Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1168 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most friendly people in town!!! I have spent 5 consecutive nights at this property, and couldn't be happier about my decision to stay at Element by Westin at Times Square, NY. Their Staffs make you feel at home and they were so attentive and assertive to any of my request from room upgrading to late check-out, to any venue directions, definitely among the best of the best that may surprise any demanding guest. Aside of those wonderful people attending you wherever you move around the hotel, basically there are 3 more awesome things about hotel, the view of the city from my room 34008 (which by the way was only beaten by the 180° view from the open terrace at the 41th floor), then the more than good enough complimentary breakfast with a good selection of healthy choices, and the cherry on top was the complimentary food & beverages during the happy hour from Mondays to Thursdays, great hors d'oeuvres, wines and beer! If I have to say something not so good or better a recommendation for improvement about this hotel that would be the long waiting time to get one of the 3 lifts you may have to deal with, but If not in a rush; no problem at all. Congrats and thank you for the wonderful and joyful time I had during my stay. Ivan November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location in Downtown NY From the moment I entered the hotel the front desk staff, bellman and breakfast attendants were courteous and helpful. Everyone kept asking me how was my stay so far which made me feel like they really cared. Even the Manager Lynn Woods was there on a Sunday walking around greeting everyone in their breakfast room. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who will be in the Manhattan area. November 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not great this time... I booked a room for myself and a potential client visiting the city with his wife. The client complained of a lack of hot water (very bad) and I suffered with a beeping noise from a cordless phone with a dying battery in another room. Normally a good hotel when I have stayed in the past. November 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good room. Hotel needs work but still good. I don't go to NYC for the hotel. The dingy lobby is unimportant. The elevators can be difficult and occasionally time consuming. The room is comfortable and decent sized. It is equipped with a kitchenette complete with refrigerator and dishes/silverware, an excellent bed and shower and no bed bugs. The climate control (heater/AC) is old and noisy. The breakfast was OK. They didn't seem to replenish items within 40 min of closing. There is no recognition of platinum status whatsoever. I appreciate but don't expect upgrades (and didn't get one), but I do expect to be assigned the better rooms in the class I reserved (and again I didn't get one). I did get a good room rate on SPG.com and would choose this hotel again based on a good rate. November 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Room; No Restaurant; No Bar After driving to New York in the rain I knew there was no valet parking but I was surprised and disappointed to have to go back out in the rain to find a meal and a beer. Probably my fault for assuming too much. November 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and friendly staff Highly recommend this NYC hotel that's perfectly located in midtown! November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very efficient mid town hotel like it - clean, efficient, good location. come here when others are just too pricey. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great central hotel Fantastic customer service with a hotel in a great central position for all the New York sites. November 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The elevator never stops at my floor during peak hours It was quite time consuming taking the elevator in the morning which is ironic since elevators are supposed to save time traveling within a building. After waiting for 10 minutes where none of the three elevators stopped at my floor i decided to take the elevator going up to make sure that i can get down. All in, it took me more than 20 mins to get to breakfast on the 1st floor. Also, i was constantly awakened from my sleep by the sound of vehicles driving over the metal planks that were used to cover the street in from of the hotel which was under construction. The hotel windows were not completely sound-proof so i could hear the noise the entire night. There was no apology from the hotel about the inconvenience caused from the road construction. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by surprise wasn't sure what to expect when we got to the motel, but was very happy with the room and service November 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room Hotel Lobby reminds me of a youth hostel. Maybe because its a bit sterile. The rooms are nice - small but new/clean and updated. A complimentary bottle of water in the frig would be nice. Nice clean gym but the TV monitors on several of the machines were not working. Free breakfast is nice but was pretty crowded and again had a European youth hostel. Its a fine place to stay in NYC - good location in the middle of the city. November 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall good, but a few problems Good location, kitchenette, free wifi and breakfast. The check out staff was very responsive when I mentioned the elevator issue, and explained that they were getting a new company to fix the problem. The front desk staff were very helpful. One gentleman even run to the next door to get smaller bills when they did not have enough to break a hundred. Problems: 1. asked for a quiet room and away from the elevator, but got a room right next to the elevator and hearing street noise. 2. The elevators did not stop at my floor for at least 15 minutes everyday. The front dest did not pick up the phone after my first call. 3. Some of the breakfast items were frequently out of supply. 4. Make sure to call house cleaning if you sign up the Green Choice program, even though they said they would come and clean the fourth day. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keyless Convenience & Comfortable hotel I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past few years. I always enjoy my stays but found a whole new reason to love the hotel! I tried the SPG Keyless option using the SPG App and it really made a world of difference! I was able to easily checkin on the app and was notified when my room was ready. I bypassed the very busy checkin counter and headed straight to my room. I had absolutely no problem using the keyless option and it's so nice not to worry about where my key was or if I'd deactivated it or not. My room was right next to the elevator and I was worried about the noise level. I had zero problem with noise and didn't even know I was next to the elevator. The room was clean and I love the scent in the room (and the whole hotel for that matter.) The rooms are small, but that's expected in NYC. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The keyless option will absolutely move this hotel towards the top of my list for NYC hotels. November 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is just a few blocks from Times Square. Easy to walk to many sights. The rooms are somewhat small. Had to crawl on the bed to get on one side of the bed as the window heating/cooling system was in the way. Nice to have refrigerator and microwave in room. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The staff is very attentive Hotel feels old. Elevators did not work on our last day and we had to use stairs checking out. Bed was comfortable but rest of room felt dirty. Could not find the list of TV channels, did not get a hot shower, it was lukewarm. Just overall not that great. Would not stay there again. The staff was very nice though. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Misses the mark Came here after couple of years. The interiors, lobby, the breakfast area appeared degraded from the last time. The boutique cool vibe from last time gave way to 'don't care, live with it, it's NY' service attitude. The rooms are smallish but equipped with comfortable beds and cool floors. The showers were a drip, and sink drainage half clogged, but most annoying part part was non functional phones and yo-yo wifi internet. The breakfast (although free) is uninspiring, long waits for elevator a minor inconvenience, but almost no regards for SPG platinum guest eliminates this property from any future returns. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service We stayed for 3 nights recently at this hotel, in town because I was doing the New York Marathon. The hotel far exceeded our expectations, and everyone we encountered, from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, was attentive, kind, and anticipated sore runners' needs before we even asked. They had bags of ice already prepared after the race, and handed them over right when we came back from the race. The food at breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and there was plenty of staff available to answer questions, clean up, and make sure all guests were satisfied. Thanks for helping make the marathon weekend such a blast! We felt like we were at home in our room with a kitchenette, and will definitely be back. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed We checked in on the 7th and on arrival, there was construction work going on and even the lifts were not working. we got into our room and we were immediately put off by how small the rooms where. i was glad i was only booked to stay 1 night because i don't think i would have managed an extra night in there November 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice. Great value. Pretty good location for most sites. Good sized rooms for New York. Clean. People very nice and helpful. Would stay here again. November 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience and Value for money A very busy hotel at the center of New York & walking distance to Times Square. Staff is very welcoming and helpful and accommodating to customers’ requirements. The bed & breakfast offer is really valuable although the breakfast area is always very busy & crowded but so is the case with the rest of Times Square. Room is very clean as well as the rest of the hotel. Elevators get VERY busy & delayed in the early morning. I was upgraded to a Studio which was awesome. Hotel has a laundry room that came to be very handy also gym facility is great. Would recommend definitely if planning for short visit to downtown whether for business or pleasure. November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a great location Location near Times Sq is great. And the breakfast is fantastic. November 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Platinum Member: Great rooms, not great hotel When I checked in on a busy Sunday night, the hotel staff was irritated. I received my room on the 7th floor, right next to the elevator, across from a building renovation that works 24-hours, and too close to Times Square to hear the loud speaker music until 3 AM. The rooms are small, but great. Great bathrooms. In the morning, the free breakfast was cold and the elevators were broken. As a platinum member, I would have expected the mgmt to be aware of the construction, elevator, etc and received a room on a higher floor away from the elevator. November 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good price, that's all The room was adequate in size. The quality of the furnishings was in line with the price (which was good for the location). Cleanliness was a bit of an issue. Corners of the room were not as clean as I would like. Paint splatters were on the floor from the last paint job. The outside wall was drafty. We were on the 8th floor and the outside street noise kept us awake all night. I requested a wake up call on our day of departure and didn't receive one (Good thing I set my own alarm). Even considering this is a lower-priced Starwood offering, this hotel didn't meet my expectations and I won't be back. I'm willing to pay more next time for a better experience. November 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Small Horrible check-in experience, problems with the room and location. Disappointed with the city view, Not happy with construction outside our room. Was a special birthday celebration for my husband. Lobby crowded with overworked staff unable to confront any problems. It could of been a better stay in NY. We have had much better hotel experiences in the past staying at Starwood Hotels. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorit hotel in NYC This is a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have a mini kitchen and they also provide breakfast and a happy hour. The only downfall is the slow elevators...during peak times, it may take a while to get one. November 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very comfortable stay My partner and I had business in NYC and decided to stay at the hotel because of its location. We enjoyed our stay, loved the heavenly beds and found the location convenient but were disappointed in the cleaning staff. We left early most days and sometimes returned miid-day to find the room still not made (it interfered with our working in the room). Upon check-in, my partner who has status wanted to use his SPG card and put his name and number on the room. We were told that since I made the reservation, he would not be able to use his benefit to upgrade (and the rooms were clearly available. Per the mgr. we would have to pay $100/nt! We stay at SPQ hotels worldwide and felt this was unfair. This was upsetting but the MOST frustrating thing about staying at the hotel was the elevators. During the morning and evening rush it took us about 10-15 minutes to get down from the 22nd floor. We cautioned other guest (as they us) to budget extra time for those trips down. Thankfully, no one had an emergency or needed to get down quick or that could be a problem! October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We stayed for 4 days at the element, and it was fantastic!! Staff are friendly and amazing customer service. Rooms are clean and the views are amazing too. I will tell all my friends .Keep up thr great work!! and family to stay at element Hotel in NYC October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutly Accommodating! We had a baby and food allergies, neither of which were any problem at the Element. Breakfast accommodations were easily made and the Crib we were provided with for the baby was a full out mattress which lead to everyone sleeping better. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in NYC. The Kitchenette was perfect for making or packing lunch and dinner on the go and we were so close to everything yet far enough away that it was quiet for sleeping. Hotel Staff were wonderful and made us feel right at home. There was a simple but effective workout room in the basement and a beautiful little roof top too. If your looking for a central base when your staying in Manhattan NYC this is the place to be! October 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators! The elevators during breakfast and at other prime times can take 15 minutes to come. I will not stay here again October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience The location was perfect. Staff was extremely helpful and responsive. Morning breakfast was just right. Will make a point of staying at the Element on our next trip to New York. October 27, 2014
  • 2015-07-06T14:07:11.811-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1168, tr_1168
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 40 next>>