Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour

  • 161 Sussex Street
  • Sydney,
  • New South Wales
  • 2000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1211 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good Satisfied with the service and facilities. The staffs are helpful. Though, my friend has been charged for a bottle of beer, while she's not allowed drinking, after that the charge has been withdrawn from her bill. Please make sure when someone is check out, you check again the mini bar. December 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Construction interferes with quality of stay. The extensive construction that is ongoing did have an overall negative effect on my 3 night stay. One notices it immediately on check-in which is in a temporary spot in the old heritage building. Very small space and no one at the Platinum/Gold check in. However, once you got to the check in, the service was excellent. I was fortunate to be able to use my suite night awards to get a lovely Maritime Suite. They had put me in a suite at the north end to make sure that I was not disturbed by construction noises. This was a blessing since you could hear noise in other parts of the hotel. The facilities for all meals were temporary in the heritage building and breakfast was split up into 3 or 4 rooms. Even then quite crowded and quite noisy. The buffet breakfast, however, was quite good. My major disappointment was dinner on my last night which was the only time that I used the hotel for dinner. Relatively few guests in the dining room but the noises from corridor were bad. In fact, every time someone wheeled suitcases or carts by the restaurant, the floor shook. My meal was disappointing and overpriced. Check out was smooth but had to wait sometime to get taxi to airport. The new tower will change the character of the hotel greatly. Time will tell whether it is an improvement. December 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff assistance I was in Sydney after a long flight from Chile and I had a problem with preparation of documentation for a meeting at the USA consulate early on the Monday. The concierge staff and the barman went out of their way to ensure I had everything I needed December 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, staff and rooms Received a warm welcome from front desk staff and check-in was efficient. Despite the size of the hotel and their current renovations, the room and hotel itself was quiet. Room well appointed, clean and great Darling Harbour views. November 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Hotel but Poor Food Stayed overnight for business, all in all was decent place to stay with the exception of the dinner (which was cold, bland and expensive) and noise from cleaning staff in the morning. I had a late meeting and was working in my room but was heavily distracted by noise of cleaners. Understand the need to clean but this can be done with a little more "finesse." The meal was extremely disappointing. For entrée I had scallops in pea puree. The dish was cold and I suspect the scallops were in fact "Skate." The main was a crabmeat ravioli in lobster bisque which was again luke warm. The ravioli was undercooked, the bisque tasteless. For the prices charged for the meal, I expected much better. November 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room with a view My room on the top floor of the hotel had a spectacular view of Darling Harbour. The stay was peaceful with no noise evident throughout the entire stay. The Concierge was very polite and helpful as were the desk clerks. During the time of my stay there was some works taking place on the ground floor near the lifts. Other than the fact that only two of the four lift were in operation due to these works there was no inconvenience during my stay. November 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by King not a king Your hotel was clean, room was good size and most staff were friendly and nice. Bad points were, bad checkin experience, king bed was 2 single beds strung together and Parking was overly expensive. October 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perhaps the nicest Four Points in the World I have stayed at this Four Points at least 4-5 times now. I am happy to stay here. Outside of the restaurant staff everyone is very attentive. The views of Darling Harbor are nice. The food is a bit overpriced for what it is but I think Australia in general is overpriced for food. A close walk to some good food, slightly longer walk gets you to Circular Quay and the Opera house. October 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All the help one could ask for I proposed to my Finance while staying at this hotel, and the there team was amazing in making sure my weekend went perfectly, even know we encountered a few problems trying to get thie proposal right Peter and his team did everything in there power to male is the perfect weekend and more to the point she said YES. This is one SPG stay i will never forget, and one i will forever be in there debt. I cant thank them enough. SPG property's have played a huge part in our lives and we met here and have shared many memory's and good times thanks to them. So it only felt right to ask her to marry me here. cant wait to share the next step with them October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location We have stayed here several times over many years and are always impressed with the friendly helpfulness of all staff. The hotel is currently undergoing some redevelopment this did not stop us getting the same great service from the staff. All staff, housekeeping, breakfast staff and reception where great considering how they have to cope with the current layout. The doormen in particular where very helpful especially Tony who sorted out an issue with the parking for us. Well done all. September 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel's location in Darling Harbor was close to everything we wanted to do, and the concierge was very helpful in giving us directions and suggestions. The room overlooking the harbor was lovely, and the beds were very comfortable, Construction work is going on at the hotel but it really wasn't a problem and didn't affect us at all. I would definitely stay here again! August 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by appalling across all domains (apart from 2 staff responding to issues who were great) Booked thru SPG website as a "gold" member. On arrival, pulled up outside. Concierge looked at me when I got out of car then he turned around & walked back to entrance. I had to follow him inside to request advice on how to check in, where to put car. No offer with bags. Checkin was scatty - had to come back to ask how to access internet and for the voucher for drinks (requested). Still no offer with bags and had a one large bright red suitcase - rather visible! Reached room and great view but.....2 single beds! Checked my reservation confirmation, nope - it stated King Bed as requested. Went to reception and advised because nowhere in room (printed or on TV info) or phone does it tell you how to contact someone (its the button on phone that states 'solutions' BTW). One hour and 2 further calls before beds joined & remade - there goes checking in early so we can kickback, hop in our gowns & enjoy the view...gowns? bathrobes - nope none of those in room either - that took 2 phone calls over the same period of time to get. The hospitality supervisor, Cheattah was lovely - once she was eventually notified & came up to check. She couldn't do anything tho about the fact the towels were small, thin & rough.The towels at work are better (that is not saying much) & I work in the public health system! Bathroom very small & only a shower, no bath. Room was surpisingly small & drab (this is meant to b 5 star?). No available powerpoints by bed or even on desk for electronic devices - had to unplug my bed side light to use that point & my partner found one behind the couch that he could use...c'mon people! This is a capital city, do I really have to BYO power board & extension cable which is the norm for Asia ... Lighting a bit hit & miss - the lights in bathroom dim so no ability to use to apply makeup and there is no separate light in the coffee making area so lots of fumbling in the dark when trying to make coffee & not disturb my partner. had noted in my booking that this was a birthday celebration but that had been ignored. Top marks to the staff for resolving this tho - wish I had got the girls name but she was lovely & organised a comp wine & a wee chocolate plate with Happy Birthday & my husbands name on it sent to room - tops marks for responsiveness but pathetic that I had to ask - tell me again why the SPG site asks for this additional info when it is ignored? The bed...uncomfortable - hard to describe why but 1st time in a 5-star hotel where I couldn't at least state the bed was amazing. It wasn't . Final annoyance - rang down on arrival and requested the saturday papers (naming them) - no 'thing' on door to hang out to request & had not been asked on checkin. This morning, nada (6.30am). Rang down, no record of my request. I asked them to check my profile as well - yes. ma'am, it does state here in your (SPG) profile that this is your standard request. Papers bought up promptly but back to original point this hotel is substandard. If it was a 2 star hotel and/or had I not paid $375 dollars (room only!) it was have been adequate. In conclusion, just don' t come here. two amazing staff interactions don't compensate for poor facilities & high cost & just a general lack of that '5-star' feel. We are not business travellers so a stay at a 5star hotel is not just a treat, it is a 'experience'. What is accepted & usually received even when things go wrong, is being treated like you are special, valued & important. This was completely lacking in all 'first interactions' but as already noted, two staff did then deliver to rectify issues - however, the issues should not have occurred in the first place! at every point from 1st contact with the staff at front of hotel onwards we should have been receiving not only a 5 start experience but the 'Sheraton' experience - 1st time in an Australian Sheraton and it will be the last. August 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Over charged and no sleep Noisy and overcharged. No sleep Staff were clueless August 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Buffet dining The room and location of this hotel were good, the room was cleaned each day and good to come back to. What spoiled the experience was the terrible buffet meal that we had on Sunday night. The food can only be descibed as awfull, there was very little food left and the food that was there was well below the standard we expected from a hotel with the Sheraton name. We compained to the person at the entrance as we were leaving and the response was that you were not expecting the number of diners that came in that night and more people were let in after us ! Very poor ! August 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Even worse that last time!! I stay at this hotel regularly as it's close to my office and while they give themselves a 4.5 self-rating I would suggest it is about a 3 star. Check in took me in excess of 30 minutes and explained I needed to get to the office so would like to have my bag sent to the room, almost had to beg to get this done and it was just left there, not placed on a rack for convenience (never have I seen this before#. Room has bugs in the bathroom, towels are shabby, something sticky spilt on bedside table, chips in furniture, lift lobby smells like urine #also overheard others remarking on this), no on-site gym and room faces a carpark so can't have curtains open. Staff are hit and miss, the only saving grace is the comfortable bed but I'm done, won't be back to this hotel without some serious improvement and I'm really not looking forward to the next two nights here. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location with great room This is my very first experience in Fourpoints, Sydney. The hotel has a very good location and room. Unfortunately, the renovation (drilling & hammering) did disturbed our sleep in the early morning, 7am! But overall, I'm still happy with the stay and would recommend to my friends. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice way to make up for prior difficulties After an unplesant stay 2 weeks ago with a malfunctioning TV and malfunctioning heating as well as misinformation provided about the SPG program I had - like on all my previous occasions (5 stays this year) - an excellent time. I also have to admit that the hotel takes criticism very seriously and responded immediately to my survey after the last stay. The staff acknowledged me as an SPG Gold member, was very helpful and responsive. I received a room upgrade and a box of complimentary butter cookies. It felt slightly like "Christmas in July". My TV and heating were working exceptionally well and even the morning newspaper was there early enough to read it before going on with my business for the day. It is also very pleasant to be remembered and made feel 'at home' by staff members. Thank you for another pleasant stay. July 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Setting On Darling Harbor Guest rooms appeared to have just been renovated. The staff was great and we even got a free upgrade to a Harbor view room. The concierge helped us out with restaurant recommendations and helped us get to a Rugby game. Overall a great stay. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place Everything you need at your finger tips. July 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay I have stayed at this hotel frequently over the years and although the hotel is currently under construction, we had another great stay. The staff always friendly and helpful. Francisco at check in was excellent and provided me with an upgraded room on the harbour side. I always appreciate the effort of staff to find a better room for us, as Gold SPG members. We had no noise issues at all from the construction so that was also a positive. We enjoyed watching the Vivid light show from our window. Only a couple of negatives: there is no SPG Gold/Platinum check in line because the hotel doesnt have the space at the moment, so we had to wait quite awhile for check in. I think its a shame the hotel cant find a way to accommodate this somehow, even if SPG guests were directed to check in in the large concierge room perhaps. The bathroom had a musty smell which was not good for my sinuses. We like the Corn Exchange restaurant although the location is now quite small (due to construction) and the tables are very close together. I have eaten the Hong Kong Peking Duck pizza there in the past and it was excellent. This time it didnt have the same flavour (no coriander at all) and barely any Peking duck was on the pizza which was disappointing. Hopefully next time its back to the standard I know can be provided. The restaurant staff are excellent. Despite the small negatives, overall we had a great stay and will be back again soon. June 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing I have often stayed at this hotel and this experience was really disappointing and still unresolved. I was unable to sleep due to a flickering light in the room and my colleague had a similar experience but with a t.v. turning on randomly in the middle of the night. The next morning I tried to take a shower and ended up with a leaky pipe that meant my shower was cold. When I alerted front desk to this problem they said sorry but suggested I should have told them earlier (presumably whilst I was in the shower?) and that they would give me 50% of the bar bill I had. Seriously inadequate response. I ended up asking for the manager and was given 20% off the bill but this wasted much time and I still feel the matter is unresolved as I would expect that I should not have to pay for the night where I experienced the issues - this should have meant I received 50% off the bill as I stayed 2 nights. It happened to be that the rates for this particular 2 night stay was at double the normal rate I pay (and as I said I do stay 6 or so times per year for multiple nights) and so I would expect as a regular and loyal guest I would have received some better customer service. June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, excellent staff & extremely clean & spacious I could not fault this property. The staff were very friendly and check-in was fast. With a FREE upgrade. Best location. Doorman was the friendliest and very helpful. Room was spacious and immaculately clean, with really nice bathroom amenities. I would definitely stay again. I didn't rate food & beverage, as we only stayed 2 nights and had pre-planned breakfast, lunch & dinner with friends and work colleagues. Overall - BRILLIANT! June 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG category should be further downgraded Liked nothing during my stay at this hotel. -No bellboy present when I arrived. -Rude staff, who don't even offer one category upgrade, despite availability. -Uninspiring rooms, which need modernisation. -Building works going on. -Food is not even B&B quality. One of my worst SPG stays, 4 star prices, but 1-2 star service. June 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't eat in restaurant We were mislead into using the restaurant at night and for breakfast by an advert of 25% off for SPG members - should have read the small print - only for a la carte! The Maitre D placed us at a table next to 2 drunks in an almost empty restaurant. The soup was accompanied by microwave-heated rolls (not "fresh warm"). We complained to next Maitre D, but he didn't follow up. All the supposedly hot food (in tureens) at breakfast was cold as were the plates. Why don't they use heaters like any other hotel? No excuse for this treatment as such matters are nothing to do with space during the refurbishment. June 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel wasn't what I expected. I only stayed for 1 night and booked a "premium twin" room with "harbour views" and my preference was for upper levels. I received a room on the 2nd floor with absolutely no view of the harbour. My view was of scaffolding and a big yellow bin. I payed extra to be on the harbour side for the views and I wasn't contacted 'at any time' by the hotel to confirm my booking or to inform me of any obstructions. My guest and I had a celebratory bottle of wine to enjoy and would have appreciated a glass to drink it from. The facilities were very limited. May 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This partticular Sheraton branch not for us. Concierge Shaun Chang to be commended for his knowledge, patience & customer commitment - definitely future Management attributes. Disappointed that hotel doesn't have a public lounge for patrons to sit COMFORTABLY & read, have coffee/drink or people watch, particularly as rooms only have one armchair. Despite going to BREAKFAST at 8am (ish), never once was any of the heated food warm, LET ALONE HOT. No idea what type of fish was served at the DINNER "fish & chips" meal, but it didn't taste good at all. May 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY NOISY CONSTRUCTION WORK having had a very long trip from Germany to Sydney, coming in at 6am to the airport. Going straight to the hotel. Trying to catch up with some sleep. No way as there's heavy construction work with jack hammer etc. Yes, it said "construction" at the website with one sentence, but this is really heavy! Will help in the long run, but for now I would not recommend to stay there May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is well situated to the city A very quite centrally located hotel within walking distance to shops, theatre's & trains May 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall experience is good! Strategic location to access to the Darling Harbour and city area. The room is spacious and basically all the daily amenities can be get in the room. May 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great help from Engineering team I had a luggage challenge (lock jam-up). After calling 'solution' button, in less than 10mins, an engineering team (Jefrey - hope to get his name correctly), he saved me! Meantime, please check the IRD - pizza (anchovies), rather salty... but service was great! April 27, 2015
  • 2016-02-06 T05:35:52.990-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1211, tr_1211
  • loc_en_US, sid_1305, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>