Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 310 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Understaffed or just sloppy? A stay at 4 point in San Rafael was disappointing. As we entered, trash was piled up around the benches in front. The elevator had not been vacuumed in awhile. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor that had ceiling damage and a noisy refrigerator. In the hallway outside, there was a smell of mold, and repairs were in progress. The repair area partly blocked our access to the elevator. To top it all, there was no soap in the room. We were too tired to complain about any of the above, and despite it all we had a good night's sleep. We would stay here again, but would check the room FIRST. February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Heaters in rooms are noisy and NEVER shut off The heaters in the rooms are soooooooooooooooooo noisy - - they run all day and all night - the only way to get relief is to put it on energy saver but it still goes off and on...the room was either way too hot or I couldn't get warm (energy saver mode). The bathtub was not scrubbed after I arrived. I was the ONLY patron in the restaurant Thursday evening and though there were four staff members in the area they all went to the back and I FINALLY got up and refilled my own drink. The same thing happened once I told them I only wanted the breakfast buffet - - - never saw them again. March 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for bicyclists I accompany my husband when he does double centuries. He could sleep on a cot; I like far more comfort. The bed was fine. The light in the bathroom was barely adequate for doing makeup. The shower was a spit of water--our water conserving shower head At home is far superior to the one here. There was a lovely comfortable armchair but it was impossible to see the tv from anything other than the beds. Nice room with good, functioning refrigerator. Free bottled water!!! Good selection of tv shows, not just sports and news and sports. I watched a lot of the Olympics. It was a good trip. August 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Week long biz stay I stay at this hotel about once a quarter because the price is competitive and it is close to my office however, it is feeling more and more dated and I will likely consider other accommodations for my next trip. I do not like that the in-room refrigerators and the ottoman seem to have been removed from every room. And the desk area is really too small to set up work space for an extended period. The mattresses area also noticeably indented on the side nearest the alarm clock. The best thing about your hotel is the service but it's time to check out other options for longer stays. December 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by An Awful Night We were in room 206, across from a large building which contained some sort of generator, which turned on and off all night. It went on every 20 minutes and roared for about 5 minutes each time. Unfortunately, we didn't notice it until we went to bed and turned off our heater, which also made a lot of noise. At that point, it was too late to change rooms. I eventually gave up trying to sleep and read all night. Why anyone would be given that room is a mystery to me. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by normally I rate higher for Starwood Perhaps an exception to the rule but we had no hot water for a day as the boiler went down and when we called to ask they said Oh it had been down a long time . I know s... happens but I think they could have done more to keep us apprised of the situation or offered to move us to another SPG hotel. Other than that lovely place and would stay there again as how often can a boiler really go out :) December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by What Happened? I've stayed here a few times and its been fine. However this last time was a different experience. I arrived late and went straight to bed. In the morning I discovered the toilet hadn't been properly cleaned. There was fresh shampoo however there were no bars of soap. I didn't have time to wait so just used shampoo. I turned on the tv as I was getting ready only to see a blank screen. Evidently there was a connection problem. Front desk staff were polite. December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel review We find the 4 Points Sheraton to be an excellant place to stay and still very economical. We come to the Bay area about every two months. This is our second visit and enjoyed it so much that we joined you Sheraton program planning on continuing to stay with you each time. We do think you could improve the quality of the dinner you serve. Though the breakfast is great, we found the steak was over cooked, the chicken was VERY dry and unetable. Our service was fine, and the timing may have been part of the problem as a college basketball team was also there. So you were very busy. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mediocre Stay Having been a guest at this hotel numerous times, I was somewhat disappointed in level of service and attention to detail during my most recent stay. It seems that they had booked a youth soccer tournament and the youth had taken over the the pool/spa area. Unable to access the pool/spa during this stay. Asked front desk staff to look into the overcrowding in the pool and spa. Was told that they were given a set of rules to follow. Wait staff at restaurant was overwhelmed with orders being taken out to pool side, very slow service for dinner. It seems that service has slipped. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful staff, great value! The hotel was quite busy but the staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort. We were greeting in the lobby upon arrival with complimentary glasses of wine and, after a glitch with the room keys, Evelyn Fernandez took care of our dinner in the Marin dining room as well. A nice gesture that went much further than the cost of the check! The food was quite good - I had the steak salad. All of the staff was courteous and genuinely interested in our well-being. I read reviews about road noise in rooms facing Highway 101 but I wasn't disturbed by it. October 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by On a hilltop in Marin County I strongly recommend this Starwood hotel! It was an excellent value, the staff were wonderful, especially in the dining room, the rooms are comfortable with up-to-date amenities. The beds were firm and very comfortable. We stayed four nights, and even with soccer teams staying on the weekend, it was always quiet. The location is perfect for day trips into San Francisco, or up to wine country. It is set up on a hill but literally a few minutes from US 101 and downtown San Rafael. There is a large shopping center just on the other side of the highway, with restaurants, coffee and major department stores. You could do a while lot worse for the price. Say, "Guten Tag!" to Herr Ott, the manager, and he'll buy you a glass of beer. November 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but needs improvement The staff was wonderful and the hotel was quiet and convenient to the area.A couple things need improvement: 1. fitness center needs a bit more ...an ellitpical or two (most popular equipment in hotel gyms) are needed and more ventilation in the room. Also, stretch mats need to be changed out every few months for sanitary reasons. 2. Ventilation in the bathrooms in the rooms are needed. At one point, there was some very strong odor coming through my bathroom vent (chemical smell) and it invaded the whole room. 3. Finally, matresses need to be chcked. My bed had big indentations in it from people sleeping in the same spot over and over. It was hard to find a comfortable spot in the bed because it was so depressed in places. October 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent location needs a revamp Hotel was in a very convenient spot. Unfortunately the room seemed dirty. There were many stains on the sheets and the towels which is never attractive. Parking was easy and free and the rooms are accessible. Just a minor revamp of this hotel would make it an ideal choice. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great with a few qualifications The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The staff was friendly and generally tried to be helpful. We asked in advance for a refrigerator and microwave as we would be there for several days--they were offered for free. Neither was in the room when we arrived though I had asked at the desk. Two phone calls later we got the fridge, but never in 5 days had the microwave. The lower bed sheets are too small for a king bed and I woke up to find myself on the bare mattress more than once. There was no bartender or any staff in the bar when I tried to get a glass of wine at 9:00 pm. I asked at the front desk and they said she would be there. I was on the verge of giving up hen she finally walked in with no apology for making me wait. April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great People Make for a Great Stay From the cheerful front desk welcome that includes a "spin the wheel" game for added Starpoints, to a nicely kept facility, this Four Points by Sheraton treats it's guests with great people service. While the facility is on the older side, it's well-kept and has a nice outdoor courtyard with pool, jacuzzi and places to relax. The property is on a hill next to a commercial building, but surrounded by residential home, so it's quiet. I'd stay here again because the people try hard to ensure you are pleased BEFORE you leave the hotel. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place for the price Overall good facility, warm inviting lobby, capable and friendly staff. Extremely comfortable beds and bedding! The hallways and lighting leave something to be desired and the light level in the rooms, especially around the workspace, is way too inadequate. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best staff in a long time This hotel could use some updating in the halls and rooms, but the common area is very nice. The staff is what makes this hotel. First, I have never felt more valued as an SPG member or customer. They do everything they can to make your visit the best it can be. I stayed here twice in June and would gladly go back. It is a real bargain. Very close stay for redwood trees or on the way up to wine country. My husband said it was the most comfortable bed he's slept on in forever. It's not a "fancy" Sheraton, but is a very good value for the price paid. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great services I was especially impressed with 3 things: 1. Quality of food and service in the restaurant, notably Sarah Jane at dinner and the waitress at breakfast. 2. Cleanliness of room each day (we stayed 4 nighs) 3. The quality of service of the front desk person named Rocio. When we checked in the front desk was surly and begrudgingly helpful (name withheld).. My wife and I put up with it as we had no choice. However, when the shift cjhange took place and Rocio came on board, everything righted itself immediately. We were very happy from then on. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by bad experience my families stay at the 4 points was very disturbing. We had no hot water on 2 of the 3 mornings we stayed there. The staff was very nice and tried to accommodate w/ free breakfasts, but that does not make up for cold showers especially for the children. The beds were also a problem. The sheets did not fit the beds and each night everyone ended up sleeping on an uncovered mattress because of the unfitted and too small bed sheets. December 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a facelift Hotel is nicely situated, staff is friendly but the hotel is in desperate need of a face lift. Beds are comfortable, however, that's about all that can be said. The carpets are stained, the drapery has holes, closet doors jambs and list goes on. The breakfast buffet cost $12 and not worth the price. The gym ... much improvement needed there too. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotell.. is really mixed in it's room options and space. Although you must request a refrigerator no microwaves are available in any room. The TV reception and channels is good for me and the online services (Wi-Fi) are fine, Table space can be limiting - even with a larger room than my last stay - I had to move counter top advertisement and instant coffee service trays from the surface to use my laptop. The lounge chair and hassock were of questionable old. The room and bathroom were clean and ok. It is interesting that they improved my room for this stay at my request and the bottom line price was two dollars less than than the unsatifactory room I saved from my previous stay. Be sure to ask question before reserving a room. In lobby restaruant is very good. December 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Desk needs training I have stayed at this property several times and love the location, however this stay started off rocky and did not get better. I arrived sometime after 6pm in the pouring rain, only to be told my room may not be ready due to a 'cleaning' issue, which was not disclosed. I had to insist on being placed in a different room, as I needed to be somewhere by 8pm. I stood at the desk and had to argue with the employee to place me in an alternative room. Upon returning back to my room after my function, I noticed there was no remote in the room. I called the front desk and was told one would only be brought up if they found one. Needless to say, they never brought one up. I had to ask the maid the next day for one. She took it from the room she was cleaning. On Saturday we left the room at 8am and returned at 3pm, only to find the room not being cleaned. And I was never acknowledged as a Starwood Preferred Gold member December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff Welcoming staff and hospitable. restaurant staff is very efficient and helpful. Excellent service there. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfort and friendliness Staff was great lobby looked amazing! December 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need updating. Room smelled stinky The lights and tv were unplugged when we entered the room. Both lights beside the bed were not working. The room smelled stinky like cat urine. The hot tub was out of order yet not note was place anywhere to let guests know. I even called to inquire about the hours of the hot tub and they never mentioned it wasn't working. December 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by best library and more enjoyed my stay everything was done to make it very comfortable December 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice staff I am in the Bay Area several times a month. Whenever I have to spend the night I stay at your hotel. The people behind the desk are wonderful The AC in the rooms are loud though December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad to come back to this hotel Feel very safe here, cared for and it is always very clean. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just one thing We had several families staying at the hotel and the breakfast wait staff decided to repeatedly "merge" the number of complimentary breakfast coupons in order to arrive at eight people. With eight people, they then charged a mandatory 20% tip. I don't know why they did this without asking if I was responsible for everyone who came into that area of the dining room? I also think a mandatory tip of anything about 10% for a buffet is unwarranted...especially since one of the days they opened 20 minutes late. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice & convenient If you have a need to stay in Marin county this is a great place. Good location, nice features. Friendly staff. Would recommend,to my friends December 18, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>