Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Calendar
Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1100 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by NYC Sites Base of Operations I was initially going to roast this hotel, but then I really started thinking about its merits and some of the other stays I've had in NYC, and came to the conclusion that my stay at Element was uneventful and not noteworthy and that that is a good thing. . . no lost baggage, no snotty concierge, no rude front desk people. In fact, the front desk staff were extremely cordial, housekeeping was patient, and the hospitality staff who restocked breakfast were responsive and helpful. Everything at the hotel went right (and they even upgraded us to a studio room) and I liked it. The location was pretty much perfect for showing someone new to the city Times Square, Fifth Avenue, and Rockefeller Center, and it's a cinch to get anywhere else using the subway. If you want something a little more novel, off-beat, progressive and laid-back, and you are looking for a tourism base of operations, stay at the Element. November 17, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Hotel *No hot water suddenly,and no contact from hotel before our complaint. *The answer did not come from the hotel manager.(Reply on compensation to the inconvenience of hot water did not come out) *Elevator does not always come. *I asked the taxi to the doorman, I was subject to negotiation of a friend of his taxi(not yellow cab!).I could not believe!!He has a different business. January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a good hotel for platinum members I stayed two separate times over the last 2 weeks. First time, the reward for a platinum member was a room directly across from the elevators and probably the smallest room on site. Second time, I was made aware that Platinum members do not get a guaranteed room when booking 72 hours in advanced. It is only when there are rooms available which is different than advertised. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and Staff make it a winner How lucky we were to find this hotel in the middle of NYC. Within walking distance of everything, Penn station, Times Square, Shopping and great restaurants. Staff was so helpful especially Fred the bellman who went above and beyond to make sure all went well. We would definately stay here again. One minor glitch are the slow elevators in the morning rush...plan accordingly November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oasis in the Concrete Jungle The big city moves fast and the staff, surroundings, room amenities, all come together to slow is down and provide the necessary oasis to renew and rejuvenate. The Heavenly Bed, is well heavenly !!! Hors d'oeuvres and a complementary beer at 6:30 pm, and a hot breakfast at 6:30am before heading out to take on the day was terrific. Thank you for the much needed respite. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suprising Room Amentities We were very pleased to discover a full size refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, microwave and stove top.In addition,the bed was extremely comfortable and the rain shower very soothing. The roof top was a nice touch for added city views. This Hotel is clean, has a good location and morning breakfast provides hot and cold choices to enjoy. Overall a pleasant stay... August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room for improvement invest in heaver window treatments. Sheer blinds are inadequate for NYC in particular, impacting comfort Clean the floors, including underneath the beds. I dropped something just at the edge underneath the bed and it was extremely filthy as if it had not been cleaned since the beds were put in place. The amt of dust, lent, etc was atrocious. May 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Small Horrible check-in experience, problems with the room and location. Disappointed with the city view, Not happy with construction outside our room. Was a special birthday celebration for my husband. Lobby crowded with overworked staff unable to confront any problems. It could of been a better stay in NY. We have had much better hotel experiences in the past staying at Starwood Hotels. November 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but elevators are too small and slow I have stayed at this hotel many times for business and it certainly has many positives. It is a good location, has a mini kitchen including a fridge, microwave and stove. The sell food and beverages downstairs which is nice. My biggest complaint is that the elevators are extremely slow every time I have stayed here. The last time I stayed it took me 15 minutes to from my room down to the lobby because the elevators were packed and slow. To make it worse the staff will use 1 of the 3 elevators basically making it unavailable to the customers. I finally got down to the lobby by going up from 16th to 40th so at least I was on the elevator before it got packed. I wasn't the only one doing this so by the time it reached the top there were 4 people already in the elevator. By the time we got back down to 32nd floor the elevator was full. I will probably never stay here again unless it is my only choice and then only on lower floors so I can walk down. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay at this Hotel My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a week long vacation to NY. I had covertly reserved a 2nd room for a birthday surprise (her parents coming from South America). The desk staff (Adam) were great.. They did not spill the beans or mention the other room. The staff was always friendly and attentive and were constantly hustling to help guests. The only negatives to this hotel: 1) there are only 3 elevators for 400+ rooms. Getting up and down during peak times was a pain, but we knew about this prior to our stay there. 2) The breakfast buffet always had the same food with no variation. 3) The rooms were a bit small. i.e. had to squeeze between the AC unit and bed to get into bed each night. 4) PCs in the business center were slow or didn't work some of the time. Other then that, we very much enjoyed this hoel.. Location was great and within walking distance of most things we wanted to see. It was clean, quiet and well maintained. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast and elevators are a mess Overall, the location, the room, the staff, were great, but the noise of the air conditionner in the room was absurd, the craziness of finding a place to eat during breakfast and serving was ridiculous and the insufficiency of the elevators (20 minutes of wait to be able to get down during breakfast rush!!!) was simply not acceptable! April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 What more could you ask Stayed at the Element, Jan 21st for 5 nights, on arrival after being delayed at the airport, greeted by the nicest staff i have ever encounted. Brooke in particular was so helpful.happy hour at the hotel is the best thing i have come across free drinks and snacks after a long day, free breakfast in the mornings, the room was on the 29th floor not once did we have an issue with the lifts but saying that we were on holiday so no need to rush room had large fridge and hob if you wanted to eat in..my only downside was i had to come home because i really felt at home there, a major factor to this hotel are the staff, every last 1 of them. Thanks for a great stay. see ya soon January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value, clean and comfortable room The room reminded me of hotel rooms in Europe...small and well designed. The refrigerator was nice to have. The bathroom is very nice. The room was clean. The breakfast was good although they ran out of one of the breakfast sandwiches and never replenished it. The coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the lobby was welcoming as I was there during cold rain. There was no Starwood elite recognition whatsoever. I don't have grandiose expectations and don't expect upgrades but I do expect to be given one of the better rooms of the class that I booked. This was not the case as I was next to the elevator in a smaller room on a lower floor. The elevators, well, if you're reading this you read the others so don't expect much. I never waited more than 10 min. Great value for the price for a clean comfortable room and no bed bugs. December 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mediocre quality I stayed at room 409. Tiny little room. No complimentary water for platimum member. The quality of breakfast was lousy at best. I will never stay there again unfortunately. This hotel probably works for a leisure travel. for a frequent business traveler like me who has a higher standard, this hotel does not pass the test, September 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cozy and convenient I was in town to run the marathon. It was perfect for me. The location was central for all my needs. I don't care for elevators so I stayed in 204 which was relatively quiet and easy to access. The daily breakfast was good and staff excellent. The room was cozy and the bed real comfortable. I will stay here again. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap and exceedingly cheerful! This is what a city hotel should be! Free wifi and breakfast, coffee, tea & water available in reception at all times & incredibly helpful and happy staff. If there's a downer at all, the wait time for the elevators could be several minutes at breakfast time. Thanks all, I'll be back! November 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This was the first time staying at this hotel and it wont be the last, not only was it in a great location but staff was friendly and you can tell that its a hotel that likes to engage with their customer. Overall the room was very nice decorated and very comfortable. November 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Staff, Good Hotel Very convenient location to everything you need. Port Authority, Subway, food, etc. It's far enough from the madness of Time Square but still close that you can get to in just a few minutes of walking. The staff was fantastic and extremely helpful. The room was clean and the bed heavenly (as the name says). Best above all is that they used hardwood floors instead of carpets, a big plus! The kitchenette is really convenient and the fridge in the room (incl. freezer) was a great bonus. The only downside of the hotel is the elevator system. I wasn't able to come up with a logic on how it operated but going down from anytime between 8am and 9:30am is a nightmare! Other than that certainly worth the stay. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value and location Good value with great facilities and friendly helpful staff. Great location for a first time visit to New York. Good breakfast included and complimentary tea, coffee, fruit etc always available. Also free wine and beer at happy hour 4 days a week! March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal in town Fantastic staff, thoughtful amenities (weeknight happy hour, free breakfast), nice design, convenient location. The only drawback in elevator wait times at peak traffic points--easy to work around. Have stayed here before and will again. September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience and Value for money A very busy hotel at the center of New York & walking distance to Times Square. Staff is very welcoming and helpful and accommodating to customers’ requirements. The bed & breakfast offer is really valuable although the breakfast area is always very busy & crowded but so is the case with the rest of Times Square. Room is very clean as well as the rest of the hotel. Elevators get VERY busy & delayed in the early morning. I was upgraded to a Studio which was awesome. Hotel has a laundry room that came to be very handy also gym facility is great. Would recommend definitely if planning for short visit to downtown whether for business or pleasure. November 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Messed up Wake Up Call I liked the room and considered it a good bargain. The staff was friendly enough but I had 2 major complaints. I checked in Friday night and was told the breakfast hours were 6:30-9:30. I woke up at 9:35 the next morning and was bummed I missed the breakfast. I later learned it went until 11 on weekends. Would have been nice to know. My major complaint was the fact I asked for a wake up call which I got an hour and fifteen minutes early. I called to tell them to please reschedule that for an hour later. No call came. Thankfully I woke up in enough time to race out of the room and make my flight at JFK. If I wouldn't have woken up on my own I would have had a huge inconvenience. February 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 This hotel has amazing features... Buffet breakfast, happy hour throughout week, rooftop seating area, close to Times Square...the staff went above and beyond to meet our needs, especially hailing down taxis in rush hour traffic in the pouring rain!! Thank you!! August 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by my recent stay Lobby was very messy, not a big deal - took over 20 mins to get an elevator on Friday am to check out - I typically stay in Time square twice a month and this was the longest elevator wait I have ever had - pretty frustrating March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our stay in New York City We arrived on Thanksgiving Day and were immediately greeted by the staff with "Happy Thanksgiving". Our check-in was fast and efficient, and we were presented with a map of the Macy's parade as soon as we asked. Ivory explained to us how the parade route worked. We could not check in until 3;00, but we were still invited to enjoy the continental breakfast in the lobby. Our bags were kept secure at the hotel while we attended the parade. Our room was spotless. In addition, we had a full kitchen. The television was mounted on the wall and had a great picture. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. They ordered a ride for us back to the airport, and the vehicle was clean, and the driver was waiting when we got outside. We will stay there again. December 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elevators The elevators are not working properly at Rush Hour (mornings and evenings). I suggest you look at their programmin to make them not stop at every floor when they are full. Otherwisem great experience. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! Stayed here for a week on business. Great hotel--very friendly staff all the time, great breakfast offering, complimentary happy hour, free wi-fi=very happy customer!! Nice European decor--loved it! February 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by small but well located. My husband and I have stayed at this NYC ELEMENT several times. It is well located for us. The rooms are small but well appointed. We have noticed that there seem to have been cut backs on any offerings for both the breakfast and happy hour. This a nice touch but the room is always crowded. This last visit it was even hard to get a cup of coffee. Elevators can be a problem at peak hours. All this being said we will be back. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by elevators The elevator situation is terrible. I would never stay there again. up to 40 minute wait on elevator at busy times of day. I had to walk 25 floors sometimes. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel Ever Had a great stay guys, thanks for the hospitality, staff were always very friendly and helpful, please give Ivory a raise, she is the best! May 20, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 38 next>>