Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

  • 1617 1st Avenue
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 85 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer Great price for quality downtown accommodations! May 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not up to standard not up to the starwood standards December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment I arrived at the hotel with a pleasant greeting, but when I asked about my SPG number being loaded into the system I was told that my name wasn't recognized. I explained that I get emails all the time so I would look one up and provide the number later. When I got up to my room I was disappointed to see that my door was very close to another in almost an alcove. It made me nervous and I didn't feel safe. Someone entering or exiting the room next to me would be VERY close and somewhat secluded from the hall. When I tried to enter the room, the key had not been activated so I had to go back down. I got it activated again and then I went up to find my room. It was an average hotel room. What was unacceptable was the paper thin walls. I could hear everything next door. There was an infant and toddler in the next room. The infant was screaming at 5:00am and then the toddler was fully awake talking, etc. Additionally, the alarm clock had been set for 3:00am. Alarm clocks should be turned off after each stay. Upon checking out, i gave my SPG number from an email that i showed the attendant on my iphone. She pulled up my name with no issue. She used my name which is exactly how it was spelled on my check in documents. I would have missed out on my points if I hadn't said anything. I explained to my husband and boss that I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vastly exceeded my expectations Really surprised by the cleanliness, proximity to Little Italy and the shoreline, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Encountered only one unpleasant aspect and got the sense it was a one-time unfortunate circumstance, not worth complaining to staff about... from the elevator to our front door was a mild sewage smell. Did NOT permeate into our room, though. Also a little confused why the $100 deposit takes so long to be returned to the card. Will definitely stay at additional Four Points in Chicago, Seattle, and San Francisco. Great job. November 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs improvement The room was nice, service pleasant and helpful. I was disturbed that a message left for me on the day I arrived did not arrive until halfway into my 5 night stay. The place was under repair when I was there so a bit noisy. Should be a nice place when finished. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location/view Overall, a very good experience. Check-in was quick. I asked for a high floor away from the freeway (as several reviews mentioned freeway noise). I was given a nice city view on the 14th floor. Room was clean, comfortable and serviced properly. The complimentary breakfast(due to the restaurant renovations-that I was told were to be completed in July), left a lot of room for improvement. Choices were minimal and it was located in a very crowded lobby/lounge/bar area with no flow for the guests. Shuttle drivers were prompt/courteous and Carlton was very professional yet personable. Just a 5 minute walk to Little Italy produced great meals, most notable Buon Appetito which our group of 6 is still raving about. Will return! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, however... he hotel is at a perfect location to walk to Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter and more. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. The onsite restaurant was closed for a remodel, so the hotel provided free continental breakfast during our stay, a thoughtful touch. A couple of issues though: the bathroom lighting is poor, and the storage is almost nonexistent. Plus, only a contortionist can reach the toilet paper while using the toilet. As for the bed, the mattress did not appear to be a "Four Comfort" as advertised. It was not nearly as comfortable a bed as at other Starwood properties. All in all, this Four Points hotel is better suited for business travelers. Given a couple of improvements, we would stay here again. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for price Very pleasent stay. Walk to Little Italy and the bay. Easy on to I5. Food is just ok but servers are very pleasent and helpful. Upgraded fitness center makes for a good workout. The $26.00 parking I thought a bit steep even for the area. All in all we will stay here on our next trip November 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not exceptional Hotel was very dated looking, in and out. Bad area of town. Hotel was pretty hot, even in the hallways but rooms were able to properly utilize a/c. Room above me was extremely noisey. WiFi didn't work well on phone, signal was weak. Could hear other rooms' doors opening and shutting constantly. I've been in college dorms that were quieter. Needs major updating and sound proofing. Free shuttle to airport was nice but driver seemed annoyed that I didn't know which terminal I was flying out of. SD has a different set up from last time I was there so I figured a local who drove a shuttle would know. The girl at check in was super nice, can't remember her name but she was friendly, nice and apologetic that my room wasn't ready, but got me some water while I waited. August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Please check clock radio I didn't use the clock radio so naturally I was upset to find it ringing at 4am. I wish it had been checked. Also I thought it was weird that no towels were hanging on the towel bars. There were towels folded down below on shelves but none on towel bars. Otherwise staff was really attentive and great. October 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing! 1. The airport shuttle was disorganized. Even though we called and registered our cell phone, this was disregarded, people were allowed to board and fill the shuttle. We ended up having to take a taxi. 2. A king size bed was reserved 6 months in advance, but was not available at check-in. 3. We arrived at 9pm, but had to wait in reception because the room was not ready. 4. Front desk staff were less than helpful. 5. Not what we expect of a Sheraton. Am an SPG member but could not recommend this hotel June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location beside litty italy Staff are what make this hotel great. Everyone was very helpful and nice. Free shuttle was on time and less than a 10 minute ride. Great view of the Bay from our 14th floor room. Fitness room was new and has everything you need. Only downside, the internet was very slow, unusable on 1 night. September 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not to my expections I am grateful to the housekeeping staff because they did their best to make us feel good. The facility is in decay. I did not expect that from Sheraton. The WiFi was very poor and you need new equipment. The tub is plugged and you need to repair it not just to have someone go there and do a bandaid to the problem. I will not stay in this hotel again. I paid 5 stars fees for a single star hotel. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Hotel The bed is very comfortable. If you do not need to walk to anything and will be driving to your destination, then this facility will be fine. The breakfast was disappointing. It had a cold bagel, sweet muffin, banana... It's too bad they didn't have oatmeal or something healthier. September 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No breakfast Its pretty brutal when you are expecting bfast and are told there isn't going to be any by a piece of paper taped in the elevator door. I then called and checked out and asked for my receipt to be emailed...it never was so I had to find your # and request it a second time the day following. On the other hand, the valet and desk people were great. Personable and welcoming. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful staff - Good accomodations This is a comfortable hotel, and easy to find and use as a base for further exploration of San Diego. The neighborhood location seems a little out of the way, but it is walking/driving distance from all that San Diego has to offer. I would recommend this hotel to those that are budget conscious, yet like slightly upscale amenities. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff The staff was very attentive and accommodated our special requests without any fuss. We had complimentary breakfast (pastries/eggs/coffee/orange juice) during our stay for sdcc. The hotel is 1 mile from the convention center so it takes about 15-20 minutes walking depending on the lights. Parking is valet only so we just kept our car parked at the hotel the entire stay. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice accommodations for the price One of the cheapest places to stay in downtown. Beds were very comfortable, shower was nice with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in wall mounted pumps (unlike most hotels that give you the super small bottles). Planes are constantly flying over the hotel but you don't hear them! Didn't like being forced into paying $26/night for valet. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Although the hotel was under renovations, they did not provide any breakfast. Also the sink in our room had a putrid smell the entire time and the smoke alarm went off from the steam in the shower. Maintenance came and said they were in the process of moving them. That would have been nice to have been done before we stayed in the room. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel The room was comfortable and nice. The breakfast lacked. One day they made up boxes but ran out of them. Added a few more which was gone in seconds. No one really seemed to care, even though the breakfast was to be served for another 30 minutes. I know it's a downtown hotel, but parking was spendy. A overnight lot next door cost half. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The facilities and the staff are great. Very friendly, respectful and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the cleaning service was excellent. I did not have the opportunity to eat in the hotel but I imagine are excellent also. I will return to your hotel in my next visit to San Diego. Than you for your good service. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing 2nd visit This is the second time staying at this hotel. Visit 1 - recognized for loyalty and Gold level status. I was upgraded to a 16th floor room with availability. Wifi is HORRIBLE!!!! Visit 2 - No recognition. No upgrade. Still HORRIBLE internet. David August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience The staff was terrific-very responsive to needs and issues. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip later this month. September 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, lovely updated rooms Within walking distance to Little Italy in downtown San Diego, this hotel is a nice choice. The building is definitely a bit older, but the rooms have been updated to be very modern and comfortable. No restaurant/bar for a meal/room service. Parking for a fee. Friendly front desk and bell staff. Nice! July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff I found the staff to be very upbeat, friendly and thoughtful. Just by remember little things and constantly offering services. Being in hospitality myself, I am very critical, mostly about service. This staff ROCKS THE HOUSE with service. I would always recommend this property. Kudos and Thank you! July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for Money They stay was a good value. I would like to see a better setup for ice and snacks. They need a much better selection. The staff were very nice and accommodating. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I travel extensively and although the rooms could be renovated/updated; the staff makes up for lack of décor! From the front desk to valet, the most outstanding customer service that replicates any 5 star hotel! Thank you for your attention! July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location for Hotel Great location to travel anywhere. Get straight onto i5 or take the 163. Also, downtown is within a few blocks. Only thing that I was not satisfied, was with the noise level due to highway. But, that would not stop me from staying there. July 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by San Diego Visit Upon arrival, the phone in the room did not work, the TV did not work. The first wake up call I had was not entered into the system even though the front desk had it written down. This was not convenient. No restuarant available at the hotel. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for business travel If you're traveling for business, this hotel has all the amenities required. September 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>