Element New York Times Square West

  • 311 West 39th Street,
  • Entre 8th et 9th Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10018
  • États-Unis
  • Carte
Aucune chambre n’est disponible ; choisissez de nouvelles dates.
Fermer
  • Pour des séjours de plus de 90 jours, veuillez appeler le +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • Vous pouvez réserver un séjour uniquement jusqu'à 550 jours à l'avance.
  • Veuillez vérifier les dates.
1 chambre 1 chambres , 1 adulte 1 adultes , 1 enfant 0 enfants
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1194 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I stayed here for 5 nights. I live it. I will stay here whenever I visit New York City. He room is very nice and the staff is great. February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Room in the Perfect Location! This room had everything. All the new tech for customers' convenience. Many plugs and outlets for your electronics and smart phones. A very large TV. A small kitchen...a nice bathroom with nice amenities...a heavenly bed for a great night's sleep...a fantastic view...wow wow wow...and to top it off...great service from a great staff. I'll definitely stay here again! February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Location - Great Value We stayed here on points and it was great, the breakfast was amazing, the location perfect, rooms were a good size for NYC, stayed here with my kids it was a perfect hotel for a NY vacation with the family. Only complaint is the elevators, they are terribly slow January 23, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by So disappointing In all of my travels, I have never encountered a hotel with such a gap between the high level of expectations created for the customer, and what is actually delivered by the hotel property. I am truly shocked that Starwood allows this particular property to bear its name. I suppose I should begin with check-in. This was my first time using SPG Keyless, and perhaps I don't understand the point of SPG Keyless room assignments, but I was under the impression that part of the appeal is that the customer can skip the front desk and just check in on a mobile device. That seems to be the expectation that the app leads the customer to believe will be delivered, yet in practice, this falls far short. I kept checking the app over the course of the day I planned to arrive, yet as of 5pm -- two hours *after* check-in was supposed to be -- I still hadn't been assigned a room on the app, and still had to stop at the front desk to accomplish this. Additionally, I was informed by the front desk clerk that the Keyless function wouldn't work until about 15 minutes after I had checked in, so I'd have to use an actual physical key at first. "But don't worry, you'll still get your bonus SPG points for trying it," she assured me. Okay, great, but doesn't this render the entire Keyless/mobile check-in function utterly useless? More on that later. Here's where the serious problems begin. Upon arrival in the room (3803 - 38th floor), I was somewhat appalled by a few things that immediately stuck out to me. First and foremost, the bathroom was utterly disgusting, and certainly not up to what I have come to expect from Starwood properties. The bathroom floor appeared completely uncleaned -- upon wetting a paper towel and running it across the floor, it almost immediately became completely black and covered in hairs and dirt -- and this is immediately upon my arrival in the room after check-in! I had to basically spot-clean all of the touch points in the bathroom I planned to use. Okay, so someone just forgot to clean the bathroom. Everything else will be fine, right? Wrong. Oh, so wrong. The main area of the room was lackluster at best. The white walls were filthy with scuffs, dirt marks, stains, and just general signs of abuse and neglect. Outlets? What outlets? You mean you actually need outlets, you silly traveler? Yeah, uh, outlets were nowhere to be found. Do you expect, at bare minimum, one of those traditional bedside lamps with an outlet installed in it? Nope. Element is marketing itself as a chic brand with millennial appeal, so perhaps a USB outlet hub easily accessible from the bed? HA! No way. Okay, what about a functioning wall outlet behind the night table on either (or at least one) side of the bed? Again, no. The only outlets even remotely close to the bed were entirely obstructed by the headboard, and required actually moving the entire bed to access them (which uncovered a horrendous layer of filth under the bed that I do not even wish to begin to elaborate on). The only functional outlets I was able to locate were in the kitchenette and bathroom. Hardly the most ideal places to plug in a laptop or phone if you hope to accomplish anything. That's right, not even the desk had an outlet! It was cluttered by a DVD player and other wires. This is something that even basic motels can get right, so how can a Starwood property get it so wrong? Well surely the room saved itself with technology elsewhere, right? Nah. Not in the least. The TV looked straight out of 2005. It was a 32-inch model at best, and to my dismay, it didn't even have an HDMI port -- so much for plugging in my Chromecast and watching some Netflix to unwind in the evening, as I can at virtually every other hotel on the planet. Nearly half of the channels on the provided channel list didn't function properly (all of the HD channels, presumably because the TV wasn't even capable of HD). Seriously, I've seen far better offerings in motels that cost 1/4 the rate of this hotel. So instead of my typical evening relaxation of Netflix or HBO Go, I popped a sleeping pill and hoped for dreams in which I had chosen a better hotel. Unfortunately, I then proceeded to wake up about half a dozen times throughout the night, because regardless of how low the thermostat was set on, the room temperature would stubbornly remain at 76 degrees. I eventually just turned the noisy thing off and opened the window. Yes, I opened the window in the middle of January. It was that bad. So let's proceed to Day 2 of my stay, shall we? Upon arrival back to my room on the evening of Day 2, the issues began to mount yet again. I suppose I should pause here to acknowledge something that most other reviewers mention on here as an annoyance -- the elevators. I'm on the 38th floor. There are 3 elevators. There are 40 floors. That kind of floor-to-elevator ratio number is bound to cause serious waiting times, but I guess I've grown to expect that sort of thing from New York hotels, so it's only a minor complaint for me. However, on Day 2, after waiting for an elevator and finally making it all the way up to the 38th floor, I came to realize that both the Keyless function on the app AND my actual key had both inexplicably been deactivated. This meant waiting for another elevator to reach the 38th floor, and trekking down to the front desk to fix the issue. The front desk answered with a shrug and reactivation of my physical room key, followed by the same speech as the day before, about how Keyless wouldn't work for the next 15 minutes. Lackluster customer service at best, yet again, and miles below what I had come to expect as the Starwood standard. Once I finally made it into my room again, I immediately noticed that cleaning service had "cleaned" the room (it was the same shoddy work as before, and the bathroom floor remained disgusting). Given the state of the room upon my Day 1 arrival, I wasn't too unhappy that they at least tried to do something, but they still hadn't cleaned the most repulsive parts of the room (bathroom floors, under the bed, the walls). This is also noteworthy because, upon confirmation on the app of my room preferences, I clearly stated I did NOT want cleaning service, and would instead opt for the extra Starpoints benefit awarded for opting out of such. So the room remained mostly dirty, and I would not be receiving my Starpoints benefit. Awesome. If forced to find positives about the stay, there are only a few minor details at best. I'd say the kitchenette was a nice touch. Having a medium-sized slew of appliances and cooking utensils would have made a longer stay easier to cope with, but since I was only staying two nights, I really didn't get much use out of it. The room view was decent, but comparable to almost any other hotel in the area. It's difficult to give a hotel any points simply due to the luck of its geographic location. There are far better Starwood alternatives in the area, and even better offerings from other brands. I have never been this disappointed in a Starwood property, and its existence truly makes me question if perhaps my loyal allegiance to the brand is misplaced. January 13, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the Vaue Spent the weekend here and when I first walked in the lobby smelt like an Auto Mechanic's garage. My floor was dirty the entire weekend i was there, including a 1 gallon container of cleaning agent someones reading glasses and their newspaper. In my room the freezer had left over food in it that also exploded the was never cleaned out. I'm Platinum with SPG and they didn't recognize my status and would have to stay I will never stay at this location again. January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Exaggerated Elevator Issues The hotel is located just off of the corner to the NYTimes headquarters, and down the street from the Port Authority Bus Terminal subway stop for the ACE lines. I thought that what people wrote about the elevators was overblown -- I never waited more than 2 or 3 minutes for one to arrive. I like Elements a lot because it feels like staying in a small loft for a few days. I'll definitely be back again should I need to transit New York. January 10, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Issues with staff / operations This property needs an overhaul with the staff or perhaps they are so overworked that they need more staff? Service issues: 1) I signed up for SPG keyless and asked to check in at 4pm. I didn't receive a room confirmation. When I finally went to the front desk to check in at 9pm, the first front desk person told me that you still need to come to the front desk for SPG keyless. Then he tried to give me a regular key. When I said I wanted to use SPG keyless, he said, oh you need to wait for the manager for that. I said I did. Waited another 10 minutes for the manager who was dealing with another customer who was complaining. The manager got to me and checked me in using SPG keyless. When I asked if you needed to check in the front desk with SPG keyless, he said not necessarily. But didn't apologize. He suggested I call the front desk next time. So SPG keyless took me 20 minutes longer than needed. 2) My bill was double charged an extra $2 tourism charge. When I called to ask, the first 2 people who answered the problem didn't even bother to first look at my details. They just tried the canned response that "you didn't get charged that at deposit" and "there are 3 types of taxes". I kept mentioning that I see all the taxes, but there is a double charge for the tourism tax. Finally, the 2nd person actually looked up my account and agreed that I was double charged and needed to have her manager to remove it. 24 hours later, got an email that said the $2 charge was because my room was a suite and considered 2 rooms. Took 10 minutes to deal with a $2 problem and they're the first time a hotel charged me double for a suite. 3) No Platinum SPG recognition. Wasn't even asked about the Platinum gift choice by the first check in person. 4) Weirdly got a notice on my SPG app the next morning that I was checked out. Thankfully, the front desk people confirmed I was still checked in. January 5, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST EXPERIENCE Terrible location. Non attentive staff. Too crowded. Extremely similar to a low grade freeway stop motel. Do not recommend for anything but the breakfast and that is ridiculously crowded. The pictures provided are worthless. January 4, 2016
  • 2016-02-11 T06:04:50.839-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1194, tr_1194
  • loc_en_US, sid_3361, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 41 next>>