Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

  • 161 Sussex Street
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1139 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Utmost rude and unhelpful staff, zero service My wife arrived 4 hours before me due to my plane being delayed. The reception clerk refused to check her in because I had booked the room in my name. He refused to ring me on my mobile phone, or to receive a call from me to clarify the situation. My wife was in pain and needed a shower and a toilet urgently, but her needs were blatantly ignored despite her being able to identify herself. When I finally arrived and explained my outrage to the "manager", she merely grinned and shrugged it off without as much as a sincere apology. Next day we came back from a conference and wanted to have a quick shower around 18:00 - and our room wasn't made up yet, no towels available Took half an hour to get the room made up and fresh towels. Directly above the bed are two blinking LEDs - perhaps the fire alarm? - but they shine brightly right into your face when you try to sleep. The ventilation which cannot be turned off makes a racket like a jet before takeoff - in combination with the frantically blinking LEDs I wonder whether any guest managed to sleep there. We certainly didn't. What a horrible experience - and certainly the most unhelpful and rude staff I have met in 40 years. I will not set a foot in a hotel of the Sheraton chain again. Worth perhaps noting that this is the first ever negative hotel review I wrote in 40 years of frequent traveling world wide. November 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is the worst hotel I ever stay in Sydney My overall comment on this hotel is below par.. Services are poor , making mistake on the room , put someone luggage in my room n etc... When I 1st arrive at the hotel, I was told that the agent book me in the hotel system as single bed but when I show the booking confirmation to the hotel that my confirmation is king bed room . The respond is ur agent book the wrong bed with us .. Too bad u travel agent make a mistake just suck it up . Toward end of night when I return to the hotel .. Someone luggage is in my room . When I call the hotel they say I'm sharing with this stranger .. What is this kind of service? I guess everyone know what I mean..... December 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Darling Harbor Views I've stayed at this hotel two times and both stays were good. I was told that the hotel rooms had been renovated since my last stay (2 years earlier) and I could not see any difference at all. The front desk staff was always very helpful as were the bellman and concierge. The bar and restaurant staff left a lot to be desired and service was almost non-existent. The restaurant has buffets at every mea, and while they are discounted for in-house guests, they're still very expensive. Ordering off the a la carte menu can be a little less expensive than the buffet, depending on what you order. Overall, I think the prices were extremely high for a Four Points hotel. The food quality was average every time I ate there. The views of Darling Harbor are amazing and if you're there on a Saturday night when they're doing fireworks, you'll have a great view of the fireworks over Darling Harbor. The room was comfortable overall, the bed was comfortable and the there was a nice work-desk. The couch in the room, however, felt like plastic and was very uncomfortable. My room had a balcony, which was great, but there were no chairs on the balcony, so you could only stand out there and enjoy the view. Overall, the hotel is good - it's probably what you'd expect from the brand. It wouldn't be my first choice in the city, but the rates are very affordable compared to other places. I will likely return to the hotel again when in Sydney, because it is good (not great or spectacular) but reliable and well-priced rooms. March 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guests beware I would rate my stay as a little short of excellent. I have no complaints about the accomodation, food & beverage, location or amenities but as I stay here at least once a year it is disappointing to have, for the 3rd time, been charged mini bar usage when in fact this was not the case. Having said this, I was pleased that they apologised and reversed the charge on my card (however at time of writing I am still waiting for confirmation). How and why am I charged? Is this a scam? Are the cleaners running an e-Bay kind of racket? I would hope it is purely just an error and I've been unlucky. But guests beware and check your statements May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unpleasant Check-in experience I had the worst check-in experience in this hotel because of the check-in staff cant make proper decision when issuing rooms to their guest. I am a GOLD class spg member and I cant accept the way I was treated during my check-in. Everything went wrong on the day I checked in. First I checked in and then they upgraded me to a suite, but then immediately they asked me to come down to the reception to change my room to another room, but the new room was not yet available. So I had to wait another 1.30 hrs to get my new room. I hope in future the hotel reception staff learn from their mistakes and not to upset their guest because of their own internal issues. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing second visit Unfortunately I was very let down on my last visit to Four Points, and even more disappointing was the fact that no one asked me how my visit was while I was there in order to provide my comments first hand so they could improve. As I visit Sydney for work, the morning time before my meetings is cruicial, On the first morning I requsted a Flat Whilte coffee with my buffet breakfast - after 30 mins I had to leave and it never arrived. The next morning I changed to 'Strong Tea' where I received a 2 person pot filled with water and 1 teabag - hence, a very watering imitation of tea and undrinkable. On the final day, I once again tried my luck with a Flat White which didn't come after 25 mins so I enquired and they had lost my order - waited a further 8 mins and it finally arrived. Coupled with a low standard of food including uncooked chicken sausages (that were pink and sticky still in the middle), the worst scrambled eggs and no butter available (only margarine) one morning, I'm sorry to advise Four Points that I expect a better start to my day and will therefore be going elsewhere in future. The final insult was cutting my finger on the broken plastic surround on the button to call the lift to the 6th Floor. On a positive note, the housekeeping is excellent at Four Points and the maids leave my room beautiful every day with special touches of which I'm gratefully appreciative. My room was immaculate, spotlessly clean and comfortable. I therefore ask the food and service management to review their morning offerings to guests as this is really letting the overall hotel experience down. November 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall meets needs but falls short I am often at the Sheraton 4 points for work and have found that whilst the rooms are nice and clean the hotel lacks some extra comforts. I find that big fluffy bathrobes are a must perhaps just for SPG members. Due to working late I often have in room dining - menu is boring and has been the same for ages. However service is prompt and efficient and friendly. SPG members don't seem to get anything extra. I am here often once or twice a month and no real acknowledgement of my SPG status. They upgraded me this week to harbour side King room and charged me - even though they admitted they were quiet. Not really SPG friendly. Also no pool which is annoying. November 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has lousy staff After a long journey arrival at this hotel was supposed to be a relaxing moment but this moment was nothing less than arrogance and bad manners. The concierge was not at all helpful even though he could plainly see that I was not only very tired but also having difficulty unloading my luggage as I had my arm in a sling due to a very recent and painful operation. When I asked for help he was only interested in finding out my room number and giving me a parking slip I told him I had just arrived and did not know my room number as yet he did though allow me to leave my bags on the path whilst I went inside to get my room sorted out. Upon arrival at the front desk I wanted to enquire about the standard of room I was booked to as we had only booked over the phone as we approached Sydney and the lady was only interested in getting my credit card details and drivers licence details so I again asked nicely about the standard of accommodation I was paying for and she mumbled a city view room with a king bed. I then asked for an upgrade to a Harbour view room and she rudely pointed out that was an extra price which did not bother me I just wanted a better room. I then proceeded to make my booking and was asking about availability of meals as it was rather late being 9.30 pm when we arrived the lady then just commented that there was breakfast in the morning so I then asked her again thinking she must not understand English very well I spoke very clearly and then she mentioned our options. When I then returned to get my parking slip I was totally ignored until I approached the concierge desk where a man in a suit looked up from what he was reading when I asked if anybody was on duty still he then just pointed to a concierge and he came to serve me. I asked what was the process and he instructed me to park my vehicle across the road in the car park. I asked if we could get our luggage delivered to our room as I was in a lot of pain and very tired but this was rejected. My partner and I found the room to be reasonable but as we do travel a lot we have stayed in many nicer establishments where the staff are at least welcoming. We were made to feel unwelcome. I definitely will NOT be staying here again no matter what the reason and I would certainly not recommend this hotel to any of the people I deal with in my business or personal life March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by weirdest shower ever! I always like coming to the 4 points as it is central. this time had a room on the 15th floor and it was an interesting experience... the hall smelled like old sheep (perhaps really old wool carpet that needs cleaning?) but the weirdest thing was the shower. There was a shelf in the shower under the shower head and because there wasn't a lot of water pressure you had to press yourself against the shelf to get wet!! Not sure if this room was still due for a refurbishment or not, but it was unique! On a positive note - the concierge was lovely and gave me free ticket s to a concert (Sydney music festival) which was lovely! I really appreciated the gesture. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by its an OK hotel Hotel room was small but facility was comfortable size for business travelers. Upon checking in, i requested for a room nearer to the lift but strangely the reception lady told me they were fully booked and didn't have a room for me to change. I am checking in for 7 nights and there were no alternative rooms at all? i find that quite unacceptable. on the second day, we had to leave at 6.20 for a tour so we checked with the manager Christine if she could just let us have breakfast at 6.10. She told us that breakfast only starts at 6.30. so we requested to at least have some coffee and perhaps bread or croissant. we almost had to beg before she was willing to serve us the brewed coffee. she won't allow us to grab any food and at 6.25 as we were about to leave, she came with some muffins. It was a bit too late. In this area, we found her not accommodating at all. I've stayed in hotel that even opened the buffet slightly earlier so that their guest could have something to eat before they leave for the tour. Some even packed us some food but a 4 to 5 star hotel in sydney refused us anything. Interesting. Housekeeping service was also interesting. There were days that our rooms were not clean but i must say that when they clean it, it was alright. so it is based on luck that the rooms get cleaned properly. there were days with no towel replacement and a cup with green tea sachet was left there for 2 days. And this morning, this lady just knocked twice, and walked straight into the room before we could respond. we felt very insecure being in the room in the morning because house keeping could just come in anytime without us knowing it. we had 2 empty wine bottles that we wanted to keep but housekeeping threw that away for us. We spoke to the manager, and fortunately, they went to buy the exact 2 bottles to replace it because they were not supposed to trash things that are not in the bin! housekeeping services definitely did not provide us with a pleasant experience. Wifi and breakfast was included in our rate so that was good. breakfast for exactly the same for 6 consecutive days though. No change at all. Location was good as we could easily walk to Darling Harbour for meals. Room Service has additional AUD7 for delivery charges. That is quite expensive. A hot chocolate costed me AUD12 and it tasted like tap water. Very disappointing cup of Hot Chocolate. In general, Staff around the hotel were polite and helpful. It's an OK hotel for business travelers to sleep at night. Thankful for the gym that is 24 hours. Just very interesting experience we had. October 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great experience I am a frequent traveller to Sydney and stay at a number of hotels, including the Four Points. I have stayed over 200 nights over the past 2 years and the last three stays (15 nights) have been at the Four Points and frankly it has not met my expectations. Food – I have eaten in the restaurant, Dundee Arms, and in-room dinning. I have found the meat in particular to be overdone every time. I like my meat medium rare, every time no matter what I ask for it has been overdone. Both beef and lamb has been cooked to a consistency of rubber, I now ask for my meal to be prepared rare but still the meat is well cooked all the way thru. Lifts – I know this is not a normal thing to happen or can fault the hotel (really, poor maintenance maybe?), but I had the unfortunate experience of being trap in the lift (Lift No. 3) for close to two hours. Basically it happened at 6am and it took time for them to get an engineer on-site to get me out. I was heading down for breakfast and the lift stopped and that was it. What I do feel that was lacking was the experience after, I was given apology, a bottle of water and a cab charge to get to work as by then I was already late for a meeting and needed to get to the office asap. I did receive a bottle of wine and a plate of rocky road and a written letter apologising for the inconvenience. I do not drink wine or eat rocky road, a more appropriate compensation would have been an offer of a night stay for free or at least asking what I’d like free meal, gift voucher, bottle of bourbon which I would have happy drank after that experience. Now for most people being stuck in a lift is inconvenient, I am however claustrophobic and for the remainder of this trip I was so nervous about taking the lift I ended up taking the stairs (level 7) every day/evening. I asked if there was a room I could move to on a lower floor and unfortunately nothing was available. Upon check-out, the night manager came out and apologised to me personally, which is nice but didn’t/couldn’t address the issue. Internet – The wireless internet access is spotty, in my three stays I’ve had some issues, the first time required the assistance of the company supplying connectivity to the hotel, DNS issue that I eventually resolved myself (put in the ip address to bring up the login) and the hotel also sent a maintenance person to give me a Ethernet cable, but they only had a half meter cable that wasn’t long enough. I received another bottle of wine and apology letter. The second time my phone kept dropping the internet connection if I was near the window but if I move to the door it reconnected, this was a pain as I was using my phone to do emails and internet as my laptop was out getting fixed. The third time, same as the first with the DNS, I didn’t bother calling to complain just used my work around. It’s bit frustrating as they changed the DNS server and I had to take 10 mins to work out why it wasn’t working this time, it’s not a huge issue or too challenging I just wish they’d fix the underlying issue. Room – Mostly pretty good, all though I don't like have a room with two beds and the first trip I was booked into a harbour view room and they had run out an given me a city view one. They didn't even tell me and I only found out once I got to the room. My company has paid extra for that too. This trip (28-Feb) the fridge in the room appear to have a dodgie fan and is making that rattling/broken fan noise and has done for the last three days, I’ll mention it when I go down this morning and see if they fix it. I’ll submit a new review at the end of this trip and report what happens, maybe another bottle of wine I can give away. The question remains, will I stay here again…. Not by choice, my company has approved hotels and if they are all booked out like the last few trips…. Yes I’ll be staying here again. February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good service, comfortable beds The good: The beds were very comfortable, and the staff very friendly and attentive. I ate at the hotel and the food was excellent. The bad: I wasn't sure if the bathroom had been cleaned. Although it didn't appear dirty, there was only 1 towel and no amenities. These were brought to my room immediately with a phone call. It was a twin room, and I needed to move a bed to access the mirror. Under the bed was a person's hat and great big balls of dust. It clearly had not been vacuumed under there in a long time. As I was in the room to sleep only, got in late and left early I wasn't able to raise these issues until check out. January 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding Assistant Concierge Outstanding Assistant Concierge This was our third stay at the Four Points. While each time this year our room has been more expensive and less luxurious (even not including the breakfast buffet this time), we will continue to recommend the property. During this trip, we were very impressed with the knowledge and kindness of all the concierges, but especially with an Assistant Concierge on duty during the weekend evenings. He made several recommendations and reservations for us. In each case our expectations were exceeded. He is an outstanding example of why to stay at SPG properties and deserves to be commended. Thank you. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely amazing! After a long flight from UK met by friendly staff. Location perfect, bedroom perfect, breakfast to die for., Would absolutely return and be the first to recommend. October 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2 night stay Room was good, clean and comfy too. Was nice to be upgraded to a harbour view room so I would probably book one next time. (My first stay here was in a city room). The restaurant opens at 630 - be nice if this was 6am (or at least have the front part open at 6 to get coffee). Restaurant was okay and I prefer the a la cart menu over the buffet as the buffet is pretty standard. Staff were all lovely and accommodating. The concierges are great at their job. Be nice to get a fan in the gym or cool it down a tad with the air con as it gets very hot on those treadmills. Will definitely stay again on my next trip to Sydney. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Hotel is amazing Definitely amazed with everything here, friendly staff awesome sleep beds were so comfortable & the pillows were the best - slept like a baby Thank You for everything October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and friendly people This hotel is located right on the Darling Harbour. Very nice location. Very friendly people in check-in and check-out. Concierge was very helpful and he even gave me a call to check whether I managed things that I asked him well! And the lady at the check out was helping me with a lot of informations about the New Year's Eve firework. Only 2 minor disappointments. I received Harbour view room with Panoramic Window. I think I didn't know what panoramic meant. It looked just like other windows. And the bar eleven was closed on the night I stayed so I couldn't use. It would have been great if I could see the view from the bar! ;) I wish I stayed in this hotel longer! January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost great....but just fell a little short We stayed here over the Easter weekend and whilst the staff were very good and we were upgraded to a refurbished room there were a few things that could have been just that little bit better. The rooms seemed very noisy - we could hear everything going on in the room next door. We also felt that the entrance area to the room was very dark and a little cramped. The sliding door for the bathroom seemed very flimsy and the large mirror in the entrance way could do with a light behind it to make it useable!! lastly in this day and age it would be good to be offered free wi-fi - if shopping precincts are offering this then its time hotel chains took note and did the same. April 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A note of thanks I would like to thank the charming lady Balvihka (I may have spelled her name wrongly, sorry) I checked in on 25 Sept at around 12noon and I was greeted by this very lovely lady Miss B at the counter upon my arrival at the hotel. I was very impressed and was grateful for her very warm smile, sincerity and wonderful hospitality. Thank you Miss B, for the sunshine you brought me! And I would also like to thank all those house keeping ladies for their lovely greetings when I walked from my room to the lift every morning. Thanks for making my bed so comfortable (I really love and appreciate the very clean, fresh and tidy bed sheet, pillow, duvet cover and everything!) I was staying at the city room facing the building opposite (not the very famous harbour view room) but it was okay as the room was indeed very quiet and i could even enjoy a nap during daytime without hearing any noise from the traffic or anything. It is a neat and tidy hotel that exceeds my expectation. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Sydney hotel at a reasonable price The Four Points offered convenient location for my 3 week long business trip to Sydney in June 2014. The breakfast offered great coffees, pastries and hot food as well as yogurts and fruit. The room was spacious and the staff was very helpful during my stay. I took advantage of the proximity to many touristy sights on my morning jogs from the hotel - Harbour Bridge, The Rocks neighborhood, Syndey Opera House and Hyde Park. We also frequented many restaurants and enjoyed the fireworks around Darling Harbour. I think the WiFi should have been included in the room rate and I also think the gym could have been a bit bigger but overall the hotel was wonderful and I would highly recommend it. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel - great location Got to the hotel shortly after 7am and got greeted by a very friendly doorman who immediately took care of my luggage and showed my way to the reception. Despite the fact that I was several hours early I immediately got my room and was able to freshen up before starting my day. During the stay I had some issues with the AC but again, the super friendly staff immediately took care of it and moved my stuff to a new room when they realized they couldn't just fix it. The only disappointment I had was on the last weekend when every guest was asked to leave the property for four hours for a generator test. Other than that outstanding stay and absolutely great staff! Thanks for enhancing my trip. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff My husband and I stayed here on the very last night of our vacatiion in Australia. We used frequent flyer points to pay for the room and were disappointed to find that we had been assigned to a wheelchair accessible room right behind the elevator bank. The room was basic, with a view of a parking garage and you could hear the elevator run up and down each time. We asked to be switched to a different room and were immediately assigned a different, much nicer room with a view of the harbour. The staff at the hotel were superb from the moment we arrived and we were impressed with their willingness to accommodate our request and to ensure that we had the best stay possible. This was a great ending to a wonderful trip. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Sydney CBD Hotel! I stayed at Four Points for three nights during a work conference. Hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable and shower pressure was fantastic. Staff are very friendly and willing to help. No complaints can be made about this hotel although my room didn't have a bath (this doesn't bother me but good for others to know) and my bed cover was very thin (again, this was no problem and you could ask for an extra blanket). Buffet breakfast has good choice and variety. Late check out (12pm) was great and I was pleased to be told it was on offer when I checked in (otherwise I would have never known!). Great Sydney CBD location too. Only thing I can't comment on is cost as work provided. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One week business stay The hotel was perfectly located for business meetings in the city and I was able to walk to all locations very easily. My room had a great view of the harbour and was clean and tidy - which is ultimately my preference for a room. Bathroom amenities were great and the room size was excellent for a King bed room. Overall, I was very happy with the week stay and will very likely stay there again. Only complaint would be that the bed felt like it had one too many people lay on it and had a sink holes in it - update your mattresses - which seems to be a common issue with hotels - and you'll have rave reviews. May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Beautiful I had booked 4 rooms for a weekend in the city.. All my friends loved the rooms especially the comfort of the beds and the pillows... I want one!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We all do? the only thing I had to complain about is our bathroom. the floor needed a mop and the cleaners had left an open pack of nobby's nuts on the bench.. but as soon as I told the staff they addressed the issue immediately and left 3 messages to ensure I was happy! you very rarely get that type of response these days, I was impressed! keeping that in mind our bathroom was not dirty by any means... I would highly recommend your next stay here! April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short Stay The hotel is really centrally located to Darling Harbour. I would stay there again. October 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Four Points by Sheraton I enjoyed the location of the hotel, as it was handy to most things. The noise from the elevators was troubling as it was clearly heard during the night in our room. The breakfast I was not overly impressed with as a lot of the food was cold or lukewarm, and food like the cheeses had crusts on them like they had been left out too long. I would stay here again, but not pay for a room rate that included breakfast. I would go to one of the restaurants nearby and get breakfast from there. I would probably recommend this hotel, but clarify it by explaining about certain features. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel well located Well positioned, great staff, comfortable rooms. Overall an enjoyable stay September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our stay at the Sheraton, Four Points During our stay at the Sheraton Darling Harbour, we found everything to be exceptional -the staff were professional and friendly and helpful. The environment ( Hotel lobby, breakfast and restaurant area etc) was great and it was extremely convenient to Darling Harbour. Our room was lovely, and although there were only views of the neighbouring buildings, we expected that as we had booked city side. We did enjoy the view over the Darling Harbour from the rooftop bar, and on the Saturday night watched the fireworks, which was great. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan to stay again. June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Misleading Booked to stay based on the content of the package on offer. On arrival I had to ask for the features that were advertised in the package and was told they are subject to availability.....well i would think it there aren't any rooms left to offer this package don't sell them!!! Its simple really. On the internet the rooms looked refurbished.....well not our room. How about say that in the booking process - by the way your room is cheaper as we are putting you on a crap floor where the rooms are a dump! Totally misleading, and on check out they tried to charge us for the complimentary in house movie that was also in the package. Finally the buffet service - uncovered food - mmm no thanks! July 16, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 39 next>>