Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Calendar
Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 966 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel in a great location, very nice Picked the Element Hotel due to the location, wanted to be close to Times Square, as well as reasonable rates. Very nice hotel, excellent staff, very nice rooms. Stayed in the Element for four nights and slept well each night. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was very up to date and nice, room was very clean. All staff we interacted with were very friendly and responsive. Upon checking in we even received a free upgrade to a larger room than we had reserved. Elevators are a touch slow but that's to be expected with the number of guest rooms available. Breakfast was good but get there early, very busy later in the morning. I will most definitely stay in the Element should I need a hotel in NYC in the future. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Great new facility felt very fresh and clean. Rooms are very well appointed. Fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the kitchenette are an added bonus. Great shower and bed too. I had a quiet room. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay except The hotel was better than expected, however when I arrived early, the female at the desk told me there was no luggage storage except for behind the desk, and that it wasn't safe there. I was forced to spend $54 storing my bags in a sketchy nearby place with no lockers. Just a room full of bags. Is this how a Gold member for 3 years should be treated? After that point everything was great, but it sure left a sore spot, especially after I saw plenty of people storing their bags in a nearby room especially for that purpose. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel - we will return! We had a fantastic 8 night stay at Element Times Square in June 2014. A room with a view was our top priority and Mindy at the front desk looked after us with a room on the 40th floor. The view was amazing!!! We looked out towards the World Trade Centre site and we could see the river with all its bustling activity ahead and to the right. Looking left we could see the Empire State Building which was so beautiful lit up at night. We were very happy with our room even though we were told it was a bit smaller than normal. After a few nights in the another Times Square hotel we found our room at Element Times Square spacious and equipped with all we could ask for in the kitchen, bathroom and the room itself. The only improvement would have been an additional moveable chair so that we could both sit near the window and admire the breathtaking view. Before our stay we were concerned about the lifts as we’d read about delays in other reviews. We didn’t have any problem with the lifts and found them fast and reliable. We found the breakfasts to be generous. To avoid the crowds we collected our food and then enjoyed it back in our room. The afternoon “Happy Hours” were more than generous too. We sadly only made it to one as we were so busy enjoying all that New York had to offer. On offer was wine and local beer, crackers, cheese, salad, potato wedges and even hot finger food. I think it was available Monday to Thursday afternoons. The “Business Centre” with its computers and printers made it easy to print boarding passes etc. and the free Wi-Fi in our room and throughout the hotel was put to good use on our phones and iPad. Because we had such great views in our room we didn’t need to spend time on the rooftop terrace but we did visit it and it was a lovely area with fantastic views. All the staff were very friendly and professional and I can’t thank them enough for making our stay so enjoyable. The location of the hotel is perfect – so close to Times Square yet in a much quieter street. We walked to shows on Broadway, to the High Line and to many, many great restaurants in Hell’s Kitchen. The subway station is a couple of minutes away and, on Saturday and Sunday, you can walk down the street to the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market where you can grab a bargain! We definitely want to return to New York and we’ll definitely aim to stay again at Element Times Square. August 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Improvement I have stayed at this Element several times. This trip was not a good experience. The elevators are always a problem with this hotel, but this time the housekeeping staff took control of 2 of the 3 elevators during the day and at times all three. This makes the wait for an elevator very long (I gave up after 15 minutes and walked down 11 flights of stairs). I brought this to the attention of the front desk and he only shrugged. Also, my room was not serviced by 5 pm. I had been out of the room since 8 am. After calling housekeeping it was finally done, but they thought it had already been completed. Overall, just a poorly managed property. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slept great here! Beds are very comfortable. Having a little kitchen with full size fridge was awesome. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because we were out sightseeing. Hotel not a far walk from Times Square. A few negatives...but not a big deal...sink didn't drain well...air conditioner leaked water a few times...but room was very nice and the rain shower was delightful! Great time in NYC! August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Failure on basic customer service I travel frequently and stay almost exclusively at SPG properties. This was my first Element expereince, and I intend it to be my last. The hotel is branded as a business traveler's hotel and that it is not - it was a tourist mess. Trying to get coffee in the morning was similar to a cattle run due to terrible organization. Further the water went out not once, but twice in my two night stay and there was absolutely no pro-active management of the situation, rather they waited for guests to "notice" when they tried to turn on the water. Understanding that these things do happen, the level of customer service that came in response was absolutely unacceptable. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Night Sleep for a Good Price I stay here often and it is always a good night's sleep for a very reasonable price with close proximity to Times Square. Lots of good restaurants in walking distance. August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwoods Hotel I have ever stayed in When we checked in the desk clerk was not friendly and seemed to have an attitude. When we entered our room the floor was dirty. Looked like it had not been vacuumed at all. We were given another room and the television was broken. Could not be fixed for several hours. The second night we were there our air conditioner started to leak water and in the morning the floor including the rug was soaking wet. We were told that this happens a lot because the air conditioners freeze up. The free breakfast was like a cattle call. Long lines of people and no where to sit. This hotel has 40 floors and 3 small elevators. We were on the 36th floor and it could take 15 minutes to get an elevator and then along time to get to the lobby. i would never stay at this hotel again and would never recommend it to my friends. Very disappointing for a Starwoods property. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Weekend Stay Hotel had everything we needed and wanted! Very comfortable bed. Convenient to subway. Staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Manager on duty (Lynn W) was the best we've encountered during any hotel stay anywhere (and we've stayed in many). Breakfast was great with many different options. We would highly recommend this hotel. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel was clean The hotel was very clean. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but like the area - extremely crowded This hotel is very nice and very well maintained but extremely busy and very crowded. The rooms are not large but very well designed and comfortable. They have everything you could need for a stay in NYC. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is in the heart of NYC and the area is extremely busy but that is the price for being within walking distance to all the sites. August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great if you don't mind waiting for an elevator The hotel was nice enough for the price. While the first room I was assigned was handicap-accessible and the deadbolt didn't lock, the staff quickly switched me to another room that was fine. The gym is good, included breakfast was pretty good as well and staff were generally friendly. Overall a good value, though request a room either up high (so you have a chance of getting on a packed elevator) or low enough that you can take the stairs as the elevators are woefully inadequate for a 40 story building. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buyer Beware - Hidden Charges I had a family emergency and at 8am had to leave the hotel. I spoke with the front desk and they said they would have to charge me $150 early departure fee. I asked for them to waive it - she would not then I asked to speak to the manager and not only did he smirk and laugh at me for asking (mind you I am a platinum member) he threatened to charge me the whole night (250 plus taxes) if I did not leave. This property has the worst customer service and I have reported it to corporate and the company that I work for. Avoid at all costs the staff are not accommodating to the customer's needs at all. They will laugh at you. As an update, they never waived the fee and charged taxes to their $150 fee. 9 hours at this hotel ended up being $476!!! Talk about ridiculous! January 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is a black eye on SPG and the Element Brand! Checked in yesterday (SPG Platinum), room was not ready at check in time (3pm) was told it would be later, waited 45 min, still no room (it was ready the front desk said but they had to inspect it) so instead of waiting any longer I left luggage locked up at hotel bell desk while I ran errands. Later on got room, finally, but floor 22 (out of 40+), then at 7pm - NO HOT WATER. Fast forward 24 hours later (Sunday at 7pm) Some warm water - need to let water run for 15 - 20 min then it gets warm - but not hot. They dont have an ETA on when the building will have hot water. ...! Oh and I spoke with the manager on duty yesterday (his name starts with M) and he said that b/c I did the SPG prepaid online rate, I cant get a refund on my room (I booked for four nights) but he would give me 250 bonus SPG points (Yeah wow - thats so nice of him! LOL). This hotel is a black eye to the upcoming Element Brand and SPG as a whole. February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good exiperence It was only a short stay but the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable My wife and I arrived on January 12th around 4 PM, for a mixed business\pleasure trip. I had reserved a King bed room well in advance. When we arrived at our room got two double beds. We were not told this. When I called the front desk, I was told nothing could be done about it. At 6:30AM we were woken up by a WAKE UP call! We did not schedule one. Around 9 AM as we are making business calls, the fire alarm goes off for several minutes in our room. We called the front desk and were told that this was a scheduled test and that it was now over. However it continued for several more minutes. When we advised the Manager of all these issues we were told that there were King room available if we had been willing to wait. That is not what the front desk folks told us. We did get a bottle of red wine and an apology note. Unfortunately I don't think it makes up it. January 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by BEST Housekeeping WORST Elevator I stayed at this property for a total of 5 nights, and the BEST thing is that I left my $30,000 AP watch in the room and forgot to bring it with me to Boston. Amazing Beatrice from Housekeeping actually picked it up and put it into Lost and Found! I was able to find the watch later on after calling for it. I am telling you Management, Beatrice deserves an award for her honesty (I went back trying to find her, but she left for the day. I will try to visit her again). Now comes the not so good part: T-H-E ELEVATOR! There are only 3 elevators at this property. If you are like me, staying during high season (July - August), be prepared to wait at least 5-10 minutes for the elevator. No, I AM NOT KIDDING. it did take me 10 minutes just to get down from my room to the lobby one day. Other than that, I still would recommend the hotel, ONLY during off-season. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by never again Not a hotel I would ever use again, lowest quality SPG hotel I have stayed in January 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New York Attitude! This Hotel was a great place to stay. Great location and room was very comfortable. There were a couple things not up to Westin standards. The concierge had a big attitude and was not interested in going out of his way. BUT, the manager of the hotel dealt with this. It turns out that this service is outsourced and she will look into it. The hotel manager went out of her to make this up to me. The desk staff is often overwhelmed and if yo call the front desk at that time they talk fast and want you off the phone. But they were always courteous. July 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overbooked We booked (by phone via the corporate office) and PREPAID the total amount for a total of 9 days at the element in new york. We spent 100 dollars to take a car from a wedding on saturday night at 11pm to check in at the element. When we arrived, we were told that the hotel was overbooked and we did not have a room to stay in. We lost money, time, and our spirits because of this. They ended up putting us in another hotel for the night and we came back the next day. On top of that the other hotel charged my card for 2 nights even though Element was suppose to be paying for it. Now I am back in houston and still disputing the other hotel charges from many miles away. It is sad that this all happened because the actual hotel facilities were amazing. June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location. Great bed. The Element is close to the areas we wanted to visit. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was professional and helpful. Although they had difficulty keeping breakfast food supplied, the food was really good. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent stay I really liked the room itself and the staff was pleasant but the elevator situation was enough to make me not stay at this hotel again. It seemed way too crowded and it took me 20 minutes to wait for an elevator to check out. Also, it's pretty hard to get a cab around the hotel which is a big deal to me. Otherwise I did like the room and slept very well here which is important as well. I think it's more of a family hotel than a business hotel and I was there for biz. August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood hotel stay since I joined in 1999 The hotel experience at the Element was terrible. The check in process was long and they have no place to hold luggage and then lost my luggage while holding it, I finallly had to find it myself. Very cramped lobby and the slowest elevators I have ever encountered. The housekeeping staff did not speak english and I could not communicate my needs. The hotel is next to a male strip club and there was tons of garbage all over the street and curbs. I was embarrased that I brought my wife here for what was supposed to be an enjoyable Saturday overnight stay . December 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is nice Great Location; Low waits for elevators, waiting for an elevator for 15 min while watching 3 or 4 elevators pass by our floor. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than I first thought The hotel ended up being better than my first impression - which was not good. When I arrived, the lobby was in chaos, your computers were 'slow' so checking in took a long time, there was a repairman on my floor blocking my way to my room, he had the ceiling open and debris was everywhere, there was even trash on the floor of the hall. When I returned later that evening, everything was cleaned up and orderly. The room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the walls are very thin, however, and I could hear every noise coming from neighboring rooms. The elevators were also very slow. Although there were three, it could take more than 20 minutes for an elevator to reach me on the 38th floor. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location with all the perks! I cannot stop raving about my recent stay at the Element Times Square. Located right in the heart of the city, you can easily get to any part of Manhattan with a short walk to the subway. We stayed in 3604 and 3602 and had an AMAZING view of the Empire State Building, midtown, and the Hudson River. The rooms were clean, nice amount of space (especially for NY), and the beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms include a full kitchenette (dishwasher, stove, microwave, FULL refrigerator/freezer, glassware, etc). If you're staying in the city for more than a night, this is very useful. We got snacks from the market around the corner and had our own happy hour before going out for the evening. They also provide a wonderful breakfast. This is much more than your cheap processed muffins and bananas. They had scrambled eggs, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal, and (my favorite) two different kinds of meat, egg, and cheese breakfast biscuits that were already wrapped up and ready to go. Now the food wasn't 5 star, but for free it was perfect! And hit the spot for a full day of strolling the city. The hotel also offers a FREE Happy Hour with wine, beer, and appetizers! I didn't get to partake in this because they only do it Mon-Thurs, but my family who came before me got to enjoy it and they absolutely loved it. Where else in NY do you get a free happy hour?! I am so glad that we stayed at the Element Times Square, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the city. I will definitely book here for all of my NY trips. If you can try and stay on a top floor to get the best view :) July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Staff, Surprising Features The Element was so much more that I had expected - the doorman was extremely helpful to us negotiating our load in on a busy street, that having needed to drive into the stressful busy streets of New York, it was like an immediate oasis of stress reduction. The lobby is smart and sophisticated and the elevators were rocket fast. Entering the room, I was completely wowed. It was like walking into a state of the art Parisian efficiency apartment. Everything you needed to have a comfortable stay was there, clean, new and well thought out. The smart kitchen area was appointed with everything one needed to be comfortable - from kitchen utensils, glassware and upscale square china plates to the cool mini dishwasher and the stainless fridge with the "quick freeze" option should you decide to freeze your own ice in a hurry to make that first "de-stressing" cocktail. The bathroom was awesome with an extra large square sink and the over-sized glass shower stalls. Not to be outdone, was the complimentary 5:30 cocktail hors d'oeuvre hour in the lobby and adjoining lounges. Delicious wines and beers, along with soft drinks and a VERY nice buffet of both cold foods and culinary attended hot foods. The first night I was there we dined on flaky spanikopita, delicious spare ribs, sided with fresh greens salad, vegetables, a lovely hummus with crescent shaped pita crisps. The following morning, was a complimentary breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, assorted cereals, options of egg sandwiches (even a healthy option of egg white and spinach!) along with fresh juices and rich gourmet coffee. The staff (every one of them!) could not have been more kind and service oriented - from check in, to the food/beverage servers to check out - they were jewels to top off the stay. Loading out was as stress free as loading in - I had a huge SUV (unfortunate but necessary) and the doorman moved cars from the front of the hotel to make it easy to pull that monster up to the curb - I left feeling so well care for - Thank you Element team! May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs better maintenance and a focus on the customers. We've been coming to this hotel three years in a row now from Seoul. For our family, the rooms with the mini kitchen is perfect. We do prepare a lot of meals due to kid's needs. Also, the daily complimentary breakfast and Happy Hour w wine, beer and food is really a nice touch. The complimentary hotel bikes have been a great treat when I've used it to tour around the city. Very doable! Though on this trip, the bikes never came out for use. What happened? But....the hotel has certainly seemed to have let its guard down. At the entrance, I see no one sweeping the curb and sidewalk. It is dirty and trash ridden. The hotels down the street has a guy hosing down their entrance area daily. The outdoor entry area seems to be perpetually occupied by large bins of laundry in or out - unsightly and annoying. There's a " No Smoking within 20 feet of Entrance" sign and our family seems to be wading through blue smoke to get to the front door. Nasty and illegal. Shows the hotel front desk is not paying attention. The rooms....nice design, always thought so, but they are showing wear and tear and the hotel seems to always be falling behind, last year we switched rooms because the wall socket seemed to be damaged and appeared unsafe. This year, we switched rooms as our door would not lock. Otherwise, the rooms are neatly appointed and well designed for this market. The constant complaint and grumble you hear in the lobby and the elevators is just how long you have to wait to get on one. About 440 rooms over 40 floors with three passenger/freight elevators?! - that's really a bad design. It may have given Starwood extra revenue for the rooms they crammed in per floor, but it annoys the guests to no end. As we were on the elevator the last day, we met a nice lady from Australia who said she was so annoyed by the elevators that she would never come back to this hotel. The service is ok. Most of the people should not be in the hospitality business. I do not think they were trained to Starwood standards. It's disconcerting. Upper management should really take note of this. In the end, the hotel has great ideas but is now falling short on follow through. You get the sense that the idea of an "Elements Times Square Hotel" looked great on paper between the suits at corporate but is falling short at the frontline due to lax management and lack of standards. I hope they shape up because this hotel deserves better. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unacceptable To whom it may concern, We stayed at the element hotel at times square for a week over new years. I am an american but live on Australia with my Fiancé and took to the the US for the first time. We did not have hot water for four days, and one day we had no water at all. We understand that these happen from time to time, but the level of customer service was unacceptable. The staff and managers that we spoke did not perform in a professional manner in dealing with the situation. They did not try and move us to another room. and after three days of not having a shower we finally were able to take a shower in another room. This in turn effected our travel plans and our trip to new york. in summary, the staff and managers did not do the necessary actions nor any compensation whatsoever to show empathy or attempt to diffuse the situation. We will not recommend this hotel in the future. January 4, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>