Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 430 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Management needs an upgrade I appreciate lots of things about Four Points San Rafael where I stay for 9 days at a time 4 to 6 times per year but there are some management issues that are annoying. Every time I stay, I request a microwave & fridge in my room & every time staff say they're not sure there are enough to go around. For a patron who stays there for 50 days or so per year, I would expect management to go & buy a $60 microwavee if necessary to be able to say, "Certainly, your needs will be met." I appreciate the free internet connection but the quality is substandard so that the connection is often lost & is too weak for Skype to be clear. The complimentary breakfast is a nice add-on but the scrambled eggs are nasty. The made-to-order-omelets are fabulous & I'd feel fed if I could have them daily instead of just on the weekends. The tea box is very frequently empty of basic English breakfast black tea & the staff report that it will be a few days until the next delivery. If necessary to keep guests served, it's a very short trip to the neighborhood Safeway. In the room, a small table & one or two chairs to go with it would be much more useful to me than the upholstered chair & could replace the desk chair. The new bedspreads look very fresh & lovely to me. The doors to the rooms slam unless one holds them as you close them. Bumpers or slower closing devices would be very respectful for all guests. April 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good staff, mediocre services In the four days I was there, the ice maker on the 3rd floor near my room (315) was never fixed. And the food was really mediocre -- worse than the prices suggested. I ordered a dinner salad once, with chicken. Besides taking a long time, the chicken was dry, nearly tasteless. Another time, I ordered the strawberry shortcake. Nothing memorable about it at all. The food was the work of cooks, not chefs. I expected more from a Sheraton hotel. When I saw the big sign saying the hotel was for sale, I thought: karma. The front desk staff, however, were excellent, always helpful. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going down.... I stay at this hotel a few times a month. It is clean, quiet, safe and near a great shopping center with every bank you could think of. The problem seems to be staff and management. Rooms are pretty much the same, but lately getting even a "deluxe" (renovated) room seems to be a chore for a platinum. The final straw was today when I asked for a 4pm check-out and was denied. The hotel is and was quite empty. I stayed til 4 anyway, working away, ready to leave if asked. No one ever came to the room. The restaurant used to be great and innovative. Today it struggles for mediocrity. Please get it together....you could be a great hotel for the North Bay. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4th Visit, Disapointed We stayed 2 nights this time on our 4th visit to this property. 2nd visit as a Gold SPG member and for the 2nd time this was not acknowledged as it has been at other SPG properties. On this visit we had planned on visiting Muir Woods on Sat. morning and then coming back to the hotel to enjoy the pool for the afternoon. When we returned around 1pm, we looked out our window(which faced the pool) and there were 8 lounge chairs, all taken. We were very shocked at the lack of chairs available for a pool area and hotel of this size. It could hold at least 3 to 4 times that amount of seating, so we changed our plans and left the hotel for the Marin Headlands instead. This was the first time being placed in the North section of the building, it's in very poor condition. As stated by other reviews, the a/c units are horrible and very noisey. This was my first 2 night stay at thtis property, we alway's enjoy that 4 points places bottled water in the room as a comp. Could not beleive though that for the 2nd night, water was not replaced(a case of water costs penny's per bottle# glad we brought some with us. The pillow are bad, bad, bad, I don't know why all the hotels now are going to the feather#or artificial feather)type pillows, your head sinks so far into it that it's like your not even using a pillow. Overall, not the best 4 Points we have stayed at. Will we stay again? Probably, it's a great location for visiting the city and my sister near Santa Rosa as well as wine country. July 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here if you don't want to sleep. Location was easy to find and close to freeway access. Hotel entrance was acceptable. We stayed on a Sunday night. Upon checking in we noticed that a large group would be checking in (the "dancers" group - more on this later). The back entrance door to the rooms was incredibly difficult to open (very heavy!) and was not at all user friendly when managing suitcases. I can say the door has the possibility of squishing a small child. The elevators were almost scary and took a long time to go up two floors. The room smelled almost like smoke when entering, so we turned on the A/C to get some air circulating. The room was decent and clean. The bathrooms were a bit dated but functioned. The refrigerator made a delightful buzzing sound throughout the night. Upon returning to our room in the evening to go to bed, there were several people standing outside of the window talking loudly with their dogs. Luckily they went inside before we went to bed. Then.. next came "the dancers". I guess 2 bus loads of dancers arrived and were spread throughout the hotel. You would think that perhaps management could isolate the area for "the dancers" being their young age. All throughout the night, we heard nothing but slamming doors while the dancers pranced from room to room down the hallways. I heard other guests asking them to be quiet but the dancers pranced until 3am! I received no quality sleep at this establishment as we had plans to watch the sunrise in the city the next morning. I do not recommend this facility for any comfort or a quiet nights stay. I received a $25 discount for the noise. February 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Location Everything was great except for the location which was the 1st flr on the right side near an exit. Too noise for me. People above me very noise. People in rm 121 were up very late slaming door. People coming in and out of exit door. I did request and next time Im there is not a 1st flr room near exit and elevator...Previous room was on 2nd flr in back. very peaceful, quiet. Even though 2nd stay was not as good as 1st stay 2 yrs ago I will definately stay again...Very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accomidating. The have marked my request for an upper floor room next time... Sincerely, cece (My friend originoally booked my room... April 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tommy We stayed 5 nights and had an excellent time. A good location. Excellent staff, good service and good food. It was a nice central location -- convenient to, Alcatraz, AT&T Park (the Giants) by ferry, Muir Woods, Wine Tasting(Napa and Sonoma) and just a few minutes from Frank Lloyd Wright's Marin Center. The swimming pool and hot tub were a plus. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, with a GREAT STAFF and GENERAL MANAGER I recently stayed at this property for the first time on 3/24-3/26, 2013. I was immediately greeted by Morgan (Front Desk Director of First Impressions), in which Morgan in my opinion was one of the nicest, friendliest, and most accomodating people I have met. My check in was a breeze. In addition, Melody, the Front Desk Manager, and Umar are equally as great, with the front desk staff constantly providing the utmost level of customer service by even remembering each guest's last name and saying "Have a good evening/morning Mr." or "Is there anything we can do to make your stay any better Mr." Very much greatly appreciated by myself. Mr. Hartmut Ott, the General Manager of the property also deserves recognition. His leadership skills and the way he runs his staff and hotel are incredible. During my two-day stay at the property, I only encountered one issue, the bar/food closing early. I spoke with Mr. Ott the next morning and he assured me that the bar issue would be resolved immediately, and took full responsibility as a great manager should do and swiftly addressed the problem. Mr. Hartmut Ott, deserves to be recognized in my opinion as well as his entire staff for providing excellent customer service. Each staff member was helpful, and friendly. The beds were also extremely comfortable, and the rooms honestly deserve a 5 star cleanliness rating as they were immaculate. I had a very good time at night after work in the bar/restaurant area. Where Kim, the bartender is amazing, very people friendly, and even took the time to go over the full menu with me prior to ordering since I have food allergies. Her mixology skills as a bartender are amazing and her people skills are excellent. The lobby bar is a great place to meet great people, I met a few friends there myself while I was staying on the property. The pool is gorgeous and the hotel is located in a prime San Rafael/Marin County location and is very quiet! I will definitely be back and will gladly recommend this property to others! Thank you for such a great stay Mr. Ott, you and your staff are wonderful! April 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking SPG Quality Unfortunately, I cannot say that I was satisfied with my stay at the Four Points by Sheraton in San Rafael. When I arrived on Saturday, August 3rd, there were no other customers in the lobby; however, there were three employees behind the check-in counter. I stood in front of the counter for several minutes before anyone even acknowledged me. I was then told that there was a balcony attached to my room (room 58), which sounded delightful. Unfortunately, my room was on the ground floor. Rather than finding a balcony, there was a walkway where anyone in the hotel had access to. There was also toothpaste on the bathroom sink's faucet and tissues shoved into the tissue box. The most alarming disappointment was that the metal swing bar door guard did not latch. I called the front desk with my concern about being two women, one of whom was pregnant, being on the ground floor and not having a working swing bar door guard. I asked if we could switch rooms and she said the hotel was completely booked and this was not possible. If we couldn't be moved, I told her that I would like a new swing bar door guard replaced. We went to the pool and when we returned the swing bar door guard was completely removed. I called the front desk a second time and the women said that it won't be replaced, but not to worry because all perimeter doors are locked at 10:00pm. At this point, I was so unsatisfied with the lack of professionalism, cleanliness and security that I was ready to leave. The woman at the font desk said that she'd check with maintenance again and call me back. Finally, a maintenance person was sent out a second time and replaced the swing bar door guard. We were given the option to check out late, which we accepted. Sunday morning we went to the pool and returned before we were supposed to check-out. Much to our dismay, our key no longer worked. I went to the front desk, explained the situation and didn't even receive an apology or acknowledgement that we were offered to stay until 2:00pm. This stay was supposed to be a lovely little get away before our first child was born, but instead it was the worst stay that I have ever experienced as an SPG member. I hope you take this opportunity to provide your employees with trainings on professionalism, customer care, cleanliness and security. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Our room had a lot of noise and sounds that seemed to come from the ventilation system. I'd hear laughter and voices, open the front door and there'd be no one. We also had "mechanical" noises - like coming from the boiler room - all night long. We were in room 349. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay I always enjoy my stay at Four Points Sheraton in Corta Madera. Hotel is clean and staff is friendly and accommodating. September 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to usual Sheraton standards Two nights in a row my breakfast card wasn't picked up from my door overnight, neither was my Go Green card. The first day I went to the breakfast buffet, which was horrible, the second day I left the hotel for breakfast. Full trash cans outside the front door. Bathroom was ok but products were cheap looking. Horrendously loud AC unit. I normally stay at Sheraton but not Four Points. I'm not sure that I will again. The staff were nice and apologetic about breakfast, but two days in a row? Someone should have followed up.i checked out a day early so I could stay elsewhere. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We were greeted by very friendly staff when we checked in. Unfortunately, the room provided was old, out-dated, and had moldy and smokey smell to it. The front desk staff assured us that a new room will be provided. After two hours of waiting and requesting we be allowed to cancel our reservation to go find another hotel, they found a new room (almost instantly). I would not stay at this location again nor recommended to anyone else. August 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I would not recommend this hotel if you're looking for a good rest or good service Pros: Check in went very smooth. Bed was very comfortable. Swimming pool and hot tub looked nice. Hot breakfast had a good variety of items. Cons: Room wasn't properly cleaned. Missed a bathrobe. Asked for a new one, didn't get it until I asked twice. Airconditioning wasn't working properly. Front desk sent someone up. Still not working properly. Locker was unusable, because it was still locked. Weird amounts charged on my credit card. After 2 days of researching front desk still couldn't give me a specification. So they just told me its some kind of deposit which I'll get back. So far I still haven't got it back. Bar staff was giving us strange looks the entire time we were relaxing in the bar area. Restaurant staff in the morning during breakfast were very rude. Being grumpy and "communicating" (yelling like market salesmen through the restaurant) in their own language all the time. They had more attention for each other than for the guests. After settling the check, the server gave us a dirty look after looking at the bill (15% was not enough?). Even though the room was comfortable, drunk hotel guests were staying in the swimming pool/hot tub all night until about 4 am. They made a lot of noise. Staff didn't do anything about it. Same stacks of dirty plates were decorating the hallway to our room for our entire stay. September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value Friendly staff is the best part of this hotel. The front desk staff is the best. Quality of food is not as good as it used to be. September 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but could use improvements Overall, this is a nice hotel with nice amenities. Staff was pleasant and attentive. The rooms are decent size though the bathrooms are a bit small. My only complaints about the room was (1) the mattress sagged a bit in the middle indicating the one of two queen size beds I slept it is primarily occupied by one person and (2) the shower head was not great. The water was hot, but the pressure was lacking. Also, in the area of the hotel where I saw carpeting, it appeared not to be pinned down along the walls and buckled slightly in the middle of the hallways. Not major issues, but noticeable. The pool was great, and the breakfast buffett was good. I'd stay here again though. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms aren't consistent I've stayed there several times. Each time, I've had a refridgerator and a small blue chair (that I put my things on) in my room. This visit was disappointing in that the room I got, did not have either. I called the front desk, and they put me in another room two doors away, exact same thing, no fridge or chair (empty space). Called front desk again, finally moved me to another room on the 4th floor, had to walk a ways carting my luggage to another set of elevators to get there, which is farther from where we parked. Disappointed this happened, it delayed us from doing other things that we came to town to do. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs upgrade Room not ready at time promised. Had to return later. First room was shabby. Big scratch on TV, plastic curtain closest to window was torn, rug on first floor by elevator dirty looking & stained. Asked for a second choice. Room on second floor very much better. Only problem was the confusing air conditioning system: one on wall and one by window. Which to use? Finally, after calling for help and no one came, just unplugged what I could and slept w/o air on. Finally, at these prices, many hotels provide at least a modest breakfast, like juice and a roll. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconvenience I know requests are just that: requests, but I called the day of my arrival to reiterate the importance of either 2 beds or a rollaway. Upon check in, no dbl rooms were available nor was there a rollaway on hand. The front desk agent wasn't even aware of my request despite the notes in the comments of the reservations. The workaround was to give us a parlor (pull out sofa bed) and a king room (not adjoining) for the first nt and move us to a double room the next nt. Very inconvenient, especially since we drove all night, arrived at 5am and needed to sleep in! But housekeeping was very friendly and helpful with transferring my stuff. Loved that the mall was within walking distance. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Experience All the public areas of the hotel are very nice. The staff were friendly and professional. My room was clean but there were several areas that need immediate attention. Torn and missing curtains and a gaping hole where the air conditioner was installed on the outer wall. Printer in lobby was not working and one of the two computers in the 'business center' was not working. The one ice machine on my floor was empty. Unfortunately, I can't look beyond these issues and comment on what should have been a great experience. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Review of Sheraton Four Points There is a feeling at this hotel of oldness, tiredness. I met the manager when arriving and she was very energetic, helpful and direct. But, overall, it appeared the carpet needed cleaning, there was painting that needed to be done. There was just an overall feeling that this is a tired hotel. The elevators and rooms are very far from the lobby. There was traffic outside my room related to the hotel. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The GM went above and beyond The GM Rob Petersen helped us emmensely He made sure the wedding we had to get to @ 4pm was possible by making sure we could checkin early.He went out of his way to help us even though we never stayed there before.He returned our calls and called to confirm the early ckin 48hrs before.I don't know if we'll ever get to that area again but We will recommend The Four Points By Sheraton in San Rafael . The Professionalism by this GM (Rob Petersen) is an example of what GM's should be. Thanks again Rob You made our trip from Tuolumne County a success. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conference I was attending a conference at the hotel. The room was fine, if a little shabby. The air conditioner was quite loud and didn't really cool the room; however the weather was fair, so no real inconvenience. I appreciated the hand rails on the bath/shower. The bathroom was spacious. I was surprised that there was only bar soap and not shower gel as one of the amenities, but that's just fine, too. I would have liked to be able to use the pool before breakfast and still make it on time to my 10am conference, but eating before worked out. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst We checked in at midnight and went to our room only to find that someone had been in the bed (tv on, pillows moved and covers pulled back). Went back down to the front desk and she said no, that there night person had just checked the room. (my guess is that he hung out in there and forgot to put it back to 'new' status). Was assigned another room on the 0 level...GROSS...the outside door right outside our room was propped open - so basically no security. The curtains were hanging off from the rod, the air conditioner didn't work but by now, my children, husband and I have hauled all of our luggage all over the hotel. The front desk person was unapologetic....I mentioned it again in the morning when I checked out and the staff again was unapologetic. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone - truly an awful experience. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location The hotel is pretty average and looks a little outdated in the rooms and the gym was really outdated. I stayed here because of the location to my clients. Might stay in the future because of the location, but it will not be my first choice. August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understaffed or just sloppy? A stay at 4 point in San Rafael was disappointing. As we entered, trash was piled up around the benches in front. The elevator had not been vacuumed in awhile. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor that had ceiling damage and a noisy refrigerator. In the hallway outside, there was a smell of mold, and repairs were in progress. The repair area partly blocked our access to the elevator. To top it all, there was no soap in the room. We were too tired to complain about any of the above, and despite it all we had a good night's sleep. We would stay here again, but would check the room FIRST. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and comfortable We have stayed with you before and chose this hotel because of our past experience. Our experience this time was almost as good as the last. The room was not quite up to our expectations: no refrigerator, not enough towels, Kleenex, or toilet tissue. Our room was not made up the second morning, and on the third morning we had to ask to have it made up at 2:30 in the afternoon. The pool was nice and the café was also nice, although breakfast was the same 3 days in a row. I think a room like this could have been priced a little lower. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding Guest Experience I enjoyed my weekend here as a wedding guest. The staff is friendly, helpful, and very accommodating with all the guests. However, housekeeping never came to service the room after I removed the do not disturb sign (it was empty all afternoon). I had to call reception to have more toiletries delivered. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience Booked 3 nights and 2 rooms First night: Someone (Guest, house keeper or ? ) opened the room at one of the rooms at middle of the night. Front desk staffs provided various reasons at various time. Who knows what was going on Trying to change room in the morning and said no room available even we are SPG Platinum member Cancel the rest of the reservations and had to change to another hotels Front desk staff promised 5000 spg point compensation but nothing happened No refund for the balance of the stayed (prepaid)was given till we called the hotel a few days later June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to Par We were disappointed in this Sheraton. We had a long trek to our room. Walking through miles of corridors from the parking lot was not fun each time we left and came back. The room itself was a bit shoddy and tatty. It did not feel luxurious in any way. Our view was the back end of the pool maintenance area. Not the pool itself, oh no. This was not a relaxing place to stay. August 12, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 16 next>>