Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Calendar
Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 845 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great, but the elevator situation is pretty bad Now, I understand it is Easter weekend and the hotel is full, but 3 elevators on a 40 story building is pretty tough. Additionally the Elevators were constantly malfunctioning. I stayed on the 17th floor and watched 5 elevators pass my floor by before I was forced to take the stairs down. Additionally, twice on the ride up, (and this happend to other riders), I would press the floor button see it light up and 2 stops later it would reset, causing my floor to be skipped. In all I probably burnt close to 45 min to 1 hour just dealing with the elevator situation just in 2 nights. The breakfast was a zoo, but that is to be expected. Otherwise the stay was just fine. April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location We love the Element. It's at a great location, close to Times Square. The staff is great. Rooms are clean and comfortable, as you would expect from a Starwood property. Having a kitchenette and a full sized refrigerator is especially helpful for us since we have a toddler with us. My only complaint is the elevator system. There are 3 elevators to service 40 floors and I think the program the elevator system is using is very inefficient. The elevator often skips floors. We wanted over 15 minutes before an elevator finally stopped on our floor. It was going up, we hopped on anyways even though we needed to go down because we weren't sure when the next one would come. April 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buyer Beware - Hidden Charges I had a family emergency and at 8am had to leave the hotel. I spoke with the front desk and they said they would have to charge me $150 early departure fee. I asked for them to waive it - she would not then I asked to speak to the manager and not only did he smirk and laugh at me for asking (mind you I am a platinum member) he threatened to charge me the whole night (250 plus taxes) if I did not leave. This property has the worst customer service and I have reported it to corporate and the company that I work for. Avoid at all costs the staff are not accommodating to the customer's needs at all. They will laugh at you. As an update, they never waived the fee and charged taxes to their $150 fee. 9 hours at this hotel ended up being $476!!! Talk about ridiculous! January 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but elevators are too small and slow I have stayed at this hotel many times for business and it certainly has many positives. It is a good location, has a mini kitchen including a fridge, microwave and stove. The sell food and beverages downstairs which is nice. My biggest complaint is that the elevators are extremely slow every time I have stayed here. The last time I stayed it took me 15 minutes to from my room down to the lobby because the elevators were packed and slow. To make it worse the staff will use 1 of the 3 elevators basically making it unavailable to the customers. I finally got down to the lobby by going up from 16th to 40th so at least I was on the elevator before it got packed. I wasn't the only one doing this so by the time it reached the top there were 4 people already in the elevator. By the time we got back down to 32nd floor the elevator was full. I will probably never stay here again unless it is my only choice and then only on lower floors so I can walk down. April 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful two-night stay, great value My friend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights for a moms getaway. We had a wonderful time -- it's a great location for getting around the city. It's walking distance to see a show and to Penn Station and Port Authority if you are coming by train or bus as we were. I booked with points, but think it's a great value in the heart of the action whether you are using points or paying. Our beds lived up to their heavenly name and we got great sleep. The rooms aren't huge -- but that's what I expect in NYC -- but they were well-appointed. I was prepared for the slow elevator service after reading reviews, but was ok with that since we were on a leisurely trip. But we did wait a long time, especially in the morning as people were going down for check-out and breakfast. Breakfast was very very crowded - it could be hard to find a seat. But I thought the egg sandwiches were very good. I also was glad to be able to get coffee to go out and explore, since the coffee shops nearby had very long lines in the morning. My dealings with the front desk staff and bell hops were great. One man checked me out and when I returned a few hours later to collect my luggage he greeted me by name. I thought that was very impressive with such a busy property. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent option in Times Square area My first time at an Element property was a great experience. A suite night award was not confirmed, but the staff was able to upgrade me upon check-in. The living room with a kitchenette was tastefully appointed, and the bathroom and bedroom were both very comfortable. The location is very convenient to a number of Subway options, and the hotel also is located mid-block and isn't as noisy as other properties. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by NY stay The only two issue was very slow elevator service April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Euro, but Elevators Damage the Value This hotel looks very small from the frontage, but it's got lots of floors. The room was very euro appealing with a fantastic shower. I wish the bathroom had more space to put my makeup and sundries, but the box sink was beautiful. The beds were heavenly and the housekeeping was excellent. There were only two down sides to this hotel 1. The 'complimentary' food was too difficult to get because the lobby and eating area are so small compared to the number of rooms at the hotel. I never did get any free food over my several day stay. 2. The elevators are positively horrendous. I was on floor 23. Pretty high up. It took a minimum of 15 minutes to get down to the lobby EVERY SINGLE DAY. It didn't matter the time of day, morning or night. It took just as long to try to escape the problem by going up first. More than one elevator passed our floor (yes, they tell you where the elevators are just to torment you) every single day. If you want to stay here and have ANY time deadlines, be sure to book a low floor so you can take the stairs. April 13, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>