Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

  • 1617 1st Avenue
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 78 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by good location Nice hotel, well kept, nice people. Did not need the surprise that it cost an extra $20.00 a day to park our rental car. The desk clerk and I reviewed my confirmation and there was nothing in there about a parking charge. Manager would not waive the fee. That was disappointing. June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathroom in the room Check in was difficult. No communication between staff and didn't follow up with me after making me wait a 1/2 hour past 3PM to get into to the room. Once into the room two out of three lights in the bathroom were burnt out and the toilet never flushed all the way. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel in downtown San Diego Walking distance to Gaslamp, Little Italy and Balboa Park. Bit noisy outside since it is located right next to the I5. Friendly staff and nice rooms. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Walking in SD I was in San Diego for an International Conference at the Convention Center. I chose to walk the 20 blocks to and from the convention center and found lots of interesting places to eat and shop along the way. It was a great "hideaway" from the masses at the convention. May 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointing Location could be better and the staff needs some improved interpersonal communication and customer skills training. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not exceptional Hotel was very dated looking, in and out. Bad area of town. Hotel was pretty hot, even in the hallways but rooms were able to properly utilize a/c. Room above me was extremely noisey. WiFi didn't work well on phone, signal was weak. Could hear other rooms' doors opening and shutting constantly. I've been in college dorms that were quieter. Needs major updating and sound proofing. Free shuttle to airport was nice but driver seemed annoyed that I didn't know which terminal I was flying out of. SD has a different set up from last time I was there so I figured a local who drove a shuttle would know. The girl at check in was super nice, can't remember her name but she was friendly, nice and apologetic that my room wasn't ready, but got me some water while I waited. August 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer Great price for quality downtown accommodations! May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was good. No issues Staff was attentive . No issues on my stay in town for business. May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No breakfast Its pretty brutal when you are expecting bfast and are told there isn't going to be any by a piece of paper taped in the elevator door. I then called and checked out and asked for my receipt to be emailed...it never was so I had to find your # and request it a second time the day following. On the other hand, the valet and desk people were great. Personable and welcoming. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compass Crew Layover First time at this San Diego layover hotel. Very nice and comfortable hotel. Very spacious rooms. I would come back with my family. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel without hassles We were in and out of San Diego quickly and the staff facilitated this expertly! August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not to my expections I am grateful to the housekeeping staff because they did their best to make us feel good. The facility is in decay. I did not expect that from Sheraton. The WiFi was very poor and you need new equipment. The tub is plugged and you need to repair it not just to have someone go there and do a bandaid to the problem. I will not stay in this hotel again. I paid 5 stars fees for a single star hotel. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not up to standard not up to the starwood standards December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice accommodations for the price One of the cheapest places to stay in downtown. Beds were very comfortable, shower was nice with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in wall mounted pumps (unlike most hotels that give you the super small bottles). Planes are constantly flying over the hotel but you don't hear them! Didn't like being forced into paying $26/night for valet. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location and economical Hotel was able to accommodate our group at a fair price. Had great proximity to airport, dining and entertainment. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff The staff was very attentive and accommodated our special requests without any fuss. We had complimentary breakfast (pastries/eggs/coffee/orange juice) during our stay for sdcc. The hotel is 1 mile from the convention center so it takes about 15-20 minutes walking depending on the lights. Parking is valet only so we just kept our car parked at the hotel the entire stay. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, lovely updated rooms Within walking distance to Little Italy in downtown San Diego, this hotel is a nice choice. The building is definitely a bit older, but the rooms have been updated to be very modern and comfortable. No restaurant/bar for a meal/room service. Parking for a fee. Friendly front desk and bell staff. Nice! July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel The room was comfortable and nice. The breakfast lacked. One day they made up boxes but ran out of them. Added a few more which was gone in seconds. No one really seemed to care, even though the breakfast was to be served for another 30 minutes. I know it's a downtown hotel, but parking was spendy. A overnight lot next door cost half. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Although the hotel was under renovations, they did not provide any breakfast. Also the sink in our room had a putrid smell the entire time and the smoke alarm went off from the steam in the shower. Maintenance came and said they were in the process of moving them. That would have been nice to have been done before we stayed in the room. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comic-con 2014 This hotel is downtown and just over a mile from the convention center. The new remodeling is a nice update to this older hotel. I stayed on the 14th floor, city view. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff I found the staff to be very upbeat, friendly and thoughtful. Just by remember little things and constantly offering services. Being in hospitality myself, I am very critical, mostly about service. This staff ROCKS THE HOUSE with service. I would always recommend this property. Kudos and Thank you! July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I travel extensively and although the rooms could be renovated/updated; the staff makes up for lack of décor! From the front desk to valet, the most outstanding customer service that replicates any 5 star hotel! Thank you for your attention! July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The facilities and the staff are great. Very friendly, respectful and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the cleaning service was excellent. I did not have the opportunity to eat in the hotel but I imagine are excellent also. I will return to your hotel in my next visit to San Diego. Than you for your good service. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Staff was very helpful in showing us places to go downtown. Walking distance to Amtrak station, park, waterfront, and Tijuana trolley. Close to shopping, restaurants and bars. July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location for Hotel Great location to travel anywhere. Get straight onto i5 or take the 163. Also, downtown is within a few blocks. Only thing that I was not satisfied, was with the noise level due to highway. But, that would not stop me from staying there. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, excellent warm hotel. When the restaurant renovation is compete all will be in sync. One of the best staff top to bottom I have experienced. Very family feeling and the location is great. SPG is my favorite group. This hotel was great. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by San Diego Visit Upon arrival, the phone in the room did not work, the TV did not work. The first wake up call I had was not entered into the system even though the front desk had it written down. This was not convenient. No restuarant available at the hotel. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, however... he hotel is at a perfect location to walk to Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter and more. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. The onsite restaurant was closed for a remodel, so the hotel provided free continental breakfast during our stay, a thoughtful touch. A couple of issues though: the bathroom lighting is poor, and the storage is almost nonexistent. Plus, only a contortionist can reach the toilet paper while using the toilet. As for the bed, the mattress did not appear to be a "Four Comfort" as advertised. It was not nearly as comfortable a bed as at other Starwood properties. All in all, this Four Points hotel is better suited for business travelers. Given a couple of improvements, we would stay here again. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing! 1. The airport shuttle was disorganized. Even though we called and registered our cell phone, this was disregarded, people were allowed to board and fill the shuttle. We ended up having to take a taxi. 2. A king size bed was reserved 6 months in advance, but was not available at check-in. 3. We arrived at 9pm, but had to wait in reception because the room was not ready. 4. Front desk staff were less than helpful. 5. Not what we expect of a Sheraton. Am an SPG member but could not recommend this hotel June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff was the best part. Your hotel's unique shape caught me eye years ago, and it was a treat to stay here. As my title says, every member of your staff was impressive in their friendliness and eagerness to help me have the best stay possible. I enjoyed eating breakfast on the top floor with that beautiful view! A few comments: -Your website falsely stated that the renovations would be complete by my stay. It looks like that's not the case, so while it didn't affect my stay it will be great to see the finished product when it's really ready. -I rented a bike during my stay. Your bike rack was typical of other hotels in the area, meaning that it can only awkwardly accommodate a few bikes. While you're renovating the hotel, why not install a better one for your guests to enjoy staying in a very bike-friendly area? -The lighting was...subdued. Not bad, but it would've been nice to have brighter lights by the bathroom mirror. -I keep hearing about the severe drought in your area. That showerhead was an amazing deluge--perhaps too much of a good thing? It would've been nice to have the option of reducing the water flow. -On a similar theme, it was several days before I saw the door hanger to help the environment and not have my towels changed. Perhaps a card elsewhere in the room will help other guests faster? When I finally did hang that on my door, the cleaning staff opted to not come in at all. I would've appreciated at least having my trash cans emptied. But on the whole, a great visit and I look forward to future stays. July 18, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>