Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 423 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I stay at this hotel regularly and every time I've had excellent customer service and great accommodations. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Place to Stay I really enjoy everything: how easy it is to check-in, room, pool area, breakfast. and ease of checking out. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Among the better FourPoints I usually stay in this hotel every 4-6 weeks. The staff are reliable and attentive. The rooms are quite comfortable, if compact (lighting is great). The poolside rooms are very quiet and the views of the coastal range from them unsurpassed. The internet ALWAYS works, the TV station selection is much better than that found at most Starwoods, the guest laundry room is superb. A high-end regional shopping center with a number of above average restaurants is within walking distance. Platinum recognition is the norm, even though there are no real suites or larger rooms. There are a few negatives: until recently, the breakfast buffet was among the best of any Starwood property. The chef made some truly wonderful thin crust breakfast pizzas, among other creative entrees. They seem to have disappeared. The buffet is now merely adequate. The restaurant staff are among the lesser competent employees of the property. The rooms facing the freeway should be avoided at all costs. Soundproofing is minimal and you are literally on the roadway. Furniture can be hit and miss: some rooms have ottomans, some do not. Actually finding the hotel is tricky, even with GPS....there is no signage to it. April 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Restaurant needs attention Restaurant has cold eggs in morning and burnt bacon n sausages,sometimes fresh bacon is raw,,,,pretty disgusting,,no cheese blitzes,,man in walker uses his bare hands to pick up sausage from cold bin,,where have his hands been?,,health hazard,,milk n juices are warm,,unhealthy to drink,,,,omelet chef like us have to toss dirty dishes from stack to find clean plate,,,need more bagels in morning n dannon yogurt please,,spoons for cereal often have oatmeal droppings,,,more bananas please too,, Rumored steak used to be better cut than now Servers are the best Carmen,,Wendy,,Ana,,Daniel,,Marcelo,,,front desk great,,Gina,,heather,,Michella,,,summer,, June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The shower sucks The worst shower ever. No room, shower head did not spray. Room was too small. Won't be back May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel was very convenient to get to. Was vey pleased with the room. Did not have great lighting for putting on makeup. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel Intend to return in the future due to facility and friendly staff April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by the problem with this hotel cleaningness the staff does not know how to clean the rooms. August 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs upgrade Room not ready at time promised. Had to return later. First room was shabby. Big scratch on TV, plastic curtain closest to window was torn, rug on first floor by elevator dirty looking & stained. Asked for a second choice. Room on second floor very much better. Only problem was the confusing air conditioning system: one on wall and one by window. Which to use? Finally, after calling for help and no one came, just unplugged what I could and slept w/o air on. Finally, at these prices, many hotels provide at least a modest breakfast, like juice and a roll. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome service all employees really care to make us feel like home! April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not impressed The stay started out fine. The gentleman at the desk was nice, had a good sense of humor and he was efficient. But he was obviously frazzled. Then I got to my room. From the room across the hall there was buzzing - like an alarm clock. Once in the room I noticed there were feces in the toilet. OK - I flushed that away. there were a few towels missing - like someone had been there and used one or two of a set. There was garbage in the cans. I was hungry so I had asked at the desk about the food. He said it was fine but why was there no one in the restaurant. Everyone was sitting around the pool with takeout trays. I stopped by the desk to mention the buzzing - because it was still going on. He just looked at me as if to say - what do you want me to do about it. At this point I decided not to mention the room conditions which weren't horrible. I was only staying one night. And past experience has shown me that changing rooms is a lot of work - FOR ME! So I went out to get some take out. Came home and sat down to eat and watch tv. The chair was filthy - so I sat on the desk chair. And there was someone elses old take out and coffee cup under the ottoman. ewwwwww. The fitness center was a closet that they crammed three or four pieces of equipment in. Not conducive to working out. August 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst We checked in at midnight and went to our room only to find that someone had been in the bed (tv on, pillows moved and covers pulled back). Went back down to the front desk and she said no, that there night person had just checked the room. (my guess is that he hung out in there and forgot to put it back to 'new' status). Was assigned another room on the 0 level...GROSS...the outside door right outside our room was propped open - so basically no security. The curtains were hanging off from the rod, the air conditioner didn't work but by now, my children, husband and I have hauled all of our luggage all over the hotel. The front desk person was unapologetic....I mentioned it again in the morning when I checked out and the staff again was unapologetic. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone - truly an awful experience. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Management needs an upgrade I appreciate lots of things about Four Points San Rafael where I stay for 9 days at a time 4 to 6 times per year but there are some management issues that are annoying. Every time I stay, I request a microwave & fridge in my room & every time staff say they're not sure there are enough to go around. For a patron who stays there for 50 days or so per year, I would expect management to go & buy a $60 microwavee if necessary to be able to say, "Certainly, your needs will be met." I appreciate the free internet connection but the quality is substandard so that the connection is often lost & is too weak for Skype to be clear. The complimentary breakfast is a nice add-on but the scrambled eggs are nasty. The made-to-order-omelets are fabulous & I'd feel fed if I could have them daily instead of just on the weekends. The tea box is very frequently empty of basic English breakfast black tea & the staff report that it will be a few days until the next delivery. If necessary to keep guests served, it's a very short trip to the neighborhood Safeway. In the room, a small table & one or two chairs to go with it would be much more useful to me than the upholstered chair & could replace the desk chair. The new bedspreads look very fresh & lovely to me. The doors to the rooms slam unless one holds them as you close them. Bumpers or slower closing devices would be very respectful for all guests. April 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going down.... I stay at this hotel a few times a month. It is clean, quiet, safe and near a great shopping center with every bank you could think of. The problem seems to be staff and management. Rooms are pretty much the same, but lately getting even a "deluxe" (renovated) room seems to be a chore for a platinum. The final straw was today when I asked for a 4pm check-out and was denied. The hotel is and was quite empty. I stayed til 4 anyway, working away, ready to leave if asked. No one ever came to the room. The restaurant used to be great and innovative. Today it struggles for mediocrity. Please get it together....you could be a great hotel for the North Bay. February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4th Visit, Disapointed We stayed 2 nights this time on our 4th visit to this property. 2nd visit as a Gold SPG member and for the 2nd time this was not acknowledged as it has been at other SPG properties. On this visit we had planned on visiting Muir Woods on Sat. morning and then coming back to the hotel to enjoy the pool for the afternoon. When we returned around 1pm, we looked out our window(which faced the pool) and there were 8 lounge chairs, all taken. We were very shocked at the lack of chairs available for a pool area and hotel of this size. It could hold at least 3 to 4 times that amount of seating, so we changed our plans and left the hotel for the Marin Headlands instead. This was the first time being placed in the North section of the building, it's in very poor condition. As stated by other reviews, the a/c units are horrible and very noisey. This was my first 2 night stay at thtis property, we alway's enjoy that 4 points places bottled water in the room as a comp. Could not beleive though that for the 2nd night, water was not replaced(a case of water costs penny's per bottle# glad we brought some with us. The pillow are bad, bad, bad, I don't know why all the hotels now are going to the feather#or artificial feather)type pillows, your head sinks so far into it that it's like your not even using a pillow. Overall, not the best 4 Points we have stayed at. Will we stay again? Probably, it's a great location for visiting the city and my sister near Santa Rosa as well as wine country. July 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay here if you don't want to sleep. Location was easy to find and close to freeway access. Hotel entrance was acceptable. We stayed on a Sunday night. Upon checking in we noticed that a large group would be checking in (the "dancers" group - more on this later). The back entrance door to the rooms was incredibly difficult to open (very heavy!) and was not at all user friendly when managing suitcases. I can say the door has the possibility of squishing a small child. The elevators were almost scary and took a long time to go up two floors. The room smelled almost like smoke when entering, so we turned on the A/C to get some air circulating. The room was decent and clean. The bathrooms were a bit dated but functioned. The refrigerator made a delightful buzzing sound throughout the night. Upon returning to our room in the evening to go to bed, there were several people standing outside of the window talking loudly with their dogs. Luckily they went inside before we went to bed. Then.. next came "the dancers". I guess 2 bus loads of dancers arrived and were spread throughout the hotel. You would think that perhaps management could isolate the area for "the dancers" being their young age. All throughout the night, we heard nothing but slamming doors while the dancers pranced from room to room down the hallways. I heard other guests asking them to be quiet but the dancers pranced until 3am! I received no quality sleep at this establishment as we had plans to watch the sunrise in the city the next morning. I do not recommend this facility for any comfort or a quiet nights stay. I received a $25 discount for the noise. February 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The GM went above and beyond The GM Rob Petersen helped us emmensely He made sure the wedding we had to get to @ 4pm was possible by making sure we could checkin early.He went out of his way to help us even though we never stayed there before.He returned our calls and called to confirm the early ckin 48hrs before.I don't know if we'll ever get to that area again but We will recommend The Four Points By Sheraton in San Rafael . The Professionalism by this GM (Rob Petersen) is an example of what GM's should be. Thanks again Rob You made our trip from Tuolumne County a success. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Location Everything was great except for the location which was the 1st flr on the right side near an exit. Too noise for me. People above me very noise. People in rm 121 were up very late slaming door. People coming in and out of exit door. I did request and next time Im there is not a 1st flr room near exit and elevator...Previous room was on 2nd flr in back. very peaceful, quiet. Even though 2nd stay was not as good as 1st stay 2 yrs ago I will definately stay again...Very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accomidating. The have marked my request for an upper floor room next time... Sincerely, cece (My friend originoally booked my room... April 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Overall..but We were satisfied with our stay but disappointed there was no microwave or continental breakfast that other less expensive hotels offer. We had to go out and buy breakfast every morning. We had a 2 queen room but it felt cramped. Our beds were awesome. The pool is set up nice so that it had enough furniture and trees surrounding it to make it private. Very comfy lounge chairs. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, with a GREAT STAFF and GENERAL MANAGER I recently stayed at this property for the first time on 3/24-3/26, 2013. I was immediately greeted by Morgan (Front Desk Director of First Impressions), in which Morgan in my opinion was one of the nicest, friendliest, and most accomodating people I have met. My check in was a breeze. In addition, Melody, the Front Desk Manager, and Umar are equally as great, with the front desk staff constantly providing the utmost level of customer service by even remembering each guest's last name and saying "Have a good evening/morning Mr." or "Is there anything we can do to make your stay any better Mr." Very much greatly appreciated by myself. Mr. Hartmut Ott, the General Manager of the property also deserves recognition. His leadership skills and the way he runs his staff and hotel are incredible. During my two-day stay at the property, I only encountered one issue, the bar/food closing early. I spoke with Mr. Ott the next morning and he assured me that the bar issue would be resolved immediately, and took full responsibility as a great manager should do and swiftly addressed the problem. Mr. Hartmut Ott, deserves to be recognized in my opinion as well as his entire staff for providing excellent customer service. Each staff member was helpful, and friendly. The beds were also extremely comfortable, and the rooms honestly deserve a 5 star cleanliness rating as they were immaculate. I had a very good time at night after work in the bar/restaurant area. Where Kim, the bartender is amazing, very people friendly, and even took the time to go over the full menu with me prior to ordering since I have food allergies. Her mixology skills as a bartender are amazing and her people skills are excellent. The lobby bar is a great place to meet great people, I met a few friends there myself while I was staying on the property. The pool is gorgeous and the hotel is located in a prime San Rafael/Marin County location and is very quiet! I will definitely be back and will gladly recommend this property to others! Thank you for such a great stay Mr. Ott, you and your staff are wonderful! April 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by surprised by Sheration I just felt this hotel was substandard compared to other Sheraton's I've stayed. The beds were not comfortable, cob webs on the ceilings. The breakfast was nice but the food could have been hotter. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking SPG Quality Unfortunately, I cannot say that I was satisfied with my stay at the Four Points by Sheraton in San Rafael. When I arrived on Saturday, August 3rd, there were no other customers in the lobby; however, there were three employees behind the check-in counter. I stood in front of the counter for several minutes before anyone even acknowledged me. I was then told that there was a balcony attached to my room (room 58), which sounded delightful. Unfortunately, my room was on the ground floor. Rather than finding a balcony, there was a walkway where anyone in the hotel had access to. There was also toothpaste on the bathroom sink's faucet and tissues shoved into the tissue box. The most alarming disappointment was that the metal swing bar door guard did not latch. I called the front desk with my concern about being two women, one of whom was pregnant, being on the ground floor and not having a working swing bar door guard. I asked if we could switch rooms and she said the hotel was completely booked and this was not possible. If we couldn't be moved, I told her that I would like a new swing bar door guard replaced. We went to the pool and when we returned the swing bar door guard was completely removed. I called the front desk a second time and the women said that it won't be replaced, but not to worry because all perimeter doors are locked at 10:00pm. At this point, I was so unsatisfied with the lack of professionalism, cleanliness and security that I was ready to leave. The woman at the font desk said that she'd check with maintenance again and call me back. Finally, a maintenance person was sent out a second time and replaced the swing bar door guard. We were given the option to check out late, which we accepted. Sunday morning we went to the pool and returned before we were supposed to check-out. Much to our dismay, our key no longer worked. I went to the front desk, explained the situation and didn't even receive an apology or acknowledgement that we were offered to stay until 2:00pm. This stay was supposed to be a lovely little get away before our first child was born, but instead it was the worst stay that I have ever experienced as an SPG member. I hope you take this opportunity to provide your employees with trainings on professionalism, customer care, cleanliness and security. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is lacking for a Four Points The room I stayed in was missing key essentials: refrigerator and an alarm clock. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conference I was attending a conference at the hotel. The room was fine, if a little shabby. The air conditioner was quite loud and didn't really cool the room; however the weather was fair, so no real inconvenience. I appreciated the hand rails on the bath/shower. The bathroom was spacious. I was surprised that there was only bar soap and not shower gel as one of the amenities, but that's just fine, too. I would have liked to be able to use the pool before breakfast and still make it on time to my 10am conference, but eating before worked out. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean and comfortable We have stayed with you before and chose this hotel because of our past experience. Our experience this time was almost as good as the last. The room was not quite up to our expectations: no refrigerator, not enough towels, Kleenex, or toilet tissue. Our room was not made up the second morning, and on the third morning we had to ask to have it made up at 2:30 in the afternoon. The pool was nice and the café was also nice, although breakfast was the same 3 days in a row. I think a room like this could have been priced a little lower. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not up to Starwood standards I was not greeted as a gold guest. I was given a room without a fridge or safe on a non Starwood Preferred Guest floor. When I mentioned this i.e. that the second floor was not a SPG preferred floor Liz pretended that she did not understand or that Starwood Preferred floors did not exist in that hotel. Then she gave me two keys both of which had not been activated, so I had to take my four bags back to reception to get the 'keys' activated. July 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed and would not recommend Good location for the North Bay Area, but the hotel was very dated. The rooms require renovation/updates. Staff was very friendly and helpful. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG in Marin This is the ony SPG hotel in Marin. The hotel is in San Rafael. Four floors, pool/hottub, restaurant, work out facility. My only disappointment was the parking lot was not tidy. Trash, empty bottles. Gave a sleasy feel to resort. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Sheraton Hotel I travel frequently and have stayed at a variety of hotels and this Sheraton is definitely on my Stay Again list. The Sheraton brand hotels are a great quality alternative to the higher end hotels and even included breakfasts with my stay. And the best part........plenty of BACON! :-) This is a great hotel just North of Downtown San Rafael with great staff and comfortable beds. All the things you need without the high price! July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good this time. This stay was very nice, because I had a quiet room. August 7, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>