Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest

  • 2828 Southwest Freeway
  • Houston,
  • Texas
  • 77098-4502
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

At least one occupant of each guest room must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification.

Rated 3 out of 5 by 134 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst experience I have had with a Sheraton Property I attended the recent Houston Dog Shows July 15 through July 20, 2014 and had made a reservation at the Four Points by Sheraton Southwest. The lobby is quite nice but the nice part ends there as far as facilities go. I was on the second floor facing west fortunately or I would have been overwhelmed by the highway and highway construction noise on the other side. The air conditioning in my room never brought the temperature down to a reasonable sleeping temperature. I woke every night multiple times soaked with sweat even though I had moved the thermostat down below what I consider a reasonable temperature and I did not sleep even under a sheet. The one blind was broken and did nothing during the day to reduce the heat being transferred into the room. The bathroom door could not be fully opened because of the shower rod. At some time in the past the bathroom had been "updated" by painting the tiles in the bathtub/shower area white. Unfortunately the paint had broken across the grout and there was black mold evident in each break. The shower head and the tub faucet both was caulked into the wall but were so loose that the caulking had broken. Rather than provide soap, shampoo and conditioner for the guests to use that could be removed from the hotel, a rather junky set of three wall mounted dispensers were installed in the shower/tub area below the shower head. During my entire stay and the room was cleaned once, there was never any conditioner, the soap smelled rancid and I used the soap from the sink, and the shampoo was cloudy. There was no attempt to address this. There was a small "dressing" area outside of the bathroom where a coffee pot was located. Unfortunately it was unusable. The electrical socket next to the coffee pot was dead and was out of the wall. I attempted to get ice from the ice machine when I arrived but it barely provided enough for a glass of water. The baseboards in the hallway were of multiple heights and grades of material; this made the entire area look trashy. Next to my room was the fire exit stairs. I used stairs to take my 17 lb. dog out every morning; I listened every evening to people coming up those stairs from the outside to party despite being assured by the management that no one could enter the building that way. I can attest to having entered the building that way myself without having anyone even know I was doing it. The first day that I was there I did contact management about the problems in my room and with the ice machine. They did send up a maintenance man about an hour later. He assured me that there were no problems and that everything was fixed. NOTHING was fixed. In the 5 nights that I was at this excuse for a hotel I was only able to obtain ice from the ice machine once where the amount allowed me to have more than one glass of cold water. Since my stay, I wrote a review directly to the hotel and was contacted by the hotel manager with platitudes and the statement that all of these issues would be addressed in some future renovation. I will never stay in that hotel again and don't recommend it to anyone; it was disgusting. August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unhappy consumer This stay was one of the worst experiences I have had with this caliber of hotel. The room was terrible. I found a plastic knife just under the bed from the last guest. The room did not appear to be clean. When i called down to front desk, there was no answer. We arrived late(8pm), as we had a family emergency, and we left early the next morning. The air conditioner in the room was very noisy and did not operate correctly. I reported this to the front desk the following morning at check out. The clerk on duty said he would report it. I called the hotel and expressed my dissatifaction. I was told to contest it with my credit card company. I have stayed with other similar hotels, and have never been treated so indifferently.I came away with a very negative impression of this hotel. November 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by my stay there Good location and overall friendly staff. Larry of the maintenance department goes out of his way to help guests. Restaurant staff friendly; front desk reception overall friendly but some are lazy. I received no recognition for my SPG status at all…….. the clerk told me that "all rooms here are the same" and "it doesn't matter what you status is". It turns out that she was just too lazy to look for more suitable rooms. The hotel is due for a renovation, however. July 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great experience For some reason most hotels in Houston are very expensive. I would stay at any other SPG property in Houston before this one if my work travel budget would allow it. The room are dated- dirty carpet, stains on walls, worn out. I have stayed at many Four Points previously and this is by far my worst experience with one. I would only stay again if cost required it. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent hotel for business travel Overall, I'd really give this hotel 3.5 stars. It's clean and simple, and exactly what you'd expect from this type of hotel. The location is great: Very central to anything in Houston. The room is fine, although I wish it had a refrigerator. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, but the sheets are a little rough. Also, I had to blast the AC at 65 degrees to get it cool enough to sleep comfortably, but I also prefer it very cool. Room service was quick and accommodating, and the food was good quality. Although charging $5 for mac and cheese and calling it "homemade", when I'm pretty sure it was Kraft from the box is a bit of a stretch. Nonetheless, decent hot food when I didn't want to go out. I didn't use the gym, pool or other facilities, but everything looked nice and the free wifi worked great. The one odd, annoying thing was that my TV would randomly turn off in the morning every 20 minutes. Not sure if it's set to do that for inactivity, but it was a little quick. But overall, a good quality hotel and great location for a fairly low price. July 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by awful experience so unkind and attitude is so bad. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Enjoyed the hotels location the ease of access. Good value for money and close to Rice and the Medical center with lots of places to eat nearby July 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Four Points yet. Arrived at hotel around 3 pm, room was extremely cold. Left for meetings about 1/2 hour after checking in and informed front desk about heating in room, they told me they's send someone to check it out. Arrived back at hotel around 7 pm. Room still cold. Called front desk, they said they would nottify maintenance. No one came. Went down to front desk at 7:40 pm. Clerk was obviuosly busy and seemed to have forgotten. Finally, walked with maintenance to room where they tried to fix, but room still cold. Moved me to another room and it was not as cold, but had to turn heater on to 80 to get it a little warm. This morning, as I was heading to shower, cleaning lady just tried to open door without knocking or any kind of warning sign! Will not stay here again. Had a two night reservation, but am fidning something else for 2nd night. January 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Party Central-Disturbing The last two stays at this Sheraton, we were awakened by loud individuals running in the hallway on our floor between midnight and 4 a.m. The hotel is well-located and meets our needs for family visits but the noise factor is getting to be a problem. We did not call the front desk but will do so in the future. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a place that I will stay in again or recommend This hotel is a dump. The lobby is in good condition but the rest of the hotel is horrid. I was on the second floor next to an outside exit; there was nothing that prevented anyone from entering the hotel through that exit at any time; quite a safety hazard & the ground floor entryway stank of human urine. The grounds are not being kept up especially in the back - broken glass, fire ants, weeds, little grass. My room faced west; the blinds did not keep out the heat & the AC did not keep the room cool (>80). The bathroom had been redone. The tiles painted white but the paint was splitting & molding in the splits. The shower head & tub faucet were both loose in the wall & excessively caulked. Bathroom door only opened part way due to the shower curtain rod. The sink was filled with little black bits in the morning. TV was okay if you don't mind everything being red. The wall socket next to coffee pot was dead & fell out of the wall. Ice machine on the floor worked intermittently. I did request maintenance to check out the wall socket & the ice machine after check-in. Both were deemed acceptable by the maintenance guy. The noise from the drunks went on until after 12 AM. The front desk guy, white guy with glasses, was rude. Demetrius (?) was very nice & tried to smooth things over. I rented a car from Hertz at the hotel & it was hit before I could even drive it. This is the worst Sheraton property I have ever stayed in. It gets one star because I can't go any lower. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfectly Adequate On the plus side my room was very clean, the staff friendly and the location conveniently near Greenway Plaza and a short drive to downtown, medical center and galleria areas. Many good restaurants a short drive away. Free parking. On the minus side the free wifi was spotty and slow - would have been frustrating if I'd needed real bandwidth or speed but my room as at the end of the hall so maybe better elsewhere. Breakfast is not included and very expensive ($10) for what you get but there's a small coffee maker in the room. The low rates draw a varied clientele and a few guests got rowdy in the middle of the night - otherwise my room on the side away from the freeway was very quiet. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay! Rooms were very nice. Staff was helpful. Special thanks to Anthony in the restaurant/bar! Because of his great knowledge of the menu, and recommendations, we ate there every night during my three day stay. Wonderful personality as well! Made me feel right at home! July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs updating Two very nice men who were maintenance men were the best asset of this hotel. Extremely attentive to our needs. Front desk people were nice. Pool area was terrible. No straps in seats of every chair. No tables. The rooms are in bad need of updating. Nice welcome kit for guest. Compared to other Four Points, this needs a facelift. July 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible Hotel The hotel was terrible. The window was broken..told the person at the front desk Saturday morning before I left and when I came back NOTHING had been done. The room was adjacent to Highway 59 which made the traffic noise unbearable to sleep. Elevators were dirty. Food at restaurant was high priced. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice room and responsive staff We stayed 3 days. The room was very nicely decorated. We reported a couple of nonessential concerns (drain not draining fast and lamp needed bulb) which were handled within a few hours. The staff were friendly. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's Okay I'd recommend this hotel for a quick in and out stay. Not high quality, but good quality. Staff is nice, people are friendly, and they are responsive when you have issues. The best part of this place is their customer service upon arrival, during your stay, and upon check out. That's what would make me come back. July 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Customer Service Training & Remodel This hotel was extremely overpriced for the quality of the facilities and the service (or lack thereof). Painting in bathroom was peeling, floors looked dirty, the soap dispensers in the shower looked economical and cheap. When asked for state tax to be removed, I was told they could not do it at checkout. That only means it will have to be taken care of via phone as the state is NOT going to pay tax-ever. Created more work for all parties when it could have been handled at checkout. I will not stay at Sheraton or Starwood location again if I can help it! May 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a upgrade I will never stay there again. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Improvement Needed This hotel needs improvement in the following areas....freshness of rooms and air conditioning maintenance My room smelled of body odor and the air conditioner would sound really loud if the temperature was adjusted in any way. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good stay LOIS at the front desk is on her toes and an asset to the front desk staff. when i arrived thur, she already had me checked into one of my favourite rooms, the breakfast coupons were in an envelope, the internet code was written on the key envelope & a frig was waiting for me in the room as well. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has gone down hill! I have stayed at this hotel more than a dozen times over the last 5-10 years. It's close proximity to the medical center and central location to get to downtown Houston was main selling feature. Staff was always friendly - to the point of welcoming me by name when I checked in. The last year or so, the staff has all turned. Their attitudes are negative. They are focused on their personal conversation and not servicing customers. Hotel was remodeled a few years ago and now is getting run down as they did not maintain their great remodel. Finally when on a previous trip I requested (several times) to speak to the general manager he was always too busy to see me, nor would he call me when I left my number. OH.... and the breakfast buffet? STAY AWAY.. food sits there for hours.... ugh! May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rooms I stay at this hotel frequently for business travel. It is conveniently located and has easy access to major thoroughfares. The one negative which I think should be addressed is that the bathroom doors are hinged to open into the bathroom instead of swinging out from it. The bathrooms are small and the door barely misses the toilet upon opening. I have banged my elbows many times just fighting with the door. How about a sliding/pocket door? Or just reverse the hinging and jamb to allow the door to open "out" instead of "in"? April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant It was a nice stay. The people is very nice. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs updating and lacks VIP Lounge The hotel, while clean, is in bad need of a face lift. The interior is very dated. My biggest issue is the lack of a VIP lounge for SPG preferred guests. I think this would steer many business travelers, including my self, toward other properties in the area. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient to Kirby entertainment district Best of both Houston worlds. Great location to enjoy all the Kirby district restaurants & clubs, and just minutes from the Galleria shopping district.Check-in was a bit unusual because the front desk was dealing with an IT breakdown when I arrived, but they handled it without a hiccup. Checkout was just as smooth, with Ms Stewart's friendly invitation to come back soon. And I will :) June 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs updating I prefer to stay at Starwood hotels due to the Greta service and amenities, but this hotel needs a renovation badly... Hope they spend some money to make that happen soon. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Front Desk experience. IRD was horrible. I had a great stay. Can't wait to come back to see the remodeled hotel. You really need to also focus on the quality of the food in in room dining. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs maintenance Many put holes in parking lot. Hotel is starting to be run down. Carpet stained in lobby restaurant and room Smelled July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Businesses The hotel had all of the amenities that I needed for a quick business trip. Being near the freeway did cause some noise at night. I was able to get rested and on a great start for the next morning. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay for our needs This was a pleasant stay. We stay at hotels quite often and it had been a while since we've dealt with such friendly staff. Stayed here this past weekend and just booked for august for another jw convention we will be attending. June 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>