Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by i was very enjoyed in this hotel 1. When i checked in the staff very very kind maybe her name is Victoria? And bar staff as well. 2. The breakfast was very delicious particularly bakery and staff was very kind and helpfulness. 3.There wasn't toothbrush and toothpaste. Usually when i stayed other hotel there was even 3 star hotel they have. So i didn't bring it. But when i looking for that one the staff was very helpfulness and kind. 4. Some tower which hand tower and middle size tower weren't changed. Otherwise it was great time to stay this hotel. I won't forget about staff's kindness. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Hotel not a bad start The hotel had only just opened 4 days prior to my stay. The things that niggled me was room keys had to be cut daily as they kept failing. The pool had no where to leave your clothes when changing? Also no robes so you had to go back to your room dripping wet. The Sauna and Steam and pool lights were also both broken. The rooms were good the only this that lets the down is storage, no drawers for your smalls and a wardrobe that could hang 4 items in. When you walk in your room your clothes are on full display to the world. Bed great as was shower but strange was you had to enter via the toilet! Overall a good job staff OK under pressure but coped well. November 14, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by First and possibly last ever Aloft stay Since I have never stayed at an Aloft before and this property opened close to where I live my wife and I decided to give it a try for a weekend night stay. This was our first ever Aloft stay so some of the negatives I found may be related to the entire brand experience rather than this particular property but I didn't have a clear frame of reference prior to my stay. Overall I am not a fan, most really certainly not at the price of the Aloft London. At £96 inclusive of taxes there were a lot better options in the area and I was surprised at the lack of upgrade as a Platimum (which whilst I now know is described in the SPG T&Cs) and feel this should have been more clearly signposted at reservation. . I do not see how the rates at this property are sustainable in the face of better cheaper full service relatively new competition in the immediate vicinity all offering a better experience IMHO.. The midweek rate of £200+ a night is a rather bad joke given that I can get a corporate rate at nearby 5 star deluxe properties in Canary Wharf for less than the corporate rate at the Aloft. I live in the area and don't often stay locally but was curious about this property. I can see some pricing adjustment or massive corporate discounts crystallising in the not too distant future. At weekends the chain properties in Canary Wharf are also much better options unless you absolutely must stay at the hotel. On the plus side we had dinner and breakfast at FEDE in the Aloft and would definitely visit the restaurant again. It just seems bizarre that a restaurant within the hotel is not integrated to the level that bills can be charged to the room and thus SPG points earned. The room design is also much better than the W Leicester Square. It also wasn't fully clear whether the car park was chargeable. I was told that it costs £14 a day, but then was not charged upon exit. November 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Theatre weekend at Aloft Edexel The Hotel is about 35 minutes by DLR and Underground from covent garden- You do need to change from DLR to Underground, the instructions on the DLR and Underground are pretty clear, the ticket machines however are not so you may need to research buying your tickets. Hotel is very comfortable, the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Sunday buffet breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked, hot where it should be and chilled in the right places,very well stocked. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna were all good, plenty of towels to use. Around the hotel there were plenty of sofa to snooze post swim before we headed home. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Hotel only opened 31 Oct so staff very helpful and friendly but sometimes slow to get things done. No room service. bathroom design very unusual: its all flat at one level which is very good for elderly or disabled. Quality and price of restaurant FEDE is very good but cannot be charged to room since its independent. for visitors to Excel exhibition location is excellent as hotel is just a few steps away. only bad thing is that I'm spg member and requested check out at 2 pm and everyone was leaving the hotel but staff refused and was hostile replying to my request. all other starwood hotels allowed me before to check out at 2. November 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has great amenities and nice new rooms We traveled to Europe for our summer vacation, and were disappointed in the small rooms and small beds UNTIL we arrived to the Aloft. There was a slight hiccup upon arrival with the system, but once that was fixed, the service was excellent. It was a little far from the popular attractions and sights, so we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but did like the modern rooms and the gym/pool was great! we had nightmare guests on our floor one of the nights, so that affected our sleep all night long, but the staff took care of the problem, and those guests were gone the next day. We would stay there again! July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff did not look to resolve my issues with my room. I stay regularly at the Aloft and whilst it is comfortable over all , i am so disspaointed that I will not stay again and will be recommending to my colleagues at Barclays not to stay. The room is fine. However my TV volume didnt work, the shower was jammed and I could not change the height. I was handed over twice without one apology to the duty manager. All three staff informed me that the engineer didnt start til 8am. I wasted 15 minutes raising my concerns and as a result missed my shuttle and was late for my meeting. Not offer to make it better o. A hotel can look great but I felt incrediblty stressed after my stay! October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff nice hotel Very nice hotel, no complaints, nice food and lovely staff in the Resturant. The only issue I can think of is the go green campaign. It's a great thing to do offering points or voucher in lieu of room cleaning but it only lasts for three nights (no clear till the fourth night) and no matter how many time you remove the door hanger to encourage towel or tea/coffee replacement nothing happens. I stayed five nights with no room clean, towel or bedding change but most importantly (for me) no tea or coffee. Please consider restocking the basics. A big thank you to all the wonderful staff for a pleasant stay. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent featurs Very modern hotel, the rooms are of a great standard, the shower/wet room has pleanty of space, the beds are oversized and very comfortable. Excellent hotel for visiting/exhibiting at the Excel. The bar staff could be a little more engaging..looked & acted thoroughly "fed up" September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great 2 night stay I stayed for two nights , got there and the staff in reception were helpful , the room was lovely and clean when u arrived , the food was good but don't tell u when u book up it was cold food not fry up breakfast , and u don't get alto of choice , the swimming pool was nice and clean and u get towels beside beds u can lay on . there all so the sauna room i went in witch is nice to , and the steam room to was nice , the gym is good but did not use it , due to being a relaxing break. u can use the internet for free on there computers if u need to look for a day out wile u in London or just to check your emails . November 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean and Contemporary I loved this hotel. It was quiet but also very close to the hussle and bussle of London. However I am an SPG member and was not asked for my membership details on arrival. I therefore did not get any points for staying there. Also I was in the foyer one evening and found that new arrivals (who came to the door at about 11pm) were unable ot get access to the hotel. When the receptionist eventually buzzed them in only a few from the bus managed to get in at that time. When the rest of the party got off the bus the door was locked again and I had to use my own room key to buzz them in. Subsequently I was asked for information on food and facilitties because they thought I worked there. August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice when checked in but real struggle to check in Real struggle to get checked in, mistake by booking agent meant room held not paid for on company card, hotel refused to take company card details for payment then, settled on bacs but was told may take days to clear so may not be able to stay. when finally sorted bacs for room payment, a deposit required prior to check in, again refused to take company card details. Ended up using personal details, did not wish to, this was a business trip, would have thought could handle a business stay more effectively. 3hrs check in for one night stay. Also air con freezing, tried turning up but capped at 22, so turned off but still sounded like it was running. Was nice and warm outside but couldn't open window. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel near city airport Fantastic room with great bed, kingsize. Good shower, very nice! I liked the keen on green possibility, no roomservice for a day gets you 5 pounds. Had to wait a bit for checking in, but service was good! Perfect for the Excel, central London is of course further away. But with the Jubilee line certainly not too far! Walking (!) to the city airport is only 12 minutes! Would absolutely recommend this hotel! September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The Aloft Excel Hotel was everything I expected and more. It was very accommodating for our needs. I would recommend it without any hesitation; clean, comfortable and modern. What more could one ask? September 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience The main selling point of the hotel is its proximity to the Excel centre. The (standard) room model is functional rather than luxurious, but this is fine because if you are at Excel Land you are presumably here for business not pleasure. The bed is comfortable, very important! I only stayed for one night so I can't say what it is like normally. The breakfast is not, sadly, that wonderful. The scrambled eggs looked like they were swimming in a special milk sauce, so I asked for fried eggs. Those were okay, a bit runny, but okay. Less scary than the scrambled eggs. Sorry it is not an unambiguous endorsement of the hotel. The two best things about it are the location and the bed. Then again, maybe that is enough. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Question I checked my bank account and I am wonder that Aloft Hotel withdraw my deposit from my bank. (Japanese yen ¥25,854, = nearly £ 150) I confirmed at the reception when I cheked out, and he explained that all of the fee for the stay was covered by Europian Congress of Pathology (ECP). Please confirm it about the request and inform to me and to the society. September 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Some serious problems with this hotel As a Platinum SPG member I've stayed in many hotels within the SPG group, always enjoying my stays. This experience was very different. 1) the directions on the website are wrong, telling you to look for platform 3 at Shadwell train station (there are only 2 platforms. I wasted time up and down stairs looking for a non existent platform with my 7yr old, great fun! 2) . Next I go to get into bed and find quite a big blood stain on the white bedding. It looked like a menstrual blood stain and was really quite obvious. I only noticed it when I pulled the duvet back to get into bed. This is appalling. 3) the hotel offers inflatable beds for children. Seems great except mine had a slow leak. It deflated fully and my 7yr old woke us all up during the night when he was uncomfortable lying on the floor. Basic standards for accurate travel info, cleanliness and sleeping arrangements that are fit for purpose are basic expectations in any hotel, never mind a higher end hotel chain like SPG. I have to say the hotel is stylish in design, the bar area is very nice, as is the pool. Effort has gone into the public areas, it's a shame that when you look closely, this hotel appears to be all fur coat with not a lot beneath that. This was my first experience with an Aloft hotel and it will be my last. September 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs alot of improvement first if anyone tried calling me directly no diffrence the time of day or night had a verry diffocolt time geting thru first no answere then they would get mail box is full & i lost some meeting of a result of this which this hotel is geard only twords business needs second why isnt there any ice machiness on each floor i am told if you need ice go down to the first floor get it from the bar. third the tv set did not work even thow i was charged for unlimited for one day most of the channels did not work either sound my over all rateing was that this was a failure on my end to choose this hotel i would of gone to any other hotel a couple of min away which i have doneo in the past you get way more for your buck November 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take Away & Hairdryers Overall I think this is a great hotel at a competitive rate. I understand the concept of the take away service from the restaurant but some food just cannot be eaten pleasantly without a plate so it would be great if this could be reconsidered! Second stay where I had problems with my hairdryer. The first time there was no hairdryer, this time I couldn't open the bag the hairdryer was in - sounds trivial but this disruption to a morning routine can make you late for a meeting! Fortunately the staff were helpful but it would be good to have everything in working order. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! We had choosen the Aloft hotel London because of the price. It wasn't too expensive! It's a bit further from the centrum of London but very easy to get there with the DLR. The complete hotel, including the rooms, was extremely modern and clean. We were amazed to get such a beautiful hotel for such a low cost! We enjoyed the pool and the sauna and had no problems with the free wifi. Aft last but not least there's the breakfast. Everything was good. They kept a good eye on everything so nothing was empty. We had a great time in London! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh vibrant hotel with good access to city Excellent facilities and ambience at this hotel. Staff very helpful throughout our stay. Buffet breakfast offered good choice, though space was at a premium due to numbers using the restaurant. One downside was that in arriving back late on second day of stay and having paid for car parking there were no places available and was advised parking was first come first served. Apart from that inconvenience our stay was really great and would recommend this hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst value for money I ever had! Very bad!!! In room: no drinking glasses; no waste basket in bathroom; only sugar, but no coffee or tea bags with water-heater! No working air conditioner! And no room service to correct this! No answer when trying to reach reception! Inexpericended personel too busy with other guests to help! November 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rooms Was an excellent stay - attending a showcase at the Excel meant this hotel was exactly where we needed it to be. Attached to the venue... The only bit which was unsatisfactory, was when we wanted to eat dinner - we were not informed by front desk staff initially that you can only eat in the restaurant by pre booking. This meant the hotel restaurant turned us away. The front desk staff then assisted us in ordering a take away and were happy for us to eat the take away in the lunge area. Overall a very good stay, and I will stay there again. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad treatment for SPG platinum members I had a very bad customer experience in this hotel. If you are a platinum SPG member, this hotel refuse generall a suite-upgrade. It is the policy of this hotel not to handle according the SPG Terms and Conditions. The reaction of the management after my complaints: there are other Starwood Hotels in London to get the platinum treatment. We can help you to book a room over there, if you like. If the platinum recognition is important for you, stay away from Aloft London Excel. If this is not important, this hotel will give you a good night sleep. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Stay With my spouse's flight delayed and my kids exhausted from international travel, I decided to book a room at the Aloft upon the recommendation of my spouse, who stays there regularly when in London. The staff was wonderful. They entertained the kids while I checked in and they were so excited to browse the snack bar while I reserved their Camp Aloft sleeping bags. It was wonderful! August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for the city airport I had no idea what this would be like and it was a little difficult to reach only in that the taxi driver (for once) had not been there before. However, the reception area was great, staff fantastic and the room just perfect and excellent value. It was undergoing some refurbishment in the dining area but there is a reasonable pub nearby. The gym is well appointed, the rooms clean, good beds, modern and tidy. Check out easy and staff super helpful with taxi and even a coffee while I waited. Would definitely stay again if the need arises. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel is excellent absolutely wonderful. had a great time here. only wish room had drawers to put clothes into August 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by unusually not the same i am a great supporter of this hotel and the staff in particular Francesco and the others on reception match any 5 start hotel for responsiveness. However this stay was marred by an unhelpful barman with respect to food. HENCE MY STARS ARE NOT REFLECTIVE OF THE HOTEL BUT MY EXPERIENCE ON MONDAY August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Break - April 2014 Polite staff and excellent facilities. The decor is extremely modern, the piped music is not too intrusive in the communal areas. The security system for accessing the lifts worked well but would I believe cause significant problems if there was a glitch in the system. Access to public transport was much nearer than I thought and would suggest that a limited Courtesy Bus facility to Canary Wharf be made available at the weekend. Breakfast service was good/efficient with very much an American Theme to the choice of food. April 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only