Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Calendar
Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 1027 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible elevators I've stayed here numerous times. Normally a slow check-in experience but this time it was smooth and quick. No Gold level amenity offered however. Breakfast is great. My biggest issue with the hotel are the elevators. There is always a long wait. I find the elevators extremely frustrating. They are nor synced and always seem to be on a high floor when waiting in lobby. For this reason I usually stay at Four Points a blick away. January 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE A KITCHEN! Green is the way to go! Very smart hotel, clean, well appointed and bright. The staff was amazing! Funny, friendly, actually happy to be working REFRESHING! If you are a Broadway lover, this is it. You are right in the thick of it, but not on a crazy street. Out the door and left Times Square, out the door and right Hells Kitchen. Room was really nice and since we stayed 3 days the kitchen saved us a fortune. We will be back! May 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to expectations and rooms much smaller than pictures Rooms are VERY small compared to pictures on the hotel website. I'm used to small hotel rooms in Europe and NYC, but this was truly the smallest I've seen in a long time. The king bed took up almost the entire room, and you couldn't walk on one side of the bed at all. Website advertises the bed as the Westin Heavenly Bed. This is not like any Westin Heavenly Bed I've ever slept in. Mattress was much harder, pillows, duvet and linens not nearly as comfortable as a true Westin Heavenly Bed. Decor of room is trendy, but quality is not to typical SPG standards. I fear what the hotel will look like in another year. Trying to adjust the shower head in the bathroom led to the entire shower bar coming undone. Location is great if you want to be near Times Square, but there are much better options in the area and the actual street the Element is on is not all that nice. November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience at Element I had never stayed at an Element although I am a long time SPG member. The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were nice and clean and I was pleasantly surprised by the fully equipped kitchenette. Workout facility was nice and the happy hour with free drinks and appetizers was a treat. As was the complimentary breakfast that was much more than just a continental breakfast. I look forward to staying at an Element again! September 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Experience I wanted a two day getaway for my recent engagement and was highly disappointed by my stay. I had five friends and family over to meet us in our room before we go to a lounge and hotel staff harassed us three times saying we were too loud! We all were not even loud but the point is if your Hotel is located in Time Square and it is Friday night what do they expect? A hotel in Montana or something? The third time Hotel staff showed up we were threatened to be thrown out and my cousin was furious because she works at a Hotel at another location and wanted to complain but I didn't want the hassle. My cousin stated it is NEW YORK and its not our fault if the walls are paper thin if guests complain staff should change their room not harass us! Well this will be the last time I ever stay here and the negative word of mouth on social media about this experience will work TEN fold to not have anyone stay at the ELEMENT TIME SQUARE!!! August 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel should be on Hotel Impossible The check-in process was fine, but my room was disgusting. As soon as I walked in the door, you could tell the floor had not been cleaned. There were staples on the floor in the hallway in plain sight!! You could see dust bunnies and other debris all over the floor. Then, I walked into the bathroom and found hair on the wall by the towel rack, other crap on the wall by the sink, and the towel rack had paint all over it because they failed to remove it or tape it when painting the walls. I asked to have my room cleaned again and they managed to pick up the staples on the floor (I specifically told them), but the hair on the wall was not removed and I just knew the room was not truly clean. I actually went to the store and bought antibacterial wipes and cleaned the room myself. Not something I should have to do for a $200+ night hotel. I will never recommend this hotel!!! January 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great if you don't mind waiting for an elevator The hotel was nice enough for the price. While the first room I was assigned was handicap-accessible and the deadbolt didn't lock, the staff quickly switched me to another room that was fine. The gym is good, included breakfast was pretty good as well and staff were generally friendly. Overall a good value, though request a room either up high (so you have a chance of getting on a packed elevator) or low enough that you can take the stairs as the elevators are woefully inadequate for a 40 story building. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Infrastructure Problems diminish experience I like the Element concept - they are pretty basic rooms but comfortable and a kitchenette which is really nice feature. The big problem with this hotel is infrastructure issues which are not easily resolved. With 40 floors and 411 rooms, the infrastructure is simple insufficient: 1. Elevator Hassles. There are 3 elevators and apparently no service elevators since housekeeping utilizes same elevators and they are sometimes taken out of service to bring down trash etc. In the morning it is not uncommon to wait 10+ minutes to get an elevator. I have stayed here several times and it is a persistent problem. I usually end up taking the stairs if I am below the 20th floor. 2. Hot water. Do you like cold or warm showers? Neither do I. If you try to take a shower during peek bathing hours, this is what you will get. Other than that, it is a nice hotel. But, I won't be staying there again. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay. Period. First of all the Element brand is awesome. On top of that, this property has a great staff, wonderful rooms and all of the little things you want as a business traveler. The rooms are like small apartments with every creature comfort of home. The location is good for food, fun and business. You can get anywhere in mid to lower Manhattan fairly easily. You will be glad you stayed here. Really. July 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A disappointment I had high hopes to try SPG's new Element hotel. It was the same points as Westin, but I was interested in giving it a try, and liked the idea of the mini-kitchens in each unit. The first problem was that we had booked adjoining rooms given we have two young children (4 and 1 years old). However, when we arrived they said they were not able to accomodate us and only were able to have us on the same floor. This required my wife and I having to split up (one with each kid), and basically having to go to bed at 8pm (bummer for our vacation). The hotel was able to correct this the next day, but that was disappointing. In addition, the hotel seemed overwhelmed with its crowds given the holidays, and the service level of the front desk and bell man suffered. Lastly, the elevators in this building are inadequate to keep up when it's busy. You often waited, at times up to 10 minutes for an elevator! December 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrid -- Walked OUT I walked out and found another room in NY after seeing a scruffy and dirty lobby and not much better room. This is not a category whatever and certainly was not the experience I had thought would be on offer. It was a difficult evening and changing my hotel room for the evening meant I postponed a meeting. But -- I was lucky to find a much less expensive but much nicer proper nearby. July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still waiting for the elevator 3 elevators are not close to enough to serve a 40 floor hotel with minimal rooms per floor. I waited 10 mins with my luggage before walking down 7 floors. I heard other people talk about much longer waits. This is one hotel where you don't want to be on a high floor. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bright and clean space close to everything! This is my second time staying at the Element and I found it just as great as the first! The room and faculties are very clean and bright. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is just steps from the heart of Times Square and very easy to get around. And the breakfast buffet and free wifi are just added touches that make it what will now be our go-to place to stay! August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by New York Attitude! This Hotel was a great place to stay. Great location and room was very comfortable. There were a couple things not up to Westin standards. The concierge had a big attitude and was not interested in going out of his way. BUT, the manager of the hotel dealt with this. It turns out that this service is outsourced and she will look into it. The hotel manager went out of her to make this up to me. The desk staff is often overwhelmed and if yo call the front desk at that time they talk fast and want you off the phone. But they were always courteous. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in NY I've stayed in a lot of Manhattan hotels, and this is my favorite. Large comfy room with excellent attention to detail. January 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Guest room The room was not what i expected. The elevators took over 10 minutes to pick us up every time from our floor. One of the days i had to walk down the stairs in order to get to the breakfast on time. Washroom Mirror was chipped in the corner which scratched my finger and the sink did not drain and would fill up to the top. There was a big leak in the shower where excessive water was coming down from the pot light. Worried about the electrical we did not use the washroom to get ready to go out. Called the front desk to report both things but about 10 minutes later received a call that engineering was busy with another call. Both the sink and the shower was fix by the time we came back. The room temperature was difficult to control. At night time it seemed that because the unit was on a motion detector that the unit would not turn on and therefore it got cold. The Breakfast was ok, but you needed to coem down early to get a good selection. November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great while in town for a convention I stayed here while managing an event at Javits Convention Center. This hotel was a quick walk or taxi ride to Javits and also other stores I needed to run errands to. It was clean and upscale, and I had an enjoyable stay. The free daily breakfast was a lifesaver! Very friendly front desk staff as well, I felt very taken care of. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Element Times Square is the Best! Just spent the week there and have to say it was a very pleasant experience, despite horrific weather and the super bowl madness in NYC. I travel for business 45 weeks a year and stay in a lot of SPG properties as a Platinum Member. Staff was the best, and know I will be staying there again on future business trips. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Many have tried, but few have succeeded. Remember this when visiting this Hotel. They are one of the few that have. Top notch, friendly staff make this a very enjoyable stay and the heavenly beds, well, heavenly! Thanks to all the staff who go out of their way to make you feel special. Thumbs up---even Roger Ebert would say this!! November 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slept great here! Beds are very comfortable. Having a little kitchen with full size fridge was awesome. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because we were out sightseeing. Hotel not a far walk from Times Square. A few negatives...but not a big deal...sink didn't drain well...air conditioner leaked water a few times...but room was very nice and the rain shower was delightful! Great time in NYC! August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by an all round brilliant experience! My husband and I were hugely impressed with the facilities and location of this hotel.But the best thing by far was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.. nothing was too much trouble, and every effort was made to help and make us feel at home. Will definitely be visiting again! Very impressed indeed! Thanks guys xx March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was way beyond what we expected. A++++ From the moment we checked in to the day we checked out, the Element Times Square had outstanding customer service. Mr. Lee at the front desk was extremely helpful and professiional upon check in. Throughout the week we were greeted and helped at breakfast and afternoon social by Russell. He was very friendly and helpful beyond our expectations. We even got to talk to Mr. Young the Manager of the Hotel. When we met him, he was wearing an apron and helping with the snacks and drinks. Talk about hands on....outsanding. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends traveling to NYC and we will return shortly. Thanks again. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had a great stay. The hotel and staff were wonderful during our stay. Ivory took care of us and was able to put our rooms on the same floor and get us into our rooms in a timely manner. This was our second trip to New York and we specifically asked out travel agent to put is back into the Element since we had a great stay a year ago. October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel in great location Stayed at Element recently..rooms are great with kitchen facilities, rain forest shower head is divine, beds are so comfy and sheets are high grade. The location is very convenient for walking everywhere in Manhattan. The staff are remarkable, so friendly and helpful...will definitely recommend and stay there again! July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Element of Excellence Great localation -Mid Town just a few blocks from Times Sq, Very near a Subway, 10 min walk to the Hudson. Good breakfast though is busy and there is a shortage of seating but you can take back to your room. There is a bit of a wait for lifts in the morning but it's not the end of the world [as some reviews make out]. All staff very freindly and helpful. Room comfort and cleanliness is great. Excellent shower and matress - 2 things that make or break a hotel in my opinion and Elements passed with flying colours. Nice kitchenette but just lacking a kettle [the Brits like their tea in the morning]. Not sure you need as big a fridge/ freezer. Only downside is that the bed frame is too big for the matress. You do leave with a few bruises from hitting the hard wood corners. Room air conditioning is a little noisey but very effective. We had great view of ESB on 35 floor. There is also a nice roof top garden. Overall very good value for money. Offers style without the usual cost June 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was not attentive at all Prior to checking in, I had called ahead to make sure my room was ready as we were running late and needed to quickly get in and get out. The person with whom I spoke to on the phone said it would not be a problem and they would be able to accommodate us. However, upon arrival, this couldn't be further from the truth. The staff at thew front desk did an awful of fulfilling my request and wasn't helpful in the slightest at actually confirming what I had been told on the phone earlier. Instead, they told us originally they had no rooms ready, and then when we tried again, it said that the room was pending but they couldn't check us in. Who knows how their systems are designed, but for being a Starwood Hotel, I would have assumed they would have just made the customer happy. They clearly had rooms available, but didn't feel like going through any extra leg work to accommodate us. Bottom line, this was an awful fist experience with this hotel and I will not stay there again. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and staff We really enjoyed our stay. Your staff was excellent and the rooms were very nice. Thank you for making our trip to NYC more enjoyable. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall a pleasant stay... some room for improvement. Overall a nice stay. Location is good and the staff attentive and friendly. The room was clean and what I expected. I would stay here again, but offer suggestions for improvement. The elevators were a challenge just to get to and from the room. The room was on the 34th floor. Depending on the time of day, it took up to 15 minutes to get down to the 1st floor. I soon realized the elevators were used by both guests and staff. I once was met by an elevator full of garbage bags and workers--not something I expect from a Westin property, and/or during normal business hours. The continental breakfast, while a nice addition, could be improved with some organization by the staff. The food/eating area was always clean, but very unorganized. Never did I find a full supply of everything needed. Often, there were no bowls for cereal. If there were bowls, there were no spoons, etc. Coffee urns empty, etc. One staff member as a runner to check/keep supplies full would make the experience better for the guests. December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Comfortable and clean room. All the staff was helpful and friendly. April 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by If you expect SPG road side motel perfect Valentine's Day Break Up SPG, I wish you had an algorithm‎ that let your clients know that some of your hotels are better suited to their guests.. I would not have stayed here if I had known it was more of a communal motel arrangement. The Mgmt team was very accommodating and did their best with what they had to work with. I appreciate that. Just not what I had anticipated...but marketing is brilliant. Great brand and I appreciate that but I arrived here for my first time and plugged in my computer and phone (and departing for the evening for work engagements) as I returned the outlet did not work that I had assumed would be charging my computer after a long day of travel and usage. With that said Engineering arrived and could not resolve (again not his fault he checked everywhere...I watched). Easy solution...'put your plug in another outlet' sorry not acceptable as I was on a deadline and anticipated your electrical system to work as a motel guest would reasonably assume. Unfriended yours, Alexander V. W. Wilmerding February 11, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 35 next>>