Element Arundel Mills

  • 7522 Teague Road
  • Hanover,
  • Maryland
  • 21076
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but some service elements missing The hotel product itself met expectations - the public areas were bright and clean, my hotel room was very comfortable, spacious and well-maintained. The bed was very comfy! My only complaint with the room was that the kitchenette was fully equipped with everything except cutlery, and that ice was hard to get - you had to pick it up from the marketplace in the lobby and the quantity looked limited. Front-desk service was spotty. The agent who handled my friend's check-in and we later interacted with, she was very bubbly, friendly and helpful. The other agents I encountered seemed to have difficulties - perhaps they were new and still learning. Simple requests seemed to really confuse them. It felt like a hotel that had just opened up, but I'm told it has been there for a few years. The hotel's website advertised a business center with printing services, which turned out to be non-functioning. We asked the front desk agent for assistance, and he didn't seem to understand how the business center worked and his solution was to send us to the adjacent hotel. Our printing need was a simple one-page document that could easily have been printed from the front desk - it was very off putting to be redirected to another hotel to achieve this. The biggest failure at this hotel was the shuttle service, particularly the communication between the front desk and the shuttle driver. We were staying at this hotel because of it's proximity to the Maryland Live Casino where we were attending a New Year's Eve party - so of course transportation to and from the hotel was a top concern. We selected this hotel specifically for it's shuttle service, as noted on it's website. When we were ready to leave the hotel, we phoned the front desk, only to be quoted multiple wait times for the shuttle ranging from 5 to 45 mins. We were told the agent would speak with the shuttle drive to confirm and would call our room; we ended up coming down to the lobby when we did not hear back from him, only to find out he'd turned the shuttle driver away despite knowing we were waiting. We finally got the shuttle, which dropped us off at the casino. At the end of the night we phoned the hotel again to arrange a pick up and were quoted a 10-15 minute wait time (which was understandable, we assumed it was in high demand) We confirmed that we would be at the same entrance where we were dropped off, and we were told that wouldn't be a problem the driver would pick us up there. After 25 minutes of waiting we phoned the hotel again, only to be told the shuttle driver was picking up at another entrance. The agent confirmed that the driver was waiting for us there - but after we walked across the casino to get to him, we arrived just as he was driving off. We ended up having to spend $20 on a cab to take us back across the street to the hotel. Being that the shuttle service was the primary reason for booking this hotel, that it didn't work as expected really marred our stay. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rooms were dirty I checked in at 2:30 & they had nothing avalible. They ended up sticking me in a handicapped room. The bathroom is filthy there was hair all over the bathroom floor. I called to tell them the issue & it took them over 45 min to move me. They asked that I stay in the dirty room & someone would bring me a key. I eventually went downstairs because I was sick of waiting. The next room was a better room but it was twice as filthy. I couldn't believe how dirty this too was. There was somehow barbecue sauce all over the kitchen floor on the desk & on the lamp in the Livingroom. The bathroom floor was also dirty. The baseboard near the toilet was covered in urine. Also ever single glass, utensil and plate in the kitchen was used & not washed. There was food stuck to them and lipstick all over the glasses. I was so disappointed & grossed out with this hotel. I have been staying at spg properties for 2 years and have never experienced anything like this. I would not go back to the BWI elements. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, modern furniture, lots of amenities Very convenient location to mall and highways. Room was spacious and hotel provided lots of amenities like complimentary breakfast, well equipped kitchen, a free drink at the bar, evening snacks and 24 hour coffee/tea at the lobby. The only issue we had was that the pool was not heated. Why staff a pool with a lifeguard, morning and night, when no one can swim in freezing water with winter weather? December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Front Desk Issues We called to see if we could arrive a day early for our 2 day stay at the Element. We were told no problem come on up. When we got there the front desk could not figure out how to add a day to our stay so she booked us for an extra night. My husband called at 9:00am the next day to see if we needed to come check in for our booked 2 day stay. He was told "no problem, you are in the system." Only 2 hours later we got a call at 11:00am asking if we were choosing "late check" out since we had not left the room yet. My husband explained that we came a day early and that we were staying until Saturday. No problem (again) said the front desk. That afternoon we called the front desk to make sure we didn't need to get up early to secure the room. The front desk said everything was ok. At 11:00am the next morning the front desk ask why we haven't checked out again! My husband went through the whole story again. We thought all was ok until 10:30 PM!!! the front desk called and woke us up to explain that we were being charged for "no show" fee on our reservations. We couldn't believe the stupidity and frustration that we were experiencing. My husband explained AGAIN that we came in early and we had already tried to check in and that we were staying until Saturday. They acted very confused and then said OK. On top of all that they had no clue what our last name was or any details of our reservation. Every person that called and intrupted our stay acted as if the information was brand-new. It was a horrible experience considering the room was great. We have several friends that were waiting to see if the casino (LIVE) and the hotel were worth the stay. Sadly, the frustration of the incompetent front desk is what we are telling them about. Who calls a room past 9:00pm? That is just rude. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Florida can wait I was over sitting in traffic and decided to relax for an extra day. I stayed at this property in the past and will again at some point in the future! Friendly staff, clean rooms and easy parking make this property a no brainer! December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Get-A-way We totally enjoyed our stay at the Element. The staff were super nice. It was great staying so close to Maryland LIve. It was nice to have a breakfast available. My only suggestion is to have either donuts or danishes to have with coffee for those who don't like a full breakfast. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. December 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by service There was no maid service. I understand that it was Christmas day, but a heads up would have been nice. I would have hung the towels up. December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! One night at The Element was a perfect place for comfort and function. Loved the modern kitchen and bathroom. Comp breakfast was above par as was the staff. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The room is spacious The hotel room has a lot of space in it its great! December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even my pup likes staying here! My last stay was just after Super Storm Sandy as I was without power in NY. This hotel is always clean and comfy and parking is a breeze. Even my pup likes staying here. December 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst front desk service with SPG hotel. Waited for 50 minutes at the airport for the hotel shuttle. The front desk people were rude both on the phone and in person. The hotel itself is new and clean if you don't mind standing in the cold for close to an hour waiting on a shuttle to come from 5 miles away. December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent quiet calm hotel for long term stay Good hotel, clean, quiet, peaceful, has everything you need for a long term stay. The staff is excellent from start to finish.. front desk, housekeeping, breakfast, maintenance, everyone was great. It is a well kept hotel. Just complete a two month plus stay, and as a light sleeper, I appreciated this hotel immensely. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features Van to casino; pool (could be heated) bar clean and friendly great breakfast December 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by An underwhelming experience As a Training Specialist I often am required to travel at least 2 times each month and my travels take me to destinations around the country. When I was informed that I would be traveling to the Baltimore area to conduct a training at Johns Hopkins, I was excited to be spending a few days in the Mid-Atlantic. When making my travel arrangements I was intrigued at the chance to stay at The Element by Westin. Having previously planned a conference with the staff at Sheraton Sand Key Resort & stayed numerous times at the Westin Chicago River North (one of my personal favorites), I was impressed by the images and descriptions of The Element Arundel Mills. I arrived to the hotel shortly after 4pm and was troubled to find a single staff member assisting a long line of hotel guests. While in line numerous hotel staff approached the desk but did not do anything to assist in expediting the check-in process for the guests in line. After waiting for nearly 20 minutes I was able to check in. I will note that the hotel employee who checked me in was incredibly nice and was doing her best, but it was disappointing that the establishment did not provide ample staff for this situation. I finally went up to my hotel room (403) and was pleasantly surprised when entering, but after a few moments began to notice details that seemed to be missed. The floors were sticky and did not appear to have been thoroughly cleaned in quite some time. My shoes literally felt as if they were adhered to the floor at times. The rug in the living area was stained. The lighting fixtures in the living area was falling apart. When entering the bathroom there was an odor that was reminiscent of mildew and moldy linens. While working that evening I attempted to make a cup of coffee only to find that the coffee maker was broken. I am writing this review after checking in and am scheduled to be staying here for the next two nights. Needless to say I am now regretting my decision. I am quite underwhelmed by this experience. December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience! Arrival at Element Hotel was pleasant. The building looked exactly as pictured. The lobby area was calm and serene. Check-in went smoothly. Our room was exactly as booked. The bathroom, beds, kitchenette were all wonderful and in perfect working order. If there was one tiny mistake, it was in the re-stocking of the kitchenette with dishware. There were only 2 spoons, 1 knife, and no drinking glasses. Not to worry, a quick call to room service solved that. Also, the pool hours listed online did not match the actual pool hours at the hotel. Not to worry. It was 40 degrees out. I didn't feel like getting in anyway...heated or not. I was very happy hopping on and off of the Shuttle to and from Arundel Mills Mall and Maryland Live! Casino. I was so happy to have someone else drive me back to the hotel at the end of the evening. And in the morning, I was very happy to have a hot breakfast to eat that I didn't have to cook. This was a very pleasant experience overall. I can hardly wait for my next Starwood experience! November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location + Great rooms + Great staff Lacrosse travel took us to the Element - and my goodness, I'll be back. The rooms were great, spacious and clean. The Location was perfect - right close to highways and restaurants and airport. And the Staff was very friendly, helpful and kind November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great Starwood property This was a nice hotel with friendly staff.The location is close to shopping and restaurants. I was in the Baltimore area a bit longer than expected due to hurricane Sandy. November 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and facility, staff not so much! I stayed here for my birthday weekend. The rooms are great. I was told there wasn't a breakfast by the staff although other's have stated there was. My room was not completely stocked (one role of toliet paper) and I had to get literature from the cleaning lady. The front desk staff either were missing in action or taking care of what appears to be personal conversations. They need to re-staff. I would recommend it if you come with all of your own supplies. Also, my internet signal was not stable. November 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Switched rooms I had to switch rooms twice while I stayed at this hotel. The first because the ceiling was leaking. The second because the other room had no heat. I was told by maintenance that my room would be discounted due to the number of inconvenient moves I had to go through but I NEVER received that discount. However once I reached the final room I was comfortable November 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location, pet friendly, nice rooms Great location near casino, mall, and airport. Rooms are awesome with microwave, fridge, large TV, workstation, and super huge and modern shower/bath area. They say that this hotel is more geared toward long-term stays and overnighters should stay at the Aloft next door (also SPG), but I'd give this hotel the advantage. Both hotels are great, but the Element has a better (free) breakfast, larger shower, and more room amenities (fridge. microwave). You can't go wrong with either. PET FRIENDLY!!! October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We rented 2 rooms for one night while staying in the area for a birthday celebration. Rooms were quite comfortable. Well equipped kitchen in each room with a full refrigerator- not a mini fridge! We arrived late and forgot a toothbrush. Unfortunately, the hotel does not supply complimentary toothbrushes and stores were closed. The shower was lovely, but the shower floor in both rooms could use a good scrubbing. October 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by my stay checked me out of my room two days before i was scheduled to leave. cut off my room key affter i pointed out that i was not leaving until sunday morning and after they extended the reservation. shower control handle fell off. had to let the shower run 7 minutes to get hot water. the tv remote worked about half of the time. no response from maintenance when i pointed out the problem. one of the room lights was burned out. two of the hall lights were burned out. failed to follow thru on my request for a wake up call. over charged me by 52 bucks. the desk clerk with whom i talked when i noticed the room rate error informed me that she had no record of my reservation rate, that i would have to talk with the manager. the manager whith whom i talked while trying to get the room rate mess fixed up (by phone, the day after i left the hotel), indicated that she could find no record of the contracted room rate listed on my reservation (i have a copy of the email from elements with the rate she couldn't find);' indicated that she would honor the reservation rate even though she couldn't find any record of it --, suggesting, i think, that i was lying about the rate. called me a "mean, mean man" when i told her, using my adult voice, that she wasn't doing me a favor, ignorning the FACT that i had a confirmed reservation rate. what was good about the stay besides getting out with my skin: the maid. i had a great maid. if the rest of the staff was a quarter as competent as the maid, i would consider returning. unfortunately, ... October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Clean The shower curtain had stains on it. It was a fabric shower curtain that could just be thrown into the washing machine with the sheets. The couch had white stains on it. The rug had what looked like blood stains on it. AND the mattress had large urine stains on it. You could see the urine stains through the fitted sheets that were on the bed. Too bad we didn't notice them until we got up the next morning. I felt disgusted knowing that I had slept on a bed with urine stains on it. I would not expect that from an Element. This was my first time staying here, but I do not know if I will do it again. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Graet Breakfast great Gym The staff were excellent. Talin at the desk was extremely helpful.. The pull-out sofa was lumpy and not comfortable in the living room. The Gym room was clean and very good. The coffee was awesome. breakfast was great. The toilet paper in bathroom was alittle stif. Also you were out of the complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste. October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Reuniontastic Used this hotel as our host hotel for our annual singles group reunion and this hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We can be a loud bunch, but there were no complaints! The rooms are like small efficiency apartments which are great for extended stays. Also it is close to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. I would highly recommend this hotel as they not only offer a home away from home...the ENTIRE staff from the front desk, cleaning staff, and sales office are top notch!!! October 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Great, Room Design Great, Facilities Not so much! The staff made me feel like I was home. Very friendly, very responsive. The design of the hotel and the rooms are great. I enjoy the layout and appointments. The bed is comfortable. The air conditioning is individually controllable and quiet.. Negative: The maintenance of the rooms is not at the level of a Westin property. It felt like I was staying in a road-side motel. Items that were broken or not working: Shower head, soap dispenser, shower door seals (water runs out on the bathroom floor unless I put a wash cloth down to form a block), bathroom floor drain (the floor slopes away from the drain so the water running from the shower spreads across the floor instead of finding its way down this drain), and the curtain fell off during my stay. I asked for the shower head to be fixed, it did not get fixed. Room makeup/cleaning is lacking: I never knew what I would get when I returned at the end of the day. There would be a variety of towels left, sometimes wash cloths, sometimes a floor mat, but most days something was missing. Sometimes the disposable cups were replaced, some times not. I reuse water bottles and leave them by my bed side. They threw them away leaving me with no water bottle. They park the service carts in the middle of the hall with a bundle of laundry next to it. I had to negotiate around the carts. The room service personnel were very friendly though. Guests in the adjacent room had loud arguments one night, then smoked in the room the next, then had a party at midnight the next. Courteous guests are drawn to hotels where the maintenance matches their demeanor. So while the hotel can't control a guest… be aware that your neighbors may not be as courteous as those you have encountered at other Starwood properties. So the bottom line: I would recommend the staff and the property, but a regional manager or the hotel manager should do some additional training of, what I feel are otherwise very competent and friendly staff. I may or may not stay at this hotel again. Any recommendation I make would be with the above caveats. September 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Property & service not up to Starwood standards! I travel two to three weeks a month, when I can I always stay at SPG properties. I have stayed at two other Element properties, my experience was completely different. From the moment I checked in the hotel failed to meet the standards one expects at a Westin property. Took 10 minutes to check in, room was in need of TLC - the linens on the bed were stained and I requested that they be changed - I left for dinner came back, no action was taken. While convenient to BWI, I would not stay at this property. If you like SPG properties as I do - skip this one and find another property in the area. September 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice and friendly Staff was nice, but the room was very small. It wasn't fresh, was also surprised that the room wasn't carpeted. The door to the room needed to be slammed shut in order to get it closed, good thing i noticed when leaving otherwise the room would of been left unlocked. September 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bathroom has mold, window shades do not block light that is on exterior structure to make building appear hip & modern. Reception staff is excellent. After that everything is down hill :( bedding is awful! September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel meets all your needs. I found this hotel to be one of the best places I have stayed at. The staff was courteous, friendly and accomodated all needs. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting the area. Beds were outstanding-like sleeping on a cloud. September 16, 2012
  • 2016-02-13 T06:12:02.179-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_229, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_3051, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>