Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 438 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Up To expectations After staying in several Four Points hotels around the country I expected to find comparable facilities here. I didn't. - On check-in, I asked if any better rooms were available for complimentary gold-member upgrade. Reply was that I have a nice room. Person didn't check. Room is just ok. Old, small, bathroom with chipped and broken fixtures, no microwave in the microwave space, etc. - When making reservation was told fitness center open 24 hours. At 5am found the door open, no towels, no water. Called front desk and told room closed, hours aree 7am-10pm. What? Anyone here on business will be heading off to meetings by 7am! Asked for Gen Mgr name... then employee said ok (at 5am) to use room with exception of treadmill. Room VERY inadequate. One treadmill, one bike, one stair master, a few weights. - Returned to my room at 6:30pm to find it had not been made up. Called front desk, told they'd been busy. Room serviced shortly thereafter. - Air conditioning is old, wall-mounted unit that is loud, you won't be able to sleep with it on on hot nights. May 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunate experience Dear Mr. Ott, My husband and I stayed at your hotel last night (just one night) in SanRafael, CA location, and we were appalled with the how unclean our room was, from the used towels with boogers and mascara on them to the sheets with hair. We had to call the night staff for new towels and sheets. I'm not sure if housekeeping even cleaned the room. I regret to say that our experience last night really changes our ideal standard of service for a Sheraton hotel and we will think again before checking into to a Sheraton, even for a night. I just wanted to let you know about our unfortunate experience just so that you are aware that this doesn't happen to other customers in the future. Thank you for your time and attention. February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice try I used points for my stay, once we entered our room, it was smelly! Like old rags and musty. The room was tiny, and hot. Felt like the room that had been forgotten. As a spg member, this was what was given to me? With other brands, same category, they make sure to put you in a room they can be proud of. I've even been given free upgrades at times, i didnt expect that here, but as a member, I would simply appreciate that you dont put me in the worst room in the hotel. I called down, and they immediately brought a key up for a replacement room. But she didn't try to find the smell or identify the problem. My replacement room was fresh, larger, cleaner and did not have that musty odor. Then the next morning, while im in the shower, my boyfriend left for coffee, and I hear my room being opened and shut twice. Our room didnl't have a do not disturb sign provided, and apparently it was the maid, who we already asked to go away twice. I dont understand how these two things occured, other minor things I can overlook but this is pretty bad. I emailed the manager when he asked how our stay was, he apologized and gave a small number of points to compensate. I dont know, this was simply a mini get away and a place to rest our head while in wine country, but with staff being like this, Im definitely cancelling my reservation for october. It seems like the small number of points and apology did not cut it for me... On a brighter note, brews and bbq on wednesday night was a great surprise. It was nice to sit by the pool and have the mini burgers and beer prior to heading out for the night. They did also misplace the beer key, and beer was late! But once it was ready to go, it was a nice treat! I would stay at another four points on wednesday because of this! August 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by July 2012 Checked into this hotel (even though they said I didn't have a reservation) was forced to make another one at a higher price. Terrible room down in the "dungeon" area below the pool. Great view of a wall! Room was muggy. Air conditioning didn't really work well. Also there was a dog training convention so dogs were everywhere. My husband is allergic to dogs so he spent the whole time sneezing etc.. Should have been told at check in about this! July 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always been pleased with its features! Such a great location, beautiful patio & pool area, great restaurant, etc. This last time, however, was a disappointment. We had to call for additional towels everyday because there were only 3, or 2 or NONE left for our family of 4. One of the beds creaked with every slight move which made it difficult to sleep. And, 8:30 Monday morning we were woken up due to the hammering and banging noises from construction. Yes, we read the hotel's apology for the temporary disruption due to upgrading the fitness center but we would've chosen a different hotel or date for our weekend stay. July 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Caution I booked a 6 day stay through a travel website - this hotel's policy doesn't allow refunds, so if you want to leave - you can, but then you get to pay twice. I found the rooms exceedingly noisy (the hotel sits above a couple of highways and the older through wall a/c units are mostly in the room - think jet cabin noise) The furniture is old, torn up and cheap - I unpacked into the 3 drawers provided at the end of the TV/desk console and the drawers would/could not stay closed. The bathroom was small. The staff was un-sympathetic, but did move me to other identical rooms until I found the least worst one. On a happier note - the bed was comfortable and the linens were up-market -Thank God for small favors. I travel on business once a month and I'll never stay here again and probably never at a 4-points. I'll also read the individual hotels policies more carefully ... that was my mistake. May 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing This was the first stay I had since achieving Platinum status. What a disappointment. The room was not up to Starwood standards (e.g., stains on the toilet seat, hair in the shower, beds/pillows/sheets that looked and felt like they had not been updated in decades). The common areas of the hotel appeared to be nice, but the state of my room was such that I would never stay here again. August 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Stay, nothing special The Family enjoyed the heated pool. It was also nice to Park for free, the past two Sheraton hotels we stayed at required a fee to park you vehicle. We were grateful for the conscientious efforts for recycling. Disappointed in the cleanliness of the room, past the Surface cleaning. Food particles found on the floor and overall needed a more thorough cleaning. The Morning Coffee and Tea bar was not stocked with Tea. When staff was informed we were told to go to the attached restaurant and ask them. We came back later and told the same thing. Do not promise a morning coffee and tea station and not provide the tea and accompaniments. Also the coffee area was not kept very tidy. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by only one hiccup This was our second stay at your fine hotel and the only glich in the visit was when the air conditionder clicked off at around 5 AM. I was awakened by the lack of "white" noise and the sound of traffic on the freeway. We were in room 431 which has a nice view of the freeway but without the a/c fan it also comes with the freeway audio which at 5 AM is quite noticeable. I got up and attempted to restart the a/c but it had no power, it was completely dead. I unplugged and replugged it hoping that might reset it but to no avail. Finally at 5:30 it made a stange noise and the unit came back on. I told the desk clerk and she said hopfully that would be fixed when the remodel was completed. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Felt Unwelcomed I arrived at San Fran airport, got on my Ipad to search for a Shearton in the area. The Ipad Sheraton site quoted $111.00 special rate w/ availability, but I couldn't get the connection to go through, so I made a phone call to the hotel. I was told no rooms were available. I then decided to call the 800 number for Sheraton and found that a room WAS available and booked it, but had to payd $157.00 since I was unable to do the online booking. When I arrived, the young woman who checked me in was the one I had called earlier. No "glad you are here" just "yeah, you were the one I talked to over the phone." When I explained the situation, I asked about the rates, a which time she said they NEVER had rates that low. I didn't argue, just paid the higher rate and checked in. The ice machine was broken, there were holes in the bathroom door. Sheets and linens were clean, and glad I could open the door for fresh air, but all in all I would not stay there again. I had booked for two nights, but couldn't wait to leave. We were actually planning on staying in the area for 4 nights, but left after the first. May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed Small inconvience but still had expectations. Coffee pot did not work, there was no clock in the room and no remote control in the fitness room. I expected more from this hotel. September 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old hotel with new hotel price I believe I was told it was built in the '60s, if that tells you anything. Each room has a small in-wall AC unit that, and most of them are pretty old. Very few of them have newer digital units with a thermostat. They are all EXTREMELY noisy. The beds are hard. The bottoms sheets are not fitted and come off in the middle of the night. I don't know about you, but I don't like waking up on top of a bare mattress that isn't mine. The pillows aren't much better. At the least the quality of the linens is pretty good. The bathrooms are pretty reasonable, but I've had many issues with the shower heads. They are usually so clogged with mineral deposits that I've had to call for maintenance. The front desk staff have generally been superb. I've rarely had issue with them. I believe there was only one female sales manager that was ever rude to me (but with a smile). If anything, they make my stay. The dining staff on the other hand are routinely rude. I hate dealing with them. Don't get me started on the quality of the buffet. The maid staff seem nice, but will crush you with carts in an elevator. They really need to wait for an empty elevator. July 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I return time after time... The staff and the service they deliver is superior. The facility is clean and well maintained. The remodeling has caused no disruption to guests and, when complete, should bring an excellent rating in the only category I rated otherwise. The ravages of time bears on us all, but the hotel is fortunate to be able to renew itself. I commend them for exercising that option in a remarkably unnoticeable manner. December 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FOUR POINTS BY SHERATON SAN RAFAEL, CA Undersattfed, dirty, unkept, and in need of restoration. February 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by It was just another old hotel Will never recommend this hotel May 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by July stay We are SPG members, have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years as our family lives in the area. This time we paid the highest rate ever and received less for our money, and we had to pay full amount in advance with no cancellation to even get the rate we did. We considered reservations for 5 days at Christmas but found that the same policies applied, so we have reserved else where. this hotel in the same area,does not require full payment in advance and even offers us breakfast at the same price for 4 points. You have lost a long standing good customer. July 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by So Disappointing I had a one-night reservation at the Four Points in order to get a good sleep before an intensive training. I was alone, but put into an adjoining room with a very noisy couple. After midnight, I finally asked the front desk to help, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The couple didn't quiet down, however, so about 1am I had to pack up all of my belongings and move to another room on another floor. So instead of a good rest, I had about 5 hours of sleep and a very frustrating experience. Putting a single person in an adjoining room isn't considerate, as the thin door that connects the rooms means everything can be heard between the rooms. I talked with the front desk on the way out in the morning and the clerk merely said, "Too bad." and made no effort to find out what happened. It would have been so easy to have sent me off feeling just a tad better about a miserable night. I then submitted an email online describing the situation and my disappointment and never received an answer. I am sincerely sorry that I wasted money staying in this hotel, and will certainly never do so again even though I am in San Rafael frequently. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very relaxing I was greeted by Liz in Reception when I checked in. She was very helpful and friendly. Overall very satisfied with my stay here. December 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by outstanding service, outshine Westin, Le Meridian, etc. The staff make sure that any service we request are done, with a follow up call. After we settled in, the front desk called to make sure we are happy with the room or make changes if we want. The breakfast buffet is very good and with friendly service. The s j four points would only provide continental breakfast, which only has coffee, juice and danish. The only think i have to complain is the internet that will from time to time ask me to agree to the terms and make me lost my webpage. November 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff is the Best Restaurant wait staff... Wendy and Maria make us feel like family. Their attention to detail is extraordinary. They were slammed with a conference one morning but they seemed to take it in stride .. providing a timely response and focused customer service to each request for individual needs. A mix up in my reservation was quickly resolved by Leena... we were totally impressed when we saw her later and she addressed us by our last name... Excellent service. The improvements to the exercise room is outstanding. Our business and family brings us to Marin 4-5 times year. Four points is our preferred property. November 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff support needs addressing I stayed one night. The room was nice. Unfortunately, there was no sugar/creamer/stirrer packets. I called housekeeping 2 times with no answer.mmi called the front desk but no one ever came to to the room. Mi had to get dressed and walk the halls looking for housekeeping... I attended a seminar in the Marin I & II Rooms. The bathrooms ran out of toilet paper that I reported to the front desk. The next day the bathrooms ran out of soap...seriously, this is some basic stuff that does not speak well of your organization... :( July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A confortable Thanksgiving stay This is our first time at the Sheridan. We like to stay at hotels with breakfast in the package. To our delight the person at the front desk offered us free breakfast for our 3 day stay. The price of the hotel was within reason and location good to our son and daughter in law's apartment. The room was relatively quiet. The staff outstanding in their curtisy and attentiveness. November 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Service We recently booked this hotel to stay for our daughters wedding. We were trying to get information about their group rate. We called several times and emailed with no response. We were finally able to get ahold of Shannon, who was very helpful. We and some of our guests had trouble checking in and we were unable to get a cup of coffee at 9:50am because they stop serving at 10am. Our wedding guests were disappointed. It's a nice hotel but the customer service is the worst of any Sheraton I have stayed in. July 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Many, many nights I have been spending about 40 nights a year here for the last 4 years. I've witnessed many changes in staff. My last stay here was a disaster. Things improved tremendously last week when I was there. The maid service continues to decline. I have to call for towels almost nightly. I left an ice bucket with melted ice in it on the corner of the desk. After the first day the bucket was not removed, I purposely left the bucket on the desk. The bucket stayed there for 4 days. One day my room was not made up which was an improvement over my last stay when my room was not made up 3 nights. The fitness center is terrible. The wait staff in the dining room is a delight which makes my stay at this hotel a pleasant one. Hannouz and Esmeralda are very warm and welcoming every time I come here. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable bed, free wi-fi and free bottled water I really liked my stay. Extremely comfortable bed and the pillows were plentiful and perfect....not cheap feeling. Loved the easy access to wi-fi in my room with no code and no hassle. The free bottles of water in my room was a nice touch too. AC worked good and wasn't noisy. Also it was nice not having to leave for dinner and breakfast- both meals at hotel restaurant were tasty with fast and friendly service. I will always stay at this hotel if I am in the area....definitely was a great place to stay. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for business stays Comfortable quiet stay. Good service, easy access to freeways, restaurants, entertainment, etc. Great shower. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE the beds I felt the only think lacking was the restaurant food. Not much to choose from and because the restaurant was empty the waiter seemed to hover a bit too much. The food quality was just ok. Additionally my 24 year old grandson went out side for a smoke at about 9 pm and there was a hooker who made friends with him. Although he didn't feel intimidated I was shocked!!! September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Your bathrooms need upgrading. A refer would be nice in each room. Requires a lamp by the window to read in the evening. The two wall lamps over the bed are not adequate. December 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our visit The room heater was very noisy December 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rooms in need of a serious upgrade The room I was given (252) was old and outdated and had a strong smell of cigarette smoke when the air conditioning unit was turned off. The carpet was dirty and had not been vacuumed prior to my arrival. Bathroom appeared to have been quickly wiped down and the towels were not stocked. The toilet seat was so old you could see spots where people had sat and worn off the coating. July 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>