Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 309 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy with this hotel The room was very dark; could not use the chair to relax or watch TV as it was in the corner next to the A/C unit and on the same wall as the TV; the A/C unit would not cut off once the room cooled to the selected temperature unless you manually turned it off; we booked the more expensive room rate to get breakfast included and this was a waste of money - breakfast buffet eggs were not cooked and were cold, toaster did not work well so we requested toast directly from the kitchen, coffee was not hot, pastries were dry and not fresh; waited 45 minutes for a luggage cart and when one could not be found by hotel personnel we just made several trips to the car. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would never stay there again. September 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location to Explore Northern California We are so glad that we chose to stay here and not in the city. It was a quick 15 minute drive in to the city. There are lots of great places to eat in the area. We enjoyed exploring all day and then heading back for dinner and then heading to the pool to swim and soak in the hot tub. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay We highly recommend this hotel. At first we were a little concerned about some of the reviews, and now we do not understand why there were negative reviews at all. This is a very fine hotel with excellent and clean rooms. Our front desk person, Leena, was professional and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is plentiful, and overall this is a very nice hotel. We completely recommend and will stay there when we return to the Bay Area. March 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The room for handicapped needs improvement I have stayed before and been pleased, but this was the first time with my wheelchair bound husband. The room was so cramped the wheelchair could hardly fit into the space. It came with a King bed instead of two doubles so the caregiver had to sleep on a roll away which cramped the room even more. The shower didn't work properly, but was a roll-in one which was a good thing. The other handicapped room they showed us had a tub. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LUV it!! Bestest hotel in San Rafael. Been there 5 times. Get the big rooms that INCLUDE the b'fast buffet. You'll be much happier. March 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs improvement Stayed for two nights. I was surprised when I pulled in the parking lot to find a homeless man sleeping in the landscaping. Check in was rough..I booked a king bed and they tried hard to give me 2 queens. Being my anniversary I insisted on a king. Finally got a king room, I was surprised it was a handicap room. Very ran down and dirty. Very disappointed. Hot tub was a cold tub. 9 PM and outside fireplace was not on. Terrible weekend for my 25 anniversary. Sheraton usually does much better. I should try a different brand next time i suppose. Randy September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful staff Great staff at the front desk and in the lounge. My only "con" would be that there should be more than one person at the front desk during busy checkin/checkout times March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant place during difficult time I've used the Four Points for my last 3 visits because the rooms are comfortable and the facilities are nice. This time I was down visiting my parents who had some medical problems. My plans changed several times and they were very accomdating in adding days to my stay. I wanted to specifically thank the bartender who works on Monday and Tuesday(Hamooz?) she was very friendly and I found her demeanor and conversation very comforting during a difficult time. My only regret is that I didn't figure out the "Go Green" room cleaning program until late in my stay because I never had that particular door hanger on my door until the housekeepers gave me a new one with the 3 days left on my stay. But I plan on staying there many times over the next few years. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good but some rooms are noisy and the doors slam loud! good but some rooms are noisy and the doors slam shut very loud, enough to wake you up. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff - uncomfortable beds The staff was very friendly and accomodating - always with a smile and eager to please. Our dinner was very good, portions were generous, and our server was excellent. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable and the bathroom was quite small. Our 'cooked to order' breakfast consisted of rubbery eggs, stale freezer-burned potatoes, undercooked sausage, and extremely dry toast. This property is in a great location and has good potential, with a well-trained staff but some details could use attention - such as better pillows and a better quality morning meal - to make it a pleasant experience overall. March 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor I booked our room over a week ahead of time. A room with 2 queen beds. We get there and they say they overbooked and only had 1 king bed and no roll away bed. The front desk was supposed to bring us extra blankets at least but never did. The room smelled like smoke as did the lobby. The elevators took a long time. The shower had someone's else's hair in it and we had to call to even get it started in the morning. April 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Conveniently located off the 101 freeway. Great housekeeping department. My room was well taken care of during the stay. Thank you! Some front desk staff need some training on keeping their words. Basically, staff said she will get back to me about a request. But she never did. Had to request again from a different front desk staff. Good breakfast. November 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location A good, welcoming place to stay when in San Rafael March 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunate experience Dear Mr. Ott, My husband and I stayed at your hotel last night (just one night) in SanRafael, CA location, and we were appalled with the how unclean our room was, from the used towels with boogers and mascara on them to the sheets with hair. We had to call the night staff for new towels and sheets. I'm not sure if housekeeping even cleaned the room. I regret to say that our experience last night really changes our ideal standard of service for a Sheraton hotel and we will think again before checking into to a Sheraton, even for a night. I just wanted to let you know about our unfortunate experience just so that you are aware that this doesn't happen to other customers in the future. Thank you for your time and attention. February 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't Send Your Out of Town Guests I was attending a week long seminar near this location and this hotel was on their list of places to stay near by. I arrived over the weekend to settle in and noticed that the hotel looks like it has not been well maintained in general. It had a tired and old look. When I first arrived in my room, my in room safe did not work - battery low - flashed when I tried to create a password. So, I called the front desk - it rang over and over, with no answer. So, I called housekeeping - same result - no answer. I gave up and did not use the in room safe. When I returned to my room after the first day, I discovered that while they appeared to have cleaned the room, replaced the towels, they did not take out the trash. I have never stayed at a hotel of any quality where the trash was not removed. They did take the trash day 2, but never emptied the recycling bin beside the trash during my entire week stay. I noticed that the water from the tap had a slight odor and by Wednesday night, it smelled like rotten eggs. Thursday morning I was walking toward the elevator and one of the other guests yelled "look out' and pointed to the ceiling in front of the elevator. There was water dripping from the ceiling from one of the light fixtures. By the time I had returned from breakfast, someone had placed an ice bucket from one of the rooms on the floor in front of the elevator to catch the water. There was no staff in sight. I was very uncomfortable leaving any of my property at the hotel that day while I attended the seminar. During my stay, I initially went to the gym, but stopped because it appeared that the staff was not cleaning the room. They did not replace towels, clean equipment and provide replacements for bottled water. The remote control for the television was missing. Day two at the gym, a fellow traveller who was waiting to use the only treadmill went to the front desk for help in locating the remote control and was told that it was somewhere in the room. They declined to send anyone to locate. The volume on the TV was too loud and it was uncomfortable to use the room. Failed miserably to meet minimum expectations. My reservation included the breakfast buffet. If it had not, I would not have paid for food there. While the staff was very friendly, the food was not the quality you would expect at a Sheraton. I ate at the buffet 5 days and the food quality was inconsistent and either mediocre or bad. I notice in the evening that few people ate in the restaurant for dinner. This location needs a major intervention from someone above the level of the on site manager. There are no circumstances under which I would return to this Sheraton location and this stay has definitely influenced my opinion of the brand. March 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice try I used points for my stay, once we entered our room, it was smelly! Like old rags and musty. The room was tiny, and hot. Felt like the room that had been forgotten. As a spg member, this was what was given to me? With other brands, same category, they make sure to put you in a room they can be proud of. I've even been given free upgrades at times, i didnt expect that here, but as a member, I would simply appreciate that you dont put me in the worst room in the hotel. I called down, and they immediately brought a key up for a replacement room. But she didn't try to find the smell or identify the problem. My replacement room was fresh, larger, cleaner and did not have that musty odor. Then the next morning, while im in the shower, my boyfriend left for coffee, and I hear my room being opened and shut twice. Our room didnl't have a do not disturb sign provided, and apparently it was the maid, who we already asked to go away twice. I dont understand how these two things occured, other minor things I can overlook but this is pretty bad. I emailed the manager when he asked how our stay was, he apologized and gave a small number of points to compensate. I dont know, this was simply a mini get away and a place to rest our head while in wine country, but with staff being like this, Im definitely cancelling my reservation for october. It seems like the small number of points and apology did not cut it for me... On a brighter note, brews and bbq on wednesday night was a great surprise. It was nice to sit by the pool and have the mini burgers and beer prior to heading out for the night. They did also misplace the beer key, and beer was late! But once it was ready to go, it was a nice treat! I would stay at another four points on wednesday because of this! August 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by July 2012 Checked into this hotel (even though they said I didn't have a reservation) was forced to make another one at a higher price. Terrible room down in the "dungeon" area below the pool. Great view of a wall! Room was muggy. Air conditioning didn't really work well. Also there was a dog training convention so dogs were everywhere. My husband is allergic to dogs so he spent the whole time sneezing etc.. Should have been told at check in about this! July 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Caution I booked a 6 day stay through a travel website - this hotel's policy doesn't allow refunds, so if you want to leave - you can, but then you get to pay twice. I found the rooms exceedingly noisy (the hotel sits above a couple of highways and the older through wall a/c units are mostly in the room - think jet cabin noise) The furniture is old, torn up and cheap - I unpacked into the 3 drawers provided at the end of the TV/desk console and the drawers would/could not stay closed. The bathroom was small. The staff was un-sympathetic, but did move me to other identical rooms until I found the least worst one. On a happier note - the bed was comfortable and the linens were up-market -Thank God for small favors. I travel on business once a month and I'll never stay here again and probably never at a 4-points. I'll also read the individual hotels policies more carefully ... that was my mistake. May 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing This was the first stay I had since achieving Platinum status. What a disappointment. The room was not up to Starwood standards (e.g., stains on the toilet seat, hair in the shower, beds/pillows/sheets that looked and felt like they had not been updated in decades). The common areas of the hotel appeared to be nice, but the state of my room was such that I would never stay here again. August 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel could be better Breakfast buffet has bad taste from cold eggs,,cereal taste stale or containers almost empty, ,yogurt in open bowls health hazard from guests coughing and putting fingers in yogurt, should be in individual containers,,should have omelette station on week ends,,often not enough of toast or bagels and bananas are either green or rotten spoiled for guests to eat and become ill March 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Stay, nothing special The Family enjoyed the heated pool. It was also nice to Park for free, the past two Sheraton hotels we stayed at required a fee to park you vehicle. We were grateful for the conscientious efforts for recycling. Disappointed in the cleanliness of the room, past the Surface cleaning. Food particles found on the floor and overall needed a more thorough cleaning. The Morning Coffee and Tea bar was not stocked with Tea. When staff was informed we were told to go to the attached restaurant and ask them. We came back later and told the same thing. Do not promise a morning coffee and tea station and not provide the tea and accompaniments. Also the coffee area was not kept very tidy. May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Arriving after 10 hours of travelling, I just wanted to go to bed! The front desk couldn't find my reservation! Apparently I had mistakenly made the reservation at the wrong Four Points Sheraton in my haste to get all my travelling plans put together. The front desk identified the problem, cancelled my incorrect reservation and got me into my room quickly. That room was a bit noisy for me, and I called down to change it, which they did immediately and with a smile. The staff was great, service was perfect, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Coffee in the room was surprisingly good. The bed was VERY comfortable. I used the exercise room. It is small with an elliptical, a treadmill and a bike, but it was just what I needed. Evelyn was the manager on duty when I was there and she was there morning and night. She was truly professional and incredibly helpful, especially when I arrived. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. I had a very good experience and will stay there every time that I visit my friends in San Rafael! January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed Small inconvience but still had expectations. Coffee pot did not work, there was no clock in the room and no remote control in the fitness room. I expected more from this hotel. September 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Up To expectations After staying in several Four Points hotels around the country I expected to find comparable facilities here. I didn't. - On check-in, I asked if any better rooms were available for complimentary gold-member upgrade. Reply was that I have a nice room. Person didn't check. Room is just ok. Old, small, bathroom with chipped and broken fixtures, no microwave in the microwave space, etc. - When making reservation was told fitness center open 24 hours. At 5am found the door open, no towels, no water. Called front desk and told room closed, hours aree 7am-10pm. What? Anyone here on business will be heading off to meetings by 7am! Asked for Gen Mgr name... then employee said ok (at 5am) to use room with exception of treadmill. Room VERY inadequate. One treadmill, one bike, one stair master, a few weights. - Returned to my room at 6:30pm to find it had not been made up. Called front desk, told they'd been busy. Room serviced shortly thereafter. - Air conditioning is old, wall-mounted unit that is loud, you won't be able to sleep with it on on hot nights. May 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed We stayed at this hotel last year and had no issues but this time was very disappointed. Called in and put a hold on our prepaid room for quiet location and hotel later gave our room away, putting us by elevator in unclean room. Later moved us to noisy side of hotel. Sheets are old and stained, bed creaks and not the quality we would expect from Sheraton. Time to update the sheets! Hotel did try to make amends but was too late. Did not sleep well. February 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Felt Unwelcomed I arrived at San Fran airport, got on my Ipad to search for a Shearton in the area. The Ipad Sheraton site quoted $111.00 special rate w/ availability, but I couldn't get the connection to go through, so I made a phone call to the hotel. I was told no rooms were available. I then decided to call the 800 number for Sheraton and found that a room WAS available and booked it, but had to payd $157.00 since I was unable to do the online booking. When I arrived, the young woman who checked me in was the one I had called earlier. No "glad you are here" just "yeah, you were the one I talked to over the phone." When I explained the situation, I asked about the rates, a which time she said they NEVER had rates that low. I didn't argue, just paid the higher rate and checked in. The ice machine was broken, there were holes in the bathroom door. Sheets and linens were clean, and glad I could open the door for fresh air, but all in all I would not stay there again. I had booked for two nights, but couldn't wait to leave. We were actually planning on staying in the area for 4 nights, but left after the first. May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old hotel with new hotel price I believe I was told it was built in the '60s, if that tells you anything. Each room has a small in-wall AC unit that, and most of them are pretty old. Very few of them have newer digital units with a thermostat. They are all EXTREMELY noisy. The beds are hard. The bottoms sheets are not fitted and come off in the middle of the night. I don't know about you, but I don't like waking up on top of a bare mattress that isn't mine. The pillows aren't much better. At the least the quality of the linens is pretty good. The bathrooms are pretty reasonable, but I've had many issues with the shower heads. They are usually so clogged with mineral deposits that I've had to call for maintenance. The front desk staff have generally been superb. I've rarely had issue with them. I believe there was only one female sales manager that was ever rude to me (but with a smile). If anything, they make my stay. The dining staff on the other hand are routinely rude. I hate dealing with them. Don't get me started on the quality of the buffet. The maid staff seem nice, but will crush you with carts in an elevator. They really need to wait for an empty elevator. July 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff The front desk staff is very attentive , we are season travelers and had stayed from limited to luxurious services hotels but the front desk staff here are beyond measure. They made such a big difference in our stay. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable stay After reading some reviews of the hotel, we were slightly concerned about staying there. When we arrived, I could not believe the bad reviews. The front desk staff was helpful, met our requests with a smile and was very friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. Our only complaint is the pillows smelled like stale cigarettes or something. Definitely will stay here again when in the area. February 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FOUR POINTS BY SHERATON SAN RAFAEL, CA Undersattfed, dirty, unkept, and in need of restoration. February 23, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>