Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Between 8th and 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • United States
  • Map
Rooms are unavailable, select new dates.
Calendar
Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 845 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay! Breakfast and social hour food and drink was very good, plentiful and diverse. Staff was extremely helpful and sincerely polite. Room was spacious enough considering New York hotels usual cramped rooms. Center of all New York venues for entertainment, dining and transportation. Room amenities were top notch and bed was a dream! February 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern design Upgraded to a bigger room. Nice ecological approach. Real plates/silverware for breakfast. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by friendly and helpful staff thank you guys! Loved everything. Highly recommend. See you guys next time when I visit the big apple :-) November 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average / OK hotel Stayed a week - visit was fine. Nothing special, nothing terrible. Just average. January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Hospitality by front desk & Manager Hi, This rating is purely based on my recent visit which was from 04/15 - 05/18. Everything was until the end of stay. but on the last day of my stay was not at all pleasant. I had requested for a late check out for 7pm since my international flight was at 11:00 pm. Though the late check out time was officially 4:00 pm, the front desk personnel agreed for the 7:00 pm check out and she mentioned she had put it on file. I had also double checked with her at around 1:30 pm when i was stepping out since I knew the room keys would not work upon my return. She had obliged to that request. But can you imagine what happened when I returned back around 5:30 pm? My bags (fortunately which were all packed) were all removed from my room kept at the cloak room in order to accomodate the over booking during the day. This was not all a pleasing site or gesture to me who has been a loyal customer to SPG since last 4 years (infact loyal to this hotel) fyi, this is the second time that i'm in this hotel for a duration of 6 weeks plus in the last 6 months inspite of all bad reviews regarding the elevator story. In future, i would strongly recommend that this is the kind of hospitality you can expect from the staff here. Thanks May 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel with some minor annoyances The hotel has a great location. Our room size was adequate with nice amenities including a small kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. The style is modern European - clean and simple. Staff was pleasant, breakfast was fine. Our challenge was that we had to call the front desk three times to fix minor issues in the room. The battery in the thermostat needed to be changed for the heating to function properly. Twice, we had to call about the television not working and the shower handle was not attached, The cold water in the bathroom only produced warm water. Odd problems that indicates a need for more attention in the rooms. November 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cold water in thé BATH Room (2 mornings) And to much noise from ventilation and fridge. January 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would never recommend this hotel I would never recomend this hotel to anyone. The toilet was blocked resulting in its contents overflowing. The shower pipes were broken resulting in water gushing out. The window blinds would not close completely allowing light into the room . I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. March 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a great hotel! Nice, comfortable, great location. September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by New York Met and exceeded my expectations November 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel great hotel, we enjoyed it September 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just ok This was my first stay at Element. I was one of a fairly large group of people from my company there on business. First the pros: good location, easy walk to Times Square, Macy's, etc. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. But a few things made the stay less than wonderful...my first room was between two elevators and I was kept awake by the noise of wind whistling in the elevator shafts -- in between, that is, the roar of the in-room heater. As it turned out several of us had to move rooms the second day anyway as our rooms had no running water. This was arranged easily but no one offered to assist with moving bags, which I would have expected, and I was kept waiting too long for someone to bring me my new room key. The second room was actually much nicer....but the tv didn't work. One final thing that bothered me: I learned that everyone else in my party was offered some kind of 'gift' on arrival - ranging from bags of fruit and nuts, to small gift certificates for the shop, to a $50 Macy's gift card. I was offered nothing. Why the selectivity? I paid the same rate, was part of the same party. (And to add insult to injury, I was the only one who joined the hotel's loyalty program on arrival...I no longer feel the loyalty.) Oh yeah, and I never did get my requested wake-up call. Ok for the price, but fell short of service I've received at other hotels. February 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I expected more. Pros: -Big fridge -Nice decor -Modern fixtures in bathroom -Big shower with nice shower head -Lobby area had nice new iMacs that were free to use (ran both Windows XP and Mac OS) -Convenient outlets on lamps on both sides of bed. Cons: -Shower water faucet fell off, was not even attached. -When rooms were being cleaned trash/garbage was left in halls. (Halls still smelled bad hours later when we returned) -Apparently, doors are thin, could here all doors slamming shut whenever anyone around closed their doors on our floor. -Located on a side street next to a strip joint. (that block was kinda gross) -Although the mattress was comfortable, the mattress pad under the sheets didn't fit correctly so the pad was crumpled up in the corners under the sheet and we could both feel it under our feet when falling asleep. -Some outlets didn't work. -Mold in showers around fixture bases on wall. -Fan in bathroom made obnoxious screeching sound. -Shower fixture felt like it was going to fall off wall. It was nice to look at, but seemed really unstable when switching from overhead spray to the handheld attachment. I may stay at an Element hotel in the future, just not this one. For being a relatively brand new hotel, I expected more. (Especially when comparing the price to the other nearby Starwood properties.) December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent !!! Very comfortable, excellent location, complimentary breakfast and hot drinks, equipped kitchen in the room, laundry February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The little things really add up here This is a great hotel for day trips throughout the city. The free WiFi made for easy planning and the breakfasts were a must to start the day. Complementary coffee in the lobby saved us a lot of money as well! Free daily reception made for a welcome break at the end of a busy day. Great location if you don't mind the crowds of Midtown. Two down sides are: 1. The long waits for elevators (only 3 for 40 floors and they all service all floors) 2. The lobby area was always crowded and cluttered (partly due to people waiting for elevators and the over crowding during breakfast). This space could use some renovations to feel more welcoming. March 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very spacious except I had cold showers Everything about the stay was great except for the cold showers. On the first day I had a great hot and steamy shower, but on my remaining 3 days I had cold showers. After the first cold shower I called to see if something could be done. They called the engineer and got back to me. The engineer said everything was in working order and to wait 5-10 minutes for the water to warm up. So I did this, but no luck. In the middle of my showers the water became luke warm for about 10-15 seconds before going back to cold again. The elevators wait times were very minimal and nothing out of the ordinary. The staff was very friendly and personable. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing! This is by far the cleanest hotel I have stayed in ever-let alone in New York City! The lobby was small but contemporary and the hotel was in close proximity to times square, broadway, and all the shopping and great restaurants-perfect location. It isn't very far from the Port Authority either in case you take a bus in which we did. The room had floors that at least looked like wood and it was designed in a sleek IKEA modern Scandinavian way with greens and browns as the overtones. Our room had one of those frost free refrigerators and freezer and the sink next to the frig had this beautiful green and white tile behind it. The sheets were spotless and felt like silk when you climbed into bed -that is how high I think the thread count was. You can even buy the sheets for $3000 if you want to! The showerhead was one of those rain ones with little far apart holes that gave you good water pressure and also a relaxing massaging type of shower. The desk in the room had a see thru glass top with a shelf below that slid out.. The sink in the bathroom was one of those modern sinks with a basin on top . The free breakfeast the next day was delightful and very filling. We ate in their designated eating area-the greenroom but you can also eat in the lobby or other sitting area between the greenroom and lobby. I am so happy I found this hotel-will come back and also will tell friends all about it. The staff was furthermore very friendly! August 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't stay when it's packed! List of issues: - Not only was I required to pre-pay for my room because it was packed, I was stuck in a disabled room that was really difficult to deal with. Little counter space in the bathroom, lots of open space, etc. - When I initially arrived on my floor, another guest had their door propped open and a cart full of luggage parked in the hallway. When I left 30 minutes later to get a late dinner, door was still open, luggage cart was still in the hallway. After I returned another hour or so later, still the same. It's now around midnight by this time. Strange. - I requested an ironing board for my room since the one that comes in the room is for a table top. 10 minutes after I was told they would bring one up, I called downstairs again to find out what was taking so long only to find out that they didn't have a single ironing board to spare in the ENTIRE HOTEL. 40 floors worth of rooms and not one spare ironing board?? - The free breakfast was an absolute zoo; no chance of getting anything I might actually want. I'd love to see some lower sugar options for food (not just danishes). - I walked out of room one morning to find a note at the foot of the door to my room that read "please don't let your door slam". Not only is this somewhat inappropriate, it's also not my fault. I understand being polite and not waking people up, but I shouldn't be responsible for maintaining their doors and ensuring this it closes quietly. Get it together Element Times Square! October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such pleasant staff and very clean. Although I was initially taken aback by the lack of installed carpet in the room, it took me little time to realize how much more hygienic it was. The crisp, clean environment allowed me to quickly relax and enjoy it. And the well equipped kitchenette made me think about future, longer trips to NYC when it would be so helpful to have it at my disposal. To a person, the staff was so exceptionally friendly and helpful that we couldn't help but comment on it. And a good breakfast was included as well. Fantastic! My daughter will be getting married in NYC next June and we will be recommending the Element to visiting friends and relatives. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Times Square Hotel I had a wonderful stay at the Element in Times Square. I had an early morning flight coming into town and a late night flight leaving town. The staff was very friendly and helpful, holding my bags before check in and after check out. They also arranged for a late 2pm check out. The service was truly top notch. I realized that I hadn't brought any shaving supplies and after one quick phone call (at around 1am) the front desk had some delivered to my room in under 2 minutes. If you need to get to the airport after your stay I highly recommend the car service they have available. They don't advertise it but they have cars available to take you (for a flat fee) to any airport. The price to JFK airport was better than what a cab usually costs and my driver was excellent, knowing just when to take a faster detour to get us to the airport faster. The breakfast has quite an impressive spread. The usual bagels, pastries, and cereals, but also hot sandwiches, smoothies, and other drinks. There are also plenty of free newspapers every morning. The hotel is very busy and the lobby is always bustling. I never had to wait more than a minute for an elevator though, which is impressive given that the hotel is 40 stories high and has only 3 elevators. The room was very relaxing with plenty of space to relax in. The beds are simply amazing! There is very little street noise (even on the 16th floor) and the modern decor is very relaxing. Great night's sleep in a central location, in a stylish hotel, with great service and amenities. Can't ask for much more than that. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYC's finest I absolutely loved my stay at this hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful also very polite and courteous. The accommodations were excellent and the view from our room window was breathtaking. The kitchenette in the room gave it a cozy feel and made our 10 days there feel like home. Room service was great esp considering that most mornings we requested she return in an hour (we are late sleepers) which she always did and left our room well refreshed. The happy hour was also great! Free food and beer! Unheard of from a hotel! I give this hotel 2 thumbs way up and will most definitely be returning as our New York trip is annual. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by No longer my favorite business hotel in the city I have been staying at the Element since it opened and as a Platinum SPG member very happy with this choice of hotel. I have always had somewhat of an issue with the elevators....you have to wait forever for one. This week was the last straw. I was on my way to a business meeting at 9:30 and walked out of my hotel room at 8:55. The elevators were so packed with people that I couldn't get on. I had a suitcase so stairs were not an option (20th floor). Calling the front desk did not help. They said there wasn't anything they could do. By the time i got on an elevator and reached the first floor it was 9:30 and i was late for my meeting. I will likely be staying at a different hotel in 2014. December 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Despite great staff, avoid this hotel The vision for this hotel intrigued us, but we will not stay here again. There is nothing Zen about the Element Times Square. We arrived early, and the woman who checked us in put us in the worst room I have seen in a long time. I called down and asked about my SPG Platinum upgrade, and said we would understand if we needed to wait. A few hours later we were given a much better, bigger room - thank heavens, because for four nights even that was a tough go. So the pluses first - the staff tries very, very hard. And the room we had was spacious, and had nice touches like great sheets and bath products. But we ended up concluding this hotel is just a lemon and on its way down hill. a few examples... 1) Bring earplugs - the noise from the street is crazy (we were sure the window was open when we got there) but from the hallways even worse! The elevators beep every time they pass the floor and they are constantly passing floors. We were in the room farthest from the elevator and heard them all the time. I think the hotel has no sound proofing. 2) The blinds don't really fit the windows, so there is no way to really darken the room. 3) One of our phones in the room didn't work 4) Our shower floor slanted the wrong way, and so there was a giant puddle of cold water you stepped into to start the shower 5) There was a giant draft around our heating unit and so we alternated between being too warm and too cold. We looked and washers had been jammed in around the unit, and a constant flow of air was coming through 6) Breakfast is a nightmare - we tried once and decided it wasn't worth the crowds and the pushing 7) Finally the elevators. Oh my! The hotel is 40 stories high with 12 rooms on each floor and 3 small elevators. The lobby ends up jammed with people waiting (especially since there is no service elevator) and since the lobby is already crowded, it is more than unpleasant. The waits on the room floors are as bad, and when one finally arrives with space to get on, prepare to be a sardine. 8) Finally - no hot water for 3 of our 4 nights! We called down and the woman on the front desk said she would send up engineering (!?) We called back twice because no one had showed and we were heading out. When we got downstairs we found out it was widespread and they were warning guests who were checking in! They did generously offer refunds or extra points which was very decent, but still very unpleasant. So obviously this was our first and last trip. The staff tries so hard, but the predominant mood of guests is "grumpy." And I understand why! Special note to SPG Platinum members - the official policy on the Element page says they do NOT participate in the SPG Upgrade program - i have never encountered that before! They did upgrade us, but if you are going to take a chance on this hotel, I would double check. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite hotels Just a great place to stay while in NY City. The Element brand continues to impress me. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, Good Value, Excellent Service I stayed at the Elements hotel this past weekend with my daughter. When I mentioned it was her birthday, the hotel sent up a gift bag and a balloon for her, which started our stay out on a positive note. The hotel staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable. We are SPG Gold, so my request for an early check in and a late check out were granted and it was SO helpful! Definitely coming back... January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has very comfortable beds Very nice and super rooms. Friendly staff and Very good convenient location for exhibitions at Jarvis Center!!!! February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Sterile, No extras Our King Studio room was large, but strange. The Kitchenette was very functional, but the rooms do not have and dressers or drawers to unpack clothing into. Only a closet to hang clothing. If you need ice, call the front desk to have them bring a bag up to the room for your freezer. The bed has no headboard. For a suite where you can cook food and eat in the room, there's no table or chairs to do so. The rooms are plenty large with much extra space to accommodate the extra furniture that you would find in most other hotel rooms. Just thought this was a bit odd. Rooms are not soundproofed for traffic noise, sirens, etc. May 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel has a great location, close to Times Square, Port Authority terminal, and Penn Station. Watch for long elevator wait times during peak periods. The included breakfast is good, but the hot items leave much to be desired, and the staff seemed overwhelmed by the high weekend demand. Overall, I can easily recommend this property. January 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Service Upon arrival, my husband and I requested a complimentary room upgrade as we are Amex Platinum card members and one of the benefits of the card is that you are entitled to a compimentary upgrade at Starwood hotels. The manager was extremely rude and refused to give us an upgrade. He claimed that the hotel was completely booked which I find hard to believe. In this economy, a hotel with 100% occupancy (suites included) is amazing. Hats off to them if that is the case (insert sarcastic tone). As if that wasn't enough, every single time that we needed to use the elevator, we had to wait a full ten minutes. There are only two elevators for 40 floors. The hallways are not airconditioned and we had to wait the full ten minutes each time in the heat. Additionally, the location of the hotel is certainly not as close to Times Square as the website would lead you to believe. Last but not least, the complimentary "breakfast" consisted of pre-packaged gas station type wraps which were soggy and disgusting and a few boxes of cereal. We ended up having to pay for breakfast elsewhere because it really was not edible. cra May 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by DebB This is in a convenient location to Times Square and other tourist areas with a parking garage across the street.The room was clean and nicely laid out-it even had a kitchenette with stove, fridge, microwave, dishes and utensils. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The only negative is at busy times (breakfast in particular) the elevators are slow but I hear they will be updated soon. Breakfast is great - hot foods as wells as the usual muffins, cereal, yogurt etc. On weeknights they even have a happy hour with appetizers, beer, wine and soda. This is a good place to stay and for NYC standards a good price. January 2, 2012
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29 next>>