Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 314 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, modern, comfortable hotel. I enjoyed every minute of my stay here. With great design features, fantastic gym and pool facilities and a beautiful and comfortable room, I cannot wait to stay again! July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Excel Quality Aloft Hotel - much larger in open space with good restaurant attached - next to convention center if that was an event attending. It is however, far from Central London and even farther to Heathrow. Have to take the DLR to the London Tube before you can then make your way into city center. Good value considering the cost of central london hotels - just a trade-off in time. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern hotel away from the tourist traps Easy commute to Canary Wharf if you don't like being near the tourist traps. July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but had trouble getting our room cleaned. Nice and close to the Excel centre. Quite new and close to the DLR. Some of the staff seemed new / inexperienced. Our room keys weren't set properly and it took three attempts to get it right. We put the green sign on our door once and then had to ask to get the room cleaned even after we took the sign off the door. It got cleaned once more (reluctantly, it seems). Being green doesn't mean not emptying bins or making the bed. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great and Nice New Hotels Rooms with high techlogy. In addtion, the hotel provide efficient safety facilities. Nice staff and good service. Nice view around the hotel. It is easy to reach city down of london. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Nice and modern Hotel, great rooms, great view! Location is in the docklands, long subway drive to the centre. Breakfast is alright, but crowded. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by O2 Weekend Stayed at this hotel as we were visitng the O2 Arena. Although the hotel is out of the way of the city, the transport links are excellent. A bonus when the 02 experience is over and you are going away from the Central London crowd. The hotel room was light and airy and the shower was great. Need to sort the paper cups tho. Breakfast was a nice surprise given some of the reviews I'd read. I fact we thought we would have to dip out and find somewhere to have breakfast, but in the event stayed and enjoyed. All in all, if I was visitinbg the O2 I would stay again. But if my stay was more about Central London, would probably look elsewhere. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business center lacking For a hotel basically attached to a convention center, I expected a more robust business center. There were only two computers for use that access the internet only. There was no way to print documents from my PC, and no fax machine available or copy machine. The hotel did not have a shipping service on site and front desk did not have stamps. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great amenities and nice new rooms We traveled to Europe for our summer vacation, and were disappointed in the small rooms and small beds UNTIL we arrived to the Aloft. There was a slight hiccup upon arrival with the system, but once that was fixed, the service was excellent. It was a little far from the popular attractions and sights, so we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but did like the modern rooms and the gym/pool was great! we had nightmare guests on our floor one of the nights, so that affected our sleep all night long, but the staff took care of the problem, and those guests were gone the next day. We would stay there again! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern facility and great staff Except for the room temperature being hard to control and the view being not my favorite, this was a good place to stay. The real downside was the distance from Heathrow. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost there Really good location and excellent accommodation. Pool and Gym great. Breakfast was ok but no more - the quality of breakfast informed our decision to eat out rather than at the hotel. Paper cups in rooms not good if you want more than one drink. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cosy, quiet,comfortable hotel A good hotel, in a quiet suburb of London, easily accessible via Light railway or bus. Rooms were comfortable and cosy, breakfast was great and stuff was friendly and willing to assist. For the high standards of the hotel, additional amenities within the room, such as sleepers, ear buttonets, etc should be included. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable stay The rooms are very generous in size with a king size bed. Would have loved a microwave in the room, but there was tea service and a decent size mini fridge. Also, there could have been more food choices at the restaurant, but overall it was a very pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff nice hotel Very nice hotel, no complaints, nice food and lovely staff in the Resturant. The only issue I can think of is the go green campaign. It's a great thing to do offering points or voucher in lieu of room cleaning but it only lasts for three nights (no clear till the fourth night) and no matter how many time you remove the door hanger to encourage towel or tea/coffee replacement nothing happens. I stayed five nights with no room clean, towel or bedding change but most importantly (for me) no tea or coffee. Please consider restocking the basics. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff for a pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and convenience Comfortable rooms and very convenient for meetings and conferences at the nearbyExcel conference centre July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best hotel I've stayed in in a long time - especially for London The facilities were great, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel was much nearer Central London than we thought. The restaurant as good too. We really liked everything about iy! July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great informal hotel for visiting London Newish and modern feeling hotel with energetic and helpful staff and an informal but comfortable feel. Interesting pool architecture and nice that the pool was warm. Sauna did not work that well but that did not seem important. Found staff to be very helpful in the informal cafe, the restaurant, and at the front desk. If you are comfortable with public transportation, you can easily take the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) and transfer to the "Tube" to get to the main sights in downtown London. In the end, we thought this hotel was a great find for visiting London. Easy walk from the hotel to/from London City Airport. You need to remember that the Aloft brand is not a full service hotel however we found it comfortable and all of our needs were met and expectations were exceeded by the front desk/cafe staff and the restaurant staff. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel but a bit far out Stayed here on points with my family 7/4-7/9, nice new hotel with great rooms and beds, shower, bathroom. Nick at the reception was very helpful in all of our needs and navigating the city, as you will need to take the DLR to get anywhere, about 10 pounds to get to the city center. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent hotel Check-in was easy with very friendly front desk staff. We arrived early (around noon) and our room was ready. Vouchers for free drinks and breakfast were offered for Platinum member. Free wi-fi was a nice touch. The room was very trendy and comfortable. The pool and sauna facilities were clean and well kept. We only had breakfast at the restaurant and the food was above average. All in all it was a very pleasant stay for us. Thank you. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Stayed on business, great hotel for the price with lovely staff and fab facilities. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by oilman1961 Good service, great location and excellent staff. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good if you are at an eXcel specific event I have stayed here 5 times now, and while there's nothing overly wrong about it, there's not much right either. I have been in a handful of Aloft around the world, and they're a good choice if you're on an overnight layover or if you're in a place where you're not going to spend much time in the hotel. Aloft London has got all the good stuff that you expect from the brand...bliss bath products, good tea/coffee, and a perfect mattress. The little shop downstairs has got what you need for late night munchies. The rooms are a good size and the shower is nice and big (no bathtub), and the sink has good counter space (something important for girls!). Breakfast is a full english and is good. Unless you are at a specific event being held in eXcel or flying out of City airport early morning, the location is awful. If you've not been to London before or are needing to be closer to the centre, this is not the place for you. There is nothing at all nearby except the eXcel centre. It does have a DLR station nearby that will get you into waterloo station in about 20 minutes, but no taxi driver ever can find it (and it'll cost you well over 50 quid if you're coming/going to the centre), and any time I've rang up reception and handed a phone over to the driver, the staff can't quite explain where it is either. Room prices wildly fluctuate depending on how full the hotel is. London prices are crazy expensive anyway, but 300£ for an Aloft that is so far outside of the city is over the top. If it's low occupancy, you can get a room for a more reasonable 115£ or so, but as soon as they've got a conference in, the price trebles. The other problem with that is that it can be difficult to get the days you want because they go from zero to full in one night. Case in point was last week when I needed to stay an extra night in london and they were unable to extend my stay by a night because of a conference. I've tried 3 times to use my Your24 option, but denied every time. The attitude of the staff also changes when there is a group, and all their attention shifts to them. There isn't any real recognition of Platinum members or a designated SPG check in desk, so if you're unlucky enough to get there when a group is checking in our out, you're going to be waiting a long time, as they only have 2 or 3 staff working the desk. I also came back from a meeting on the last stay and found cleaning people in my room even though I had put the do not disturb sign on the door. The only time I've used the bar is for a nightcap, and again, there was a group in there, so with only one bartender working, it took more than 20 minutes to get a drink. All in all, it's an ok hotel, but not one I'll stay at again unless I've got an early flight out of City airport. I think Aloft is a great brand, the one in Tempe, AZ is one of my favourites, this one just misses the mark a bit for my preferences. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! We had choosen the Aloft hotel London because of the price. It wasn't too expensive! It's a bit further from the centrum of London but very easy to get there with the DLR. The complete hotel, including the rooms, was extremely modern and clean. We were amazed to get such a beautiful hotel for such a low cost! We enjoyed the pool and the sauna and had no problems with the free wifi. Aft last but not least there's the breakfast. Everything was good. They kept a good eye on everything so nothing was empty. We had a great time in London! July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good SPG Property I've stayed here a couple of times and like the hotel. The rooms are good and the ends comfortable. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Out of the way but with easy access to DRL Certainly not located close to major tourist attractions but easy access to DRL as hotel is connected to the Prince Regent station. Overall a comfortable stay except for the check in experience. The first reception desk staff did not speak English well and kept insisting that I did not have a reservation. Had to wait for a while before another staff sorted the issue out but I still had to wait for another hour before getting a room. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Theatre weekend at Aloft Edexel The Hotel is about 35 minutes by DLR and Underground from covent garden- You do need to change from DLR to Underground, the instructions on the DLR and Underground are pretty clear, the ticket machines however are not so you may need to research buying your tickets. Hotel is very comfortable, the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Sunday buffet breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked, hot where it should be and chilled in the right places,very well stocked. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna were all good, plenty of towels to use. Around the hotel there were plenty of sofa to snooze post swim before we headed home. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Air Conditioning The room air conditioning was difficuult to be adjusted. I even did not find a method of switching it off. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations Having stayed at many Starwood hotels I am used to a certain level of customer service. The staff at the Aloft London Excel exceeded my expectations. Thank you. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favourtie in London! Fantastic facility, staff and service. Modern, clean facility with great pool and gym. Great value for money. June 25, 2014
  • 2015-05-22T20:04:42.078-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_314, tr_314
  • loc_en_US, sid_3591, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only