointing as after travelling was looking forward to unwind here. Apart from that, the room as always fantastic, very comfy, very clean and everything you need, been a bit picky but I noticed the maids trolleys seem to be permanently left int he hallways, hallways looking a bit tired and another picky thing is the coffee, it was to fiddly to use the sachet of filter coffee, yet it was nice coffee but maybe needs looking into. Also on checking out the reception staff were to abrubt, to the point. Again for been a 5 star hotel plus I am a member of a SPG felt as though I was just a number. October 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst value for money I ever had! Very bad!!! In room: no drinking glasses; no waste basket in bathroom; only sugar, but no coffee or tea bags with water-heater! No working air conditioner! And no room service to correct this! No answer when trying to reach reception! Inexpericended personel too busy with other guests to help! November 11, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is great fro Excel exhibitors With such great proximity to the Excel this is ideal for exhibitors, however it cannot cope with the volume of people it would seem. We could not get a restaurant seating any evening and the food reports weren't great anyway. The room are well equipped and comfortable< room service is NOT available. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very attractive style Modern, quite near to public transportation with a great view of thames area October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous location Great hotel with reasonable parking prices, no airport noise inside, friendly & helpful staff and very comfortable rooms. Average bar & breakfast October 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad treatment for SPG platinum members I had a very bad customer experience in this hotel. If you are a platinum SPG member, this hotel refuse generall a suite-upgrade. It is the policy of this hotel not to handle according the SPG Terms and Conditions. The reaction of the management after my complaints: there are other Starwood Hotels in London to get the platinum treatment. We can help you to book a room over there, if you like. If the platinum recognition is important for you, stay away from Aloft London Excel. If this is not important, this hotel will give you a good night sleep. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! We had choosen the Aloft hotel London because of the price. It wasn't too expensive! It's a bit further from the centrum of London but very easy to get there with the DLR. The complete hotel, including the rooms, was extremely modern and clean. We were amazed to get such a beautiful hotel for such a low cost! We enjoyed the pool and the sauna and had no problems with the free wifi. Aft last but not least there's the breakfast. Everything was good. They kept a good eye on everything so nothing was empty. We had a great time in London! July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rooms Was an excellent stay - attending a showcase at the Excel meant this hotel was exactly where we needed it to be. Attached to the venue... The only bit which was unsatisfactory, was when we wanted to eat dinner - we were not informed by front desk staff initially that you can only eat in the restaurant by pre booking. This meant the hotel restaurant turned us away. The front desk staff then assisted us in ordering a take away and were happy for us to eat the take away in the lunge area. Overall a very good stay, and I will stay there again. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for the city airport I had no idea what this would be like and it was a little difficult to reach only in that the taxi driver (for once) had not been there before. However, the reception area was great, staff fantastic and the room just perfect and excellent value. It was undergoing some refurbishment in the dining area but there is a reasonable pub nearby. The gym is well appointed, the rooms clean, good beds, modern and tidy. Check out easy and staff super helpful with taxi and even a coffee while I waited. Would definitely stay again if the need arises. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time at Aloft Excellent reception, greeted by Julia the manager, who's very friendly and helpful. Car park is a fair bit cheaper than the main Excel car parks if you're a guest, and easy to find. Good comfortable contemporary rooms and facilities. Re:Fuel is a little different, but worth exploring for a quick but wholesome breakfast, or even a midnight snack. Only very minor gripe was not enough suitable seats in the lounge reception area if you are eating from Re:Fuel. Had dinner in the second floor restaurant - basically Italian cuisine. And you can now charge this to your room. One point to note - for security your room card will only take you to your own floor in the lifts. If you are with friends on another floor, you'll have to find the stairs to get to their room! October 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Break - April 2014 Polite staff and excellent facilities. The decor is extremely modern, the piped music is not too intrusive in the communal areas. The security system for accessing the lifts worked well but would I believe cause significant problems if there was a glitch in the system. Access to public transport was much nearer than I thought and would suggest that a limited Courtesy Bus facility to Canary Wharf be made available at the weekend. Breakfast service was good/efficient with very much an American Theme to the choice of food. April 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse hotel in starwood experience I have stayed this hotel for 3 nights and I am super depressed in this experience. I was so down this hotel is part of hotel in starwood. First room they gave smells so bad and the carpet still has dust and fur. Apparently, the room is not ready so they change another for me. Then they don't collect the garbage in room until the 2nd night as I called the service to clean the room. I understand the hotel has the environment saving issue; however, the hotel didn't change the sheet and duvet for 3 nights which I am not happy. September 17, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only