Aloft London Excel

  • One Eastern Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
  • London,
  • England
  • E16 1FR
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Kids are always welcome—as long as there are adults around too! At least one occupant of each Aloft room must be 18 years or older. Be sure to bring ID in case we need to confirm.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 171 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by good and modern hotel for a stay in London - trendy We stayed in the aloft end of May 2012. The hotel is still very new (built in 2011), therefore modern and clean. I was staying on bonus points and got upgraded to a suite which in general is great. The suites are very nice, only downside is that there is only a shower in there, no bathtub. Location is good, not exactly central, but near next to a train station about 15 minutes from tower bridge. Cleaning was not perfect, mirrors and glass doors still had some finger prints and fat on there. Compared to other starwood hotels, breakfast and especially service for platinum members is not great - we only got three items at breatkfast for free. Nevertheless, overall, a good and comfortable hotel. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll be back. My husband and I spent two night at this hotel as we were attending an event at the O2. The location is great for the O2 and because of this we'll be back. The room was spotless, very cool and modern. I liked the green policy but was surprised to discover that opting to not change your towel also meant the room was not made up at all. Staff in the bar were great, the bar food menu was very basic and after a concert we could've done with a better choice of food. Staff at reception seemed a little inexperienced and we did not receive the 10% discount off bar food that we should have being SPG members and reception were unaware of this offer. So overall a couple of minor negatives but we had a great stay and will definitely use this hotel again. March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, skip the restaurant The hotel is consistent with other Aloft hotels, the restaurant is terrible. They have changed their menu and the quality of ingredients have gone down since they opened in early 2012. Don't bother dining here, hop on the DLR West and go to somewhere around Canada Wharf. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff in London Came for double birthday weekend with my wife, and other family members. The hotel was great, with excellent security features (e.g. lift). The staff, and I met many during the weekend, were ALL unfailingly courteuos and SO helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely brilliant! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend. February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Working the Kinks Out I just checked out of the Aloft after a 4 night stay. Upon reading SPG reviews I was afraid it would be a miserable experience. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. Many of the problems other reviews seem to have been resolved. The staff was pretty well trained, the room fridge worked, coffee and tea in the room, a trash can in the bathroom. I received a 125 point Gold member bonus at check in. All in all it was a very good experience. The location next to ExCeL was very convenient. In comparing notes with friends who were in nearby hotels, the Aloft appeared to be superior. I would not recommending staying there, however, if you aren't attending an event at ExCeL due to its remote location. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best place to stay in London This is truly my hotel of choice in London. After many stays in several hotels in London, I finally had the chance to stay at the Aloft Excel. I stayed before at other Aloft, so I knew that they are hip and trendy places, even if usually they are located away from the centre of the city. In this case however the location is just perfect. It's minutes away from London City airport - in fact you can even walk from the airport to the hotel in less than 15 minutes. And still it doesn't feel at all like an "airport hotel" - because it isn't! Next door is the Excel centre, so if you have to attend an event there, the Aloft is your best choice. If you want to go into central London, the DLR station is literally behind the hotel (leave the hotel from the second floor to reach the station), and it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Westminster, and just about 40 minutes to get to South Kensington for instance. From many hotels in the centre of London it would take longer in fact - the Aloft is so well connected. And it's just minutes away from the Docklands, the O2, the new cable car (the Emirates air line) which provides fantastic views over the east of London, and the Olympic park. If you've been to an Aloft before, you will be familiar with the rooms: very functional design, wonderful bed, fast and free wifi connection, great shower and Bliss amenities, coffee and tea, free bottled water and great magazines (including Wallpaper* - and you can find many more magazines, including Time Out, at the entrance of the hotel). The Aloft London has a very good gym, with top class equipment and plenty of natural light; and a pool, sauna and steam bath which are true luxury. I found it really wonderful to start the day at the gym and pool and go back there at the end of the day. The wxyz bar is also very nice - great staff, affordable prices, and plenty of space which is perfect either if you are alone or in company. The staff at the front desk is one of the kindest and helpful I've met - no attitude, always ready to help, professional and yet incredibly friendly. All this makes the Aloft a perfect place to stay in London. Unless you want to stay in a place right in the center the Aloft has the best transport connections, superb facilities, a young and trendy atmosphere, and the nicest staff. July 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Would happily stay again We needed to be in London (Canary Wharf area) on a Sunday night and family were already booked into Aloft and raving about it. We checked the rates and were lucky to find the hotel running a deal for the room only at £71. The hotel is impressive from the outside and well-designed inside, with a good bar and small takeaway café for those who don’t have time (or want) a large breakfast. Check in was dealt with swiftly and we were given a great room on the top floor with a view of the airport - ideal for plane spotters like me. The rooms are a decent size, with plenty of space to move around in, a small sofa and two desks. There was no bath, just a walk in shower that was one of the best I have come across in any hotel. Also, top marks for the inclusion of a soap dish and numerous well-positioned plug sockets. However, there was no mirror in the bedroom and the pillows didn’t suit either my wife or me, but pillow preference is such a personal thing I appreciate it’s hard to keep everyone happy. We had a drink in the bar before heading to bed and it had a good vibe. You wouldn’t have guessed it was a Sunday evening. The cocktail list is decent and there are a suitable number of lagers available, although no ale that I could see so I had to settle for a pint of Tetleys. At check out we used one of the self-check in/out machines. We had a £1 charity donation added to our bill, which I don’t mind but there didn’t appear to be an option to remove it, nor any information about which charity would receive the donation, both things I would have expected to see. The machine would then not print our receipt, so a helpful member of staff had to go to the office and print us a copy. For these reasons, if there was no queue I would suggest checking out at the reception desk. Although the location will not work for everyone, it is perfect if you are flying to or from London City Airport, or if you need access to Excel. The hotel is also connected to the DLR, so you can get into Zone 1 very easily if you want to. I enjoyed our brief stay here and would happily stay again. Recommended. March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The perfect place to stay for events at the O2, or in the West End. Flying home on the cable car after an afternoon at the multiplex in the O2 was a magical end to the day/start to the evening. Aloft is on top of the DLR which makes getting in the City, the West End and the South Bank quick and easy. With parking right outside the hotel it's a quick way out of town. Just watch it with the sat nav - the hotel is so new it's not on Google Maps or the car navigation. Just head for the City Airport side of Excel - Excel East and you'll find it. January 21, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only