Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 438 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Be consistent and frank about Transportation services you can provide to the guests at Reservation Center We reserved Four Points Sheraton due to the recommendation of the bride who was getting Married at the Unitarialist Church in San Rafael We surprisingly found out that the transportatoin services we learned from the Bride and the Reservation Center DID not exist during our Check-in at 3:00pm on 8/10/14.One of my friends has disabity issue and was in need of transportation services. Luckily, the manager found the bus driver and resolved the transportation issue within one hour. If the manager did not find the transportatoin service for us (4 of us), our staying in your hotel could have become the most unpleasant experience. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great staff! Absolutely great staff, especially for a long stay. Thank you!!! November 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Location Everything was great except for the location which was the 1st flr on the right side near an exit. Too noise for me. People above me very noise. People in rm 121 were up very late slaming door. People coming in and out of exit door. I did request and next time Im there is not a 1st flr room near exit and elevator...Previous room was on 2nd flr in back. very peaceful, quiet. Even though 2nd stay was not as good as 1st stay 2 yrs ago I will definately stay again...Very comfortable rooms. Staff is very accomidating. The have marked my request for an upper floor room next time... Sincerely, cece (My friend originoally booked my room... April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, with a GREAT STAFF and GENERAL MANAGER I recently stayed at this property for the first time on 3/24-3/26, 2013. I was immediately greeted by Morgan (Front Desk Director of First Impressions), in which Morgan in my opinion was one of the nicest, friendliest, and most accomodating people I have met. My check in was a breeze. In addition, Melody, the Front Desk Manager, and Umar are equally as great, with the front desk staff constantly providing the utmost level of customer service by even remembering each guest's last name and saying "Have a good evening/morning Mr." or "Is there anything we can do to make your stay any better Mr." Very much greatly appreciated by myself. Mr. Hartmut Ott, the General Manager of the property also deserves recognition. His leadership skills and the way he runs his staff and hotel are incredible. During my two-day stay at the property, I only encountered one issue, the bar/food closing early. I spoke with Mr. Ott the next morning and he assured me that the bar issue would be resolved immediately, and took full responsibility as a great manager should do and swiftly addressed the problem. Mr. Hartmut Ott, deserves to be recognized in my opinion as well as his entire staff for providing excellent customer service. Each staff member was helpful, and friendly. The beds were also extremely comfortable, and the rooms honestly deserve a 5 star cleanliness rating as they were immaculate. I had a very good time at night after work in the bar/restaurant area. Where Kim, the bartender is amazing, very people friendly, and even took the time to go over the full menu with me prior to ordering since I have food allergies. Her mixology skills as a bartender are amazing and her people skills are excellent. The lobby bar is a great place to meet great people, I met a few friends there myself while I was staying on the property. The pool is gorgeous and the hotel is located in a prime San Rafael/Marin County location and is very quiet! I will definitely be back and will gladly recommend this property to others! Thank you for such a great stay Mr. Ott, you and your staff are wonderful! April 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking SPG Quality Unfortunately, I cannot say that I was satisfied with my stay at the Four Points by Sheraton in San Rafael. When I arrived on Saturday, August 3rd, there were no other customers in the lobby; however, there were three employees behind the check-in counter. I stood in front of the counter for several minutes before anyone even acknowledged me. I was then told that there was a balcony attached to my room (room 58), which sounded delightful. Unfortunately, my room was on the ground floor. Rather than finding a balcony, there was a walkway where anyone in the hotel had access to. There was also toothpaste on the bathroom sink's faucet and tissues shoved into the tissue box. The most alarming disappointment was that the metal swing bar door guard did not latch. I called the front desk with my concern about being two women, one of whom was pregnant, being on the ground floor and not having a working swing bar door guard. I asked if we could switch rooms and she said the hotel was completely booked and this was not possible. If we couldn't be moved, I told her that I would like a new swing bar door guard replaced. We went to the pool and when we returned the swing bar door guard was completely removed. I called the front desk a second time and the women said that it won't be replaced, but not to worry because all perimeter doors are locked at 10:00pm. At this point, I was so unsatisfied with the lack of professionalism, cleanliness and security that I was ready to leave. The woman at the font desk said that she'd check with maintenance again and call me back. Finally, a maintenance person was sent out a second time and replaced the swing bar door guard. We were given the option to check out late, which we accepted. Sunday morning we went to the pool and returned before we were supposed to check-out. Much to our dismay, our key no longer worked. I went to the front desk, explained the situation and didn't even receive an apology or acknowledgement that we were offered to stay until 2:00pm. This stay was supposed to be a lovely little get away before our first child was born, but instead it was the worst stay that I have ever experienced as an SPG member. I hope you take this opportunity to provide your employees with trainings on professionalism, customer care, cleanliness and security. August 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible customer service The room and wait staff were excellent. The front desk staff left a lot to be desired. She did not have our reservation. Finally dug up the confirmation number in the car. Put us in a king bedroom for 3 people instead of 2 queens. The coffee maker was broken, the room did not have a clock/radio and the fridge had been taken out. I called the next morning and politely asked if those were standard amenities which she assured me they were and that the problem would be fixed. Never heard back. Had to call again the next day. That time they brought in a fridge and clock/radio but did not bring a coffee maker. August 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A True DUMP I am traveling on military work and needed to stay in the area, figured I would stay here at a SPG property for I love SPG and there is always a high level of service, and a very sophisticated blend of comfort. Well it is not the case here, this place has a motel feeling, not a hotel, it's not a SPG quality type facility, the wall paper is falling in areas and peeling off in random places, there is rust on the ceiling, mold everywhere, stains of urine on the toilet seat, a un-safe plug for the AC/Heat system, AC/Heat when running sounds like a generator at fool blast with major loud noise, NO PRIVACY, can hear everything, there are holes in the walls, the mattress is not a heavenly experience at all, the ceilings in the hall are falling and dripping. I feel like I am in the old barracks at the military base I was assigned several years ago. In addition, they call this a SPG Preferred Floor. Absolutely Disgusting and very disappointed. If you are looking for comfort, this is not the place. I will say-- the staff here are absolutely amazing, so kind and very relaxed, aimed to please. November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but could use improvements Overall, this is a nice hotel with nice amenities. Staff was pleasant and attentive. The rooms are decent size though the bathrooms are a bit small. My only complaints about the room was (1) the mattress sagged a bit in the middle indicating the one of two queen size beds I slept it is primarily occupied by one person and (2) the shower head was not great. The water was hot, but the pressure was lacking. Also, in the area of the hotel where I saw carpeting, it appeared not to be pinned down along the walls and buckled slightly in the middle of the hallways. Not major issues, but noticeable. The pool was great, and the breakfast buffett was good. I'd stay here again though. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms aren't consistent I've stayed there several times. Each time, I've had a refridgerator and a small blue chair (that I put my things on) in my room. This visit was disappointing in that the room I got, did not have either. I called the front desk, and they put me in another room two doors away, exact same thing, no fridge or chair (empty space). Called front desk again, finally moved me to another room on the 4th floor, had to walk a ways carting my luggage to another set of elevators to get there, which is farther from where we parked. Disappointed this happened, it delayed us from doing other things that we came to town to do. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconvenience I know requests are just that: requests, but I called the day of my arrival to reiterate the importance of either 2 beds or a rollaway. Upon check in, no dbl rooms were available nor was there a rollaway on hand. The front desk agent wasn't even aware of my request despite the notes in the comments of the reservations. The workaround was to give us a parlor (pull out sofa bed) and a king room (not adjoining) for the first nt and move us to a double room the next nt. Very inconvenient, especially since we drove all night, arrived at 5am and needed to sleep in! But housekeeping was very friendly and helpful with transferring my stuff. Loved that the mall was within walking distance. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hospitality My job requires travel and I was in the San Rafeal area on business. This was my first time staying at the Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael and I enjoyed the entire five days there. The staff were friendly and very accomadating, the room was comfortable and maintained in a clean and sanitized manner. I will definetly stay here again when back on business. Thank you staff! October 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bathrooms need to be upgraded Bathrooms need to be upgraded November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great place to stay We love this hotel! Won't stay anywhere else when visiting:) November 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good staff, mediocre services In the four days I was there, the ice maker on the 3rd floor near my room (315) was never fixed. And the food was really mediocre -- worse than the prices suggested. I ordered a dinner salad once, with chicken. Besides taking a long time, the chicken was dry, nearly tasteless. Another time, I ordered the strawberry shortcake. Nothing memorable about it at all. The food was the work of cooks, not chefs. I expected more from a Sheraton hotel. When I saw the big sign saying the hotel was for sale, I thought: karma. The front desk staff, however, were excellent, always helpful. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK I need anew SPG password so please help me with this November 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understaffed or just sloppy? A stay at 4 point in San Rafael was disappointing. As we entered, trash was piled up around the benches in front. The elevator had not been vacuumed in awhile. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor that had ceiling damage and a noisy refrigerator. In the hallway outside, there was a smell of mold, and repairs were in progress. The repair area partly blocked our access to the elevator. To top it all, there was no soap in the room. We were too tired to complain about any of the above, and despite it all we had a good night's sleep. We would stay here again, but would check the room FIRST. February 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to usual Sheraton standards Two nights in a row my breakfast card wasn't picked up from my door overnight, neither was my Go Green card. The first day I went to the breakfast buffet, which was horrible, the second day I left the hotel for breakfast. Full trash cans outside the front door. Bathroom was ok but products were cheap looking. Horrendously loud AC unit. I normally stay at Sheraton but not Four Points. I'm not sure that I will again. The staff were nice and apologetic about breakfast, but two days in a row? Someone should have followed up.i checked out a day early so I could stay elsewhere. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Heaters in rooms are noisy and NEVER shut off The heaters in the rooms are soooooooooooooooooo noisy - - they run all day and all night - the only way to get relief is to put it on energy saver but it still goes off and on...the room was either way too hot or I couldn't get warm (energy saver mode). The bathtub was not scrubbed after I arrived. I was the ONLY patron in the restaurant Thursday evening and though there were four staff members in the area they all went to the back and I FINALLY got up and refilled my own drink. The same thing happened once I told them I only wanted the breakfast buffet - - - never saw them again. March 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for bicyclists I accompany my husband when he does double centuries. He could sleep on a cot; I like far more comfort. The bed was fine. The light in the bathroom was barely adequate for doing makeup. The shower was a spit of water--our water conserving shower head At home is far superior to the one here. There was a lovely comfortable armchair but it was impossible to see the tv from anything other than the beds. Nice room with good, functioning refrigerator. Free bottled water!!! Good selection of tv shows, not just sports and news and sports. I watched a lot of the Olympics. It was a good trip. August 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Week long biz stay I stay at this hotel about once a quarter because the price is competitive and it is close to my office however, it is feeling more and more dated and I will likely consider other accommodations for my next trip. I do not like that the in-room refrigerators and the ottoman seem to have been removed from every room. And the desk area is really too small to set up work space for an extended period. The mattresses area also noticeably indented on the side nearest the alarm clock. The best thing about your hotel is the service but it's time to check out other options for longer stays. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel review We find the 4 Points Sheraton to be an excellant place to stay and still very economical. We come to the Bay area about every two months. This is our second visit and enjoyed it so much that we joined you Sheraton program planning on continuing to stay with you each time. We do think you could improve the quality of the dinner you serve. Though the breakfast is great, we found the steak was over cooked, the chicken was VERY dry and unetable. Our service was fine, and the timing may have been part of the problem as a college basketball team was also there. So you were very busy. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mediocre Stay Having been a guest at this hotel numerous times, I was somewhat disappointed in level of service and attention to detail during my most recent stay. It seems that they had booked a youth soccer tournament and the youth had taken over the the pool/spa area. Unable to access the pool/spa during this stay. Asked front desk staff to look into the overcrowding in the pool and spa. Was told that they were given a set of rules to follow. Wait staff at restaurant was overwhelmed with orders being taken out to pool side, very slow service for dinner. It seems that service has slipped. August 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by poor ac and substandard water pressure i always wonder why a facility asks for a review when management must know about obvious deficiencies. as far as ac and water pressure, are they trying to pass these off as being GREEN. since obama is pro green, green is likely a scam for starwood to hide their cost cutting. too bad because the facility was great with my dog, the room would have been very nice, and the employees were great. were starwood to have charged us $5 more to cover the cost of these necessities, this would have been a 5 star review. September 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Interesting" clothes hanger placement Most interesting thing I found about the room was that the rod that you hang your clothes on was about waist high. While this is better for "vertically" challenged folks, it annoyed me that my clothes were close to touching the floor and I had to bend over to sort clothes. Otherwise, I found the staff and facility to be top notch. October 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs upgrade Room not ready at time promised. Had to return later. First room was shabby. Big scratch on TV, plastic curtain closest to window was torn, rug on first floor by elevator dirty looking & stained. Asked for a second choice. Room on second floor very much better. Only problem was the confusing air conditioning system: one on wall and one by window. Which to use? Finally, after calling for help and no one came, just unplugged what I could and slept w/o air on. Finally, at these prices, many hotels provide at least a modest breakfast, like juice and a roll. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience Booked 3 nights and 2 rooms First night: Someone (Guest, house keeper or ? ) opened the room at one of the rooms at middle of the night. Front desk staffs provided various reasons at various time. Who knows what was going on Trying to change room in the morning and said no room available even we are SPG Platinum member Cancel the rest of the reservations and had to change to another hotels Front desk staff promised 5000 spg point compensation but nothing happened No refund for the balance of the stayed (prepaid)was given till we called the hotel a few days later June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The GM went above and beyond The GM Rob Petersen helped us emmensely He made sure the wedding we had to get to @ 4pm was possible by making sure we could checkin early.He went out of his way to help us even though we never stayed there before.He returned our calls and called to confirm the early ckin 48hrs before.I don't know if we'll ever get to that area again but We will recommend The Four Points By Sheraton in San Rafael . The Professionalism by this GM (Rob Petersen) is an example of what GM's should be. Thanks again Rob You made our trip from Tuolumne County a success. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by On a hilltop in Marin County I strongly recommend this Starwood hotel! It was an excellent value, the staff were wonderful, especially in the dining room, the rooms are comfortable with up-to-date amenities. The beds were firm and very comfortable. We stayed four nights, and even with soccer teams staying on the weekend, it was always quiet. The location is perfect for day trips into San Francisco, or up to wine country. It is set up on a hill but literally a few minutes from US 101 and downtown San Rafael. There is a large shopping center just on the other side of the highway, with restaurants, coffee and major department stores. You could do a while lot worse for the price. Say, "Guten Tag!" to Herr Ott, the manager, and he'll buy you a glass of beer. November 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but needs improvement The staff was wonderful and the hotel was quiet and convenient to the area.A couple things need improvement: 1. fitness center needs a bit more ...an ellitpical or two (most popular equipment in hotel gyms) are needed and more ventilation in the room. Also, stretch mats need to be changed out every few months for sanitary reasons. 2. Ventilation in the bathrooms in the rooms are needed. At one point, there was some very strong odor coming through my bathroom vent (chemical smell) and it invaded the whole room. 3. Finally, matresses need to be chcked. My bed had big indentations in it from people sleeping in the same spot over and over. It was hard to find a comfortable spot in the bed because it was so depressed in places. October 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, don't have high service expectations Great location and parking facilities. Easy access to several tourist attractions in the area. Buffet breakfast was nice but terribly monotonous - had the same menu everyday! Housekeeping decided to skip servicing our room for 33% of the time during our stay. Attitude of staff serving at breakfast tables ranged from fantastic and politely sarcastic to rushed and chaotic. The hotel has a no pets policy (excluding guide dogs) but there were dogs barking away in our neighbors room and that ruined our last night, service express was quite helpless in the situation and at first did not quite believe us. Overall stay - satisfactory if considered as a budget hotel. But if considered as a SPG property - service was rather disappointing. January 2, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 16 next>>