Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1219 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Starwood property in NYC Great inexpensive hotel for those traveling to New York City. Have stayed here multiple times and every time has been great. Staff is amazing and allow early checking and late checkout for Starwood members. Rooms are very spacious for NYC, eco friendly, and come with kitchens including fridge. Also love the roof top area with tables with great skyline views. Short walk to Times Square and convenient to many transportation options. If you are not used to city sounds (like me) you can request a high floor to avoid noise (and added bonus of great views). We used a few extra thousand Starwood points and had a room on the 39th floor with amazing views of the Empire State Building. Would highly recommend! September 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent staff, hotel not to Starwood standard The front office staff is excellent, helpful, courteous and attenuation. Position great, but. The hotel really needs a overhaul. We had a studio, it was small, mattress shorter than the base. We were lucky to be on the 2nd floor, friends stayed thin 25th, had to wait at least 30 minutes for the lift. Breakfast rooms too crowded, went out to eat as there was not room to sit anywhere, unless you went down at 7am, guests where eating in the lobby.. Not the best look. Overall great staff and position, but, hotel really needs something to lift its appeal August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very crowded lobby. The lobby and general areas downstairs cannot handle the amount of people this hotel books in guests. The elevators are the pits. Always full going down. Wait for the next elevator. August 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel is in a great location I had never been to NY before and I had wanted some place close to attractions I recognized, so that it would be easy to tour around. I found it! The hotel is very clean, the room was really nice and I enjoyed both the breakfast and the "cocktail hour". The trip was for my birthday and upon arrival the staff at the desk was very friendly and nice. True, the elevators were awfully slow, at times, but not enough to mar the experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel August 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by AWFUL EXPERIENCE Strictly a commuter hotel. No customer service. Management is not concerned with the guests needs in any way. They are just not into caring for their guests and they are sure to let you know. Do not recommend. Worst experience with an SPG in 30 years. Awful part of town. Located in the back alley of the garment district. Filthy and filled with homeless citizens who are in need of a food and shelter, instead of living on the doorstep of this property. August 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff is not responsive This hotel offers a nice, large, reasonably quiet room at a reasonable price (by New York standards). But for me that is outweighed by problems I had with the staff after leaving a costly and essential medical device behind in my room. I called asking about it within a day of check out. At first I was told it was not found. When I expressed my incredulity at that fact and insisted on further searching, I received a call back the next day saying it was found but not reported due to an "emergency" experienced by the housecleaning staff. At that point, three days after my check out, I asked for it to be shipped to me at my expense and returned the payment authorization form for that to happen. A week after submitting the form, I wrote enquiring as to the status. When that message went unanswered I wrote again three days after that. I was then told--sixteen days after check out--that my lost item was only being returned that day due to an "oversight." The following day when I checked the tracking number it did not appear in FedEx's system, so I called again. Now, today, eighteen days after check out, it appears finally to be on its way. While I'm grateful that the item is being returned and appreciate the staff's assistance to that end, this level of customer care is exceedingly poor and, frankly, unacceptable. The long delay has wasted my time (and the staff's time, which would have been better spent simply responding to my request immediately as they indicated they would but repeatedly failed to do), and has caused health complications for me. While the hotel is clean and comfortable, I would not stay there again nor recommend it to travelers who expect quality customer service. I choose not to stay in discount hotels because I expect a better standard of service. July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by We would stay here again The staff for the most part were very nice and helpful. We stayed on the 7th floor and although we didn't have a problem we would recommend going no higher due to the slowness of the elevator.. The breakfast was good as well as the appetizers and drinks they have at night during the week. That helped save money on food. The bed was real comfortable, water pressure in shower not so good. The roof top area was a nice place to unwind, play cards, have a drink or eat and see the city at night. Overall It was a pleasant stay and we would recommend this hotel. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great base for NYC A couple of UK 70's year old used the Element as a convenient location for a 3 day visit. The buffet breakfast gave a good start to the day after a good night's sleep in an excellent comfortable room. We laughed at the dishwasher but enjoyed the other room facilities. Watching the sunset from the roof terrace before battling around Times Square in the dark was brilliant. Get a high room and enjoy the view. No abnormal lift problems and the staff were excellent! July 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible hotel staff I stayed here for 3 nights for work, Was the worst hotel stay I have ever had. After getting locked out of my room, I was told they couldn't do anything until the next day at 7AM. One desk agent literally told me to sleep in the lobby. The managers were no help either. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone. July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good clean comfortable hotel I slept through breakfast so I can't review but other guests said it was good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and come complete with mini kitchen for extended stays. The hotel was full and as such the elevators sometimes took a few minutes. I will definitely stay here again. July 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel was okay - Business operations was not I arrived for a 2 day reservation in June 2016. As I arrived I looked at my bank statement and saw that I had been charged for 4 nights. After explaining this they were able to quickly fix the discrepancy. Unfortunately 5 days after my stay I received another transaction for another night. I called in to try and fix the dispute and the manager explained that she only saw 2 transactions on her end. After a few minutes she requested that I send my bank transactions to the general inbox for the front desk and that someone will reach out to me. One transaction mistake is note an issue. Two though has cemented my decision to not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you plan on paying in all cash. June 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Exceptional Bad Experience Due the Phone Outage Caused More Problem in Internal System We had this exceptional bad experiences staying Element Time Square West, New York. June 12, the day of the phone line outage, reservation system did not show properly SPG member's information due to impact on internal reservation system. Guests blamed by the front desk staff, no professional attitude towards to the Guest, especially the front associate names Samanthan who rude to the guest, tone heavily without consider the internal system and put blame to SPG.com that reservation did not carry credit card information to reservation. 2 out of elevators in the morning never reached to 38th floor above, and stop at 37th floor and return back to lobby, one elevator only worked to 38th floor above, and made most of guests waited long time and guests missed breakfast due to elevator slowly down. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the kitchen feature in the room A great place to stay the entire staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was perfect we utilized the full kitchen. The fitness center was also perfect, plenty of machines, clean, and air conditioning was great! June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff and Hotel was awesome. I had the pleasure of being greeted by Charisma at check in - she was not only polite but friendly and knowledgeable (even knew wait time for elevator during breakfast hours) :) . She got me checked in and off to my room in no time. Charisma was AWESOME! Everyday a healthy and nutritious breakfast was served. My room was super clean - thank you Felicia! I would highly recommend this hotel - it is close to everything in Times Square and the staff is great. June 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel met our needs This hotel met our needs because of location but it did have issues. We went to check in after 5 pm and our room was not ready but they offered us another room but not as nice as the one we had booked or we could wait. We took the immediately available room because of exhaustion after a 9 hour flight. The other issue was the elevator system. While there were three elevators, there was generally a long wait because the elevator consistently skipped the floors we were on but did eventually stop for us. There must have been some kind of programming problem.. The good news was the room was a good size, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good. The breakfast area was very busy but the staff did a good job keeping up (including what appeared to be a manager who pitched in and even cleaned tables). May 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Like Sleeping on a Port Authority Bench This hotel is unfortunately one of the worst SPG properties in the portfolio. Check-in Staff is rude and abrupt. I asked about internet and was cut off with "I'm working on giving you the code." Platinum recognition is non-existent. I was given a room near the elevators on a low floor that was so noisy I heard every person walk by. I lived in NYC for years so I know what to expect. This was unacceptable. Room To join the chorus of outside noise, the air conditioner sounds like a popcorn popper. The noise from that is joined by the elevators and the people next door. Elevators Forget it if you need to get anywhere. The elevator wait times average 20-30 minutes if they come at all (twice I walked down after waiting 20+ minutes). I mentioned this to a manager and he said that they were weight controlled. It made no sense as they randomly stopped on floors. Breakfast I didn't even attempt to try any of the garbage that was being served. I think the quality is fine but the presentation and the people pawing at and voraciously grabbing for anything like it was grain dropped into a refugee camp was too much for me to stomach. Wi-Fi Slow to not working at all. I'm not sure why you need a password because it barely works. I checked out a day early because I couldn't stand another minute in the hotel. This is one thing that the hotel did right. The manager allowed me to leave this prison sentence early. I guess I was let out on good behavior. May 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Perhaps one of the worst SPG property I've ever seen The lobby at breakfast looked like a refugee camp, with poor tourists clamoring for a place to sit and gnaw on their pastries and bagels. The place screams "crowded" from the moment you walk in. I found both the front desk and the manager to be indifferent. I would not stay here, ever, again, nor would I recommend it to any other business traveler. May 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hotel was Great. This is a great place to stay for business travelers. You have the ability to be in time square with in three to four blocks. Penn station is only a hop and a skip away, your food options are endless with hells kitchen. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are well maintained. The staff is always gracious and thanks you every time you stay. I would defiantly return to this hotel in the future. May 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy and Slow This was the first time I try Element, and it was proved to be a disappointing experience. When I arrived, the lobby was full of people. I could understand this though, since it located at the Times Square and property looks old. However, after I checked in at the front desk, it took me almost 10 mins to wait for the elevator to come down. A 40-50 floor hotel with only two elevators working, are you kidding me??? Although I am a SPG Gold member, the room i was assigned was on 6th floor facing directly towards a construction site. I was waken up by the load saw noise at 7:00 a.m. and you can imagine how frustrated I felt for this when I just landed a 13 hours flight from Beijing. The air con was quite noisy too. It made a loud noise "bang" every few min so I had to shut it down, Fortunately the weather in early May was neither hot or cold so it felt fine in the room without the air con. I did not ask the staff for a room change since I only stayed in this hotel one evening, but, still, it was quite below my expectation. Breakfast just OK but don't expect it to be like Westin, Sheraton or Le Meridian. Staff was friendly. Room was clean though, and as a hotel apartment, there was a small kitchen so you can make easy food here. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the NY Element My wife and I have stayed here several times and we love this hotel. The rooms are small, but bigger than a lot of rooms in the city, and they have refrigerators and the ability to cook should you so choose. However, the neighborhood is full of great places and they serve breakfast in the morning and cocktails/snacks in the afternoon so there is no need. We consider this hotel a great bargain. May 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service is shockingly poor Look elsewhere. The service at this hotel is rude and inattentive. They treat the customer as if they are doing them a favor in allowing them to stay. May 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER Not as advertised. Not a category 5, but rather a category 2. Rooms are very small. Bathroom was not cleaned when we arrived, nor the entire long weekend. Room was not swept or wiped down. Room type was not what was ordered. We requested to leave immediately, but were told by the front desk, "You may leave, but we will not refund your reservation in any way." The uncaring and unconcerned attitude of the staff, management and Starwood Customer Service was completely unexpected, since we have been Starwood members for 25 years. Very, very unhappy. Please note - the neighborhood is literally the slums of New York. May 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expect to take the stairs The elevator situation is rarely great in a small NY hotel, but this is on a whole different level. Request a low floor and don't expect management to act if you have any issues. April 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Biggest disappointment of a SPG hotel I had moderate expectations of this facility, but the hotel felt dingy, along with the rooms. Room: The floors were so hard in the room that i knocked my cell phone off the nightstand and it shattered my screen. The texture was also very odd. There were black hairs all over my "clean towels" When I would wake each morning, I would be extremely congested The blinds were broken The furniture was extremely damaged I felt dirty being in the room Hotels: The elevators - enough said. I took the stairs down everytime since I would wait over 5 minutes for an elevator to pick me up from the 7th floor. even early in the morning! The hotel over all felt very dirty. Pro: The happy hour each day - very nice addition, but use that money into renovating/fixing damage in the rooms Had I not prepaid, I would have moved. I was disgusted by the hotel and would stay at another brand before staying here again - even though I'm loyal to SPG April 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by not worth what i paid for have stayed in this hotel before but after the recent stay i told myself, like the raven, NEVERMORE! rude staff. they lied to me that i was the only one having problem with internet. they were ready to send a technician every time i complained but problem unsolved. it was like not having water in the room you paid for! i lost two days of work. staff promised that the manager will come see me when he arrives but never did. for the price that i paid, the service was SORELY mediocre. not worthy of the "Westin" name.NEVERMORE! April 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by An enjoyable stay At the Element Times square This is the Element Times square, the busiest area in NYC for tourists and business man, so of course the hotel is very busy and there are lots of people. Customers in this hotel range from tourists to family to business men or retired people. On check in, i was told there was no special check in for SPG platinum so i had to queue, a very long queue. There was only one agent checking in and 2 others behind the desk but they were not proactive enough to help ease the queue. I was extremely surprised i must say. So first impression, not so good, and it is usually the one that matter the most. Despite this mistake, the Staff are super friendly, and charming. The hotel is clean, nice , fresh, green and grey colour. Nice cosy lobby and nice lounge for complimentary breakfast and evening hors d oeuvres and free wine and beers. Quiete enjoyable actually, but not as chic and refined as a sheraton club lounge. More low key. Again , very helpful staff, charming people. 4 complimentary computers in the lobby as well. Romm is very nice , some of them with a kitchen, very clean, but bathroom is so tiny. However the shower is a decent size. The view from the 40 th floor is spectacular. There is a private terasse. There are not enough control of who comes and go in the hotel area ( including breakfast, 40 th floor tears, free coffee etc...), the result is that you see some bag packers who obviously are not staying in the hotel, coming inside for free food, or coffee or to go up to look at the view. This is a serious security issue who needs to be addressed before something happens. Anyone can go up the lifts. I had a very pleasant stay and found the hotel rather charming, and a good value because you save a lot of money with free breakfast, wine, snacks, coffee, gym, wifi, its all inclusive at the element time square! April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's ok The staff was friendly and informative. Room was ok, bathroom really small, mini kitchen was nice, but it had no use for it. The area is ok, I didn't like it. I may have liked the hotel better if I had time to take advantage of the amenities... breakfast, happy hour, gym, biz center. I was impressed by the photos, and I trust spg to be great, so maybe my expectation was too high, but I doubt I'll stay here again. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Busy For Customers This hotel was a last minute stay during our trip to New York and it is not one we would stay in again. Although the night/day we were here was fairly hectic the staff seemed overwhelmed and unhelpful. The elevators were the worst though! I've stayed in NYC hotels with slow elevators before but this was the absolute worst. We had to plan an extra 15-20 minutes into our time to get anywhere because that was the minimum wait to get on the elevator. We changed hotels to the W after one night! April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and well put together Stayed 3 nights. Loved the shower setup with the soap/shampoo dispensers rather than the wasteful small bottles. Did not use the kitchen facilities but would plan to do so on a longer stay. Elevators occasionally difficult, ended up walking down from the 27th floor on one occasion. Definitly go early for the provided breakfast otherwise not enough places to sit. March 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a dump The Element Hotel near Times Square has the feel of a decrepit residence hotel that was refurbished into something that sort of looks like a decent hotel until you actually stay there. I could still feel the souls of all the people who died there. Room was small (though this was NYC, so typical). Electrical outlets were minimal. Towels sucked. Shower leaked. TV reception was poor and there's no TV guide in the room. WiFi was spotty at best. Front desk sometimes never answered the phone, despite letting it ring 100 times. Breakfast was awful, even by two-star motel standards. And on my final night, the elevator broke, forcing me to climb and descend 32 flights. The ONLY saving grace is location. It's close to Times Square, Javits, and subway lines. That, and if you really need a kitchenette in your room. I also got a great corporate rate, which is the only reason I went with it. But not again. I'd pay more to stay in a nicer place. March 23, 2015
  • 2016-08-29 T12:54:11.110-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1219, tr_1219
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>