Rated 5 out of 5 by mimi2012 great hotel
everyone was so helpful and frendly. will stay there again if i come back to san diego
January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by dahoe Thank you
I had a long day of travel and the staff made me feel welcome. Will stay here again.
June 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by grneyz Classy& comfort
Very comfortable, feels very private, secure.
great eggs benidict in restaurant.
August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BagsFam The hotel has great features and very accessible to other places.
The location of the hotel is close to every place where we wanted to go (SeaWorld, SD Zoo, downtown, beach, shopping mall, relatives, etc...). The room were we stayed is very clean and the staff are very accommodating and quick. Also, I've attended an event in the same place and their set-up, food and coordination was superb!
September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phillghytf Excelent staff
The staff is great, they make you feel at home
June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jonas The service is excellent
I was very pleased with the staff
June 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Natalie2057 Bad front desk experience and room cleanliness
I stay here quite frequently as it is convenient location. This time was exceptionally terrible. I was not recognized as an SPG Gold member nor offered my check in gift. Early check in was a nightmare (at noon) and was told to come back at 3. I said even if I am a Gold member? I have a back disability and asked for a ground room, not available. This hotel was not sold out! The bathtub had red stains and the soap dispensers had left over residue from previous guest. Hair in the tub. I only stayed one night so I did not take a bath. The bartender, Will and the hostesses are nice. I was not even told I had complimentary breakfast, VERY BAD!
February 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous2K12 Extremely bad Customer Care (from overnight staff)
Me and my wife chose the hotel during our short trip to SD.
We were impressed by the facilities and the cleanliness of the hotel. However we were rather shocked by the rude welcome we got from the front desk staff when we checked in.
The conversation, in short went like this.
Front Desk: Yes ?
Us: we are checking in
Front Desk: Your ID and CC please.
Hands it over.. about 5-10 min of computer keystrokes. No eye contact, no conversation. And...
Front Desk: Sorry.. I see you have a confirmed reservation, but we don't have your room ready and available. We can offer you some other kind of room.
Long story short, we were given the room after about 15 min. But the first impression killed it all for us
(Had a different guest waiting in line after us who also had a similar experience. Not the first time, it seems)
The fact: They had the room. Not sure why they said it wasn't available at the first place.
What we still don't understand, although it was explained to us multiple times. Quoting the gentleman...
"Even if you have a confirmed king room, it is not guaranteed. We reserve the right to give you a double queen or something else."
Evidently at the discretion and mood of the
front desk staff, we are led to believe.
We'd advise you call and verify the room is available before driving there !
June 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by reb2 Much below my expectations for a Starwood Property
The staff was pleasant and appeared ready to help and removed feather pillows at my request. The room itself was highly disappointing. There were holes in the wall from old mirrors or TV supports that were unfilled (some of them had foil stuffed in them). One of the bathroom lightbulbs was out. The vanity mirror cover was broken. There was some garbage under the beds (old cup from previous occupants). The bottom of the tub filled up with soap suds when I started the shower - either it hadn't been cleaned or properly rinsed after cleaning. I pointed these things out at the desk. She offered to have the manager call me to discuss it, but two days later I have yet to hear anything. Very disappointing!
August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Arlene27 Wait staff need training, Room requires maintenance
The bathroom sink, did not drain very well,
the bathroom sink also was constructed and installed in such a way to make It awkward to brush one's teeth. the ceiling was repaired over the bed for a leak but was not painted and repaired properly, Various parts of the paint in the room, required touchup. The internet service was intermittent and slow in the room, We had three banquet meals over the weekend, breakfast was poor, tasteless, coffee was not refilled in room, luncheon, had bags of chips on the table for selection, and the dinner servers, neglected to serve coffee, even after having been waived three times with a coffee cup in the air, - Dinner meal was ok, but lack of attention to detail, cheesecake was served without whipped cream, did not look like other plates being served. My husband spoke to a manager about the lack of after dinner coffee, he was told he would look into, but never phoned back to say it was addressed. The king size bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Only two sets of towels in room, for two people. The curtain in the room, did not close properly and was off the hooks, so couldn't close drapes completely, The closet hanger structure is very awkward to place clothes and remove clothes, Lighting was fine, the TV worked, the air conditioning worked well - Suggest improvements made in operations staff to review state of room, sink design, - coffee pot design, ceiling repairs, and train servers to handle banquets properly.
September 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by JennJenn Closet is lacking...
This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that had a closet that went from front to back instead of left to right. It was only about 2 feet wide and only about 3 feet deep. It was only enough room for a suit jacket and then was only deep enough for about 4 suits/shirts. Every morning, I had to take clothes out to get to the ones in the back. Things fell because there was not enough room. Had I been staying for longer than a week - I would have complained or requested another room. Who plans a closet like that???? Also, I had the temp set at 62 (which it never reached). Although I was not uncomfortable, the air conditioner did not work accurately.
September 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mad55 Very Poor Management
1: Brittney who made my reservation booked me at the wrong hotel.
2: VERY POOR response from Angelia ( manager on call). Asked to speak to the GM - Migual multiple times. Front desk clerks left mulple messages even said he was going to be on site, left my cell phone number, with NO response.
Angelia - claimed she would not even attempt to call Miguel because she new what his answer would be.
Who says that in the management industry.
3: Since we had no other choice but to stay at this hotel ( wasn't going to lose $ 100.00) , when we finally checked in, we were given a room with the stench of cat urine. We were then moved to a room across the hall and the TV didn't work, there was water on the carpet from a leaky refrigerator and the bath tub drain was plugged.
Maintennce came to help us with the TV. What a joke. He said it was due to the cable box, they didn't have any boxes to exchange so he hit the top of it a couple of times and said sometimes that helped.
We were not going to change rooms again, I had my elderly mother with me who uses a walker and we were all too tired.
The following morning I spoke with James at the front desk, I requested a refund, again was given a run around with management.
No management answered or returnded phone calls. Another maintenence man was standing in the front and stated they did have more cable boxes and if he was there he would of helped us. Is this the integrity of a four star or four point hotel? Would you like to be treated like this?
I have filed an official complaint and I hope this matter can be taken care of in a satisfactory way.
Thank you for reading my complaint , which I have never had to file a complaint, EVER!
January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ronald1944 good stay
Nice breakfast buffet. Nice swimming pool. I had two adjoining rooms which were very clean. The carpet was like new and my 10 month old granddaughter crawled over every square inch of it.
September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by TNTteva This hotel is gorgeous, inside and out!
I don't travel a whole lot, so it was extra special for me to be able to stay at such a fine, beautiful, clean, inviting, friendly, comfortable and charming place. I was in awe of the room furnishings, including the large flat screen TV. The bed was sooo comfortable, fresh and clean with white linen and bedspread, making it even more delightful.
I was wowed by the built in shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispensers in the shower! It was the first time I had ever seen that.
The amenities are great for my needs, I really enjoyed the spa.(although I wish the pool and spa were open 24 hrs as I would have loved a late night swim.)
The grounds were spectacular and the seating areas took my breath away with the canopies surrounding some, giving it a real romantic and private feel. There were beautifully sculpted fountains around, and I could also see that the hotel was located on the nines, very nice for golf lovers too.
I loved everything about my stay there. If I could make only one suggestion, that would be to place more outdoor trashcans around. (I had to carry my trash when I was done with my snack, until I found a receptacle.)
I enrolled in the SPG (preferred guest program) during this stay, which I almost didn't bother with because I don't travel that much, but when the reception mentioned a FREE DRINK, among many other benefits, (and registration is free), I couldn't resist! I stayed ONE night at this hotel, but am now eager to travel more just so I can have this type of experience again!
I will be staying at their La Jolla location later this month, and might book one extra day just so I can luxuriate a little while longer at the hotel rather than only my targeted events!
One more thing, the grand piano near the lobby is exquisite, and if you can play, then you may! Just spectacular, thanks to all staff too, for your courtesy.
March 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPGgolddigger Neglected Property - High F/D Staff Turnover
We live in the area & do "stay-play-vay" -cations every 6-8 weeks- here 6 times since November, 2012. Each visit gets progressively worse.The front desk turnover is very troubling - staff unfamiliar with rates/ packages. Do not recognize, nor make gold members feel "special". A giant roll of carpet in the "C" bldg. has sat there since Dec.'12 Dresser drawer in room wouldn't stay shut and I rammed my leg into it. Poor bedding/pillow quantity/quality, trash/litter in pkg. lot. TV volume poor, etc. On Mem Day, f/d ran out of 1/4's for laundry while Mr. Bernie (owner) sat at his corner spot counting his $$$, and cutting coupons (???)
July 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Blissful A Bed Made Without Sheets!! Epic Fail!
We stayed here for 3 nights redeeming loyalty points.
The good news is that the hotel was quiet.... The rooms were Very empty during a weekend despite an MMA Fight event that was being held there that weekend.
Checkin was fast and friendly. I was greeted as a loyalty member. Our room overlooked the pool area. Parking was plentiful.
On the morning after our first night, our room was made up.... Partially! No washcloths were stocked and the empty styrofoam cups we used for in-room coffee were left behind as well as some of the garbage cans were not emptied. We called to get the washcloths restocked but let the rest go.
I slept terrible that night and didn't figure out why until the morning. I pulled the blankets of the bed back and discovered that our bed was MISSING A BOTTOM SHEET on the lower part of out bed so our feet were rubbing on the scratchy mattress pad and naked mattress!!! Unbelievable!!! At noon we went to the front desk and calmly discussed this face to face with the Director of Housekeeping. I showed him the photos I took demonstrating what we discovered. We also then reported the partial room cleaning we received the day before. He was very embarrassed and said he would send someone right up to fix these issues.
We returned to the hotel at 8pm that evening. Upon entering the room we discovered THE ROOM HAD NOT BEEN MADEUP from reporting it 8 hours earlier (but the cash gratuity we left in the room for housekeeping was gone!!!). We went back to the front desk. The same director of Housekeeping was still working. We calmly told him that our room STILL hadn't had service and that we were, of course, STILL MISSING SHEETS on the bed! Appalling! This time he sent housekeeping up immediate and fixed the problem. Unacceptable service. Absolutely nothing was done to compensate us for this horrible treatment. What a waste of loyalty pints this was. It was the worst Four Points I have ever seen! Even the apology by the director was obviously meaningless because nothing was done to fix the problem over an 8 hour span of time.
Additionally, the hall near the elevator was leaking water from the light fixture and a garbage can was catching the water. It was not raining that weekend so somewhere there was a profound leak that was in the electrical system. Dangerous.
One more annoying thing; one of 2 elevators was out of order for 3 days. Employees shared how they have gotten stuck in those elevators before....
Summary: poor housekeeping, poor management, dangerous lack of maintenance, and unprofessional, loose-lipped employees that air the nasty secrets of this hotel.
March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roger73 Hotel met our needs
We stayed here on SPG points to visit San Diego. We made our reservation through SPG and was able to get a standard room with king size bed along with a rollaway bed for our 5-yr old and a crib for our 1-yr old. We did call the hotel a few hours before arrival to inform them we were arriving late as we had a long drive, they made note of this but when we arrived we still had to wait for the rollaway bed & crib (a little annoying with two tired kids after a long drive). The room was very clean and during our 3-night stay the room was cleaned very well. One other perk was the free shuttle service to SeaWorld, saved us on parking gripes. Overall a good stay!!!
May 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by mistyap Disappointed in Sheraton!!!
Room was nothing close to the pictures posted online. Appearance was very shabby and old. Our room had more of a motel appearance. At the time I made my reservation, I was told that breakfast was included but at the hotel, breakfast was only provided for one guest. My husband (who I shared the room with) had to pay for his meal(he only had a bowl of cereal). Requiring payment from a room guest I think is absurd since he was simply sharing the room with me. The only nice thing about this hotel was the swimming pool. I'm extremely disappointed with the quality and service of this hotel.
July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oenophile Kearney Mesa Hotel
Excellent for business travelers.
September 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by JooSee Going down hill
So whenever I go to San Diego, this Four Point would be my first consideration, given it's relatively close location to Downtown but without the hassel. However, my experience with this place has been going down hill every time I stay there. During my last stay, the air conditioning unit in the room was making so much noise, no one could sleep. We turn it off, but the room got so hot since you cant open any window, leaving us no choice but to turn on the air. Fourpoint should have changed these old units when they re-model the rooms.
August 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by SEAcjh Friendly staff / needs updates
Staff at restaurant/desk/housekeeping were great. Facility has a lot of wasted space with many strange atriums that aren't aesthetically pleasing and must be expensive to maintain. But simple things like replacing the few scattered loud buzzing light bulbs in the hallways would go a long way without costing the hotel much. When we stayed, OTIS elevator had left four 55-gallon drums in front of the elevator, so that didn't help either.
August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by LTATL Good facility, too smelly room
I stayed for only one night and will never return unless I know the hotel had gone through room renovation. I checked in near midnight and needed to catch up with some urgent emails, and some ZZZ before an early meeting the next day. The room I was in had REALLY REALLY bad odor! I could barely stand it. Because it was late and I still had to work, I did not ask for a room change. I ended up taking a sleeping pill to help me to sleep (the odor was bad that I could not sleep. I opened the window and since I was on the first floor, the window only allowed for a tiny opening - that did not help). It was an experience that haunts me and pulls me away from the 4 Points hotel. I have on average 60 - 80 hotel nights per year, and I must say this was probably the worst! I had stayed at other Four Points before and not one was this bad!
August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by expectedbetter1520 disappointing accommodations
We were very excited to be able to stay in a Four Points in San Diego. Unfortunately the room that we were assigned had a leaky toilet, peeling wallpaper and carpets that needed to be re-stretched.
We had to call 3 times to have the toilet looked at, they offered to allow us to switch rooms but by the time that offer came about we only had two nights of 9 nights remaining. In addition when calling the front desk they would pick up the phone and immediately place us on hold, without requesting that we be placed on hold!!!!!
The manager has been responsive but that's in response to the issues instead of being proactive.
October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by EugeneP Quiet hotel close to everything
The hotel has an odd shape, but it is quiet and in a good neighborhood. Close to everything. Lots of cheap Japanese restaurants nearby.
The bad thing about this hotel is the mattress pad that is not pulled on/attached to mattress, but just lies on top. When you sleep, the pad underneath crumples and makes it very uncomforatble to sleep on. I have NEVER seen anything like this in ANY other hotel.
Also, when you make a GREEN CHOICE (choose not to have linens changed every day), no one enters your room to even remove trash, make bed or check whether soap is needed or anything else.
July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Angela2 Four Points Sheraton - NOT Four Stars
We stayed at this hotel for a business convention. The hotel itself was a huge disappointment. It wasn't "cheap" although not really expensive. However, we spent enough to think we would have a nice stay. The room was ok. Definitely not great. The mattress was way too soft.
The work out facility was a joke. ALL the machines squeaked and not all of them even worked. The weights were pathetic. The pool looked like it was in disrepair.
The convention room and outside courtyard was the best part.
Food was mostly ok but definitely great. Only one choice.
Location stunk. No nearby restaurants or places to go. Always had to take a cab.
I would not recommend this hotel.
September 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by bear68 Not exactly what I expected
I stayed here April 13-15. The front desk was perfect. The lawn had debris (trash and a liquor bottle) on it when I checked in and it was still there when I left. We decided to have a cocktail in the lounge. So when we got there, no one was around. No guests, no bartender just us. When someone finally did see us, he greeted us and asked what he could get us, served us, and left.....I didn't even know if someone was going to come back and give us a ticket or not. Eventually a girl walked behind the bar area and asked if we needed anything else.....just the check please. No wonder the place was empty on Friday night....
April 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jerry1982 Below expectation
The hotel is under pretty bad situation. The room smelled bad. When I walked into my room, I saw mosquito flying. The room wood floor was also moldy.
September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by CruiserMax Fine for short stay
We had a straight forward stay at this hotel. Most of the staff were friendly. Young hispanic hostess at breakfast insisted the platinum breakfast only covered 1 guest. Dumbfounded, we insisted she call the front desk to clarify (for herself). We sat down anyway, and she came over to let us know that it does cover 2 guests per room. Yes, we knew that.
Parking is free, shower water pressure/flow is good. Air conditioning a bit loud.
A longer stay not really recommended. Good for the AAA price we paid.
August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by JSSANCHEZ Recommended FOUR POINT SHERATON on AERO DR IN SAN DIEGO
Excellent customer service, family friendly, with clean and comfortable rooms. Coronado beach is minutes away from the hotel. Would stay again!
September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hankel Mr.
Was so please with the hotel.
The staff was fantastic.
September 3, 2014