Aloft Calgary University

  • 2359 Banff Trail NW
  • Calgary,
  • Alberta
  • T2M-4L2
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Experience Second time staying at Aloft Calgary and really enjoyed our time there. Great decor and large, modern rooms. Only change I would suggest is add $5-10 on all rooms and give complimentary breakfast. Refuel is just too confusing as you watch people wander around trying to figure out what is complimentary, what is paid, and what is paid for on top of what is already paid for. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Insects in our rooms? Overall, the hotel is nice. The staff are nice. Our only issue is that there were beetles in our rooms. Housekeeping came in the morning to check the beds and change our sheets. Although I understand that bugs are everywhere...this was gross. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's an Aloft so manage your expectations Once you've stayed in one Aloft, you've stayed in them all. They are not full service hotels (no room service, restaurants or large suites, for example) so don't go expecting a luxury experience. They are stylish, minimalist but very functional hotels that are comfortable. If you're a Starwood member, then the Aloft Calgary University is a perfect hotel if you have business at the university or nearby hospitals and want to collect points. The hotel is located within 2-3 minute drive to the university and is by far the best hotel (in quality) relative to the numerous other choices nearby. The bed (and bedding) is excellent- similar to what you would find at a Westin or W. The bathroom toiletries is (like the hotel) sparse but functional. It would be nice if the cleaning staff replenished the bar of soap everyday since I like to have a bar of soap for the basin and the shower. So, if you're a business traveller with business nearby this property is perfect for you. If you are a tourist, I would suggest other starwood properties in the city. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close proximity to Calgary Foothills Hospital New hotel with modern appeal. Very friendly, helpful staff. We stayed at Aloft because of close proximity to Calgary Foothills Hospital. They offer a hospital rate as well. Excellent Indian restaurant on second floor, and you receive 10% off when staying at hotel. Prices were very reasonable. They do not however offer a complimentary breakfast, as most hotels do, charging $10.00 for continental breakfast. We did not have time to check out WXYZ bar, but looked very modern. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean, great beds, A little confusion with how breakfast service worked, but nothing major. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good looking place but noisy The hotel looks great and has a friendly vibe however the soundproofing is not adequate. My first floor room was noisy all night. I could hear night staff talking and pool balls clacking. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor check in experience Stopped by the hotel after a long night of driving. It was 4am when I stopped in to ask if there were rooms available (loyal Starwood member). The employee working the front desk, wasn't even behind the desk, and yelled across the lobby that the rooms were $199 a night, as if I wouldn't want to stay if I knew the price. I said ok, to which he responded (again yelling from across the lobby) that I would have to be out by noon. Again I said ok, to which he finally decided to have enough courtesy to make his way back to the desk. I'm a platinum member, and mentioned this several times, to which he continued to brush me off. Once he finally acknowledged my SPG number, he decided to offer me a late check out. By that point I was turned off. Won't stay at this location again. Room was fine, service was terrible. Not worth the cost to be treated like garbage at check in. Didn't get a final bill, by email or under the door, which now requires me the contact the hotel again for I'm sure another terrible customer service experience. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable room We just stayed in another hotel in Banff without air conditioning the night before. It was so nice to see a room with good air con when the outside temperature is 28 degree. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The staffs are very friendly and very helpful. August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aloft First Time Guest Loved this hotel! Great staff, excellent set up, very user friendly. Best part, we were greeted in our room with a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate our third wedding anniversary. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a fun atmosphere I really enjoy staying at Aloft because of the great décor and fun atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and always really clean. I like having the option to "make a green choice" and not get new sheets/towels all the time. The proximity to the C-Train is awesome. I am very excited for the spin room to be open the next time that I stay, and it was nice to try the new restaurant. The food was good at the indian fusion restaurant, but the atmosphere is a bit bizarre because it is a windowless room in a weird part of the building. I can't imagine that anyone who isn't staying here would go to this restaurant. I think that "refuel" in the lobby area could provide better options for breakfast, also. I think the food options need improvement in general, especially since the restaurant options on the block are not outstanding. July 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good choice with some major flaws The location is not the best and is surrounded by motels, no view and dodgy neighborhood. That said, the hotel makes the very best of what it has to work with. The staff are EXCELLENT. Nothing is too much trouble for them - they are happy to be there and make it known. The best front office and XYZ bar staff - period. The breakfast and food concept is very modern and cool - works for me. The rooms are OK - for this price, they could be better - $200 for a night is not exactly cheap and one expects Westin quality at that price - this hotel is not that. The location is the biggest drawback and puts it firmly in the Motel+ category and had I known this, I would not have booked for business. That said, the staff made up for this and I wrote this review to just compliment them. May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was not for me. When we arrived we had just came from our home we had been working on getting ready for show as we are selling it. We were tired and wanted to be pampered for a night, we were not dressed up just jeans and t shirts. The staff at first were not warm. When we pulled out our Amex and found out we belong to the Starwood rewards program they then became very hospitable. Upon walking into the room first impressions were it was cold and not inviting at all! The carpet was filthy and had not been vacuumed. When I had a shower the water leaked out all over the rest of the floor. I phoned the front desk they were very apologetic and gave us a 40.00 dollar discount which was appreciated, however, I would have preferred a relaxing night in the hotel!! It felt like I was staying in a warehouse. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My New Favorite Place To Stay In Calgary I travel to Calgary a couple of times a month for business reasons. I usually stay in Motel Villiage as it is close to my office and I had seen the ALOFT being built and decided to check it out when it opened. It exceeded my expectations. The front desk staff were fabulous, the rooms gorgeous and the lobby was so very funky and fun. Given the really reasonable price I was truly surprised how awesome this place was! I like it so much I almost didn't want to give a good review and have to share my new favorite hotel with others. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience! Just finished a weekend stay with my soccer team and could not be happier with the ALoft! Terrific staff, clean and spacious hotel, open, airy and fun! July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confortable Pillows New Hotel, for the price you should get a continental breakfast. My room on the third floor had an odd shaking as the train went by feeling like a mini earth quake and waking me up. The biggest thing is that the doors shutting in rooms around me with a loud thud was disturbing. Coming up with a positive soft close device would be appreciated. The Staff was Great and very helpful, from the font desk to the bartender Megan, Helped me find my way around town easily. I would suggest they get a portable car battery jump pack to allow us that leave their lights on to get going the next day. I know they will need this for winter guests. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by You made my day! I found the staff attentive, professional and personable. The facilities available in the hotel are just what I needed. You made my stay in Calgary a happy one :) July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really Good Option When Staying in Calgary I was expecting better Staff Responsiveness but overall everything is good. Its a very good option when looking for a hotel in Calgary. This hotel wont have taxis waiting outside so plan your time because they will need to call a taxi and that could delay you for about 10 min. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great modern hotel Friendly and helpful staff. Stylish modern decor. Comfortable bed and great shower. Free parking. I would definitely stay here again. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by welcoming ! The staff were friendly and wlecoming, especialy the royal tretament that our dog received. we had a minor mishap and the staff were there promptly to help us out! July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Dorm Great location and friendly staff- with excellent bar service. Buffet breakfast is cheap but dis-appointing. Cost to value is high. I've stayed there a few times and would probably stay there again. GM went out of her way to introduce herself to me when they messed up my reservation, gave me the wrong room type and couldn't fix it. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 1st visit, have to come again for business. Hope it's better next time I stay at hotels for business with a group all the time. We always have group reservations, so I know when they go smoothly and when they don't after doing this tens of dozens of times over the years. The front desk staff is very nice, but not necessarily well versed in group reservations which made check in, out, and payment very trying. I also had my room clearly marked "Do Not Disturb" all day while I was out and housekeeping clearly came in my room as the beverage cups were replenished and recycling was emptied and the lights were all off. That was very upsetting and is completely unacceptable. I did appreciate the Green Thank You for (ironically) not having housekeeping refresh my room, but wasn't given the option of a $5 meal voucher or SPG points, and a voucher just appeared under my door overnight. I would've preferred being asked which I wanted. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel had a great location Great location close to transit July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel By Ikea Pros: Indian(ish) Food onsite Fun Happy Hour Friendly Staff Cons: Weird undersized closet Lack of real chest of drawers My TV did not work No lamps or standard lighting (fluorescent lights) Strange pull down window shade did not keep out late/early sun Overall I felt like I was sleeping in an Ikea. How hard would it be to get a lamp with soft light and a working TV? July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly & trendy! This is a new hotel with a very trendy/modern decor...loved it! Most of the staff I saw around were very young, but super friendly and eager to please..always smiling. I didn't have anything to eat so can't comment on the food, but the offering looked good and the lady in the kitchen taking orders was very friendly. The views aren't great but they wouldn't be in any of the surrounding hotels. Great hotel and staff....and excellent price! June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great New Calgary Hotel This is a great new Calgary hotel that just hit the market. Close to down town and especially McMahon stadium. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel WILL be great Restaurant is not open. Exterior doors blocked open by contractors until late evening - I finally pulled the plugs in and closed the doors. It's cool - but the room is WAY small. In my SPG profile I clearly stated that I don't like being near the elevator due to the noise. I was right by a hallway door that slammed all night long every time someone walked down the hall - room 102. Has potential - have been at other Alofts and they felt a bit more polished. The room was very very dark.FANTASTIC server in the bar/lounge. That was a highlight. May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fresh and inviting The Aloft Calgary University is relatively new and presents with a fresh and inviting atmosphere. The rooms are nicely appointed. Although out of the downtown area, it has good proximity to the city core, including a nearby LRT line. It represents good value for money. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff..room needs improvement Staff was wonderful but the room was too small for two queen size beds. The chair was clumsy and suitable for anything but the desk affair. You need a smaller user friendly other chair..ie 2 chairs..that could be used for grooming at mirror . The window might as well been a wall. Opening the shade exposed us to everything going on in the parking lot. A sheer type of covering in addition to the shade would be good. We left three days early because we were too uncomfortable in the room yet we received no consideration for our prepaid stay. May 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by WOW Great Nice, funky Hotel at the Banff Trail, finally some amazing lodging, great place for all the students from the University across the Highway and near the CityTrain station! Will be back! June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had a great stay I had a fantastic stay at the Aloft. Staff was great and accomodating. The room was everything you could ask for and I had a great night's sleep. One of the best stays I had while in Calgary June 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 next>>
Best Rate Guarantee | Hotel Directory Aloft | Travel Professionals | Starwood Development Group | Website Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Text Only