Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

  • 161 Sussex Street
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1090 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Location - Great Value! My fourth stay at Four Points, Darling Harbour in 6 months and overall this hotel has proved to be excellent value for such a great location, with very good service from the attentive staff. Check-in was seamless and the complimentary upgrade to the Maritime Studio (corner room with balcony) was most welcome with a very large room and a fabulous view over the entire Darling Harbour/Cockle Bay area - quite a sight at night! I challenge you to find a better value room in the Sydney CBD that can boast such a great view with immediate proximity to the city, Cockle Bay precinct, Chinatown, and present consistently good staff. Well done to all! February 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Utmost rude and unhelpful staff, zero service My wife arrived 4 hours before me due to my plane being delayed. The reception clerk refused to check her in because I had booked the room in my name. He refused to ring me on my mobile phone, or to receive a call from me to clarify the situation. My wife was in pain and needed a shower and a toilet urgently, but her needs were blatantly ignored despite her being able to identify herself. When I finally arrived and explained my outrage to the "manager", she merely grinned and shrugged it off without as much as a sincere apology. Next day we came back from a conference and wanted to have a quick shower around 18:00 - and our room wasn't made up yet, no towels available Took half an hour to get the room made up and fresh towels. Directly above the bed are two blinking LEDs - perhaps the fire alarm? - but they shine brightly right into your face when you try to sleep. The ventilation which cannot be turned off makes a racket like a jet before takeoff - in combination with the frantically blinking LEDs I wonder whether any guest managed to sleep there. We certainly didn't. What a horrible experience - and certainly the most unhelpful and rude staff I have met in 40 years. I will not set a foot in a hotel of the Sheraton chain again. Worth perhaps noting that this is the first ever negative hotel review I wrote in 40 years of frequent traveling world wide. November 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has lousy staff After a long journey arrival at this hotel was supposed to be a relaxing moment but this moment was nothing less than arrogance and bad manners. The concierge was not at all helpful even though he could plainly see that I was not only very tired but also having difficulty unloading my luggage as I had my arm in a sling due to a very recent and painful operation. When I asked for help he was only interested in finding out my room number and giving me a parking slip I told him I had just arrived and did not know my room number as yet he did though allow me to leave my bags on the path whilst I went inside to get my room sorted out. Upon arrival at the front desk I wanted to enquire about the standard of room I was booked to as we had only booked over the phone as we approached Sydney and the lady was only interested in getting my credit card details and drivers licence details so I again asked nicely about the standard of accommodation I was paying for and she mumbled a city view room with a king bed. I then asked for an upgrade to a Harbour view room and she rudely pointed out that was an extra price which did not bother me I just wanted a better room. I then proceeded to make my booking and was asking about availability of meals as it was rather late being 9.30 pm when we arrived the lady then just commented that there was breakfast in the morning so I then asked her again thinking she must not understand English very well I spoke very clearly and then she mentioned our options. When I then returned to get my parking slip I was totally ignored until I approached the concierge desk where a man in a suit looked up from what he was reading when I asked if anybody was on duty still he then just pointed to a concierge and he came to serve me. I asked what was the process and he instructed me to park my vehicle across the road in the car park. I asked if we could get our luggage delivered to our room as I was in a lot of pain and very tired but this was rejected. My partner and I found the room to be reasonable but as we do travel a lot we have stayed in many nicer establishments where the staff are at least welcoming. We were made to feel unwelcome. I definitely will NOT be staying here again no matter what the reason and I would certainly not recommend this hotel to any of the people I deal with in my business or personal life March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Parking My only disappointment was no valet parking. I have in the past stayed in hotels which didn't have their own parking facility, however, they did provide a valet service. Getting my car into the parking area on checking in meant that I was rushed to get unpacked and ready for an event. My stay was excellent on all other levels. Thank you. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is the worst hotel I ever stay in Sydney My overall comment on this hotel is below par.. Services are poor , making mistake on the room , put someone luggage in my room n etc... When I 1st arrive at the hotel, I was told that the agent book me in the hotel system as single bed but when I show the booking confirmation to the hotel that my confirmation is king bed room . The respond is ur agent book the wrong bed with us .. Too bad u travel agent make a mistake just suck it up . Toward end of night when I return to the hotel .. Someone luggage is in my room . When I call the hotel they say I'm sharing with this stranger .. What is this kind of service? I guess everyone know what I mean..... December 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Four Points Sheratron - Lifts Stayed at this hotel a few times and will be there for the next two months. The only down side are the lifts and the card mechanism. Poor to say the least and such a tempermental system. I have heard numerous complaints and my experience has not been good either. Other than that the place is excellent. Good service, good food and nice rooms. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This hotel was in a great location,central to everywhere we wanted to go,the staff were all friendly and welcoming and our rooms were very comfortable July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing second visit Unfortunately I was very let down on my last visit to Four Points, and even more disappointing was the fact that no one asked me how my visit was while I was there in order to provide my comments first hand so they could improve. As I visit Sydney for work, the morning time before my meetings is cruicial, On the first morning I requsted a Flat Whilte coffee with my buffet breakfast - after 30 mins I had to leave and it never arrived. The next morning I changed to 'Strong Tea' where I received a 2 person pot filled with water and 1 teabag - hence, a very watering imitation of tea and undrinkable. On the final day, I once again tried my luck with a Flat White which didn't come after 25 mins so I enquired and they had lost my order - waited a further 8 mins and it finally arrived. Coupled with a low standard of food including uncooked chicken sausages (that were pink and sticky still in the middle), the worst scrambled eggs and no butter available (only margarine) one morning, I'm sorry to advise Four Points that I expect a better start to my day and will therefore be going elsewhere in future. The final insult was cutting my finger on the broken plastic surround on the button to call the lift to the 6th Floor. On a positive note, the housekeeping is excellent at Four Points and the maids leave my room beautiful every day with special touches of which I'm gratefully appreciative. My room was immaculate, spotlessly clean and comfortable. I therefore ask the food and service management to review their morning offerings to guests as this is really letting the overall hotel experience down. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Location is so close to Darling Harbour and in the other direction not far to city shops etc. Close to everything Sydney has to offer. Added bonus was the bridge link from the side of the hotel that took you down to Darling Harbour. The view from the room (level 10) over Darling Harbour was fantastic and even got to see the Saturday night fireworks. Thanks to Hayley on the reception desk for letting us know about them. Very friendly staff. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always a Pleasure Always a pleasure to stay at Four Points July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Darling Harbor's BEST HOTEL It's the best because of a multitude of reasons, in my opinion these are the 4 most important. Management , they create and administer the hotel's ethos, everything reflects on this. Staff , simply first class , Position , perfect and last but not least , Service , outstanding. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall meets needs but falls short I am often at the Sheraton 4 points for work and have found that whilst the rooms are nice and clean the hotel lacks some extra comforts. I find that big fluffy bathrobes are a must perhaps just for SPG members. Due to working late I often have in room dining - menu is boring and has been the same for ages. However service is prompt and efficient and friendly. SPG members don't seem to get anything extra. I am here often once or twice a month and no real acknowledgement of my SPG status. They upgraded me this week to harbour side King room and charged me - even though they admitted they were quiet. Not really SPG friendly. Also no pool which is annoying. November 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS HOTEL DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS HOTEL, THERE WERE HOLES IN THE TOWELS AND THE TOWELS WERE ALL DIFFERENT TYPES. I WAS CHARGED FOR USING THE MINI BAR WHEN I ADVISED AT CHECK OUT I HAD NOT USED THE MINI BAR. I EMAILED AS SOON AS I FOUND THEY HAD CHARGED ME FOR THE MINI BAR AND NO RESPONSE FOR 2 DAYS. I HAD TO CALL THE HOTEL TO CLARIFY. NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR A SHERATON HOTEL. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great experience I am a frequent traveller to Sydney and stay at a number of hotels, including the Four Points. I have stayed over 200 nights over the past 2 years and the last three stays (15 nights) have been at the Four Points and frankly it has not met my expectations. Food – I have eaten in the restaurant, Dundee Arms, and in-room dinning. I have found the meat in particular to be overdone every time. I like my meat medium rare, every time no matter what I ask for it has been overdone. Both beef and lamb has been cooked to a consistency of rubber, I now ask for my meal to be prepared rare but still the meat is well cooked all the way thru. Lifts – I know this is not a normal thing to happen or can fault the hotel (really, poor maintenance maybe?), but I had the unfortunate experience of being trap in the lift (Lift No. 3) for close to two hours. Basically it happened at 6am and it took time for them to get an engineer on-site to get me out. I was heading down for breakfast and the lift stopped and that was it. What I do feel that was lacking was the experience after, I was given apology, a bottle of water and a cab charge to get to work as by then I was already late for a meeting and needed to get to the office asap. I did receive a bottle of wine and a plate of rocky road and a written letter apologising for the inconvenience. I do not drink wine or eat rocky road, a more appropriate compensation would have been an offer of a night stay for free or at least asking what I’d like free meal, gift voucher, bottle of bourbon which I would have happy drank after that experience. Now for most people being stuck in a lift is inconvenient, I am however claustrophobic and for the remainder of this trip I was so nervous about taking the lift I ended up taking the stairs (level 7) every day/evening. I asked if there was a room I could move to on a lower floor and unfortunately nothing was available. Upon check-out, the night manager came out and apologised to me personally, which is nice but didn’t/couldn’t address the issue. Internet – The wireless internet access is spotty, in my three stays I’ve had some issues, the first time required the assistance of the company supplying connectivity to the hotel, DNS issue that I eventually resolved myself (put in the ip address to bring up the login) and the hotel also sent a maintenance person to give me a Ethernet cable, but they only had a half meter cable that wasn’t long enough. I received another bottle of wine and apology letter. The second time my phone kept dropping the internet connection if I was near the window but if I move to the door it reconnected, this was a pain as I was using my phone to do emails and internet as my laptop was out getting fixed. The third time, same as the first with the DNS, I didn’t bother calling to complain just used my work around. It’s bit frustrating as they changed the DNS server and I had to take 10 mins to work out why it wasn’t working this time, it’s not a huge issue or too challenging I just wish they’d fix the underlying issue. Room – Mostly pretty good, all though I don't like have a room with two beds and the first trip I was booked into a harbour view room and they had run out an given me a city view one. They didn't even tell me and I only found out once I got to the room. My company has paid extra for that too. This trip (28-Feb) the fridge in the room appear to have a dodgie fan and is making that rattling/broken fan noise and has done for the last three days, I’ll mention it when I go down this morning and see if they fix it. I’ll submit a new review at the end of this trip and report what happens, maybe another bottle of wine I can give away. The question remains, will I stay here again…. Not by choice, my company has approved hotels and if they are all booked out like the last few trips…. Yes I’ll be staying here again. February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Hotel was quiet, comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. Room heating was a bit funny - seemed to be pumping out cold air even though it was set to 24 degrees. Nothing an extra blanket couldn't fix though. Great view from the harbour side rooms. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improved check in but noisy! Find the check-in recognition can be a little hit and miss at Four Points Sydney. Very poor last time, however great on this occasion! Only complaint this time was the noise from the construction next door to the hotel :( July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by weirdest shower ever! I always like coming to the 4 points as it is central. this time had a room on the 15th floor and it was an interesting experience... the hall smelled like old sheep (perhaps really old wool carpet that needs cleaning?) but the weirdest thing was the shower. There was a shelf in the shower under the shower head and because there wasn't a lot of water pressure you had to press yourself against the shelf to get wet!! Not sure if this room was still due for a refurbishment or not, but it was unique! On a positive note - the concierge was lovely and gave me free ticket s to a concert (Sydney music festival) which was lovely! I really appreciated the gesture. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by its an OK hotel Hotel room was small but facility was comfortable size for business travelers. Upon checking in, i requested for a room nearer to the lift but strangely the reception lady told me they were fully booked and didn't have a room for me to change. I am checking in for 7 nights and there were no alternative rooms at all? i find that quite unacceptable. on the second day, we had to leave at 6.20 for a tour so we checked with the manager Christine if she could just let us have breakfast at 6.10. She told us that breakfast only starts at 6.30. so we requested to at least have some coffee and perhaps bread or croissant. we almost had to beg before she was willing to serve us the brewed coffee. she won't allow us to grab any food and at 6.25 as we were about to leave, she came with some muffins. It was a bit too late. In this area, we found her not accommodating at all. I've stayed in hotel that even opened the buffet slightly earlier so that their guest could have something to eat before they leave for the tour. Some even packed us some food but a 4 to 5 star hotel in sydney refused us anything. Interesting. Housekeeping service was also interesting. There were days that our rooms were not clean but i must say that when they clean it, it was alright. so it is based on luck that the rooms get cleaned properly. there were days with no towel replacement and a cup with green tea sachet was left there for 2 days. And this morning, this lady just knocked twice, and walked straight into the room before we could respond. we felt very insecure being in the room in the morning because house keeping could just come in anytime without us knowing it. we had 2 empty wine bottles that we wanted to keep but housekeeping threw that away for us. We spoke to the manager, and fortunately, they went to buy the exact 2 bottles to replace it because they were not supposed to trash things that are not in the bin! housekeeping services definitely did not provide us with a pleasant experience. Wifi and breakfast was included in our rate so that was good. breakfast for exactly the same for 6 consecutive days though. No change at all. Location was good as we could easily walk to Darling Harbour for meals. Room Service has additional AUD7 for delivery charges. That is quite expensive. A hot chocolate costed me AUD12 and it tasted like tap water. Very disappointing cup of Hot Chocolate. In general, Staff around the hotel were polite and helpful. It's an OK hotel for business travelers to sleep at night. Thankful for the gym that is 24 hours. Just very interesting experience we had. October 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor food Seafood buffet very low quality July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One week business stay The hotel was perfectly located for business meetings in the city and I was able to walk to all locations very easily. My room had a great view of the harbour and was clean and tidy - which is ultimately my preference for a room. Bathroom amenities were great and the room size was excellent for a King bed room. Overall, I was very happy with the week stay and will very likely stay there again. Only complaint would be that the bed felt like it had one too many people lay on it and had a sink holes in it - update your mattresses - which seems to be a common issue with hotels - and you'll have rave reviews. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mini bar error Great stay in an always nice hotel. Only small point was a charge that I ate a chocolate from the mini bar. I explained I had not - and the charge was waived. Just a small thing - but would be great if it was not happening. July 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is nice enough but accounts handling shocking! I was visiting Sydney on business and room was booked and to be charged on a corporate Amex. On check in I was told there was no credit card and room was not pre-paid so I needed to provide my photo ID and personal credit card, as it was after hours I was unable to contact my office to get it resolved and complied. They provided a form advising my company can send it in and charges will be applied correctly. On check out the next day I confirmed this and they advised if received by 6pm my CC will not be charged. When I arrived at the office that day I discussed the ordeal and the PA who booked confirmed she had provided strict instructions to the hotel regarding payment and all should have gone smoothly. My Manager completed the form and faxed to the hotel as required around 12pm. When I arrived back at Melbourne the following morning I found an invoice in my inbox advising my master card had been charged the full amount. I called the hotel to clarify and they advised my manager never cleared the account so they proceeded with charges. After back and forth they forwarded me to accounts who, after arguing further with me about the account, magically found the form and cleared the account. Other hotels this has been a seamless transaction where I arrive, provide my CC as a security and check out with no issues of payment / charges afterwards. Very disappointing. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great position & Hotel Great Hotel, amazing position for ease and convenience for anyone going to Sydney , whatever it be for shopping work or dining out. Love staying at this hotel July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff were amazing! The facilities were very clean, and a very restful stay was had, but the staff at all points of our stay from checkin to concierge to front of house to bar etc were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. We were treated like we were the only people in the hotel. Thanks so much! July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good service, comfortable beds The good: The beds were very comfortable, and the staff very friendly and attentive. I ate at the hotel and the food was excellent. The bad: I wasn't sure if the bathroom had been cleaned. Although it didn't appear dirty, there was only 1 towel and no amenities. These were brought to my room immediately with a phone call. It was a twin room, and I needed to move a bed to access the mirror. Under the bed was a person's hat and great big balls of dust. It clearly had not been vacuumed under there in a long time. As I was in the room to sleep only, got in late and left early I wasn't able to raise these issues until check out. January 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by hotel is close to the city Have stayed there before,and this time we were dissapppointed as there was no blankets and air conditioning heat was not working,had ask for blankets and staff gave us a small heater,to keep us warm was not happy with tydiness after going out for the day,vacuum not done very well we were a bit dissapointed this time around July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Stay Comfortable stay. Hotel was good. Only problem was food. Breakfast is way too expensive almost nothing under $20 unless you want cereal. The buffet for dinner was alright but the steak was very salty July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding Assistant Concierge Outstanding Assistant Concierge This was our third stay at the Four Points. While each time this year our room has been more expensive and less luxurious (even not including the breakfast buffet this time), we will continue to recommend the property. During this trip, we were very impressed with the knowledge and kindness of all the concierges, but especially with an Assistant Concierge on duty during the weekend evenings. He made several recommendations and reservations for us. In each case our expectations were exceeded. He is an outstanding example of why to stay at SPG properties and deserves to be commended. Thank you. August 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Little Noisy Nice Room, a bit of noise from the freeway, shower pressure not so good. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some issues experienced We stay in room 424.... The noise coming out of room 422 was very loud all night - they were partying very hard. We complained but nothing happened - did not get much sleep at all. We also had to wait approx 45 minutes for 2 x plates + 2 x knives to be brought to the room for some cheese. A little disappointed. Jeff. July 1, 2014
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 38 next>>