Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

  • 1010 Northgate Drive
  • San Rafael,
  • California
  • 94903
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 422 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent customer service! stayed here for a weekend with our wedding party and the staff was very hepful- from discounted rates to arranging meals, they were excellent. the rooms and amenities were nice, met our expectations. could use some nicer bathroom products. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mediocre Stay Having been a guest at this hotel numerous times, I was somewhat disappointed in level of service and attention to detail during my most recent stay. It seems that they had booked a youth soccer tournament and the youth had taken over the the pool/spa area. Unable to access the pool/spa during this stay. Asked front desk staff to look into the overcrowding in the pool and spa. Was told that they were given a set of rules to follow. Wait staff at restaurant was overwhelmed with orders being taken out to pool side, very slow service for dinner. It seems that service has slipped. August 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Advice & Amenities We were not told until check-in that the hotel was undergoing some kind of repairs which involved loud air-hammering below our room. Although the noise was between 10:00 a.m. & 5:00 p.m., it was still very loud when we were in the room during that time span. The TV system in the entire hotel, we were told, does not offer The FOX News Channel. FYI, FOX is the most watched Cable Channel on TV according to all surveys. We depend upon it for the real news. We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times a year for about ten years since it is near our grandchildren, and, is a "SPG Hotel". This time, it was not up to standards even though the room rates were higher than ever before, BY FAR! $600.00 for 3 nights at this hotel was probably 50% more than in the past and with no breakfast included! Our SPG loyalty was not well-rewarded this time! P.S. The pillows are so huge, it's impossible to sleep on them without awaking with a stiff neck and headache! June 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor service I try to stay at Four Points whenever I go to the Bay Area for work or pleasure. Usually the staff is wonderful and I get the breakfast. This time was not so wonderful. I realize the hotel was very busy. I was stuck in a meeting downtown and had my wife and mother in law check in at 4:20 pm. The staff was very difficult and the rooms were not ready. We were eventually given a handicap room. When I mentioned my displeasure to the staff in the morning no one cared. The air conditioner is way too loud May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay in San Rafael I've stayed here a number of times. I like the location, the value, the staff and the overall experience June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Hotel I stayed there for a little over a week and enjoined my stay there. A little noisy to due to HWY101 nearby and the construction work in the hotel. June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Castaneda stay Our stay was fine. Our room (#139) was okay while my Mother-in-law's room (#130) was much nicer with the view and extra room. One thing that concerned me was that the gal at reception had my room # wrong when I needed her to make me another key (my husband went for a walk with both room keys)... I had to tell her repeatedly that I was in room #139 - she indicated some other room... I had to show her my empty key envelope that indicated our room as #139... Further, our shower faucet worked at +- 50%... I am not complaining - merely sharing my thoughts. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by On a hilltop in Marin County I strongly recommend this Starwood hotel! It was an excellent value, the staff were wonderful, especially in the dining room, the rooms are comfortable with up-to-date amenities. The beds were firm and very comfortable. We stayed four nights, and even with soccer teams staying on the weekend, it was always quiet. The location is perfect for day trips into San Francisco, or up to wine country. It is set up on a hill but literally a few minutes from US 101 and downtown San Rafael. There is a large shopping center just on the other side of the highway, with restaurants, coffee and major department stores. You could do a while lot worse for the price. Say, "Guten Tag!" to Herr Ott, the manager, and he'll buy you a glass of beer. November 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but needs improvement The staff was wonderful and the hotel was quiet and convenient to the area.A couple things need improvement: 1. fitness center needs a bit more ...an ellitpical or two (most popular equipment in hotel gyms) are needed and more ventilation in the room. Also, stretch mats need to be changed out every few months for sanitary reasons. 2. Ventilation in the bathrooms in the rooms are needed. At one point, there was some very strong odor coming through my bathroom vent (chemical smell) and it invaded the whole room. 3. Finally, matresses need to be chcked. My bed had big indentations in it from people sleeping in the same spot over and over. It was hard to find a comfortable spot in the bed because it was so depressed in places. October 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, don't have high service expectations Great location and parking facilities. Easy access to several tourist attractions in the area. Buffet breakfast was nice but terribly monotonous - had the same menu everyday! Housekeeping decided to skip servicing our room for 33% of the time during our stay. Attitude of staff serving at breakfast tables ranged from fantastic and politely sarcastic to rushed and chaotic. The hotel has a no pets policy (excluding guide dogs) but there were dogs barking away in our neighbors room and that ruined our last night, service express was quite helpless in the situation and at first did not quite believe us. Overall stay - satisfactory if considered as a budget hotel. But if considered as a SPG property - service was rather disappointing. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff The best I have ever experienced. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great with a few qualifications The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The staff was friendly and generally tried to be helpful. We asked in advance for a refrigerator and microwave as we would be there for several days--they were offered for free. Neither was in the room when we arrived though I had asked at the desk. Two phone calls later we got the fridge, but never in 5 days had the microwave. The lower bed sheets are too small for a king bed and I woke up to find myself on the bare mattress more than once. There was no bartender or any staff in the bar when I tried to get a glass of wine at 9:00 pm. I asked at the front desk and they said she would be there. I was on the verge of giving up hen she finally walked in with no apology for making me wait. April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful staff, great value! The hotel was quite busy but the staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort. We were greeting in the lobby upon arrival with complimentary glasses of wine and, after a glitch with the room keys, Evelyn Fernandez took care of our dinner in the Marin dining room as well. A nice gesture that went much further than the cost of the check! The food was quite good - I had the steak salad. All of the staff was courteous and genuinely interested in our well-being. I read reviews about road noise in rooms facing Highway 101 but I wasn't disturbed by it. October 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY SURPRISE STAY ROOM SAFE INOPERABLE AND WAS NOT REPAIRED OR REPLACED - MECHANIC ON DUTY COULDN'T CORRECT DEFECT - HE TRIED QUITE HARD. A/C DID NOT WORK PROPERLY - REPORTED BUT NOTHING DONE TO CORRECT. MAID SERVICE TO REFRESH ROOM - LATE, BUT EVENTUALLY DONE AFTER 1:30PM. FRONT DESK AND RESTURANT SERVICE VERY GOOD. ALARM CLOCK COULD NOT BE SET FOR AM WAKEUP, ONLY PM June 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best staff in a long time This hotel could use some updating in the halls and rooms, but the common area is very nice. The staff is what makes this hotel. First, I have never felt more valued as an SPG member or customer. They do everything they can to make your visit the best it can be. I stayed here twice in June and would gladly go back. It is a real bargain. Very close stay for redwood trees or on the way up to wine country. My husband said it was the most comfortable bed he's slept on in forever. It's not a "fancy" Sheraton, but is a very good value for the price paid. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant place during difficult time I've used the Four Points for my last 3 visits because the rooms are comfortable and the facilities are nice. This time I was down visiting my parents who had some medical problems. My plans changed several times and they were very accomdating in adding days to my stay. I wanted to specifically thank the bartender who works on Monday and Tuesday(Hamooz?) she was very friendly and I found her demeanor and conversation very comforting during a difficult time. My only regret is that I didn't figure out the "Go Green" room cleaning program until late in my stay because I never had that particular door hanger on my door until the housekeepers gave me a new one with the 3 days left on my stay. But I plan on staying there many times over the next few years. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a good deal anymore Now you have to spend 7000 points instead of 3000 spg points. Earliar you used to get breakfast for gold members, now you do not. The points have doubled but there is nothing that has improved. Ordered an omellete with veg no peppers, took 30 min and got with peppers. The wait staff are overworked and don't seem to care. Had a trainee check us in. No acknowledgement of gold membership or any incentives asked. The phone in the room did not work. Have come for last ten years, this was the worst stay. April 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Higher spg points lower service Now you have to spend 7000 points instead of 3000 spg points. Earliar you used to get breakfast for gold members, now you do not. The points have doubled but there is nothing that has improved. Ordered an omellete with veg no peppers, took 30 min and got with peppers. The wait staff are overworked and don't seem to care. Had a trainee check us in. No acknowledgement of gold membership or any incentives asked. The phone in the room did not work. Have come for last ten years, this was the worst stay. April 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business owner The room was tired.. Need to repair rips in window drapes.. Bathroom smelled like vomit. To small of room for the money I spent. complimentary breakfast was just a normal buffet and staff was overwhemled with the morning rush. Drinks from the bar were expensive. One draft beer $7 .Can go across street and buy six pack for that same price. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great services I was especially impressed with 3 things: 1. Quality of food and service in the restaurant, notably Sarah Jane at dinner and the waitress at breakfast. 2. Cleanliness of room each day (we stayed 4 nighs) 3. The quality of service of the front desk person named Rocio. When we checked in the front desk was surly and begrudgingly helpful (name withheld).. My wife and I put up with it as we had no choice. However, when the shift cjhange took place and Rocio came on board, everything righted itself immediately. We were very happy from then on. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience I stayed in the San Rafael Four Points room 152. It room was exceptionally noisy, a lot of mechanical noise an not just the air conditioning. The worst thing however was what was laughingly called a shower. The water barely came out at a dribble. When I checked out next morning, after what was one of the worst nights sleep i have ever had in a hotel, I mentioned my experience with room noise and a very substandard shower and the response was basically "Oh ok". Very disappointed in what i thought was a quality brand. March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great People Make for a Great Stay From the cheerful front desk welcome that includes a "spin the wheel" game for added Starpoints, to a nicely kept facility, this Four Points by Sheraton treats it's guests with great people service. While the facility is on the older side, it's well-kept and has a nice outdoor courtyard with pool, jacuzzi and places to relax. The property is on a hill next to a commercial building, but surrounded by residential home, so it's quiet. I'd stay here again because the people try hard to ensure you are pleased BEFORE you leave the hotel. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotell.. is really mixed in it's room options and space. Although you must request a refrigerator no microwaves are available in any room. The TV reception and channels is good for me and the online services (Wi-Fi) are fine, Table space can be limiting - even with a larger room than my last stay - I had to move counter top advertisement and instant coffee service trays from the surface to use my laptop. The lounge chair and hassock were of questionable old. The room and bathroom were clean and ok. It is interesting that they improved my room for this stay at my request and the bottom line price was two dollars less than than the unsatifactory room I saved from my previous stay. Be sure to ask question before reserving a room. In lobby restaruant is very good. December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Has its ups and downs When I first arrived, I was assigned a room which had its windows left open so that a huge ball of insects was hovering over the bed and the closet door was off its rails, rails that were completely misaligned to the point there was no way to put the closet door back on the rails. Then the moulding next to the closet fell off with a dull thump as I sat there looking at it. This felt a bit like the old TV series "Green Acres" where the entrance to the house was via the bedroom closet. I was waiting for Eddie Albert and Zsa Zsa Gabor (or a ruminating cow or two) to stick their heads through it and greet me. And I couldn't get the Green Acres theme music out of my head... However, Johnny, the night clerk at the front desk rose to the occasion and arranged not only for me to be moved the next day but also provided a week's worth of complimentary buffet breakfast coupons. Okay, I understand that sometimes there are ruts in the road of life but 4Points San Rafael stepped up to the plate and remedied the situation the best way it could. I wasn't thrilled but neither was I annoyed to the point I went ballistic. On the other hand, the kitchen needs a little stepping up to do where breakfast is concerned--those scrambled eggs at the buffet breakfast line invariably tasted like little yellow chunks of gravel. I was attending a conference at a nearby university and if a college cafeteria can beat a commercial café/restaurant at mass-produced scrambled eggs, then that café/restaurant had better improve immediately!!! Moreover, the water pressure in the room needs lots of work--no matter how high I turned the dial, the water coming out of the shower head was but a dribble. It took forever to take a shower. All in all, the (new) room was quiet (mostly) and I could get some sleep. But this place needs lots of work that even attentive and helpful staff cannot mitigate. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine except for ambient music Twice in the past I mentioned that the loud rock music played in the dining area was intrusive and annoying. It could be heard walking through the halls, when what i would have liked, especially on Christmas morning, was something mellow, soothing and relaxing. I can't understand how somebody could choose something so out of sync with the lovely setting. Fortunately, the sweet hostess on Xmas morning turned the music down so low I couldn't hear it while we ate breakfast. Frankly, I will look for a different hotel next year. December 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by april 24 stay i have stayed in this hotel numerous times and been satisfied. this time my room #328 was noisy both from the pool at night and from the lack of insulation between rooms. i understand the issues with facing the pool, which i requested, but i will remember to ask for an upgraded room next time as the noise from the rooms around me and the hallway were totally annoying. also maid service disturbing me at 8:30. i will remember to put the sign on my door next time, if there is one. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and Great Service Great location, immediately adjacent to US 101, and convenient to shopping, restaurants, and services. A very welcoming front desk staff, excellent housekeeping, and nice facilities make this hotel top drawer. Superb outdoor pool. June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room review I have stayed here in the past and it was fine. Maybe I just got an older room- not sure but it definitely needs some TLC for $140/night. The bathroom smelled like old urine smell and the carpet looked worn and dirty. The bed and bedding were fine. There was a filthy dusty placard card holder stuck in the lower shelf of the bedside table. The drain for the bathtub was all rusty and pulled out of the tub drain and lying on the corner of the bathtub. Just not what I would expect for a Sheraton. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is great It was very comfortable. It was great for our guest to be able to be at a hotel that was enjoyable. Great for our daughter's wedding. Wish we had more time to enjoy the hotel area. June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by smoke There was smoking in numerous rooms. The no smoking policy for the property needs to be verbalized to each person when they check in. It also needs to be more visible in each room. One small sign high on the wall near the sprinkler is not sufficient. I had to move rooms due to smoke. Also, AC/Heat unit was not working in room 406. Many things seem not kept up in general in the rooms, disappointing to me. May 8, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>