Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 438 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would Recommend this hotel Front Desk staff are friendly and accommodating. This hotel is close to everything you possibly need. Will definitely stay here again. May 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here! The entire hotel has an odor to it. It may be the cleaning solution, but it is quite strong. The room chair looked like something from a college dorm room. It has seen better days. The restaurant was horrible. The hostess was nowhere to be found so we waited to be seated while waitresses would say "she must be coming right back." The buffet ran out of plates, bowls and food. The food that was there had flies on it. When I asked our waitress for some jelly, she replied that we should just wait until they refilled the empty jelly container on the buffet rather than put any effort into finding some. Coffee cups were never refilled. It was not a pleasant way to start a day. When we checked out the front desk manager was there. She listened to what we had to say and agreed that there were issues with the restaurant because of a lack of a manager. She offered us additional starwood points which we thanked her for, but which have never appeared in our account. We would never stay at this hotel again and we would be hesitant to stay at any Four Points hotel again although other Starwood brand hotels are wonderful~! October 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Trashy hotel Carpets were dirty, curtain torn apart. Outside my room, pillows, covers and food leftovers were staying for hours before somebody took them. Very bad first impression. July 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed traveler After driving 7 hours we arrived to get a room with 1 King and a small roll away bed instead of 2 queens that were reserved and prepaid through travelocity. Discussing the matter with both night managers who were not very sympathetic they were not able to change our room. When we got to the room it was small cramped with the roll away in there and the sheets on the king had hair on them. The soap in the bathroom had not been changed nor the bathroom cleaned. They did send room service to clean the room but that was after the manager came and checked the room. I couldn't believe they would give a room that had not been cleaned. Very upsetting ordeal. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice enough The staff were lovely and welcoming. Checked in late and I didn't need much but a place to sleep so not a lot of staff contact but the few I did encounter were very warm and welcoming. The room was average at best. A couple lights were burnt out. I had a couple things that I wanted to store in a refrigerator but there was none. The heater was part of a wall air conditioner and not very effective. Without a thermostat I had to either turn the heat on or off which meant getting up a few times in the night to adjust that. The room and the bathroom in particular were quite cold in the morning and never warmed up sufficiently to take a comfortable shower. I didn't use the tv, so not sure how that was. The decor was not only out of date but a little shabby. Things were clean and I felt sanitary, but the fixtures in the tub/shower were old and deteriorating. This would not be a hotel I would recommend to anyone wishing to have an extended stay and I would not likely visit it again when I could find comparable accommodations at a lower price. I wanted something more comfortable, more to the standards of other Starwood hotels. January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but smelly Room was nice and clean. The free internet was easy to use. Free water is a nice perk. Only problem was the hallways smell like a nursing home. May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience Very comfortable stay. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Lovely pool and pool area. Great place for breakfast. Well done all around. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff The best I have ever experienced. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LUV it!! Bestest hotel in San Rafael. Been there 5 times. Get the big rooms that INCLUDE the b'fast buffet. You'll be much happier. March 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by One problem The only thing that bothered me were the towels. They were rough and almost crunchy. Use some Downey! Everything else was great! February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of Smiles I was satisfied and would stay again. Bed comfortable. Quiet and good nite sleep. Everybody with smiles and great attitudes. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great It was comfortable, relaxing. We enjoyed it very much. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway Highly recommend this property. Updated, clean and quiet. The staff was outstanding, friendly and professional. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Place to Stay I really enjoy everything: how easy it is to check-in, room, pool area, breakfast. and ease of checking out. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I stay at this hotel regularly and every time I've had excellent customer service and great accommodations. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Among the better FourPoints I usually stay in this hotel every 4-6 weeks. The staff are reliable and attentive. The rooms are quite comfortable, if compact (lighting is great). The poolside rooms are very quiet and the views of the coastal range from them unsurpassed. The internet ALWAYS works, the TV station selection is much better than that found at most Starwoods, the guest laundry room is superb. A high-end regional shopping center with a number of above average restaurants is within walking distance. Platinum recognition is the norm, even though there are no real suites or larger rooms. There are a few negatives: until recently, the breakfast buffet was among the best of any Starwood property. The chef made some truly wonderful thin crust breakfast pizzas, among other creative entrees. They seem to have disappeared. The buffet is now merely adequate. The restaurant staff are among the lesser competent employees of the property. The rooms facing the freeway should be avoided at all costs. Soundproofing is minimal and you are literally on the roadway. Furniture can be hit and miss: some rooms have ottomans, some do not. Actually finding the hotel is tricky, even with GPS....there is no signage to it. April 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by More like a motel than a hotel I expected better from a Starwood hotel. The staff was nice enough, but the two rooms we rented smelled like wet cat. My biggest issue with this hotel has been getting the deposit back. My reservations were fully prepaid using this SPG site. Upon checking in, they asked for a credit/debit card in the event we charged incidentals. No incidentals were charged, yet they have keep my deposit. They continue to tell me that it is for the second night for one room even though both rooms were fully prepaid on this SPG site. First, I will never use this site again to book rooms. Second, I now question the quality of the hotels in the SPG program. December 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Restaurant needs attention Restaurant has cold eggs in morning and burnt bacon n sausages,sometimes fresh bacon is raw,,,,pretty disgusting,,no cheese blitzes,,man in walker uses his bare hands to pick up sausage from cold bin,,where have his hands been?,,health hazard,,milk n juices are warm,,unhealthy to drink,,,,omelet chef like us have to toss dirty dishes from stack to find clean plate,,,need more bagels in morning n dannon yogurt please,,spoons for cereal often have oatmeal droppings,,,more bananas please too,, Rumored steak used to be better cut than now Servers are the best Carmen,,Wendy,,Ana,,Daniel,,Marcelo,,,front desk great,,Gina,,heather,,Michella,,,summer,, June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The shower sucks The worst shower ever. No room, shower head did not spray. Room was too small. Won't be back May 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experince Overall great stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful. April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel was very convenient to get to. Was vey pleased with the room. Did not have great lighting for putting on makeup. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel Intend to return in the future due to facility and friendly staff April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by the problem with this hotel cleaningness the staff does not know how to clean the rooms. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome service all employees really care to make us feel like home! April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed The stay started out fine. The gentleman at the desk was nice, had a good sense of humor and he was efficient. But he was obviously frazzled. Then I got to my room. From the room across the hall there was buzzing - like an alarm clock. Once in the room I noticed there were feces in the toilet. OK - I flushed that away. there were a few towels missing - like someone had been there and used one or two of a set. There was garbage in the cans. I was hungry so I had asked at the desk about the food. He said it was fine but why was there no one in the restaurant. Everyone was sitting around the pool with takeout trays. I stopped by the desk to mention the buzzing - because it was still going on. He just looked at me as if to say - what do you want me to do about it. At this point I decided not to mention the room conditions which weren't horrible. I was only staying one night. And past experience has shown me that changing rooms is a lot of work - FOR ME! So I went out to get some take out. Came home and sat down to eat and watch tv. The chair was filthy - so I sat on the desk chair. And there was someone elses old take out and coffee cup under the ottoman. ewwwwww. The fitness center was a closet that they crammed three or four pieces of equipment in. Not conducive to working out. August 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Management needs an upgrade I appreciate lots of things about Four Points San Rafael where I stay for 9 days at a time 4 to 6 times per year but there are some management issues that are annoying. Every time I stay, I request a microwave & fridge in my room & every time staff say they're not sure there are enough to go around. For a patron who stays there for 50 days or so per year, I would expect management to go & buy a $60 microwavee if necessary to be able to say, "Certainly, your needs will be met." I appreciate the free internet connection but the quality is substandard so that the connection is often lost & is too weak for Skype to be clear. The complimentary breakfast is a nice add-on but the scrambled eggs are nasty. The made-to-order-omelets are fabulous & I'd feel fed if I could have them daily instead of just on the weekends. The tea box is very frequently empty of basic English breakfast black tea & the staff report that it will be a few days until the next delivery. If necessary to keep guests served, it's a very short trip to the neighborhood Safeway. In the room, a small table & one or two chairs to go with it would be much more useful to me than the upholstered chair & could replace the desk chair. The new bedspreads look very fresh & lovely to me. The doors to the rooms slam unless one holds them as you close them. Bumpers or slower closing devices would be very respectful for all guests. April 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is horrible! Got into hotel around dinner time, front desk staff fine, went to restaurant and waiter could hardly speak english. Next morning cleaning staff removed old towels and did not replace leaving us with none. pool had no towels midday, Following morning non english speaking crew banging on both my rooms doors at 9am, my check out was 4pm, then went to restaurant at 1015 in morning on saturday to find kitch was closed from 10-11 and it took three people to tell me that because of non english speaking kitchen staff. So i go down the street to eat which was annoying, So after that we go to pool at 1130 again no towels at pool. I will not return to say the least! July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going down.... I stay at this hotel a few times a month. It is clean, quiet, safe and near a great shopping center with every bank you could think of. The problem seems to be staff and management. Rooms are pretty much the same, but lately getting even a "deluxe" (renovated) room seems to be a chore for a platinum. The final straw was today when I asked for a 4pm check-out and was denied. The hotel is and was quite empty. I stayed til 4 anyway, working away, ready to leave if asked. No one ever came to the room. The restaurant used to be great and innovative. Today it struggles for mediocrity. Please get it together....you could be a great hotel for the North Bay. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4th Visit, Disapointed We stayed 2 nights this time on our 4th visit to this property. 2nd visit as a Gold SPG member and for the 2nd time this was not acknowledged as it has been at other SPG properties. On this visit we had planned on visiting Muir Woods on Sat. morning and then coming back to the hotel to enjoy the pool for the afternoon. When we returned around 1pm, we looked out our window(which faced the pool) and there were 8 lounge chairs, all taken. We were very shocked at the lack of chairs available for a pool area and hotel of this size. It could hold at least 3 to 4 times that amount of seating, so we changed our plans and left the hotel for the Marin Headlands instead. This was the first time being placed in the North section of the building, it's in very poor condition. As stated by other reviews, the a/c units are horrible and very noisey. This was my first 2 night stay at thtis property, we alway's enjoy that 4 points places bottled water in the room as a comp. Could not beleive though that for the 2nd night, water was not replaced(a case of water costs penny's per bottle# glad we brought some with us. The pillow are bad, bad, bad, I don't know why all the hotels now are going to the feather#or artificial feather)type pillows, your head sinks so far into it that it's like your not even using a pillow. Overall, not the best 4 Points we have stayed at. Will we stay again? Probably, it's a great location for visiting the city and my sister near Santa Rosa as well as wine country. July 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here if you don't want to sleep. Location was easy to find and close to freeway access. Hotel entrance was acceptable. We stayed on a Sunday night. Upon checking in we noticed that a large group would be checking in (the "dancers" group - more on this later). The back entrance door to the rooms was incredibly difficult to open (very heavy!) and was not at all user friendly when managing suitcases. I can say the door has the possibility of squishing a small child. The elevators were almost scary and took a long time to go up two floors. The room smelled almost like smoke when entering, so we turned on the A/C to get some air circulating. The room was decent and clean. The bathrooms were a bit dated but functioned. The refrigerator made a delightful buzzing sound throughout the night. Upon returning to our room in the evening to go to bed, there were several people standing outside of the window talking loudly with their dogs. Luckily they went inside before we went to bed. Then.. next came "the dancers". I guess 2 bus loads of dancers arrived and were spread throughout the hotel. You would think that perhaps management could isolate the area for "the dancers" being their young age. All throughout the night, we heard nothing but slamming doors while the dancers pranced from room to room down the hallways. I heard other guests asking them to be quiet but the dancers pranced until 3am! I received no quality sleep at this establishment as we had plans to watch the sunrise in the city the next morning. I do not recommend this facility for any comfort or a quiet nights stay. I received a $25 discount for the noise. February 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>