Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 369 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Among the better FourPoints I usually stay in this hotel every 4-6 weeks. The staff are reliable and attentive. The rooms are quite comfortable, if compact (lighting is great). The poolside rooms are very quiet and the views of the coastal range from them unsurpassed. The internet ALWAYS works, the TV station selection is much better than that found at most Starwoods, the guest laundry room is superb. A high-end regional shopping center with a number of above average restaurants is within walking distance. Platinum recognition is the norm, even though there are no real suites or larger rooms. There are a few negatives: until recently, the breakfast buffet was among the best of any Starwood property. The chef made some truly wonderful thin crust breakfast pizzas, among other creative entrees. They seem to have disappeared. The buffet is now merely adequate. The restaurant staff are among the lesser competent employees of the property. The rooms facing the freeway should be avoided at all costs. Soundproofing is minimal and you are literally on the roadway. Furniture can be hit and miss: some rooms have ottomans, some do not. Actually finding the hotel is tricky, even with GPS....there is no signage to it. April 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Restaurant needs attention Restaurant has cold eggs in morning and burnt bacon n sausages,sometimes fresh bacon is raw,,,,pretty disgusting,,no cheese blitzes,,man in walker uses his bare hands to pick up sausage from cold bin,,where have his hands been?,,health hazard,,milk n juices are warm,,unhealthy to drink,,,,omelet chef like us have to toss dirty dishes from stack to find clean plate,,,need more bagels in morning n dannon yogurt please,,spoons for cereal often have oatmeal droppings,,,more bananas please too,, Rumored steak used to be better cut than now Servers are the best Carmen,,Wendy,,Ana,,Daniel,,Marcelo,,,front desk great,,Gina,,heather,,Michella,,,summer,, June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The shower sucks The worst shower ever. No room, shower head did not spray. Room was too small. Won't be back May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel was very convenient to get to. Was vey pleased with the room. Did not have great lighting for putting on makeup. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel Intend to return in the future due to facility and friendly staff April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by the problem with this hotel cleaningness the staff does not know how to clean the rooms. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome service all employees really care to make us feel like home! April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel was comfortable & I felt safe. Arrived Tuesday PM & check-out Thurs. noon. Used soap, shampoo,condition on Tuesday night. No new soap, shampoo, condition was placed on Wed--still same. Why not receive new soap, shampoo,condition daily. Other hotels give new supplies daily. Otherwise, all else was good. May 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed The stay started out fine. The gentleman at the desk was nice, had a good sense of humor and he was efficient. But he was obviously frazzled. Then I got to my room. From the room across the hall there was buzzing - like an alarm clock. Once in the room I noticed there were feces in the toilet. OK - I flushed that away. there were a few towels missing - like someone had been there and used one or two of a set. There was garbage in the cans. I was hungry so I had asked at the desk about the food. He said it was fine but why was there no one in the restaurant. Everyone was sitting around the pool with takeout trays. I stopped by the desk to mention the buzzing - because it was still going on. He just looked at me as if to say - what do you want me to do about it. At this point I decided not to mention the room conditions which weren't horrible. I was only staying one night. And past experience has shown me that changing rooms is a lot of work - FOR ME! So I went out to get some take out. Came home and sat down to eat and watch tv. The chair was filthy - so I sat on the desk chair. And there was someone elses old take out and coffee cup under the ottoman. ewwwwww. The fitness center was a closet that they crammed three or four pieces of equipment in. Not conducive to working out. August 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Management needs an upgrade I appreciate lots of things about Four Points San Rafael where I stay for 9 days at a time 4 to 6 times per year but there are some management issues that are annoying. Every time I stay, I request a microwave & fridge in my room & every time staff say they're not sure there are enough to go around. For a patron who stays there for 50 days or so per year, I would expect management to go & buy a $60 microwavee if necessary to be able to say, "Certainly, your needs will be met." I appreciate the free internet connection but the quality is substandard so that the connection is often lost & is too weak for Skype to be clear. The complimentary breakfast is a nice add-on but the scrambled eggs are nasty. The made-to-order-omelets are fabulous & I'd feel fed if I could have them daily instead of just on the weekends. The tea box is very frequently empty of basic English breakfast black tea & the staff report that it will be a few days until the next delivery. If necessary to keep guests served, it's a very short trip to the neighborhood Safeway. In the room, a small table & one or two chairs to go with it would be much more useful to me than the upholstered chair & could replace the desk chair. The new bedspreads look very fresh & lovely to me. The doors to the rooms slam unless one holds them as you close them. Bumpers or slower closing devices would be very respectful for all guests. April 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going down.... I stay at this hotel a few times a month. It is clean, quiet, safe and near a great shopping center with every bank you could think of. The problem seems to be staff and management. Rooms are pretty much the same, but lately getting even a "deluxe" (renovated) room seems to be a chore for a platinum. The final straw was today when I asked for a 4pm check-out and was denied. The hotel is and was quite empty. I stayed til 4 anyway, working away, ready to leave if asked. No one ever came to the room. The restaurant used to be great and innovative. Today it struggles for mediocrity. Please get it together....you could be a great hotel for the North Bay. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4th Visit, Disapointed We stayed 2 nights this time on our 4th visit to this property. 2nd visit as a Gold SPG member and for the 2nd time this was not acknowledged as it has been at other SPG properties. On this visit we had planned on visiting Muir Woods on Sat. morning and then coming back to the hotel to enjoy the pool for the afternoon. When we returned around 1pm, we looked out our window(which faced the pool) and there were 8 lounge chairs, all taken. We were very shocked at the lack of chairs available for a pool area and hotel of this size. It could hold at least 3 to 4 times that amount of seating, so we changed our plans and left the hotel for the Marin Headlands instead. This was the first time being placed in the North section of the building, it's in very poor condition. As stated by other reviews, the a/c units are horrible and very noisey. This was my first 2 night stay at thtis property, we alway's enjoy that 4 points places bottled water in the room as a comp. Could not beleive though that for the 2nd night, water was not replaced(a case of water costs penny's per bottle# glad we brought some with us. The pillow are bad, bad, bad, I don't know why all the hotels now are going to the feather#or artificial feather)type pillows, your head sinks so far into it that it's like your not even using a pillow. Overall, not the best 4 Points we have stayed at. Will we stay again? Probably, it's a great location for visiting the city and my sister near Santa Rosa as well as wine country. July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by smoke There was smoking in numerous rooms. The no smoking policy for the property needs to be verbalized to each person when they check in. It also needs to be more visible in each room. One small sign high on the wall near the sprinkler is not sufficient. I had to move rooms due to smoke. Also, AC/Heat unit was not working in room 406. Many things seem not kept up in general in the rooms, disappointing to me. May 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here if you don't want to sleep. Location was easy to find and close to freeway access. Hotel entrance was acceptable. We stayed on a Sunday night. Upon checking in we noticed that a large group would be checking in (the "dancers" group - more on this later). The back entrance door to the rooms was incredibly difficult to open (very heavy!) and was not at all user friendly when managing suitcases. I can say the door has the possibility of squishing a small child. The elevators were almost scary and took a long time to go up two floors. The room smelled almost like smoke when entering, so we turned on the A/C to get some air circulating. The room was decent and clean. The bathrooms were a bit dated but functioned. The refrigerator made a delightful buzzing sound throughout the night. Upon returning to our room in the evening to go to bed, there were several people standing outside of the window talking loudly with their dogs. Luckily they went inside before we went to bed. Then.. next came "the dancers". I guess 2 bus loads of dancers arrived and were spread throughout the hotel. You would think that perhaps management could isolate the area for "the dancers" being their young age. All throughout the night, we heard nothing but slamming doors while the dancers pranced from room to room down the hallways. I heard other guests asking them to be quiet but the dancers pranced until 3am! I received no quality sleep at this establishment as we had plans to watch the sunrise in the city the next morning. I do not recommend this facility for any comfort or a quiet nights stay. I received a $25 discount for the noise. February 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Location Everything was great except for the location which was the 1st flr on the right side near an exit. Too noise for me. People above me very noise. People in rm 121 were up very late slaming door. People coming in and out of exit door. I did request and next time Im there is not a 1st flr room near exit and elevator...Previous room was on 2nd flr in back. very peaceful, quiet. Even though 2nd stay was not as good as 1st stay 2 yrs ago I will definately stay again...Very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accomidating. The have marked my request for an upper floor room next time... Sincerely, cece (My friend originoally booked my room... April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, with a GREAT STAFF and GENERAL MANAGER I recently stayed at this property for the first time on 3/24-3/26, 2013. I was immediately greeted by Morgan (Front Desk Director of First Impressions), in which Morgan in my opinion was one of the nicest, friendliest, and most accomodating people I have met. My check in was a breeze. In addition, Melody, the Front Desk Manager, and Umar are equally as great, with the front desk staff constantly providing the utmost level of customer service by even remembering each guest's last name and saying "Have a good evening/morning Mr." or "Is there anything we can do to make your stay any better Mr." Very much greatly appreciated by myself. Mr. Hartmut Ott, the General Manager of the property also deserves recognition. His leadership skills and the way he runs his staff and hotel are incredible. During my two-day stay at the property, I only encountered one issue, the bar/food closing early. I spoke with Mr. Ott the next morning and he assured me that the bar issue would be resolved immediately, and took full responsibility as a great manager should do and swiftly addressed the problem. Mr. Hartmut Ott, deserves to be recognized in my opinion as well as his entire staff for providing excellent customer service. Each staff member was helpful, and friendly. The beds were also extremely comfortable, and the rooms honestly deserve a 5 star cleanliness rating as they were immaculate. I had a very good time at night after work in the bar/restaurant area. Where Kim, the bartender is amazing, very people friendly, and even took the time to go over the full menu with me prior to ordering since I have food allergies. Her mixology skills as a bartender are amazing and her people skills are excellent. The lobby bar is a great place to meet great people, I met a few friends there myself while I was staying on the property. The pool is gorgeous and the hotel is located in a prime San Rafael/Marin County location and is very quiet! I will definitely be back and will gladly recommend this property to others! Thank you for such a great stay Mr. Ott, you and your staff are wonderful! April 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking SPG Quality Unfortunately, I cannot say that I was satisfied with my stay at the Four Points by Sheraton in San Rafael. When I arrived on Saturday, August 3rd, there were no other customers in the lobby; however, there were three employees behind the check-in counter. I stood in front of the counter for several minutes before anyone even acknowledged me. I was then told that there was a balcony attached to my room (room 58), which sounded delightful. Unfortunately, my room was on the ground floor. Rather than finding a balcony, there was a walkway where anyone in the hotel had access to. There was also toothpaste on the bathroom sink's faucet and tissues shoved into the tissue box. The most alarming disappointment was that the metal swing bar door guard did not latch. I called the front desk with my concern about being two women, one of whom was pregnant, being on the ground floor and not having a working swing bar door guard. I asked if we could switch rooms and she said the hotel was completely booked and this was not possible. If we couldn't be moved, I told her that I would like a new swing bar door guard replaced. We went to the pool and when we returned the swing bar door guard was completely removed. I called the front desk a second time and the women said that it won't be replaced, but not to worry because all perimeter doors are locked at 10:00pm. At this point, I was so unsatisfied with the lack of professionalism, cleanliness and security that I was ready to leave. The woman at the font desk said that she'd check with maintenance again and call me back. Finally, a maintenance person was sent out a second time and replaced the swing bar door guard. We were given the option to check out late, which we accepted. Sunday morning we went to the pool and returned before we were supposed to check-out. Much to our dismay, our key no longer worked. I went to the front desk, explained the situation and didn't even receive an apology or acknowledgement that we were offered to stay until 2:00pm. This stay was supposed to be a lovely little get away before our first child was born, but instead it was the worst stay that I have ever experienced as an SPG member. I hope you take this opportunity to provide your employees with trainings on professionalism, customer care, cleanliness and security. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The fastest Internet I have seen Nice staff, beautiful location and great pool. The internet speed is better than any other hotel I have seen in the past 2 years. May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Higher spg points lower service Now you have to spend 7000 points instead of 3000 spg points. Earliar you used to get breakfast for gold members, now you do not. The points have doubled but there is nothing that has improved. Ordered an omellete with veg no peppers, took 30 min and got with peppers. The wait staff are overworked and don't seem to care. Had a trainee check us in. No acknowledgement of gold membership or any incentives asked. The phone in the room did not work. Have come for last ten years, this was the worst stay. April 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a good deal anymore Now you have to spend 7000 points instead of 3000 spg points. Earliar you used to get breakfast for gold members, now you do not. The points have doubled but there is nothing that has improved. Ordered an omellete with veg no peppers, took 30 min and got with peppers. The wait staff are overworked and don't seem to care. Had a trainee check us in. No acknowledgement of gold membership or any incentives asked. The phone in the room did not work. Have come for last ten years, this was the worst stay. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and staff hotel was excellently located to explore san Francisco, marin county and Sonoma county. We used it as a home base to explore these areas and also enjoyed our time locally at the hotel. It was quite comfortable with friendly staff, Leena at front desk was great on check in, and nice wall with restaurants across street, I would suggest that the hotel improve the fitness center which needs more space and equipment April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms aren't consistent I've stayed there several times. Each time, I've had a refridgerator and a small blue chair (that I put my things on) in my room. This visit was disappointing in that the room I got, did not have either. I called the front desk, and they put me in another room two doors away, exact same thing, no fridge or chair (empty space). Called front desk again, finally moved me to another room on the 4th floor, had to walk a ways carting my luggage to another set of elevators to get there, which is farther from where we parked. Disappointed this happened, it delayed us from doing other things that we came to town to do. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but could use improvements Overall, this is a nice hotel with nice amenities. Staff was pleasant and attentive. The rooms are decent size though the bathrooms are a bit small. My only complaints about the room was (1) the mattress sagged a bit in the middle indicating the one of two queen size beds I slept it is primarily occupied by one person and (2) the shower head was not great. The water was hot, but the pressure was lacking. Also, in the area of the hotel where I saw carpeting, it appeared not to be pinned down along the walls and buckled slightly in the middle of the hallways. Not major issues, but noticeable. The pool was great, and the breakfast buffett was good. I'd stay here again though. May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by april 24 stay i have stayed in this hotel numerous times and been satisfied. this time my room #328 was noisy both from the pool at night and from the lack of insulation between rooms. i understand the issues with facing the pool, which i requested, but i will remember to ask for an upgraded room next time as the noise from the rooms around me and the hallway were totally annoying. also maid service disturbing me at 8:30. i will remember to put the sign on my door next time, if there is one. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Castaneda stay Our stay was fine. Our room (#139) was okay while my Mother-in-law's room (#130) was much nicer with the view and extra room. One thing that concerned me was that the gal at reception had my room # wrong when I needed her to make me another key (my husband went for a walk with both room keys)... I had to tell her repeatedly that I was in room #139 - she indicated some other room... I had to show her my empty key envelope that indicated our room as #139... Further, our shower faucet worked at +- 50%... I am not complaining - merely sharing my thoughts. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly staff and great location We enjoyed staying at the Four Points Sheraton. The location was great for the wine country and for going into the city of San Francisco. The pool, hot tub, and outdoor fireplace made the stay even more relaxing. One thing I would change is being able to get a snack after 10 pm to sit outside by the fireplace. April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconvenience I know requests are just that: requests, but I called the day of my arrival to reiterate the importance of either 2 beds or a rollaway. Upon check in, no dbl rooms were available nor was there a rollaway on hand. The front desk agent wasn't even aware of my request despite the notes in the comments of the reservations. The workaround was to give us a parlor (pull out sofa bed) and a king room (not adjoining) for the first nt and move us to a double room the next nt. Very inconvenient, especially since we drove all night, arrived at 5am and needed to sleep in! But housekeeping was very friendly and helpful with transferring my stuff. Loved that the mall was within walking distance. July 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not a happy camper I hate review/surveys. I asked for a hard copy - but your computers were off line when I checked in and also when I checked out soooo I am simply trying to get a copy of my billing - but cannot find the download button. stupid nickname requirements April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience I stayed in the San Rafael Four Points room 152. It room was exceptionally noisy, a lot of mechanical noise an not just the air conditioning. The worst thing however was what was laughingly called a shower. The water barely came out at a dribble. When I checked out next morning, after what was one of the worst nights sleep i have ever had in a hotel, I mentioned my experience with room noise and a very substandard shower and the response was basically "Oh ok". Very disappointed in what i thought was a quality brand. March 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understaffed or just sloppy? A stay at 4 point in San Rafael was disappointing. As we entered, trash was piled up around the benches in front. The elevator had not been vacuumed in awhile. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor that had ceiling damage and a noisy refrigerator. In the hallway outside, there was a smell of mold, and repairs were in progress. The repair area partly blocked our access to the elevator. To top it all, there was no soap in the room. We were too tired to complain about any of the above, and despite it all we had a good night's sleep. We would stay here again, but would check the room FIRST. February 19, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>