Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

A child who is 12 or younger may sleep for free in a room shared with a paying adult, thanks to our Camp Aloft programme. Cribs are also available upon request.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 278 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the Aloft Brand Having stayed in a newly opened Aloft in Brooklyn recently and loved it, I was excited to see that this hotel was opening at Excel. I travel often to work at Canary Wharf and it's becoming very difficult to get good hotels in the vicinity. Knowing what to expect, I just have a couple of small niggles that can be easily addressed by management (it will be interesting to see if they have been on my next visit!). Firstly there needs to some kind of glasses provided at the wash area for brushing teeth (or having a glass of wine in room!). All that was available was the two cardboard coffee cups. Secondly a wastepaper bin is also needed at the bathroom area. I moved the one from the desk area but annoyingly it was moved back by the cleaner the next day! (told you it was a small niggle!). And finally, why don't guests get refills if they stay another night? For example if you use the body lotion day 1 why is it not replaced? You're paying the same price for subsequent nights! On the plus - great beds, showers, TV, layout and particularly staff (esp Roxanna?). The restaurant on the second floor is really good with a great menu :) I think there should be directions from the DLR though - I went a very long way round the first night. Overall - I like :) November 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Class Room for Third Class Price Loved the Room. The bed was so inviting and comfortable. The TV took a while to work out when i just wanted to watch normal terrestrial TV. Eventually found instructions on how to use it AFTER i had worked out how to use it!! Didn't have a clue about the internet / email access. Shower area was spacious, & the shower was great. Amenities, complimentary items were welcome. If i have i minor complaint, it was the noise of the Air Conditioning on all night. I tried switching it off but then the room becomes very stuffy in this weather. The breakfast staff were too busy clearing tables to acknowledge waiting customers, and that can irritate some people, but overallwWould definitely recommend though June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by i was very enjoyed in this hotel 1. When i checked in the staff very very kind maybe her name is Victoria? And bar staff as well. 2. The breakfast was very delicious particularly bakery and staff was very kind and helpfulness. 3.There wasn't toothbrush and toothpaste. Usually when i stayed other hotel there was even 3 star hotel they have. So i didn't bring it. But when i looking for that one the staff was very helpfulness and kind. 4. Some tower which hand tower and middle size tower weren't changed. Otherwise it was great time to stay this hotel. I won't forget about staff's kindness. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Hotel not a bad start The hotel had only just opened 4 days prior to my stay. The things that niggled me was room keys had to be cut daily as they kept failing. The pool had no where to leave your clothes when changing? Also no robes so you had to go back to your room dripping wet. The Sauna and Steam and pool lights were also both broken. The rooms were good the only this that lets the down is storage, no drawers for your smalls and a wardrobe that could hang 4 items in. When you walk in your room your clothes are on full display to the world. Bed great as was shower but strange was you had to enter via the toilet! Overall a good job staff OK under pressure but coped well. November 14, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by First and possibly last ever Aloft stay Since I have never stayed at an Aloft before and this property opened close to where I live my wife and I decided to give it a try for a weekend night stay. This was our first ever Aloft stay so some of the negatives I found may be related to the entire brand experience rather than this particular property but I didn't have a clear frame of reference prior to my stay. Overall I am not a fan, most really certainly not at the price of the Aloft London. At £96 inclusive of taxes there were a lot better options in the area and I was surprised at the lack of upgrade as a Platimum (which whilst I now know is described in the SPG T&Cs) and feel this should have been more clearly signposted at reservation. . I do not see how the rates at this property are sustainable in the face of better cheaper full service relatively new competition in the immediate vicinity all offering a better experience IMHO.. The midweek rate of £200+ a night is a rather bad joke given that I can get a corporate rate at nearby 5 star deluxe properties in Canary Wharf for less than the corporate rate at the Aloft. I live in the area and don't often stay locally but was curious about this property. I can see some pricing adjustment or massive corporate discounts crystallising in the not too distant future. At weekends the chain properties in Canary Wharf are also much better options unless you absolutely must stay at the hotel. On the plus side we had dinner and breakfast at FEDE in the Aloft and would definitely visit the restaurant again. It just seems bizarre that a restaurant within the hotel is not integrated to the level that bills can be charged to the room and thus SPG points earned. The room design is also much better than the W Leicester Square. It also wasn't fully clear whether the car park was chargeable. I was told that it costs £14 a day, but then was not charged upon exit. November 18, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice when checked in but real struggle to check in Real struggle to get checked in, mistake by booking agent meant room held not paid for on company card, hotel refused to take company card details for payment then, settled on bacs but was told may take days to clear so may not be able to stay. when finally sorted bacs for room payment, a deposit required prior to check in, again refused to take company card details. Ended up using personal details, did not wish to, this was a business trip, would have thought could handle a business stay more effectively. 3hrs check in for one night stay. Also air con freezing, tried turning up but capped at 22, so turned off but still sounded like it was running. Was nice and warm outside but couldn't open window. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Aloft Excel - Just Far Enough Out" Aloft Excel is excellently located because it is an easy trip to City Center but is away from the noise and hustle bustle of London. Highly recommend Aloft Excel - would stay there again and again. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review Hotel only opened 31 Oct so staff very helpful and friendly but sometimes slow to get things done. No room service. bathroom design very unusual: its all flat at one level which is very good for elderly or disabled. Quality and price of restaurant FEDE is very good but cannot be charged to room since its independent. for visitors to Excel exhibition location is excellent as hotel is just a few steps away. only bad thing is that I'm spg member and requested check out at 2 pm and everyone was leaving the hotel but staff refused and was hostile replying to my request. all other starwood hotels allowed me before to check out at 2. November 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable stay. Really enjoyed our short break at Aloft Excel. Rooms were very comfortable, excellent sleep every night. Great shower. Easy access to Excel and DLR tube stop. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really good quality and modern Really modern, great service, luxurious and i would advise anyone. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff did not look to resolve my issues with my room. I stay regularly at the Aloft and whilst it is comfortable over all , i am so disspaointed that I will not stay again and will be recommending to my colleagues at Barclays not to stay. The room is fine. However my TV volume didnt work, the shower was jammed and I could not change the height. I was handed over twice without one apology to the duty manager. All three staff informed me that the engineer didnt start til 8am. I wasted 15 minutes raising my concerns and as a result missed my shuttle and was late for my meeting. Not offer to make it better o. A hotel can look great but I felt incrediblty stressed after my stay! October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely Modern Hotel I was really impressed by the lovely modern feel of the hotel. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food and drink were great and very reasonably priced. If I had one small moan it would be that the room layout could have been a bit better, i.e a mirror in the main bedroom area with plug sockets near it for use with a hairdryer. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and facilities, nice staff Stayed there now for the second year in a row for the London Triathlon. Reception staff are always very accommodating given we come with 2 bikes and 2 kids. We will be back! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by large room great facilities Large well laid out rooms. good pool and sauna. handy 24 hr snack arrangement. i stay regularly as it is conveniemt for the DLR and better value than central london hotels August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by TRANSPORTATION I took taxi's twice to get to the hotel. Twice the acb driver had no clue how to get to the Eastern Gate ( no problem of the Western Gate and all other hotels there ). When we ask for a cab at the receptiond nesk, they should propose the black cab alternative not only the expensive mini cab " monopoly ". July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but had trouble getting our room cleaned. Nice and close to the Excel centre. Quite new and close to the DLR. Some of the staff seemed new / inexperienced. Our room keys weren't set properly and it took three attempts to get it right. We put the green sign on our door once and then had to ask to get the room cleaned even after we took the sign off the door. It got cleaned once more (reluctantly, it seems). Being green doesn't mean not emptying bins or making the bed. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great experience! We had choosen the Aloft hotel London because of the price. It wasn't too expensive! It's a bit further from the centrum of London but very easy to get there with the DLR. The complete hotel, including the rooms, was extremely modern and clean. We were amazed to get such a beautiful hotel for such a low cost! We enjoyed the pool and the sauna and had no problems with the free wifi. Aft last but not least there's the breakfast. Everything was good. They kept a good eye on everything so nothing was empty. We had a great time in London! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern hotel with young and friendly staff The standards and services were for 5*. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aloft Excel Quality Aloft Hotel - much larger in open space with good restaurant attached - next to convention center if that was an event attending. It is however, far from Central London and even farther to Heathrow. Have to take the DLR to the London Tube before you can then make your way into city center. Good value considering the cost of central london hotels - just a trade-off in time. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our stay A very smart hotel, let down by the average restaurant. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. August 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience The main selling point of the hotel is its proximity to the Excel centre. The (standard) room model is functional rather than luxurious, but this is fine because if you are at Excel Land you are presumably here for business not pleasure. The bed is comfortable, very important! I only stayed for one night so I can't say what it is like normally. The breakfast is not, sadly, that wonderful. The scrambled eggs looked like they were swimming in a special milk sauce, so I asked for fried eggs. Those were okay, a bit runny, but okay. Less scary than the scrambled eggs. Sorry it is not an unambiguous endorsement of the hotel. The two best things about it are the location and the bed. Then again, maybe that is enough. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spotlessly clean and well managed Very good modern hotel which is well managed without fuss. Reception staff are welcoming and efficient as are all the other members you come across. Excellent little mini breakfast and snack bar and a nice bar area too, room cleaning is excellent, rooms comfortable too July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great 2 night stay I stayed for two nights , got there and the staff in reception were helpful , the room was lovely and clean when u arrived , the food was good but don't tell u when u book up it was cold food not fry up breakfast , and u don't get alto of choice , the swimming pool was nice and clean and u get towels beside beds u can lay on . there all so the sauna room i went in witch is nice to , and the steam room to was nice , the gym is good but did not use it , due to being a relaxing break. u can use the internet for free on there computers if u need to look for a day out wile u in London or just to check your emails . November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I really like the ambience; room decor and space specially the bathroom. Excellent layout. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 First stay at aloft Hotel is trendy and rooms very clean, bright and good facilities.Lacks the personal touch when it comes to the Restaurant, Breakfast is a very basic affair, you have to make your own tea/coffee in mugs from an urn so you don't get a good hot cup of tea/coffee and a teaspoon would be nice rather than a stick! Breakfast is laid out under hot lamps scrambled eggs must have been there an hour or more as all dried up and it was only 8.30am! not at all attractive, a choice of eggs would be nice! and staff who actually speak to you! A couple of small improvements could really ,make a big difference here! I joined SPG on arrival so didn't really expect any recognition maybe next time! May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good facilities and is in a good location This hotel is in a good location with excellent transport links. Staff are both professional polite and respond to customers needs effectively. The rooms are excellent and the facilities are good. The Restaurant served very good food and wine. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features We stayed in the hotel for seven days.It is a lovely hotel, easy access and transportation. Especially I want to mention the excellent service that we get in the restaurant during the breakfast. In any new trip to London I shall most likely stay in your HOTEL. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Had a.very pleasant stay in this unique looking very modern hotel .nice sized room whith kingsize bed and view over river. Clean and comfortable and easy to travel into the centre using the DLR July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my expectations Close to the DLR, spacious rooms, great breakfast, very nice experience. Highly reccomended in view of extremely good price/quality balance if compared with standard in London. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very slow service Book for a meal in the evening. Staff seemed a bit startled over our arrival despite having booked the reservation. Ordered our food around 9.35pm but by 10.05pm food, starters or anything were no where to be seen. Waiters and waitresses completely did not notice we were just sitting there with no food. Asked the waiter for the hurry up, food finally came after 15 mins even though waiter said two minutes. The food was great, do not be mistaken but the service was simply so poor. Everything else after else came relatively quickly after we expressed our disapproval. However when it came to signing the bill, we were charged nearly a 1/3 more than what we ordered. The waitress dealing with us was very patient though. But in the morning, a cold greeting from the staff at breakfast around half past ten, was told to just sit anywhere. Previously we stayed at Aloft and had the breakfast buffet, we were taken to our table and were assisted attentively. This time was not the case. The staff in the morning seemed worse than the staff in the evening, very glum looking and almost not at all friendly - no smiles, no manners and no politeness. July 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Updated Privacy Statement | Text Only