Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 242 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy doors Great hotel in most respects. Comfortable rooms, location next to DLR is very convenient (especially for a trip to Olympic village and Westfield Stratford City shopping). A bit remote in the evenings though only about 30 minutes to central London from here. Right next door to ExCel and airport (though it is quiet - you don't hear the planes or any traffic outside). Staff on front desk very helpful and polite on arrival. Only complaint is that the doors to the rooms slam shut and they are very heavy so make a loud bang. I found this quite distracting and it kept me awake when other guests were arriving during the night. The doors really shut with some force. For that reason alone I wouldn't choose to stay here again. April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The perfect place to stay for events at the O2, or in the West End. Flying home on the cable car after an afternoon at the multiplex in the O2 was a magical end to the day/start to the evening. Aloft is on top of the DLR which makes getting in the City, the West End and the South Bank quick and easy. With parking right outside the hotel it's a quick way out of town. Just watch it with the sat nav - the hotel is so new it's not on Google Maps or the car navigation. Just head for the City Airport side of Excel - Excel East and you'll find it. January 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient if attending a conference at ExCEL The hotel is literally steps away from ExCEL. I had an enjoyable stay and would return. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Remember Oyster Card This is a beautiful hotel. It has everything you could ask of a Aloft/Starwood property. The front desk is very helpful, its directly next to the train to the city. The only issue is that it is far away from anything in the center of London. It is not always an easy transfer. The best advice I got was to make sure I had an oyster card. You can use it between the different train lines and you don't have to stand in line each time for a new ticket. Also the fare on Oyster cards is significantly cheaper then paying for single tickets. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Color me "HAPPY" Not a vision of "W" Hotels...but an improvement ! I could not have been more pleased with all the charms that were easily part of my visit to this wonderful hotel. Starting with "Mo" and "Raphaelle" at Reception to the great restaurant on the 2nd floor, nothing could have been better. The stylish room in a beautifully designed, contemporary hotel could not be better (maybe just 1 chair in the room would be an improvement). I will chose to fly in/out of London City Airport again because of the extraordinary experience at your Aloft Hotel. May 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! This hotel met my expectations and exceeded it in so many ways. The parking at the hotel is cheaper than parking in major u.s. cities like Boston and new york. The tube has a stop within a one minute walk from the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Free wi fi. The bar downstairs had a knowledgeable staff, good drinks, and a great seating area. Fede, thr onsite restaurant was good. The 24 snack shop was great. The staff was fantastic. Thank you Julia and Inge for this stay. We all had a great time! March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel Really liked hotel. Lovely comfortable beds. Plenty of towels etc. Staff very helpful and pleasant. I liked the décor and public areas too. Didn't have time to use swimming pool unfortunately. Only problem was I didn't find plug near mirror for hairdryer. Receptionist told me about it at check out so maybe some kind of information on arrival. I would stay here again happily. May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rooms Was an excellent stay - attending a showcase at the Excel meant this hotel was exactly where we needed it to be. Attached to the venue... The only bit which was unsatisfactory, was when we wanted to eat dinner - we were not informed by front desk staff initially that you can only eat in the restaurant by pre booking. This meant the hotel restaurant turned us away. The front desk staff then assisted us in ordering a take away and were happy for us to eat the take away in the lunge area. Overall a very good stay, and I will stay there again. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Excel Hotel was great, clean and accommodating. Staff was helpful. In particular, Johann was extremely courteous and lent a warm personal touch. I would recommend the Aloft. June 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing The hotel looks pretty good, but underneath it's badly thought out. The room was clean and a decent size, but who decided to put the only seating (a kind of bench sofa) directly under the TV attached to the wall, so that you can't sit on it? Who decided giving you an iron and ironing board was a good idea (which it is) but then not having conveniently placed sockets to let you plug the iron in? There's a fair wardrobe, but no drawers to put clothes in. Etc. I arrived mid-afternoon and wanted to eat some decent food but was informed there was only an snackbar that produced one of the worst sandwiches I've ever eaten. Some staff were great, but in the bar people didn't recognise the names of drinks (reading them from their own list, so nothing fancy) and then couldn't find them on the shelves. At these prices, some staff training wouldn't go amiss. Breakfast staff great, food OK, coffee awful. Standard hotel quality. Unless you arrive by car, it's hard to get to and there are inadequate footpaths, especially if you're dragging a suitcase. So, to sum up: a hotel designed for the photos on the website, not for use. June 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Nice Rooms I would stay at the Aloft Excel only because the rooms are really nice. The beds are comfy and there is plenty of comforts included for a very nice stay. HOWEVER I couldn't stand the reception area and the restaurant due to excessive noise and the fact the closed off the bar to hotel guests due to a private function. With the bar closed everyone not at the function had to go to the restaurant which was packed with folks just there for a drink after work, it was so loud I had to raise my voice to ask for a table and continued the loud voice to order food and drink. The restaurant food and drink quality vas very good and the staff were responsive. I am put off that the hotel advertises the bar but then closes it off. I think the hotel should keep public facilities public and book private functions into function rooms. May 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever I really loved this place. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to do extra things. They were flexible with their breakfast voucher scheme and nothing was a problem. This honestly was the best place I have ever stayed March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW… OVERALL IMPRESSION: Amazingly affordable by London standards, well-run, all the boxes ticked. I’m a believer…this is the face of future travel. SPG RECOGNITION: Not much leeway in an Aloft as all rooms are virtually the same but I did get a lovely Thames view and the breakfast allowance, when taken as the Platinum Amenity, is quite generous. THE ROOM: The same as every other Aloft room but that’s definitely OK - well-designed and pleasantly furnished. LOCATION: Depends on what you need to do in London. It’s literally right at the Excel Centre and there is a Docklands Station right there but it can be a long commute to central London with a couple of train changes. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: I felt that the staff while young and hip in the Aloft model were also very professional and striving to offer the top-end customer experience. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: N/A. ONE THING TO KNOW: The usually very good rates need to be considered against the mostly inconvenient location. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great staff From the minute I walked in the door stressed from driving in London and unpacking at the Exel the greeting was lovely and they bent over backwards to help. After a hard day working the pool area was amazing to relax. I am just about to book it again and all the people from other hotels that came to see me have decided to change hotels too. Thank you and see you soon May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value for London This hotel is okay value for money in London and better value by far the the tiered SPG London Hotels. Staff were great at check in and check out. Not a good restaurant I had a terrible steak there, but the rooms are clean and comfortable Bar was ok, they had a promotion on with foursquare, giving 10% off your bar bill. No recognition at all for being platinum December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super hotel Aloft Excel is a super hotel with great architecture both on the outside and inside. Nice and peaceful layout in the inner walkways as well. Gym, saunas and a pool is also great to have! Even though it is a bit far out from central London i think we only used about 35 minutes with DLR and the tube. Also, a great management at this hotel :-) December 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel Fab hotel very modern and comfortable. Very near to light railway and short walk to cable cars which take you over the river to the O2 arena. very clean rooms and comfortable king beds. Also a fridge in the room which was brilliant for snacks. staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again !! August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay Beautifully modern hotel Lovely room Staff particularly nick was very polite and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Views and attractions nearby are amazing! Would def recommend! May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay at Aloft London Excel It was great, nice and quiet. The window blinds are sufering from wear and tear and some needs replacement May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adrift This is only half a hotel. No restaurant, no breakfast to speak of, unprofessional staff, minimal spg recognition, ludicrous car parking charges. Only positive is the decor in the public areas. Come on Starwood, we expect more of you. Give it a miss until it cleans up its act. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab weekend :) Me an my Girlfriend booked a double room over the bank holiday weekend... had a fantastic time, very pleased with our stay so relaxing and spa was very good. enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and would diffidently go back to aloft and stay there. Kind Regards Mr Rishy May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern comfort Great room, really comfy bed. Only real complaint why have paper cups in the room - not what I would expect from a top hotel! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by i was very enjoyed in this hotel 1. When i checked in the staff very very kind maybe her name is Victoria? And bar staff as well. 2. The breakfast was very delicious particularly bakery and staff was very kind and helpfulness. 3.There wasn't toothbrush and toothpaste. Usually when i stayed other hotel there was even 3 star hotel they have. So i didn't bring it. But when i looking for that one the staff was very helpfulness and kind. 4. Some tower which hand tower and middle size tower weren't changed. Otherwise it was great time to stay this hotel. I won't forget about staff's kindness. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Aloft I have stayed at many Alofts and this particular hotel is the best of the bunch. Very modern and has a full service restaurant. Nice staff. I would recommend this hotel. December 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent comfort room, check in far too slow Room and hotel facilities great. Bed is ultra-comfortable. However, auto check in didnt work, and the process at the desk to both check in and out was too slow for this type of hotel. May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Striking Building, Location Can Be Hit or Miss Have stayed here for a couple of nights prior to the Olympics. Location can be its strongest and weakest point at the same time: it is only 5 minutes by bus to City Airport, and has a DLR station next to it for easy access to the city. Yet, it is located in a post-industrial wasteland, and there’s absolutely nothing nearby in terms of shops or restaurants. Yet, rooms are very modern, light and comfortable. Bathrooms are nice and I especially like the Bliss shower gel and shampoo dispensers. Nice well stocked magazine rack in each room, and good complimentary internet access. The best thing about this hotel, are the communal areas: a nice gym, a great indoor/outdoor pool, sauna, and even a laundry room. The bar is quite cool as well. Onsite food options are very limited. Expect no upgrades for platinums, although the breakfast amenity is worthwhile as it includes 3 items you can pick from the self-service bar area. This is a good, well-priced option for London with easy access to the public transport network, although if you’re considering any type of nightlife activities, this place is a no-go as it will involve a long and expensive cab ride back. Best for business. September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff Good location for meetings at Excel. Excellent service. All facilities available. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hotel was clean modern and welcoming I was amazed that I could stay for 1 night for £99 but subsequent nights were £149 each. After much discussion they agreed that I could stay for £99 pn !!!!!!!!!!!! David Otway May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything was great We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only