Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

  • 161 Sussex Street
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1184 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Darling Harbor Views I've stayed at this hotel two times and both stays were good. I was told that the hotel rooms had been renovated since my last stay (2 years earlier) and I could not see any difference at all. The front desk staff was always very helpful as were the bellman and concierge. The bar and restaurant staff left a lot to be desired and service was almost non-existent. The restaurant has buffets at every mea, and while they are discounted for in-house guests, they're still very expensive. Ordering off the a la carte menu can be a little less expensive than the buffet, depending on what you order. Overall, I think the prices were extremely high for a Four Points hotel. The food quality was average every time I ate there. The views of Darling Harbor are amazing and if you're there on a Saturday night when they're doing fireworks, you'll have a great view of the fireworks over Darling Harbor. The room was comfortable overall, the bed was comfortable and the there was a nice work-desk. The couch in the room, however, felt like plastic and was very uncomfortable. My room had a balcony, which was great, but there were no chairs on the balcony, so you could only stand out there and enjoy the view. Overall, the hotel is good - it's probably what you'd expect from the brand. It wouldn't be my first choice in the city, but the rates are very affordable compared to other places. I will likely return to the hotel again when in Sydney, because it is good (not great or spectacular) but reliable and well-priced rooms. March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Good good good good good and good March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXPECT TO ENJOY 5 STAR TREATMENT STAFF THAT ARE PROFESSIONAL & POLITE WHO WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE ME FEEL SPECIAL. THE ROOM WAS RELAXING WITH A GREAT VIEW AND THE BED WAS AN ABSOLUTE DREAM TO SLEEP IN. LOVE THE BED. POSITION OF HOTEL IS IDEAL & IS IN EASY REACH TO MANY ATTRACTIONS. ALWAYS A PLEASURE TO STAY HERE. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, best views Just 2 mins walk to Darling Harbour, room had fabulous views of the harbour and its vicinity. Location is unbeatable to Chinatown, downtown shopping district and Hyde Park. State Theatre and QVB Building is just up the road, surrounded by lots of eating places. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay We loved our stay at your hotel. We arrived on Jan 21/14 after travelling all night on an international flight from Canada. We came to the hotel in the am after landing expecting to leave our luggage with security as it was early for check up. To our delight we were greeted at check in and told we could check in and were given a free upgrade to a harbor side room. We had a great view of the harbor and even fire works on two nights of our stay. The king bed in the room was very comfortable and the pillows great. The concererge was very helpfull for booking tours and airlines for confirming flights. Breakfasts were good with good selections to cover every taste. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located with a walkway over the road to the walkway on the harbor and very easy to get to restaurants and shops. All in all a great stay and I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We used the shuttle bus to and from the airport. A great welcome to Australian and a wonderful way to start our Aussie vacay. Thank you from a pair of Canadian travellers. March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Blood on bed quilt cover! I must say that discovery of blood on the quilt cover of a highly regarded hotel was quite a shock - it was a disgusting and sickening thought that we could have unknowingly slept in this soiled linen had we not pulled back the quilt to check. This negative start to our weekend get away put a damper on the whole night and we were not comfortable in the hotel after this discovery. I was impressed with the prompt service of reconciling the issue but in saying that the damage was done and we were disappointed. The offer of a room upgrade upon our next stay was a pitiful attempt at making up for the horrible stay - we would not be confident nor comfortable in paying for your hotels services again therefore this upgrade its meaningless. It's a shame that we must end our ongoing business with Sheraton hotels in particular the four points although soiled bloody sheets is not my idea of high class accommodation. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel room quality standard was high This was my first stay for business at the Four Points by Sheraton and it exceeded my expectations particularly the standard of the room (bathroom in particular). It seems recently renovated and the location is great for access to Darling Harbour restaurants. I look forward to my next stay and would certainly re-book at this hotel over and above many other choices on our preferred hotel list. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Above Average I stay at the Four Points every week, having also tried out many of the others in the area. Overall it's been pretty good, indicative of good staff training and good procedures in place. However billing has been consistently problematic, and escalations to sort this out have typically not gone that smoothly! I see an organisation that is determined to provide consistent quality but also keep costs down very low... perhaps a little lower than they should be as very low costs do impact the quality of the experience! March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by What happened to the housekeeper I went out two days in a row at 10am returning at 1.30pm. Neither day was my room refreshed, I had no clean towels and only one towel per person which is not enough if a lady has long hair and wants to wash it. March 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Extra comfy beds The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are very functional, but my favourite thing about this hotel is the super comfy beds. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location very near CBD Four points Darling Harbor is located right next to harbor and offers great view of Sydney. It is quite near CBD (central business district), so very convenient for business travel. The staff is helpful. March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Paid wifi speed is very slow I paid for whole week of wifi at 50$ for three days and there after, every hour is $5. The only thing that I remember was waiting for my emails to send and to load web pages until I fell asleep every night. Even though I paid for the wifi when I first checked in, I cannot surf web pages smoothly without waiting for even an hour just to load a news website. How I know? I bought an hour at $5 and I only managed to click my second news link until the time is up. Free wifi at darling park is way faster than this money vampire wifi. Work wise, I only managed to send 3 work emails. March 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great experience I am a frequent traveller to Sydney and stay at a number of hotels, including the Four Points. I have stayed over 200 nights over the past 2 years and the last three stays (15 nights) have been at the Four Points and frankly it has not met my expectations. Food – I have eaten in the restaurant, Dundee Arms, and in-room dinning. I have found the meat in particular to be overdone every time. I like my meat medium rare, every time no matter what I ask for it has been overdone. Both beef and lamb has been cooked to a consistency of rubber, I now ask for my meal to be prepared rare but still the meat is well cooked all the way thru. Lifts – I know this is not a normal thing to happen or can fault the hotel (really, poor maintenance maybe?), but I had the unfortunate experience of being trap in the lift (Lift No. 3) for close to two hours. Basically it happened at 6am and it took time for them to get an engineer on-site to get me out. I was heading down for breakfast and the lift stopped and that was it. What I do feel that was lacking was the experience after, I was given apology, a bottle of water and a cab charge to get to work as by then I was already late for a meeting and needed to get to the office asap. I did receive a bottle of wine and a plate of rocky road and a written letter apologising for the inconvenience. I do not drink wine or eat rocky road, a more appropriate compensation would have been an offer of a night stay for free or at least asking what I’d like free meal, gift voucher, bottle of bourbon which I would have happy drank after that experience. Now for most people being stuck in a lift is inconvenient, I am however claustrophobic and for the remainder of this trip I was so nervous about taking the lift I ended up taking the stairs (level 7) every day/evening. I asked if there was a room I could move to on a lower floor and unfortunately nothing was available. Upon check-out, the night manager came out and apologised to me personally, which is nice but didn’t/couldn’t address the issue. Internet – The wireless internet access is spotty, in my three stays I’ve had some issues, the first time required the assistance of the company supplying connectivity to the hotel, DNS issue that I eventually resolved myself (put in the ip address to bring up the login) and the hotel also sent a maintenance person to give me a Ethernet cable, but they only had a half meter cable that wasn’t long enough. I received another bottle of wine and apology letter. The second time my phone kept dropping the internet connection if I was near the window but if I move to the door it reconnected, this was a pain as I was using my phone to do emails and internet as my laptop was out getting fixed. The third time, same as the first with the DNS, I didn’t bother calling to complain just used my work around. It’s bit frustrating as they changed the DNS server and I had to take 10 mins to work out why it wasn’t working this time, it’s not a huge issue or too challenging I just wish they’d fix the underlying issue. Room – Mostly pretty good, all though I don't like have a room with two beds and the first trip I was booked into a harbour view room and they had run out an given me a city view one. They didn't even tell me and I only found out once I got to the room. My company has paid extra for that too. This trip (28-Feb) the fridge in the room appear to have a dodgie fan and is making that rattling/broken fan noise and has done for the last three days, I’ll mention it when I go down this morning and see if they fix it. I’ll submit a new review at the end of this trip and report what happens, maybe another bottle of wine I can give away. The question remains, will I stay here again…. Not by choice, my company has approved hotels and if they are all booked out like the last few trips…. Yes I’ll be staying here again. February 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Smelly lobby in Sydney I was ver dissapointed that the lobby resaurant would consistently stink up the whole lobby. I stayed there 4 days and every morning and evening the burnt bread or raw fish smells were purvasive. Simply changing the air flow could aleviate the problem. Too bad. Nice location. February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Top Sheet! We enjoyed our stay with you. Your staff were polite friendly & professional.Our room was comfortable & well appointed. I was very surprised to find as I got into bed to be unable to find a top sheet. I thought it must have been overlooked but on inquiry I was told this was now "usual practice". I would only sleep like this if I was camping or roughing it somewhere. One of the pleasures of a hotel stay is quality fine cotton sheets. Staff quickly & happily provided a top sheet thus providing us with a comfy bed with crisp white sheets & snug white duvet. I do hope that you review this new idea as it does not befit any hotel standard. I would expect a top sheet in all and any hotel. Apart from this problem our stay was pleasant & comfortable. Thank You February 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel location is convenient The hotel location is convenient. However, service is average. I had a long stay of 25 days and booked a room with king size bed. I would expect to get the kind of room which I had booked when check-in. However, I only got a room with twin bed and was not being informed upon check-in the type of room which I had booked was not available. The hotel was only able to allocate another room to me 8 days later, by then I had already booked to stay with another hotel. The other thing was, I had to call the front desk almost every night to have the air-con in my room switched on as the control was override by their back office. February 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beds need replacing Convenient location, but beds need replacing and pillows were really bad, could not get good sleep for even one night out of the three that I spent there. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpfull on our stay As soon as we arrived at the front door we were met with a smile from everyone. February 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not happy Apart from the fantastic service received from your outside staff meet and greet the rest of the service provided was below average and would not recommend this Hotel to anyone and will not be returning. The room requested was supposed to have a balcony due to myself being a smoker and sufferer of panic attacks but this was not the case and nothing could be done to meet our needs. Lack of microwave, cutlery, no spare blankets, pillows or dressing gowns were other issues. When requested items of blankets etc even though i was told they would organize it now several hours pass and yes i have to make another phone call and in the end gave up went to bed and finally the next afternoon after another phone call we get what we requested - not good enough all round and we tried to book into another hotel on arrival due to how unhappy we were but were forced to stay as all other Hotels were booked out. Poor service, poor supply of items in the room and the list goes on. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Spent extra money for 4 star experience, but was disappointed. No top sheets and towels not fluffy, obviously cost cutting. Bathroom accessories were not matching Limited choice of teas in room and moccona coffee (4star ? Really?) Restaurant food poor, had better in local club I've had better experience in 3 star hotels. The staff could not be faulted, they were, courteous and helpful and excellent in execution of their jobs February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for leisure, but not for business I stayed at this hotel for two weeks while working in Sydney. The location is great and I really enjoyed the view of the harbor out of the large window. The bedding and bathroom were top notch, but the sitting chair was so uncomfortable that I never used it. The housekeeping service was good, but very inconsistent on the timing. One day, my room was never serviced at all. The reason for my negative review is because the desk and desk chair were completely unsuited to getting work done. This was more about the non adjustable chair with no arms than the desk. Having stayed in many hotels that go out of their way to create an environment where it is easy to work in the room, this was very disappointing. They charge per day for internet and I found the fee to be excessive, but the bigger problem is that the wireless-only internet service is very slow and spotty. The restaurant had good food, although it is very expensive. I ate breakfast a few times, but due to the cost, I opted to get breakfast elsewhere. If you are on vacation and looking for a hotel close to the harbor, then this is a good place to stay, but for business, I would not use this hotel. February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum level irrelevant Every time I stay at this hotel my Platinum level seems to mean nothing. I stay at all SPG hotels around APAC and every other hotel provides complimentary water bottles and fruit. This hotel only provides that for a fee. Well, I thought being a dedicated SPG member, and Platinum level frequent guest would provide enough revenue from me to justify such low cost items. Apparently not at this hotel. February 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Trip Overall, a good value for the price. Stayed for 4 nights as part of a business trip to Sydney. The rooms are large, clean and basic. The harbor view was nice and the wifi worked well. Have stayed here many times of the years and was pleased they wifi in the rooms now and not just the lobby. The food is only thing that could be improved. The staff is extremely pleasant, helpful and do go out of their way to help. The location is great for me as it is close to work but I do like the proximity to Darling Harbor which has great restaurants. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Credit card surcharge?? I don't understand why we have to pay this. I booked the room via your call centre. I was not told about the surchange but I was asked to use credit card to guanantee. The confirmation email I received from the hotel did not mention the surchange. If I was told before my arrival in Australia, I may pay by cash. I cannot accept this. No compliment bottle of water - a bit unfriendly... February 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel I have stayed here a number of times and always for business. This is a good solid 4 star hotel. Good meeting room facilities and staff to service the meting room. Vey nice lunch provided. I was upgrade to a harbour view room as I have been in the past which was very nice. The hotel was at near capacity but his did not effect service levels or the cafe at all. Whilst I usually stay at another SPG hotel in the city I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for the business traveller or tourist alike as it is very well located to Darling Harbour which has great selection of cafes, bars and restaurants. Also close to great shopping. My Platinum level was acknowledged as well ,with the room upgrade, as it has always been for other stays at this hotel. A very pleasant stay overall. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is not upto Sheraton Standard Hotel is in great location with full view of Darling Harbour from the room. Staff was courteous, proactive and helpful. But four things disappointed me as I didn't find them upto standard compared to other Sheraton that I stayed at: 1. Comforter was small so wasn't tucked in on the sides. Kept slipping off. 2. Only one towel provided in the room. 3. No bathrobe was provided. 3. Doesn't have pool (but has 24hr fitness center) February 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sydney Harbour trip We have high expectations of the Sheraton, and we would book again. The Concierge staff are excellent - they really know their stuff ! well done. Where you can certainly improve is at the reception - this needs some attention. The first thing that hits you is always the smell of fish (as there is a restaurant directly at reception). This put us off using the bar. I certainly didn't feel like a particularly valued guest. SPG didn't feel like an advantage. You gave us a room beside the lift - never the best location especially late at night. February 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT LOCATION WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR RECENT STAY @ 4 POINTS BY SHERATON ..COMFORTABLE BED ..SHOULD HAVE BOOKED WATER VIEW THO ' YOUR FRONT DOOR STAFF TONY WAS BY FAR THE BEST OF ALL YOUR STAFF .. GREAT HELP AND SERVICE WITH KINDNESS AND A SMILE ... ... February 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just okay I stayed for 3 nights on a work trip mid-week. The airconditioner leaked. My colleague's room had a broken thermostat stuck at 24 degrees. The showers go with 'the wet room' idea - ie. half a screen with no door. The pressure on the shower was poor so all the steam escaped and it was cold. The breakfast buffet was well done and I would recommend it. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Great place to stay for business and leisure February 17, 2014
  • 2015-07-04T13:47:19.531-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1184, tr_1184
  • loc_en_US, sid_1305, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 41 next>>